(2008/07) July 2008

Busy weekend leh ... wondering why nowadays weekend soooo packed?!

PB, yup they are all liquid. Haha you must be wondering if they are spoilt hor

Cellow, opps yah bassinet. No wonder when i typed basket like something is wrong... :p hmmm bb xun is a vegie ah ... put in basket *imagining her in there? NO WAY!*

ILs ... ... haiz yes I always feel that there is something hidden within the words ... ... anyway have started learning to just ignore and listen to selective words :p

Qing, oh no!!! Heartaching for barbie!!! Yes invest in bed rails. Or playpens!
WOW the video ... like a bb jackie chan film!

qing! sayang barbie
hope her little lips heal fast fast.

Qing,
You are not a bad mummy la. We are mummies, not superhuman. Sometimes we are really not fast enough to prevent them from falling, rolling, etc. I've also had incidents where Declan just roll from sitting position and bang his head on the floor. If it's my hubby, he prob can save, but my reflexes are really not as fast as his.
Remember, you are NOT a bad mummy!

sleep
how many hours of sleep are your little precious doing? pomfret's sleeping from 11pm - 9am (wake 2-3 times to latch) then 11am-12pm, then 3-4pm, maybe 5-7pm... and it's like she's either not sleeping well, or not enough, coz every waking moment she's like fussing to want to sleep also. i'm confused. she doesn't even seem to want to play with toys etc nowadays. and doesn't seem like she's teething. but will start screaming the moment i put her down anywhere. only happy if lying in bed next to me, best if latching also. i'm even carrying her into the bathroom with me now. (used to be able to put her in cot for maybe two mins)

stroller
looking for a lightweight (<5kg) and yet sturdy stroller for my mum to use when i leave pomfret with her (for my twice weekly chiropractic sessions) and yet hopefully can close with 1 hand, and even more hopefully less than $200. does this exist? anyone can recommend a good light, one hand closure one?

solids
pomfret still rejecting solids. i'm really reaching the end of my perseverence. i feel soooo much like giving up. every day it's like a lost cause. any other babies equally stubborn?

qing
*pat pat* oh gosh, send love to barbie! the other day also, i was lying against the bed headboard, then pomfret was rolling on the bed, then i dozed off! argh! then pomfret fell off the bed, and screamed and i woke up in fright.

but she fell into the dustbin next to the bed, so that broke her fall, but yeah, so heartbreaking for us, and we just blame ourselves, but sigh we ought to be more forgiving towards ourselves too.

dustee,
Seems like pomfret is sleeping about the same amount as declan.. or maybe even more on certain days. He sleeps from about 9pm-7am, 11am-12pm, 4-5pm. His naps sometimes last longer than an hour, depending on his mood and comfort level I guess.

dustee,
Talking about solids, have you tried feeding her maybe about half an hour after she wakes up? Cos I noticed it's VERY difficult to feed declan if he's sleepy, that's why I time his naps such that his mealtimes are after his naps. If he's sleepy, he will fuss and scream in his high chair.

dustee,
i think the sleeping time is quite ok as tess also have almost the same timing just that she start sleep around 7.30pm.

talking abt solids,bbp was right ,i normally feed tess after her nap or 1-2 hrs before her nap time. but she still eat v.little .

qing
hai...last thur night tess also fell off the bed and i actually know that tess is lying at a dangerous position but i was too tired. keep telling myself to wake up and the next min,i heard the sound bang n tess cry.

don be too hard on urself.

me too got a question.

when feeding tess ,she alway yawn and u can c that she is tired. does anyone got the same problem? she either already had her nap or its 1-2hrs away from the nap time

Tess,
Maybe she did not nap enough?

