(2008/07) July 2008

cellow abt yr update on latching. mine also same.... evening feed to nite feeds the worst... she keep feeding until i also hot n angry w myself... but amazingly, i try to endure n give her.

dor dor
ya hor hope it will go away..ya.. need to rush to the toilet one..
haiz..
sat afternoon.. suddenly stop lor..
then sun morning came back again..
now its abit on the heavy side...
my hubby say like tap like that..
turn on and off..

thanks Rain!

star xin
alamak i haven't managed to pump out 160ml at one go yet!!!! even at 4 hr interval!! i must have a stern conversation with my breasts "we need to reassess your performances"

garfield
sometimes after a 1hr latch, then bb cry somemore, then i latch for another half hour. nowadays i feel like i should just attach her to my breast permanently.

flabby tummy
when i laugh i can feel my tummy flapping.....

dustee,

now i also cannot get 160 ml. unless it 6 hr, then pump 170ml...
i need to be diligent pumping liao...

my tummy also still flap n i try to wear the tummy binder...

morning all..

garfield - i have e same experience when latching my gal.. in fact she will suck for 10 min, then 5 min later fuss.. n it lasts for up to 2.5 hrs every single nite frm abt 8 - 1030.. i will get really irritated n will scold her then later i will feel guilty abt it..
!

crystal,

yes yes! similar... then sometimes she fall alseep in my arms then i put her back to bed, after a while she scream again n i let her suck again.

at least i now knoe others r facing this too.

garfield - it's terrible rite?? then it's like they are at our boobs e whole day?? n i pump but only get pathetic 50ml..so i latching mainly.. sian lor.. wonder if they akeing us as their pacifier or wat!

crystal, i also think so... haha then sometime i thot i no milk for her, then when she remove the nipple, i saw milk flowing out. so i know it cannot be no milk. but she keep slipping the nipple out... is it too slippery for her??

finally can log on...

how many hours of sleep shd our bb e getting? mine can't sleepbeyond an hour and she sleeps so little.

mine is small drinker. in the day she drinks abt 60 ml 2 hourly n at night 80 ml 2.5 hourly. werid right. she must drink 80ml at night one

re MS
mine very erratic. i do both pump n latch but ss dun seem to inc. how to inc/

garfield n dustee:
for me, intialli, i was so pressurized by moi CL tat i was so scared tat i din had enuf supply tat i kept 'torturing' moi nnp... started w 3 hr interval den realised 4 hr interval can yield more in de whole day so change loh.. but i tink as long as we kip trying 2 pump, the supply will definitely increase... JIAYOU JIAYOU,k?

flabby tummi: well.. i had tat 2.. massage seems 2 bring it down a little... now got a corset 2 use in de nite as well... i m obsessed w flattening moi tummi... n it is so blackie now... cos of de black line tat goes down de tummi... hw 2 whiten it orh???

stitches: moi is olredi like the 19th day n it has yet 2 go off.. doc says got redness n swellness.. ani1 else has dis prob??

my gal also tend to latch a lot in the evening. I realise she is storing the milk like a camel and she can sleep from 10+ to around 2am which is good for me !

if not, the bb could be looking for pacifier ?

hey mummies on confinement, weather seems to be cooler today ya ?

heeh mine's over and I will bath everyday now ! but think I will wash my hair on alternate days if I can tahan.

star xin

my tummy is very ugly too. they will not go away so soon. it takes 9 mths for the pigmentation to appear and it may takes as long to go away.

Hi Gals, all your expriences on leaky breasts, flappy tummy that is black and the latching on strikes a chord with me. My boy can latch on for 2 hrs if i dun try to pull him off... *faint*

Star_Xin : wah..your pump supply so good! Yah, the longer the interval the more the volume... but i can comfortably manage 100ml for a 4 hr interval, if i squeeze and squeeze, maybe another 50ml more. If i sit and pump for 1 hour, maybe total from 2 breasts is 200ml MAXIMUM. and my boy will finish the 200ml within 4 hrs which means i am back to square one, pumping enuff to feed him... haha

buay tahan, i am gg to hide in the aircon room again... too warm (although the sun not as strong as last week's!)

dustee, crystal, garfield,
i'm experiencing exactly the same thing too. the feed from 8pm onwards is the longest. I wonder if this is just a phase. Many times he suckles for 10-15min then poos, rests/sleep then in another 15 min time, he gets hungry again! i top up with formula.. cos i also wonder if i have enough breastmilk...

cellow,
i'm also realising the amount of patience i have now :p let's hope it IS infinite, hehe.

