(2008/07) July 2008

finally get a chance to logon!!

Cellow,
buyin second hand haenim 4 panels..
but i wanna buy another 2 panels.. how?

Update on Kayden
He learnin to sit and loves the walker.. like to explore the new house on the walker.
just fed him broccoli puree, not sure whter he likes it.
His teeth like not growin out leh...

Gatherin
Who else is comin???
Those last min crashers are welcome too.. just sms me.

Tata..
gotta go gamble

CS!!

I like the buggy exersaucer ... I wonder still have or not.

The swing and slide is nice but really too bad ... no space to put.

CS,
i saw her post, like a week ago and wanted to buy the exersaucer and play yard.
but she sellin for quite expensive and stay too far...

Serene, vote liao!

Hannahi,
Yar if yours is the cassette type, you can just bring the cassette to fuji/kodak photoshop and they'll convert it to dvd for you. Only need to bring the cassette and pay.

About the kain batik. I dunno where to get it in Singapore. I got it from Indon.

bbp,
The chance Declan poops again in the tub is small lah

Hannah,
He's been wearing sleeveless since he was born. But we set the aircon to 28 deg lah, just so he doesn't sweat.

CS,
Ever since Jamie could roll over, he automatically rolls to his side or tummy when we put him in his crib. When lying on his back, he wakes up more easily.

Abt the baby carrier, I saw a youtube video how to do it with 5m of stretchy material. Let me find the link ..

PB
Last time for D he will bite bite me alittle when he's teething but once teeth out he's okie. So maybe she's teething again so she needs to bite bah.

btw something I learnt from a friend last time. Cut carrots into sticks n boil for a few mins. Then put it in the fridge till cold cold n give to bb as teether. She says it will make teeth cutting easier. Not sure if its really true but I did try for damien(teethed at 5mths) before n his teething quite smooth no major stuff.

Oh yes to ans your Bfing qns hor. Cannot remember if some1 posted before or I read elsewhere. But milk will change when you are preg so sometimes #1 will not want to be BF anymore. Or milk might get lesser too. My friend BF until her milk dryup but her gal still suck for comfort when she preg.
Okie but if all is well n good. When bb is born u will still have colostrum before n after bb born. But quantity wise I dunno leh.....hehe
Wonders of mothernature hor.....hehe

Hannahl
Oh being preg again.....*CHOY*......kekeke
I have changed to ergo for Ember already when we go out cos cannot take her weight on sing for too many hrs already. Getting backache.

Cellow
hehe. Yah lah saying "Ehhh Ber" is jus very easy I guess cos she always says very loudly "EHHHHHHHH" so saying her name is jus shunbian....keke

bbp
I think saying her own name is jus a stroke of luck lah......hahahaa
Think by right they should start with the "Papapapa" or "Mamamama" (stated in the health booklet). But Ember none lor......sigh
Now she saying less n less liao not like that night jus keep shouting n shouting happily. Heng my #1 won't be disturbed by meimei when he sleeps 1.

CS
Haha yah lor lifesaver else I cannot go shopping liao.....hehehe

Think the Beco pattern is similar to ergo carrying pattern right?

Michelle
Yah i got #2 liao. Ember is my #2 mah......hahahha
My #1 is a boy 2 yr old liao.....keke

lbt
So sweet the pic.

bbp, i meant Declan is the same as Celeste, blur liao lah. Later Qing scratch her head

SD, thanks. Like that i on already loh. Will go buy new casettes & start videoing!!! They juz convert wholesale right? Dun edit one hor?
U know roughly how much?

Thanks. Ai ya, then can't let my maid teach me how to sling liao lah. Maybe see if i can catch the malays & ask them loh!

RHS, wow 28 degress not stuffy? When i put to 26 degrees, hubby already complain.

