(2008/07) July 2008

do1nk
bbG will see a familiar botak head on thursday! ;)

thanks youpi and qing for the lobang!

doggiebb
would it be ok if i just pop by your office (meet you downstairs?) to pass/collect the stuff? don't think can make it for lunch any time cos got alot of errands to run and things to do this week. suddenly i realise we are leaving NEXT MONDAY! gulp.

will sms in advance ok?

SDchick: he had no choice..one person had to pin him down while the other used the syringe..haha

wah thurs lunchie is don pie ah? dun think can rush there wiv bb in tow and feed bb n myself in time leh..

do1nk,
Heh heh, you really know Declan's style already. Haha. But the romper is really expensive... USD20 even though it DOES feature his dad's fav baseball team.

hi hi... today forum quite quiet eh?

Another Don Pie meeting? not sick of crab meh? anybody has craving for Bah Kut Teh? hot and pepper spicy bah kut teh?

oh, any of your babies start the clinging phase? as in, like he know you are going out, and will cry when you leave the house? Today brought Ethan to my MIL house, and he refuse to let anyone else carry him, neither can I put him down, i think he knows I am going for work. Cling on to me like koala bear... make me feel so sad hearing him cry when i left for work... how ah?

michelle
tess used to do that when her dad goes to work but now she will go to the door area and wave gdbye to her dad.

bah kut teh...yummy...which stall are u refering to ?

fever bb diet
any suggestion wat to cook for bb that having fever?

phyphy
fever bb diet ..
U can try to give more 'soupy' soft food..porridge..soup with rice..steam potato/carrots..noodles or marcaroni..

phyphy, i think porridge with a lot of water (hokkien call it bei uhm) is good right?

recently i have started to explore fancy food for ethan and wah.. he loves it... so far I steam egg with potato and carrot, then make the pumpkin/brocolli/chicken broth, steam fish.. 3 dish 1 soup. yummy... he eats much more porrdige this way, compared to putting everything inside the porridge to cook.. maybe you can try that too..

oh, and I also made beef bolognaise pasta with butter and HE LOVES IT! always finish everything one... hee hee...

now cracking my head what other yummy baby food I can come up with.....

bah kut teh, the ones along balestier is good loh.. there is another one near the tessenhohn one also very good, cannot remember the name... but I am having home cooked one tonight.. hee hee....

Phyphy, if your bb still have the appetite, just give as per normal. Maybe you want to boil some barley water and give to your bb.

Michelle, I've cooked some mapo toufu (of course without the chili) for Emma and she loves it. Very easy, just use silken toufu, some mince pork ball (mince pork+cornflour+salt+olive oil). If your bb eats chicken liver, you can put it in as well. Use chicken stock and some cornflour to thicken. Eat with soft rice, sprinkled with Japanese nori (I used Pigeon's nori for bb)

Another one that she loves will be stir fry potato and mince chicken, use a little bit of sweet soy sauce/oyster sauce and always thicken the stock with cornflour.

wow, SD, sounds yummy, but so far hor, I have not exposed Ethan to any sauce or salt yet. all his food is natural sweetening ones and steamed, except the beef bolognaise I added baby cheese (think got a bit of salt content) to fry the beef...

hmmm.. maybe I can try to steam tofu with minced pork..

Michelle,
That's a relief. Your friend must be ecstatic!

Wow really ah no salt! I've given some salt when she's 10 months+ Very small quantity, just for flavoring. Sometimes she eats her soft rice together with our food. yesterday we gave her raw lettuce kkk.

really no need for salt, cos when you add things like potato, or brocolli or carrot, to egg for eg, it is very very sweet and tasty! and steam fish, the water that came out from the fish is also very sweet!

Michelle ask u ah, so everyday u will fetch ethan to ur in laws place? is it very far for u or a detour? I am still thinking abt how to better utilise my house which is currently empty.

I think the only way is to have a maid and get out of the house 45 mins earlier than usual, send both maid and bb to my mum place and do the reverse each night. I see liao also tired.

Haiz.

But I know we have to come up with something because if we ever intend to have #2, we cannot possibly stay in mum's place forever + i need to train bbx to sleep on her own first. which means i will have to move home for that.

