(2008/07) July 2008

oh oh to share more from my speech delay research! hehe!

children with siblings tend to speak earlier cos they imitate their siblings. and if its a monolingual household, the child may speak earlier too.

youpi,
for that same reason, my headless chicken impersonation lasted as long as it took to type it.

michelle,
ya mr M must be soooo pleased

SD,
*hug* you hv no idea how much better that makes me feel! ws thinking ah, C is soooo behind on his speech devpmt

Patissier cake
so i see if i can get some cakes fm patissier tmr to share after lunch... i know bbp would love their strawberry shortcake, and PB prolly the meringue (if avail). anyone else got cake cravings?

Cellow,
Hmmm cake from patissier... I want!!!! I dunno what cakes are available, but I'm okay with anything!
I can pick you up at pattisier since it's on the way to central.

Jacelyn,
If my niece said that to me, I would still give ang bao. Don't think kids will rank presents over love *GRINS*

Cellow,
I haven't even gone to the poo part la. Cos Declan can be walking around and I maybe go online to reply posts. Then when I go to play with him again... eh, poo liao.
OMG, PD stress... I would so hate my PD to stress me. Cos firstly, I don't like her to begin with! Why don't I change PD then? Cos pai seh...

doggiebb,
Fish Oil? As in Scotts Emulsion that type?

SD,
Your toilet training sounds easy enough.. I will take it from there

Patissier! ARGH! Cellow! I'm a convert! Meringue Meringue Meringue! I'll even chip in the money!!!! ARGH!

Somebody slap me.

youpi
LSH - we went to the one at pearl('s?) bank. it was really nice cos they had their own area within the old retro round flat that we can see from the outram park vincinity. it's double storeyed, and there is lots of sunlight! which i love. safety is taken seriously, which made me feel good. while we were there there was a mother who came to pick up her child, and they asked her to wait outside and brought the child to the mother.

it just gave me a very nice warm feel overall. but now that i think about it, i realise that most of the teachers are rather young. like all in their 20s. i guess that's not a bad thing but it makes one wonder if it is a career or a part time job to them. not that their personal lives should be of any concern to me but it would show how serious they are and in turn, how they treat the kids? or am i thinking too much. as usual.

SDchick
you stay in HDB flat? town council can pick up i think 2 big pieces for free. and there is a nominal charge after.

bbp
forgive my bluntness - so everyone will raise hell if you decide to put dec in CC but yet it is you who are his sole caregiver and it is your life that is put on hold while everyone else goes about their normal routines?

batgirl
which IJ school you from?! me too! high five! i went to my old school website and they have a volunteer form so i just looked. they need people to write their newsletters! which is right up my alley! so i volunteered. just cos it gives me something else to do too! i'm so not the kind who will organise funfairs etc just to get poppy into a school!

eh bbp also convent girl! random thought: i still have my old uniform and we actually planned a back-to-school costume party in my old school *ya they allow! tuckshop some more!) for my birthday in 2008. BUT we had to cancel cos i realised i would be 36 weeks preggie and so did not want to give birth in the tuckshop. and i was feeling quite yuck by 36 weeks also! but so funny lor. pregnant woman in convent girl uniform!

smiggle
they can do that???!!! don't worry i'm sure primary school teachers are well trained. and now they have 'teacher aides' or something.

SY
i asked the principal too. you putting JX for full day? if so, the principal's reasoning was such : by the time it comes to nap time (3pm), they will be so tired that they will prob knock off on their own. but it could take a while. i guess it does sound logical. that's my concern too cos i latch poppy on to force her to sleep sometimes

dor
i love 'natalie' too!!!! my father was a st pat's boy
i'm the opposite. i would like to send poppy to an all girls school. esp pri school. i think it would make her more comfortable in her own skin and not have to think about how to act in front of boys. she can hang out with the july boys

cellow
for a while i was thinking 'what is cheng hu?'. thought it had something to do with admiral cheng ho....

