(2008/07) July 2008

dor dor
Ya lo, Dani's scalp now very dark, looks so weird. Told hb I thot it will turn out to be like skinhead, smooth smooth. Instead, wah lau, so dark and chiak chiak one !
Dont want lah, I like EMber's hair, so smooth and fine. So nice. Dani's like bird nest (niao wo) like that.
Yeh, her eyelashes are long and dark, like hb's. But she likes to rub them alot til some strands instead of straight-out, becomes over-lapping.
You also so kut lat to pop-by ah? hehehe.... lucky we went, 20% off woh ~~

summert
Guess we're sort of in the same situation. Initial plan was to let MIL look after. During my confinment, she came over to stay for a monh to help out with housework, thou I didnt let her handle bb but from the bit and pieces that Ive observed, really CMI. Told hb I do not want to work and worry abt Dani at the same time. I will go bananas. So we settled on getting a nanny. There are pros and cons for me. Thous its not exactly near my place (4 mrt stations away) but at I can trust my nanny cos she's my frend's mum and I often pop-by their place before I was preggie. She's a good person. The only thing I worry is the other bb boy, think 16mths, thats she's looking after which is also my other frend's boy will go ka-jiao Dani when she's asleep. He's just beginning to walk so super active. So will make it known to her.

Like what lbt has mentioned, perhaps you can find 1 thru agency?
Is Woodlands too far for you? A lady approached me recommending me her aunt. She saw me posted in one of the threads looking for nanny. Living just round the corner. If not far for you then maybe you would like to consider?

cin_bunny
Is your nanny a day or overight nanny and how much are you paying for?

summert ,
befor i was preg my mil told me if i have bb she would help me to look after ,than when i was 5mth preg she spoke to my hubby that she want to look after my bb after i give birth. i told my hubby straight off "NO" coz my mil has problem with her knee cap as she had an operation last year even looking after my hubby sister daughter(primary one), my sil 1 son (nursery) n a twins boys(nw the home is like a mini childcare)wth my fil help. but there a maid taking care of the twins.

the problem with my mil is that she not hygienic at all for eg: the hankie that she use it to clean baby mouth she can use 1 edge to wipe the dirt fm the floor n use another edge again to clean the baby mouth reuse n reuse again....it frek me out man....

my sil dont even care abt it everyday when she return fm work ard 7 plus she would take a bath, eat dinner, carry the baby for a while than before 10pm she off to bed. she dun even care abt when the bb cloths stink she just leave it dun bother to ask the maid.

how can i fan xin let my mil take care of kacey???

last sat i discovered the maid use normal washing powder to wash bb clothes, she just put the bb clothes in the pail pour water in n than just stir with both hand n the clothes is ready to hang ........oh my god when she hang out the clothes i can smell the clothes still have the bad smell make me feel like PUKE .....i was thinking if kacey were there than kacey would be the smelly bb in the world ....

PB
i think it is a good decision to send your helper back. my #1 rule is no arguing back. if they are wrong and they admit, it is fine. but if they like to argue or lie, then i will just send back.

i m also changing helper cos she said she can't handle 2 when i go back to work.

by the way, they tend to think that cry means hungry. overfeeding can also cause discomfort. my helper also like that last time.

re hand watching
jx has been counting her fingers too! she will lift up her hand and then kept staring at it. so funny

my gal really loves daddy. she can go wihouth talking to me the whole day and then when daddy comes back she will open her mouth. not that i want to feel jealous but can't help it cos i take care of her the whole day....

re cradle cap
jx also has a lot suddenly. i bought the detinox cradle shampoo. used twice liao and it reduce a lot of the cradel cap

smiggleprincess
does your place have a room for bf? cos jx is difficult on bottle

re dropping hair
i have been dropping a lot too! din happen for my #1 though...sigh

smmigleprincess,

jsp just inform me that she unable to make it for the gathering ...sigh how huh ????