Cellow
I did not manage to get any ebm from the mummies only from 1 friend .. She loan her cooler bag and gave me some supply but can only last for few days .. The mummies were kind to give me but transporting is tough coz I dun have anything to aid keeping the milk frozen till I reach home and they stay very far...now have to find new source who can spare me some milk..

tess mummy,
I try to time naps such that Declan will eat about 30min-1h after he wakes up from his nap. Any sooner and he's still a bit sleepy cos just wake up and will keep rubbing his eyes. Any later, I scared he sleepy cos maybe never sleep enough. Actually if it's just yawn, I don't mind. But Declan likes to rub his eyes.. then transfer the mess from the mouth to all over his face.

dustee
HANG IN THERE!! U seem to have ALOT on ur mind at the same time.
Re. sleep
May u have to give her toys or stuff to distract her. N going toilet hor jus let her cry lah for that few mins. Enjoy ur toilet break ma. I try to throw alot of stuff into the cot while I run to the toilet.....hehe
Re. stroller
Get those cheap umbrella strollers. Maclaren or even toysrus cannot recline kind.
Re. Solids
For the longest time Ember refused porridge n other stuff. Only take cereals n gerber puffs. Then 1 fine day she tot she would like to eat EVERYTHING. N now she eats most everything. So jus try try everything see hw lah abit better then nothing.

Qing
Dun feel bad too long k. It happens n we feel bad cos we jus love them too much. Not a fault right??....hehe

Qing,
Parent is never easy and there us no right or wrong.. Accidents happen and it is diffcult to totally prevent , therefore it doesn't make us a bad mama when they happen...

Dustee,
My 2nd stroller us combi infantsy.. Cannot recline but very like I use it for marketing as mine place is not lift level so I need a light one plus it would be duffcult to carry my heavy duty boy for a long time.. Lately I sprain my ankle while carrying #2 and poor back still giving problems..

rena,
i was looking for u coz 1 of my friend she got lots of supply ebm that both her child (1 yr plus another one is abt 7mth) cant finish so nw when she pump in office she either throw away or bring home to soak her feet lor ...u wan her ebm???

qing,
hope barbie is better now. no more swollen lips? hugs!

dustee,
i have a combi stroller. v light and can close using one hand. i got it at kaki bukit for $188. not sure if they still have this design or not

hi qing..how's barbie now? poor her.. but as long as she's ok now.. dun feel too bad.. accidents do happen sometimes..and we can't always be fast enough or always there to prevent them all..falling down is kinda part n parcel of growing up too..

dun think bed rails will be much help leh.. in fact the fall may be worse coz our little babies can now stand and would wanna climb over it! guess we juz have to be very vigilent in watching them..

dustee: LOL sounds like you are looking for the 'perfect' stroller.. can't help you much here.. mine (or should I say hubby's) are all super duper heavy n I can't even handle the current one now! give up! but dor is right.. umbrella strollers seem to fit the description, may not be as sturdy..but should be good enough?

it's good dat pomfret gets about 14 hours of sleep..think that's about the right amount they should be sleeping now..

is she latching on most of the times? does she take the bottle well? u tried very runny cereal right? doesn't work either? try asking the PD and see?

she fell into the dustbin?? trying to re-enact the easter bunny in basket pic? so mean of me *smack myself* but can't help imagining her looking cutezie wiv scrunched up paper as background decor...

rena: you have a friend giving ezekiel her BM currently?

seems like many kids and babies are falling ill lately and getting very high fevers.. sigh.. and now with the swine flu alert.. maybe we should stay indoors more..

morning mummies... aiyo... so much post to catch up after miaing for 4 days...

qing
sayang barbie lor... i was also quite upset the other time when Ernest fell... dun worry... their skin being young and tender heal veri fast one... n u r definitely not a bad mama okie... all these falling are part and parcel of growing up...

dustee
dun worry too much abt pomfret not eating solids yet... coz i think diff bb develop diffly lor... just be persistent and continue to try some everyday and like wat bbp was saying abt feeding her when she is in a good mood also helps... as for the slping part, i think its coz they are growing... i wish Ernest was slping more... he oni naps for an hr each in the morning and late afternoon lor...

bbG
so have u tried letting bbG sit in the carseat alone when u and HB drive out?? u can start trying when u n HB go out with bbG coz if he cry u can still distract him while ur HB drives lor... heehee... Ernest sometimes will throw tantrums also... n make sure his fav toys are within reach...

Paiseh mummies,
out of action.
sorry to hear that coffee club was a disaster.

was preparing for an interview and think i still didnt do well enough. haiz, gettin a good job is not easy now...

Kayden has been goin thru a change of personality.
He has been whinin to be carried and refusin to sleep nowadays.
Haiz.. very tired.. with the weather hot and cold. i also feel very lethargic...

k, gotta catch up with my work first.

