(2008/07) July 2008

xiaoyang,
understand what u r going thru. Me too at nite need to handle both...cos #1 and #2 both sleep in same room as us. But lucky my boy only wake up for 1 nite feed every nite but it is around 3am! Imagine 3am sleep till so soundly but have to wake up

As for BM supply have you tried drinking more water? Cos this works for me. Whenever I want more supply i drink more water whether HL milk or just plain water etc then it works

youpi,
Hehe...ur description so farnie...i tink my boy prob tink the same way as your boy...how come this silly mommy milk spray like tat one...sometimes flow nicely sometimes spray...*lol* Got once i was latching him and forgot handkerchief then ask hb take for me cos i know if letdown then he will kenna the milk all over the face and neck then hb take his own sweet time and i scream at him...*lol*...he just say in a cool manner "aiya, at the most get milk all over him only mah" *pengz*
As for my #1 she farnie also..when she see didi drink milk she wanna "latch" on me also...so i just ask her lie down squeeze a few drops of milk into her mouth then she happie and walk away to do her own things.

celeste,

hehe ur #1 is funny. u know, my #1 will carry her dummy baby toy and raise her t-shirt and attempt to bf the toy !!!!!!!!!! haha never fails to make us laugh. then she also imitate me burping #2 too !

btw how old is ur #1 ?

cellow
actually i have been drinking water sitting down all the time. thats what my mom told me to do. so i just follow without knowing the reason why.

letdown
me too. baby rachel also pull out a couple of times initially. then the milk will splash all over her face. then whenever she pull out, she breathe so hard like she hold her breath while sucking.

celeste
your girl very cute lehz.
and hor, without the handkerchief really will die.
milk will splash all over her face and her clothings too...
sometimes she likes to wipe her face on my nnp so milk all over again.

dustee
baby rachel also didnt sleep.
wanted to play after i feed her at 4am. play cry all the way till 6am.
now, i am so tired.

xiaoyang
i think got 160ml per session a lot lehz..
for me at most only 100ml.

stop breastfeeding:
at dis pt in time, i feel like stopping breastfeeding..1stli is cos w all de feeding, changing n stuff..reali cun kip 2 de schedules 4 pumping.. n bb refuses 2 latch.. 2ndli, moi wk env does nt hv facilities tat support breastfeeding.. so if i insist..i will hv 2 pump in de toilet n walk 1 block across 2 moi cubicle..

i feel like a bad mommi.. smtimes when bb cry cry n cry.. i got frustrated n raised moi voice at him..

bathing baby: do u gals carry de bathtub w water inside by urself? cos moi mum was asking me nt 2 s it mite caused backaches.. but.. it cun be ani heavier den carrying our bb, rite?

full mth celeb: juz had moi full-mth celebration on Sun.. haiz.. probs cm in when mummi asks me 2 give her a record of which uncle or auntie give wat amt.. so irritating.. den says muz follow-up in future...i tink if i ever had a #2.. no more such nonsense liao..

xiaoyang,
160ml per session a lot wor!! Mine after more than 1 month still at 60 ml per session, and that's after 6 hrs. if 3 hrs I can only manage 30 ml. sighhhhh dunno what happen. I had a lot after my first pregnancy. this second one so little.....

My bb decided to give me a gift at 4 am in the morning. she pooed so much til I had to ask my girl to go and wake up grandma so she can help me wash the poo off with water (my hb on bus trip). Haizzzzz After that she didn't want to feed and sleep, and was restless till 6 am.

Celeste,
Really envy you have so much BM. If only mine is like yours!!

SY
thanks, ya, that's wat i've been doing after the episode on monday. we've not been talking to each other. maybe she'll say one/two sentences abt bb to me and i just "uh". now i do all the stuff but i m happy cos she just kept quiet. hurray!

Star_xin,
full mth celebration is like that to the mums.. my mum also wan me to keep a record of who give how much. Anyway, lucky for me, cos almost all angbaos got no names on it. So i showed her all the angbaos juz in case she dun believe me. haha...

Bathing baby,
i will bathe baby in the toilet wif a small stool for me to sit down. Thats wat was taught by my mum.

re: burping again
if bb drinks halfway and we manage to burp him, then do we still need to burp him after he finishes the second half?

if bb spit out after feed, does that means that bb didnt burp properly before that? cos sometimes my boy burps v loud but sometimes the burp bears the same sound he made so m confused whether to continue burping or put him down on bed.

star, phyllis
i record down the angpow money too. cos next time can "yi san wang lai".

bathing bb
i have been carrying the small tub to the rm but this morn when i decided to bathe bb in the bathrm cos dun wan to strain my back, mil said helped me carry. no need wah.

star
really not gd for ur back ler. think of the llong term. if u overstrain ur back next time how to carry bb when he's bigger n heavier?

