(2008/07) July 2008

bf
i'm still full breastfeeding! pat me on the back!!!! but i have bought a can of friso thinking that maybe in the near two months i might wean.

mmr jab
my pd told me now he'll give a mmr + chickenpox jab for pomfret. still in two minds about when to give her the jab. want to give now, while i'm still bf-ding, coz that soothes her through any side-effects. yet maybe better to delay till she's older. argh. dilemma dilemma.

open house
holly, i've cancelled my open house. sorry about that. maybe december, if my health permits (not feeling well recently) i'll aim for an open house. but for now, i need to accompany my mum to her weekly hospital visits so schedule is a bit hazy.

Dor Dor
Yup, L had dairy allergy, hence the blood in stools. PD had said that it normally passes after a year. So I thought of giving him milk to find out. And also to supplement his diet, since he does not eat much solids. And of course, he still wakes up for night feeds. YAWN! Actually 16 months is not a long time for me to breastfeed, as #1 only weaned after 2.5 years

Dustee
Pat you on the back too, after patting PB! What is wrong with your health? Hope you'll be feeling better soon.

Holly
Junior League is quite ex right? I remember paying $18 for #1's haircut last time. My dad commented that it was more expensive than his LOL.

Gelare waffle promotion
Buy one and get another free issit? Is the 1-for-1 happening every Tuesday only?

Halloween
There are a lot of cute costumes out there but they look very hot and itchy scratchy to be in!

bbp, holly,
i have a wailing bb beside me now coz she refuse to be in the playpen. Sometimes i really dunno what to do with her. Its a bit consoling to know that dec and bos are like that too.
But i look at my niece 19 mths ok one leh not like that. She can stay put somewhere and play with things.

Jacelyn
Kayden also cry when we put him in the cot sometime..
worse is he cry everytime someone leaves the house, even when my maid just standin outside hangin clothes...
think they are very clingy nowadays...

Hyper is an unstatement for kayden...
does ur babies refused to walk/stand and lie down on the floor waitin to be drag??? Or behave like a spoilt brat when u take somethin away from him?? Kayden will purposely knock his head to rebel.

yuopi,

your #1 weaned after 2.5 years old? self-weaned or u did something? mine clamours for my breast whenever i get home.

Holly,
Haha, glad to help

Jacelyn,
Declan can never stay in the playpen if that's any consolation to you. Maybe the only time he can stay there for a long period of time (15min at max) is if I put him there first thing in the morning. I suspect cos the toys seem new to him (maybe he misses his toys after the long night sleep).

smiggle,
Umm, yup, Declan screams with super powerful lungs nowadays when we take away things from him. Even when he cries when he gets hurt, he screams. I suspect that he's suddenly learnt how to use the higher decibels of his lungs.

smiggle, bbp,
bos too.. cry nonstop if i take something away from him. but i just ignore him de.. let him cry all he wans lo.

Jace,
my 18 mths nephew also. very guai and can sit on the sofa n watch cartoon using my PSP. he just hold onto it n sit down n watch quietly. According to my SIL, my nephew was like bos too when his age. 3 4 mths apart is quite a big diff for this age eh.

youpi,
the gelare promo, ya.. only every tuesday.

dustee,
oh oh! wat happened to u? must tk good care of urself. everyone is getting sick.. everyone is not feeling good nowadays.. careful wor.. hope u will recover soon.

Oh yes sorry ah bbp and dustee, missed you out. I announce for you: BBP and dustee are super duper mummies, still serving themselves as human sacrifice!

Wow bbp, still got engorgement ah now! Champion. Declan will surely grow like a champion grow (remember the ad?)

Qing
You are funny. Using my boobs retirement as excuse for lunch. Or… you being sarcastic si bo!! But can la. Any time is good for lunch!

Dustee
I still have not brought poppy for MMR and chicken pox. Hmm. Hey hope you get well soon then we can go out for lunches and bump into each other at ikea and stuff :D

Youpi
Gelare is half price on Tuesdays. wow. 2.5 years... um possibly sensitive question. how to BF a toddler? would S lie down to be fed? or how did it work?

How how? Anyone keen for next Tuesday at suntec gelare?

