(2008/07) July 2008

PB,
be happy that you can quickly weed out those employers whom you wont want to work for anyway.
by all means, put sahm on the CV. you want an enlightened employer!

child devpmt courses
i thot abt this b4 marriage and discussed w mr cellow. his std response came out.... 'ok dear, whatever makes you happy'. then he went into 'how to make the business model viable' mode. we still havent figured out a way to get around the high fixed costs....

chit chat w HB
hannah,
we are on IM most of the day to each other except when in mtgs. so i know how his day goes, and he knows mine too. that means we dun start w how is our day (blah blah blah) but we dive str into the details.... or rather I do.

today we talked abt parenting... whether our parents gave us any choices while growing up. what prompted this - a series on raising children in Today newspaper over the past week. it is easy to show love and affection to our children, but too often, parents miss out the respect our children part.
so i told him from now on, i would give Cedric choices - whether to wear the blue or red t-shirt, which toy to play with. more for my own practice than Cedric actually choosing anything.

Hannahl
MY #1 almost everything also eat. Now even chilli he also eat if he wants to. There was once we eat laska he also insist to eat jus keep drinking water only. So going out with him quite easy cos everything he also eat. But Ember....aiyo....dunno what to feed her liao plus she has abit of allergies....sigh
Ember okie with HT cereals but not eating alot also lor. Then I dunno what else to feed her so might as well jus get the HT cereals for her. Plus she seems to prefer the oats cereal. Mafan leh this gal.
I'll be going Orchard on Thurs for FJ Benjamin sale at Hyatt. Wanna join??....hehehe

SAHM: IF I really want to bath after a sweaty time outside. AND of cos the kids must be still okie not complaining, I will put E in the cot, push it to bathroom door, inform #1 I'm bathing inside n then bath QUICKLY with the door open.

Cellow
Thanks for the kangtao but then all the heh mee so far I wanna go also but too early n I dunno where too.....hahaha
But its okie lah Hannahl works near PS right I remember. Anywhere got shopping I can go 1.....hahaha

PB
Awwwwwww so sweet!!! N I love her dress!!

Sy
Same lah Ember jus saw pd this morn cos yest night vomit 2 times. Also mucus prob. Given allergy medi, running nose n cough medi.
Pd still say mild so dun give her alot of medi. Then wah piang eeh 3 still little meh.
Haha u say JX feed like vampire.....hehehe
E also can feed any pattern now latest is feed lying she will keep flipping on tummy. How to feed like that!!

Cellow
Yah man!! RESPECT. Agree with u on that esp cos we're chinese. Not saying anything bad lah but u know ego n the normal "traditional" man of the hse kind of thing.
I still gotta keep reminding my hubby respect gotta be earned not given. So give respect and u'll get it back.
N on respecting kids choices.........let it be known that kids around 2 yo will normally choose the latter......hehehe
So you know hw to go around it when there is something u much prefer them to choose.....keke

I've also wanted to be an early childhood teacher coz i simply love being with children. But i must admit didn't really go for it as the pay was too low then. Not sure about now though.

Pb, there's really no harm putting in sahm in ur resume. I did when i was one last time. Still can find job in a decent company. Ur ex Company so well-known some more. And u didn't leave the workforce for very long also mah. If u were out working, who's going to take care of poppy?

Those who are sahm.. Have u thot of when u'll most likely return to the workfore?

Dor. Ur no. 1 is really easy on food huh? So good. My #1 also like hot stuff, like otak, roti prata with curry. Even my fish ball bee hoon dry with chilli he also want
Eat then drink loads of water, haha..

Me can't take leave to go gai gai now lah. Boss already black face when i took 2 days off last week to train my new maid. Now super busy period as the due date for personal tax thingy is juz around the corner!!

U bathe with door open?? So ur boy can juz pop in to look for u anytime?
I find it so funny to let my children see my naked body leh. Maybe they are big already.

Oh, Ember is sick too??

