(2008/07) July 2008

michelle,

till u confirm the date den i let u know again can i join in. can?
slowly venture ard with ur new cam. hehe. i also dunno how to use..
canon got a free class on the cam also wor. i still haven go.
for now, u dun really need additional lens lo. until u are very familiar with ur shots and get the correct lens for the correct photos will b easier.

garfield,
My boy can self-feed but also likes to stuff everything into his mouth when it's something soft like bread. If it's something hard like biscuit, then he will hold it at his mouth and keep at it until everything has disintegrated into his mouth. So messy

Steph, do1nk,
Declan is quite fond of the maid too, even though I take care of him 24-7. He smiles at her and will play peekaboo with her and will even peek into the kitchen to look for her. Then again, he smiles to most people..hmm...

Michelle,
Just keep snapping! The thing is, since we are amateurs, we must snap many many many times to get good photos. My hubby will say, just snap, free one mah!

bbp, maybe it boys that do that? wan ez way out lor ;p so tat we buay tahan n hold the food for them like king? lol but my gal dun like to hold milk bottle... ah... cos she use to us holding... must train liao.

oh photography... my hb bought 1 sometime back n never go for the free session too... buy never use... like white elephant. act I shld learn cos G always moving. so far 80% of her pics r blur n double image 1 lo... end up soemtimes i take video. but 7 p.m i can't make it lo. ofc end at 630 for me.

bbp, hmmm. ya my boy also hold his own bottle. but luckily now he know how to eat his biscuits slowly liao... haha he will even try to tilt his head/mouth just on top of table when he eat so that the crumbs drop on table n not floor hahaha cos i say him lor... haha somemore my floor is carpet... faint. he is now 2 and half yrs...

re self feeding,
bosco been holding his own biscuits, own bottle since quite sometimes back.
but very funny nowadays, he is trying to own his own spoon n fork to self feed or feed us.
scare of messiness, i dun alow him to do so.
sometimes if he refuse to eat his food, i let him hold onto his own spoon he will eat eh.
at night when he having his last milk feed before slp, he will know how to climb onto the bed n lie down n when we put the bottle near him, he will snatch and drink.
if we hold for him, he will scold us.

sy
i'll get these
http://littleengelscloset.blogspot.com/2009/09/set-of-4-10.html
and
http://littleengelscloset.blogspot.com/2009/09/set-of-4-18.html
not really sure about buying more paperback types coz she's at the 'tearing-everything-about' stage. which others are hardcovers?

pb
mil post-its say stuff like "i go this place, be back this time, today very hot, better don't bring baby out" or "if you need lunch, there's leftovers. ask the maid to heat up for you" or "don't leave baby alone. if you go toilet, ask the maid to watch her"
or usual stuff like "gardener coming when, pest control coming when" etc
or (and this one i super dislike) "such and such friend of mine bought this thing for baby, pls call /email her at this to thank her" i super dislike this coz i don't know those pple, and they are her friends, i don't understand why she can't just thank them herself and why i have to be involved.

my childcare dilemma
y'know i said earlier that i had decided to put her in cc come 18mths. but now i'm having second thoughts. on one hand, i think the exposure is good. on the other hand, i feel like, gosh, other mummies want to spend time with their babies so much, yet here i am voluntarily sending her to cc even though i'm not working.

it's like a "i want ME time! i want a life that's not a mummy-only identity!" weighed with a "gosh i can't bear to let go of my baby! what kind of mother am i sending her to cc when i don't need to?"-guilt complex.

holly, ya ya there once G refuse to eat her food... then we try to let her feed herself n she act eat lor... she wan to hold the spoon too. dun wan to be fed... but she really eat v little compare to her peers...

steph, i know how you feel. Last time my #2 was very close to the maid. She's always the first that he'll turn to. Then i really felt so upset. People kept telling me it's ok, he knows who his mama is. I made it a point that he can't sleep with the maid though. She looked after him for a good 4 yrs. Then when it was time for her to leave, i was really worried, don't know how will he react to this. So we talked to him, tell him she needs to go home, blah, blah, blah. When the day came, he cried & waved her good-bye. After that, it was like the memory of her got erased from him totally, overnite!! Now i'm his first choice loh

dustee, you don't need to send her to a full-day cc. Maybe those 2 hrs ones will do. If not, half day is also not too bad. Coz after all, she can sleep, eat, and bathe at home, so don't need to spend the money to get someone to do it for you. Coz going cc will also subject her to many germs, fall sick more often also a headache and heartpain.

