(2008/07) July 2008

Congrats Sonic!!

Pink bunny,
Nice pic of poppy.. yup, i did it again, natural w/o epi!! phew, initially thought i cant do it with my drained energy at work and at home.

Cellow,
See, so many has already gave you the assurance of MT Alvernia, dun worry, you will be fine.
Me too stay in both St Dennis and St Eugene room before, and they are great!! St Eugene is a more deluxed single room(cos no standard single room at that time), it makes me feel like staying in hotel.. haha. enjoying my 3 days 2 nights stay there.

Cin-bunny,
So sweet of your gal's smile.

labbit, how different and better can the processes be?

Youpi. did your bottle say 2 capsules 3 times daily? Strange leh, why mine say 1-2 capsules per day.. Any danger if eat too much ah?

PB and Wai Wai,
actually gt piles b4 delivery and gynae had prescribed medicine and cream. The condition gt worse when i had pushed too hard during labour. Thk gynae had noted and prescribed medicine. But they didnt make me uncomfortable. I wonder if it is after my malay massage and wrapped up, the piles seem to "pop" out and really making me so uncomfortable

2day i wiped my smelly body and washed my oily hair :p coz my bb gal is finally discharged from hospital due to jaundice.dunno when i can bath and wash hair *looking 4ward*

labbit... oh then i gotta get more bottles or cups to store milk

think i'm one of the "rebelious" one who doesn't follow to confinement rules...i shower everyday n wash hair almost every day

Sy & Qing
What time did you all see Dr Han on Wed? I was also there with my ger at 2.50pm for my post natal check up. My hubby told me that Dr Han was playing with my bb when i was preparing for the checkup and he was telling my hubby that BB is so Cute and ask if we still one another bb or not. I also bought Famous Amous Cookies for him to show my appreciation to him for helping me with my complicated pregnancy

Hannahl,
My bottle says to take 1-2 capsules daily too. But I'll probably take more, as that amount may not have any effect on milk ss. That's what I read lor.

Info on fenugreek from kellymom.com:

Effect on milk production
Fenugreek (Trigonella foenum-graecum L.) appears to be the herb that is most often used to increase milk supply. It is an excellent galactagogue, and has been used as such for centuries. In one study of ten women, "the use of fenugreek significantly increased volume of breastmilk" [Swafford 2000].

Mothers generally notice an increase in production 24-72 hours after starting the herb, but it can take two weeks for others to see a change.

Dosages of less than 6 capsules/day (approx 3500 mg/day) produce no effect in many women. One way to determine if you're taking the correct dosage is to slowly increase the amount of fenugreek until your sweat and urine begin to smell like maple syrup. If you're having problems with any side effects, discontinue use and consider alternative methods of increasing milk supply.

Fenugreek can be used either short-term to boost milk supply or long-term to augment supply and/or pumping yields. There are no studies indicating problems with long-term usage. Per Kathleen Huggins "Most mothers have found that the herb can be discontinued once milk production is stimulated to an appropriate level. Adequate production is usually maintained as long as sufficient breast stimulation and emptying continues" [Huggins].

Suggested dosage
capsules (580-610 mg)
2-4 capsules, 3 times per day
6-12 capsules (total) per day
~1200-2400 mg, 3 times per day (3.5-7.3 grams/day)
German Commission E recommends a daily intake of 6 grams

The full article is at http://www.kellymom.com/herbal/milksupply/fenugreek.html

Do1nk
Dunno leh. The drip was cos I failed strep B, and also cos they wanted to quicken my contractions. Epi, I was in so much pain already that I didn’t care. The epi doc said ‘it will hurt less than the needle that went in for your drip’. I some more can tell him ‘don’t bluff me hor’. Honestly I don’t remember the pain but I did insist I didn’t want to see the needle. I think it helped me psychologically. Can lie on back but must be careful

Xiaoyang
Wah 15 diapers a day! Siong!

