(2008/07) July 2008

SNL,

ya, i found it liao. not much design. mine 2 cots got 2 different size. think 1 is 23.5" by don't know how much. and 1 is 27 x 52". so i think the bbmall one can fit the bigger cot.

PB,
haha you use so many pillows ar..me just dumped mine last nite bcos gal puked on it and the smell really puts me off :p lucky got a spare one which is higher than my usual one,, surprised i slept better with it

re: nepia diaper
last time i ordered 3 NB and 1 S size.

re: gripe water
i only gave it when my gal was colicky, rest of the time is my hubby stealing sips at it >.<

re: dentist
i love going to the dentist...a bit " bian tai" hor? actually it's advisable for pregnant women to pay a visit to the dentist during this period bcos we tend to get tooth decay more easily.

hi gals...

i went to the fair yesterday n bought many things despite no Dumex (for my older kid) n mamy poko...

haha i got nestle cereal gold 3 packets for $5 (with free dipenser) but need to shwo birth cert

pampers ultra got half price but need to queue... only 80 pkts... i didn't queue cos my son never use. but think is cheap.

3Ds
EDD is 31 Jul. Thanks!

Fiona,
Re: gripe water. Mayb my HB is the one who will end up drinking most of it, same as yours!

Re: Wall stick-ons for alphabets, numbers etc
I know this is a bit of a random thought. Saw some vendors at my offc bldg selling those wall-sized stick ons for alphabets, numbers, shapes and colours etc for $3.50 each. Considered cheap?

braun thermometer
I was considering buying from the BP, but then the waiting time for shipping made me a bit uncomfortable.

anyway i just bought from robinsons (centrepoint branch) , 20% off!

SY
why your gynae suggest to do the Strep B test only IF you deliver early? Yes, the bacteria might be present and gone even without antibiotics. But nobody knows that the bacteria is there or not when you are in labour mah. So it's still good to do the test? Or just put on the drip without test to play safe lor. My gynae also didn't test for me, but he will put on drip for me during labour. He said he's KS doctor. Haha..

As for baby position, I'm also not sure if my baby has turned already or not as I'm still waiting for my next check up.. Oh ya, I have stopped doing the exercises, now I am just sweet talk to my gal and pray.

Bluey
I think someone mentioned that we can get Braun thermometer from NTUC Unity Pharmacy at cheaper/offer price. Maybe you wanna make a trip down to check?

Since the BP one got no warranty, no point taking the risk.

SY

is Nepia NB good ? I tried S, M and L before. All not bad. Best is Size .. super soft ... how I wish my pads are that soft ! ahha

if good I want to order too. let me know hor...

oh.. found it! it's dustee who posted the info.. errh.. dustee, you just bought from Robinson? which model and what price?

##
Posted by dustee (dusty_gecko) on Wednesday, June 04, 2008 - 5:28 pm:

braun thermometer, the $121 usual price one, i saw in the papers a few days back, ntuc unity pharmacy sells for $100.

but i know there's two models, one $121, one $131, not sure what's the difference and which one is better.
##

yeah hehe, i kept forgetting to check with Unity pharmacy.

but just now lunchtime went to robinsons, i bought the model IRT4020 (retail:$121.30)20% off is $97.04.

the BP model is IRT4520 (retail:$131). the robinsons auntie says the difference betw the two models is that IRT4520 stores 8 previous readings, but IRT4020 only stores 1 previous reading.

celeste
from ST Life - NAN 3 pro (their new name??) for 6mos to 1yo is selling at $10 (UP $45!! didn't know since when the price has gone so high!) with a Plush backpack as a free gift. But must show birth cert when purchase.

lbt
i use pampers NB and then subsequently switch to nepia for S. i think shd be not bad.

sonic
think i will still ask my gynae to do the test for me. just to play safe

re wisdom tooth
pretty sure i dun have cos the x ray was done...but quite interesting. din know that not all pple will have wisdom tooth.

SNL
for my #1 i used up 6 packs of NB diapers i remember. this time round i got 2 packs first.

just now went world book fair. bought some books for #2. not too bad deals i feel.

Rayna,
dont get so much newborn one. S size one can stock up more

sonic,
went to get the newspaper from secretary side there. Ya the promo of $10 for one tin of NAN 3 with a free hippo plush bag. But only limited to donno first 80 ppl or wat and time start from 6pm
and can only buy 1 tin *pengz*. Yesterday i bought 1 tin from ntuc first to let my ger try. Cos she drinking current NAN 3 havent tried new one so donno she will accept anot *lol*

haha labbit
YOU are still trying nepia? tight or not for you? you wear what size? kekeke

cellow
wall stickers, i never use before sorry

hi mommies
oni manage to log on now coz got a super long meeting in the morn n then lunch lor...

re: thermometer
anyone seen the 1 sold at the fair? comments? tink better buy sometin that got warranty one safer rite?

re: motherhood fair
tink will go early tomolo at abt 12pm... mostly looking for bedsheets, cooler bags, nursing bras n thermometer lor... any1 gg tomolo??

re: gripe water
tink can give a small sip to bb when young to reduce colic... quite effective coz i take when i got wind also... can mix into water to give to bb... if not juz a sip of it to NB lor...

re: cloth diapers
how much cloth diapers need to prepare huh? is 20pcs enuff??

