(2008/07) July 2008

yo mummies
just to share wif u .. u can log in to huggies website to get free diaper, 2 free smaple for each size..

::baby can read dvd::
i got the baby can read flashcards already and now contemplating to get the dvd after reading all the raving comments here. but i understand that we shouldnt let bb watch tv at such infant age right? is it good? i am returning back to work and thought to get for him so that he can watch during his waking time instead of staring blankly at the ceiling. :\ any advice mommies?

::swimming::
this is the website http://www.babyswimming.com.sg/
watch the videoclip if u have the time. the babies were happily swimming in the tub.
i think i will bring bb there when he turns 4-month old. can shave his hair and swim after that but hubby is not very supportive. he feels its a waste of $.

star_xin
I feed on demand, I dont wake Dani up for her feeds. Naps interval around 3hrs but sometimes it can stretch up to 4hrs. I did check with 2 of my PDs before on whether do we have to wake bb up for feeds and they said feed on demand as well.

When Dani was younger, her naps can stretch up to 5hrs and I let her sleep cos naturally she will wake up for feed once hungry.

swimming

I bought the tub and the neck float so that baby can swim at the comfort of home sweet home, without being "watched" by so many strangers.. but I probably need to boil water for 2 hrs for him to swim for 10 mins.. haha..

Starxin, i let baby feed on demand now.. no need to wake them up just for feed as they grow older, they will adjust and wake up when they are hungry. that is how they can learn to sleep through the night without feed..

talking about feeding, my MIL is suggesting to increase his intake per feed to 170ml (gulp!) and hopefully can stretch his feeding time to 4 hrly.. she says will try today.. it means I have to pump harder if baby adjusts to this routine... *shiver*

star_xin
Yup, I feed on demand round the clock. Since Dani's home from hospital, I've never wake her up for feeds before.

How much does your bb drinks now?

July 08 Mummies gathering
It seem that a lot of mummies r going back to work, i would like to sugget e dates for the gathering.

Next Monday - Tea Session 6 Oct'08
1) Serene
2) Cellow
3) Dustee
4) Phyllis
5) Smiggleprincess
Next Sunday - Tea Session 12 Oct'08

instead of drugstore, i will order from america rx instead as the desitin is cheaper.

anyone else?

i m having a super hard time feeding jx. she's really rejecting her bottle.

CS
mine drinks very little. from bottle, she drinks like only 40ml - 50ml per feed. sometimes even lesser.

serene
so when is the gathering? where is it as well? if i missed it can PM me instead? cos hard to keep up with the posts.

youpi
no prob on joining dor dor's drugstore spree. most impt is convenience.
anyway i m going to order from another website instead. americarx as the desitin is cheaper.

SY
huh? So little? *scratch-head* If so, I believe on top of that still got BM ya? Maybe because like you've mentioned jx rejecting bottle. But she's latching on well?

star_xin
I believe 120ml is still an okay amount. Dani's 10 weeks and only recently she's beginning to ask for more. So now slowly increasing from 120ml to 150ml. I guess different bb have different feeding patterns and quantity.

I believe your bb will let you know when he's hungry and when its time to increase qty.

Dani's bbsitter told me the bb boy that she's looking after now (my friend's boy) is only beginning to drink 150ml at 16mths. He's a small eater hence when he was only a few months old, she purposely wake up every 2hrs to feed him cos she's worried he's not getting enough.

Thou Dani's a big eater but still there are times she couldnt finish her 150ml which I find it surprising.. haa haa...

CS,
ur remarks make me feel so much at ease abt the milk consumption of moi little 1.. thanks lots!!

diaper ordering:
i m keen 2 share in the Goon n Nepia order if ani1 is ordering in the East..

gathering:
me cun make it on 6th cos starting work liao..

EBM:
moi proud supply of 60pkts is fast depleting..nt cos bb is drinking more but cos mummi is pdcing less.. haiz..hopefulli supply dun run dry b4 sch hols..so tat i can get a chance 2 re-estb moi supply again..

star_xin,
i think your boy is drinking well. dont worry. my boy is drinking 100ml and sometime cant finish also.

cs,
thanks for the age calculator! i'm very confused with this week thingy too.

hi serene,
weekday gathering is a tad hard for me. weekend should be fine for me coz can get hubby to drive me there. hehe. hope mommies can make it.

i am starting work on 15 oct. so sian. wondering how to pump milk in the office coz we do not have any nursery room. how do mommies sterilise your pumps and bottles in the office?

bb can read dvd,
can we get from spree or BP in this forum?

Pls dun make any orders for Goon diapers yet... as i have emailed the distributor yesterday for a BP price. hopefully, its good news.

