(2008/07) July 2008

evon
no la, won't affect baby. it's just mummy's fingers will get pins and needles and possibly stiff. like fat ankles, won't affect baby one, don't worry

hey girls,
anyone has maxi-taxi stroller? good or not?

my tummy also feel tight tight on and off ...

I actually dun have all these funny "signs" when O am having my #1.

Going to put my gal to sleep now ... at the same time, I will also go ZZzzzzz.

Hi Pinkbunny...

Ohh thks for the info... Scare me man... Cos i also have stiff fingers everyday lor and sonetime no strenght to take things too... Hee...

Re stiff fingers
Maybe some fingers exercise eg. playing mahjong would helps?

Re donating cord blood to public bank
Just to share, I was intended to donate my #1 cord blood to public bank. Have already verbally agreed with one of the staff of public cord bank who approached me when I was in KK. She said will call me again to arrange for some documentation done. However, I think she has forgotten, me too. After my labour, then I realised and quickly informed the midwife, but she said she couldn't do anything but have to throw away the cord blood as documentation is not done yet. What a waste…

so, mummies who wanted to donate, better get everything done before your due date.

Bluey
so shiok, can take nap now… I'm very sleepy too.. no mood to work,..

Hi Pinkbunny...

I alrdy ask my dr then was told tat is okie cos due to water retention then he gave my pills to eat lor. Say DUN WORRY...

Hi sonic...

I also will donate to public... Ohh but have not call them yet.. Okie will call them these few days... Thks for the reminder...

sonic,
I LIKE YOUR SUGGESTION! are you offering to be my kaki?

re cord banking
wah thanks for sharing!

evon
i feel like lao ah soh with arthiritis

what's pumpkin good for? thought juz vit A and fibre.. for me...I eat everything! as long as I eat in moderation...with the exception of raw food lah of course..hehe

does mayo contain raw eggs? some say should avoid..but i've been eating salads and coleslaw containing mayo too leh..

anyway we are at the stage where baby absorbs most from us now right? So must strive to eat more healthy stuff like steam fish and vege...

maxi taxi stroller: not common here I think..but a quick search on the net shows they always pair wiv a maxi cosi huh..this one you must ask our stroller-soh...she may know *grin*

PB

I hope I can be your kaki ah !! *scratch scratch fingers !*

Evon

errr no I am not. Why leh ?

sonic

tks for the reminder !! will call ..

maternity leave
also starting next week like PB, but damn stressed now coz so much work to handover and tie up loose ends.

but also dozing off coz of preggie insomnia causing me to sleep around 5hrs every night only.

it's like 'busy busy busy *nod off* then gasp! wake up, busy busy busy' then repeat.

diapers
went motherhood fair and bought one pack nepia newborn. so total now i have 188 pieces of newborn diapers. definitely should concentrate on buying other things now

pb and her facial
pb ah, how to still do facial now ah? lie on back? or you mean home diy facial?

hospital bag
i have 'sunned' my bag. so that's step 1. next is to er, buy the pyjamas hahaha haven't buy yet. maybe resort to wearing my husband's 'orbit' pyjamas in hospital.

but definitely must wear a bit nicer when leaving hospital. coz reach home with baby, thinnk my in-laws will take photos of 'baby arrival' at home.

of coz come to think of it, i'm assuming when i come home with the baby from the hospital, and my in-laws take the photos, i will actually be INSIDE the photo too lah. not just the baby only.

dustee

your assumptions are funny ! ehehhe

i still go facial too .. and my beautician will elevate the bed such that I am in semi-lying or semi-sitting position.

re cord blood
my 5cents worth of comments... once banked into SCBB, it belongs to them... so whoever tat needs it can draw from it... unless u bank the cord blood with a pte bank, which is pretty ex, dun tink u can use it... heard gotta pay mthly and buy insurance somemore...

re make-up
tink i'm the more hiao one here lor... go out must dress nice nice lor... muz also make-up... maybe coz last time used to be in sales so muz alwys wear make-up to meet customers so used to it liao...