Celeste Blur, i only intending to get 2 packets of NB onli. hehe..the rest just buy when need. at most first few packets pay a bit more. hehehe..if not now stock up wait cannot wear also wasted.

JSP, i'm also going tomorrow. but haven't think of what time yet. also looking for the same thing as u. but i don't need cooler bags and thermometer. =)

JSP
the list of things to prepare for baby says we need at least 20 pieces i think. i got 20 la. but i will prob use for other things also. like wrapping baby, or as burping cloth. i bought anaku and pureen. pureen was from the fair the last time, maybe now they also have. the pureeen booth look like got alot of good deals but the queue was very long and never move so i gave up

they also have the MADAME maternity pad that some of the mummies here like

nursing bras i saw at MIM, from $10. bedsheets i think there's 1 or 2 shops selling. cooler bag there is one. thermometer i didn't see.

PB
thanks for sharing... i bought 10pcs from anaku last weekend... will look out for the pureen booth lor... i also can get pureen at pretty gd deals from e KKH shop coz staff... heard they got pretty gd deals frm time to time 1... i saw from the MIM website that got GSS sale for online and their warehouse purchase lor...

cellow,
hahaha your hubby also like the taste...mine when young stole so many sips till cough, then got wack by his father :p

SY,
me also think it's safer to do the strep b test, i insisted too though my gynae also said it's not necessary. but will only see him 2 wks later, sekali before see him go into labor liao...then dunno how.

re: backache
my back constantly hurts, no matter how i stretch and change position, it's getting kinda irritating with this nagging pain and wish i could just lie down the whole day.

pb, yes pureen has some good offers like the detergents. cheaper than outside. I buy whole carton (cos anyway will use n easier to transport. payt was fast cos was there around 3...

i bought one MADAME to try cos seem cheap.

fiona
i got nagging pains too! but for me lying down is worse! so very hard to sleep at night.

re motherhood fair
pureen booth every fair also got. so even if u miss it this time, can wait for the next one...btu that's prob next year!

re bedsheets/towels
aussino having sale this weekend on kids stuff. can check out.

JSP,
20 pcs definitely not enuff if u are planning cloth diapers in daytime fully
Try to get at least 40pcs if possible.

Rayna,
Me never buy any newborn ones. Cos hospital give one pack of pampers newborn usually when discharge shld have like 20+ pcs left. Then I planning disposable diapers only nite time so I bought Mamy Poko S size only. Stock up 3 packs...hehe

PB,
Madame Maternity pad? how much hah? wait i sim tiah cos i bought then kotex one from carrefour liowz *lol*

SY,

for me, my back pain also come when i sit down on sofa... cannot lie back. (ache alot).. but lean forward my tummy like squashed.

in the end I try to lie down on my side... but wanna sleep... so sian.

yup sale will be nxt yr again. it always around march and June.

Celeste blur, wouldn't S size be too big for newborn? Don't think my gal will be very big when born. Gynae only estimate 3kg at birth. cos when i go see him at 32 weeks, my gal only 1.7kg.

Rayna,
mine that time after finishing the newborn one i used S size for my ger liowz. Sometimes those estimate weight not very accurate one. My ger born at 3.36kg i guess thats y S size still okies for her cos for Mamy Poko S size is for 3-5 or 6kg if i didnt remember wrongly

GRIPE WATER: never tasted a sip of this before all my life.. didn't get any for my BB too..

BB FAIR: smaller scale and not as fastastic as the one few months back huh.. was looking out for BB mattress and bedding... no mattress in sight..one bedding shop but not very nice I thought...

PB: hey..never show us your stunning studio pics yet? think we'll send our BB for a shoot but probably around 6-12 months old then?

FAN COVERS: speaking of fans...anyone knows where we can go get those fan covers so our little kids do not stick their fingers thru and hurt themselves? do you find it useful?

