(2008/07) July 2008

whoa! PB...you woke up at 4plus wiv a prata craving and went to work at 7am?? I get in at 730am sometimes...and by the time everyone strolls in at 9am I'm already sleepy again haha

3D: how are you feeling? what kinda tummy pains are you experiencing? LOoks like we are all starting to feel big and uncomfortable huh..hang in there momma's...babies coming out soon! hehehe

BORROWING HOSPITAL'S B-PUMP: do they charge for it? how do we know which type they'd have and if it's old and worn? some say to bring along coz we'd get the engorgement by 2nd/3rd day and would need to pump it all out?

TUMMY GOING LOW: will it be very noticeable? Coz people are still telling me dat my belly still looks very high and sharp, but I feel it resting on my lap more lately...

do1nk
630am, ahem, not 7am.

JSP
no la, not always come in so early. just couldn't sleep so might as well come in to work so can leave earlier.

re tummy going low
mine nicely resting on my lap too. and it feels a bit squashed. not by my nnp though. squashed by itself i think. but i realised that directly under my nnp is very empty. poppy doesn't like it there now i think. i press like got nothing there

JSP and PB and dustee,
wow that's really early. i m not at office today - hahahah - and got a good night's rest. little boi finally let me sleep one full night.

Today got impt thing to do, check out the infantcare at academy kidz at marine parade for little boy in between work teleconferences. V confused - the maid vs infantcare debate.... i know got separate thread on this.. any mummies want to chime in here?

Thanks, youpi, for the advice on b-pump! i was thinking, shucks, how to squeeze the pump into the already overcrowded hospital bag.

I also packed blue checked swaddle-me blanket! yay. no butterflies though... mmm mayb the nx one will be a gal
:p haiya get through this one 1st.

Do1nk, Bluey, Sonic, youpi,
Another one for the no-makeup-sensitive skin-as-an-excuse' club....

Delphine,
Hope you had a good night's rest too and feel better. BH contractions?

dor dor
huh your auntie dunno that such things can get from outside? a lot of medicines that doc give can be obtained over the counter actually...

for ON i like the gal stuff better. the boy's stuff not as nice as the gal stuff. but really cheap.

yesterday had a bad night. woke up with pain like stitch on the right side then was thinkin to myself hopefully it doesn't mean anything....

then had a bad dream about my boy falling down...haiz...

do1nk
i think most hospitals won't charge for borrowing the pump. in fact, they use those good ones.

when u r in hospital, actually good chance for u to get lactation consultant to come check your latch. try to latch before u pump. this time round i m going to make sure i get the lactation consultant to see me more.

PB: haha maybe I slouch alot previously so it was the NNP-tummy contact that irritated me..now I realised I can't really slouch much, even when eating at the table coz tummy's really in the way..now my tops get crumpled at the lap area

STUPID COMMENTS: had a colleague who went "wah you look pregnant hor" and I went "I AM pregnant!" duh!

PB: would you know what are the measurements for baby bedding at ikea? Have yet the right one for my baby....

Garfield,
Am feeling slightly better today. Ya, I was really hoping that it is a false alarm cos like you, I like a lot of things still left undone. Guess what I was so scare yesterday that after I reach home, I quickly packed my hospital bag.

Lbt/SY,
I suspect I eat too much ba chang during weekend that caused indigestion.. me lah, so tiam chiak.

Do1nk,
Me feeling slightly better today, phew, lucky false alarm, if not I will really faint cos till now I could not find my antenatal visits receipt for that S$450.00 claim. dun koe can we still request from gynae.

cellow
if your #3 is girl, i pass you poppy's pink butterfly one

do1nk
i tok your head ah! call main line 6786 6868 la! i really don't know

re stupid comments
i'm really fighting back with a vengence now. just now eating prata another feller came to say 'oh you like prata hor? always see you eating prata'. i said 'ya. i also like eating apples and drinking fruit juice. if you see me more often, you'd see that i'm not so boring'. *evil grin*

delphine
glad to hear you feeling better
hey now bak chang fest over liao ah? everything back to normal price?
can patronise bak chang shop liao! yippee!

hehe can imagine you yesterday kalang kabut throwing things inside your bag.

i think you should be able to ask from your gynae for reprint of the receipt la. no prob one.

re kopi
girls, today my hubby banned me from drinking kopi liao. he said now quite dangerous, can trigger labour. ha. he thinks he can continue drinking when i'm abstaining. tonight i will go and keep his coffee machine in a secret place.