PB, dustee
me also super sleepy lor... somemore juz now to need to go out for a super boring meeting... almost fell aslp lor... then gotta walk back in this kinda weather somemore lor...

dustee
wah 188 diapers. huat ah! keke. haha ya lor, i will be holding on to my precious pink bundle so must look glam a bit mah. but i got short hair now so don't know how to glam it without wax leh. wait wax liao, photo nice, but then cannot wash hair HOW?! dry shampoo cannot get rid of wax right? wah biang eh.

speaking of hiao, i'm even planning when is the latest time i can do my pedi so that i can have nice toes when during confinement cos by that time i will be able to SEE my toes liao right?

re ML
dustee, i think you may have been mistaken. it's my last week but i am super relaxed
cos my big event is over liao so can breathe easy now. and my boss just postponed one deadline for me so i don't need to rush for the next project!

re facial
can la. just have to find props like cushions and towels to make yourself more comfortable lor. but then again, my last facial was a long time ago. hmmm. next week i try then i update!

labbit
aiyoh my hands also want to be scratched leh. super long never play liao!!!! with my hubby on ML with me, i should really teach him hor? hehe

Evon

err I dont understand your post leh .. can enlighten me ?

PB ..

hehe i played mj with a jap before but never to a canadian !! eheh u try and let me know !

labbit
ok i try next week! eh he not bad leh, can read some chinese characters! i got a shock when my MIL told me she likes to play MJ. but then i realised it's those computer kind, when you find 2 tile that match each other, click on them then they disappear kind. cheh. make me happy for nothing.

nails
cannot do for delivery coz heard they want to check your nails to see your well-being (enough oxygen etc) so not sure is it just highly discouraged or the nurses will actually clean your nail polish off?

pb
oh yeah forgot your work is campaign by campaign.

PB

i know i know .. those matching by tiles one ahahha then ur MIL quite hip too leh !

i resorted to playing mj on my hubby's PSP lor .. no choice ..

Mahjong... How I wish I have time to play, though I don't have stiff fingers problem.. but I got itchy fingers.. haha..

CLEAN OFF MY NAILS??? &*^@#%^*&%$()*%)*@&^%^ i thought that was only if it's c-sect? but but.... cannot see my fingernails meh??? i check with gynae again. i'm determined to have nice toenail!!!!! haha

labbit
hehe ya she's quite modern
aiyer but nothing beats touching the real tiles ler!!! we are due about the same time leh. ai mai? *rubbing hands in glee*

Bz bz day at work.

Went to the obgyn this morning and had painless BH contractions... and he said there, those are BH... I was like 'ha? u mean that's wat i hv been feeling'

re cord blood
wat's the number 2 call 2 donate 2 public bank?

re hospital going home clothes
wow all of you think abt clothes 2 go home liao, i hvnt thot abt it yet even....

re hospital bag
no need to pack b-pump?

re facial
i still do facials but the therapist raises me to a half-sitting position

now blur blur. bb kicked me awake last night... not comfortable w any sleeping position after that. neck ache 2...

haha only those wiv stiff fingers are allowed to play MJ for relief..

eh PB, like dat I can play MJ wiv your MIL liao..think that's the onli kind I'd know how to play too haha

putting on make up: wish I knew how to sometimes coz I think look prettier dat way leh...

diapers: i got 240 pieces of nepia newborn (4 packs) hehe..so one day use 8 pieces, enough to last a month, provided my baby's bum dun outgrow this size

cellow
i'll rub my tummy and tell her 'poppy, let mummy sleep ok?' hehe. no la, not whiney la. just a frustrated preggie mummy. and we can all identify with that! one day soon i suspect i will be sleeping in a semi sitting position.

re thinking about going home from hospital clothes
what to do. hiao mah, of course think about hiao things kekeke

do1nk
eh actually you can just go to dept stores and ask for make up trial! flee one, seester! ok on, i tell my MIL she got kaki

okie see you all tomorrow! 4 more days to go! (technically it's 3.5 cos i've got thurs off to go for gynae appt!). super ORD mood

just came out from a long 3 hours meeting. so many postings!

re cord blood
i read before that once u donate it to public bank u dun get priority. if not, then why not just donate to public bank instead of banking privately right?

re confinement herbs
my mum bought for me over the weekend, spent more than 200+. they will be able to advise u what to get but anyway this is the list that i got from my CL.

red dates
black dates
wolfberries
longan
beiqi
huaishan
dangshen
danggui
ginger

all 1kg except danggui and ginger. ginger she told me to buy 7kg...

you all are so fast, i cant catch up. Do update me if anybody is due hor, need to update the table.
Btw, today me feeling so bad, having tummy pain, dun know what happen.

