(2008/07) July 2008

e square

i desperately tried to get your hp from many different pple over the weekend but nobody replied me! ~wails~

CB diaper wash

Yupz! this is really useful! what i do is i will wipe the bum bum with wet wipes first and then bring the backside to the sink. for the girl, she balances herself on the toilet bowl hanging on to me while i spray clean her with water after spraying the cb diaper wash.

egg yoke

I just mash a hard boiled one into bbT's porridge.

walking vs communicating

the boy is still very much tiptoeing around even though he likes to cruise a lot. but with that tiptoeing, he is not able to stand on his own yet so won't be able to walk so soon i guess. compared to his sister who walked during her birthday month. but he is already pointing with his index finger at things he saw in books which his sister didn't do until much later. so interesting to see how siblings can be so similar yet so different. no regrets on having #2! heh! time for more mummies to join waiwai liao? *wink wink*

cin_bunny
thanks for having us at the party. think u got me n serene mixed up.
me is sy hee.

Pb
jh is ok after the op. kids recover real fast. jx lips ok after 2 days but i think i prob will change maid. jx bumped herself again on fri so me n hb conclude she can't managee 2 kids.

bbg
does G have sensitive nose? a gp told me before that bb seem to have drippy nose often after 7 months. does it afffect his appetite n sleep? if no then prob nothing serious. jh is like tat n nothing i do helps. jx is better n dun get t often.

sorry to disturb but was wondering if anyone would be keen on a photoshoot from foto-u studio as David (the photographer) is gg to have a BP on it....we still need a few more ppl to kick start the BP. So take a look if u r interested. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1246609349

$450 album promo:

1. 8r album (16 pages).
2. 1 hr 30 min shooting.
3. return all images.
4. 35 images in album.
5. 1 x make up and hair do.

Usual price for this costs more than $800! I have been waiting for something like this for a long time liao but not enough ppl signing up so do consider this offer if u plan to take some studio pics for your little one.

Diaper spray,
Can I know the name of this Diaper spray, sound good; wanna get 1 for my twins… hehe.

Smelly bum,
Normally I will apply a bit of bb shower gel to wash over wei qing & wei Sheng bum, so tat wont get the smelly against.

morning mommies

diaper spray
is this diaper spray suitable for baby boy? I usually clean hao ran's bum bum with wet wipes before bringing him to wash.. but sometimes the smell very strong.. wash with his body wash also no use..

jacelyn
good to hear that bb xun is back to drinking milk^^ btw what's this mixing of milk powder? Is it better to mix? How to gauge the ratio?

wow,
thanks mummies for the birthday wishes.
i feel younger like a baby just pass 1 year old like that.
ahaha

poopoo wiping
barbie alsways poo in the potty so much cleaner.
just wipe off with wet wipe nia.

serene
u ORDER 12 TUBS of calendula cream???
wow...

and hor, i still cant find the wet wipe holder lehz.

smiggle
we don even have enough lunch out here.
but everytime you bring me to new places. i will miss that.

dor
what is is diaper spray about?
and hor, can i ask you where did you get the sanitizer spray from?
i bought one from guardian call'instant' super smelly lehz.
i am actually looking for those used in the hospital.
i rem the scent was very nice when i give birth last year la...
heehee.

Chumint, I mixed the formula because I wanna let her try Gain IQ (the >1YO formula for Similac) and I know the taste is different. So mix it with similac coz dun wanna change the FM all at one shot.

dripping nose
i m nt sure if tis coincidence or jst my imagination... C has been on one feed my milk, one feed FM during the day. and his nose was dripping sat n sun.

jace, hooray! then u dun need 2 fret no more

doggiebb, interesting on the differences btwn #1 and #2... C finds 'walking' ard faster than crawling, so he cruises. but really i look forward 2 talking w him more than his being fully mobile! at least then i know wat he is thinking

prettygal, here u go http://californiababy.com/non-burning-calming-diaper-area-wash-6-5-oz.html

LOL on pomfret's zoo adventure!

the ma-ma song
on the way back fm my mum's last night, a good 15min car ride, C went ma-ma-ma all the way. like singing but i cannot pick out the tune. HB and i were wondering if he ll do it the entire car ride - he did!

