(2008/07) July 2008

i have a feeling this boy has a thing for me.. hahaha..

smiggle, chiltern house hor.. also around $1000 for the nursery classes loh...
more ex than degree course..

childcare center

emm... lotsa ex childcare... tink eden house also super ex $1000plus/mth...but i feel that so long as center clean and program acceptable can liao... dun have to spent so much... me prop sending my boy to kindercorner cos got staff benefit also
only bout $220/mth after staff benefit

liverpool
Qing-mi bought the tix liao... tink most of the courts outlet sold out liao... lucky my work lace near ulu fusionopolis harry bar... manage to get 3tixs
yippy... sure to surprise my hubby... those who still wanna get... can try harry bar..holland outlet will starting selling today at 4pm

Gymboree
sally and smiggleprincess
wanna join us tis sat? dun need voucher one, can juz pay cash on the day itself.tink the voucher dun have liao..cos we bought it from one mum from the "want to sell" forum but she only have 3 voucher

just sharing my 5cents worth of tots... heehee... like ronnie, i think childcare dun have to go too ex one, just clean n programme okie can liao... as i personally think tat enrichment classes r more impt for the child's growing up and learning... so me n HB would be saving on childcare expenses and sending Ernest to more enrichment programmes instead... heehee... like abit kiasu to think so far rite??

motherhood fair
4-6 june at expo
anyone interested?
tink they got bb crawling competition...
ryane haven't join any competition yet...
haahaa thot of let he join for fun play play...
maybe can win a trophy haahaa...

smiggleprincess...

oh tink bbG going on 31st next sun maybe u can jiuo her

Safra Jurong

got open house on 30 n 31st... west munnies maybe can go see see... they got super big playgym for kids but dunno suitable for small bb a not... mi will go down see see

actually i kinda agree that the centre must be clean and programme are ok is important.. I also feel the cohort and the group of kids that our babies mix with on a daily basis is also important... so must make sure that teacher to child ratio is low, and that if there is a super naughty kid around.. i think i will change centre... *to self, what happens if Ethan IS the terror in school - oh no*

ronnie
me interested in the motherhood fair.. but 6 june is the mega birthday bash.. hmm... maybe gotta take leave to go on weekday. Need to sign up for the competitions?

wave
hi^5.. hubby and I also into manga and anime, games too. haha

PAP,
I personally would prefer to send my gal to PAP unless the PAP in tat area sucks.
So my boy will follow suit.
I want them to expose to different kinds of school environment rather than 1 school that teaches everything. Tat's y my gal attend yoga, gym, art, chinese enrichment at different schools. I want her to learn to adapt to changes. I might be sending her for mental maths soon ...a different school again.

Language,
Expose children to different kinds of language will help them to "develop" their brain power. Even if they dun understand. I read that from a book article.
My gal is interested to learn spanish and japanese. But now, I am trying to expose her to chinese and spanish first.
I am amaze by the way children "thrist" for knowledge. I am now nearly breathless trying to catch up with her learning demands. Luckily I learnt some japanese when I was young.

If my boy is like my gal, I will be totally drain off.

I will be going to Safra on the opening house day!! Will be a weekly routine visit to there soon when my gal's gym transfer there.

michelle
heehee... i also scared Ernest would turn out to be a terror in sch too lor... budden i think most kiddos are naughty nowsadays lor... so when i see well behaved kids then i'll chant to Ernest to say the che che or gor gor so guai lor...

*pant pant*

Bluey me also not catching up with you. Wow ... I think I am totally lost. I only know they need to go to pre-nursery. No idea what enrichment classes are there out there... ...

michelle
my BIL is a PD at KKH so he helped us look thru the results... so Ernest is a confirmed Thalassemia carrier... so nothing much we can do lor... just for our info oni... n also to ensure that his other half next time is not a carrier lor...

chumint

the rest of the competition all close liao...crawling competition is register on day itself one... mi see how if bb good mood then maybe reg him there lor.

to add on to my last post...
the PD Ernest was seeing did not get back to us at all on the 2nd blood test results... the 1st time she called me to arrange for an urgent appt lor... so i guess she will update us when we go for Ernest 1yo jabs in july lor...

jacelyn,
just to carify ... my gal is 5 years old soon. Tat's y she has various enrichment.
My boy till this date is just "learning" from his DVDs eg Signing Time, Baby Can Read, Baby Einstein

pb
but hor my pasta hor. outside soft inside still hard hard one lehz.
haiz,

PAP
seen and heard too much bad story about PAP.
according to my aunty whom seen it before.
PAP teachers will just leave the child crying at one side until she stop crying.
some even ill treat the kid.
like very violently push the children around.
when requested to go toilet, no teacher will assist. let them pee or poo on the pants.

credit card
how i wish mine also like that.
envy pb...

what is thalassemia ?

smiggle,
the sesame st board books, if you find tis cheaper at motherworks, can you pls post here or PM me.... thk u!

sigh.. Ethan already has 200 over books.. so I was telling myself after the last spree that I should not buy any more books... then I went Tom and Stephanie, and saw a Sesame street board book, counting book with flaps too (so into flip the flap books now-haha). comes with a sesame street DVD some more. for $18.90. so I bought one last one and will stop after this.. i promise....

