(2008/07) July 2008

SY, daddy's little gal mah.. generally daddies will adore baby gals more cos they know how to snuggle up to them and make them feel important... whereas boys (like ethan) will bo hiew one loh...

this sat i intend to go out and this will be the first time i leave ethan with hubby for more than 2hours, alone.. i am worried but hubby say ok. i am worried.. very worried..

Mich: think I’m quite anal about him finishing up his milk.. and very paranoid of him dripping it all over himself and the bedsheet haha.. my sis juz pointed out to me that I should not let him drink to sleep but brush his teeth when he’s done, before sleeping.. so since he wasn’t sleepy I tried dat last nite and he protested big time..

Not easy brushing his teeth leh.. doesn’t wanna open mouth but only wanna bite the bristles how ah.. n he even knows how to tell me to put a bit of his baby toothpaste haha

In the end.. he juz monkeyed about til he fell asleep lor.. 2hours.. FAINT

Lights were off.. no one doing anything or moving..baby monkeys about in pitch darkness!

LOL on dec’s granparents hearing him cry all the way in S’hai

How do you configure the off button not to do anything? So I can use it to on the pc but not for shutting down? Wat if I need to hard reset leh.. juz in case? How do u do it? Tell me! :D

LOL on poppy gazing lovingly at the apple!

bbG learnt a new word: CARD: now dat he’s into elmo, he’s suddenly taken interest in his sesame street number flashcards and wants it more than his fav books!

Our babies are growing cuter by the day huh? Still so totally infatuated!

Dor: I go to the dog run on Sunday mornings.. but dun think u wake up dat early huh?

Now dat I wanna look for a new rashguard for bbG, no one’s selling it coz it’s getting cold!

mich wat hankie r u using for ethan? any hankie? glad dat bbG still loves his blankie to bits.. one's a mouse though, but he calls both bear-bear...

the other mummies who have the blankie.. does your little one sleep wiv it?? ;)

I used to fret and get stressed out when ethan refuses milk, especially he hasnt drank much throughout the day! (remember his drinking problem?). hubby reminded me that babies know when they are hungry, and besides, he still sleep through the night even without full feed, and we gave him a lot of solids too.. so i start to chill, one day, two days.. now i just make milk and ethan will drink most of the time, sometimes he leaves some behind.. i let him decide.. and i feel ok liao... except past few nights, i can just put him down, lights off, music on, he will hold the milk and hold his hankie, then when done he just put by the side and goes to bed, HIMSELF! these few nights? i have to stay in the room!!! hubby say i am spoiling him again, ask me to just leave and let him cry.. so sian loh.. dunno what to do again...

hankie ah, he use normal cotton ones loh. actually he any type of hankie also ok one... as long as I have 2, one at each corner so it is within his reach, midnight he will wake up to look for hankie then fall back to sleep one.. haha..

oh my, ethan wont stop walking and my back ache after one night of chasing after him! i mean, he is not that steady yet, but want to be garang hold a big ball and walk round the house, want to climb the steps some more! up and down! stressed!!! he still prone to fall backwards some times. there was once he fell down on his head hard.. afterthat for a day or two, refuse to walk.. not even in gym class.. now better liao... btw, he still dunno how to stand up from sitting position yet, still wobbly wobbly..

do1nk,
2 HOURS! wah you have a lot of patience.
C drinks milk and goes to sleep. HB and I do the pre sleep routine, talk, read, play a bit, then when helper comes in w milk.... lalala C's eyes immediately shift to the milk bottle.

oh michelle,
i hope your floor is comfortable! lie on the floor not moving indeed.

bbp,
you face Declan more than he does, of cz, by the time HB is back, he is all eager to play w Declan and you .... you are just pooped.
i dun angst abt it now cz i figured #2 is my respty, #1 is HB's. see easy peasy to rationalise, no angst.

doggiebb,
i was gonna ask how to pronounce too.
and what is the chinese word for elbow? shou wan izzit? .... i need a chinese book for body parts.

ooh... bbG quite stable liao though he will still fall.. but i let him coz he's gotto learn.. two days ago fell and hit his forehead..instant bruise and scraped some skin off nostril .. poor baby..

think i must learn to chill about the milk too.. but milk is good for them lah..

re: sleeping

hmmm. i tried the hanky/blankie method when my son was 8 month old. didn't work. wheneve I put something in his hands, he'll throw it away. many many times. so i've given up. wonder if it's too late to try again?