Agree, pb, i like poppy's dress. So nice & sweet.

feeding baby solids

poohluvelmo
my bb's 9mths now. born 28 june. i have tried cereals, runny and thick, with breast milk or water, with fruits or alone, and even tried porridge as well. all the bb don't like. she will fuss and fuss and refuse to open her mouth and then eventually graduate to screaming and crying with tears flowing. i usually stop before the screaming starts. and lately when i'm trying to feed her cereal she will try to reach out and pull my t-shirt (indication of wanting to latch instead). sigh.

hannah/pooh
and coz bb fell off bed and we brought her to PD to check. then asked PD about bb not wanting to eat solids. PD said no choice, have to keep trying. have to keep experimenting with different flavours, becoz now if they don't get used to it, when they are 1yr and older they'll be even more fussy.

serene
yay for you! really karma for the way the boss treated you. hmph.

morning!

wah dustee, you are up pretty early. i can just imagine pomfret pulling your shirt instead of guai guai eat her cereal.

working fm home again today.
need to have a little silence to finish up stuff!

dordor,
i was talking abt respecting our children's choices. HB ah... he respects me so no issue there.
but the way around it (I see) is to give the child 2 choices that I can live with... like you wanna wear the red or blue t-shirt... not you wanna go to aunt's place or stay at home today. The latter - I choose! not the child.

morning all..

dordor - u noe hor i also heard abt e 2yo choosing e layter thingy BUT it doesn't work with my 21 mth old boy!!! soooo irrritating! coz i can't tweak e answer!! haha..

arrgh so upset! my gap loot arrived and the tops I ordered for myself are too big for me though I got the XS petite!

would any of you be interested?

1) printed tie-sleeve shirt (got the one in blue prints though..see sleeve pic for colour)
2305826.jpg

2305827.jpg

2) supersoft button T (white)
2305828.jpg

3) pleated V-neck slub T (white) it's OOS now so can't find a pic of it to post..but it's a V-neck white tee wiv slight pleats in the front at the bottom of the V

sigh...dordor how do you find clothes that actually fit..

PB
it's ok. we can always have other option.
you went pass my office yesterday??? heehee..

oh, need to clarify. the venue would be on the 17th. not really the hotel itself.
it is kinda very complex.
anyway, have check out the link you provide.
it looks like a cool place.
and to top up, i have email the hangout hotel liao.
hope they reply soon. will keep u guys updated...

looks like everyone is looking at courses.
i also want to upgrade for the longest time liao but don know study what lehz...

serene
serve that company right.

oh do1nk that reminds me.... I am amazed that XS Petite still cannot fit you!

Any1 using Mustela products for self and / or bb?

I have sample packs of mustela vitamin barrier cream, bb facial hydrating cream, specific support bust cream, and nursing comfort balm to give FOC.
Up for grabs - any1 going to 8 Apr kayden's 1st bday party or 5 Apr kindermusik course.....

oh dordor.
now i understand what u mean by 2yo choosing the latter... *slap forehead* i must be still sleepy.... they always want the 2nd choice of whatever u offer them - kekeke.
I will keep that in mind for nx time.

Cellow totally agree with your point ... giving children choices .. but i wonder if i will be such democratic mummy ... hmmm

Serene, YEAH!

Do1nk, u too thin liaoz la.. sorry i cannot help u. Can never fit into a XS! :p

Qing, thanks for the effort in organizing ah!

Hannah, my girl very standard one. When its time to eat, she will usually begin to get a bit grouchy. Then if food still dun come, she will start to whine and say 'mamamama' or 'mumumum' ... and if food still dun come, she will WAIL + 'mamamamama' + 'mumumumum'!

Oh yah the bibs i ordered finally come (it got lost in the mail for 2 weeks and finally arrived!) so happy ... and recently i have been crazy over getting soft soled shoes for bb xun hee... bought 2 pairs liaoz .. :p hubby say i waste money ...

everybody, 1,2,3 -YAY! for Serene's ex-company folding... bad karma!! hee hee....

Do1nk, aiyo, petite XS cannot fit you.. you need to eat up!

ok, Ethan's sweetie behaviour lasted only 1 nite... last nite refuse to hold bottle, rather let it drop until i pick it up, he just opened his mouth to wait.. then din finish milk, then woke at 2am. oh well..

Dustee, Have you started bottle feeding pomfret? did you try spoon feeding milk to Pomfret? sounds like she needs to get used to spoon feeding, else will always be asking for latch-on each time she feels hungry...

JSP, woooo... forgot to comment on your nice new hairstyle! Egyptian princess look!

(Non-)progress update
Ethan is still bogay, still cant crawl, still cant stand and still not sleeping through the nite, and still not making any noise, not even asking for mamamama or papapapa... just make some noise, Ethan!

bbp
try to imagine this. i m sitting down and putting her on my lap and she is lying down to feed. then after a while she will flip over and attempt to stand while latching. can imagine or not?

very hard to imagine one.