Total amount is $475.86
total 34 adults
each pax $14.00
please made the payment by this friday should any mummies last min unable to make it there no refund.
july'08 Mummies Gathering...
Date : 27 Oct'08 (is a public holiday)
Time : Lunch Time (1pm to 5pm)
Venue : 9 Simei Green Condo #06-01, St 4
S(529865)
1) Serene n bb kacey - $14
2) missysz, HB, bb jonas - $28
3) qing, HB n bb Rachel - $28
4) JSP, HB & bb Ernest - $28
5) Michelle, HB & bb Ethan - $28
6) doggiebb, HB, bb Talia and Thaddeus - $28
7) Cellow, HB and bb Cedric - $28
8)Smiggleprincess,HB and bb Kayden - $28
9) Jacelyn, HB (TBD) and bb Li Xun - $28
10) cin bunny, HB and bb sophie - $28
11) sy, HB, jing heng and bb jing xuan - $28
12) pinkbunny, bluebunny, poppy bunny - $28
13) sonic, HB, bb xavier and bb anne - $28
14) bluey, HB, zhun yeng, bb zhun lin - $28
15) do1nk, HB & bb Gordon -$28
16) sleepless youpi, HB, tantrum-y toddler, and no-nap koala bb - $28
17) dustee, bb pomfret - $14
18) cheryl, HB n bb cayden -$28

Payment
u can tt the amt to smiggleprincess at:
POSB SAVINGS 131-37213-2
(pls indicate your nick and inform once u transfer)

Summert, CS, Serene,
Really looking for smone to take care of precious little one is a headache.

My helper is coming in this evening. Wish me luck gals! Will give her lbt's 53 rules to observe! (btw, thanks, lbt for sharing your helper rules and schedule)

Okie, gonna colour my hair today in the afternoon. Prepare to go back to work on Friday. This whole week, my mind has been on - will helper love Cedric as much when I m at work? She is supervised by my aunt, but still...
Anyhow, my PILs are flying in fm Msia this Friday, and FIL needs physiotherapy for his leg which jst came out of a cast. So gotta arrange that also. A lot of things on my mind.... hate it when i wake up like that, macam not rested.

Look forward to seeing you gals and bbs on Deepavali

PB,
Think u see salah la, Serene only counted one pax for Dustee leh. *Phew* dun hafta train bb pomfret to eat her share of Neo Garden buffet.

Do1nk,
how ws 1st day back at work? dun worry, i join you in the missing-bb-a-lot-sim-tia club soon this Friday!

SY,
Sama sama. I take care of Cedric whole day, and he barely talks to me, except occasional ah gengs and (now) snorts. When daddy comes home, walau, his golden mouth chatter away like nobody's biz. Every evening, i will tell Cedric "u continue like that, then mummy wont feed u ah", but he just smiles at me and his daddy. Pengz.

Summert,
Bwahahahaha. U used cooking olive oil on Frank's scalp? Champion la u.
re: MIL situation. U tell HB if he wants a peaceful hse or come home every night to either your black face or his mother's black face (even both!). If he wants peace, then he has to work for it and pull his wgt to take care of Frank and do hsework. Tell him lightly that you and his mother no chemistry, no mo qi, so dun force this issue lor....

Oh oh. There are standby bbsitters who can take care of Frank when the infantcare centre is closed, but the charges are high lor (one wanted to charge me $90-$100 per day!!!). Look thro the bbsitter agency.

summert, i agree with cellow. you have to tell him based on the last experience, he will end up having 2 black faces everyday, or he will need to be stuck in the middle for every little thing.. is that what he wants? but then again, compared with nanny or infant care, will your MIL be the best person (in comparison) to take care of frank? if no, then your problem is solved. if yes, then you need to think, under which situation will Frank benefit the most (not you, not hubby, not your MIL but frank). list a table of pros and cons of all the options perhaps your solution will become clearer... I know of a very good nanny in bukit panjang. She used to take care of my nephew for a few years.. even up till now (my nephew in primary one), they are still close and in contact. Is that too far? Before you fixed on an option, you need to look out for them first too. i.e. start looking actively for a nanny whom you want to give it a try, then you have a chance to evaluate your options. See for PB, she found a nanny, tested, then the option of SAHM became very clear! Hope i din make you more confused....

summert,
after a long thought i have decide to be SAHM to take care of kacey.......
i can be ur standby bbsitters if u wan ??? i stay at the east side if u dun find it far

morning all..

sept03bride/peppermintt - which part of west u staying?? i dun mind opening hse.. hee..

summert - think u gotta weigh ur options like wat e gals say.. both hb n u are teachers? i think for teachers (am 1 too...) v hard for us to just last min keep taking npl in case of any cc closure unless ur P is super understanding.. my skl is not.. so i had a difficult time even applying for NPL for this month for e silly reason they needed me for o level invigilation?! (so many others in skl can do it) i had to really argue my case to be granted e leave n it does reflect badly.. i was also given a D grade this yr coz i took a lot of MCs (due to diff preg) + cc leave (for my #1).. so u have to think carefully..