Dor, Ember really very zai. Like that fall down still ok. Must be guardian angel protecting her

dear mommies, i really appreciate very much you sharing your experiences with me. at least i know i'm not being petty and paranoid
my helper has a 2 yr old son taken care of by her mother. she also told me she had a tough time deciding to come to SG to work and leave her son behind. she's afraid her son won't be close to her when she goes home after 2 years. so lucky for me in a way, i think she understands how i feel and doesn't "hog" my son like my collegue's helper did. she won't let go of the boy when my colleague wants to carry her son. scary isn't it?!

dustee,
maybe your mil is just used to being kind of "dominant". like the old saying, can't have 2 female owners in 1 house. maybe she's trying to remind you who's the boss in the house. just give her due respect and stay out of her way lor.

actually, i'm planning to send my boy to half day child care next year so that he can make more friends and learn to be independent. he's getting quite spoilt by the helper & grandparents. plus i have #2 arriving next year, don't think helper can cope when i need to go office. like hb & Michelle said, we will have to let go of our kids eventually. can't get too protective and possessive over them.

waiwai,
how's your confinement getting along? it's the long weekend, is your #1 home for some family time?

i'm still deciding to let my #1 stay at my parents' place during my hospital stay or ask mil to stay home with him & helper. haiz.... so many decisions to make....

dustee,
Wow, I think I would go crazy with the post-its too. Good job on surviving so far

Can I not think about childcare yet? I definitely can't let go yet...

dustee,
i knw i WILL send C to childcare at 18months bcz he needs to learn how to get along w other children. right now, he is the centre of the universe. and there are a lot of adults doting on him... sekali he really grows up thinking he is the centre of the universe and everything revolves around him.
having ME time is a good idea too
never feel guilty for it!

steph,
i know C1 will be taken care of at home by my MIL and helper during the period when i m staying in hosp bcz of C2. anyway i only intend to stay in hosp 2 days *shrug* C1 will survive.

anyway, think i m a bit bian tai these few days. i want ME time to rest!!!! when C1 fell and knocked his cheek blue black under my care just now, i was like *shrug* tis a bruise, he will heal. helper was more kancheong than me, wanted to apply ice. why ah? i just feel so boh chap. does that make me a bad mummy to C1......!
PS. HB has a equally relaxed attitude towards bumps n bruises.

cellow,
me too. i totally ignore now. he always have bruises and bums on his head.
but i really dun wanna bother.
when my mil question me, i will just tell her, "the more they knock, the faster they grow n learn. let him be."

re: childcare
i will be putting bosco in half day CC also.
wan to let him learn things n also socialise with kids.
think he needs to learn to share.
he had been snatching toys with his baby frens.
i must be there to tell him, "baby share share" den he will share.
so putting him into the CC should b a good way to let him know that there are other kids and is a must to share.

Steph
i'm glad to have a nice CL to help, so far so good. today my PIL brought XP home for a while, i nearly cried when she left. she is not staying home during my confinement, coz i'm afraid both of them disturb each other's sleep at night. i think we should spend more time to have a good rest after delivery, BF-ing around the clock is really tiring.

cellow
not bian tai lah, u really need rest

childcare
i have enrolled XP in full day childcare at Cherie Hearts when i return to work next Jan. hope she will learn how to socialise with other kids

cellow,
you're perfectly normal. I was constantly tired during first 2 months of this pregnancy. lying on bed n couch almost whole day. you should rest as much as you can. my guilt towards son started recent weeks coz can't carry too long. not much energy and easily irritated. feels uncomfortable when I bend over to help him when he falls. end up helper spendsmore time with him

waiwai,
hugs. now that you mentioned, I forgot how tiring it was during confinement with a new baby. but I'd still want my son at home with me. I'll start training him to shhh on command. I sound like I'm training a dog. eeeks! hehe..