Qing, jacelyn, holly
Poppy also doesn’t like to be in playpen. The second I even lower her into playpen or cot she screams like she’s in pain. So she’s been roaming free for a long time now. Like a cow in the field. She’ll play by herself sometimes then once in a while she’ll call out “MUMMA!” just to make sure I am still around

PB,
No need to announce for me la. Pai seh leh. Cos I'm weaning him liao.
Yah still got engorgement cos maybe it's like 3 days worth? I dunno leh. But it's like one side only.
Yes yes, next Tuesday. Me. Keen. I need to get out!!!
And Poppy is a good girl, she can play alone. I'm waiting for that day to happen to me. Declan MAY play alone, but he will come to me eventually and ask me to play too.

Kylene
#1 self-weaned. I was 5 months pregnant with #2.
#2 is very sticky to me now. He wants "BWEAH!!! BWEAH!!!" every half hour or so, or if he had a fall/knock, or if he's feeling bored, or if kor kor refused to let him play with a toy...

PB
The same, sometimes in cradle position, sometimes lying down. Sometimes acrobatically - half standing, half sitting, etc. Oe he would lie down on top of me, or flop over from the side. Actually easier 'cos you don't have to hold him, he holds himself in place!

Gate
We finally bought a gate to stop L from going into the back area of the kitchen. He's been taking things and depositing them into different laundry baskets (eg. his library card was found in #1's laundry basket, clothes and laundry bags mixed up), touching the dustbin, playing with clothes pegs... and we never had this problem with #1!

youpi
jx also very sticky now. dunno whether is it cos he dun like my current helper. but when we are at home, she will pull my legs or pants non stop and scream like mad when i walk away and ask hepler to look after her so that i can go toilet!!

jx keeps latching recently. help!! i know sometimes she dun realy drink but she will be latching almost all the time! unless we get out of the house....

re gelare
i m on for it as long as i can make it...

PB
ha jx has the funniest positions to feed. everyone says i spoil her cos i let her get away with it. the worst is her standing position. i will sit on the sofa and she will be standing on the floor. it's quite painful actually but she refused to let me carry her up to feed.

re active/hyper kids
i learnt this from my teacher. she says that for kids like jx who are very active and attention span very short, their attention span corresponds to their age. when they are 1 year old, it's 1 min. when 5 year old it's 5 min. so need to keep switching activities. very true for her!

Galare
Me probably can make it....if I dun feel sick of going suntec....haha

Holly
Since you can cut Bos's hair urself, might as well invest in a good shaver. Cos boys hair hor gotta cut every 2 mths or so leh.

dustee
I delayed E's MMR jab becos, i'm lazy to go for the jab n lazy to call to make appt.....hehehe
U know hw lazy I am to call n make appts. Maybe wait for them to call me lah.....LOL

SY
Ember buddy with JX lor. She also alot of pattern when drinking milk 1. Sometimes when she is in the mood, I sit on the bed watching Tv she will go left right left right left right at her leisure. And when I block 1 side dun let her latch she will make noise n pull my hand away.....hahaha

Been trying to wean her from latching in the middle of nights when she wakes cos I dun think she really needs the milk, more so for latching.
But think cos teething she's very grumpy and must latch then she will keep quiet, else she will be so fustrated.

junior league hair cut

mi tried once also...very stylo but super ex it's $20 per hair cut now... so usu i bring him to the hwa xia $10 only and also get to set in those kiddo car to cut... tried normal salon w/o the car to distract him...he cry n scream out so loud till the hair dresser also dunno how to cut for him....

cellow
mi having some prob with my IB so haven't transfer u the $ for the cd will do so by tis wkend k peiseh...btw can pm mi ur acct again cos i lost the thread...

childcare
sorry ger any1 compare little skool hse n learning vision? any comment... mi thot of starting ryane next yr liao...

MMR
when is the date due for MMR huh? 18mth izzit

PB
sortbooks when u ordering? will it be on time for christmas? thot of getting some christmas bk

bb on plane
juz to check r we allow to bring bb water bottle. milk bottle and bb food up to plane for jetstar huh

Ron
You can bring bb's food and drink up on the plane. When they see that you have a bb with you, they'll let it pass.