PB - i agree w e rest u sld send ur helper back... e braless thing is super salah also lor

Serene, yeee... ur MIL very unhygienic leh.. use baby hankie to wipe the floor!! then what is the point of us sterilising every little thing that touches baby's mouth!

talking about hygiene, I am still crying over "thrown" milk. Sunday i brought baby to my mom's place, forgot to bring my pump. So i had to manually squeeze into the milk bottle. But think the milk bottle was open to air or something, at the end of the squeezing, i saw some dirt particles floating on the milk and then settle downwards (like 3 black dots). Told hubby about it and he said better not let baby drink. I use my hand to SQUEEZE for so long and there was 150ml!! enough for his 1x full feed! Its like so easy for him to say throw it away loh.. I din have the heart to do it.. brought the bottle home, ask my MIL to throw.. she say she heart pain also.. so in the end ask helper to pour it away without us seeing.... XIN TONG!!

I have 1/2 box of pigeon (abt 18pcs) breastpad to give away.

If you need it, PM me. It is best if you are going to the gathering ... so I could just pass to you.

baby development
my boy is showing no signs of turning, flipping, he does not like tummy time, grabbing things etc.. the only thing he likes is smile smile smile, and then wants to be carried upright or sit on Bumbo! he is not even eh ehing too much.. sleep, eat, smile. that;s all he does everyday... how to teach him to flip? everynite i will make him sleep on his side, but 5 min later he will lie on his back again... and remain there till he wakes up...

michelle - hee.. cannot teach one.. one day, he will just surprise u! =) i think boys developments are slower than gals.. my #1 (boi) flipped at 4 mth.. my gal now 3 mth can flip liao.. dun worry, it's easier to taek care when they just sleep, eat, smile! hee.. my gal also mainly like tt.. but must add one.. FUSS! hee

cellow, since we stay so near each other, one of these days we can have a playdate for Ethan and Cedric or you can put cedric here while you go Parkway jalan jalan... just let me know lah.. Btw, u have any pre-nursery in mind around this area already? *kiasu mum here talking*

summert... i brought the comb from kiddy palace. there is a comb and a brush together... as for babysitter, maybe u can get recommendations from friends/colleagues?

michelle

you are not kiasu! one of this very good kindergarten called St James Kindergarten near botanical gardens...well to get into the pre-nursery you have to register with the bb's birthcert as soon as he is born to get a place. I am not kidding!

thank goodness i have quite a good kindy near my place- Marymount kindergarten and I registered my talia there.

U REGISTERED OREDI?!? oh boy.. i read on papers about St James, but its so far from where i stay... my friend also waitlist her 1 yr old son there.. wah.. this is worse than P1 registration!!

cellow, cellow,and mummies around marine parade area, what are your plans???

::babies flipping/turning to side::

i was wondering if i am limiting my boy to turn/flip coz i still place the beansprout pillow on his chest area/tummy? but if i remove it then i am worried that he cant sleep well coz he will startle at the slightest sound..i dont think he likes tummy time also.

labbit,
u have a PM.

summert,
u used cooking oil? haha..ur baby must be wondering whats this mommy is doing. u are so cute.

missysz,
ehh..my ger is still having the bean sprout pillow on her tummy. But i can see her trying to turn la, but not sucessful yet. Hence i dun tink the pillow will affect la.

cellow
You are absolutely right. When Dani is only 2 weeks old, Ive already very troubled with who to look after her after my ML cos straight-out MIL is a big no-no. Think so much abt til wanna kena depression.

Michelle
I was smiling to myself when I read Ethan likes his bumbo, glad he does
Dont worry abt him not turning yet cos different bb develop at diff stages. And like Crystal mentioned we headache liao.

missysz
Dani's pillow is those long-ish one and very heavy too cos full of whatever is inside there. She also turn like nobody business.