Smiggleprincess,
Hold on the orders 1st k??

star_xin... don't be sad, me too have spilled my own EBM while feeding bb... did not screw the teat properly, was too sleepy and didnt realise bb all wet with EBM since she didnt make any noise.

gathering
oh i gotta work!! gotta give it a miss... join u all next time ba

washing breast pump in office
i don't bring steriliser to work, so i just use hot water to rinse... and i just scalded my finger just now!! ouch!!!

lbt
that means can keep the bottles for years as long as it’s still in gd condition ah? Then how long can we keep the teats? Cos was thinkg if next time I got #2, can I still reuse the newborn teats.

Wat jab did rianne take? Hmm how come ur PD suggest rianne to start cereal at 4th mth? Any reasons?

How do u read bks to rianne? Put her in sitting position or just let her lie down? If lie down and read bks, isn’t it bad for the eyes cos of the lighting? I read bk to frank too but he was on the bed, so I scared the lighting not gd if I show the book to him so I stopped.

Re: Your bb can read
When did you let ur bb start viewing from the tv? I thot of doing so when he’s 5 mths old but scared intro tv too early to him and he may be addicted to tv.

bluey
hmm I am not sure abt the contents but I guess shd be the same bah? Otherwise can email and ask them?

Starxin
I will usu feed bb frank at 3hrs interval if he’s awake or eh eh by then. Otherwise I will let bb sleep and drag for another 30-45mins. But if I know he has not been sleeping much and is v tired, sometimes I will let him sleep and drag for 4hrs. but this doesn’t happen v often cos he is a light sleeper. But I think to wait till 4.5hrs is abit too long liao. I rem my mil also let bb sleep for 4hrs odd last time. Think older pp felt that sleep is v impt for bb so they seldom wake bb up.

Misssyz
Where did u get the bb can read flashcards from? I also pity bb to keep staring at the ceiling so recently I took out the playmate and hang some 2 stuff toys on top, a frog and a butterfly. Wah he loves it man! Then there was once hb took out the frog and forgot to put it back, so when I put him down, he actually turn to look at the butterfly n the position where we put the frog but couldn’t see it. Seems like bbs got gd memory.

CS
i'll count by mths cos too difficult to count by weeks as bb grows. but currently im keeping track of weeks.

RE: Watching TV

I already introduced TV to him at a very young age. :p Played for him cartoons, he also watched CNA with my dad and someother documentaries. He seems to enjoy it though.

missysz, i wash and sterilize using hot water. then i soak the funnel in an airtight container with boiling water and kept it inside till next pump time. din sterilize bottles cos i bring pre-sterilized bottles enough for the day pumps and sealed inside ziplock.. so u see, everyday big bag small bag to office....

morning mummies...
dun know if u all remember me..
I m so busy with my twins...
so tired...
not much time to go online..
only can come online if I m not so busy in the office..

regarding swimming
I let my gers try swimming at home in the bath tub and they like it..
so bringing them to the swimming pool tmr..
cos they r about 4 mths + now..can rite??
not to early hor??
and I would like to ask a stupid question
I heard ppl say when bring them for swimming in the pool need to wear diapers isit? hehe

youpi & cellow: our boys seem to be behaving the same way huh.. hope it's coz they are in the same age group (22nd, 24th, 25th) and that they will outgrow it soon!

superman: how do you girls hold your bb up like dat? what about their head (if they can't hold it up yet?)

mine still doesn't like tummy time coz he can't move when placed in this position, but when we carry him, he seems to be lifting his head a lot now dat we are worried he may even fall!

flashcards: been thinking of getting a nice pack of ABC's but yet to come across nice ones.. those I've seen either has not-so-nice pics or look very badly made.. any recommendations?

drugstore spree: what do you girls usually get from here? tempted to shop too but dunno what I even need haha! juz wanna shop online for the sake of it?

bfree bottles: hey doggiebb.. you are using this too huh? has your heat indicator gone kaput? coz mine are all now permanently pink.. washing the many parts also kinda leceh hor.. what I do is to wash then assemble first before sterilising so I dun have to handle wiv my fingers after dat...wat abt u?

goon diapers: count me in!! will wait for good news from phyllis

michelle: wah you bought the tub too? find it kinda weird swimming like dat or being viewed by lots of eyes at the shop..think will wait till bb's bigger then we'll jump into the pools at our place

milk intake: wah.. some of your bb's are drinking a lot huh.. I dun dare to give too much after the PD told me to cut back when he was 1 month old due to reflux.. he told me it should be about [150 * bb's weight / no. of feeds]

watching tv: my boy's eyes was actually glued to the tv two days ago and he happily sat in his bouncer kicking away for a good half an hour!!