Flu vaccine
Has anyone given this to their kiddos?

Dor Dor
L also goes left right left right... and will pull my hand and shirt away if I try to block access.

youpi,
Yup, I gave Declan flu jab quite some time ago. After which I stopped, cos I don't like jabbing/medicating them more than necessary.

ron
i'm sending ernest to little skool hse next jan... my sil kids goes to learning vision n they alwys come back with dirty clothes n hands... so i dun like... anyway, i like little skool hse way of teaching... u shld visit the centre which u wanna send ryane to before deciding... HTH...

youpi
i try not to give flu jabs as it is a yearly affair... i rather let the body produce antibodies to fight the virus...

chope - food up the plane. i didn't know we could bring cooked food (also didn't think about it cos it was such a long flight and broken up with stopover, so i was afraid food would go bad. anyway) so i brought jars. and some airports actually make you open up the jars to taste. and of course the jars go bad if you don't refrigerate once opened bla bla bla. better to bring snacks also in case. different airports have different regulations. some just wave you through, some are more picky

BFing positions
wow. i have been enlightened!

speaking of BFing.
my boobs have not been allowed to retire. i had to be a flasher to restore peace in the house. X mins of latching on in exchange for some peace and nap time.... it's a good deal for me!

Jacelyn,
NTUC sells lots of holloween costumes. not too expensive also.

Dustee,
don't combine the jabs. take it separately. my PD says best not to combine jabs cos you don't know what the side effect will be.
how are you feeling? Better take care of your health.

JSP,

how much is little skool hse? I like the facility in AMK hub. but it'll be so far for my mum.

Dustee,
Last sat I just give my twins the MMR + chicken pox jab…. So far no side affects, my PD say depend on the children itself, some will have light fever and some dun have…. Take care urself ya…

Ron,
MMR jab due is 15mths onward.

PB,
When u order softfloor? Want to order some book.

JSP,
How much is the little skool hse, my HB intend to put them there, quite near my house, cos like the environment there also

Any babies refuse to eat porridge now? Cos my gal totally dun wan to eat liao, only wan to drink FM….

rayna/pettygal
i'm staff at sgh so got staff rate which is quite different frm public... i'm paying $250++ after subsidy... i think diff ctr charge diff rates also... u gers call to enquire okie coz not sure... i'm putting ernest in the one located at sgh...

Why am I posting so much? Because L is taking a nap

Does anyone want these? I am trying to sell them:

-Set of 4 Radiohead CDs: The Bends, Kid A, Airbag/How Am I Driving? and OK Computer - $20 for the lot

Books at $5 each, all in very good condition:

-Babywise by Ezzo & Bucknam

-Supernatural Childbirth by Jackie Mize

-Hypnobirthing by Marie Mongan

-Sign Language For Babies & Toddlers by Christopher Brown & John Clements (Hardcover)

-Birth Without Violence by Frederick Leboyer MD

-Will Your Child Eat A Tomato? by Emily Tai

Lemme know k?

little skool hse

Usu rate for full day -$980
half day-$660

before government sub

JSP
NUS one changing from learning vision to little skool hse.. learning vision going to have their new center at science pk and NUS childcare will renovate be4 taking over by LSH so can't visit...
mi also got staff rate so both center about $170/mth nia... but dunno which is better.

Youpi...
mi bring ryane for flu jab tis fri cos going HK next mth... clinic downstairs charge $30 for the jab...

JSP/Ron
Danielle is in LV at Republic Polytechic and she always comes home in clean clothes lei, infact she always smell so 'disinfected'. LOL! I guess perhaps different centres have different level of standards. Ive been very pleased with LV at this branch because everyday, Danielle comes home with new surprises for us and she is taking instructions very well now which I suspect she learnt it in school. *smiles*

They have got lots of activities for the children too. Dani's 'masterpiece' is stuck on the board for all to see or laugh at. LOL. And once in a while, they do invite people from Abbott to give talks on food nutrition and all parents are invited to join. But Im too lazy to go lah, got to work.. heh heh.

