(2008/07) July 2008

Fiona

sure will let u gals know again.

so the botanical cream is good ? sounds like I am going to the botanical garden ahahah why the name ah?

Joyce

if i take out the EBM from freezer, i will bring it to the chiller the nite before so that it will be defroze the next morning. Then consume it within 24 hrs.

for those store in the chiller, i will bring out and warm it up using the Avent warmer or put in a cup of hot water. then consume is within 1 hour. if bb cannot finish within 1 hr, I will discard.

no worries youpi

just found some more stretch marks

hey mummies, anyone knows where to buy the following items?:

1 - plain light pink romper? (cos i want to make matching t-shirt/romper set for poppy and i)

2 - jacket with hood? (to bring to canada with us in the winter, so for about 6 month old poppy)

yes i am shopping again but for good reason

Bluey
Actually hor I jus realised recently when I read the review of the calming botanical cream. I realised it can be used as a Lip balm n that it can be eaten. (or rather safe to eat) Its written on the tub that can be used on lips too. That's why I dare to apply for my niece.
So I went to check on the Calendula n aloe vera n they dun have lips on the tub.
So for me safety wise I would only apply the botanical cream near lip area. But I am currently only using it for myself as my daytime face cream only....hehe

pinkbunny
GAP having sale leh go have alook lah. I like their clothes....hehe

morning mummies
one more day to seeing our little ones coming out soon - i can't wait....!

so many posts on shopping. there are always good reasons for shopping... i also want to go shop!

hehe yeah...I was gonna say PB can check out Old Navy too...

babymallonline: anyone used their stuffs before?? how? good? someone told me the quality quite crappy...like worse than old navy kind..

me trying to look for nice yet affordable baby bedding...

re cream
actually a good cream that is very safe to use is vaseline petroleum jelly. it is one of the hazard free products. even though some of the stuff that we use for bb ar organic, it does not mane that they do not have hazardous substance.

check out this website.

www.cosmeticsdatebase.com

i went to motherhood fair yesterday. din buy much actually. only got the free mag, bought 1 pack of nepia pants for my boy, and that's abt it! really controlled right...

morning mummies
any1 used drypers newborn diapers b4? any comments? got 2 boxes from a frd...

re: shopping
me also still shopping for bb stuffs... still got nappies liners, disposable breast pads, and many other things haven buy lor... how many hooded towels to buy huh??

i din pack my hospital bag again!!! this weekend only managed to shift the bookshelf to study room to create space for drawers for #2. my boy so sad when he realised the bookshelf gone (we din show him the new location yet). he almost cried when he thought all this books were gone..so funny....

JSP
different babies suit different diaper brands and cutting. so can only try then u will know

i got 3 new hooded towels for #2. think shd be enough if u wash them often.

do1nk, can try pumpkin patch when they having sale. i just collected my things from pumpkin patch. not to bad the material. quite soft.

babymallonline: i just ordered bedsheet cos SNL says it's good. but haven't receive yet.

JSP, lots of ppl say drypers not so gd. will leak but i'm not too sure. cos never try before.

y do we need hooded towels? Normal towels cannot?

SY
confession time... me also haven packed my hospital bag too... still got some things haven buy leh... tink this coming weekend gotta really pack up liao... will try it 1st lor... but coz my colleague say drypers not so good for her gal so tot of getting some comments... tink will get 3 too for the moment...

Rayna
hooded towels easier to use. can cover the head nicely.

JSP
so tired till i forgot abt the bag. this weekend managed to buy my confinement stuff and the herbs. u bought liao?
the pain from my back and groin really makes me ffel like seating down and not moving...

i din hear that great things abt drypers but it really depends on the bb. i know some have good comments also.

for me i only used pampers for newborn. then after that switch to nepia. though nepia supposed to be good, i know of pple who can't use it either. so depends on the cutting at the end of the day as well

me too.. just started packing my hospital bag last weekend .. this time my bag is so much lighter ! not bringing pump, breast pad, diapers, maternity pads etc .... all use hospital resources !

eh we need hooded towels ? normal towels ok wat... or r u gals referring to receiving blanket ? then one is enough too.

o_club, can you drop me a PM about the LBS BP please? thanks

do1nk and dor dor
eh gap and old navy got plain rompers ah? okie i go check, thanks