Every weekend, me and hubby will be discussing but no conclusion. Days and weeks just pass like that.

ya, my MIL stays just round the corner, so we will drive there every morning, drop ethan, have breakfast, then I will drive my MIL's car to work (fantastic MIL loh!). at night we will go back MIL house, have dinner, then bring ethan home. helper stays in MIL house and does not come home with us. On weds, MIL will drive over to our house and we wil have dinner at my house, so that helper can come over to help clean my house and iron some clothes... weekends, helper will come over and do housework and my MIL off day do whatever and go wherever..

you mean you leave your own house empty and staying with your mom? I intentionally bought a house near my IL so that we can cut on travelling loh... not siong at all, once we get used to the timing loh...

Yah lo i am not staying in my place. We only go back during the weekends. Haiz, u see the original plan when we bought the place was to stay near to my MIL as she intended to help us take care of our bb. But if u remember my story, me and my SIL got pregnant at the same time and SIL does not have a mum. So no choice. MIL help SIL take care of her bb. And so, my mum is taking care of mine (actually i kind of like it coz all along i wanted my mum to take care of my bb but got no excuse)... anyway so my mum's place is near urs and if we bring bb over every morning, we are making detour.

And I think if we shift home, i need to get a helper if not too siong lo. And so i will have to leave her at my mum place. But my mum's place already have 1 helper and she is not keen to have 2 there (can u imagine 2 helpers + 3 kids?! + my dad + my bro + my mum + all of us go back there for dinner?!)

Now thinking if we should just sell away our place and buy somewhere near my mum... but our plan was to get a place near a school.... now property market so expensive ... very difficult.

Life is full of dilemma!!

And yah u got a FANTASTIC MIL!!!

Jace, it never hurts to "try" for a period and see how that works out. you and hubby will enjoy the er ren shi jie at your own sweet home mah... I stayed with IL for 6 months before my own house came, and you know our relationship is good? but still restrictive and took a lot of adjustment cos hor, somehow not your own house not as free mah... hee hee...

Yah i know. Well the good thing is it is my mum so i am used to it. But I guess it will never be a long term solution. Haiz ... its a hard decision wor! hahaha ... coz if we shift home, that means if we cannot go and fetch bb on time, bb will have to stay overnight at my mum's place.. now if i go home late, i will still have the ability to look after bb over night and relief the burden from my mum ...

why not consider rent out your own house, and then rent a small apartment nearer to your mom house? and dun need helper one lah... only go back at night, no cooking, i think just get those part time helper to come and clean once a week should be ok? cos all the washing of bbX clothes and bottles all done at your mom house mah... right??

eh, some nights you have to work late or go out, still can stay over at mom place once a while mah... not like child care centre, die die same time must go home one mah... right?

Btw hor, if you want to try, you should try earlier, cos like Ethan, he is already used to sleeping in his own room. when we went to penang, he could not adjust and din sleep well. Even when we went to bintan and left ethan at my MIL house (which he should be very familiar cos he takes his afternoon naps there)... he also din sleep well, some how it is just not his routine, so tho they can adapt pretty fast.. they still have some difficulty initially.. so the younger the better.. just my thought.

Oh, phyphy and SY was asking for the sleep training book? It is called - Solving your child's sleep problems.

Michelle yah i guess eventually we got to do something abt this!! will go back and discuss with hubby... now hor i got 2 homes i am always confused. Dunno where are all my stuff and cosmetics clothes etc i got 2 sets. every week end go home must do lots of cleaning up (floor, tables, bed etc) coz it is really dusty.

ok ok i know. sometimes i feel that its my lazy bones acting up. in my mum's place everything is taken care of so i can just concentrate on working + playing with bb ... no need to worry abt anything else ...

read all posts but no time to respond one by one..

sick bbs got well
YAY for bbG and Jayden!
and sayang Kayden for the cot adventure. haiyooor.

thinking whether shd postpone this thu lunch to the week starting 31 aug, as qing and doggiebb seem to be not free leh, plus wanna meet dordor to get my diapers.com loot leh.