PB
me also like do1nk can oni play those kinda MJ games leh... play that kind i think fingers get stiffer lor...

do1nk
if u interested to learn how to apply make-up, me can try to teach u... actually quite simple one... juz need more practise and knw wat colour suit u can liao... rule is dun apply too much...

re nails
frm wat i knw frm my SIL, c-sect or natural also need to remove coz need to monitor ur health frm the colour of ur nails... so definitely muz remove nail polish lor...

gotta log off liao... HB reach liao... talk to you all again...

delphine

my tummy today not well too !!
why ah ??

SY

7kg !! can use the ginger to rub ur body liao !

PB i really wish I can but weekends are precious to me, cos I spend all my time with my ger.

reply from SCBB:
<font color="0000ff">
1) How early should I inform SCBB ? I am due on 10 July.
It is recommended to contact the bank after the 32nd week of gestation and before you go into labour.

2) I know that the cord blood belongs to SCBB once it is donated. However in the case if I need it, will I get to use it if it is still available?
We do not reserve any cord blood unit for the child or a specific family’s usage. If the donated cord blood unit meets the criteria for banking, and is still in SCBB at that time, the unit would be made available for the patient who would benefit most from it, this could be the donor or another recipient. Research has shown that there is an extremely low probability that the donor should ever need or benefit from his/her own cord blood unit. Transplant physicians may not feel that the patient’s own cord blood unit is the best choice as it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood disorder or immune system failure.

The CBU will be released based on the following:-
1. CBU met SCBB’s stringent banking criteria, and was banked
2. CBU available in SCBB at the time of request
3. CBU is to be used and/or released to the donor upon advice of the Transplant Physician.

Upon meeting the above three criteria, the CBU will be released to the donor for FREE upon direction of the transplant physician if he/she feels that it is the unit most beneficial to the donor.

3) What are the arrangements on my side if I decided to donate?

You may wish to inform your intention for donation to your attending doctor. However, the paper process of donation would still have to be completed directly with the Singapore Cord Blood Bank. Alternatively, you may wish to contact our coordinators at 6394-5012 for an appointment or you may wish to provide us with your contact for us to contact you.

Just woke up from my "beauty sleep".

And find that there are so many post!

1 week ago, I still lie down on my back for facial. I am expected to go for facial 2 weeks later if I have not deliver.

I wanted to go for pedicure today after my gal take her afternoon nap ... but you see ... but I sleep until now. So maybe I am going on Wed.

I only go for pedicure these few months after I got preggie as I feel to lazy and diffcult to maintain my toe nails with such a big tummy ... else I always diy one.

On Wed ... is time to visit my baby @ the gynae again.

I remember about the ginger ... ppl also advise me to buy a lot and sun it outside to get ready.

For me, all these confinement "ingredients" are prepare by my SIL.

juz got home from half day of work n karaoke session w moi frenzs..

cordblood banking:
i m banking moi cordblood w cordlife,be meeting up with the sales personnel this thur so if there's anithing u all wanna ask, pls let me noe..

pampers for newborn:
someone mentioned it is cheap at pasir ris west plaza medical hall, izzit? tink i shld drop by soon.. quite near moi place..

stiffen fingers:
i oso wanna play mahjong.. but then u all beta dun get 2 kanjiong lei.. tat time i play till moi fingertips cold cold den bb toss n turn.. i nearli thot the excitement may induce earli labour..

ML:
i m taking moi ML at 38 weeks.. fr 14 jul, cos doc says likely 2 be earli by a week so hb says take extra week off 2 rest..

Herbs:
is it from the medical hall directly opp the Guanyin Temple? Need to get it soon too..

hardening of tummi:
my tummi often goes into odd shapes n hardens nowadays..u noe, moi belly button pops out..but at times, it ends up flat cos bb pushes the area around it out n hardens it so much..i m in moi 33 week onli.. hope it is juz practising reali hard 4 de big day bah...hee..

tired.. i m so tired to go out to even meet frenzs nowadays.. reali waiting for ML to start den can get a bit of rest...