JSP
you can try tom and stephanie for those items cos now got 15% off
i'm sure robinsons etc also got. maybe 20%, but the retail price may be higher to begin with la

re hooded towels
i only got one from ikea, but like what labbit say, normal one can liao la.

labbit
Mt A give receiving blanket right? i will bring a 'swaddle me' just in case anyway. got pink butterflies la, i cannot resist haha.

re hospital bag
i just looked through my list again yesterday. so far pack until 7 7 8 8 liao. only got contact lens and bak gia left, nursing gown, snacks, money and mummy+baby's going home outfits

lbt
referring to bathing towels...i like those hooded towels...hee...

yesterday quickly go and buy one set of clothes for my gal to wear when discharged from hospital. realise so hard to find size NB!

PB

MT A does give but I dont think u want to use cos it's brand new and not washed leh... so better bring your PINK butterfly one ! super cute leh !

eh dont need bring contact lens lah .. so leh jey .. just wear specs lor ..

SY

can buy those 0-3mths old one ? actually i got a NB one from CARTERS at kiddy palace, but that is for full mth celebration. Kiddy palace got a lot of NB ones leh .. did u try ?

lbt
the 0-3 months one that i saw still look quite big. in the end we bought a disney one. hmm, i need to go and get one for full month also hor..almost forgot. but that one maybe one of the grandma will buy? dunno leh. if my mil buy, she will insist that my kids wear whether it fits or not.

that time during CNY, was really pissed with her cos she insisted that my son must wear what her daughter bought but it was so big the t-shirt was till the elbows and covering the butt.....

SY

ya need to get a even prettier one for full month hor ! ehhe ...

why not u quickly get one and tell her you bought already ?

if she insist that she get one, then u can let ur gal wear urs first .. then change to the other outfit on the other half of the day?

labbit
cannot, i will get neck ache (kinda like if you whole night never sleep properly) when i wear glasses for too long out of the house. very funny one. so i told gynae i wil be wearing contacts. he said it's ok hehe. but i will bring glasses also la.

hehe ya i will use my PINK BUTTERFLY cloth to wrap her

SY
wah really? BHG retail price is higher? wow so unexpected!

full month party
did i tell you girls that we've decided to theme ours a THINK PINK party and ask all guests to come either dressed in pink or have some kind of pink element on them. like hairband or socks also can hehe.

JMON
welcome back to the big bad world of office politics! me enjoying my last week liao

lbt
hee, u dunno my mil. she can be quite weird abt certain things. but maybe since it's #2 and also a gal, she won't really care. she's more biased towards boys (except that she always side my sil..haha)

if my mum buys and my kids wear the one that my mum buys, i tell u, even worse. that time when my boy had bday, my boy din wan to look for her and she gave black face the whole bday and just stay in our study room. even my frens cd tell my mil black face. then when i ask my hb why, he said cos when they were downstairs, my boy only wanted my parents to carry. she thinks that my boy follow their surname shd only be close to them. what kind of rubbish is that right....

SY
haven bought the confinement herbs and stuffs yet... will most prob buy this weekend or next lor... me still got another 6 more weeks b4 edd so can still nuah abit... heehee...

re: Diapers
saw this brand Goon like not too bad... somemore made in Japan... will try the drypers n see how lor... tinking of buying some others juz in case not suitable... any recommendations?? wat size to buy and qty??

PB
yah i was also surprised. cos i remember i bought the pacifier at robinsons like 1 or 2 bucks cheaper than at BHG. my hb bought and then i found out.

hee, your full month party will be so cute.

JSP
oh, mine is faster. shd be abt 4-5 weeks more....

goon is more ex but i tried once. not too bad. cutting is bigger.

think u dun buy too many first. cos really depends on how big bb is. at most get like one pack or 2 packs first.

JMON

ahah I wont say "WELCOME BACK!" to you ahhha.. how r u clearing your 3rd month maternity ?

PB

u mean even if (touch wood) c-sect also can wear lenses? maybe U want to change a pair of specs ? is it too heavy on your nose bridge?

Sy

think your MIL is really the LAO TU type hor ! and very Feng Jian leh ..

all grandchildren are the same be it maternal or not ... siao right ! if I were you, I wont bother too much in case argument arise... ask ur hubby to coax her lor ...

anywhere got pampers or mamy poko newborn on sale ah ?

i just bgt one pack of pampers NB last weekend on stand by first. and will also bring some extras one from hospital back. So now see if got sale ...

