(2008/07) July 2008

cs,
i am keen to go leh but dont think will bring bb. can 'bring' me in if u are going?

oh ya, sometime taka pte sale can enjoy greater savings coz u get additional 10% with the taka credit card.

re sterilising milk bottles
was wondering how old bb is then no need to sterilise bottles huh?? hb tat day ask me budden me dunno lor... any mommies knw??

JSP
Ideally we should stop sterilising at 1 year old. Yaya, the newsletter's cutout can longbang in 1 more guest de.

missyz,
sure, no problem la. Oh, there's Taka private sale ah? Didnt know that..

do1nk/Sally
girls, since we're so near to each other, wana go together as well?

Me going to isetan!

Trying to chio my mom to wake up early to go there.
At least someone to take care of bb when I "queue".

Toking abt breast pump, medela is still the best.

Maid:
I m one of those "bad" mommies who leave my bbs with the maid full time when I work.
But I have "a lot" of camera for recording and online supervision.
SAHM for me ... no no ... can't tahan the idea of taking $ from hubby. Even when young, I got myself a "sponsorship" for studies becoz i dun wanna get $ from my parent.

sdchick, yup it lasted one nite. highest temp is 38.1 but later drop to 37.7. then we panick cos the silly doc never give any med...

but luckily after spongin, it become 37.5 and below.

missyz, i didn't remove her clothes. i put one wet towel on her forehead. n another on her chest (lift up her shirt). then after abt 15 min of sponging, stop. n if clothes wet, change them.

Girls, I think we shouldn't go to early otherwise we might have to queue outside of the mall while waiting for it to open for business.

Because my office is just upstairs, hence at every sale, I can see that the queue is horrfying. And as usual, mostly are mummies, especially Jap mummies, with their pram and babies. Next are MTBs.

bluey,

i m also those "bad" mummies lor...

but now my elder son in cc liao. also bad in the eyes of those elders who say cc is a pitiful place to put kids.

my elder son is 19 mth noe only. but i have no choice cos maid can't take care of 2 once i start workin. n i also want him to learn social skills too rather than stayin at home. cos i not stayin w any parents.

JSP, we never sterilise my elder son bottle liao. got only few times my maid sterilise cos got space as anyway, will be sterilising mei mei bottles. i think not necc since outside he already eating from the food court plates n utensils. he now already 19 mth. i think from 1 yr onwards it safe enough as they also start to eat solid food. but if u can, prob use it up to 18 mth lor.

garfield/CS
thanks for the advice...

SD/Sally
how u find the pouch?? isit good?? how much u gals got from the BP?? thinkin of getting one coz ernest likes to be carried and also easier for me if gg shopping with him alone lor...

lbt,
^5! guess we just have to buy bigger clothes for them to wear

hannahl,
you are so lucky to receive a new motor!

re: hubby helping
sometimes they juz need lots reminder...dunno y

PB,
Wah you're gonna be a SAHM liao...congrats! And it's indeed a very brave choice. I'm actually still on my AL but decided to return a week earlier to work bcos i can't stand being at home most of the time...hehe

waiwai,
oh my, the person's so rude! i would snap at her if i were there.

JSP,
i stopped sterilising my #1's bottles when she start eating the food outside together with us. No point since alrdy use the cultery there mah... but some ppl would carry on to do it till they stop using bottles, like wat my sis did.

good afternoon! one handed holding sleeping baby typist checking in...

isetan sale
what's good to get there?

online clothes etc shopping
what are the good sites for baby and toddler clothing, apart frpm the usual gap, old navy ones? my fingers are itchy now... mummies who spree, can recommend please?

waiwai
run over her feet with the pram! ;P

jsp
the pupsik pouch was $38 during bp.

sd, sally
do you find the pouch hot?

hannahl
i think it is supposed to be tight. i am still not very used to it yet and have a bit of trouble sliding my boy into it for the lying down position. dor dor did advise that you should put bb's bottom on the curved seam part. er, correct, dor dor? i also go to youtube to watch the videos and learn.

pb
congrats on being sahm! you've made a brave decision and it will definitely be good for poppy. and you are getting a domestic helper as well right? shiok lah, can concentrate on poppy without having to take care of or worry about other things

cs
just use a few cotton balls to wipe bb' face with it. one ball for each part of the face.

cellow
i know what you mean abt worrying that bb will not be treated well if he is cranky. it's hard enough for us, their mummies, to stay calm, patient and loving towards them when they act up, what more a stranger?

Muumies,
Just recovered from fever.. was so worried that i pass to Kayden..Tot he was the one having fever instead!

