(2008/07) July 2008

shopping at vivocity
I am perversely proud of myself that I walked into Vivocity's Fox, Lifebaby, Mothercare, Dwuudang, a shop selling Carters/Levis/Adidas, Colette's and I din buy a single thing.... keep thinking that I can get it cheaper online fm the WTS or BP threads in this forum! *pat myself on back for being stingy mummy* hahaha

this is a pet cause of mine... and i urge you to consider these group of less fortunate fellow mothers in your charity giving this festive season. refer http://www.scwo.org.sg/cms/content/view/22/48/
the star shelter is the only secular shelter in Singapore for victims of domestic violence lor... here is a list of what they currently need.
Quote "Donation Appeal from the Star Shelter
The Star Shelter, a temporary refuge for victims of domestic violence requires food items (e.g. canned food items, rice, instant noodles and beverages). Currently, we urgently need the following items:

a portable electric hob with 2 hotplates - 19" by 11"
a baby pram
a baby walker
a baby bumper
baby clothes and children's clothes
baby diapers
infant formula (0-6 months, 6-12 months & Above 12 months)
Pot for sterilising baby's things
Baby shampoos and wipes
Detergent for washing baby's clothes
Loose cotton house-dresses
Light blankets
3-in-1 beverages
Biscuits
Canned Food
Instant noodles" Unquote

When I saw the list... I was thinking of all the little babies who need infant formula, clothes, steriliser etc etc. Maybe I am still hormonal, but thinking of them really makes me wanna cry... Donations can be dropped off at 96 Waterloo Street (behind NAFA).

Kacey new headband
1998209.jpg

Serene

It's lovely. Btw, I noticed from the wallpaper that Kacey and Josh were born on the same day. Did you deliver at TMC?

re: Gathering @ Bugis

Date: 29 Dec 08, Monday
Time: TBA
Venue: TCC @ Bugis

Attendees:
1) Nancy (JSP) & bb ernest - Confirmed
2) Serene & bb kacey - Confirmed
3) Doreen & Damien & Ember - Confirmed
4) Cyndi (CS) - gotta see which date it is to decide if bringing Dani - Confirmed
5) Sheena (i_ling), helper & bb Theoler
6) Sy & JX - depends on date. best if it's on weekday
7) tess mummy n bb tess
8) Rayna & bb Megan - Confirmed

so shall we meet for lunch?? say abt 1pm?? so far, rayna, CS, serene, dor dor n myself confirmed meeting liao... the rest of the mummies, pls post in the thread if gg hor... wont be accessing the web on weekends... heehee

serene
kacey so happy wif her new hairband huh??? smile until so hapi lor... i luv gers lor... can dress up lor... boys abit difficult to dress up cos got limitation... heehee... we cfm again the timing can?? coz need to run errands on tat morning but think 12 or 1pm should be okie lor...

jsp
29th i m ok.

macy
maybe i should try one last time tonight.
update u all again

pb
pppy is oh my god...
only can see her little eye.
lol

Time: TBA

Attendees:
4) Cyndi (CS) - gotta see which date it is to decide if bringing Dani - Confirmed
7) tess mummy n bb tess
9) qing & bb rachel - confirmed

lunch sound great.

batgirl... glad that wufeng is discharged now. u have a good rest too

buying things for bb
think my hb is the "on" one about online shopping for bb haha

cheryl... thanks for advice on solid food feeding. that day i gave xuan pei half bottle 1st, then she cried when i gave her solid food... i try the frisocream cereal myself, really a bit tasteless. think xuan pei has sweet tooth like me! just bought nestle rice cereal with milk hope she likes ba, if not, maybe like what u say, try apple puree mixed with cereal

sonic... i took some Similac samples and tried myself, taste like BM, may bb will like it

bugis gathering
29 dec i may be okie... what time to meet?

i haven been able to open the webpage leh...

Hannah..
i would think that more than half a mil to buy hdb flat is too much.. i can buy condo..
my fil cant wait for us to move lor.. cos baby got too much things crowding his home..

Serene
Wat time u goin for isetan sale??
maybe see u there??
i saw the newsletter like got alot of things to buy leh...

PB
how did poppy move in that thing!!!