Mittens
I took off Dani's mittens yesterday she went to poke her eyeballs and corner of eyes. So quickly wore it back. Tried again today, her cheek got 1 looooong scratch and she inserted her finger into nostril too *duno to laugh or be angry*. Again, quickly wore it back. Mummies, like that how huh? Shld I just ignore her and let her poke, scratch,rub.. do whatever she wants and she'll grow out of it? Mu mum says let her poke and scratch and once she feels pain, she will stop. But doesnt like it to me. She like no feeling one.

SD chick,
YOu bring bb to punggol plaza for swim?? hehe. maybe we can have a small gathering with wai wai.. me too heart itchy itchy wanting to bring Denise for swim leh.

Waiwai,
Hehe my gal name is denise .. dani is CS's gal.
we can have a small gathering at punggol plaza if you all are interested.

Summert,
how about your close relative? anyone staying at home as housewife?
Where does your MIL live? another way is to drop bb before work and pick up after work. At lease MIL not staying in, less conflict.

serene
sori for the last minute changes... if u had alrdy made the order, i dun mind paying for my share but I would not be able to make it... let me knw... hubby juz told me last nite coz his mum juz told him also...

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I came in to seek help for my research as my friend, Sophia who is an active member here said that there are many pro-breastfeeding mothers here and suggest that perhaps i can try to get help here.

Allow me to intro abt myself..
I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of
breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are
comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from
you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 3-4 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

cellow
hi 5! mine also like that. feel a bit sad hor...but dunno why golden mouth reserve for daddy only.

CS
think shouldn't wear mittens liao. it's ok. tjhey will have scratches initially but after a while they learn not to do it

michelletan
flipping cannot be taught. just continue with some of these activities and your bb will suddenly know.

re st james
yeah it's rally popular and long waiting list. but i m not too keen on sch that have such huge intake. always a higher chance of getting HFMD etc....my boy is in a presch at siglap. i m happy with the sch but only thing is qutie ex.

michelletan
bb ernest is also happily lying on his back still... he's alrdy 3mths 1week old but still not much signs of flipping yet lor... although i'll try to help him abit in the flipping when he is in a good mood... so far he has not shown signs that he likes to be on his tummy lor...

bb ernest is turning alot as in on his back... when i put him to slp, he's at the 3o'clock position budden in the morning he had turned 180 degrees n is at the 9o'clock position liao... kinda amazing that he can turn so much while on his back lor...

CS
i tink its better to remove the mittens lor... so that they can start to feel things with their hands... bb ernest used to scratch his face real hard too... but after a few painful lessons ie scratch until got blood, he learnt his lesson... me that time also super sim tia lor... budden bb skin heals veri fast so within afew days the scratch alrdy healed quite well liao...

re bumbo
seems like me need to go to the chinatown shop to take a look lor... maybe can bring bb ernest there n let him try it b4 buying lor...

SY
Really ah?!! Cos Dani really scratch herself mad. Turn away for a while nia and got a few more new scratches liao. She very fast.

Okay, try again tonite.... everytime I tell myself, "nvm, tahan the scratches. Dont wear it back for her" but in the end, still wear it back for her.

JSP, wah got blood ah!! Think can fight with Dani liao.

Guess for the next few days, I'll have to act blind liao.

CS
ya lor... he cried real loud at one time too... then we saw that he had scratched himself so hard that got blood... after tat he kinda learnt what is pain if he scratch himself real hard lor... bb ernest super chu lu one lor... alwys rub his face until red red one... when i carry him he like to rub his face against me lor... too bad me got last min changes so can't go to the gathering if not can meet all of u n bb lor... sian... alwys got last min thingy one lor...

summert,
ha... u very cute le...
I will think of olive oil from ginvera instead.

wrt mil, i agree with cellow and michelle. Dun think ur hubby wanna come home everyday thinking wat to expect when he opens the door. Staying under one roof is not easy.

crystal,
i staying in Jurong west. U?

Sept03bride,
im at JW st 61. U?

re: turning
evan turned this morning! He was sleeping on his tummy, then heard his cries when i was vacuuming the sofa. Went into the room, there he was! lying on his side but no longer crying. Surprise surprise surprise! Then after i came out from toilet, he's facing up! ha... a great surprise early in the morning
Guess he was very pek chek so he managed to turn himself using his legs.

Serene,
ur mil is so pu wei sheng!! *shivers*

CS,
better to remove the mittens cos will affect their motor skills as now they can open their hands. Sometimes evan will also scratch himself like tis morning, spotted a small tiny lobang in betw his eyebrowns.

aiya, my boy also rub rub rub, scratch scratch scatch.. butafter i start giving him medicure every alternate day, he scratch but no blood and scar type... only face can get really red loh...