RHS, thanks for the video clip!! Very, very interesting!!!! Where to get that kind of material? Since i'm short, wonder if 4m is enuf already

CS, thanks for the link. Saw the instructions liao. Then i think dun need the cd liao lah. Need then i ask from u ok?

dor dor
Yah, I think so.. should be bah... kekeke

Hannahl
Sure, not a problem lah. The video on sling that RHS has posted, there's a BP going on for it.

hannah
i am using the U-Like blender. it's often got a counter at isetan scotts, near the cashier of home appliances dept. 5th floor i think. bought it for $69 i think. comes with 2 sets of blades, plastic containers/cups and covers. can blend wet foods (stuff we steam) or dry foods (eg heh bee, ikan bilis).

cellow
condolences to your hubby on his grandma

CS
lol on peng satay!! poppy also likes to do that.

cos she would fall asleep when nursing sometimes and hubby would say 'like that her arm comfy meh?'. i tell him it's ok cos she can still sleep for hours even when on her arm, if she's not comfy, she will peng to her back. but he want to kaypoh and pull out her arm. then she wake up. basket. then he walk out of the room and leave me to put her back to bed. double basket. men really don't appreciate how tough it is to put a baby to bed hor?

CS, tks, i know got bp on it, but since like so easy, i can actually buy the cloth & sling it right? I think that one like more for small bb leh.

Pb, tks, i'll check out on the blender. Ai yo, but i juz came back from Orchard...

I think u can start posting liao, why dun u give it a try? Woa, got poppy's stuff for sale liao ar

Hannah,
No leh, my aircon 28 deg not stuffy, but 29 deg is.
In the video comments, ppl said to use jersey material. Dunno if spotlight has it. I think the length is not determined by your height but rather your size. And as your child gets bigger, I assume you will need longer so 5m is probably just the right length.

Dani managed to crawl on all fours a few steps this evening. Yay!!

Made her avocado mix apple puree today. Gave her as puree in the morning thou she isnt very eager to open her mouth cos I think the avocado is alittle bitter (thats why added apple) but still she managed to down about 1 oz. Then mix the puree with brown rice in the afternoon and she down it all! & I think she might be teething again - upper centre teeth. She felt feverish and drooling so so much. Constantly wants to bite on things too.

I also tried my Ergo today, very comfy!! I dont feel the weight at all, at most just very slightly. Dani's very comfortable in it too, she fell asleep very fast. Oh and Hannahl, yes their legs tend to have to open wide but personally I feel more comfortable with that then having them hanging by the groin.

PB, oh yes, I agree! & I know that oh-so-familiar feeling!! After I had finally gotten Dani to fall alseep for the night, Mr A just had to make some noise to startle her. He'll just look at me and go, 'ops! go check! go check! see if she had woke up.' So lau niang had to start all over again. Damn!

On Wednesday I was so desperate to get Dani to quiet down cos she was fussing so badly.. so I did this, & she laughed. Sigh ~~

Yes, that thing on her head is her diaper, a clean one of cos.. Mr A calls her MUSHROOM HEAD
2121176.jpg

CS,
This means in a few days, Dani will master the art of crawling liao
Cos a few days ago, Declan had his first tentative steps of crawling on all 4 before he gave up and returned to lunging (prob too slow for his liking). As of today, he hasn't lunged but has been crawling, but still a bit not steady especially when he wants to move faster.

hannahl
yar they will just convert, no editing. I dun know how much, but shouldn't be more than 15 bucks.

CS/BBP
Oh my, your babies are fast! My baby still on her tummy, turning around and around.

Morning feed
Hmmm now Emma refused to drink her early morning feed. I'm trying to give her 3 solid feed a day, but not very sure how to slot in the milk intake. Any mummies can give advice on the rough schedule?

morning!!

Any mummies know where to get good and cheap playpen?