Hi mummies.. I am 70% receovered from being mega panda. But baby wufeng is very cranky. Think he caught the flu bug in the hospital.. now he is coughing like a hyena..
Think he is going to lose weight... he is puking his milk out...

Hannahl, did your PD recommend you to do the kidney dye test for your no. 2? They asking me to bring Wufeng back 2 weeks time to inject a dye thru his pee hole and see if the urine backflow into his kidneys.. aiyoh... he has to be sedated during the process.. sounds so scary.. How old was your No. 2 when he kenna UTI? How is the healing process for circumcision? They cut away the skin? *shudder*

SDchick,

Were you the one who met my hubby yday while collecting the combi stuff?
He liked the egg thing that you bought. The avatars and wallie is very cute! How to download har? I am techno idiot.

Qing,

You also kenna rejected for Macys huh. If die die want to get macy's stuff, can get thru amazon. But need to pay domestic shipping charges...and I think no adidtional discount. I am still pondering over mine. If you can succeed, tell me hor.. I also want to buy... :p

PB,

Poppy looks so warm in those layers! Guess she must be having a good time there! Different environment! Makes me feel like bring Wufeng for holiday too!

somebody along the thread asked what is the causeof UTI? Two reasons - one not so serious, one quite serious.

(1) Not so serious reason - Hygiene. Too long in pamper. Poo sit in the pampers too long, the germs travel up the urinary tract. So mummies, remember to clean baby well (for baby boys, must pull up the foreskin and clean too)

(2) Serious reason - Urine reflux. Means each time baby pee, the tail end gets "sucked" back into the kidney. If urine is infected, the kidney will kenna too, causing kidney damage in the long run.

So mummies, if baby's fever cannot be brought down by paracetamol, do remember to check the urine. If UTI goes undetected (for both reasons), it will cause some tissue damage to the kidneys. Bladder may also get inflammed. Wufeng's fever was yoyo (came down with medication, but climbed back up after a few hrs)

Just to share..........

Star,
I deliver at East Shore ....

JSP,
yeah she like to dress nicely before going out i always put nice hairband for her to match her dress.

Smiggleprincess,
i'm not sure wat time i be going coz hubby on leave on that day most likely in the morning.
U can actually buy a lot of things for ur new home leh.

Batgirl,
Hug*hug* to wufeng ......thanks for sharing

Time: 1pm

Attendees:
7) tess mummy n bb tess

Time: 1pm

Attendees:
7) tess mummy n bb tess -confirm

just to check if anyone feeding their bb on heinz cereal Rice?
after i mix with BM/water, i still can smell the flour smell, is that normal?

missysz
cayden just turned 6mths today.. i started him on cereal about 1 mth back.. 1st started with 1 teaspoon then 2-3 days later, slowly increase by 1 teaspoon... then another 3 days later, i jumped to 1 tablespoon le.
currently only feeding 1 tablespoon of cereal + milk + 2 teaspoon of fruit/vege puree.. kinda like dessert for him... anyway, he seems more hungry in day time, so can afford to feed him more..

hmms... actually depending on d instructions on d cereal packaging... or how ur bb likes his cereal... for 1st time feeding, i din really gauge d amt of milk i mix to 1 teaspoon of cereal.. just estimation n tried to mk it as watery as possible,
then slowly day by day, i decrease d milk amt n mk d cereal abit more gooey... nw, i mix 1 tablespoon to 40ml water.. but sometimes haf to add abit more milk ar, feed him 1/2 way, see that d cereal like abit dry, then pour some more milk in...
hope it helps..

waiwai
welcome.. ;)

cellow
*pat on back!! u very li hai ar, can tahan not buying... if i were you, i prob succumbed to all d cheap ongoing sales now... nw trying hard to mk myself busy with work.. ahah.. nw always find my colleagues go jogging with me after work so i'll be too tired to go shopping..
if not, i'll try clean hse, keep telling myself, new year coming le.. must clean up my hse.. ahhaha... buay tahan... must keep my hands to myself n my wallet away from harm... keke

pb
hope ya better nw... almost couldnt see lil poppy.. btw, is she wearing those slip-on flannel-material dress blanket? am thinking of buying for cayden too.. but cant seem to find one tts suitable for sg's weather.. those i saw are quite thick ar... tot of buying for him so he wont kick his blanket n cover his face... dangerous ar..

small gathering
wah, nw more n more pple joining le.. not small gathering anymore le.. wished i could join u mummies... but am already tking leave from 22nd till 25th dec.. then work all d way till yr end...