Re: Burping baby
i will usually burp baby halfway and then again at the end. Cos my baby dun burp at all. So i muz play safe so that she wont merlion on me after feeds.
But usually if no burp, i'll carry her uprite on my shoulder then she will let out a loud burp after a while. If not, hahaa... she'll let out a loud fart.

star xin
don give up.
occassionally i also feel like giving up, when things don go right. but we must persevere.

bathing
my mil will do it.
anyway i just tried bathing her once.

ang bao
mothers will always ask.
say next time must bao back that amt if they are having that occasion. my wedding one also got take note.
hubby even come out with a spreadsheet.

BM supply,
Can check wif u all... How much supply r we suppose to produce at this stage (week 6)? Cos my supply is abt 120-140ml every 4 hrs. But my fren deliver 1 week b4 me only...her supply is 500mls every 4hrs...like a cow like that.

summert,
Yes, it's best to burp him again after he finishes the second half. spitting after feed could mean he has gas in his tummy, or he has a reflux. My girl has reflux, she will still spit even after she burped and sometimes 1 hr after she finish feed. Dunno how many times I changed her top cuz she spits so much.

bathing bb:
I've been bathing bb after coming back from hospital. my maid will prepare the water, but even for her, I ask her to get the tub first, and get a small bucket to fill. so we're going back and forth to the bathroom to get the water. I'm straining my back a little cuz the tub sits on a dirty clothes basket. I just can't find a good place to bathe bb. bathroom will be too low for me, even if sitting down I will still be straining my back.

500ml per session!!!! *faints*

sdchick
my mil did the same.
bring tube first then in and out 3 times to take water.

phyllis
wow, 500mls. super lot loh.
i'm in week 5, most of the time i pump only 75ml,
in the morning got more, 100ml.

got qn.
why is your baby bcg?
mine in inject on her left hand.
now like red and lan diao liao.
few days ago, it is like got nong. yellowish one.
now like that, how huh?
is it infection?

does your all face this?

Qing,
i thot my supply is so little le... Now i know, its not my prob...i think my fren's breasts got problem - supply too much! ahhaa...

Was browing thru Little Dreamers website for CS products and realised theirs very much expensive than others.

Wanted to get some CB products but don't think its worth paying so much more.

Sian...

pb,
Thats a really cute pix of poppy.. she thats "dont mess with me" look.. hahaha

missyz,
you want to see my face ar?.. aiya not pretty one la.. nowadays with Dani even worse. My hairband and hairclip seems to be afixed on my head permernantly 24/7! Think very soon hb will find me an eyesore liao.. *lol*

your bb posed a very cheeky look.. so cute.. haha

delphine,
I wana shave Dani bald too but daddy just refused to let me too.

Re Baby hair dropping
How to know if bb hair dropping? From pillow and mattress? I dont see any leh. All babies will drop hair de ma?

I too have been entertaning Dani with all sort of "conversations" I can think of. Talk until chui-tah~~ as for singing, I cant sing to save my life so dont think Dani would want to hear me sing.

Re Tummy time
I have yet to let Dani try to be on her tum. Hb did place her on his tum while shes sleepin so defeat the purpose hoh. Mummies, you guys starts to put bb on their tummy already?

Re Tummy time..

jayden is now 2mths coming to 3mths on 8th oct.. we did try to lie him on his stomach n he don like it n keeps crying hehe

Re baby entertaining

i play peek-a-boo, sing to him, talk to him and let him play by himself on the playmat that has a small ball attached on it.. hehe

Welcome Angeline, prettygal and Michelle!

Re. bb entertainment,
Oh no I think I am the lousiest mum around :p all I do is feed her with milk and I will just leave her there to see the ceiling. Never really entertain her ... hmmm should start doing that soon.

Re. the jab,
My girl is 2 months today. However, she has just recovered from her cough so I am wondering when should I take her to the jab? Going for 6in1. Scared she weak coz just recovered ... then if go for jab now will get sick again.

dear all.. i am very confused now.. the 5 in 1 n 6 in 1 jab? which 1 sld baby goes for and when sld they start the jab? my bb is going to b 3 mths old soon...

Re Jabs
Because I had let Dani take the 2nd dose of Hep B during her first month, hence she'll be taking 5-in-1 when she hits 3 months which is Oct.

As advised by my PD, it is best not to let bb take jsbs if they're sick or at recovery stage.

SY,
Think I will let bb try. Hopefully she don't cry my house down.