SY
7kg of ginger!!??? walau! we're going to be ginger farm!!!

labbit
thanks for the cord banking info!

JSP
haha ya i think the online games make fingers worst!!!

Do1nk, Bluey, Sonic,
Can I join the 'no-makeup-sensitive skin-as-an-excuse' club too? The only thing I use is sunscreen. Or if going out, I try to draw eyebrows. But always forget.

Cellow,
No need to bring b-pump 'cos you can borrow from the hosp. Unless you don't want to use theirs lah. Then again, in the early days, should just latch baby on, no need to pump.

SY,
7Kg of ginger? Wah liao!

ya agree with youpi. unless bb doesnt latch v well then we pump but pump also nothing.. so can be quite painful. I still prefer to latch. bb lips are softer eheheh ...

while on the topic of breast pump - do we wash/sterilize before first use too? sorry, i know it's prob a very logical answer to do so but just asking...

my CL is the traditional kind who will make ginger juice. so she asked me to get more ginger. a fren told me she used nearly 40kg of ginger during her confinement...

Delphine
hope u r feeling ok. did u eat anytihng wrong?

starxin
yes the pampers newborn near my place is cheap. must go to ren tai tang. got 2 medical halls here. anyway u can compare the prices btwn these 2. very near only.

PB
yes of cos need to sterilize before using.....

SY
Yah u know hor actually my that niece always go PD n the PD will give her the tube form vaseline cherry petroluem jelly. N ofcos they charged them alot for it.
But I didn't dare to comment or ask my auntie to buy from pharmacy instead of going PD cos its her baobei ONLY grand daughter. N cos PD charge so ex so that day they went to the GP opp my place n given the cannot be eaten medi then pop over my place.

Pinkbunny
YES!!!
I got afew from ON recently when I did my own spree......hehehe
So nice n sweet can't decide which 1 to let bb wear for 1st mth.....hahaha

Jmon
So fast back to work...sian hor
Think u will even more sian when u see the rest popping n go on ML....keke

bluey
Me opp from u. I love the clothes from ON cos they r cheaper....hehe N personally feel the material is good for our warm weather so I normally will buy my son's clothes from ON.
But I dun like the bb rompers in a pack from Mothercare cos my son was real chubby when he was younger n he can't fit in cos its VERY tight for him endup alot never wear. I only buy their footed PJ cos we sleep in aircon n he doesn't like to be covered.

piyo
After see gynea no report back aah??
Went delivery liao??

Hospital bag
FINALLY packed!!......haha
Cos my tummy like suddenly very big n low already keep getting comments from ppl n getting asked due anytime hor. So jus now quickly stuffed everything into the bag liao n packed my son's bag too.....hehe

Coming home clothes hor I very lazy lah will do the same as wat I did last time.....hehe
I simply wore an empire line dress that I can fit in even with the big tummy when I admit hospital. Cos once u admit u will change into the hospital gown liao ma. Then I jus wear it on the last day back home lor.....hahaha
Dun even have to pack it into the bag.

yes, look at the time... i'm up with a prata craving and a sleepy husband who doesn't want to go out for prata with me

re hospital bag
i added in more things today *proud face*. baby's going home outfitS cos couldn't decide among 3. one is a pink romper on which i ironed on her name (that's why i need to buy another plain pink romper now so she and i can make matching pink t-shirt/romper set ler), one is a big time floral thing (cos papa scared people think she's a boy) and another is one covered with bunnies, from my MIL, in case it's cold, cos the material is a bit thicker.

and i also added in my swaddle-me pink wrap (with butterflies!!!). and booties and mittens. and my PJs. don't forget bedroom slippers, girls!

technically maternity pads and breast pads don't need to bring right? can take from hospital?

ok even though this is a monologue for now, i must tell you this!

met a colleague in the lift and she said 'i realise that your nose is getting bigger hor?' and i said 'really? i don't think so'. then got uncomfortable silence in the lift for 5 stories while she looked at her shoes and i smiled to myself. AHAHAHAHA

ladies and gentlemen, the score now stands at
pinkbunny: 1, rest of the world with their stupid comments: ZERO!!!