PB, this is only #1 which is Cedric the boy. #2 1st before #3... :)

Delphine,
BH contractions shdnt be painful, at least that is wat my obgyn says. Good to hear u r feeling better though.

re: stupid comments
dun get any so far, but sure is entertaining to read all your stories - kekeke

SY *comforting pat * re: bad dream and stitches

cellow
for me i chose maid over infantcare. but with maids, it's a lot of luck. u really need to spend some time observing the maid, training the maid etc. with a maid, the pros are that u get someone to help with housework etc which means more free time for u to spend with your bb. and bb going to infantcare fall sick much easier.

Delphine
BH shd not be painful. and not regular either

hmm i also like bak chang. but never eat any this weekend

okie i called cord blood bank. they were happy that i wanted to donate but what i didn't really like was that they wanted to meet me at my next gynae appt and wanted ME to call my gynae to ask if it's ok. i think they should call leh. i don't like asking permission for someone else who wants something.

so anyway. they just do a pre-screening over the phone first. then just wait for them to call back and confirm on a meeting lor. that meeting will take 40 minutes

cellow
sorry sorry i saw sala! hehe ya, usually people have #1 then #2 THEN #3, you are righto! :p

re stupid comments
oh i have many and i will not hesitate to share! :D

PB

oh they say meet at Gynae clinic ??? isnt it inconvenient for the gynae ?

btw dont let ur bb wear thick material clothes. My coll has a false alarm on his boy. His MIL bought some clothes from Taiwan and the poor boy's temp shoot up in the middle of the nite. They went to A&E and even called the PD down which cost him $300 for that trip !

The PD mentioned that the clothes is too thick for the baby that's why the temp went up lah !! stupid right !!! all in all, he spent $500 for that nite, FOR NOTHING !

u know sometimes when I had my BH contractions, I have a bit of backache leh ! i think it's slight contractions already.

labbit
ya. sun bian can check my medical history bla bla. okie will remember not to wrap poppy up until hot hot!

eh your BH, you talking about last time or THIS time??? are you the next to pop???

which reminds me...

piyoz
you pop already?

lbt,
re: public cord blood banking. 2 options only - they will meet me at the gynae clinic (so that i dun hafta run up and down - they said), the gynae doesnt need to be present.
OR i can go down to their office at KK women's hospital basement 1.

the pre-screening questions take abt 10 mins over the phone.
i havent decided if want to meet them at gynae clinic or at their office. consult w the HB 1st.

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them yest at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

PB, cellow

tks for the info ! maybe I meet them on the next next visit then . cos I am going for buffet lunch after gynae visit next tue leh ! eheh must eat good food before deliver !

PB

i am referring to THIS time. but the freq of my BH contractions still the same. Gynae say to watch out if it increases .. means labour coming v soon.

ya no news from piyo hor .... admitted oredi ???!!!

Any1 here interested in buying the fridge-to-go?

It's a insulated bag for storing breastmilk after w pump it out in the office so tat the milk can last (10 to 12hrs) till we reach home.

I got it at the expo bb fair yest at a bundle set, comes with a extra small bag for storing 1 milk bottle (can last 4 to 5hrs)

I got the set og the big bag + small bag at $60. Tang selling $54 for the big bag & $18 for the small bag.

Selling coz my sis going to pass me her old 1 coz she is weaning her gal soon.