JSP
i lost my hp so no number...

cellow
yeah give up on this one liao. too many stories. everyone who sees her comments on how distracted she is when looking after jx

smiggleprincess
i have the same idea as u. i ever tot of looking after children. actualyl wan to go for early childhood education diploma but need to put in 1200 hours.

PB
u interested to get gal's clothes? i m selling. got a lot of nice ones for gals.

re maid
i m sending my maid off today. can't stand her liao. everything also never do. told her must clean toys and she just dun clean.

morning mummies...

michelle
thanks for the compliment... i'm still not used to this new hairdo lor... n Ethan is so cuteee... n he is so guai lor... can let me carry somemore... i like his spikey hair lor... last time 1 of my cousins also like that one leh... budden after a certain length the hair will not be standing one lor... so did u bring Ethan for a haircut?? heehee...

SY
i PM u my no later lor... u sms me if u can make it hor... heehee... heh mee! heh mee!!!

rena
how come got 3 baby cot? tess also refused to sleep in the baby cot. now the baby cot more like her playpen.

smiggleprincess
u thinking of opening a homebase child care center? i also though of be a nanny but thinking who will wan me to take care when i myself got a 8mths old bb to look after.

serene
yay, serve them right for terminate u......

SY
tess also do the samething but just that we both are lying on bed and she will try to turn over n lift her head up.

SY, tess mummy
not really child care centre but since i have experience taking care of premature babies, i tot i can put to good use. also i like babies mah.. think it be a very happy job..

Leg warmers
anyone bought leg warmers for your boys??
which ones good cos BP having a few selling. Tot cusberry ones looks nice.

SY,
Gasp! Yes, I can imagine! Cos Declan does that when I'm latching him lying down! Sometimes I scared that he will just bite me!

tess mummy,
Can be nanny la. Cos childcare centers also take care of a few babies at the same time mah. But it's only whether you can cope not.

smiggle,
That's a good idea... your experience in taking care of premies will be a good selling point.
Cusberrys are very popular.

I have leg warmers for Elijah so for I like huggalegs from Australia . Good quality and can really keep warm.. I let the two boys wear when we were in japan..

smiggle

just a thought. some mummies will hesitate putting their babies with you esp when they know you are taking care of your OWN one. cos it is inevitable that more attention would be on your own instead of theirs. so they may prefer a neutral nanny taking care of other pple's kids.

kindermusik

I am afraid that I can't go on 5 April now. Anyone else on the list wanna take over the organising for the 5th?

doggiebb
haha.. i also tot of that... but then i tell them.. its not just me.. also got my maid to help look after mah.. unlike normal nanny.. my charges will be more ex than nanny but cheaper than infant care.. those who no $$$ yet wan alternative (dont like nanny speak chinese,like better education) will find me lor..

Kindermusik
i dont mind organising but how??

Update on thumb sucking:

Remember i mentioned that bb xun is a 100% thumb sucker? So we tried using mittens to prevent her from sucking her left thumb. She has managed to
1) Pull out the mitten (we only put left side) and continue sucking
2) Changed to suck right thumb is left is unavailable
3) WAILED loudly for 1hr+ last night from 10pm to 11+ because we put mitten on BOTH hands and she got nothing to suck. She cried until both me and hubby gave up. Took out the left mitten and she immediately STOPPED crying, put the left thumb in and suck until 'chu chu chu'... then slept within 5mins lo. This morning woke up at 9am, smiling happily to my mum ...

kaoz ... what kind of bb is she.. HOW? should i continue with the 'cold turkey' treatment? Like very cruel to a small bb ...

also, since i got one spare room, i will use that room to put all the babies and install camer.. then the parents can view them anytime if they are worried lor..

Smiggle, that actually sounds like a viable business, esp since u got an extra room can try it out. Then can spend time with Kayden + earn some $ at the same time.

But dun think i can do that .. honestly dun have much patience with bbs ... ... :p cannot face them every day for 8 - 10hrs ...

Smiggle

correct me if m wrong. babysitter = nanny ? they are not cheap also ,they charge normally abt 400-600 and will increase if bb is on solid.

tess mummy
ya, nanny charges around there but some infant care ranges abt $700-$1000!!!
so say i charge $600 each baby, i need to take abt 4babies to earn a decent amt.
Imagine 5 babies at home!!!!

smiggle
it sound so exciting.
can be with kayden and earning money at the same time.
the best out of 2 world...

and hor, i got 2 leg warmers which i don really use. do you want a trial first before you buy? but hor, mine is girly one thou.

bbp
oh no. thats no good.
and it seems like she copy your everything.