Do all you mommies pump after your babies latch on? Since my boy gets up every 2-3 hours to latch, i do find pumping after that very tiring and painful for the nipples.

Lbt,
oh no, takes 9 months! I still have ALL the pigmentation under the arms and on the tummy, sigh, nothing we can do about it huh. Good for you that ur confinement is over!
I still have a week odd to go but i am bathing with the herbal water once every 2-3 days. Better than nothing :p

Sparrows

ya me have all these under the armpits too. What i did last time was to use whitening cream to make it lighter at my beautician's place. It works .. then I can wear sleeveless shirt.

Eh I dont pump after latch leh .. cham I still very lazy to pump, still planning when to pump.

Thought maybe I pump in the morning and nite, then slowly introduce bottle to my Rianne. Maybe about once or twice feed on bottle each day.

Lbt,
you giving me hope, after confinement i'll be checking on whitening creams liao! :p how many weeks is Rianne? I started giving Seb (he's 3 weeks now)the bottle for night feeds and also when i top up with formula milk and he's still ok, taking to breast easily. He sleeps much faster when i breastfeed him, but gets up faster too. Tried staying up at night for feeds and i got really tired, when i pumped, it just got lesser.

Star Xin
Wow, your supply is impressive! What did you eat or do?

Cellow
I'm facing the same problem as you when it comes to latching my boy. Somehow, his mouth doesn't open very big and many times, he ends up sucking my nipple only... very painful. Have to keep latching and unlatching him plus tell him to "open mouth big, big!"

Pigmentation
The pigmentation do take some time to go away... I think it went off in about 6 mths time the last round for me.

Flabby tummy
As a 2nd time mom, I realised that my tummy seems to be bigger and taking a longer time t shrink back! Sob, sob!

Sparrows

i still wake up 2-3hrly at nite for nite feeds to latch my Rianne. We just celebrated her full mth on last Sat

Maybe I start to pump next week .. ok must set target, cannot delay liao. Wait she reject bottle then I dunno how to get back to work !

star

i pump regular but ss never inc....

my c-scar got some keliods (dunnow how to spell)nthat is the redness?

sparrow
my gal used to wake every 2 hours at nigfht.i alt bottle n latch. not so tired cos i do pump after latching as my gal's latch not good.

if yuor gal dun wan bottle tell your hb u have to be sahm...

hi mummies... is it too late to do massage 1 month after delivery?? my tummy is horrible, flabby with stretch marks and pigmentation. any idea how long to make the tummy back to pre-pregnant size?? and how long for the stretch mark and pigmentation to go away???

cellow... can share with me the contact of your massage lady? thanks!

my bb is down with flu after the full month celebration!!! think must be someone with flu bug touched her and passed to her... so sad
thought i had no confidence to bring her out alone, yet i did it today.. brought her to see PD...

waiwai

i haven go massage too !!! I think it's a bit too late but better late than never. I am still waiting for gynae to give me the green light cos I had c-sect.

think every mothers took different duration for the figure to go back to pre-preg size so U can't compare. that includes the stretch marks and pigmentation.

oh now, what happen to ur bb ? she has runny nose now ?

I like to share a little tips on leaking breast.
If your milk is gushing out of the breast that you are not feeding from, press the heel or palm of your hand over areola. Hold it there for a few sec.
This always help to stop my milk from leaking out and getting wasted. Or even on times when I felt the let-down reflex coming I cross my arms and add pressure to both my breast. This helps me too. Try it out it should works, I learnt this from my baby care book...
Btw my baby girl is already 1 month 12 days old, But she is a June baby. By right should be a July baby but she came out early. So all these while I have been reading the July thread and really enjoys reading the support that each of you is giving each other as I felt encouraged too at times.
Just want to say " Jia You" to all mummies who is trying hard to express more milk for your baby. As I am trying too..

doggiebb, star,
no wonder! he keeps waking up every hour mouth bigbig wanting to be fed. my ss not able to catch up with his dd loh...

Rain,
my bb like constantly having nightmares even during day time. he sleeps like 1/2 hour then got startled by dunno what... and wakes himself crying fiercely. so heart pain when i see him like this... have to sooth him, carry him and let him drift slowly back to sleep. once i put him down in his cot, 1/2 hr later, same thing happens

is this normal bb behaviour??

waiwai, lbt
i only got someone in to massage my legs as they were still very swollen due to water retention. Besides that, i have not massaged my tummy either since was Csect. Am using the tummy binder since the day after the Csect tho.
As for stretch marks, I guess we can't do anything huh? I've got loads

Waiwai,
did u carry your baby with a sling or stroller when you brought her to PD? I'm thinking i better practice using the sling.