jacelyn
oh ok.. i remembered reading somewhere that some parents mixed milk to get the different nutrients.. so thought you are doing that.. which milk taste better though? hehe:p

cellow
hehe cedric so cute.. I wish hao ran will sing ma ma song.. he can only sing da da song, which makes my hubby very happy.

eeyore,
This is bbx's favourite toy. And she has 2 - one small and one big. Yesterday morning, I asked her 'where is your eeyore'? She immediately lie down flat (like commando style) and look into the space between her mattress and my bed (there is a small gap between her mattress that we lay on the floor and my bed). BBx sat up and said "baabababammemaamebee" pointing to the gap.
And of coz i didnt understand. So i asked her again" where is eeyore?" .. she lie down again and this time round stretch her hand into the gap and re-appear with her little eeyore!!
So the gibberish she was saying was "My eeyore is there!!"

LOL
And so that means she can really understand us!
She has grown up ...

Chumint haha. Errm I dunno which taste better coz i never try. But bbx finished all up very fast so maybe GainIQ is better! Or maybe she was just craving for milk via bottle coz she has not taken that the whole day!

PB - I'll do a first round cleaning with tissue paper (wet it with water), then clean at shower area. I'll squat while she stands, her body resting on my tigh.

batgirl - I've given Emma hard boiled egg - just the yolk. I mash it up and mix with the porridge.

dustee - I'm ordering calif baby from Ima - she's doing the BP for July. http://www.freewebs.com/thepinkcream/cbbp.htm. I'm also using the diaper wash, bring it around in the diaper bag.

Jacelyn - Emma sometimes did that too. I'll wait until she's hungry and sleepy, then she would take a little. If she's 1 year old already, you can try giving her cow's milk.

Ling - really!! Emma also still wears 3 month-old clothing kkk.

hannahi - The ergo can be used till your child is how old?

Heee yesterday we fed Emma Mao Shan Wang and she loves it. kkk.

Heheehehe yah I can ask bbx to look for my lost things next time. Good idea!! wahaha

Batgirl actually I have been giving bbx hard boiled egg yolk since long ago. Also hard boiled then mashed up. Havent tried egg white before but bbx loves to eat cake so I guess she had a few tries of egg white liaoz!

Sd,
Ergo can be use until 25kg

Kimchi,
Those who tried the kimchi , how is it? Cox this time I added cucumber and minus the raddish..

Ethan is easy to feed and eats all sorts of solids. When it comes to milk... sigh sigh sigh... sometimes when i spoon feed milk, he will also purposely shake his head away, until i pretend to dip the spoon in the porridge bowl to trick him to thinking it is porridge.. sigh sigh sigh.... maybe thats why he still so skinny... my mom always complain it is because i never drink milk when preggy... this one he got from me lah.. cos I totally dun take milk one....

Ethan's favourite plush toy is a little zebra we call him Zeb. He does not hold Zeb to sleep, but rather every morning he wakes, he only gives ZEB a kiss. He does not even kiss any of us. So far, he only kiss me on the cheeks, twice. Everyday I ask for it, he bo chup me. sigh sigh sigh..

hee hee.. suddenly write so many posts cos hor.. now my lunch break and i managed to sneak in my laptop.. hahaha. dun understand why here must be so strict loh... but now everyone start to use liao they also cannot stop us liao.. hahaha

I uses the mustela non rinse cleansing fluid..
Very nice smell .. I usually clean him up then uses the fluid as a final touch up.. To make him smell nice and clean

michelle,
you can have my ergo for the penang trip. i doubt we are going anywhere that long weekend.

kissing
at least Ethan kisses smthing. When kissed, C looks at me, then goes back to wat he is doing. He doesnt kiss any1 or anything!

Oh lunchtime! better eat now. I m hungry again.

Michelle,
Bb drink milk or not nothing to with with preggy lar...
Btw if you dun mind my old version ergo I can lend you cox I have another papatum..