Serena,
I would be glad to take but the transporting wise is problem..

Bbg
Yes currently try to give him as much as I can coz his allergy is very ma fan and doc suggest to give bm.. If I can get from friends if not he will be like my no.1 on puff for 3 years already ..

Qing, sayang barbie!! poor girl.. how come bleed and swell, did she hit on something or her teeth bite? anyway, hope she feels better now, and so does you! Such things sometimes do happen, so must take it easy. Mummy say babies with knocks grow up stronger!

Dustee.. Ethan's sleep pattern is like this - He goes to bed at 930pm, wakes at 7am (not counting the 2am and 5am feed), nap 1hr from 11-12, then 3 hours from 4-7.

I bought Capella S260 (i think) for my MIL, light weight 5.5kg, one hand open, one hand close. Can forward face and backward face. These are the requirements my MIL set and we found one in Parkway Isetan, what is better? it costs only $139! Come to parkway, it has Stroller AND Haenim playyard!!

Dun give up on trying with solids. I suggest you let your mom feed her solids when you are not around.. maybe because you are around her, she only wants to latch. keep on trying, dun give up.

Cellow, you right about Jackpot with my MIL...

Btw, Ethan's 2nd tooth is coming!!!

rena,
probably u can work a way w her on transporting the EBM. Maybe u can get a ice box or something to transport the EBM....... wat i know she got lots of supply that her fridge is always full.

Wish to share this interesting discovery about our son Darius, now 9 and a half months old:

On Labour Day last Friday, he was blabbering non-stop on his stroller, so wife and I decided to video his blabbering.

After returning home, we played the videos we took and in one of the videos, and suddenly realised that he was actually trying to 'sing' the ABC Song which we often sang to him! We were excited but at the same time very surprised too cos didn't realise he has been listening and imitating us.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSXdGpbCj7A

Rena,
invest in a Fridge to Go! if my EBM can survive a plane ride in the Fridge to Go, then the EBM which other mummies give can survive trips within Singapore.

Michelle,
Congrats on Ethan's 2nd tooth.

smigglep,
nvr mind, do better for the nx one

personality change ah, think it was bbp who said our bbs change pattern like change underwear - LOL

do1nk, dustee,
your imagination re: pomfret in dustbin w scrunched up paper is very good.

Idiotic neighbours w dog
The dog upstairs started dragging things around, loud enuf to wake me up at 430am, of cz loud enuf to wake Cedric up too (!!!!).
Want to murder the dog or rather the owners.
Latched Cedric for ONE WHOLE HOUR till he wanted to go to sleep. Maybe shd inflict a crying bb onto the doggie's owners in the middle of the night, see how they like it, those stupid idiots! I am soooooooo MAAAAAD.

PB,
me and HB were tired too fm the big day out.

youpi,
okie dokie. still dunno y i keep thinking of lime as in the green sour fruit. LEE-EM.. LEE-EM

SY,
think if you are looking for a go-home-zhun-zhun-at-5pm job without bringing work home, teaching in MOE schools is definitely the wrong job. my sister brings home tons of marking. every single weekend, she spends most of her day marking. + CCA leh, and other meetings leh. same or even more siong than a normal office job. at least normal office job - if u r lucky - dun hafta bring work home.
let the teachers on this forum weigh in on the pros and cons of teaching la. i can onli tell you wat i see fm observing my sis.

wavesurfer
WOW, i was so impressed by darius.
it is so amazing.

barbie
her lips are not that swollen.
but still red red one.
then somemore got the skin dangling on her upper lip.
don even dare to peel it off.
and her upper gum, super red till now.

when i saw the blood flowing up,
at one point, i thought one of her 4 tooth drop off loh.
i was super lost.
will be uploading her swollen lips in my blog soon.

Wavesurfer,
You've got a super baby!

Cellow,
I know EXACTLY how you feel. Sometimes I wanna box my hubby also, cos when I'm trying to pat Declan to sleep, he will come and talk to him...
Haha, yes that was me who said bb change pattern like they change underwear, but I guess in their case, it should be diaper la. Haha.

Qing,
Yes, please don't peel ar... it's unlucky that Barbie fell on her lips, somemore now they got teeth la. Just give her lotsa love, our babies are actually more hardy than we think they are

Qing
ya, cannot peel. will bleed if not heal yet.