michelle, doggie, cellow
my PD also. always want to jab and give med. i don't like. want to change PD

doggiebb
great job! T can do so much! to add on to what you mentioned about monolingual households : children who are exposed to more than one language at home tend to speak later. that's cos their brain is processing! but when they do speak, apparently they will speak in all the languages they have been exposed to. i wonder if i am confusing poppy though cos i do want her to speak mandarin and hokkien.

separate topic
we are going to attempt to go to marina barrage tomorrow morning, and head back home before it gets too hot. if anyone wants to join us, please do!

patissier
i called them, and choped 6 slices of their meringue for pickup at 1130am tmr.

dustee,
see... what i do to make you come for lunch! (actually i also wanna eat ramen + cake) it would be lovely to see you again

SD,
Sure, I never refuse a car ride. but a bit early for you rite. I rem your lunchtime only starts at 1pm....?

Ramen lunch - 12 Nov @ central
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
6) cellow (without C, working mah)
7) jace - depends
What is the shop that we are eating ramen at?

bbp

fish oil as in pure fish oil with omega 3, 6, 9 and what-have-you! hehe! scotts emulsion is cod liver oil.

PB

yes! that's why the advice to teach 2 languages at home is to have one person dedicated to speaking only one language to the baby. but that is soooo hard! I always end up in a smuttering of Eng and Mandarin all in one sentence! kua kua!

it is a joke that i have been tasked to be the mandarin speaker at home. i got F9 all the way. but i think if i can teach poppy to order food at hawker centres and give directions to taxi drivers, that wouldn't be too bad. it's not that i am hoping she will be stationed at singapore embassy in china right? haha

Off-topic
Every year during this season we talk about buying a washer-dryer so that the laundry can get dry. Every year we say yes yes we must get one. Every year nothing happens. This year I am praying for sunlight (but prayers not answered today) and wind. Sigh.

PB,
what does admiral cheng ho got to do with jabs????? *think hard*
still no connection leh.

think MOH is the ministry that tracks if all the MMR jabs are done anot

you know wat.....

i luuuuuurve that we can go off topic for a while (youpi's post on washer-dryer just made me chuckle) and in the next breath, go on to talk abt our kiddos.

right now, my mind is on cakes *grin*

cellow

so is mineeeeeeeeeeeeee! ~wails~

and my mind is also on planning Talia's 3rd birthday party. I got inspired by poppy's party in the gardens so I think I am going to just do the same. She just so adore singing the birthday song and blowing out the candles and eating cake so I am going to just invite her friends so that she can enjoy her day. and she has specifically requested for an elmo cake so mummy is frantically trying to find a nice and yummy one for her now. If anyone has lobang, do pls holler okie?

my Jan work trip to Europe is (more or less) confirmed!
well, at least they have stopped arguing abt costs... now... just which european city is the next decision.
yay! i get to fly on biz class!

hi mummies... so many posts to catch up on...

work
am getting abit fustrated with work and dread coming to work... was on leave last thurs n fri n came back to work receiving an email frm boss saying tt my MCs/leaves r causing it very hard for him to work wif me... rebutted by saying that i also do not like to go on MCs lor n leave were well approved in advance... his attitude like chg since he resumed his new post lor... wasnt like tt before... *sianz*...

Ramen lunch - 12 Nov @ central
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
7) jace - depends
8) JSP (feel like joining but gotta go off straight after lunch so tt pple dun have chance to say i go for long lunches)
What is the shop that we are eating ramen at?

cellow
i ordered a cake from patissier for HB's bday on xmas day... can i borrow ur staff discount benefit?? need to go down n pay deposit by end nov... let me knw which day u'll be in office last week nov so i can chio u for lunch n also utilise ur discount... best if on 25 nov coz on leave so can go lunch wif u after my gynae appt...

cellow

if you are a fan of playmobil and wants to get a set for C, get one when you are in europe. a hospital set that i am eyeing for talia is S$499 here. the same set can be gotten for about S$250. and remember the book people? order when you are there to save the shipping!! woohoo!!