Re: TV
I've intro adriena to TV already although my mum says its bad cos next time might become TV addict but we'll watch CNA, Natgeo or discovery channel... so i reckon it won't harm her anyway. But she seems to like TV alot cos of the moving pics and the colour contrast.

re: feeding
I also feed Adriena on demand. During daytime, its 2.5-3hrs interval (a must to feed!) During nite time... she can sleep thru the nite for as long as 8hrs. There's 1x when she kept crying 1.5hrs after feed. So frustrated then, so i told her after this feed u muz sleep till tmr 8am then can drink milk... that was abt 12mn and true enuff, she really woke up at 8am for her milk. me bad!!

**Something To Share**

Extracted from Mother & Baby magazine :

[Sleep, for babies, isnt just about resting and recuperating - it also helps them to grow, learn, develop and make sense of the world around them. Your newborn needs up to 20 hours of shut-eye a day and, while he snoozes, there's a whole host of things going on in his little head. Scientists have found that some parts of babies's brains are actually more active while they sleep than when they're awake.

When he's alert, he is fascinated by everything going on around him. Then, as he sleeps, his brain organises what he's seen, felt, heard, tasted or done - almost like a filing system - helping him to learn and build skills and memories.

Sleep also helps to build his immune system, as this is when his body will make the white blood cells that fight infection. Last but not least, your little one does most of his growing when he sleeps.

During sleep, babies grow both mentally and physically. Their energy levels are restored and, as a result, they're more likely to be cheerful during the day.

Did you know? : A newborn's stomach is the size of a walnut or deflated balloon. Thats why he has to wake up every couple hours to refuel.]

CS
hey thanks for the extract! You order mother & bb mag? I'm thinking of doing that cos can get more info and can participate in competitions too. hee

watching tv:

Oops.. i din noe nt good 2 let bb watch tv..but i oways on de tv 4 him.. so tat he can listen n watch if he actuali can c... is moi bad habit..i oways on de tv 4 de sound onli..die...

You're welcome summert.. Always happy to share infos...

I wanted to order but have yet to so, so til then, I'll just have to religously buy from 7-11.. *lol*

Dani watched tv everyday too. Im not so much against it cos they're still very young hence they'll not be able to make out what they're watching too. Not forgetting they have yet to develop full color vision and they still cannot focus on faraway things. I believe what catches their eyes are the sounds as well as the flashing of images...

Me too, just switch on telly for the sounds..

<font color="blue">hi all, sorry for interrupting..i am a mummy from the june thread. i have 2 packs of brand new fitti size S diapers for sales. It's suitable for babies below 7kg. I am selling at $12 each. Please pm me if you are interested.</font>

summert

i have an infant car seat which I have not install it in my car, so now it's in my living
room for Rianne to sit and sleep on it.

I will read book or flash cards to her while she is in the car seat, so she's in the semi-sitting position.
Sometimes I do carry her and let her sit on my lap and I read lor.

Rianne took the 6-in-1, PREVNAR and ROTARIX vacinnations yesterday.

Heng no fever for her and she is doing well.

Yes you can keep the bottles and change them if they look dirty or yellow.
As for teats, DONT'T REUSE lah .. for hygience purpose.

actually as long as baby can sit upright and can support her neck, can start semi solid food.

My PD always urge me to start early but I like to drag it to 5 or 6 mths.

jaslyn

ya for kids who are not potty train, better to let them wear swimming diapers.
NOT NORMAL DIAPERS ok ! else the diaper will absorb all the pool water and balloon !

You can buy the HUGGIES Swimming diaper. It is quite pricey and I only come across this brand that sells swimming diapers.

CS

Dani is soooooooooo .... I cant describe but very xiao jie look leh !! so cute !

yo mummies!

long time no post and i simply can't keep up with the postings here....super fast hahaha

dor dor, PB,
i do the same thing too...will carry Lucien to my hubby and put him beside his sleeping daddy when he's wailing away...*grin*

michelle,
how much did you pay for the neck float and tub? looks very cute leh

or is the normal bath tub at home feasible to use? but then very waste water hor bcos bath tub very big...

Fiona, I paid $81.90 for both the tub (80cm by 80cm) and a neck float. I think the BP (mambo) is still on. The water can reuse to clean toilet, handwash clothes etc loh...