Checking in from taipei! A tiring day for us... went out of the house at 10am and only managed to reach ur tp hotel at 730pm! gg to call it a day now ... old liaoz leh .. but the food here is superb think i will put on a few kilos when i go back *cry*!!!

And i think i will miss the little one lots! she is so cute now ...

i went to the chinese sinseh ystday for my cough, and he told me i m prob 10 weeks along! HA! c2 so big already!

time to book gynae appmt liao... i was thinking can eat, can sleep, dun need to book appmt sooooo early lor.

jacelyn,
come back then think abt losing wgt.... hehe

jacelyn: having loads of fun in taipei? how's the weather? heard it's not too good in HK though..

we are spending the long weekend at home coz bbG's got fever.. he's got an ulcer on his lower gum too.. but PD said not likely to be HFMD and he probably got infected the weekend before.. sigh.. from GUG?

how r u feeling so far cellow? wah.. how does the sinseh tell how many weeks along u r.. 10 weeks means u r having a may 2010 baby? my younger sis is preggie wiv her no2 same time too! yayy!

JSP & other mummies who's encountered HFMD before.. was there any medication to take or did your babies juz have to run thru the whole course n heal? wary coz there's a red mark on the corner of his mouth.. frm the milk bottle or is it,....gulp!

oops, poor bbG!!! hope its not HFMD!! got it from GUG??!? oh dear... wonder which baby there was sick then!

E-boy's nose still on-off runny, cough occasionally, and his left eye also red... went to see family doc again and he said eye red could be due to the flu viral infection.. sigh.. whatever it is, just hope it goes away soon!!

Boo Hoo Hoo!

Cellow, wow, 10 wks oredi! can hear heartbeat already! go go book a gynae soon, have you decided which one? (definitely not going back to your old edward scissor hand right...)....

Steph
rest more whenever u can. if u wish to have #1 at home during confinement, since u have MIL and helper to help, think should be manageable... do u intend to sleep with both kids? or what arrangement do u have?

woa cellow, already 10 weeks...

oh u haven seen a gynae
When the minute that i juz knew that i was expecting, i already cheong to gynae's clinic liao leh
Yes, for all 3 pregnacies. Heee...

dustee
noted on your books.

dun feel too bad abt wanting to send her to cc. i have those feelings too! it's normal. on one hand i wan to spend as much time as possible with jx but on the other hand i find that sometimes i dun do much with her and she shd go to sch to learn which is better for her....contracdicting right...but i guess at the end of the day we wan what is best for them.

when i first sent jh to sch at 2 years old, my IL said i m heartless but after a month, they all realised how happy he is in sch. so no harm letting promfret try sch if u wan to start her on something.

bbG
hope G is better now....

michelle
poor E. is the eye very uncomfortable?

seems like a lot of bb under the weather. jx also dun wan to eat. dunno why. she only eats when i let her hold the spoon and feed herself...

cellow
10 weeks already? fast...time to see gynae liao.

re childcare
i m also thinking abt it cos i feel it is good for them to get some routine. and once they go to sch, they will expereinced a more discipline envt. but i can't decide on sch yet cos haven decide whether wan to move to my mum's place....

Upset... we went for a weddingg lunch today and left Declan's favourite gingerbread man book at the hotel...