PB,
Well, the problem is... I think if I asked, there will be at least one grandparent that will be willing to look after him. But I'd rather send him to CC for the social portion. But I'm sure they won't understand and will prob just think I'm wasting my money. I can just imagine the "For What?" phrase liao.
My PD also pro-meds one! I also wanna change!

doggiebb,
Oh yah hor! Cod Liver Oil la.. blur sotong me.

doggiebb,
yeppers, i was thinking what else can i buy for both C1 and C2 while i m there.

announcement
hear ye hear ye... after a long phase of trawling google, HB and I have decided on C2's name.

*drum roll*

Presenting...... our second little boy....

<font color="0000ff">Clement</font>, the Merciful

C1's name actually means Valiant (i rem a googled article on some warrior or bishop or smthing liddat one la)

Ramen lunch - 12 Nov lunch @ Marutama Ramen,
Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
7) jace - depends
8) JSP (feel like joining but gotta go off straight after lunch so tt pple dun have chance to say i go for long lunches)

Who works nearby, need to queue up first and chope seat, that place is SMALL. VERY SMALL. and always a long queue...

PB, you not joining for ramen? go so many places???

Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
7) JSP (feel like joining but gotta go off straight after lunch so tt pple dun have chance to say i go for long lunches)

Got to give it a miss. The husband demanded that we go to the zoo tomorrow. Sounds like a good plan anyway. Got to give the cake a MISS!! *sobz*

Cellow
I'll try to leave early, probably around 12. I'll sms you tomorrow?
For those of you who arrive first, please chop seats for us hehehe..
The Ramen is called Marutama Ramen. Central level 3.

Oh wow you'll get to fly on biz class!!! That's fantastic!

Clement? Sounds good.

PB,

*HI-5!* mine is the small small CHIJ bukit Timah. I remember there were only 3 classes then - Love, Peace and Joy. Where were you from?

Ramen,

cannot make it...darn busy. *sigh* Going on long leave soon, so gotta get my act up.

Qing mei,

The Gap stuff still not here ah? hiaz...vpost sent the parcel by camel? :p

Talking babes..

50?! wah..i think mine abt 10? he hasn't automatically called me mummy...but would point at Mac Donald and go "Mac No Nald" -- gek sim.

Got a girlfren, baby is younger than ours by a month, can count in english AND mandarin... damn stress...but oh well... i guess each baby has its pace...

cellow,

shiok shiok biz class! it will be comfy, especially with a big tummy...no cahnce for first class? kekekeke

Clement is nice name! sounds very "si wen"...

Ramen + cake - i cannot resist! I wanna join!! hopefully can make it..1st time get to meet SD too

Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
7) JSP (feel like joining but gotta go off straight after lunch so tt pple dun have chance to say i go for long lunches)
8) cinbunny

PDs who are pro-meds and wanna jab our lil ones
bbp, pb,
why not change? so duh to pay money to sm1 who just wants to medicate a youngling.

you know wat... best... PD actually hung up on me this morning (just realised) with a brisk "ok I will give him the pneumo but not MMR, dun worry abt school, you have until 2 years old to jab him." and the phone went deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnn.

but she was so matter of fact abt it that i din know i was dismissed fm her presence until now. wahahahahaaaa.

pay money to sm1 who hangs up on me, and i m totally happy abt it....
however, can see she really cares abt C's overall health and devpt much much more than my feelings, that's why i go back for these 'talking-tos'

aside... once she actually told me that boys are over diagnosed and over medicated for Attention Deficit Disorder when they attend school... most of the time, they are just normal little boys.

er, hope u all remember me. really have a lot to say but hard to catch up! haha

re: CC
I've sent my darling to CC for 4 weeks now. (3times a week) He cried intermittently the 1st 2 weeks. this week there was a marked improvement and has started to enjoy the activities
BUT the inlaws are still very much against it. like PB said, it's my life on hold while the rest go about their routine. MIL does want to take care of him BUT with lots of caveats, eg half day lah, feed him HER food etc which I'm not prepared to accept. so there :p

re: schools
hey Batgirl, I'm also from the Bukit Timah Convent. it's renovated now, big and with new coat of paint. I certainly feel that schools are very impt. would like my darling to go to a all boys school but like not many around ...except for ACS/catholic high.... anymore? those 2 not easy to get in.

re: talking
mine's not talking yet. except for the very occasional mama... PD told me not to be worried though. said her son only started talking at 2 years old. so i guess different PDs will give different advice.