Interested, pls email me :

Hi Mommies!
I've been another one of those lurking mommies reading behind-the-scenes :p
Now that I'm nearing week 36, think I'm starting to feel the need to really prepare, have been relaxing too much one corner liao, kekek.
Anyways, just wanted to say Hi! *wave wave*

p.s1: Do1nk, think we got same gynae. But now seeing her partner instead at NUH.

p.s2: Mommies who are breastfeeding, does eating too much ginger also cause jaundice? abit in a dilemma how much ginger to take leh.

hi hi ALS !

wah it is really your virgin post ! ;)

i did cut down on ginger when my #1 was having jaundice. My mum still put some in the dishes, but I wont consume it. Hope this helps

cellow
hubby and i think that if it's too inconvenient then we'll just skip it. but then hor.... karma leh keke

labbit
woohoo!!!! so exciting! i'm not even counting my frequency leh. jialat.

sparrows
welcome welcome! wah happening! from dec until now, you never post anything? let me guess, must be no stiff fingers like me? ahahaha :p

yeah, they say too much ginger can cause jaundice. that's why NOW we shouldn't take too much ginger also. but as for baby, we'll only know if what CL cooks is too gingery judging by baby's complexion.

re emergency numbers
girls, remember to tell your colleagues your husband's phone numbers ok? just in case you got drama in office, at least they can call your hubby ok?

PB

hehe u r right on the emergency numbers... but dont worry labour wont happen so fast ! maybe too much drama liao ahahha it will takes at least hours. So u still have time to go home, have a good meal and bath before u admit to hospital.

last time, my waterbag leaked whole nite w/o contractions !

Wah some of you got up and went to office really early!!! Today I had enough sleep so it's pretty good. Yesterday was really a bad day, I couldn't sleep the night before, I had body ache, felt sleepy all day and my colleagues asked a lot of stupid questions!!! Made me really really mad.

I haven't packed my hospital bag yet. Lazyyyyy...

Ooh I didn't know taking ginger can cause jaundice in baby. Must tell my mom not to cook too much.

Delphine,
Good 2 c tat u r better.. i rem seeing ur edd near mine n sane hosp, at Mt A 2, rite? hee... if u reali earli earli popping den i tink i gonna get veri ganjeong all of a sudden le..

piyoz,
seems like she reali go pop liao lei... so i guess she's next on the list...

Pb,
taking abt stupid remarks.. i got dem oso loh.. got pple says.. how come ur nose so big n red huh?? den says moi tummi so weird n stuff.. den as pregnant ladies.. at least 4 me.. olredi nt so confident le.. den pple says tat make me feel upset loh...

confinement food:
i neva like things like ginger, soya saunce, garlic etc.. heard alot of such items during confinement.. haiz.. tink i m going 2 suffer during tat 1 month..

low tummi:
moi tummi oso dropped liao.. so now.. got stretch marks showing directly below de breasts.. sad.. n bad rashes on the tummi.. lagi worst.. cun apply stretch mark cream. sob sob...

Finally ... drag myself to work today.
My gal woke up early this morning and was crying hoping that I dun go to work.
Heartpain ...

Have a "shopping spree" online yesterday ... @ babymallonline and disney.
Once I get the babymall items, I will feedback on their quality especially compared to Aussino ones.

Since last night, I have this very slight groin pain when I exert force to get down the bed.
I wonder what sign is this??

Also having flu since last night ... now eyes machaim cannot open.

At this rate ... I prob go for ML on 1 July. Btw, 1 July is my wedding ann.

morning ladies

Yesterday down with stomach flu...*sigh*...heng today better so back at work...slept so much yesterday *lol*

Re : Hospital Bag
I finally started packing 50% of the stuffs in on Sunday *lol*. Otherwise this week 36 weeks liowz havent do anything really jiatlat...hehe

ALS,
welcome

Ya...i heard that during confinement if eat too much ginger or sesame oil bb might be a bit yellow if you are on full BF. That time my hb's sister try not to put too much in.

re ginger
think take in moderation. jaundice is actually quite common. i heard before sesame oil? but not sure how true. anyway, when bb has slight jaundice, make sure bb stays hydrated. i dun really heard abt the ginger casuing jaundice.

lbt
i also keep getting backache. sometimes when bb move, i can feel back pains.

SY

same same same !!
why ah .. bb move I get backache too. quite uncomfy. i forgot to ask gynae ... next Tue I'll ask again.