CS
ya... i think it differs frm ctr to ctr... n i think its my sil kids behaviour tt puts mi off putting ernest in the same kinda environment... heehee, its me sterotyping niah... i think the newer ctrs r better... btw, my sil sends her kids to LV @ kkh...

ron
try calling them n talk to someone... btw, i like the way things r being scheduled n conducted... so tt part has to go down to the ctr to see one... when would the ctr be ready??

Holly
tks tks...of coz juz for ryane lah...haahaa

JSP
they starting next yr jan
prob going down to LSH at jurong safra tis sat for their open hse

ronnxer
Baby's milk and food plus water should be ok at changi airport. My CB diaper wash - they let it pass too. When I was in HK.. man the security made so much fuss on the porridge we had on food jar, bottled baby food and milk. My Hb was really angry and told her off. In the end the are okay with the baby food but I had to throw away my half full CB diaper wash. It's even less than 100 ml and they made such a big fuss of it. *rolls eyes*

youpi
I was thinking of giving flu jab before going to HK 2 months ago, but in the end I didn't go for it.

PB
Flasher to restore peace = LOLs

ronnxer
i also prefer LSH than LV, cos i seem those at my place, LV tend to hire more malays?
i think the school fees were more ex too..
i got no subsidy, so its abt $500...

end up i chose artzkids from my cc,cos for the same price im getting native teachers and diff programs..

scholastic books are here!! let me sort out then we have another lunch to pass the books ok?

ron
shd be no prob to bring water for the bb. just tell them. i brought a few times already and no problem.

re flu jab
i was also thinking to give them flu jab before going hk. GP said since it's their first jab they must take twice...

smiggle
your stuff still with me leh...how?

SY,
i now workin at bugis lei..
unless got another RP lunch which i can make it..
the colostrum and fish oil rite??
but i have to meet Qing to collect calendula cream soon, u meetin her?

we're going London in Dec and I was enquiring about flu jab for the little 1. If it's the 1st time they're taking it, then they need TWO jabs, 4 weeks apart. still thinking if i should let hime take it.

speaking about travelling,

how can I transport formula milk powder? bring the whole tin? or transfer into tupperware or lock n lock? what about cereal? any ideas? thanks!

smiggle
i pass to her at the next RP lunch then.

u transfer the money to me already?

kylene
for FM, best to bring unopened tin. u can get a small tin to bring along.

for cereal, best to bring unopened box also. if not, u can try to put into those tupperware box but not sure whether they will be ok.

i ever did bring opened one to australia but at that time not so strict.

hi mummies..

i've concluded...bbG IS hyper and getting rather naughty.. will scream if he doesn't get what he wants and his vast vocab is not helping.. he grabs stuff at malls and says: OPEN OPEN... and if I don't, he shows me what NAUGHTY means! faint! and dunno how to discipline him.. realised he can't 'hear' my stern NO's

CC: me wondering if one near home or work would be better for me..

wow ronnxer: $170 onli? how much is the govt sub dat we can get? n kids who are SG citizens get it ah?

CS: is the LV there fully booked? maybe I need to consider.. you've got someone sending her there n back everyday?

didn't realise quite a few of us are looking/already sending our kids to CC.. for those who are already sending.. does your kid fall ill more? my biggest worry

LOL on holly being a suntec fan.. where do you stay? nearby?

and LOL to declan missing his toys after a long nite's sleep

recipe for bergedil: i want i want.. coz i also like to eat :D

SD: dat stall dat sells the mee siam/mee rebus quite famous huh.. big portions! I lurve their mee rebus and the thick sauce *slurp*

SY: aiyo..JX lifted up her dress in public?

you know how bbG barely calls me mummy.. now he's being funny.. calling me mu-mmay

youpi... L asks for bweah? serious? haha!

cellow & babblerebel: yikes.. me too! can PM me please? how much again ah? so sorry!

kylene: buy a small tin/pack or put in smaller tupperware lor..

okie dokz.. gonna zzz now.. bbG still wakes at 5plus 6am! CIAO!

smiggle
i don't think there's anything wrong with a cc centre hiring more malays or not. we are in a multi-racial society. in fact i was very pleased with little shaws to see they had teachers of all races.