Hannah
Glad that this maid is better! Then you more bang sim right? You can buy easy cookbooks for your maid to follow. There is a series called ‘perplus’ I think. Popular or even NTUC got sell. Less than $5 per book. Quite easy to follow

Re SAHM returning to workforce
I’m not sure. Maybe when poppy is 18 months old and can be put in childcare? I will miss her for sure! Yes I would love to go back to my old company and yes it is great and yes I have been told I will be welcomed back. But I do not want to do my old job again, and the chances of me getting something else in another department at the same level are slim. So it’s prob going to me something of a lower level, and pay cut
sigh. Struggle for so many years to bring salary up up up then suddenly go back with the possibility of getting as much as 1k cut

Dor and Hannah
Haha poppy was not wearing a dress for the photoshoot. It was a halterneck top

Serene
Hehe lao tian you yan!

Michelle/cellow
Re child development courses. I think it’s a great idea! Go for it!! But I think I won’t be able to commit cos my interest is not 100% there hehe.

Dor
Oh no. sayang ember. Poor baby

Dustee
Pomfret pulling at your t-shirt! So funny! Your poor boobs. In our usual way of saying things, I would have said ‘sayang your boobs’ but that would have sounded wrong. lol

Do1nk
You are funny. You are so skinny liao, if you cannot fit, how to fit us? Wear on one arm? Keke

Qing
Which is your building? I just saw when in the taxi

Smiggle
When are you going to be SAHM/nanny? Quick tell me so I can plan sending poppy to you! Neighbor neighbor got discount or not? Hehe. But hor 5 babies very siong leh! If they are older like 1 plus then easier to manage la. But now all crawling all over the place, how!

Michelle
Ethan is relaking one corner and taking his own sweet time? Hehe. I can imagine you jumping up and down in front of him saying ‘ethan do something! Grow a tooth! Crawl to me!’ keke

SY
Thanks but I have to stop shopping liao. I just took out the 9 month clothes for poppy and guess what, it was one whole laundry load worth! Hehe. And why you only sia me ah? So many mummies with girls here!!!

Jacelyn
Bb xun really knows what she wants!!!! You tried pacifier?

PB
mine is the hotel connecting building...

smiggle
oh... i was thinking you can try on one first before you buy online. not buy from me la... personally i feel the legwarmers not very good. will slide down one and then will left a mark on the thigh where the band is.

oh today poppy had mango for breakfast! with cereal. she loves it!

qing
oh i did not notice what the building was connected to hehe sorry!

coincidentally Cedric had his 1st taste of mango ystday... he loves it too! budden there s no food he doesnt love. *shrug. Even broccoli which is supposedly bitter to bbs, he gobbles up. Chomp chomp and it is gone.

smiggle,
i personally prefer babylegs to cussberry.

ssssshhh. tell u gals smthing. my milk supply is recovering slowly but surely. i went to aunt's fridge ystday evening to see how much was left, and there was still 60ml of Monday's milk left. today's 1st pump session can get 150ml (!!!!) I havent reached these levels in a long time. ssssssshh.
softly *hurray*
maybe i should pep talk my breasts more often.

HT UPDATES:

not sure wat's up with HT.. so far no one has replied my voicemails! will update u gals as soon as they do!!! angreeeee

cellow - u ttc-ing for clarice yet? tt's e name rite??

CONGRATULATIONS TO CIN BUNNY!!!!!!

PB, yah lo bb xun knows what she wants and (definitely) dont want! Hmmm on the good side, she will grow up to be someone with principles (haha stubborn ah) pacifier also pui out lo .. i was like forcing the pacifier into her mouth ...

JSP, Qing,
Yah so sad
But I not exclusive seller... so bo bian lor. But thanks for informing me... *sob sob*

cin_bunny,

crystal,
no la, i m not ttc-ing for Clarice yet. wait one year for my body to recover. yes you have a good memory
tis that name

my ttc journey for Cedric was one shot, diao already. so fingers crossed, Clarice will be born late 2010.

dun angreeeeee w HT la. take deep breath... hmmmmm! and breathe out... whoo!

oh oh PB,
happy anniversary!

all the rest of you out there,
happy april fool's day! hehe. HB not around, o/wise i think of prank to play on him liao.