ACHES: wah u girls are having toothaches lately..for me today dunno why right arm's bone seems to be aching.. arrgh! feel like I have an old woman's body!

garfield,
$6 for 20pcs quite reasonable. But that time I only need those 10pcs pack. Then I saw Carrefour selling the Madame only got 20pcs pack think is $7+. So I ended up buying the Kotex 10pcs at $6

CelesteBlur,
hehee..never mind lah...think i'll just keep the goon newborn. haven't buy the nepia yet. so maybe can hold that purchase. =)

Rayna,
Actually 2 packs very fast one lah
so no need to keep can juz use all. But dont need to stockup anymore newborn one liowz.

re: backache
me get these pretty bad backache too when lying on my back so gotta slp on my side... budden slp on 1 side too long then arm will be numb so gotta keep turning frm 1 side to the other... makes slping so difficult... sitting on sofa worse... shoulder ache after sit for too long too lor...

celeste blur
tink will buy another 20pcs 1st... will use disposable diapers for nite... if not enuff then ask HB to buy lor...

re: breastpads
how many box to buy huh? which brand better? shld buy disposable ones or reuseable ones?

re: maternity pads
is 20pcs enuff? usually MS will last for how long? need to prepare normal pads also? me abit KS lor... wanna prepare so no need to ask HB to go buy coz he super blur and shy one lor...

do1nk
if got young children at hm juz need to be more careful or place the fan at a higher place lor...
also feel tat use the cover then like no wind lor... but if u really wan think can get from DIY shops or supermarts... got some got cartoon one somemore...

Sorry not wall stickers. Wall posters about A2 or A1 sized that adults stick onto doors/walls to teach babies the alphabets or numbers... $3.50 only leh. HB says doesnt quite fit in w the apmt decor, budden our priorities change.... Yikes I can see myself happily pasting bb's learning stuff up on walls and doors. *shudder

Re: Back pain.
Tried pregnancy girdle on, and my back suddenly felt much better! Din know I have backache until it disappeared. Of course bought it on the spot.

JSP:
i only bought 1 box of breast pad. disposable kind. i think i bought the pigeon one. that time robinson having sale. some1 told me get 1 box first. so at least if can't bf, then no need to headache sell away the rest. so when run out liao then ask HB to buy lor. poor hb, everything not enough, then he have to go buy. hehehe

do1nk, i rem last time watsons got sell the fan cover. but i find quite no use lei. my nephew hor, pulled it off the fan. buahhaha...so what's the pt of putting it since he can reach and pull it off.

re: fan cover
It's useful for me.. I used to buy at those shops at AMK, at around 5-6 dollars, now I buy at Daiso, which only cost $2. You need to know the fan size before you go and buy, cuz there are many different sizes.

re: breastpads
I used Pigeon disposable breastpads before. It's comfy and also does not leak. I've never tried a reusable one - I guess I'm not very "Green" - I used disposable things a lot.

PB

oops ehhe how I wish I can fit into the NB or S size lor !! my ka cng very big now .. cant stand it !

hmm maybe can order 1 NB and 3 size of diapers hor ? or maybe I wait until my visit at 36 weeks then see how heavy my ger is and ask gynae to est the birth wt.

oh ya need to tell u all.
it is good to keep a diary of baby's meal, poo, urine during the first few mths.

I rem I even keep a diary of how much I managed to pump out.

THen when you visit the PD, you can refer to your diary in case you are questioned.

So i keep the timing of my baby's feed, how much she drank via bottle, how often she poo each day .. all these info are impt when they are young. I think I stopped the diary when she was abt 5-6 mths.

JSP,
20 pcs if u wash everyday shld be enuff
but if raining for a few days consecutive then the diapers wont dry unless go n iron...hehe...me from experience :D

Rayna,
i think breastpad dont buy so much also cos from wat i hear some will leak some wont
But if will leak one really use a lot...that time i used like at least 2 pairs a day which is 4 pcs...at times 3 pairs *lol*
Then the breastpad when u change so heavy machiam like the wet diapers...haha

lbt,
u wear 2 layers very hot lehz...actually i tink this type if you buy those rayon spandex tube can also somemore lagi cheaper :D

lbt
i bought a nursing wrap instead... like shawl like that one but with 1 hole for u to slip ur head into... quite nice and useful if BF when outdoor lor... not so exposed lor...

lbt
i also keep record of my bb's milk intake. esp after i go back to work, i ask my maid to record. even down to details of BM and FM..haha

i actually recorded for quite long cos i wanted my maid to 'report' the milk intake. then when older, i planned the meals and record down what i wan her to prepare.

re breastpads
i heard the disposable ones are better...i only use Pigeon ones as well

re fan cover
please remember to get it! i thought not needed when my boy was older and he actually stuck his fingers into the fan for fun. lucky he was alright. just got the dirt on his fingers

labbit,
I agree with you. For my first born I copied the table from TMC cuz the nurse there keep track on the sleep time, feeding (time and how much milk), stool (how many times per day, what the stool looks like, etc.), bath time. I found it very useful, especially if you suspect the baby is sick, you can see from the table exactly what have been given to her etc. I actually kept track for the first 9 months.