Germaine,
Thanks for the tip! I'm waiting for the day when i have so much milk supply that i need to KIAP my breasts :p

All is calm at the moment, so I'm stealing a moment to post and catch up with as many postings as I can!

Cellow,
Thanks for the massage lady contact!

Hannahl
It's Cellow's massage contact, not mine

Baby's jaundice
After three days of sunning on the bilibed that we rented from the PD, his levels have gone down
So that contraption is banished from our home and we'll just be sunning him in the mornings from now. Yay!

Other stuff at home
Talk about things all coming at once! First baby came, then we all came home, and over the past two days my #1 has been having gastroenteritis. That's lots of puking, diarrhoea, tantrums, fussiness, clinginess, multiplied to the max! Now he is getting better but his nose is running, and the gastroenteritis has passed on to my hubby! So I have been very busy, cleaning, clearing, coaxing, calming - everybody!

Don't think I will have the time to do any massage at all. I'll have to plan some kind of exercise regime and sneak off for weekly massage sessions maybe a month or two later... that flabby tummy - yes, mine is hanging like an extra appendage, yucky yuck! - MUST go!

Sparrows,
I carry baby in a sling when I bring him to the PD. It's easier for me as I go alone (like this morning). Just sling, take my bag with his diapers and wipes etc, flag a cab, and go.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi,

My friend’s colleague is also selling socks but Jazzytoes brand only… she mentioned if can hit 50 boxes can get 5% discount but collection point – raffles place and tanjong pagar only. If want to go by post, must add in $1.50 for 1st box and subsequent boxes @ $1.00 per additional box if registered mail another $2.25.

For standard design - $32 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $34 per box (12-24 mths)
For variety design - $34 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $36 per box (12-24mths)

check out www.jazzytoes.com for the designs

If u all want I can help to co-odinate…but must COD...</font>

Was reading wat was written today...

Star_xin, lbt,
My massage lady taught me to use baby oil to reduce the pigmentation on the tummy, armpits and breasts and the stretchmarks. it seems to work although its a very slow process. Now i've been using for almost 2 weeks. The marks have lighten slightly. can give it a try.

Hi Steph,

When I was having my first child, I experienced something similar for my son. During the day till 6pm he was tired but he seem not able to sleep soundly for long and will wake up crying badly. Happened around the second week. My CL and i could'nt understand why, then suddenly I remember it might due to the chicken essence that I started to take every morning on the 2nd week. So I stop the very next day and true enough that was the cause.
After I totally stop taking the essence which have " Di shen" effect my son slept well in the day and not as cranky until he was hungry thru thru out.
For my second baby my CL keeping urging me to take essence but I say no as I remembered what that had happened to mt son 4 years back. She did not believe so I tried it out the next day, true enough that happen to my girl too. As our breast milk should have contain part of the essence so you might like to test it out on this too if your baby is rather cranky in the day...

Hi Sparrows,

I do not have alot of milk too, but that method I shared I used that when my the other unused breast is leaking while I am pumping the other side or when I am latching on... give it a try...

phyllis, u mean the j&amp;j baby oil ? Apply and wash away ?

Germaine, tks 4 the tip. I took chicken essence every morning too! No wonder !

lbt,

yah, j&amp;j baby oil. Apply b4 u bathe and use a cotton ball to rub it. After that juz shower wif soap and water or rather, herbal water.

batgirl n SNL:

actuali i was like batgirl..initialli moi pumps were like 1hr each n gradualli tink de brain got it n produce more milk...in fact batgirl's SS is good.. i oso squeeze every drop i can..

Finally bb Cedric is fed and PILs are amusing him before dinner. Today seems to be a very eventful day.

Sparrows, Garfield,
I hope I have _infinite_ patience too... but compared to before, little C is the only person I am so patient with. HB is bearing the brunt of any short temper I have now - poor HB.

SNL,
I am so glad that someone else is in same boat, but so sayang for both of us.... jiayou jiayou

Welcome back SY

Sleeping soundly
I m grateful for small mercies. The one I have seems to sleep through everything... Monday my parents and sisters came, made so much noise and conversation (this was after feeding so tis ok)... little one slept through it all.
Today, I wanted to bring down his jaundice level so I was trying to wake him from 5pm to 6pm *faint.