Does anyone have a copy they are willing to let go of? It's the free one that came bundled with Huggies some time back, but I'm willing to pay for it

Boohoo...

today went for a teatime buffet thingie at hyatt. in-laws' friend's grandchild's first bday. then pomfret was sitting on my lap. i poured tea from the teapot into my cup, and telling pomfret "see? this is tea" and she reached forward, grabbed the teacup by the handle and pulled it towards her. so i started squealing "no no no!". my in-laws were seated next to me, couldn't react fast enough so pomfret dipped her fingers into the cup. and it's hot, so she starts screaming.

at this point, of coz my heart just stopped. and my first thought was, dry off the tea and quickly get some cool water to rinse her fingers! but what happens? my mother-in-law stands up, starts clucking loudly and shaking her head "oh my god, you, you, you (refering to me, dustee), oh my goodness,you, you, you"

i was then trying to carry pomfret, soothe her, check her fingers, and trying to stand to run off to the toilet, but my mil continues to her clucking. this uncle next to us says "don't worry, it's only hot tea, it's not boiling" and my mil says "it's very hot. she already let my granddaughter hurt one finger before"

at this point i took pomfret and ran.

thank God it's nothing. the tea was hot, it stunned her. but her fingers were not scalded or hurt.

but gosh, did i hurt. i came home and cried the whole afternoon. i told my hb i cannot take it living with his mother anymore. which mother purposely puts herself in a situation to hurt her child? did i purposely put the teacup there so pomfret can scald herself?

and even if accidents happen, wouldn't the first instinct be to ensure the wellbeing of the child? and not to cast blame? she stood there, blamed me, and told her friends.

i know my mil always felt i wasn't good enough for her son. but for her to think i'm not a good enough mother to pomfret, i think she can just <beep> and <beep> and <beep> with her opinions.

i cried not coz she scolded me. i always knew she never liked me. i cried coz i just didn't want to try anymore. i always thought i should try to live with them so they won't be lonely old ppl by themselves. but i think now, better they be lonely old ppl by themselves, then be with a crazy and depressed daughter-in-law right?

yes i have to admit it. i can do all sorts of things, but i just can't live in peace with my in-laws. i really really really can't stand my mil.

batgirl
wooohooo! thanks for the pediped link! but actually i've kinda survived my pediped craving leh. hahahah the irony!

no thanks to serene, now she's got me eye-ing crocs. but i think i shall stick to my cheapo kiddy-palace shoes, until pomfret decides to walk properly.

Dustee
Empathise with you. I probably would have walked off with the kids too.........ur mil so bad leh.
Am jus so glad I'm not staying with my inlaws if not definately be trouble too esp re the kids.
So did ur hubby say anything to that when you complained??

So U bought the pediped in the end??....hehe
Retail therapy.....good for ur soul.

Btw u know hor ON 20% but until Thurs only so.....EMAIL ME!!.....hahahaha

dustee
*hugzz*i don think i can stay with my IL,u did a great job by staying with them for so long.maybe its time to move on to the next stage,ur own house.i don think they will be lonely,ur mil seems to be very bz ,got so much program.

Me too wan to send tess to sch n i actually thinking NOW,cause sometime she will do thinks that i cant stand n keep making me angry.
During her meal time ,she keep stuffing her food into all the small little holes that she can find on her high chair.

I visited a few center n i feel that those bbs there are so independant.they sit n play on their own.

But its all just thinking only,still don have the heart to send her.next yr jan,i send her there.

Waiwai
me too thinking of sending tess to cherie heart but havent find time to go n take a look at the place.one think i like is that they have webcam.how much they charging u for full day?

dustee
your MIL is a monster. you are the best caregiver to pomfret. you are her MOTHER!!! and of couse you are good enough to be her mother. what did your hubby say when you told him you can't take it anymore? i know what you mean about not wanting to try anymore. you have already done so much!

dustee
sayang... don't be sad.

phyphy
i send XP to the one at sengkang, one month $800+, after govt subsidy, paying about $500+ per month.. XP seems to like the place as she explores around and plays with the toys while we were talking to the principal. they have webcam??? i should go and check with the principal

and want to share this for a morning laugh. i made this a few days ago and everyone at home had to eat it including my hubby's 85 year old grandmother (salmon pie with potato on top)

i'm sure they whisper to my hubby whenever they can about how crazy his wife is haha
3007837.jpg

and a little bunny is very happy driving around the supermarket trolley
3007838.jpg