Pink Bunny,
Yes the bak chang fest is over liao.. but guess I cant indulge so much in it. It will really caused indigestion. Your hubby forbide you to drink coffee, mine is bak change.. whaha.
Yup, as you can imagine, I throw whatever I have in the house into the bag now my bag looks so bulky.
Will check with my gynae if he can do that, if not lugi leh.

Cellow/SY,
But my tummy is those stiches pain.. luckily today ok liao.
Haiz, sometime I feel that I really bo chap attitude towards my #2, like so unfair to her. Guilty guilty…

Sparrows,
Welcome, care to share more details about yourself?

Piyo,
You go on delivery liao??

Star_xin,
Yah or, didn’t realize till you tell me… maybe we will see each other in MT A??

Hi Ibt...

I also dun get wat u mean leh... I thou tat u fr tat co cos u attach the confinement worksheet got the co name la... Hee...

All mummies...

If we want to BF then cannot eat ginger isit?

evon
can eat ginger. no prob on that.

delphine
my hb alwasy say i biased...

lbt
i think it depends on bb position. so certain positions u can feel their movements on the back

SY

maybe ... before she turned the backache is more often cos she was facing my back. Now she is down and facing sideways, the backache has reduced. you are right !!

star
why cannot apply stretch mark cream? cannot see ah? hehe. mine are under the tummy so cannot see. i just put anyway.

re stupid comments
i feel SO much better when i suan them back! try try :D anyway you are preggie. having mood swings and giving curt remarks are part of the deal!

what i cannot tahan the most is that alot of these idiotic comments come from mothers lor.

labbit
i also say leh. i want to go home and pong pong first. but my colleague (who is NOT MARRIED, NO KIDS) try to geh kiang and say 'you sure got time or not? you sure you want to go home and shower or not?'. *roll eyes* shoot my water bag water at her then she know ah

bluey and celeste
oh no! take care take care! don't fall sick now! final 100m dash liao!

SY and labbit
so cute your kids, want to follow you to work? hehe. i think one day i will bring poppy to work. when she is 3 or 4. last time i rmemeber going my papa's office and playing with calculator and stapler and highlighting alot of his papers hehe. oh ya and rubber stamps

haha PB, I thought you would have bought your baby bedding from there n would know the measurements mah..anyway since you posted the no, I called, and it's good...they actually transferred me to the store people and this guy read out the measurements to me.. 35 x 55 for the pillowcase, 110 x 125 for the quiltcover and 75 x 150 for the cribsheet.. slightly different from my cribsize but will juz grab if I can't find any nicer ones around..

welcome ALS! very curious to know what ALS stand for...coz my initials are ALSY and my last chinese name means sparrow! haha...so we are seeing the same gynae and you are in wk 36 already? I'm wk 34 this week and going to see her partner tomorrow (which I dun quite like)..keep telling my baby to stay inside kwai kwai while she's on holiday (when's she coming back...)

coffee: haiz...husbands are evil... say we can't drink yet they drink under our noses! so whenever my hubby makes his cuppa I'll surely steal a sip when pretending to juz sniff at it haha

delphine
check with your gynae if he can do what? hey, you mind posting up the table again? heeh. paisay ah

Sy
can feel baby movements on our back? wow. i always wonder if she kick inwards, not toward my tummy, will kena nei shang (me) or not ah?

but mostly she is shoving her backside and wriggling it against my tummy

Hi Bluey & Celeste...

I also down with flu and cough... thoart very pain now and sometime the ear area can feel pain too... Hope tat we will get well soon soon...

Hi Lbt, thanks for the tip, will tell mom to add less ginger since she's doing confinement for me.