i thought most parents only have issues if they have a lot of foreigners like filipinos and then the child ends up speaking with a tagalog accent. while on the topic i also won't be impressed just coz the school has native english speakers.

bbG
oh gosh, G is really such a sweet boy every time i see him. i don't believe what you say about his antics at home! btw pomfret is starting her "stomp feet and roll on the floor" phase already

sad news
anyway, i just lost my baby yesterday. i only knew i was pregnant, but didn't know how far along it is. first gynae appt should have been next week. but yesterday started bleeding profusely. rushed to the hospital. apparently i was 9 weeks pregnant. baby didn't have a heartbeat anymore. so today i was admitted again to 'evacuate the uterus' (official medical term. how cold).

well my gynae says she's seen a few cases just this year alone of mummies miscarrying and that these mummies were also still full breastfeeding. that likely my body couldn't cope with the nutrients all going to the breastmilk. so also likely that the pregnancy wasn't healthy even at conception.

i think for the next one week i'll just bury my head in a hole and grief it out a bit. but i leave it all up to God. i do not understand it now but someday i'll see the good that comes of this episode.

Ronnxer
I sleep at 4am now..........sigh
Likely to go to 5am the next time......if I dun kill my hubby 1st....hehe

do1nk
Think they are starting a difficult phrase.
Ember's very hard to please now too. N she jus had to have that 1 thing that Korkor is holding. Else she will go "MAMA!!!" or if I refuse to give in, sulk, cry, scream and then give the super kelian look while sulking n wiping her tears 1 side by 1 side.

Dustee
Take care K. If too much for you to be stuck at home with ur mil around I offer my place lah.....hehe

dustee
take care.sometime ppl who are not bfing also have this problem,baby heartbeat stop.
N try not to think too much.

Dustee
BIG HUGS... do rest and take care of yourself. It's happened to me before too, during the 2nd trimester, before I had kids, so it's not just the breastfeeding.

kylene,
If you're going London, I think no need to bring cereal. Just buy from the supermarkets there. As for FM, just bring the whole can, I'm sure it can be finished

dustee,
That's heartbreaking to read. You rest well... take all the time you need.

dustee - Big hugs...take care and rest more.

like what dor says, if your mil is too much for you to take, then get out of the house. =)

Holly - Happee bday! hope bosco gave you big kiss and hugs

bbp- saw you eating big scoop of ice cream yesterday evening
i am super excited that they opened a branch at chip bee but my waistline is not :p

falling down - sophie has this rocking horse and instead sitting on it, she wants to stand on it to surf instead..so she keeps falling down and of course it hurts and she cries..so should I let her learn or keep the horse away? :p

Cin,
Hey hey, why didn't you scream hello? Heehee.
Yes yes, I'm happy too cos the opening hours are better than Sunset's! I was so enjoying my Tiramisu yesterday.
Hmm, if Sophie doesn't seem to be learning after a few falls, maybe keep it first ok?

dustee... soo soo sorry to hear that.. sending all my hugs to you... rest well and dun think too much, k? take time to heal but must brace it all again when you are ready... hugs hugs hugs..

cin, ethan has this rocking horse too! ok, he sits on it, not stand.. but garang in that he rocks and move it at the same time, always knock his head forward.. thank goodness he has stopped doing that. then now he will climb up, climb down, climb up and down and up and down.. if you dun hold the horse, he will fall and knock again loh.. now his eye area a lot of bruises.. also dunno what to do... watch closely loh... but i think you should stop her from standing lah.. as in, once she wants to stand, she will be carried away. until she gets the idea that she cannot stand else she will be carried away.. wonder if that works.. haha..

Holly, your BD today? Happy Happy Bdae! how to celebrate leh???

I need to buy anniversary pressies and i am clueless again.. i hate this every year same problem.. whereas my hubby easy peasy, everything also i want.. so easy to buy.. hahahaha...

Ethan's left eye has been tearing quite a bit whole of ytday.. and some sneezing.. i hope its not another flu bug... he is taking his chicken pox and mmR tomorrow... i will prob ask PD to give just the chicken pox vaccine...

guess what, my dear little boy finally decided to point with 1 finger.. with his left hand. for right hand, its still 5 fingers.. hahaha..