Batgirl,
OMG Wufeng's condition sounded quite serious hor. Hope he will recover soonest. Yep I'm the one your hb met. The combi toy I bought is called Roly poly light. It's quite nice, you can turn it on and it will be come night light, with different colors displayed. My baby loves it.Yesterday I saw one at a kiddy shop at Thomson plaza, level 2 next to Amore Fitness. It's selling at 39.90. I bought at 32.90.
Just click on the avatar, right click, save target as. Same thing for wallpaper.
Thanks for sharing the symptoms of UTI to look out for.

Serene
Ya, i aiming lots of things at the private sale...
but i half day leave and can only reach abt 1pm..

batgirl
UT sounds scary.. can go undetected easily..

gatherin
u all sahm can always gather so envious....
i also wan...

Hannahl,
Sure, will post me & Declan in the Scootababy once I download them from my hp. Yes, I finally remembered to take pic! I can post 2 - awake & sleeping Declan

And can sit when they sleeping in the Scootababy. Aiya, should have taken another pic for you. Haha. Just make sure their feet are round our waist, then can sit already lor.

Cellow,
Think we can shake hands leh. Nowadays I go shopping also just think of the super high markup the shops do. Then come home and surf BP. Then even more stingy, once I discover someone selling things that are relatively cheaper than someone else, I will only surf her BPs. Haha. So even lesser opportunities to buy lor.

Batgirl,
Good to hear that Wu Feng is recovering. It must have been so scary for both you and hubby. Even hubby and I are scared too....

Rayna
Same same, I was on the 3rd floor and they're still renovating so no proper nursery. But when I was on my way to lessons 2nd day after birth, I passed by the new nursery, whoa, nice wor! And very big!

PB
OMG!!!! I cannot see poppy anymore. A quick glance and I thot I saw Santa!! LOL!!!!
Looking at poppy, I can really imagine how Dani will look like when we head for Switzerland next year. Jia liat.

Kacey
wow! Look at Kacey, so 'fashion' huh!! kekeke

Cheryl
Dani wears her Kiddopotamus sleeping bag to sleep every night, keeps her warm and cosy in a/c room. Its a zipped up fleece bag with long sleeve. Comes in sleeveless too.

smiggle
Not all mummies going to the 'small' gathering are SAHM (thou I wish I can be one). Happened that some of us are on leave.

My gf called me from the States today and asked me if I want to get stuffs from Baby Osh Kosh and Kate Spade cos on sale. And yes, I sccumbed to temptation.

Jsp
My #1 cannot sit still 1. So must have alot of things to catch his attention n entertain him. But he also do alot of things that are loud n catch attention lah. Think I used to it liao....hahaha

Sharp sharp means Ernest got teeth liao lah. Ember 1 still have pop out yet can see the white but can't feel the sharp sharp yet.

SD
Cheem leh. Hw to clip on to clothes?

PB
Glad poppy was such a good girl. My #1's 1st time on plane was a bad experiance for me cos he didn't wanna sleep at all n keep wanting to play kpo to see everything. I was so exhusted and we only went HK....hahahha

youpi
I was so surprised when I heard ur hubby too.....haha
AFter I went down I was telling my hubby that your hubby is the 1 who agrees on buying...hehehe
But the cuseberry ones dun seem so warm so still okie. I'm very bad. Everything I wanna get for Ember I will use the excuse that she's wearing alot of handmedowns.....hehee
N I'm buying dresses for her mostly cos she doesn't have handmedown dresses from my son right??...hahaha

Normally unexplained high fever think pds will check for UTI. My #1 was checked for UTI before pd confirm it was jus fake measles. They put a plastic bag with foam at the opening n stuck it over bb's pee area to collect pee.

Hannahl
I only seen it online u can google to see. Its quite long so bb can hold it when Bfing. But I guess its jus something to catch bb's attention so maybe can find something to hold her attention when feeding.

batgirl
btw bb boys foreskin cannot be pulled back to clean.
FYI.
Almost all boys are born with the foreskin that cannot be pulled back but gradually, as they get older, the foreskin separates from the underlying penis and can then be retracted.