HAHA, ethan's kissing ZEB hor.. is with mouth open wide wide at ZEB's mouth like want to chew it up like that.. I call it kissing lah.. cos everytime we say kiss ZEB, he will do that action one.. then kiss mummy.. he bo chup. Grrrr...

Eh, FZC likes the flip flap books??

Eh, mummies, you all busy with 1st bd party or what.... nobody update blogs one! Here is one faithful follower.. i get withdrawal one.. can go update or not????? one line also can loh....

michelle
haha.. hao ran kiss with his mouth open wide wide too. Always end up with his saliva on his face..

And recently hao ran has been putting his fingers deeper into his back gums.. wondering if it's more teeth coming out? Anyway after getting his hand cover with saliva, he will try to grab us.. he leaves track of his saliva all around the house too..

FZC hasnt opened the flip flap books yet.
My aunt volunteered to read to him today (so nice of her!), so i will know tonight

oh ethan hor.. totally not interested in cruising.. even when we both hold his hands, he will hold both his feet up and refuse to walk. only like to crawl super fast and let out a loud scream...

He does not know how to point at things yet, neither does he know how to nod nor shake his head. But he suddenly likes to play peek a boo and do flying kiss...

But when I give him two cards to choose, he gets the right answer most of the time... we will spread the items all over the room, and then ask him to go get the items he knows all and gets the correct ones now.. He also knows now that the high chair is for punishment and for food. For food, he will be willing to sit in it and wait for food. FOr punishment (normally immediately after I told him not to do something and told him I am placing him there because he never listen), he will protest and yell and straighten his legs... but i still place him there for 5 mins... so far, he did not repeat those things I told him not to do.. one of it was to touch the fan and the other is to avoid crawling to the toilet and kitchen. so hor.. our babies have really grown up... they totally understand us already...

imagine when my MIL will ask him if he wants to go out.. he will look out of the window at Parkway Parade....

Michelle, wow Ethan is a big boy. He knows u are punishing!.. ok let me try that. So far, I have never punished bb x before!!! no wonder she is getting out of hand lately ... thinks she can get away with everything!

E sq, now bb have their own mind! I also dunno how to make bb x do what i wanan her to...

Michelle
Ethan so cute "kiss the ZeB" haha....

i find very funny on my gal, when i & my HB go JP for shopping, when we pass by JL, my gals will scream very loud, meaning we must enter in, after go inside walk ard, den she ok liao, same goes to Kiddy Palace, if we purposely dun enter inside hor, she will cry very loud & n scold us lor... so, my HB say go JP must enter this 2 shop... haha

got to read fast fast cos i only have a 20 min window to do ALOT of things while poppy is watching baby einstein

updates: she loves mushroom pasta and chicken and veg couscous!! rena, she also dun like beef. i never tried cooking it though cos we don't eat beef at home, but i gave her from jars. lousy response. but lamb she like wor. whenever i feed her i will want to vomit cos of the smell haha

she also kisses with open mouth. very yuck for us cos sometimes she licks us too haha. hubby said 'just cos you are 1/4 french, doesn't mean you plunge into french kissing straightaway ok?' haha

Any babies still like Kayden- refusing to learn to drink from sippy cup???

I already buy like 4 diff cups for him to try..
and he stil pushes it away.

His 12mth assessment comin up, sure fail. Half the things he cant do.

Bought him a tricycle, he loves it.. And he pushes away a boy who tried to touch it!
My boy wont let himself be bullied ah..

SD, i've ergoed my #2 when he was 4+ YO last Christmas!! Backpack style lah coz if in front, he'll be blocking my view liao leh

doggiebb
nothin but the bottle teats.
There is a questionnaire. Test on motor skill, fine & gross. Communications skills. blah blah.. 4 pages long.

doggiebb - if skip sippy cup and go straw, then how to get them to drink from cup? i started with straw until read smiggle's post tt we should give sippy cup b4 straw so i change to sippy cup..now sophie takes both but i think she likes straw better..sippy cup always makes her choke and wet her bibs :p

true but i think drinking from straw involves a lot more motor skills. extra step of sucking. correct me if i am wrong. I am not so concerned about getting them to drink from cup because talia is still using a straw bottle to drink water even though she can drink from cup. hehe.