SD your baby only fuse at morning feed ah? my Ethan fuss at every feed loh.. it was ok for a while, then recently after injection, his drinking problem is back. whole of ytday he drank only 400ml *sigh*.

michelle
is it cos ethan is teething? when poppy's teeth were coming out, she was not interested in milk

SDchick
i copy from 'first foods' book :
6-9 months

on waking: no feed!
breakfast: 2-4 tbsp banana ragi porridge and milk as needed
mid morning: 2-4 tbsp fruit and yoghurt
lunch: 5-8 tbsp fish and spinach porridge, 2-4 tbsp papaya puree, milk as needed
mid afternoon: 2-4 tbsp semolina surprise
dinner: 2-4 tbsp plain porridge, 2-4 tbsp potato and caroot puree, 2-3 tbsp fineflaked fish, 3-4 tbsp apricot puree, milk as needed
supper: milk

sounds like alot hor? when i look at it, i also scared. i only give poppy 2 solid meals a day: cereal + FM around mid morning and a puree in evening. so far it has been: broccoli, carrot, apple, pear, pumpkin, sweet potato

*the book has each of the recipes.

CS
dani's look! so cute la!!!! pureen premium diaper, yes?
and... her hair grow out so much already lor.... haiz. poppy, poppy. still a little botak head

Michelle,
Not fuss, but refuse. She doesn't want to drink at all, no matter how hard we tried.

PB,
Thanks for the schedule. Yar sounds like quite a lot. I'm going to do this. What do you think:

7.30-8 am - rice cereal mixed with milk
10.30-11 am - 210 ml milk (hopefully can finish)
1pm - porridge or cereal+fruit
4 pm - 210 milk
7 pm - porridge
9.30 pm - 210 milk

so far she's been taking 190ml per feed, sometimes 170ml.

I haven't tried broccoli. Maybe should try one of these days. So far for fruits we gave her: banana, papaya, peach, pear, apple, avocado, orange (to suck a little bit hehehe she likes)

Veggie: potato, sweet potato and carrot, mixed with porridge. I also use pork rib to make the soup plus celery.

SD,
Fast crawler = more knocks. Declan already knocked his head twice this morning. But aiyah, you are experienced mama... you know that better than me

Michelle,
Cheap playpen ar... NTUC? But dunno good or not. My playpen is second hand from friend.

PB,
Wah, Poppy's food plan sounds so cheem. I feel bad already. Sometimes when I lazy, I just feed Declan milk the whole day. *Ducks to avoid flying objects from other mommies* But generally, I feed solids twice a day - lunch & early evening.

On a side note, the person selling her toys and play yard right.... I was wondering.... how many children does she have? It really looks like she got a lot a lot of stuff!

sigh

Cedric is back to latching to sleep these past few nights. We tried the sleep training w crying but... gave up after half an hour of top-of-the-lungs-screaming. [him, not us] Tis a new envmt in Msia here for him, so we xin ruan... gave in to him.... now no more time liao. Onli back to SG wed nite, so I got thu, fri, sat nights to train him to slp by himself. 3 nights onli!!!

How am I gonna leave my bb alone w daddy during the night the whole of next week when I m in Jakarta? *worried, very worried*

hi momzies... how was your CNY? I'm going back to work tomorrow and dreading it...sure to drown wan..

so how was the gathering today? Sorry, mummies...wanted to tell u girls I can't make it but forum was down...then I was so swamped that I forgot to sms one of you instead... hope you girls had fun though...took pics? how's smiggleP's brand new home??

michelle: so you stopped pumping and Ethan's on full FM and cereal now? I'm decreasing my pump sessions to twice a day now.. and it was such an easy transition wiv no engorgement nothing... coz my supply's dipping badly too.. believe it or not..6 months liao and my right nipple is still raw/torn/painful! sigh

solids: finally got started...the greedy boy didn't really know how to swallow initially...now he cries and opens his mouth so widely for it! tried pumpkin and avocado on him... 1st time made wanna-puke faces and was gagging then started crying and flipping backwards to avoid the spoon...2nd tries turned into a greedy monster haha... he's only weighing 8kg but everyone is calling him ah-pooi now...love his chubby rosy cheeks though...