yes, milk is good for them. so ethan drinks milk from bottle 3 times a day still, and sometimes he does not finish. But breakfast must be with milk, and snack time with milk, so that ensures his minimum milk intake per day.... dun fret lah... sometimes i feel the more i push ethan, the more 'rebellous" he becomes.. i try a few times, he does not want. I will just place it on the floor. sometimes he will play play play.. when he feels like it, he goes for the bottle himself, remove the cover and start drinking.. then halfway stop... play play play.. then drink again.. haha...

haha but the milk can last for an hour only right?

also wondering when to start milk in straw/cup.. and keep away the milk bottles.. i still give him water in a bottle coz not sure if he can suck from straw while half asleep or not haha

kylene.. you need to persevere.. we held hankie in bb's hand and held the hand close..after some time they get used to it..but if ur bb is doing fine without one, no need to start this new habit bah

let me share with you my colleague's case, which is the other extreme. My lady colleague has two kids, the younger daughter is 19 mth old. Her husband is a SAHD. He wakes up real late everyday, so my colleague will feed her daughter milk every morning at 6am before she brings her son to childcare and goes to work. The daughter will stay in her cot in the room alone, from 6am. sometimes she will go back to sleep, sometimes she is kept there alone until the hubby wakes up, which is around 11-12. then he will make porridge for the daughter, and then put her alone in the cot again so that he goes downstairs to have his lunch. when she was barely 6wks old, she was left to cry everynight until she learnt to sleep through.. afternoon naps, when the hubby thinks it is time for her to sleep, he will again just bring the daughter to the room and leave her alone.. she goes to sleep on her own, even tho she can be crying non stop in there, she is being ignored... when she told me, i GASPed and GULPed and basically har har har with mouth and eyes open wide many times.. but she say her daughter is not clingy and very independent... extreme or not?

bbG,

oh I wasn't clear. I want to try the hankie method cos my boy is "addicted" to my breast lor. he won't sleep without bf and I think it's not v healthy ? i wanna wean him off too. it's v tiring.

my PD told me after 1yr old, milk is suppose to supplement the solids and not the other way... just make sure he gets decent amount of milk so that he gets all the nutrients that he cant get from the solids... milk is snack/supper, not main source of food so chill chill chill... PD also say it is ok to drink some milk immediately after solids... anyway not asking you NOT to give bbG milk, just trying to tell you dun be too stressed out over bbG not finishing his milk...

some mummies even opt for cows milk liao... i only use cows milk for cooking scrambled or steam egg for ethan.. he hasnt tried drinking it yet.. maybe will try soon.. hee..

ethan ah, dun like straw cup still lah... not even for juice. he still drinks water from milk bottle. give up!

yikes.. dat little girl of your colleague's.. sounds like she has almost no human interaction at all and is stuck in cot almost the whole day
read about some 7 yr old still clad in diaper and dunno how to talk all dat.. coz parents didn't care.. then authorities came to take the kid away...

kylene..ooh breast addiction huh.. ok then try the hankie n see? but must also remove breast at the same time or bb will be addicted to breast + hankie?

Michelle,
Have faith in your your hubby. I think sometimes (or rather most of the times), we give them less credit than they deserve. Look at it this way, next time you can leave Ethan with hubby whenever you need to

do1nk,
Yah, I give Declan his milk at bedtime too, but I give him water after that to "rinse" his mouth.
Off Button - Can hard reset still when you press the button for the longer period of time, but at least it prevents those grubby hands from shutting the laptop down whenever they press that button.
Control Panel -> Power Options -> Advanced Tab -> Select "Do Nothing" under the "When I press the power button on my computer"
bbG goes Card to proper learning stuff! Declan goes Card to my EZ-link and Credit Cards! *Faints*
Milk in bottle - Actually I read in some books that we should start keeping the bottles away liao. But I can't do it... imagine the mess!

kylene,
Sigh I have the same problem. Am now weaning him off and it isn't easy... last night was 1h of struggling, crying, and patting.

Oh Michelle,

I feel so sorry for that little girl. eh, in that case I think the girl will do much better in infant care! at least there'll be human interaction. what kind of SAHD is the father? might as well go out to work.