The nutritionist/dietitian at KK told me to start on drinkin from cup itself! No need sippy cup. Straw at later stage...
She say most importantly drink from the cup, cos that's the way to drink when they grow up.

I was quite surprised. So kayden put on a show for them and drink from the cup. At home he pushes the cup away.

Rena tell me buy the pigeon one easier, i buy and he throw! sianz...

drink from straw similar to suckin from bottle, no?
just that they dont need to tilt their head backwards.
She told me to ensure that the cup sits on the lower gum and let him drink without tiltin tis head.

then they also say Kayden must learn to use his finger and point la. do the puttin down thing, pickin up and puttin in box.
copyin me when i draw/write.
nod and shake head
cruising without tip toe
able to dig small cubes from a bottle..
and many more..

i read thru the questionnaire and half of it i was like.. so cheem... kayden dunno how to do.
so i kan chiong, faster teach him but he so rebellious

Smiggle,

My girl also don't use the sippy cup or straw. we let her try. but she's lazy lor. with sippy cup, she will turn the cup to play. so end up all water to the floor. straw, she bite bite but don't know how to suck. so i just give her teats lor. i let her drink from the cup also. she can do that. but she kinds of uses her teeth to bite the cup lor.

Sizing:
M is also very small. she's only 6.8kg. don't noe where all her solid foods gone too also. she don't like milk also. usually make 5 oz for her. but this last whole week, she always have 2 - 3 oz left over. also don't know why. even her porridge she also not finishing all. i think it's teething or just a phrase that she's thru. sighz...not sure what to do with her also.

Straw

Well actually drinking from the straw needs more skill and according to research bf bb drink from straw easier .
Most bb can drink from cup but not able to self drink until 2..
My big e only use it skillfully when he goes to school at 2 yo..

smiggle,
but kayden looks like he is growing well... so dun worry. all these are prob 12mo indicative developmental milestones! meaning that most babies do them at 12mo, some do them at 9mo(probably) and some are more relaxed at 15mo...
C drinks fm cup directly. He is unable to drink fm sippy cup or straw.

Cellow,
One way to get Cedric to kiss is prob to make it a very exaggerated action. I realised it works with Declan cos he thinks it's a game. Now not bad, he can kiss on demand prob about 70% of the time? But sometimes he just air-kisses lor. This afternoon, he just kissed a brochure for no rhyme or reason!
How do you get Cedric to drink from cup? I always make a mess when I try to do that... so much so that I kinda give up liao. Or do you put a bib under to catch all the excess water?

Michelle,
Yah, so so so so busy! No time to update blog.. heehee!
Declan quite likes the flip flap books, he has some fav pages cos I think those are easier to "open". And I always got to go "Declan.. gently!"
Wah, high chair for punishment ar? How do you get him to stay in the chair? Even for food, Declan will climb and stand up midway thru his porridge feed and I need to have half a dozen toys nearby to distract him one by one.

smiggle,
Declan's first successful straw drinking was at Macs.. with the super small white plastic cup and the long straw. He actually finished the whole cup of water in one sitting! Wanna try?

haiz, out of u all i must be more kan chiong mah..
i supposed to be the april's thread ok... remember that he is supposed to play catch up by 24mths..
not sure when he can do that...

BTW, i just visited this school at Tiong Bahru cc, they have yoga and voilin lesssons and jap classes!!!
amazin, all the teachers are not local...

bbp,
*clap clap* for Declan's 70% kissing success rate!!!
just put the cup to his lips, and he drinks. HB has to trick him to drink, pretend to drink fm the cup, then he will be super interested. he fake-coughs when he discovers tis plain water...
i use a hanky to catch all the excess water.

smiggle,
catch up by 24mo! no wonder you are coaching Kayden for his checkup

Cellow,
Ahh icic. Me thinks it's me that needs to learn how to feed him through a cup, rather than him learning how to drink from a cup. Cos he can drink, it's just that I can't gauge the angle of tilting and most of the time, ends up with his shirt wet. I think 70% success rate of getting his shirt wet too.