I've been having groin pains for some time also, supposedly from the position of baby? And now I've also got really swelling feet... it's not easy to always prop legs up higher than the heart loh, unless at home ... so i go around with elephant feet :p

More info about me...
Due date: 12 July
Gynae: Mary Rauff
Hospital: NUH
Gender: I dunno... we're waiting for a surprise on that day :p Till then all I hear are predictions, keke...
Me also rabbit, cos born in '75 :B

alamak do1nk
i bought ALOT of things from there. cannot remember la! hehe

re coffee
really, i will hide my hubby's coffee machine tonight. and i already told him if i cannot drink, he also cannot drink. really not fair if he can continue living like normal when i have to make all these sacrifices!

last night i had a BIG prata craving at 4am. and i woke him up then he said 'go back to sleep la. no la you don't want prata la. freezer got pancakes, go and cook that ok?'. )(**^!@%^*$#^(*)(!

re tummy gg lower
my tummy also like sitting comfortably on my lap these days like all of you lor... kinda strange like putting a watermelon on lap lor...

re ginger
heard the same tin too from MIL n SIL... but me all the while also dun like ginger one lor... take in moderation lor... or juz cook it with the food but dun take it lor...

re backache
me getting alot of aches here and there lor... not oni back lor... shoulders also at times if i slouch for too long at my desk...

re BH contractions
aiyo... me still cannot tell which is BH contractions leh...

ALS
welcome!! me also juz joined this thread quite recently lor...

wow sparrows
you are brave!!!! i only know one other couple who doesn't want to know baby's gender. my hubby's best friend. they said life got no more surprises liao so they refuse to find out. good for you.

for us, cos our spare room was already painted a bit of a pinky colour, we needed to know if we had to re-paint hehe.

SY,
last nite my ger even worst...i was in the toilet doing big biz. My hb in the room and my ger in the room..my ger keep crying n screaming say wanna come into the toilet with me. I told her mommy do big biz smelly she die die want to come in *pengz* *lol*

bluey, Evon
We all must take gd care now....cos must make sure when labour cannot be sick otherwise very gang-kor one...*sigh*

PB,
ya lor...me 36 weeks this week liowz....last weekend hb's sil still telling me anytime liowz *lol*

sparrows
u really brave lor... for me, find it veri hard to buy tin if dunno gender leh... i also got a frd who dun wanna knw the gender coz she say veri stressful as she alrdy got 2 gals and got a grandmother-in-law that is looking forward to a boy boy...

re coffee
alot pple say can take abit lor... juz dun drink like u used to can liao... as for me, all the while nvr really take coffee so not much of a chng when preggie lor...

PB
like ur sense of humour leh... shld meet up one of these days lor... tink would be alot of fun...

Welcome sparrows.

Evon, Bluey and Celeste,
Oh no, take care of yourselves...

SY, Delphine,
Like the baby blues cartoon, #1 is always more fascinating than #2. Over weekend, went to see a fren who just gave birth and is now resting at home. Father was making googly eyes at the kid, saying everything that kid does is fascinating. I think I will be more bo chap w #2 as well.

Re: ginger.
Ha!? 40 kg of ginger. *Faint. I usually like gingery stuff but now indifferent. Anyway MIL is bringing a herb called ka-chang-ma (that is wat i heard phonetically) which is supposed to strengthen mummy's system after birth.

Re: stretch mark cream.
Ah oh, ystday forgot to put. Better put some now.. I cannot see the bottom of tummy also, dun care, just put anyway.

hi hi mummies

welcome sparrows aka fellow rabbit

PB - eh, u sure u should be hiding coffee machine? too heavy for u la..i come help you? maybe move to my house..hehehe... i still plan to drink..as usual NOT as discipline as you ;)

bluey - happy anniversary in advance ya,,just in case i forget cos preggie brain :p

re ginger..lol..40kgs..i dont think got space to store! urgh, tt reminds me, seems we are suppose to drink red date water right after delivery (ie no drinking normal water)..anyone can advise?

lunch time..woohoo..i going to eat thai fried fish

celeste,

I too always have this same "drama" acted by my gal when I do biz in toilet.
She will take a small stool and still just right infront of me and keep asking "mommy, are you done?"
Like that how to do big biz ... cannot tahan her.

I will always complain to my hubby that why can't he just entertain her while I can have some peace inside.
When he is inside toilet, he always can stay there 1/2 hour with peace ... but why can't I ... angry.