BUT.... I sometimes feel that my son is TOO clingy though I think our babies are still very young. do we really want them to be independent at this age?

bbG,
ya haha it'll be terrible if he becomes addicted to both! I was thinking of removing the breast once he likes his hankie.

bbp,

what happend after an hour? so far I've only tried 30 min of patting and refusing him the breast. he went into a frenzy. cried louder and louder. threw his head back.... and vomitted

I scared liao, wanna try gentler methods. I think the cry it out won't work on him.

exactly, there are really many extreme parenting styles... i know her hubby, he is actually very nice, when he is done with his work, he actually does spend time with the daughter.. just that his training is really very hard. he can just harden and not hear the crying whereas i cannot loh... normally during weekends they spend a lot of family time together... so some people give in to the slightest whimper. some dun even twitch an eyelid when the young child is crying alone in the room... no book says which method is right or wrong.. its just different parenting style... I hope to seek the in between... but you know, it is hard. babies this age needs consistency. sometimes we give in, sometimes we dun, they will be confused. PARENTING IS HARD!!!!! so i also confused all the time... but i keep telling myself i am not super women lah, ethan also not super kid lah.. we just trial and error as we go along loh.. afterall, they change pattern so fast one.. one method works liao, after a while change pattern again.. haha... but i think whats really important is to let them feel loved. I like Youpi's method of discipline with love. i keep reminding myself to do that all the time....

kylene, try the hankie method again.. but must persevere and just keep doing it throughout the day, i.e. each time you BF, you let him hold.

kylene,
The cry out method didn't work on him either. We tried a few methods, but we have no idea what worked. I think basically after an hour he was tired? I dunno too

Another thing I need to seek your advice. Rgd teaching Ethan to share. Sometimes ethan will hold on to the chair, and when i put my hands there, he will quickly push them away, i will put again, and he will push my hands away. i cannot touch what he is touching. is this a sign that he is not sharing? how to tell him it is ok to share things?????

now that you mention it michelle, same thing w C. when i open the piano to play, he will toddle to me and scramble onto my lap, place his hands on the keys, tonk a few x. then when i put my hands back, he will quickly push them away. can repeat a few x till i insist. then usually he will do the arch-back-yell sequence.

are they even teachable at this age? abt sharing.

Sharing
Normally I'd call my #1 and show Emma the sharing part over and over and over again. Sometimes she gets it, but sometimes she just ignored us. Sometimes when we showed her the gesture to share, she would pretend to give it to us and snatch it back before we take the thing. So naughty

Hmmph Emma is back to her "no straw" policy. Now have to feed her milk via spoon again *dies*

thanks, bbp!!

we can't even tahan 5 mins of crying.. dun say one hour..

sharing: bbG and my doggie were both tugging at a toy and complaining to me!

i usually give him something else to make him learn to let go of the thing in his hand.. then later give it back to him...

dor
LOL on ember pulling on D's pants and smacking his backside!!! ya i wait for her to tire herself to sleep until i took a small nap also. i woke up, she was still standing in cot playing and calling out to me

michelle
pardon me for being blunt but the SAHD is like having a holiday. but then again, men are less emotional. that being said, mr mich will be fine with ethan. just relax and go out and have your ME time and enjoy it. the more you do it, the more you will crave for it hahaha. these days i just say 'when you finish work early? i want to take the PM off' LOL

i think it's still too young for them to learn about sharing and "mine". don't worry

youpi
i give poppy magnolia fresh milk. is L still on full BM? if he's already had some FM then when you give fresh milk, try to give it at the same temp as FM and in bottle ie the only change is the milk. ceritis peribus? haha

kylene
i let hubby put poppy to bed most nights. so she's stopped suckling to sleep at night. thank goodness. at the start he would just give her the bottle then stay with her and sing to her till she's asleep but i could not be in the room. because if i was, she'd smell me then want to suckle. but soon it became i could also give her the bottle and she would roll around and fall asleep after without molesting me. but at naps i help her out cos i want to 'force' her to sleep. patience.... good luck!

SDchick
oh gosh! feeding emma milk thru spoon! you are a saint

wow congrats to sister do1nks!!!

clap clap to do1nk sisters! congrats congrats! more cousins to play with bbG!

SD, ya ya, ethan does the trick thingy too.. pretend to give but change mind last minute...

fresh milk, PD say dun give low fat milk hor.. they need fats!

uhm, btw hor, the daughter just went to child care, and the hubby is still a SAHD.
good life eh? hahaha.... i din know of any SAHD before until now...

I am worried of Mr Mich watching over Ethan cos several times under his watch, ethan fell, badly. he is either watching TV at the same time, or just doing something else.. watch him when i bathe, ok. watch him for full 2-3 hours.. I AM SCARED! now wondering if I should ask my IL to come over.. still thinking... should I? should I?

mich
i think mr mich will be more watchful because he knows you are not around. he may have always felt that because you are around, he can cut himself some slack? bluebunny also like that. i ask him to watch poppy for a while, but in the end i still have to give him all the things he needs to watch her like books and toys etc. why do we even have to ask our husbands to watch THEIR children, i wonder.

anyhow, i personally feel you shouldn't ask your ILs over. then he would never really fully experience caring for ethan!

michelle,
agree w PB - my 20 fingers and toes are all up!

congrats to your 2 sisters, do1nk! either of them giving birth in Mt A and in mid Apr? might meet them there.