Fiona,
I can't put crying bb next to sleeping hubby. Cos he won't hear the eh eh eh sounds. Only the all-out-loud cry that he will wake up.

fiona, bbp,
If i put Adriena beside sleeping hubby, he will only put his hand over at her chest and tap tap gently and then continue to snore...

michelle,
thks, i'll chk out the BP.

bbp,
hahaha...if my bb only eh eh i won't do it, purposely put a super loud crying bb to wake him up...kekeke

phyllis,
wah...your hubby steady leh. my hubby also does that for our elder gal but for Lucien he got to carry bcos he doesn't cry but shriek! very loud till my eardrum can tremble some times :p

deaf husbands
fiona, i also put the wailing baby next to my husband and what happens? my husband just snores louder than the baby. -_-

yet hor, if i whisper in his ears "liverpool match started" he'll wake up in a split-second

CS
oh your baby is sooo cute! (and very envious of her beautiful hair!)

multivits
help help, what multivits are you all mummies taking now? if TBF, need to take multivits/fish oil/calcium supplements?

jaslyn
is it safe for babies to be swimming in the swimming pool with chlorine now? i wanted to bring baby swimming too, then a friend said maybe the chlorine's not good for them. hmm.

pb
congrats on your last day at work!!!

dor dor and tights craze
a bit off-topic but indeed dor dor has put me on a craze for tights and leggings now too. slowly but surely building up the collection!

dustee,
I think your hubby and my hubby are long-lost friends. ONLY difference is, when Liverpool is playing, his brother comes and knocks on our door to wake him up. Guess WHO wakes up? Right. Me! Then I gotta "piak" hubby 5 times very hard to wake him up or else his brother will just continue knocking the door, making who cannot sleep? Right again. Me!

Re multi-vits:
I'm taking fish oil (for bb) &amp; calcium (for me). I call them my combo pills - one for bb, one for mommy.

Fiona,
Cannot tahan the pre-screams leh. You know just before the bb works up to a all-out cry? I will just end up scolding my hubby "Can you stop sleeping not??". My hubby goes "Tired mah".... machiam I not tired lor.

PB,
I love your blog! So funny and interesting. And did your hubby really FAINT??? *grin* Thought that only happens in the movies.

aiyo... what a hot day!! Just finished bathing Dani and Im sweating like a pig now~~ funny, why didnt my fats and lumps just sweat away too .. o_O

haahaa..thanks girls
She just woke up so Im able to mess around with her hair.
Went to bathe her after taking that pix. Now happily snoozing away after milk.

lbt
Rianne so guai *pat pat* ... hopefully Dani dont cry the clinic down when I bring her for 5-in-1/Pneu/Rotarix..

Fiona
yaya, Mambo BP still on, will closed on Oct 5th so if you want, must fast fast quick quick liao!

Michelle
You got post bb swimming in tub ar? Where? where? I also want to see.. hee... Im still thinking whether to bring Dani to centre or just buy float and tub to swim at home. Roughly how much water is needed to fill the tub?

dustee

i think safer to bring bb to swimming pool after 6mths.

i am still taking fish oil and calcium pills daily. Same as bbp. one for bb, one for mommy. Calcium is very impt during BF as it is depleted from our body.

dustee.. you really made me laughed out with your "liverpool match started" ~~ HAAHAA!!

Talking about tights, Ive bought one from this brand, dont know simi "bug", wore it for Dani once cos going out, under her romper and she was frantically kicking and slamming her drumstick against the couch (err, I changed her on the couch sometimes..hee) and I thot what happened then I reckon she hates her tights so I took it off and immediately she stopped.

Die la~~ I got order some ON tights for her and if she really hates them then no choice, will give to hb to pao kopi liao~~~

youpi,
Yup, my son does the superman thing too! Sometimes it becomes Ultraman, sometimes looks like driving F1.Hubby says he's trying to compare which fist is bigger

Re gathering:
Very far for me too, so I also waiting to see the response. Pai seh pai seh.

Re ear dirt:
I just realised this morning that I neglected to clean the joining groove. You know the super hard to see part cos all the curves of the ear seem to end up there? Cleaned it this morning while Declan was feeding. Shiok!

lbt,
What's the supergal flying position?

your babies still screaming for milk? my bb used to wailing loudly when she's hungry, and she can't seems to wait, her little mouth open widely searching for my nnp like the bird. but lately she's no longer doing that. even though she's hungry, she would rather bite her mitten. will not even make the erk erk sounds. when i put teat near her mouth, she will scream to stop me. so sad, have to keep on trying till she's half asleep then she will guai-guai drink the milk... wat happens to her?

i would rather she screams the house down when hungry and suck her milk fiercely like she was used to be.

re multivits
i'm also taking fish oil and calcium. at times when i'm in good mood, i will pop in one more - iron tablets, to replenish blood lost. :p