Cellow
I think they will take directions from your gynae leh. About birth plan, remember what I said about my gynae? He said ‘I hate birth plans. Sometimes they are more a hindrance than anything. You just have to trust me to do the right thing.’ True also la but if you feel very strongly about anything (like I really wanted natural as far as possible) then make sure you say and say again and tell your hubby to keep repeating also. Or else stick a post it pad on your forehead

Qing
Just relax. Happy mummy = happy baby!

Cellow
The things that you eat during confinement really make you feel damn hot one!!! But you are right, after giving birth you will IMMEDIATELY feel damn cold. Gynae says cos your heat source is out liao. I think he meant placenta. Cos after popping poppy, then my placenta came out, then immediately I started shivering like siao. I thought it was the epi (cos epi also makes you shiver, it’s just a reaction) but I was super super super cold. I had a few layers of blanket and asked to be kept in the delivery ward with the operation theatre lights on just for more warmth.

Delphine
Wah you champion la. Natural without epi!!!! I bet you must have been putting on ya ya face when you were updating your table right? Right? Nudge nudge hehe
good job!!

pinkbunny,
I uses 18 diapers per day. But I notice that if using diaper, his bum not so red as using pamper. So will try to use diapers.

Dor Dor,
Congrats. Must remember to share your birth story and pics of your little one.

hey! i am new here!!

I just delivered on the 5th July, by Dr Devan in SGH. Birth weight was 3.05kg, 50cm. Baby's name is Avel.
she was delivered via natural cum assisted delivery with epi.

20hours labour....argh!!

Qing,

do check with ur gynae.. i hv oways been hving quite alot of discharge even prior 2 pregnancy n even kena infections at time.. but when i asked him 2 do de srep B test 4 me, i managed 2 clear it.. n i was told as long as dun hv de strep b virus, ok 2 go ahead w normal v delivery.. so pls dun worri 2 much.. everithing will be fine!!

Girls, I had a bloody show 1st thing this morning and it's been coming out throughout the day bit by bit... but no particular labour pains yet leh. Just slight ones that feel like menstrual cramps... still tahan-able. Nothing regular that I need to time, i guess. I wonder how long more ...

milk storage
mummies, if i pump now, and i intend to feed baby pomfret the EBM within 36 hours, i just put in normal fridge, no need to freeze right? or should i still put into freezer direct?

pumping
yeah i am doing more expressing than latching coz baby wants to latch on every hour at night. and i got so tired, and so frustrated (coz each time may take up to 30 mins before she latches properly) that the past few nights i was crying. then had to wake hubby up to ask him to feed her formula or EBM instead. but now i worry like, if i'm mostly pumping, will the ss go down? or not keep up with baby's increasing demands? then if she gets too used to a bottle teat, all the more she won't want to latch on anymore?

glass bottles from hospital
i got a lot of those glass bottles from Mt A. so i bought the plastic caps. and also NUK teats that fit into the plastic caps. but after sterilizing the bottles, how should i keep them? coz the teats don't have a matching 'cover' like if you buy a proper bottle. should i just use those glass bottles to store EBM only, and then transfer to another 'proper' bottle to feed? i don't know how to store sterilized bottles. sigh.

hi sparrows,

according 2 moi gynae, you should go see your gynae asap once you have the bloody show.. unless u have 5min-interval contractions den should go hosp. directli le.. according 2 mine, he says contractions feel like menstrual cramps..

erm.. do time them n if can, pay ur gynae a visit lah..

dustee... i have the same worry as u... my both nipples crack till so painful that i've been feeding my gal with EBM since last night. the past 2 nights she cried for very long, then i kept her quiet by breastfeeding, super tiring and nipples super painful as she somtimes sucks very hard!!! so far she seems to be more contented after drinking from bottle, think coz no need to suck so hard.

sometimes i ask myself, am i too selfish to make things easy for myself by giving bb EBM so early. after talking to my sis, she said it is okie as the objective of feeding breast milk is to provide nutrients... bonding part can be replaced by other activities.

Im new in this thread.
Hv been reading the posting on & off but not contributing...so pai sei...