Any bb drinking Enfapro? Now Guardian promo: $34.90/tin. Limited stocks though.

I have just ordered 12tins from them, and there's free delivery to home

ronnie
do you know where to get more detailed info on the motherhood exhibition? the crawling competition is on which day?

straw
is it the improved enfapro A+ with salic acid?
2485558.jpg

michelle,
wow, 200+ books! baby ethan is the champion now!

jsp,
glad to hear that he is minor case only. is he under any medication now?

chumnit
i didnt know abt the enhanced enfapro A+?! better than enfapro?

straw81,
tks for the heads-up! will check out guardian tmr! btw, how did u manage to order 12 tins and get free delivery? liaise w the guardian staff or thr MeadJohnson?

re PAP
i think it depends on which one u send to. all diff standards. but i think sch is very impt. i wd prefer to spend more on the sch. my son's fees are 2.4k for 10 weeks. plus transport it is 1k a month. his sch is pretty comprehensive so no need to go enrichment classes. he has music n movement class, art class n the teavhers do phonics etc.

bbp
SIA flight gives quite a lot of bb food jars. i will keep some for the trip cos cannot finish one.

re iherb spree
did i miss out anyone?

missy - 1 bottle
lbt - 2 bottles
rena - 3 bottles
cin bunny 2 bottles
serene 1 bottle

still can take in. anyone else?

this 2 weeks jx got a few milestones. she finally started clapping her hands! she claps real gentle n she sqeauls in delight when we praise her. n she did something funny today. she took the phone from the playyard n went hello....

My 2 cents on the teaching/learning centres...

Kids can go to the best and the most expensive ones but it probably will not make any difference if parents do nothing at home.

I'll use my #1, now 3.5 years old, as an example. He has never been to any enrichment class. He's only been to one JG trial. He knew his alphabet by 1.5 years, and could read on his own by 2.5 years. Now he reads books for 4-8 year olds easily.

He is in nursery class in the PCF (PAP) centre near my home. There are six children in his class and all of them get very good attention from the teachers. His class is a mini-United Nations as well, with one Indian, one Filipino, and one Indonesian.

The English teacher's language skills are decent. She does not speak Singlish. Anyway, I don't expect native speaking teachers at PAP, not for the (relatively) low cost.

What's great: he's shown interest in Mandarin since starting school, and will sing/speak in the language at home. I'm very happy about this 'cos I can't teach him Mandarin.

Not so great: they have writing homework!

Bottom-line: Check out the school. Go there, speak to the principal and teachers, do your walkabout, see how they interact with the kids, ask a lot of questions, get feedback from other parents.

I've seen some things in brand name schools and childcare centres that make me shudder. I've heard teachers at well-known childcare places speak with broken English.

Then there's PCF Chong Pang, which took on the Reggio Emilia approach to teaching. Just Google to find out more about it if you are interested. Basically, it is child-led, and respectful of the child's desire to learn.

At the end of the day, it also depends on your child. If he/she is happy there, that's where he/she will learn best.

Sorry ah, long post. Got a bit carried away, pai seh.

Chumint,
Thanks for sharing the photo of the new Enfapro A+. So far Guardian is still selling the 'older' version; probably they are wanting to clear the stocks. Will stilll get them from Guardian whilst the offer lasts to save $$$. ^^

Btw, PAP does Letterland phonics.

And at #1's school the day before, they had a visit from the Playhouse Disney people, who did a performance and story-telling session.

Nursery is only three hours, so the rest of the time, the child's learning is up to the parents lor.

We're not sending him to other enrichment classes yet. Before he started school, I would create worksheets and craft activities to do with him at home. We like music so we do all the singing and dancing and shaking/jiggling around at home, yes, with my post-natal fats wobbling all over the place

Sorry, 2 cents became 4 cents... ;p

youpi,
I really envy on this aspect being a SAHM.
I really hope to spend more time teaching and reading to my kids.
Now the only time I have with her is that I will mark the worksheet she do in the afternoon, do with her chinese and spanish flashcards and finally read a story book/song before her bedtime.
The only leisure time I have is now ... when she is playing with her computer. Else I will have to accompany her till she goes to bed @ 11pm.

I am still wondering how to handle #2.
I think by then I will sort it out.

As for schools, if you have the budget and you think that it is the best school for your kids, just go ahead.
But if you have budget constraint, just keep within your limits as I do believe that the most expensive and branded school doesn't mean is the best for your child.
Just like a branded expensive handbag never suits me becoz I have a habit of putting my bags on the floor or just chucking them any place I want.

youpi
i totally agree with u. my boy also din go to any enrichment class (cos hb din allow lah) and in order to make up for it, i will do craft with him every weekend or teach him with whatever time i have after coming back from work. by the time i sent him to sch, his teachers all said that he is advanced for his age. so now in sch they let him join the older children class for chinese.

it really depends on the sch. i did visit some and one criteria i had is how the teachers speak. my hb decided on monte sch cos he feels it will make my boy more independent. but this plan backfired when jx came along. he is only independent in sch but totally dependent at home..sigh...

i m closing my BP for chinese books on 26th. So if anyone else interested, let me know or PM me.

youpi, bluey
ask u something. my boy has this funny thing abt telling pple he wants to poo. did your kids go thru this phase? in sch, he will refuse to tell his teachers he wants to poo and he ended up pooing on his pants twice. and if there are pple at home, he will drag me to one side before he will tell me he wants to poo. what shd i do to help him overcome this?