Isetan Sale
Yup, I be goin...
with husband and baby waiting in the car, thus i have to make a mad rush.. Be goin in the morning when it fewer crowd.

youpi
I did it that way leh. Now I just use clean hands to gently rub it on Dani's face during bathing time. Then after bathing her body, I use clear water to double wipe her face aagin.

yo
brought my #1 to PD as she was not feeling well. Then I ask my PD if it's ok to do chemical treatment on hair during BF. He says it's safe, and it's a myth. ehhehe so can do rebond liao !!

Hannah

i cant send attachment via PM. pls give me your email addy.

youpi
thanks for the info... interested but dunno gd anot lor... tinking of buying from their website if no BP lor...

Sally
next time lor... i tink their sale is quarterly one...

JSP,
It's $38 during BP. Bought from website I think is $42.90. One shop in Suntec (the area next to Toys R Us also selling at $42.90

Youpi,
I bought the cotton sateen one so not so hot lor. I did touch the solid color ones when I was at the shop near Suntec 2 days ago - the fabric almost like flannel, so I guess will be hotter.

Like you, I also have problem sliding my bb in the lying down position. Also that kangaroo position - my bb's legs becomes tangled and weird hahaha... the best is probably sitting down lar..

Hi-five to bluey and garfield. Me also bad mommy.. heh maybe the worst. During feeding I gave it to the nanny. I only feed bb at 7 in the morning. Coaxing bb to sleep also nanny. I only play with bb, when she cries, pass to nanny...

another 1 handed typist chkg in

semms like isetan sale v popular hor. wat do all who r rushg dwn (cs, do1nk, bluey jst 2 name a few) intend 2 buy there? really really v cheap meh??

SD/ youpi
seems like so-so oni hor... still considering wanna buy anot leh... if till thurs no BP then maybe i'll go suntec to try bb ernest in it before deciding wanna buy anot lor... tried emailing the seller but no reply from her yet leh... so wait n see lor...

isetan sale
seem interesting but i don have card and i have spent too much on online bp. hmmm...
must wait till 25th then can shop also.

i wan to buy a FP rainforest swing for baby lehz.

cellow
I believe we can get at least 20% off items which is very good for me cos I need to get an extra set of eveything Dani uses when she's at the bbsitter's. So can save jiu save lo ..

qing
so far no one tongpang me yet so if u interested i can still tongpang 1 more pax... i tink FP pdts got discount also... u can go isetan website and check out their e-newsletter...

Qing,
noted thanks!

re: water
evan also dislike water. i feed him using syringe and he gives him the yucks look. But water tasteless ma.. tried bottle and he wont drink.

SY,
my fren's mum is a baby sitter and she said no matter wat baby will stil wan mummy
my fil is not working so he can jar gar evan when mil is cooking.

PB,
glad tat u have made ur decision. Jia you! poppy wil have lots of fun time w u!

Waiwai,
like youpi, will run the pram over her feet!

JSP
Ya good idea. Go to suntec bef deciding to buy, cuz they have samples for you to touch and try.

Mommies, have your baby "talk" to you yet? My bb talks a lot hahaha... sometimes she cries and cries, then suddenly when she "came around" she will smile so wide and talk. So cute!!!

Is the Isetan sale really good. I'm wondering. I dun have card, but if really good I will consider applying for Isetan card.

hey if u gals going for the sale, grab the TIGER thermal flask. it's really useful when our babies start to eat porridge and you need to bring them out.

but the deal was better 2 yrs ago. i got the food + water thermal flask for $40 only !!

peppermint
I was just wondering will bb dont want me once at bbsitter's.. after hearing what you've said puts me at east liao... hahaha...

waiwai
Me three! Run over her feet!

SD
bb ernest will talk to me everyday lor... even when feeding sometimes he will keep smiling and dun wanna drink lor... super kpoh boy leh... sometimes cant stand him lor... in the middle of the nite, keep smiling n talking to me lor...

JSP,

Awww so cute of bb to talk to you! Sometimes I feel so angry when she's fussy, but then she will smile innocently at you. Just melt your heart!

SD
ya lor... sometimes he smile until so sweet how to be angry lor... somemore nowadays he super clever lor... when we talk to him, he would look at us with his eyes big big and after we finish talking then he will start his ehh ahh ang geng talk lor... cant stand him at times lor...

hi mummies... haha think it is a good idea to use the pram to run over the feet of any rude pple!! maybe put on a durian-like spikes at the front of pram also helps?!?!

PB... Poppy must be very happy with your decision! jia you! how i wish i can be the 1st person to see my Xuan Pei crawl, walk, etc...