I wanna box my hubby too.. everytime scold me when kayden kok his head in my care. then when Kayden to kok his head in his care , he'll tell him 'u fall down yourself one still wanna cry ah!' and he will look at me and point at Kayden "not my fault, he fell himself"

Nowadays i have to catch kayden and fight to make him sleep. and his strength is just amazing lor..

Last sat hor we went to this place for brunch, Mimolette. Its near the saddle club where can see horses and there are lots of monkeys..
we really enjoy ourself. The food was nice nice. Milk shake heavenly!!! But costs like $100

Think must wait very long before can ask hubby to go back again..

wah damn stressed at work..having a horrible headache from yesterday dat won't go away either..

need to de-stress, so catching up on posts here..

driving wiv bb alone in car: wah i really really must get around to practising.. JSP maybe I'll start slow hor.. drive in n out of carpark first (5 min drives) hahaha

cellow: how do you know it was the doggie upstairs dragging things around in the mid of nite? dun murder the poor doggie.. go for the owners instead ok? coz there are no bad dogs out there.. only bad owners

okie gonna take a walk and go grab my lunch..and dreambag.. ordered another for bbG

smiggle,
Wah, the brunch sounds really nice!
Sounds like Kayden has gotten the Declan syndrome.. don't want to sleep and got to fight with him to make him sleep. It's super tiring...
Luckily for me, hubby never scolds when Declan kok his head under my care. Actually, we sort of discuss this before.. when bb does that, nobody is at fault cos who would want bb to kok the head right?

do1nk,
Haha, you succumbed to the BP...
The carseat thingy is gonna be VERY tough, cos Declan is still fussing even though we put him in the carseat from time to time. Prepare children songs CD, we found that it helps sometimes.

Qing
sayang barbie,hope she feeling better now . got bring her go c PD?

rena
better take care urself , back problem is not a joke loh. if really bad,must c doc.

bbp
yalo,tess not only yawn when eating ,she put her finger into her mouth, rub her eyes and scratch her head.mixing a mess of herself.
will try to feed her 30min after her nap

Thanks Cellow, Qing and bbp! ^^

This actually serves as a reminder for us that babies are indeed well aware of the things they hear, and we need to be even more careful not to let them hear 'undesirable' things, from TV or ppl around them. ^^|

after i made lots of noise, the GST has been waived! YEAH! have paid the shipping and our stuff will reach sg in 5-8 days' time. except that i will be travelling from sat. so stuff can only be sorted out after 18 May and my pig's head will be out in full force then! AKAN DATANG! watch this space for latest developments!

michelle!

Wow! Ethan is catching up! Wuffy still has only 2 teeth.

BTW, I still owe you money for lunch, mine is fish and chips. Let me know how much okie?

Wave surfer,

wow! your baby is amazing!
On labour day, my boy only just learnt how to clap!! hahaha..:p

qing
sayang barbie
dun worry they heal very fast one. my boy even at 3 years old also knock himself on lips before. when he was young he also knock a few times but they dun really feel the pain. it's us who feel it most.

cellow
sigh, i dun mind bringing work home and working at home as long as i can leave early. hard to find jobs that allow me to leave before 5 leh...

tess
i dun feed when they just wake up. sure dun eat much one. maybe u try feeding her only when she's really hungry? like after 3-4 hours without milk or food?

bbG
ya... start slow... for us, we oni started when there is 2 of us... at least if he cry, can still stop the car and one of us accompany him... then slowly he got used to seeing me sitting in front... also, i alwys have a few things on hand to entertain him... like his fav toy, his bolster, his pacifier etc lor... good luck hor...

carseat ...
hmmm ... must start young, else you will have a difficult time for them to get used to it.
Both my kids were trained to sit on car seat when they start to travel on car.
My #2 still sometimes fuss when we put him into it.

Nowadays so difficult to get a mask ... OOS everywhere!

SY
same... i also like to find a job that ends early and i dont mind bring work home.. in fact when i was at Amex, they can work from home.. they advocate flexi-work cos it save costs.
other countries only work 4day week and end earlier..

bluey

if you find it eventually, could you get 4 extra for me? hehe! i can go over your place in bishan to get it at night. i tot i will just bring it with me when i travel this sat too. MUARKS!