My gal have this habit ...
I am very "cruel", first I forced her to tell other ppl (like my mom or hubby) till she want to cry. I just ignore her and tell her I am busy, and my mom/hubby/maid will keep asking her if she needs help.
She did pee on her pants, and I then explain to her that if she has ask my mom for help, this would not have happen.
Slowly, she will then realised that she does need others help and I can't be there to help her everytime.
When she gets someone's help sucessfully, that person(my mom/maid/hubby) will give her a small snack/sweet as reward.

My gal not only have a habit of this when she need to go to the toilet. Even ask for food, play games and etc ... also like tat.
I think she is too attached to me.

smiggle
oops. but so funky looking!! and oh the cake is so nice looking! lol about kayden thinking it is his birthday again. he is trying to grab the cake!

and i have resisted your urge to click on the board boooks link. clap clap for PB!

bluey
actually i also got the same thinking - expose to different cultures mah. but hearing all the horrible things about PAP is making me think twice. wow your girl got so many ECAs!

JSP
$257 is very cheap!!! i was looking at carpe diem, and apparently it is $700+ for full time AFTER subsidy. wakau
what does it mean to be a Thalassemia carrier? hope he is ok!

cellow
i think your sister is very sweet to have offered! it must really mean alot to her! my sister is also stuck at the teenager era even though she is 24 liao. i don't think she will ever say such a thing to me. lol at your kindy experience!!

rayna
thanks! hmmm i'm a bit scared cos my kitchen always got birds lurking around wan.

re language
i speak to poppy in english, hubby speaks to her in french. between hub and i, we speak english. every sunday poppy has online chats with her granda and they speak in french. i try to speak in mandarin and hokkien too but it just seems to unnatural and half the time i don't know the words to things so i got to substitute with english words also. kua kua kua. am i doing her more harm than good?

qing
how you cook the pasta? usually when water boil then i put pasta in, when boil again then simmer and leave for maybe 8-10 mins? stirring occasionally. for baby i'd rather cook a bit longer. but on the pasta pack they will usually say cook for how long

michelle said: ethan has more than 200 books
michelle, i think you should not have said that here. the girls have not let me off with poppy's 53 (only) books...

youpi's view on PAP: spot on!!! i like!

oh btw, SOS! kinda.

mums with #1 - do you use friso 3? if yes, can you take one opened tin from me? i drowsily opened a tin of #3 ten minutes ago, thinking that it was #2 (which poppy drinks). don't remember the price but i'll give it to you at $5 off your usual price

PM or SMS!

Qing
Hmmmmmmm.....that time I use my hubby's CC hor I also call n verify.....hehe
N that time they actually verify immediately on the other side ask me to hold for awhile.
Why must call again...so mahuan. Anyway hope it goes through for u then next time no such prob liao.

pinkbunny

R u selling away <font color="aa00aa">'FRISO 3'</font>??available??collection?? My lao da boy is drinking Friso since 2mths till now 2.5yrs..n refuse to change other formula....

smiggle
baby kayden looks so cute n handsome..by the way where u delivered him?? how many mths premature??wats his birth weight n now??

My lao er 'Jayden' is oso born at wk35(preterm bb)-2.5kg ..KK SCN stays for 4days due to poor suction/feeding..

pinkbunny
R u selling away 'FRISO 3'??is it 900grm or 1.8kg??available??collection?? i m keen..kee...kee..my lao da needs to top up a new tin of milk by next wk..it is juz nice if i can get from u...

hihi SYchua

mi PM u my order for iherb and HT liao

chumint

motherhood fair detail can be found in the motherhood mag.. i will go see n let u know when is the crawling com k

Reg thalassemia
thalassemia is a inherited blood disorder... usu minor is ok, prob juz feel tired and have fainting spell cos of the slightly low blood count...but prob come when both parent are minor... bb will get a 25% chance of getting major thalassemia..major thalassemia usu fatal depending...mostly can't survive thru birth and those who survive lifespan quite short and will req frequent blood transfusion...
mi n bubby both thalassemia minor, only found out during my 1st preg... and i had 2 prev preg which r major so Dr advise to terminate preg cos mine are the serious one who will not survive thru birth, almost wanted to give out trying but we presevere on with all the support from frens and family..so i really thank god for ryane...he is thalssemia free... yippy

Good morning mummies
I managed to get Elmo's favourite places book for $14.90 at Cerisi outlet, AMK Hub. I bought another elmo's mix and match book for $16.90. They have alot of other sesame street books on sales too.