... luckily today is fri, and i m wkg at home.
can power nap after drinking iced kopi sm more.

sianz. back to work.

one is due in may like JSP, and the other now in Jun.. n seeing my gynae in NUH too :D

so so happy for them.. now juz pray that all goes well coz my older sis been having bleeding ever since she found out she was pregnant @ 4 wks plus..

PB,

the hubby method doesn't work leh. tried when he was about a year old. but he'll cry and cry.

think i'll try the hankie method again. now i feel inspired to try again! heh. i can't stand him crying too

kylene.. be patient and the no crying method is normally very long so you must persevere and persevere loh.. just keep trying..

ok, maybe I should really give some credit to Mr Mich and let him try... hopefully both of them survive their first night in, alone! heehee..

D' Story CLub Trial at Patschoolhouse! http://www.patschoolhouse.com/dstory.asp

The trial class on 16 Jan 2010.
11.30am. Max 8. at Halifax.
I need to submit the list to secure the date and time first. Pls indicate your interest here. thereafter, pls PM your details incl mummies name, baby's name, DOB, HP number.

1) Michelle & Ethan

PB,
Since there is no other ways to make her drink the milk. No choice have to spoon fed.

Michelle,
Yes I'm giving Emma Fresh milk, mixed with enfapro. I just don't understand Emma. Sometimes she takes Enfapro, sometimes mixed and sometimes she totally refused. Arggghhh

I agree with PB. Without us around they will be more careful. Furthermore they will learn that taking care of a child requires hard work and will appreciate mummies more.

BBG,
Congratulations to your sisters.

Spotting between periods
Have any mummy got this before? This is like the first time for me and NO I'm not pregnant. It's light brown and it's like 2 weeks after my period. Should I go to gynae?

Michelle,
Wow there is a trial at patschoolhouse too? I'm going to register early Jan for Chiltren Hs Halifax. Hopefully can get a place. My #1 went there and I thought they're pretty good.

Saw Martha Steward yesterday on TV making a home-made play doh. Pretty easy to make. here's a recipe if anyone wants to try:

2 cups flour
1 cup salt
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
2 cups cold water
Food coloring
Wooden board
Plastic bag or container

Play Dough How-To
1. In a medium saucepan, mix together the flour, salt, vegetable oil, cream of tartar, and water.
2. Cook uncovered over medium heat, about 5 minutes. Stir constantly until the dough is the consistency of mashed potatoes.
3. Divide the dough into four equal portions.
4. Add approximately 6 to 8 drops of food coloring to each portion and knead the color into the dough to distribute it evenly. Kneading the color into the dough is the fun part -- kids will love it.
5. If you store the play dough in a plastic bag or airtight container, it will stay nice and soft and last for years.

If you wanna see the vid, here's the link:
http://www.marthastewart.com/article/making-play-dough-with-kids?autonomy_kw=playdoh

SD, i was told by chiltern house that their nursery class is only for 3 yr olds... for Patschoolhouse, its also 3yo. have you met with their principal yet?

SD,
so interesting! what is cream of tartar? can find in any supermkt izzit?
suaku non-baking only-eating mummy asking! :p

yes do go to the gynae to rule out any vaginal infection. i had light brown spotting before, and gynae sent the swab for tests, turned out to be a bacterial infection which was treated and all ok with medication.

cellow, playclub from Julia Gabriel has come to East Coast Parkway!!! for 18mth onwards! 2-3 times a week, 2 hour each.... interested in trial???? from Jan onwards.... walking distance from our house...

michelle,
2-3x a week! how to rearrange my work schedule! and of course i wont want helper to be the one to accompany C, so tis gotta be me rite.

give this a miss, i have to.
(so says Yoda, the wise one fm Star Wars)

my aunt has to look after my 91 yo grandma too. she always says got 2 bbs at home.
diao diao diao.

anyway, think i will go look at the school that SY is sending (was sending) JH to, and decide on maybe a mon, wed, fri full day childcare for C come Mar nx year. then he is not so bored also.