Kylene
St Pats, St Andrews, Maris Stella, Chinese High, SJI Junior...

My nose is a leaky faucet...
Going to sleep now

bbG learns words really fast too.. he and thaddie boy should have a chat together..

fish oil: i give nordic natural's liquid fish oil.. suppose to help wiv the immunity too..compared ingredients of their fish oil and cod liver oil previously and they were almost the same?

potty training.. probably not time for bbG yet.. no fixed poo timing and so hard to catch him in action too..but lately he will walk to me and say poo-poo and point at diaper and voila i find poo-poo in diaper :D

poppy... bbG asked if u wanna hang out wiv him... ;)

youpi: you gotto change your schedule and wash clothes early in the morning to catch the sun before the rain chases it away kekeke

poor u.. didn't get caught in the rain bringing in laundry did u? drink lots of fluids n rest well!

marutama ramen... ikimasen (not going)

pattisier cakes... no eat
(

any mummies thinking of getting train sets for the boys? or know of good ones to recommend? bbG's into trains now and keeps going TAIN!

clement: nice name.. clementi? *smacks forehead* hb was juz asking if bbG's friends would make fun of him and call him GORD or GOD next time.. I really hope not...

ramen lunch
me me....can join now as my previous appt was cancelled...

Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
8) cinbunny
9)sy

re 50 words by 18 months?
jx can take instructions..dunno whether her vocab has 50 words though...

re schools
i believe envt is impt. i did relief teaching at neighbourhood sch before. somehow the parents (maybe also cos the neighbourhood not so well off), their emphasis on studies is not so strong. so i also look at the envt and where the sch is located. there's a reason why i choose to send jh to far far away siglap and not just any sch nearby. terrible hor...today i took sch bus with him cos went to his sch and i really felt that it's a long ride. but i guessed he is used to it already and he can tahan so better not switch him now....

pri sch definitely must choose co-ed sch so if u have one boy and one gal , no need to worry. i want to send jh back to my pri sch but i stay too far!!

cellow
i give nordic naturals to jx. jh takes the capsules, jx takes the liquid. both love it.

e boy broke out in rash. Face, back, neck very bad. Arm, thigh body a little. Brought him to gp, dr gave classic 'could be anything' diagnosis. No fever, no loss of appetite, still active. Could be jus heat rash (hopefully), or side effect from mmr/chic pox vaccine. So now jus monitor monitor monitor. Dr gave anti histamine. We jus applied calamine lotion for him. Sigh.

C is cranky after the pneumo jab.
Feverish and wants his way all the time.
I gave in on putting him to sleep. Helper stepped in....

Clementi ah.
Then he better get his own place there....\

do1nk,
my fren Gordon is nicknamed Gordy, or if we are really mean, then Gordina. hehe

Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
8) cinbunny
9)sy
10) dustee says yes to cake and ramen!

do1nk
any time! when?

ramen: yeah girls sorry. i feel a sudden burst of energy and want to bring poppy to lots of places instead of just hanging out at home / going to market. it's the childcare thing that is driving me la! BUT having said that. if we (she) manages to nap on the way back then we will join ramen gang!

Oh michelle

when was e boy's mmr? Watch out for fever 10 days or so after. The fever doesn't come right after. Sayang e boy!

Cellow

I bought from iherb and drugstore

hi gals.....

Hope u all still remember mi..... have been a slient reader..

Regards abt the MMR vacines

Tis advise i was given by the nurses from polyclinic:
before bbs taking the MMR vacine pls do let bb try eatings EGGS (especially the egg yolk) n look out for any allergy ..like rashes/etc.. Muz inform nurses if bb got allergy before the MMR vacine...

Jayden has juz took his MMR two wks ago.. Touch wood till now he haven got any fever or bad reaction to the jab yet....
Normally wat i do is give abit of parecetamol med after each jab he took ..Juz to prevent Fever..( bcos my mum did to mi oso after my jab taken when i m a bb)
Luckily J has no any food allergy till now 15mths plus... BUT the most headache problem is from NB onwards till now ....He hates most is drinking plain water, each time i bottle feed him he will auto spit out the teats n throw/push it away..tats y i muz force feed him using spoon... Grrrrrrrrr...........

michelle
Poor boy.. Get well soon.. Hugz..