I hv delivered my 2nd girl at 35wks+ on 22nd Jun (EDD should be 20th July)
Weight: 2.4kg
Length: 47cm
via: Natural without Epi

My 1st girl was delivered early too..in Nov'05....EDD should be Dec'05... Haiz...Im prone to having premature bb...

Hi youpi,
Think i met u before....with Nov'05 mummies.....ur name is June?

star xin
Thanks for ur good advice
i called the nuh hotline and they told me to time my contractions when it gets stronger and it's every 5 min. They also ask me to monitor baby movement. So i guess now i'll just wait for the contractions to get stronger. Think i'll go walking abit, heard it can make it faster.
Will update again, thanks!

Hey thanks rain!

Dor dor, asianmirage, sally, IF
Congrats!!!

Dustee
I asked for bottles from nursery from day 1 and they kept saying ok ok just go and collect when getting discharged. Sekali when getting discharged they said no more. All the nurseries no more. YOU TAKE ALL IS IT? Haha.

This is from the site that youpi recommended:
Milk is being produced at all times, with speed of production depending upon how empty the breast is. Milk collects in mom's breasts between feedings, so the amount of milk stored in the breast between feedings is greater when more time has passed since the last feed. The more milk in the breast, the slower the speed of milk production.
To speed milk synthesis and increase daily milk production, the key is to remove more milk from the breast and to do this quickly and frequently, so that less milk accumulates in the breast between feedings:
Source: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/milkproduction.html#supply

sparrows
so exciting! good luck!!!!

dustee,waiwai,
you can keep the milk in normal fridge if the milk's going to feed within 36 hr.

and it's not true must latch then can maintain or increase supply. i never latch but pump exclusively and i do it only 6hrly (oh yes, admit that i'm lazy) and i produce ard 1.2L of milk every day. baby lucien is drinking ard 960ml daily so the extra i do give it to my elder gal.

so just keep emptying your breasts whenever you pump and drink lots of fluid

and i did the same thing last time and managed to feed my gal till 7 mth.

Hi Everyone!
kao_embarrassed.gif

I'm new here ... My EDD was 28 Jun, but delivered to a boy on 01 July ... I've been following your thread & June's thread very closely ... ') More onto June thread cos thot he will pop earlier ...

Now, I'm officially July's mummy liao ...;P

Just 2 weeks into motherhood, gosh it's a challenge!

dustee, i think ebm can keep in normal fridge for up to 48 hrs.

I also gave in to ebm and formula cos my ss can't meet up with my gal's dd.. I'm super tired cos bb can stay on my breasts forever. Yet i dun think she latches on correctly. Cos after i let her stay on the breasts for 1 plus hr, she's still looking for my breasts.. This goes on and on the whole day.. And i've got 2 very active boys at home. So i also find it very difficult to keep up with the pump every 3 hrly rule. Ai ya, then coupled with my post-natal blues which i'm still struggling with,... Just do my best loh

dustee, what do u mean by matching cover? Thot u bought the plastic caps? For me, i pour my ebm into the glass bottles, then cover with the plastic caps. Then when time to feed bb, i just put the nuk teat onto the plastic cover and feed with the glass bottle. My worry is like that dun know whether will get colic or not

Hmm, wonder how many mummies here are feeding exclusively from the breasts, haven introduce the bottles yet..

PB, it was me who took all the glass bottles
I have plenty
Now i'm waiting for one fine day (if it ever comes) to store all my ebm into them. Ha ha ha..

Woa, Fiona, hats off.. U delivered 1 day before me and you already have so much ss...

What did u do/eat ah?

So u prefer to pump out instead of feed direct? So when your bb is out, u bring the pump out, pump then feed bb is it?

Hi Hannahl,

My sister told me that ebm if frozen can store for over a month. My boy likes to latch on only one side, so I end up having to still express the other side.

I'm not sure if I have pn blues, but I feel like screaming at times, cos can't work, can't exercise cos my Csec wound feel tight ...

My MIL kept asking me about the preparation of the full-month celebration! Hiaz ...

Asianmirage, Sally, IF, Mayflower,

Asianmirage
Avel is an unusual and lovely name. What does it mean?