waiwai: CONGRATS!!! how are you feeling so far? wah little xuan pei's gonna be a big sister so soon! take good care ok?

exersaucer: still haven't really done much comparisons and decided which to get...but saw the evenflo one at robinson's for $349... tempted to buy and sell off later.. but saw so many 2nd hand thread... very hard to sell off issit? the safety first one looks quite alright too but not sure where it's from...

josh got 6 teeth liao? wow! found out that my boy likes me to clean his teeth coz he will end up smiling but the minute i try to clean his tongue he will protest haha

okie gotto go milk the cow now.... will catch up again later

have a good week ahead!

Sdchick
Sounds good! But how much is emma eating now? You’re not starting her off with that are you? Intro slowly better. Let her little tummy adjust
eh you don’t remember all these things from ashley’s time ah? Hehe. Too long ago liao is it

Btw the book I have is by dieticians and it says that we should cook porridge plain, then add in the separately cooked ingredients. Instead of cook all together. That way the nutritional value is higher. Apparently.

Bbp
No no! I copy that from the book! It is too cheem! I wrote:
I only give poppy 2 solid meals a day: cereal + FM around mid morning and a puree in evening. so far it has been: broccoli, carrot, apple, pear, pumpkin, sweet potato

Hehe. You ah. Got declan’s tiny fingerprints on your specs so you missed out that sentence is it? Keke

Do1nk
Oh poor you! Nnp still pain! Mothers are great indeed. Sigh.

Cellow
Don’t worry. this will be a good time for both daddy and baby to bond

By the way, can you count me in for the 4 panels? I saw at smiggle’s house today and now I am super gian. We girls are really bad influences on each other!!

bbp
Not you bad lah me too if I'm too lazy I will jus latch Ember on the whole day. Unless I BTH her fussing then I quickly go n squeeze some milk out for her cereals.....keke
Declan so fast crawl liao Ember still yaoyao yao her backside.....hahaha

Oh yes the person selling hor. Actually I think she might be 1 of those who 'rent' toys out lor then now sell off n buy new ones. Make sense??

PB,
Yar too long already. But I still have Ashley's daily feeding records. Comparing the notes, it seems that Ashley drank less milk (more BM portion, only 1 FM feed!!!) but ate more solid, and I even gave egg yolk already when Ashley is 6 months old. hmmmm. Before introducing 3 solid feeds, Emma's schedule is like this:
- 6am - 90-120ml milk (she's skipping this for the past 1 week!)
- 9am - cereal
- 12 pm - 190 milk
- 3 pm - 190 milk
- 6 pm - porridge
- 9 pm - 190 milk

Really? Cook separately? hmmm too troublesome hahahaha... normally for porridge, my mum would make the pork bone soup, discard the fat and strain. soak the japanese rice (my hb bought her princess the $23 per kg "new harvest" japanese rice at Meidiya!!!! *faints*), grind and cook it with potato and carrots.

wah biang! $23 per kg! siong man. i was standing at NTUC looking at all the rice then in the end bought mid range one hehe.

wow emma's schedule is very regular hor? so nice. so you mean when she wake up, she won't ask for milk? hmm. actually poppy also, now that i think about it. but it's a habit so i just turn over and latch her on. she also never complain hehe

Yar $23 is so ex, but then my hb calculated, say in 1 kg of rice, you can have around 8 cups. when we cook for bb, only using 1/4 cup, and that's for 2 portions. so can feed bb 64 times. so everytime feeding her cost around 40 cents la.. so he said aiya we eat our lunch also 5 dollars, why can't give 40cents for bb? Well if you calculate that way, it's true lar.