those on this list give a holler!
Thu 20 Aug RP lunch
Don Pie
1) cellow
2) jacelyn
3) smiggleprincess
4) SY
5) JSP

and jacelyn... my take on your move-out-dun-move-out - all of us eventually have to cut the apron strings. better to er ren shi jie w HB (yes that includes keeping your own hse + tk care of bbX at night + do a full day's work). wah, that's a lot of pple in the hse. and although your mum wouldnt say it to your face, is she thinking along the same lines? 'retire' still have to keep house for so many....?

but but your own mum, so ya i can understd the inertia. think abt if tis your mil.....? would you still be so nua?

separate topic....
fingers crossed that C sleeps thro the night tonight. toes crossed too!

i just peeked in at my HB and C.
C is in the cot, and HB is surfing net.
but C seems happy surrounded by his toys.

maybe HB has really found a way to parent in benign neglect instead of kan cheong spider mummy always shoving some toy or book under C's nose. food 4 thot.

bosco is very weird today. haiz.. from 1pm till now still dun wan to nap. he is so so tired that he dun even wanna play with his toys. yet when we put him down on bed he will start crying. dunno wat's wrong with him.

gymboree: whose darlings w them? ask orh..if i register for their trial online, still need to wait for confirmation or can go directly on the booked date??

bb walking: anyone's darling not walking yet?? mine seemed yet to...n i heard hb onli started walking at 16mths...

sleeping-thru: i've been trying to sleep train bbD bt it din seem to work..1 nite..he slept fr 9pm-5am..wakes up once n i fed him water..then..the next 2 days, he actuali open his eyes, sat up n point at his milk..so i thot, dark dark give water he wouldn't know but he threw tantrum, cry super loud n woke hb up..then..hb sayang the darling so says i torture my boy and i got no choice but feed him milk loh...haiz..wat can i try to sleep-train him??

infant-care/child-care in tampines/pasir ris:
any one's bb in infant care or any good child care in the abv area? i wanna send my boy there so that i can bring him back fr moi mil...who's been a BAD influence on moi boy..everytime says mummi dun want him, n bring him go play mahjong..

BbG,
I'll pass you your books on Thursday then

Can't go for the music trial 'cos #1's Little Gym trial is that afternoon too.

Smiggle
You coming too? I can pass you your books as well.

Dor Dor
No, both cannot join the same class. But they said #1 can sit in the corner if he can stay there and be quiet. I said he can. So L is going for the 11.15am trial, and #1 is going for the 1.05pm trial (not parent-accompanied). Both on Thursday. Come and join us lah!

Star_xin
My darlings are also Gymboree members. I think they'll probably call you to confirm.

Michelle
Bakk Kut Teh where? There used to be one at Westlake that serves the soup in claypot, and does a fantastic liver stir-fried with spring onions and ginger, also in claypot. They moved to Shunfu when Westlake closed down. Have not been in a long time so I am not sure if they're still there. But I still salivate when I think about the food.

Cellow
I think our babies are able to entertain themselves for a while now. They're starting to think about how things work. Good right? That means we have a bit more rest time.

Jacelyn
Agree with Cellow's take on your move-don't-move-dilemma.

star
which area of tampines u looking for?i visited agape and find it not bad.

Walking
not worry,moi got tess to accompany .

Bakk Kut Teh
i still prefer the one that is at bugis one but they have shifted long ago.anyone know where they shifted to ?

star, ethan also cant walk yet. in fact, he hasnt even attempted to stand unsupported yet. still like to push the chairs around to make a lot of noise around the house...

bak kut teh.. oh the bugis one is good! used to go there for supper after work 10yrs ago! haha... its called rochor road bak kut teh i think.. dunno shifted where.. think my hubby may know.. later go ask him....

westlake one? never heard before.. but the stirfried liver with spring onion.. slurp! I like!

oops, better not talk too much about food cos hor.. someone will be going to canada for 3 weeks or so.. she cannot take it how? hee....

<blink>IMPORTANT MESSAGE!!!!!!</blink>
We cannot make it for tomorrow morning’s marsden swim trial because it’s my time of month and hubby needs to work so neither of us can be in the pool with poppy. If anyone of you can take our slot (10am at turf city), PLEASE SMS ME BEFORE 9AM TOMORROW or else I will call them to cancel. It is $25. More info on how to get there: http://www.marsdenswimschool.com/TurfCity.htm

Youpi
It is so not my area but I know which bak kut the you are talking about! The Westlake one! Slurp

Maybe one day we can meet cellow at the bak kut the at mohd sultan. Yum

Michelle
Poppy also like(d) to push chairs! Go to restaurant, she will push high chair around. Hehe. Very noisy.