IF
Yes, that's me. And yes, we've met with Nov05 mummies
Wah you were so silent about your #2 all this time! How is big sister taking to the little one?

Sparrows
You're next?! All the best for a smooth delivery!

Waiwai
It's okay. With #1 I bathed and washed my hair everyday, even in hospital. Using normal tap water. I could not tahan the heat. Apart from a couple of 'windy' joints, I did not notice other side effects. But my body did feel much more in tune after I started exercising (albeit one and a half years later, hehe).

Hey, haven't heard from Bluey over the past few days. Wonder if she's popped as well?

heehee ... me still here.

Fri went to see gynae, ask me to do "homework" to monitor baby movement. Feel so tired and hot these few days... frustrated.

So last night dunno what gonna over me ... complain and complain to hubby about baby dun wanna come out. Me machiam wanna cry.. hubby got frightened.
Then start to "coax" my boi to come out soon.

But just now, some brownish discharge ... is that a sign? My #1 dun have any of these signs.
So now monitoring and waiting if there is regular contractions.

Hope my boi is out to see the world soon.

hannahl,
i eat anything the confinement lady cooks and she did mentioned maybe bcos i'm not picky abt food so got alot of milk. and i do take lots of fish and fluid, maybe that helps too.

i dun bring the pump out, if bring baby out will just bring EBM which i stored nicely in each feeding bottle put in fridge to go bag, plus hot water to warm it up.

bluey,
it's natural to feel this way when nearer the big day, but take it as a time for you to rest more before baby arrives ok? should be soon.

Fiona, i did eat whatever my cl cook leh. I ate fish also, drink papaya soup, eat fernugreek.. Nothing happen leh.. Still max 50ml on both sides now.. Makes me want to cry..

Seems like bluey is gonna deliver her ah boi soon.. Bluey, so who will be your gynae, since Dr Paul is away?

Couple of weeks back on Channel 8 program, it showed 2 school on right brain training/development. I know 1 is iGenius, any parents know which is the next school?

Hi Mummies...

Any mummies need to wake up every two hr from 12am to 6am?

I m one of them, is so tired lei but no choice... was thinking why my bb so big eater? Hee...

hannahl,
my pump schedule is something like,
6-7am: 400-450ml
12pm: 280-300ml
5.30pm: 280-300ml
11.30pm: 280-300ml(last nite hit 400ml)

you try to be as relax as possible while pumping, and i always prepare a hot drink at hand which i drink as i pump.

and my baby is a heavy drinker too, wake up every 2hrs for milk irregardless of day or nite.

delphine,
forgot to do some update,
doctor who delivered for me: Dr Tan Hak Koon
Birth length: 49cm

hi hannah

i latch exclusively. I did not pump out. My supply is more than enough for my gal cos I feel my breast not totally empty after she finish latching and then it gets filled up very quickly.

I will only start to pump the next month. so now quite relaxing for me cos latching only takes a while.

congrats to all who have popped !! keep the bb pictures coming !!

here's my rianne again ... smiling in her sleeep ! ahahah and a sweet moment with her sis

1553199.jpg

Brigitte

I think u r referring to The Shicida Method.

Evon, Fiona, Rain

my gal also wake up abt every 2 or 2.5 hrs. sometimes in the day, 1 hr+ also want to drink if she is awake. PD says they just want to catch up their birth wt, which my gal did already. But she still want to drink, so I let her latch lor.

congrats to the mummies who popped! wow sally.. your due date was 22nd right? rest well!

and sparrows....is it your turn finally??? your little baby was waiting for the exact due date hehe

and bluey.. *pat pat* you must be feeling very uncomfortable and can't wait for the little boi to be out huh...

lbt...hope I can be like you to be able to latch totally..rianne is so sweet...juz look at her eyes...last pic is like a sexy smoky glance with such clear double eyelids...does she look like your no1? post pics of your older girl let us see leh...must be very pretty too!

for me..no funny signs or different feelings yet to indicate that my little one is ready to be out.. but been having a slightly upset stomach...am I drinking too much milk..poo's a bit runny and greenish in fact haha

do1nk

hehe so u r still on the waiting bench ya ?

getting impatient or not ? hehe

for first baby, u have to be more hardworking to est the milk supply. Supplement with FM and latch on as much as possible. I think u shld be doing fine.

as requested, this is my #1 ... u think lookalike or not ?