SDchick

i also bought jap rice for Rianne but mine is not so ex... oh maybe it is ? cos it's $9.90 for ... hmm think 2.5kg or 1 kg ? cannot remember !

ok here's rianne schedule:

7+ - latch on both sides, drink until she satisfied
930am - cereal (sometimes with fruit puree added)
1230pm - porridge
4pm - 6oz EBM
6+ - porridge, and sometimes baby biscuits after that
9+ 7oz EBM

hai, my Rachel was admitted to KKH on Sat nite for stomach flu. vomitted many times and now diarrhoea. was only discharged yesterday. now I am still on leave. luckily Rianne behaved very well at my MIL house whom she only saw once a week cos my mum is away at Msia ! what a "good" timing !

luckily i can still pump in the hospital. Borrowed the medela pump from KKH and bought a medela funnel and 10 pre-sterilised bottles from the hospital. really convenient. and best thing is that the nurse can help me sterilise the funnel ! hehehe

Was the forum down? Couldn't come in yesterday.

CS,
Megan had always slept on her side since she was born. never really like sleeping on her back except during day time when she's in her bouncer or rocker. like Dani lah, peng satay lor. always roll and roll. she will kind of roll 180degree round the bed the whole nite lor.
She also sleeps on the bed either by herself or by patting. we never really carried her and rock her to sleep before. expect when she's super grouchy or outside.

Cellow,

don't worry. ur bb will be fine.

afternoon mummies... back to work today lor... super sian coz later gotta go take minutes for a meeting...

re: gathering at smiggle's place yesterday
dustee, post the pic hor... nice meeting bbp and smiggle...

Hannahl
i'm quite tall at 1.67m... u sold it off liao?? i oni adjust the sling the 1st time... then after tat i jus put on n use... for me i dun need to adjust after putting Ernest in leh... so far he oni like one position which is the cuddle position... i haven tried the other position coz my fussy son like to sit n look ard one... juz Pmed u leh...

RHS
ya lor... was rather scared coz 1st trip overseas n he oni 6 mths lor... budden really gotta bring alot lor...

cellow
pls send my condolences to ur HB n his family...

CS
Ernest also not slping so much on his back liao leh... he likes to slp on his sides... same like Dani, he dun seem to like rocking to slp liao leh... will struggle and scream when want to slp lor... then will go all quiet when i put him down n pat him instead... heehee... so Dani & Ernest same clan one lor...

bbp/CS
Ernest also learning to crawl lor... and he's also learning to sit up while lying on his tummy... budden usually will topple coz not zai lor...

re: porridge
when can we start giving bb porridge huh??

SD
$23 is veri ex lor...

lbt
hope Rachel is feeling better... sayang her for me hor...

labbit,
Hope Rachel will recover very soon!

JSP,
I gave bb porridge already, but I still use blender to make the porridge into puree, but a little bit lumpier.

How was the gathering at Smiggle's place yesterday? Post pictures leh!

Lbt
Hope Rachel is feeling better soon!

Cellow
Condolences to your hb and his family.

Can hb carry and rock Cedric to sleep?

CS, Michelle
L also likes sleeping on his side now. Sometimes he'll turn to his side after I've put him on his back. And then he turns again to lie on his tummy. That is still his favourite position.

Bb feeds
I just started L on HT BRC yesterday. I think he ate about 3 Pigeon spoonfuls. Which is about half a teaspoon? Today I 'forced' him to take 10 spoonfuls. Of course most of it went to the bib.