SD, JSP... my gal also talkative one... i sing song she would also sing "oh... oh..."

bb didn't poo for 4 days, i make the "mmm" sound to make her poo, she smiles so happily, think i'm playing with her. i felt like going to toilet instead of her after making the sound :p but lucky she finally "released" last nite...

Girls, Im sure most mummies here are BF. For those supplementing with FM, which brand are you using?

Ive been giving Dani Friso Gold 1 but these 2 days she seems to be having very wet stools. I got shcck, thot she's having diarrhoea.

Wonder if its the formula.

CS
me not BFing anymore... no more ss... bb ernest now drinking FM oni... letting him drink Wyeth S26 coz recommended by my SIL... Heard the nutrients better n bb will grow stronger also... budden its pretty heaty so some bb experience constipation... but it all depends on individual bb lor... maybe u can buy a small can to try out 1st lor... if suitable then buy bigger can lor...

pb
yay! the good thing is to at least come to a decision that you are satisfied and at peace with.

so when can we have tea party at your place again for poppy and friends? hehehehe

JSP
Either my bro or myself grew up on Wyeth S26 then the other one on Nestle Nan. My mum wanted me to change to S26 but I've heard ppl saying its quite heaty, likewise for Similac.

bb Ernest got constipate ma? Im thinking of Nan Ha or Enfalac A+. But then again some mummies say Enfalac A+ heaty too.

I guess it really depend on individual babies.

Lucky stop hb from buying 1 carton of FM cos Dani too has been on FM only.

Any mummies here gives bb Friso? I believe PB?

CS,
I supplement Declan with Friso Gold too. But nowadays, very hard to finish the FM cos he's drinking 4hourly instead of 3, and he isn't waking up for those midnight feeds. *TOUCH WOOD TOUCH WOOD*
Sometimes got watery stools but I attribute that more to BM than FM leh. And I still got 1 new can of untouched Friso....

PB,
Kudos to you for making that brave decision to be a SAHM. I'm thinking of doing the same, but am very very afraid cos I HAVE lost my patience with Declan before. So wondering if I have the capability to be a SAHM. But at the same time, I want to be spending the most amount of time with him, not his grandparents or auntie or babysitter. Dilemma dilemma. Stress stress.

bbp
Me too, just opened a new can 2 days ago and there's still 1 can untouched.

Jia liat~~ very worried now. I hope it isnt diarrhoes.

I have also lost my patience once and use Dani's receiving blanket to hit her leg once, very very gently of cos. Guess was still in the adapting period hence just lost my cool. That was the 1st, but also the last time.

Even before Dani's arrival, hb already warned me several times, said I must never hit her otherwise he will carry her and her milk bottles and li jai chu zhou.. *gulp* he says he will be the good guy while Im the bad guy. Thats why sometimes I say to Dani "mummy is monster hoh"...

I'm supplementing with Enfalac+
My first girl is also with Enfalac, continue later on with Enfapro, Enfagrow and Enfakid. Now has stage 5 - Enfaschool.

So far no constipation for my girl. She will poo once a day

re isetan sales : anyone know if tiger food jar on sale this time round and at how much?

bbp, CS - yeah, me also lost patience with sophie esp when she cries non stop..but now i just let her cry until she tired, then when i carry her, she sleep instantly
..BUT this also makes me realised tt i cannot be full time SAHM..need to hv time off from baby..tt's why PT work is best..hv to find :p

PB - congrats on decision..must be feeling at peace
..can i send sophie over to play with poppy sometimes? hehehe

peppermint - gd to hear tt baby still wants mummy even though baby goes to sitter.. i feel funny when i see sitter kissing sophie

CS,
Continue monitoring and see how. I think Dani's watery stools shouldn't be diarhhoea.
Yah, I lost my patience and hit Declan's leg before also. Also during the initial stage. And I also tell Declan "yes yes, Mummy bully you again... Mummy always bully you..."

cS, I'm at the grassy end of dr 16

angeline...PM-ed you

bluey.. think it's angeline who's ordering from babymallonline so may tumpang her

today my little Gordon is 2 months old and to mark the day, he cried n cried nonstop (not sure why.. growth spurt? bad mood? not feeling well?) and my MIL put him in the yaolan for the very first time to try to pacify him.. he quieten for a while.. but started fussing again after about 10 mins...

super exhausted now and finally got him to calm down and nap in the sling (the sling and human arms which used to make him snooze for hours have now kinda lost its appeal coz he's been fussing too lately in them).. times like these, I wish he could tell me wat's wrong.. feel so helpless coz can't pacify him..