Michelle,
Yep I think for 3 years old to start Nursery 1. I didn't talk to the principal, but I talked with one of the admin person at Halifax road. No waiting list, just need to register as early as possible starting Jan 2 2010 for classes that start 2011. Children which siblings attended before will have priority. I quite like the school, the teachers are nice. My #1's K2 teacher is still teaching there and she still remembers my #1.

Cellow,
Yes cream of tartar is like a powder. Can find at supermarkets, baking section - near all the bottles for flavoring and food coloring.

Michelle,
16 Jan 2010???? PWAH! You really queen of trial leh.
But see I lately been the kiasu one to sign up right after you :p

I need to submit the list to secure the date and time first. Pls indicate your interest here. thereafter, pls PM your details incl mummies name, baby's name, DOB, HP number.

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) bbp & declan

MIchelle
Yah, you are definitely the queen of trials! This one I want!

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) bbp & declan
3) youpi & L

Btw that SAHD - maybe should be reconsidering his decision to be one. Of course the daughter is very independent and not clingy. She has no one to depend on because she has been conditioned to know that her cries will be ignored

PB
No, L is still tbf, no FM. He did eat a bit of egg tart today, yay!

Do1nk
Congrats to your sisters and BbG for more cousins!

tonite's gymnast session lasted 1.5 hours.. hopefully it gets shorter n shorter.. he's been refusing the afternoon naps and will have a half hour of eye shut after a big tussle too.. wonder if this is giving rise to the nite-gymnast session or not..

MIchelle
Yah, you are definitely the queen of trials! This one I want!

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) bbp & declan
3) youpi & L
4) do1nk & bbG

sorry mummies.. haven't had time to call for the JWT trial.. gonna be super swamped these few weeks/months too

now i gotto go pack for my KL trip solo wiv bbG soon next week! :D

jus came back from watching julie and julia. Good show! Go watch! Apparently ethan was waiting for us to return. He immediately wanted to go home once he saw us. By the time we got home, it was past 10pm liao so put him down straight away. He went to bed by himself without fuss. Phew! He must have felt tired from waiting!

Yay to bbg gym session shortened! Hee. Whole day no nap at all and he woke at 6am?!? Wow, thats tough for a baby. Ethan still takes 3 hour naps! Today was 4 hours! Maybe he knows we be back late so he better charge up. Ha ha.

Oh ya, jus recalled i suppose to sent bbg photos over. Wait for weekend k?

Btw rgd pats school trial, you know how popular they are, so lets jus secure a class first with 8 babies and then closer to the date confirm again. I think the cost is around $50 and the session is 1.5 hours. Hurry hurry!

sophie caught a cough from her daddy so poor baby keeps waking up..today she got the nebuliser but thankfully took it w/out a fuss ..so proud of her!

happy weekend mummies!

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) bbp & declan
3) youpi & L
4) do1nk & bbG
5) cinbunny n sophie

do1nk
hehe or when u are heading home then you pop over?? keke
U know hor my cousin's kid used to be like tat 7 yr old leh but she was abt 4-5yr old that time in Msia taken care by grandaunt. Parents work in sg n bochup kind. The girl still in diaper cos the grandaunt old never toilet train her at all.

Michelle
Ummmmmm when ur colleague tell u this.....is she bragging or angry with her hubby for ignoring her gal??
Pardon me huh but to me this feels like the gal actually is independent becos she believes even if she cry till death nobody will bother about her so she also do not expect any love coming from them when she cries.
I like to believe that my kids dun cry so much becos they know they are well loved and they dun have to cry to seek my attention.

U know hor my neighbour has a girl few mths older then my 3 yr old. N few mths ago......we realised she was still being confined in her playpen!!!!!!!
We have seen her in the playpen on n off since after they turned 1 and was alittle impressed that their girl is still willing to stay in the playpen while our son will be running all over. But now am alittle unbelieveable that the parents will do that jus so they can leave the kids alone.

Cinbunny
Poor Sophie hope she gets well real soon.

dor..it's still quite early by your terms leh.. I'm usually there at 7plus 8... leave at 9plus... hehe would you mind?

get well soon sophie bunny!

bbG naps in the yao lan but now he's learning to stand and sit up in it, so scary! so I gotto keep it away liao I think.. but jialat.. he won't sleep on a mattress on the floor coz he gets up and walks around and plays... put him in cot now and the nite gymnast activities has morning sessions now too! faint! making him nap will be a 2 hour ordeal now!

GRRREAT! little one screamed bloody murder and cried his heart out when placed in cot.. now he's walking about in the living room scattering his books all over... placed the mattress on the floor incase he decides to fall aslep out of exhaustion!