(2008/07) July 2008

hmmm ... I discovered that US sells barun thermometer quite cheap.

bluey
Me too hate tat ad. Cos my son nw starts to keep saying "kor kor", "jie jie" when watching TV. SO when we reach the ad I gotta quickly switch channel.
Looks so horrible even to me.

Pinkbunny
Its very nice.....
U like diy right??....hehe
Cos I was interested in those "mommy necklace" but wanted to include my own details n after asking around for custom made ones found its not really cheap. But I found out that there actually a place that have classes on making silver jewellary. N u can buy them to diy as well.
Can't really remember the name of the shop but think the outlet was at Sunshine Plaza.

Good morning mummies,
Went to the expo fair last night and bought
1) Nneka pillow for breastfeeding from mumsfairy, apparently better than my breast fren
2) 2 bottles of gripe water - hb says must buy - ok la, humour him
3) one 3-piece feeding set ($10 only cheap cheap) from sweetestmoments... as if bb Cedric is gonna eat solids anytime soon
4) medela cooler bag [city in style] for $103 only
and last but not least.... a pregnancy girdle to support the bulging tummy.

So many pple in the evening I tell you... but most are very civilised. At least they look left and right b4 they rush. Budden one mummy looking str ahead still pushed her stroller wheel into my ankle from behind. Ouch. Din even say sorry, looked at me as if I was obstacle [gee, maybe tis my hormones acting up again]. Cheez. Luckily HB din see, o/wise he scold that noti mummy like anything liao....

Medela has 20% off most items. Tis the mums and babes stall nearly at the front of the expo hall.

PB
Wow, you managed to chiong the Motherhood Fair... dun think I'll be going 'cos this weekend is packed with activities!

BB Safe Mattress
I just bot mine at Mother Works at Great World City. They have it at 20% off.

Cot Sheet
If you think you have the time to wait, you can try ordering from the babymallonline sprees. The cot sheet there is only US$3.99 or US$4.99. After shipping, it is less than S$10. I've ordered before, the material is nice and soft... it is like the aussino t-shirt jersey bedsheet kind of material.

Breast Pumps
For mommies who are interested in trying the different breast pump, can try the Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group. They have demo pumps for you to try:

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

dor dor
i think ask my gynae abt whether certain positions or exercise will make bb turn. he says let bb decide on her own. doesn't encourage intervention.

yeah i have been short tempered too. hopefully after giving birth, this short temperedness will be gone.

PB
i use mistral. quite ok.

re gripe water
is it true that it has alcohol? i din give to my son last time cos some pple say got alcohol.

PB

i have mistral fan too. Not bad and not ex lah

SY

gripe water got alchohol ? sure or not ? if it is, think MOH will intervene ! We grew up on that right !!!

maybe U can chk the contents again. Anyway I seldom give my gal except when she had fever when she was younger .. other than that, I find it no pt cos it is too sweet. I prefer to give plain water.

dor dor
ya i like DIY
but that one a bit gao nan du to make la! keke.

cellow
hehe so funny. humour hubby about gripe water. actually i have never heard of gripe water until colleagues all said they had it as kids and that it was very nice.

you've decided on 'cedric' liao?

re stiff hands
oh, whoever has it, mine feel better today! i wonder if it's cos i've done the 'flicking fingers' thing alot yesterday, or if i spent last night sleeping on 3 pillows.

re sleeping positions
last night, my 3 pillow stunt was like almost half sitting liao. hubby laughed cos my head was like 1 foot above his lor. so gang kor. head and shoulders on pillows high high, feet propped up, then still must manoeuvre big and heavy bolster.

last night i told poppy 'girl, maybe tonight you let papa carry you so that mummy can sleep on her tummy can?' haha

re mistral fans
thanks guys. i'm prob going to get this weekend.

re toothache
i know it's a bit random but anyone got any toothache? wonder if it's preg related. i was eating prata this morning then realised owww very pain. then i remembered i was cut by metal door recently and my hubby was worried about TENTANUS but that was about 1-2 weeks ago leh. cannot be so long right? gulp. tomorrow go dentist and check better la.

PB,

During preganancy, your gums n tooth will be weaker as the baby "absorb" a lot of calcium & etc.

So the good measure to take is to drink milk regularly.

thanks bluey. i do drink lots of milk on top of my calcium tablets. but this one is really like toothache which i never get. quite scary. like got orh cheh in my upper right teeth!