RE: bb entertainment
when i am not tired i will entertain bb frank by playing the music on the toy guitar and sing along, read flash cards (on our body) and point to his body, read the little book on colours and numbers. Oh i intend to start on the "baby you can read" dvd (v exp lor, cost mummy $99! for a set of 5 to be played at different stages)when he turns 3mths old next mth. heard from my colleagues this dvd )is v popular and their bbs can actually recognise words etc as young 18mths.

Re: tummy time
will try out next mth (cos mil not here liao!). hee.

CS
i'm also always on hairband and hairclip, even after bathe, will blow dry my hair and bun up again! think my hb's eyes are on bb frank now. hee, phew~

SY & youpi
thanks for your recommendation.

i called yen ping, she is only free next tuesday.
i cant wait that long.
went TMC soon after i post here.
was saved there, the massage was so painful.
spent $64 loh.
now, i feel the lump again.
haiz.
how???

bb party at TMC
24 sept.
any mom going?

qing
maybe u try use this method, i find it v effective. Use warm towel to squeeze breast towards the nipple, it will be painful on the lump initially but bear with it. then discard the towel n use ur hand to squeeze every part, esp the lump area, towards your nipple. the force should come from your thumb, index n third finger. you should be able to see ur milk spraying out. so get ready ur bottle to catch the milk. hope this helps.

Tummy time:
Kayden absolutely loves it.. He would try to cry up and up and up.. dunno where he wants to go..

Jab:
Yup, confirmed Kayden had fever from the pnuemococol jab.

summert,
I dont bother to bun up just use hairclip. After shower, hair havent dry and on goes my hairband again. I look as if I have a lion's mane when hairband removed. So sick of seeing myself looking like this. I can go without combing my hair for one whole day then when having night shower, goodnes me, god knows how many entangled knots I have in my hair. Miss my old self. Got to do something to myself already cos going back to work soon. Jialiat~~~

cin bunny,
Lucien's born on the 28th june. Today managed to weigh him at my friend's place, he's 6.8kg now.

Re baby dropping hair
Lucien has been dropping lots of hair for a wk liao, so much till the whole cloth he slp on is covered wif hair daily, sometimes a bunch can be found on his palm

Fiona

WAH michelline bb u have there !!

Qing

oh no, what happen ? DId u latch Rachel to clear the lump ?

summert, CS

same lah .. my hair has the clip and rubber band 12 hrs per day. even my mum is sick of my hair style, keep asking me to do something abt it.

PB

what is ur hubby trying to do in the pic ah ? I dont understand leh but your poppy does look fierce ! haha

Smiggleprincess

I have sent you the files. Gd luck for your maid searching too !

this is my Rianne ... look demure in this pic hor ? but actually she very chor lor one. eheh
1729317.jpg

RHS
Okie thanx.

CS
Same lor my hairband n hairclip only takeout when sleeping somemore I bun my hair all up cos so warm.
btw u want CB aah check my email k.

PB
Wat was ur hubby trying to do to poppy aah??
She seems to be saying I box u then u know....hahaha

cs
i also the same.
hairband is a must.only when sleeping removed other than that it on. even during night feeding.
first thing wake up is find hairband.

ibt
even since i found out about the lump, i latch her on the affected side.
but still like that lehz.
bcoz blocked, milk supply not enough for her. she fuss alot, when i change to the other breast.

have been massaging every now & then. in hope to clear. yesterday went TMC, the LC clear for me but it seem to come back lehz. i can still feel the lump.

summert
thanks for your advice.
will try on that later.
the pain is so piercing.

hahahaha.... mummies, seems like hairband and whatever hair acessories that can keep our hair away from our face are our must-have now!

At least you guys bothered to remove them when sleeping. I don't, cos like Qing, during night feeds, first thing I'll grab are my band and clip so I figured might as well leave them on then!

Got to go look for my rebond auntie liao.. ask her jiu ming ~~~ *lol*

cs,
i rebonded my hair already but now also v xing ku coz cannot tie and the weather is sweltering hot!

i heard abt IPS. i am not a member, usually tompang my gf's card to go in. haha..