JSP
just buy a bit of everything i guess. maybe you could ask around, and some friends/colleagues would be able to give you some samples? i had a colleague who gave me alot of loose diapers cos her son couldn't fit into them anymore. so sweet.

SY
*hugs* some old people thinking is like that one.

PB, Gap got plain rompers. but my cousin brought it back for me from US. she gave me this very nice dark PINK rompers. No prints. just some ruffles at the chest portion. but very nice.

arthiritis hands
my fingers have progressed from being just a bit stiff in the morning to now very stiff, and throughout the day, also a bit painful
yesterday i realised i didn't have enough grip to open a tin can. boohoo. better check with gynae on thursday

lbt
my hb is quite good in that sense. he told her how close my kids are to her depends on her effort. my parents make a lot of effort to come to my place often to spend time with my boy. though we stay on opp ends of sg, my dad always send my mum to my place when my boy was small to help to look after him once a week. then he go back to his work place in the west. so he used to make like 4 trips back and forth from west to east. so my hb understands that my boy looks for my parents more.

i told my hb, if wan to differentiate the grandchildren like that, very sad. how many grandchildren do pple have noawdays?

my place sells pampers nb very cheap. 13.50. u can try to get here.

PB
hee, i get less and less bothered with her. only thankful that i dun stay with her. too old fashion for my liking. over the weekend, they were even saying things like how my sil's hb cannot do certain things cos my sil pregnant now. abt some housework thing that they cannot ask him to help out. wah, i think even my sil's hb benefitting from her pregnancy then.

and my mil again always ask me to do things. every little thing also ask me to do. canot see that i m due soon meh? i told my hb i won't be helping her. no time to do my own stuff liao and she still wan me to go and do her things. cannot take it. hee think hb can tell my attitude to my mil not very friendly now but he also dun tell me off liao...

PB
u better tell gynae abt it. there is a condition that affects pregnant women only. can't remember the name but better check it out.

Sy

13.50 for how many pieces ? where do u stay anyway ? ahha .. u din give me location leh ..

ya lah if ppl still so particular abt such things, then can faint liao ... oredi so stress with work and go home must face such prob !!!

hi mummies.....

I've got brownish mucus discharge.... looks like the SHOW!!! Got it yesterday morning...... Seeing my gynae later....... feels like a time bomb since yesterday morning......

Only in my 36 weeks...... keep telling my bb to stay inside bit longer............

PB,
Maybe Mothercare might have plain pink ones? Can call up to ask first. I know they have pain white ones.

SY, JSP,
I have not packed hospital bag either. But I finally made a list of what I want to have in it. Like lbt, very little! This time I know what to bring and what I don't have to bring! And I will just get hubby to get anything else that I might need later.

Re: NB diapers
I've not bought any. I'll probably stand-by a pack of Pampers NB, but wait till bb is out and see how big/small he is before buying any more. But if there is a sale, please share lobang hor. then I'll buy more, hehe! ;p

Jmon,
Wow, you're back to work already?! It seems so fast! Who's looking after bbA?

Re: Hooded towels
Necessary mah? I never used them for #1.

Re: Weekend productivity:
MY hb and his friend cleared out the room for the CL so that's ONE thing that's done - finally! And I bought the BFree bottles.

DRYPERS: someone told me the sticky tape is WAY too sticky and would be painful if you got it stuck on your baby's skin

PUMPKIN PATCH: yeah..kinda cute..bought a few outfits from there during their sale..

JMON: haha so you are back at work eh? dun worry..I'm sure they will give you a week to "tune" yourself back to speed?

TUMMY HARDENING: my tummy's been doing more of this lately (without feeling baby movement, means not baby's limbs but braxton hicks right? eeks) is my baby coming out soon?? yikes...not yet not yet! gynae on holiday and now onli week 34!!

Btw, I just called Nepia to order another carton of diapers for #1. It's now $14 per pack! Used to be $15. I don't know if this is a permanent change or a temporary promotion though. Just let you gals know in case you want to order from them...

SY,
Where do you stay? Is $13.50 cheap for NB-sized Pampers?