3Ds, realised i either disappeared or was never on ur spreadsheet! anyway

Zone - East, Age - 31, Gynae - Dr Lim TC, Hospital - Mt Alvernia, Child # - 1, Gender - Boy, Name - Cedric

Yep yep decided on Cedric bcz HB and I are both Cs.... We will be the C family... wahlau a thot just struck me, wat if Cedric gets Cs during his exams? peng san.

Gripe Water.
Personally my mum Never ever gave it to me as a kid. The ones at the expo fair are branded 'alcohol-free' budden we can never believe all that we read rite. Dunno la, feed to bb then see if he mabuk or not :p
I think supposed to dilute w water one, I tasted it, so sweet until it is really yucky.

Thanks for the recommendations on bb cot! Will go check Ikea and Kiddy Palace out.

Where could I get Braun thermometer cheapest locally ... maybe 20% off in GSS?

Those in BP dun have local warranty. So I tot of ordering from US so that I could ship it back together with my medela order.

If I can find time ... mayb I be going to expo today.
Sat n Sun already packed with activities for my gal.

Haha PB and Bluey,
my own mummy told me every bb is like a parasite on the mummy's body.
Want calcium to build their bones, they take...
Want fish oil omega3 or omega6 to build their brains, they take...
Toothache is supposed to be very common during 3rd tri (again from 'what to expect when expecting')

.... if only babies would take away the fats, especially the cellulite around my thunder thighs!

lbt
i also dun really know but i never give my son gripe water. prefer plain water too

PB
during pregnancy, your gums and teeth are weaker. i get gum tooth once in a while.

cellow

ahahaha ya lor ! they take everything beside our fats hor ! and that's what it's left behind after they are out .. best present for mummy hor? ehhe

PB

wah u so garang ah .. I still have 2 with me ...

morning ladies

PB,
did u manage to see how much is Nestle NAN 3? Thinking of wanna drop by the motherhood fair tomolos anot to get the FM

me lagi more stupid ...

also extracted all my wisdom tooth ... why?
becoz I have free dental and got MC

Of course partially the tooth also giving me some problems.

I sometimes will joke with hubby that if i still hv the wisdom tooth, i might not marry him.

gripe water - is it to reduce colic? I've heard about it but never tried it. to reduce colic, I used Infacol on my first born. Works wonders.

The motherhood fair - is it very big? 2 hrs can cover the whole fair or not?

cellow
oh really? toothache is common?
ok. i better go read again. i keep opening and closing my mouth to 'feel' the pain and see if it's better/worse. my colleauge say i look like a fish in a tank

labbit
ya i still remember. on my birthday some more, papa brought me to take all 4 out. cos all grow horizontally and push my teeth in front so if i didn't remove, the front teeth will be crooked. so ironic - my wisdom teeth so stupid.

celeste
i saw NAN but not sure if it's NAN 3. i believe it was $30 BUT don't know if promo was only for yesterday sorry!

OK, news about the LBS BP at studio loft for anyone who is keen.

===================

BULK PURCHASE FOR LITTLE BIG SHOTS PACKAGE AT STUDIO LOFT!

==================

I am from the Jul08 MTBs thread and I'm organising a BP for LBS. If I can get 10 mummies to sign up for this BP, we will enjoy the following package:

1 unlimited photo session of 30 minutes for our little precious with 3 outfit changes (own clothes). In the end we will have the following prints at <font color="0000ff">$90</font> - 1 super 8R + 4 x 5R shots (add $15 per additional person).

The current price is now $120 for the same package as shown in their rate card: www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates

If we have more than 15 in the group, we will enjoy a special price of $200 for the CD of all shots of the photo session (unedited), instead of $250

To look at their work, do check out their website or scroll up to some of the older posts:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

Interested parties please PM me. I will collect deposit of $50 upon confirmation, and the remainder of $40 when the BP closes. If we don't meet the minimum number of mummies of 10 by the end of June then I will refund all deposits.

<font color="0000ff">The only restriction is that your shoots have to be scheduled between 1 July and 30 Sept 2008.</font>

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Pinkbunny

bluey,
Me that time after #1 went to extract 1 wisdom tooth. Now after my #2 i planning to extract 1 more *sigh*...forced to extract cos growing 45 degrees

PB,
Oic...
I tink $30 prob is NAN 1 or NAN 2 cos NAN 3 is selling $28.15 at NTUC so dont think the fair will be $30. I know Bukit Panjang selling at $25.50/tin but donno the fair cheaper anot...hehe :p

SDchick,
The expo motherhood fair is not very big in area - tis only half a hall size. [wont even try to give dimensions as spatially challenged]
But like any shopping trip, if you wander here and there, then will take longer. I spent 3 hours there... rem to dodge the insurance agents. HB spent so much time talking to them! haiya.