Hi harriemom, me too a silent reader. Cuz i was way too behind in this discussion!

U can try letting J suck from straw? Mine don't drink water from bottle at all. Spoon feeding or using cup to drink all the while till now with her water bottle. She will drink when thristy or when we told her to do so.

Hope that helps!

Katie's mom
I have try all sorts of methods for J to suck/drink water.. Still no no.. He oni shows interest in playing n bitting hard on straws from my #1 water bottles.... Grrr..
Headache..My #1(lao da) luvs drinking water n J hates it....Grrrrrr.. #1's very auto n guai by drinking water n asked more for it...

Haha! Guess you can only spoon feed him le.... I used munchkin straw bottle. Other bottle i get for her she don't like. Dispsable straws with cup is only for drinking her green tea at kopitiam, not for plain water. Weird, right?!

hi gals/mommies

Any of the mousey bbs here luvs to bite tings,toys..etc. which can leave horrible hard obvious teeth markings tat after bitting . Bcos J who luvs bitting hard n i find the teeth markings on toys,pram handles..etc..even my #1 some die cast toy cars he after he bites n i can c some colour fade off.....Grrrr.. He Shows not much on any teething toys tats given to him.... Sometime out of sudden, J will goes 'gila' w/o any warnings ..he juz goes n attack by bitting us(esp ko ko..daddy)..

wow... busy day..
tired,, just back from prawnin...

Michelle
same,, kayden also has rashes all over.. i was so worried it was chicken pox,, but he used the pawpaw ointment and its better...

doggiebb
i also gave kayden fish oil, but he stil same, cant talk, no hair

Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
8) cinbunny
9)sy
10)smiggleprincess

SY
pls bring my stuff tml thanks!!

ramen tmr
oh gosh cellow i would have to give the meringue and ramen a miss. shucks. my mum's got her acupuncture session at ttsh tmr so i'm gonna accompany her there. (meringue oh meringue, someday we will be fated to meet ..oh someday...)

primary school
btw, baptized babies can be registered into primary 1 under phase 2b for catholic schools. i believe that's the same as the volunteering parents phase.

erm. but i do think our kiddos are kinda young for us to be worrying about that now. education systems keep changing. who knows what's gonna happen in another 5 years.

Central #03-20.
1) Michelle!
2) Qing !
3) SD
4) bbp
5) PB
8) cinbunny
9)sy
10)smiggleprincess
11)phyphy

morning *yawn*
tis amazing how quickly i get used to sleeping thro the night when C does.
and how tired i m today after being woken up at 5am by a physically uncomfortable C after his jab ystday.
plus piteous mewing thro the night (it seems)... of cz my mummy ears are all pricked up like a cat, and.. to be fair, so were the daddy ears.

A lot of cat terms.... in conclusion, mummy cat and daddy cat were listening thro the night to baby cat C mewing.

*yawn* i m a tired cat today.

luckily later got ramen lunch to look forward to

e-boy's rashes still there, all over face and back and some on body, arms and thigh... no fever, still active.. I hope it is due to MMR and nothing serious.... his MMR jab was taken on 30 Oct, and the rash on his back started on 10 Nov... today is 13 nov liao.. how many days does it last???!!?? boo hoo

morning all...

lunch
sorry but have to give it a miss as there are some huge shifting internally... so gotta stay to help out... join u gers next time...

cellow
pls let me knw how muchie to pay u ya...

michelle
*sayang* Ernest also had fever and rashes abt 7 days after his MMR jab... but the rashes disappear within 2 days... so dun worry too much...

thanks doggiebb.

iherb and drugstore
do these websites usually offer free intl shipping? i see on the spree section that iherb has promotions for 5% off regularly... thinking whether to buy online or hmmm, get my US teammate to buy then pass to me in Europe

[I can just imagine myself coming back fm Europe with tons of bb stuff, fish oil la, books la, maybe even a playmobil set or 2]