1553265.jpg

lbt,
i think their face features do look alike.

HannahI,
The "stand -in" gynae is Dr Liauw. She is quite nice actually.
I dun mind her deliverying but ... no contraction now.

don1k,
Ya lor ... very impatient. Keep quiet the last 2 days becoz feeling moody.If i post here with be like "grumble and complains" so dun wan to spoil the mood in the forum here.

Well ... now "see more open" already. He wanna stay in my tummy, let him stay, lor. When Dr paul comes back, see what he advise. As long as my boi is fine and happy inside ... frustrated also no use. Unless I go for c-sect or induce, right?

But everytime I go out, sure got ppl ask "haven't deliver???" So I need to make a sign board and hang on me, maybe.

Fiona, u r my ou xiang... Dun think i'll ever achieve that. How long is each pump session? U using medela pis?

lbt, i've tried latching my bb, but i dun think she manages to suck correctly. Suck for very long yet after that still very hungry. And when i pump immediately after the long latch, my pumped out ss still the same as if bb didn't drink anything at all.. And i feel so tired with the long latching then later pump every 3 hrs.. Demoralising when ss dun seem to increase..

Bluey, if u really want to speed up the process, walk more. The day before i deliver, i walked whole day, ya, really whole day, till my contraction start the following day. Why dun u give it a try? Dr Paul will only be back on the 15th? Hope your ah boi can wait a while more
U really dun mind being delivered by another gynae?

Hi bluey,

My delivery was late by 3 days ... I also got a lot of colleagues that also kept commenting, "haven't ah?" ...

But, now thinking back, I missed the days he was in me, the little flutters & movements... ')

hannah

i c .. i also experience it when I had #1, then I slowly transit to bottle feed since she can't latch well. I tot pumping actually will yield more supply cos the duration of pump is longer than a baby latch on.

dont give up BF, maybe U can try latching say once in the morning and once at nite.

wow fiona! that's alot! happening.

labbit
your girls look alike leh! :p

hannah
me too. averaging about 50ml for both sides combined now. yesterday my record was 65ml. so proud that i even took photo of the bottle haha.

trying very hard to do 3 hourly but very tiring leh. but really lor, relax and watch tv to pump then don't always look, not so stressful. red dates tea help.

CL said after makan, rest 1 hour before pumping. cos after makan, the blood go to stomach to help digest. then no blood go to nnp to make milk. kinda makes sense. i was reading the old breastfeeding notes from ante natal class - 4-5am quantity is high but quality is low. evening time quality is high but quantity is low. so interesting

oh just now i went to see poppy then she coughed one small cough and got milk come out of her mouth and nostrils! it was so scary. i quickly picked her up and tried to burp her. but she was kuai, never cry. i said calmly to her 'it's ok baby, it's ok' but inside i was damn scared!!! *shiver*. must make sure baby has face to the side when sleeping!!!

re BF
i also try to get her to latch on when she is in a good mood. i was reading kellymom.com and it said to coax baby, never to force. which made me quite angry thinking back that at Mt A, one of the lactation nurses shoved crying poppy's mouth onto my nnp. i thought it was the right way and i followed that. maybe that's why she was traumatized

labbit told me that jenny (another lactation nurse) was good that's why i requested for her. she was more gentle.

so now slowly slowly just build contact. sometimes got success, sometimes not successful but still at least got milk for her. even if it's not enough

oh btw, chose her name liao! 思廷

PB

very nice name for poppy !! so she has two names ?

my rianne is called 子惞 (zi xin).

hey my #1 actually regurgitate milk from the nostril too. I think the reason is overfed. and yes I never let my rianne sleep on her back, usually I alternate her sleep on each side so that her head is not flatten at the sides.