Aiya! I just came back ... I try to get for you tomorrow. They got limit each person can only get 10pcs.
I saw those similar to 3M mask(but is not) selling @ thomson plaza DIY store yesterday nite. I tot that it might be quite difficult for kids to use so I did not get them.

bluey

muarks! its the N95 one hor? got special ones for kids?

let me know which night this week is good to go over to collect from you. tks again!

not lah! N95 lagi difficult to find. I only manage to get the 3ply one after several calls to many hospitals.
Actually KK used to have kids ones but now haiz...

do1nk,
i figured either you or doggiebb would tell me not to murder the dog, just the owners.

G doesnt like to sit in carseat or just doesnt like to sit in carseat behind and alone?

work fm home
me me! however, my orgn likes to grow their own trees, not take in saplings fm other orgns. prefer >5 yrs experience elsewhere, better still >3 yrs. one of my frens who just gave birth in Mar09 envies my ability to suka suka decide to work fm home anytime.

wavesurfer,
you are absolutely rite.
I tell HB not to scold other drivers the same things abt being stupid or idiotic or to grow some eyes, and to be more descriptive in his adjectives. esp when Cedric is in the car.
[the most creative thing so far he came up w - you one celled parasitic amoeba - LOL]
I told him to be extra careful after PB shared that her fren's 22 mo said SH** when she dropped her food onto the floor.

batgirl,
Thanks! I believe different babies have different abilities; for us it has happens he enjoys music a lot, probably because of our singing to him when he was in the womb. ^^

cellow,
Words like SH** are indeed difficult to abstain at times since it comes out too naturally at times (though very rare for us). I've read mothers shocked when they realised their kids were picking up words like FU** etc and they have never realised they have been using them themselves in their presence previously.

haiz..
kayden doesnt know anythin yet..
i believe he quite nua, lazy to learn and gimme that bochup face..
everyone keep askin me can he say Mama.

so kkh got no more mask?
thinkin to get from kk next monday wor..
my company givin out thermometers liao. must take temperature everyday.

Bluey &amp; Doggiebb: why r u girls stocking up on masks? actually not very comfy wearing one huh?

cellow: *grin* we've got doggie advocates in this thread...

bbG's happy and fine in the carseat... as long as the car seat comes with an attached mummy!

Afternoon all! Been busy catching up with work in the morning.

Wavesurfer, wow your bb very musically inclined! Should let him learn some musical instruments then!

Bluey how come u stocking up on masks? My mum also stocking up on masks. Worst she stocking up on food! Scared wait cannot go out and buy food. I stocking up on diapers (haha coz got sales) ... hmmm maybe should stock up on milk powder ah?

Doggiebb, thanks for the hard work in the books! =D Looking forward to it

Poppy has 53 books, bb xun has errrrm none! So I am waiting for the books to come so that I can start turning bb xun into someone intellectual hee hee ...

JSP/Do1nk, I realise that I havent trained bb xun to sit in the car seat. If it is short distance, I will usually bjorn her in the car coz it is more convenient. But guess I have to start training her.

Dunno why she seems to have a change in personality too. This week she is starting to act like an old bb - seems to be very aware of what is happening around her.

Cellow, yah I also envy u can suka suka work from home. shiok leh.

Qing, I forgot to add: you have been a GREAT mummy lo! Pls dun blame yourself!!!!!

Bluey,

if you don't mind travelling a bit further, go to the medical hall at serangoon gardens. the one next to the cold storage along the stretch where the famous pow sing chicken rice is. i saw them still selling last thursday. but not sure sold out already or not.

BBG,
i think it's because of the swine flu. that's y they stocking up on the masks.

carseat:
my gal prefers to be in the car seat then being held while in the car. and we din trained her from young. cos all the while we have been taking cab. only recently when we bought our own car, then we put her in the car seat. it's so much easier with her in the car seat. lesser noise from her. =) but i sit behind with her. haven't tried she sit alone behind though. maybe can try one day. =)

And forgot to add, this greedy pig (bb xun) now wants to play more than drinking milk! Lucky she still wants to eat her porridge. Else stress ah.
She has been like this since she came back from hospital! Can a hospital stay change a bb's personality?