Youpi,
Good! the jaundice for your boy went away... I am in 2 minds whether to rent the bilibed or not... the PD I went to today, haiya, she told me the level is a bit high at 16.2 then told me to switch to 50% FM, 50% BM... hmmmz sounds wrong wrong wrong to me.
Going to seek 2nd PD opinion tmr.

Star_xin and batgirl,
must share w us your MS increase tactics. need them when go back to work!

re: flabby tummy
today i lazy, din wear the binder, still look 3 months preggie. massage lady can only come again on wed... alamak. i will wear it again now! off to bind myself, girls!

xiaoyang, i luv the last photo ! Ur ah boy looks contented leh.

Phyllis, tks 4 the remedy.

Cellow, the jaundice is quite high leh. I thk u shld rent the bilibed to bring down the jaundice.

cellow
yeah for my bb's jaundice, the pd kept advising formula. coz one way to bring it down is also to feed the baby more liquids so the baby passes out more of the bilirubin when they pass out more motion. pat pat, get the bed now before it gets even higher. my bb was admitted at 18. at 1 week old, they shouldn't get near to 20 at all, it's dangerous. (was it written in the womanly art of breastfeeding? i think so)

Cellow
No lah, my boy's jaundice is not totally gone yet. But the level is lower. Cedric's level is quite high. My PD said he would admit babies for phototherapy in the hospital at 15 or 16. Baby needs fluids to flush out the bilirubin so do wake Cedric up to feed. I woke mine up after every two hours of sleep. Can continue with BM lah. But it will be a slower process lor. Usually docs will recommend that you feed some FM and/or glucose water as well. But I just stuck to BM. Same with #1 as well. He was yellow-ish for two months but it went away in the end.

aww xiaoyang, your boy looks so shiok shiok in the last pix.

Lbt, dustee, youpi,
when i 1st heard the comment (it was over phone as blood test result took an hour to come back so i went home 1st), duh, no pro-bfeeding PD would say such a thing. so today I m going to RHS' PD at Mt E, Dr Belinda.

Cedric just finished feed, all is calm w the world

re bb nightmares
mine also like that. in the day her naps are so short that i can't do anything. interesting that chicken essence cd be the cause. i dun take chicken essence regularly but mine dun seem to be related to chicken essence.

re bb jaundice
for bb with jaundice must make sure they drink more.

cellow
amazed that all the mummies have time to post...i only manage to sneak in once in a while

re massage
that time kk mention that can start massage for those who went for c-section after one month. for #1 i did go for massage but for #2 i din. my tummy more or less gone but just flabby skin a lot...

does it mean that those who had Csect can massage their tummy area after a month? Cos the gynae also said that we can't carry heavy things and stress that area for a few months. I would also like to start massaging that area soon.

Germaine,
I'm not taking any chicken essense yet coz i had c-section. not drinking any coffee or tea too. milo shd be ok right? how abt nutella? it contains some cocoa but didn't think it's a possible cause.

xiaoyang,
your son soooo cute!

SY,
I am amazed that I have time to post too.

Dr Belinda
RHS, she is really very pro-children and pro-bfeeding hor. One of the 1st qns she asked me was who will take care of bb when i go back to work. Shows her priorities. Did she ask u the same qn?
She assessed the same info that the PD ystday did and said no hospitalisation required. Cedric happened to have difficulty latching on at that time that I went into the room to see her, she asked me if that was normal.

re: phototherapy
Dr Belinda also said that given Cedric's temperament, he will most likely cry like anything in the (very hot) bilibed, so no use to rent. Just observe. We will bring him back nx Friday - this is the kan cheong spider mummy speaking.

New technique for feeding
Today I learnt fm Dr Belinda's nurse the technique of finger-cun-syringe feeding. At least Cedric wont go hungry now... and his bilirubin levels shd come down.

Breaking down
Sparrows, spoke too soon, patience is not infinite. My own mummy happened to wake me up from my nap, called at wrong time (she seems to hv a knack for calling when i m sleeping - 3rd time since i started confinement liao). So when Cedric again took a long time to latch, I looked at HB and simply said, "I want to throw him away...." Not post natal depression, just fatigue, both physical and mental.
Better now after a night's rest and talking to HB and mediatation / prayer.

Youpi,
You really can tong for #1 jaundice - 2 months! Amazing.

Hi Steph,

I dun think cocoa will cause that unless taken accessively..
Did you check if he having wind inside his tummy?
That might cause discomfort.
Baby likes to sleep side way at times instead of face up having their back flat on the mattress.
As it is cooler to sleep on their side. My girl can sleep long on her side. Even in cradle i turn her to her side she sleep better.