Cyndi,

im on total BF. Few weeks ago evan has orangy very watery stool. He has one poo per day then. Brought him to PD he said is normal. So long it's not watery stool few times a day shld be ok.

Cyndi, cin bunny,
my colleague's daughter is now 5-yr-old and baby sit by her mil. Mil and her daughter are very close. At times she wil also want to stay the nite at mil's place. But when my colleague asked her to choose betw mil and mommy, she chose mommy

cin bunny,
sophie is too cute and chubby, hard to resist not to kiss her!

Do1nk,
when evan was 2 mths old he cried the most. I was very stress then too. He also couldn't nap lying on his back like he used to as he will get startled easily. In the end he napped on his tummy til now. Read from magazine cos it's the time they started to make huge devt advances like smiling etc which requires more energy and concentration thus making them exhausted and tearful. In addition to tat there's growth spurt so hunger maybe another reason they cry. If the crying last > 3 hrs and baby seems to be in extreme pain, drawing knees in or going rigid it could be colic.

re: losing patience
same here, when evan cries and i really dunno why and nothing seems to work, im frustrated. I may be talking to him calmly trying to coax him, rocking him gently etc but in my head i picture myself smacking his buttock... ha. crazy rite.. always tell myself he only knows how to cry and not talk in order to calm myself... Actually the baby maybe very pek chek with us too cos we dun understand ha...

PB
congrats!! happy for your poppy that finally you are decided to be SAHM.

you are rite, our little ones are always far more important than the vitamin M - $$

re isetan sales
me also quite keen to go, since still on ML now

re baby can read VCD
someone mentioning this right? i would to get too, do you know where can I get the whole set? i know Similac do give as a gifts, but my babies are not drinking Similac..

re night feeding when bb sleeps thru
if your bb finally sleeps thru at night, do you still try to wake her/him up for milk? i'm wondering if bb sleeps thru for 9 hrs, that means he/she will missed out 2-3 feedings.. that's alot lor...

Hannah
My hb also helps very little. Maybe cos tired after work? But I already ren ming liao. As long as I’m still on leave, I don’t mind doing everything by myself, but not when I go back to work.

Pb aka caterpillar
oh the pillowcase was hand sewn by my mil (superb rite), she cant find any nicer cloth. So u have decided to be sahm, for how long? I also mentioned to hb b4 and he said it’s up to me to decide. But then I got to use my own savings lor cos he has a lot of other monetary commitments.

SY
Yes, I heard a lot of gd comments abt baby u can read dvd. I will start playing for bb frank to hear when he’s 3mths old. When did u start playing for your #1? So your hb doesn’t like you to take NPL cos of cut in family income is it?

CS
My bb drinking Mamex Gold. Poos once every 3 days. His stools is like curry, that’s what my hb always say. Hee.

Re: John Little sales
Happen to pass by somerset and went to JL and it’s having 20% storewide sales. Can take a look. Then I also went to robinson at centrept and saw few tollyjoy’s clothes selling 3 sets of bb’s shirt and matching pants for $20! Cheap cheap!

Rain
Thanks for informing us. But I cant post my order ler. So i pm lav. Hopefully can get it.

Re: Napping
mommies, after each feed, roughly how long did ur bb nap? cos this afternoon i manage to let bb frank nap for 2 hours, worried if it's too much?

Re: aircon
do you let your bbs sleep with aircon switched on the whole day? cos i scared bb skin will become v dry but then if he sleeps in the room with just fan, it will be quite warm.

Thanks bbp/peppermint. Will continue to monitor her then see how.

SDchick
Yeh, if Friso doesnt work well for Dani then will change to Enfalac+

Cin_bunny
Me too, dont think I can be a SAHM cos I need some time off from bb else I'll go bananas

In a way, bbsitter kissing Sophie is good at least it shows they adore her which ties up to will be taking good care of her.

do1nk
Grassy end of Dr 16.. where huh? At C.C Sec Sch there ma?

summert
Dani sleeps with a/c in her room during nights. But note if you were to switch on a/c, PD said from 25 degress and above, no lower. During day, she sleeps on this "netted" rocker in the living room cos much cooler.

Dani normally naps for ard 2-3hrs. Sometimes even 4hrs...

CS
wah that's a v fast response from you.
Ya, currently my boy's sleeping arrangement is the same as your dani's. Daytime will sleep in the netted rocker, i call it sarong, cos it's cooler, nite time in the cot. But cos i dont want bb to depend so much on sarong so training him to sleep on our bed during daytime. so wondering if i shd turn on aircon. (our temp at nite is set to 26, then today in the afternn i set temp to 27)