Denise has diffcultity in pooing yesterday night.. and guess what i did?? I dig her poo out cos she has no energy to push them out on her own anymore and was crying badly. Know it is a bit er sin to describe but that was my 1st action when I saw she bled while trying to push her super hard stool out...I feel so heartpain.

tks .. i also hope rachel quickly recover. she's still having loose stools which PD says it's normal for her case. will last for a week. Appetite so so, she ask for bread/biscuits I will give. at least she is eating, scare she starve. already so petite and lost some more wt
so sim tia.

and the worst is she is very sticky to me ... keep whining and asking for me. And rianne sometimes join in the "fun" also and cry together ! jia lat !

and my hubby is down with same virus and I am feeling some abdominal pain now. hai .. virus virus quickly go away !!!

the good news is my mum is coming back tonite !! now i really treasure her ! ahhaha

JSP

i give rianne porridge when she turns 6 mths old. u can cook the porridge until very very nua or blend it like what SDChick says. If not, u can also soak the rice in water for 20 mins or more then cook it. It will be softer in a shorter period of time.

delphine

oh no ! sayang denise !

maybe u want to stop cereal for a while since she is constipating ?

youpi

is L holding a BIG ang bao ? he got a shock look on his cute face ! aiyo and I lovvvvvvve his fair skin ! my gals are born a bit tanned, just like me.

Youpi,
L looks cute with the hongbao, as if telling everyone Hey!! This is my first Hongbao!!

Delphine,
Dun worry I did that before also, I used a lot of vaseline and also dipped the cotton bud into the vaseline and poked her butt. If she's constipating, give her barley cereal, instead of the brown rice and dun give banana or apple. Can give diluted prune juice as well.

Labbit,
give her a lot of electrolyte drinks like pocari sweat or pedialyte. When my Ashley was little, I used to stock up pedialyte - Bought them from drugstore since they come in flavors. At guardian I also saw some electrolyte drink for kids which you can pop to the freezer to make popsicle. It still tastes yucky, but children will still take it as it's a popsicle.

SD

tks for the tip !
rachel keep asking for water cos I know she is a bit dehydrated after passing the loose stools. ok when I go guardian I will buy.

I love the quiet when Cedric is sleeping now, and I also love the hustle and bustle when he wakes up. Ystday, HB took a good look at him while I was lying nx to him latching, and said 'my goodness, he is nearly as tall as your body [he means torso]'

so to all who offered condolences - dun. Grandmama in law had a long (95 yo!!) and full life, her family ws always her priority, she prayed every morning for all of her descendents. And rite now, we are enjoying being tog w my ILs and the extended family. Cedric is passed fm one set of loving arms to another
one more step to growing up knowing he is loved by many.

lbt,
sayang little Rachal... hope she recovers quick quick. Rianne's cheeks are indeed v bouncy! u said like yours in your babyhood

youpi,
LOL on L proudly displaying his loot.
HB can carry and rock Cedric to sleep. Ced will be fine, I was worrying too much. Just a worried mummy moment which passed

rayna,
i m sure that Ced is fine w daddy... Like Megan, Ced likes sleeping on his side too.

JSP,
good for you! Ernest loved his BKK trip? I know u and HB did fm your postings

Delphine,
Helper did that before for Cedric, use a cotton bud to dig [gently!] into his anus and help loosen the poo so that it is easier for him to poo. Before mummyhood, yes I would find it er xin, but now, I do watever it takes for my bb to be comfortable! am sure Denise is more comfortable now aft you did that for her.

Feeding solids
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/index.html
The current literature suggests that up to a year old or even older, solids are meant to be supplements not main feeds. Babies shd be getting most of their nutrients fm milk.
Having said tt, I m fending off pressure fm bt mom and MIL to feed him porridge w pork/fish/veggies etc, and I expect the voices to inc in volume and intensity as he gets older!

Lbt,
yup maybe she has too much biscuit over the CNY period. Hope rachel get well soon.. haiz, toddler get sick easily esp when they are in playgroup/nursery. is she attending any now?

SD Chick,
oh didnt know cannot gave banana always thought they prevent constipation. Thanks for the advice.
Will go buy barley cereal at supermarket, they shoudl be selling right?

Cellow,
yes.. motherhood has really changed me.. i would find it er xin if i have not been through as a mother. now so long my child is safe and sound, I will do anything lor. She is indeed more smiley after her hard stool is out.