Dustee
*BIG HUGS* You are a wonderful mummy. Your MIL needs to realise that Pomfret is first and foremost YOUR daughter, then her grand-daughter. What did your hb say? If you need to get out of the house sometimes, you're welcome to come over to my place to hang out

dustee,
*hug*

besides youpi's place, you can also come over to my place and hang out this week (i m on leave) and can go to polliwogs at the same time. of cz, there is the trusty east coast beach.

dustee,
i dunno you well but you seem like a very nice person to be able to put up with your mil's haughty nonsense for so long!! and don't you ever think you're not a good enough mother or wife. maybe it's time for you to have a paradigm shift. Youpi hits the bull's eye. so, instead of you giving in to your mil all the time, maybe it's time you make her realise YOU are the woman her son loves and married. YOU are the woman who gave her a precious granddaughter. so she better behave or else....

some mil just don't realise how lucky they are that their married sons &amp; dils still want to stay with them. why don't you experiment a bit. bring pomfret out more aften... hang out at youpi's place, go shopping, library, etc... just get out of the house as long as you can and stay out of mil's sight. sooner or later, she will realise how empty and quiet the house will be without you around. then hopefully, she'll wake up her idea.

oh.. if it cheers you up in any way, i bet those people who witnessed the incident will think your mil a monster. i know i will... hehehe.. :p

waiwai,
#1 will definitely be at home during my confinement. it's during my hospital stay (4D3N coz will be delivering by c-section) that i still can't decide to ask mil for help or pack son &amp; helper to my parents' place. i don't usually ask for mil's help unless really no choice. mil + my son + helper can be get very rowdy and noisy! remembering my experience during my 1st confinement, i really want to avoid asking mil to stay home 24x7 and help.

i don't want to "short change" #1 but i have to be realistic. can't have both babies sleeping in same room coz #1 is a light sleeper. maybe will let #2 sleep with helper. hb says i will favour #1 more. i try not to but can't help it. how about you? will your #1 be coming home after your confinement?

pb,
those pies! they remind me of what japanese housewives do with bento sets to entice their kids to finish the food.... LOL

maid - complaint - minor?
yesterday i bought a pack of 10 rows of zhu chang fen fm the wet market, and told her to steam for this morning's brekkie. sounds relatively straightforward rite. but no....
mistake #1 - plate was not covered when steaming, so all the condensation flowed back into the zhu chang fen
mistake #2 - the 10 rows of zhu chang fen were just poured out onto the plate, so they looked aesthetically like a pile of s***, u know, all lumped together. it was enuf to kill my appetite.
i tell myself if she had a bit more brains, then she wouldnt be doing this job, but an offc job. correct hor? then why m i still so angry! bcz tis not the first time she is steaming food! why must show her how to do things the proper way step by step every single time!! grr.

gynae
yep booked appmt for wed morning. i wonder how far along i m really... the scan will show how big C2 is, and the EDD.
yes michelle, i m not going back to the other gynae. dowan to b in labour and think what else is he gonna do to me w/o consulting me.

gee
is it just me or is the forum rather quiet these days?

cellow
good luck for the appt! i'm so excited for you

hmm. i really wonder how some MILs can love the grandkids so much and yet make the mother of the kids feel like sh*t. mine likes to 'show off' the things that poppy can do. like SHE was the one who taught poppy those things *roll eyes*.

i really don't like when i am feeding poppy (cos nobody else volunteers), everyone has dinner normally and MIL gives 'helpful' comments like 'i would never force her to eat if she doesn't want'. when hubby feeds poppy, everyone is dancing around and helping out. roll eyes again.

oh and guess what i recently found? a stack of our wedding invitation cards. all addressed in my hubby's handwriting. we were in SG when planning for our wedding so he sent the cards back to his mum for her to send out. that's a good 20 invites. all still nicely in a neat pile here. maybe that's why our wedding only TWO of his family members attended. i don't want to think too much into it, maybe there is a real logical explanation to it (i wonder what that could be) but i am upset for hubby cos he would really have wanted more friends and family at the wedding.

anyway.