In 90 per cent of boys the foreskin can be pulled back by the age of three. By the age of 17 only 1 per cent of boys have a foreskin which cannot be retracted.

It is not a good idea to try and force the foreskin back to try and clean underneath it because this could be painful for the child and in some cases could result in splitting and scarring of the skin. So for the first few years of a boy's life it is best to leave the foreskin alone.

hi gals !

back after MIA-ed for quite some time

SDChick, thanks for the montage ! I lovvvvvve it !

PB, congrats on reaching canada safely and also to poppy for being such a good gal !

SY
sorry ah .. how to collect the cereal from u ?
pasir ris or toh tuck not conv for me leh

potty train

my sister pass me this very small potty and it's the right size for Rianne now. My mum also made Rianne sit on the potty every morning to train her to poo in it. my mum says me and my siblings are potty trained by 18 mths. My #1 was trained by her < 2 yrs old also.

flipping
rianne flip but still abit on the careful side. She will do it slowly and when flipped over, she gave me the proud face ! eheh

cereal

i have not replace a full milk feed with cereal yet, it's still a snack for Rianne. but think gotta replace soon else my milk supply cannot meet Rianne's demand. She is taking 6 oz every 3.5 hrs.

batgirl, really relief to hear that wu feng is back home. UTI is really no joke ... gals, also remember NOT TO apply powder near private part area. It blocks the pores and may cause UTI too. always use water to clean bb private part when bb poos.

dor dor,
actually behind it there's a metal clip. Aiya.. today went to the better toy store, they sell the clip at 4.90. it's so big!!! got a few nice binky holder as well at 16.90 (made from wood).

Polo got additional 30% off on top of sale items - certain ones only. Bought 1 dress for my#1.

SD
I like the better toy store stuff too. But Ex leh. I got a few of the small wooden hair clips but Ember no hair to clip leh.....hahaha

hi girls
batgirl, thanks for sharing. hope wufeng is better now. will be very dilligent in cleaning poppy`s diaper!!!

in that photo, poppy was wearing a longsleeve top, a jacket, pants, a woolen hat, socks, snow suit with hood, and the bottom part is buttoned onto the snow suit to allow her to be straped into the car seat. so not many layers but very insulated suit. the minute i saw her in it, i couldn`t help but laugh and laugh.

it is so cold today that we can`t go out. it is -18 degrees,but plus the wind, it is -30. so home stayers we are. except for visiting my hubbys grandma we havent really been anywhere since we arrived. sigh.

oh btw started giving poppy peach flavoured heinz baby food. she doesnt really like. maybe the texture is too watery. not like the healthy times barley cereal she is used to

dor dor,

Baby foreskin cannot be pulled back huh? Why the missy there tell me to push back the skin there to clean huh? Sounds scary and painful... Aiyoh..next time each time he poo poo better go wash backside.... Thanks for informing!

Re: UTI

Glad to share...Always good to learn from mistakes..anyways, forum is to share information and experiences...

SDchick,

hehe..my hubby is in love with the toy, think he will go buy it soon...kekeke

oh! on taking urine sample, the urine bag did not work for him... always cannot do good catch... I did a clean catch ie catch his pee in a specimen cup..but must be patient to wait for him to pee...

pb, ya, the forum is down, again..

qing, why the house has no tv no sofa leh?

smiggle, why need to beg hdb for a mth then can get a flat leh? U mean ballot can only have max 3 times?

sonic, mine still fuss when drinking milk. After 40ml, she'll fuss liao. Then i got to find ways to get her finish her milk... Now only giving 100ml every 3 hrs.

hi momzies.. how have u all been? so glad the weekend's here.. n we r taking the whole week off! :D

batgirl, was shocked to read about wufeng being hospitalised, n now coughing.. u hang in there..dun we all hate seeing our bb's fall sick..

dustee... u poor thing too.. sounds like a major injury..how is your back? better take care and dun anyhow bend... so far, nothing still beats the pain i feel on my wrists.. 5 months and still waiting.. for it to go away...