Choose hair cut instead of rebonding cos dono how much hair will be lost later so today got my hair cut - lots of layers done. The hairdresser very tense cos I got vvvv thick single length hair and I told him to 'thin' it. hahaha result not bad will go back for rebond or perm in one or two months time.

the thread is moving real fast...

so many cute babies' pics

re: maid/baby sitter/SAHM
sayang mommies trying to get to a decision between maid/ baby sitter/ SAHM. Though my mil will be taking care of evan when im back to work i also cant help worrying. I will think of the routine that mil will go thru and ask myself wat im worried abt.

re: mil
waiwai, same here, we have differences raising our baby. like u i also told her doc says one (my dad also ask me to say tat), it is lor. am worried when im not around will she do things tat i dun wan her to. haiz... she also mentioned sarong and pacifier. im ok with it if mine is a colicky baby but he's not lor. also worried she'll rub baby's head with XO if he has not much hair after shaving as she mentioned she did it to my hb. Hb did told her not to when i was preggy. Will be bringing baby home everyday (we bought a car bcos of this). some other differences... can only tell myself so long those doesn't harm baby will have to close one eye. fren's advice is dun seek for perfection. i very bad, told baby have to love mommy more than grandma ha..

re: sweating
same here, the back of his neck is wet whenever i feed him. at the end of the day, his head also "sour sour".

PB,

ha.. poppy really looks like she's going to bash someone up.. cutez

lbt,

rianne very si wen ma.. tat day at gathering her cries so soft le...

Qing,

i remember reading u mentioned can use Jin Yin hua to wash baby's face if he has rashes? Is it Jin(1) Yin(2) hua? can get from market or ? cos Evan has rashes on his chin and cheeks. Think is due to the BM. Now i wipe with wet handkie after feeding but his chin is very dry now and i apply some baby moisteriser.

hi mummies...wah..very chuan trying to keep up wiv the many posts... will be worse when I go back to work! How do you guys manage your time huh?

BB sophie: judging from the pic, think your mummy dun have to worry about you getting bullied next time..BB gordon says he won't dare mess wiv you! hehe

flash cards: what kinds and where did you girls get yours?

caregiver/MIL/mother problems: haiz..guess we'll all feel that no one but us will be able to bring bb up the best and right way hor.. like what peppermintt says lor..some stuff gotto close one eye if not super major..it's like staying wiv IL's too... give n take... sigh...

dropping hair: me and bb have started from the day we got back from hospital.. wonder if shaving really helps hair growth.. is it better to shave? some say will still grow back patchy..some say hair may not be so fine anymore.. I dunno... have not decided whether to shave or not, but can see some small new bb hair growing on his balding front liao...

rubbing face/cover eyes: my little one loves to do this.. and he has this habit of covering his eyes and sometimes nose now when sleeping.. so cute..

CS: I'm @ woodlands dr 16.. what about you?

hairband/hairclip..wah CS, how do you sleep with them on? for me.. it's right at my pillow.. so it's the first thing I grab when bb starts to ek ek ek haha

dunno when's the last time I went for my facial, or did anything to myself..think my whole body/complexion/hair all super run down n need major overhaul maintenance work done ..which will probably be right before going back to work.. haha

oh ya...

paging for angeline/sally cinnamon: so have you guys gone ahead wiv the babymallonline orders? who's doing it and how r u shipping the stuff back? got a couple of things I wanna get too... if it's still open :D

peppermintt, i used the east meet west concoction. jin yin hua (golden silver flower) bot from medicine hall for rashes, and then CB calendula to remove the roughness.. i used flower for 4 times and cream for 2 nite, baby skin is smooth now and rashes gone.. i also specially bot a new small pot to boil the flower...

baby nails
how do u trim ur baby nails? my boy nails seem to grow real fast, i cutting them everyday cos he also scratch his own face!! that day i accidentally cut his flesh (*heartpain*) so i went to buy the baby nail care set that comes with a file, but will it leave small small dusty thing on his nails and then he shove it in his mouth.....

Qing,
How long did it take for Rachel to clear her rashes huh? As in from day 1 have rashes til the day rashes gone. Im monitoring Dani's condition now. Have already stop Jin Yin Hua after 4 days of use (abt 2 weeks ago) cos I dont see effect as fast as you girls so I figured doesnt really work for her. Im letting the rashes fade off by itself. Hence I was wondering how long Rachel has them.

peppermint,
My Dani has those rahes too, at both cheeks. Went to PD and he said its baby acne. Its something very common for babies but it'll take some take to go away. But even when it does go away, occasionally you'll still see it - comes and goes.

You can get Jin Yin Hua from Chinese medical halls. Ive bought enough for 10 washes, twice daily. Boil it, filter it, cool it then use it to wipe bb's face. But as mentioned, not so effective for my Dani hence Ive stopped, decided to just let it go away by itself since PD said its common and normal to have. I just keep bb's face as clean as possible thats all.

do1nk
OMG! We're neighbours, Im at Drive 16 too! My block is facing Vista Park. See, now we really can meet up and go for future gatherings together liao. Hahahaha.....

aiya my band and clip is on my head 24/7 til I dont feel them anymore. So when dead tired, just plonk down and sleep liao.