Cellow,

Thanks for the info. I'm thinking of going tonite, cuz I thought tomorrow and Sun will be packed. Many insurance agents - must remind my hb to not spend too much time. He tends to ask so many questions.

tell u even something weirder. i have no wisdom tooth at all! i never extracted before but when i did x ray of my teeth, the dentist cannot find my wisdom tooth. strange right? born without it....

SY you must have absorbed all your wisdom!

I have two extracted, and two left. wanted to keep for if i ever work for a company that pays more for dental (now this co only gives $100 yearly for dental)

talking about dental, is it safe now for us to visit the dentist? to get teeth checked and cleaned? the 'drilling' won't like, trigger labour hor?

SY

think ur wisdom is hidden ???? funny if you dont have ? ahah

got pampers on promotion at motherhood fair ?

ya lor wah biang. i dodge insurance people, magazine people, flyer givers, balloon distributors... *shudder*. had to keep one hand on my tummy to protect my little balloon keke

SY
not everyone got wisdom tooth one. and not everyone with have to extract one

dustee
i think it's ok to go for normal cleaning/polishing. but sitting in that position for 20-30 minutes... can tahan or not? i hate going to dentist. very stressful one

eh anyone keen on the BP let me know ah.

Re : MAmy Poko Diapers
If anyone wants to stock up on S size one. Now NTUC having offer at $22.75 for S/72 pcs

SY,
How I wish I no wisdom tooth only give me trouble n waste $ *sigh*. Heng my co. can claim up to $300/yr for dental but still need to top up some cos my extraction costs bout $400!!!

pinkbunny,

Can stil go for normal clenaing/ppolishing har? In april, i supposed to go for my dental checkup. When i told them i was 6 mths preggie, they said better wait until i delivery...

Re:lightheaded

I also got lightheaded lately. Will check with my gynae tomolo when i go for my 34 week checkup.

Hospital bag,

yesterday oledy start to pack my stuffs and asked my maid to start washing all the bb clothes and cloth nappy

xiaoyang
i think different dentists have different levels of playing it safe. mine is ok if i am ok :D my problem is i don't think i want to sit on that chair for 20 mins!

blurmummy
about 2 months plus right? cos we are july MTB, so even if you pop by 31 july, by end of sept, your bb will be 2 months old liao?

BULK PURCHASE FOR LITTLE BIG SHOTS PACKAGE AT STUDIO LOFT!

The only restriction is that your shoots have to be scheduled between 1 July and 30 Sept 2008.

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Pinkbunny
2. blurmummy

Bluey
haha, me too! most of the stuff is so much cheaper online! I try to avoid going to the spree threads unless I have something I wanna get... otherwise, sure end up participating one!

Barun thermometer
If you have Robinson's card, can go and see if they have 20% off plus you get additional 5% off from the bill. Think they have a 20% for members this weekend. Can also check out if guardian or watson's have any discount on it.

NB diapers
Can I know how many packs are you stocking up ah? I can't remember how much did I buy the last time round. I'm thinking of ordering 1 carton of Nepia NB (60pcs) but wonder if too much.

SNL
suggest you don't all buy NB. maybe you can share with someone who stays near you. just in case your bb don't like nepia how? and maybe buy some NB size, some small size.

SNL,
the baby sheets like very small like that. the one i like only got 1 size. cannot fit in my bb's mattress lei.

NB diapers,

i also don't know how much is enough. also don't know which brand to get. so i got 1 packet of GooN. and going to get 1 packet of Nepia NB to try out first. then after that, then ask hb go buy lor.

Rayna
You bby's mattress is the normal 28" x 52"? Perhaps sold out for that particular design... so far, the cot sheets fit my cot mattress.

PB
hahaha, the mommy likes Nepia lei! yah, was wondering if to buy a carton too much liao... maybe I'll order my boy's pull-up pants instead to make up for the number for free delivery. Or you wanna share with me? We stay near each other! hahaha

SNL
hehe mummy! must see if your baby's butt butt likes or not what keke. i already share with cin bunny
and i'm good to go for diapers liao. the other mummies here will testify to that

re sensitive nose
eek. my colleague was eating some foul smelling sweet and talking to me. after 10 mins of walking away from me, i can still smell it