CS, better not to give mittens then she can learn to grip things mah... and also some say their babies start to gaze at the hands.. that is so cute loh.. but ethan not doing any of these yet. only eat, sleep, smile, rub and scratch face all day.

peppermintt,
me JWest St 65.

Yes CS, actually i stopped putting on mittens every since my ger was 1 mth old. Must allow them to exercise their hands. Just trim the nails regularly.

okay mummies!! From now on, I will act blind, be blind towards her scratches.

JSP, Michelle, Ernest and Ethan can be good rubbing friends with Dani la. Ive not seen babies that rub their face like her. Even my mum finds it weird. She'll rub so hard til face all red, my mum thot she got fever or something so face heats up.

I did think of filing her nails, think Michelle gave me the idea cos she's doing it too. But Mic, where to find a file meant for bb. Adult de can bo?

peppermint
Evan scratch til got lobang ah?!! Wah, thats dig ! Aiyo... hear already also sim-tia already..

Ehhhhh, Ernest, Ethan, Evan... all "E" bb boys.... hehehe....

Sept_03_Bride, hao bah.. will try tonite again ... sigh ~~

Will leave Dani will nanny from this Sunday onwards, will nanny to remove for her. At least I dont see the scratches so not so heart ache.

i bot the baby nail trimming set from watsons. looks the same as an adult set tho... cun tell the difference.. but i put a small cup of water while i file. file one, wipe one nail. cos when he move, it goes straight to his face or mouth or nose.. super fast one.. so trim, file, wash with water.. repeat process for 10 nails... hee... but i oni do it when he sleeping (sometimes he still move when he sleep loh)

Thanks for the tip Mic!

Too bad I cant go to the gathering cos Dani's taking her 5-in-1 plus extra jabs on Sat so staying at home in case she has a fever.

oh... okie, better take good care of her. I bot the fever cool gel to stick on his forehead at nite for fever so dun need to keep sponging him... anyway, if she feels better on monday, just come lah!

CS....
ya hor... all the 'E' bb boys similarities lor... heehee... me also last minute cannot make it for the gathering coz got other family events...

The other day I was asking hb, "do you think our couch can put at least 20 babies?".. he nodded his head and I know why he agrees. Cos 3 of us have been sleeping on the couch for months and if it can hold us 2 adults (especially him, so fat) then yes... 20 babies can. LOL !!

hello mummies!
coz was sick a bit, then hubby was sick, then pomfret's got some rashes on her tummy (PD says allergic reaction to something), so very hard to find time to check forum regularly. haiz. when oh when will i find time to join sprees to buy leggings?! (leggings oh leggings)

bb flips
no lah, my pomfret flipped from tummy to back, not so super to do back to tummy yet. according to my PD, when they are on their tummies, you tuck one arm under their chest, then when they push out with the other arm, they will naturally flip. need to help them along a bit.

mil
as someone who stays with her mil, and who is very deeply unhappy about it, i urge all, like summert, if you are already staying alone, do not invite them to stay over unless your mil is super cool type. DO NOT.

oh gosh, i'm really unhappy staying with my mil.

haiz. like imagine, pomfret got quite serious rash on her tummy, i'm already damn worried and anxious right? not only did my mil NOT say encouraging things like 'just a rash, no problem' , she hinted that i caused the rash. from the bath to the places i bring her (eg my mum's home), to what i eat, etc. wah laus.

and she even insisted those are bug bites. and i had to keep telling her 'no, the PD already said it's an allergy' and she'll still say, maybe mosquitoes. grrrr.

pigeon breast pads
i also never use, i have one unopened box to give away. any mummy wants and going to the gathering, i can pass to you. pm me pm me!

gathering
even if pomfret doesn't eat her share at the buffet, no guarantee i won't be eating 2 persons' share!!! hahahahaha. doesn't breastfeeding just make one so hungry?

Waiwai,
I dunno whether the place at punggol has glass windows for showing off. I remembered reading from one of the mummies post that the one at punggol is more private?

Delphine,
Yar my hands also itchy want to bring. but I can only do it on saturdays cuz working full time M-F. furthermore haven't got my hubby's approval hahaha..