Haha don’t worry. I do not like liver!!! Ya lor, this week very jam packed for us. Got to stuff ourselves with all the local yums. Wed going melben again LOL. And hor, it is SIX weeks, not three. Gulp. Better store food in my cheeks like hamster

Cellow youpi yah i know what u are talking abt and thats why this topic keeps appearing in my mind. but hubby? He is sleeping beside me now.

I tot Michelle gave a good suggestion: to rent a place near my mum's .. good idea not to tie down the money and with the flexibility to move again.

I told hubby abt it (didnt say the idea is from michelle) the immediate reaction: I DONT WANT. and that was 15mins ago. now he is sleeping.

!@#$$^%&amp;#

Tell me how. He does not even want to discuss. sianz.
I know we have to make the move someday somehow.
And to answer ur qn: if it is MIL place u wun even see me with this problem! i will definitely be staying put at my place. period. (opps ...)

Just to add on: my mum seems to like me staying here .. maybe because she knows if i go home, i will suffer more.. plus i help to take care of the nieces now too...

Well well well .. Too much post cannot catch up
Liao .. Tomorrow exam .. But all the notes can't go in..

Today new sofa came wah too big leh.. Suddenly make my house look small..hope to find a house and shift soon

Just some notes.. Last sat I went to this church callediving santurary to teach speech and drama.. Wah the school looks good .. Can put your kids there .. Nice place.. But air con

Hmmm all this talking about bakut teh made me drool. The one I like best is at Rangoon road, Ng Ah Sio Bakut Teh. Next is Ya Hua Bakut teh at Tanjong Pagar (lunch time) or the Havelock Road branch (dinner time). Other than that I don't really like.

Youpi, Is that the Westlake restaurant at farrer road? the one that serves pork on a bun? I used to frequent that place.

PB, is the bakut teh at Mhmd sultan good?

Today Emma finally had her confidence and walk a lot by herself. She can practically walk very fast, but still want the assurance of holding to something, normally our fingers or clothing. But today she did it without any. New word for her as well, the whole day she's been saying "touch" so cute.

Michelle,
Yah, he's super clingy to me now. But yet at other times, he will happily just let my mom carry and wave bye bye to hubby and me.
Good that Ethan likes your food. But then again, Ethan has always been a good baby especially where food is concerned mah. I've tried steam egg before. First day yummy, second day only half a bowl before he started to throw his I-don't-want-to-eat-anymore tantrum. So much so that after a particularly difficult session, I take a break the next day and just feed him baby jar.
Wow, Ethan can chew beef already!?

phy,
When Declan had a fever, I just breastfed him the whole day, once every 2h. At least I know I'm getting more fluids into him this way.
And plus he's already cranky enough during mealtimes when he's well, I don't want to imagine what temper he will throw when I'm trying to feed him when he's ill.

Re Bah Kut Teh:
I like the JB one

Cellow,
C is good la. Declan will only tolerate being in the playpen/cot at the start of the day (I think cos he "forgot" about the toys in the playpen during the night, so they are stil exciting to him at the start of the day). The rest of the times, must have human interaction. Or I can get away with enough time for a shower if I play youtube for him in the cot.

star xin,
One technique I heard is to slowly dilute the milk. For me, I give up liao. If Declan wake up, I nudge hubby, he gets up to carry Declan onto our bed, then I latch the boy. After that, we all have a nice sleep.

youpi,
Nooooooo, Declan STILL cannot entertain himself... when oh when....

anyone having trouble with FB too? sigh.

SDchick YES IT IS GOOOOOOOOOOOOD! yay congrats to emma the sweetie! wow "touch" is such a cheem word to say!

wah so many posts...

Kayden is fine lei..
will load up the pix in fb on how he climbed over..

today went assess him at kkh..
he is abit delayed in fine motor skills and he is good in his excellent in gross motor skills.
but she discouraged him wearin sandals cos not really stable..
and he needs to back outpatient for his fine motor skills

Bak Kut teh
JB thumbs up...