dustee: haha your hubby should know better than to step on your shopping-siao tail hehe so wat have u been splurgin on lately? keke

formula milk: waiwai.. I felt exactly the same as you! started to give my little one FM as last nite feed 2 nites ago.. so I dun feel so stressed about producing BM for him.. been pumping my poor NNP to death and still not meeting his growing appetite.. felt so sad, yet on the other hand could feel the stress diminish a little.. someone gave me a tin of similac so started wiv dat.. but sis told me it produces lots of air (and true, the whole bottle was filled wiv bubbles when my bb drank)

brands of FM: wat else are you girls using? enfagrow A+ is good right?

solids: G's turning 5 months old soon...got one more month to research about solids.. so it's cereal first, then fruits then porridge? youpi, you grind normal brown rice to powder then cook ah? so it's like starchy cereal?

bluey: wah...your new neighbour sabo your shopping trip? what happened?

PB: hahahaha! where IS poppy hahahaha

summert: congrats! haha u r so happy he flipped. mine still has not learnt where to put his hands when he flips so he gets stuck still...

grobag: wanna get one too coz now we are wrapping him up (like swaddling without the arms) so he doesn't kick his blankie off.. but he likes to pull them and suck on them! what's a good brand to buy?

do1nk
thks! ya me v happi! after flipping frank will slip his hand out and he flipped back just now too! hee!

may i know if u mommies still let bb wear mittens to sleep at nite? cos they wear those rompers that cover the fingers too?

do1nk... me too feel so stressed and squeeze nnp till dry to meet my bb's demand. u are feeding Similac now? u can sign up as member so can get free 400g follow-on formula, they deliver to your house

lbt... same here, with my private limited supply, i wish can replace 1 milk feed by cereal soon... but now she still fuss when eating cereal, even if i mix with BM...

summert... congrats to Frank for joining prata club. my bb didn't wear mittens since 2 months old... but gotta cut her nails every 2-3 days. occasionally she wakes up with a scatch on her face :p

PB... -30 degrees?!! wah... keep warm orh

batgirl
Glad Wufeng is well liao cos I heard kanna UTI is very painful 1.
I read somewhere before my #1's birth that bb sort of dun have foreskin so cannot pullback to clean until dunno which age. So I only clean his penis tip if I see some whitish substance n once he's older hor until now other then bathing n wipe I leave it alone. Cos I scared overdo (dunno if there's such a thing).
But dun think his foreskin now at 2 yrs can be pulled much too cos now toilet trained liao I jus wipe after every pee.

Last time for my son they stick the bag n wrap his diaper back. Then we jus wait outside at PD there for him to pee. Heng he did lor cos he jus peed awhile before they stuck the bag....haha

Serene
Playyard is a good invesment lah I got 2 sets leh.....hahaha

Summert
I took the mittens off after 1 mth n now though we sleep in aircon bb jus wear normally. At most is those sleep suits that cover feet as well but hands will be free.

Sally
Yes bought a lot of thing
And to top up I also bought from her no 1 spree
Abt 200+ liao

Macy
Sorry girls
I finally call thru but no more % liao
So sad
Will do a refund on Mon
Left ib device in office

I don use mitten
Only wear long sleeve pj

Grobag
I use dreambag

Hannah,
ballot til sianz.. and we hittin income ceiling max.. overshot by abit. beg hdb to close one eye let us buy...

GIMMILL
WEnt there and its was so cheap.. $4 for a shirt and $10 for three.. bought lots of osk kosh for Kayden

summert
Welcome to the prata club bb Frank!

Dani doesn't wear mittens during the day but night still does cos I'm afraid she'll be cold cos in a/c room.

do1nk
I believe you meant Enfalac A+ instead for Gordon?? I'm giving Dani it and really happy with it. Perhaps you want to give it a try cos like what you've mentioned, I head that Similac produces alot of bubbles.

Yesterday I caught Dani lifting her butt while on tummy. She was kicking and scratching her feet against the mattress then suddenly lifts up her butt!

By doing this, she is able to move around like a little worm. LOL!!!!

Btw, Dani loves her new toys - Spin and Sing as well little LuLu! She'll bat the wheel and laughed once an animal sound is made. Then little LuLu, she'll listen to the ABC song and look at the lights (alphabets) quietly...

I personally adore little LuLu, the voice is sooooo cute!!

bluey, thanks for organising this girl