PB,
thanks lor... i m coming back to work and you're abt to enjoy ur ML....

lbt,
would be clearing my balance of 20 working days of ML slowly lor cos need to bring bbA for checkup mah. also, i can take the ML to shop also. i need to revamp my wardrobe liao... all my pants, i can pull up but cannot zip or button!!! sad!!!

youpi,
my MIL will b taking care of bbA and gor gor will be taking care by FIL.

i m having bad headache now... sian!!!!!

SY
a similar thing is carper tunnel syndrome i think. when preggie women get pins and needles in arms. it affects people who use their wrists alot like concert pianists and heavy compute users.

but this stiffness, i'm not sure. yeah better to check.

re walking
i am so walking like a troll/ogre now...

re my cloth book for poppy
my mother is now on board as well! she's making one page, and then we'll send the separate pages to my MIL and and my GMIL (GrandMIL) will stitch everything together! woohoo! family heirloom! hehe.

piyoz
so exciting!!!!! keep us updated!!!!!

re tummy hardening
i also get a few, but not painful, not uncomfortable. just hard hard. normal, yes?

About baby clothes ...
I done overseas spree mainly just to check out the quality of the clothes.

Crater, Gap, Pumpkin Patch & Gymboree are good baby clothes. The fabric is thick and soft.
As for Old Navy, the fabric is "super thin" one. Not really good for children or baby. But it is cheap ... so good for my maternity clothes. Light and cooling.

Disney clotthes have nice prints ... but the prints dun last if it is wash frequently like my gal's. She will wear the 3 same t-shirt nearly evryday as she like the disney character on it.

As in Singapore ... get the mothercare ones especially during offers ... all the baby clothes can last quite long. The farbic is good.

Aussino towels are good but now no sale for it. Now sale only of Kids not for Baby items.

Join a babymallonline spree last week but the lady seems to have no response one.
Very sian....

Anyone knows the quality of babyonline product's quality. If it is good, I will buy more and ship it back myself.

Anyone doing these sprees, drop me an email, okie? Got to get my #1 & #2 some clothing ...

lbt
13.50 for 36 pieces. NTUC sells it at 16.20

i stay at pasir ris...

youpi
this is the cheapest i can find so far. another medical hall at my place sells for 14.50

piyoz
update us!! so exciting

re pink rompers
i saw some at mothercare but ex ex!!

re hooded towels
hee, think it's personal preference and i find it easier to put and cover their heads...

do1nk
dun worry. think it shd be braxton hicks. just make sure u time and see whehter it is regular.

re tummy hardening
me also got encounters of late... its normal rite??

re stiff fingers
will check with gynae next weel during check-up... better than last week but still can feel the stiffness throughout the week...

re diapers
tink will buy 1 pack of mamy poko newborn to standby lor... anyway will try to use cloth diapers during daytime for the 1st mth coz got CL to help change n wash... thks for sharing hor...

re hooded towels
tot it wld be good as can cover bb head too...

re pink rompers
tot i saw some at century sq kiddy palace n robinson...

pinkbunny: IIRC during my recent visit, my gynae did ask if i had pain in my finger joints, i say no. She say if finger joints hurts, thats water retention. But now, im having it..like 'feng shi' like that..cant even wear my rings now.

piyo
that's early !!
when did your #1 came out ah ?

my legs are very very tired after walking for a while only .. wonder if my gal has been gaining wt again ....

JMON

hai that;s the common thing we have to do after ML .. buy new clothes !!! v sian leh ..

i was soooooo depressed after my 1st birth.

SY

that's cheap ! pasir ris where ah ?

eh if BH contractions is getting more regular, means labour is coming soon too. just monitor.

JSP
you also still stiffy huh?
i'll keep you updated after my appt on thursday

re pink rompers
thanks JSP i will go check! but plain pink yes? no pattern or design? i saw at tom and stef but quite big the size

nini
i'm not sure if it's the same thing. cos they don't look swollen or anything. when they were, some time ago, that was a different pain. but yes now, it's like feng shi. and i long time never wear rings liao!

labbit
i so geh kiang, already buy some new post pregnancy clothes. really hope can wear sia! i just put it in front of me on the hanger, then agak agak. but the stomach is still peeping out from the sides. kua kua kua

I am so stiff when I woke up this morning.

Hubby ask me wanna go to work ... n I said NO!

I dunno why ... suddenly I feel my tummy is so heavy.