BBG, Youpi
ok, i will call and sign up for thurs class..

Cellow
guess cant make it for lunch then..

Yippeeeeeeee..
Jayden's rashes has Gone (far far) away liao today......He's sick free..
BUT..veri suai..
Woo Wu..Ouch..Its mommy's turn liao..bcos juz now when i m preparing spagetti n marcaroni for dinner for my three kings n myself to eat..Then..errrrrr..tat i accidently cut my finger as opening the metal lid of the tomato pasta sauce after using the can opener.. Then immediately i c blood bursting out n non stop dripping..n quickly grab a pc of kitchen towel to stop the bleeding hold tight my injured finger as its soaked wet with soooooo much blood..I tink its a rather a dip cut...Bo Bian..bcos cooking halfway n still need to continue cooking with my right hand to continue frying minced beef/pork n tomato sauce...with the left thumb pressing with tissue on the #2 finger tip bcos blood still flowing for ard 10mins...Grrrrr..Now got bandage on tat poor finger...

J enjoyed his macaroni for tonight..I include abit of the sauce..minced meat plus with dice potatoes,brocoli,cauliflower.. Yummy..

phyphy
If I'm not wrong they are at Rochor Center now.

youpi
Hmmmmmmm my #1 cannot sit in a corner n dun move 1 leh not like ur S.......sigh
Oh the 1.05 trial is not parent accompanied huh....hmmm
Maybe I should register D to try see hw he reacts alone....hehe

bbp
thats wat i did for her breakfast and lunch. but feel guilty so for dinner,i make some porridge for her and give her banana.she finish the fruit but only took 3 spoonful of her porridge.just as i expected.

pooh luv elmo
got to be careful.

dor dor
really?they are there ,ok has get hd to bring me there before he fly off for 2 weeks.

morning gals...

paging DO1NK, dustee and bbp.. my son is SICK again n bbp can't make it this thurs.. likely caitlyn will catch e bug so i prob can't go this thurs..

anyone wants to join Do1nk n dustee for trial this thurs?? need minimum 3..

bbp, dustee, do1nk - u gals can make it for SEIMPI on 27 aug instead?? super paiseh.. i think most likely caitie will catch bug..

Youpi: thanks for bringing my books along!

Crystal: dun think I can make it on 27th though coz I’m already taking leave on 24th for the JG trial.. maybe we organize a later class? Sometime in sep?

Bakuteh: yeah..dat Rangoon road one is good..and that whampoa fishead steamboat has an outlet there too.. further down the road…

Otherwise, I thought the founder’s bak kut the at balestier is also not bad

Rena: good luck on the exams.. LOL.. look for new house to accommodate big sofa?

bbg - if not i just keep e 20th aug date? haha.. n take e risk?? i will sms u in e mornign if really cannot make it? coz we dun have to pay in advance i think

holly,
hope bosco ws able to sleep w/o tooooooo much fuss last night. both of u still gotta report for work today leh!

starxin,
sleep training - you will need HB's agreement, or better still, help. he cannot keep undermining u in every parenting tactic. remember you are a team!
i started sleep training C at 6mo, and he was ok for 2-3 months, then dunno why May started waking up in the night agn. be prepared for heartaches....

youpi,
YAY! yes more me time. which normally turns into more househld chores time, or do nonsense time.

PB,
the mohd sultan road bak kut teh, std has dropped a lot. tell u wat, u satisfy 2 cravings at the same time, patissier's meringue (call them to see if they got the cake you want!) + bak kut teh
yes, FB has been giving me problems. loads slowly and the look and feel changed..

jacelyn,
the trade off is no #2 then for sm time. you want #2 soon rite? then the age gap is not so great. of cz you ll have more to do keeping hse for yourself compared to mum keeping hse for you. tis part of becoming adult! but if the status quo is ok for you, then dun move.
hahaha. ya if MIL place, by hook or by crook, you will be outta there liao.

esquare,
all the best for your exam! how many more to go?

sd,
YAY for Emma's unassisted walking!

bbp,
hmmm hmmmm hmmm i thot your hse got quite a no of pple for Declan to interact with, during your shower time?

pooh,
oh dear oh dear. sayang your finger!