(2008/07) July 2008

wai wai/star xin
most of my friends popped at week 38 so taking ML at week 37 was a good idea for them. for me, i just feel poppy will come early, and i don't want to welcome her as a stressed mama. i would really really like to relak jack before she comes

cos for me, my job is very much based on campaigns and just nice end of next week is start of another campaign so i can go off 'in peace'

star xin
you just ask lor "MEESEE, i want glass bottle!" hehe. and you're prob experiencing BH!!

PB,
Your b'day is on 12 June? Mine too

Cin-Bunny,
Sorry, I got it in my email so just copied and pasted. Didn't realise that the link would not work. You can go to the link that Fiona provided above. That has a link to the discount page. Thanks Fiona!

Jeanyard,
I am thinking of going to the M'hood fair on Friday too. Maybe we'll bump into each other - at our stage of pregnancy, we'll have the biggest bumps around! :p

Re: food at night
You can call the nurses to get you Milo & biscuits or sandwiches right? The nurses at MAH got them for me when I was hungry at night. Actually they would ask if I was hungry/thirsty and volunteer to get them for me.

Delphine,
Sorry to trouble you, but my EDD is changed. On my admission letter, it's stated as 17 July. So I gave you the wrong date. Pai seh. Sorry!

Sonic,
Yes, I am planning to bring my bottles to recycle, either tomorrow or Thursday. I think you can bring them in any time of the day while they are having the recycling drive. I'll call tomorrow and find out, and let you know, k?

hi mummy_yan
oic.. so thats ur twins..
today u went down and see them rite??
I m in the SCU room feeding my 2 gers..
I saw u but I dare not to call u cos I scare wrong lah.. hehe..
if u going down let me know ya..
I will be going down tomorrow from 4pm to feed them again..

the c section wound pain hor...
I go down and visit them everyday..
for the 1st 2 days after discharge..
I took pain killer 2 hrs b4 I went out..
so when I go out it will not be so pain...

my gers also in NICU for 2 days...
also heart pain see them with so many tubes and needles..

dun worry k..
they will soon be fine and transfer to SCU...
u must take care of urself...

me now waiting for jie jie to suck her milk quickly and mei mei to gain more weight so that both of them can go home...

Hi jaslyn,

Yaa I went down today with my hubby to pass the BM bottles to the nurse. I saw you too in the SCU pampering your baby to sleep.

Only in NICU for 2days! Thats very good. Mine guess will need to stay at least 3 weeks for the mei mei and 5weeks for jiejie. Thats what the PD told me. Hoping my milk will pump them up to enough weight. At least let 1 discharge first so bills not so shiong.

You are in confinement now can go down everyday ah? I hope to go down everyday too but my mum says during confinement I should not go out of the house so often coz cannot catch wind. So I cant go everyday. Hubby will go down everyday to deliver the milk and talk to the babies.

I let you know when I go down. Maybe can chit chat awhile.

star xin
i was just reading 'what to expect when you're expecting' (realised i stopped reading after 5th month or so hehe) and it says that BH can occur as early as 20+ weeks, just that we don't feel it

youpi
yes! same day!

re food at night
hmm i'm already thinking about eating midnight snacks!!! so yeow kwee hehe

Sorry to interrupt, I'm from Sep 08 thread. Selling a Brand New Maxi-Cosi Carseat/Infant Carrier at $230. Reason for selling: Got a stroller which is not compatible with Maxi-Cosi.

Retailing at more than $300 but letting go at $230. Got receipt and warranty for 1 year from 20 April 2008.

Condition: Brand New in plastic bag
Colour: Juice from 2007 collection
Self-collection at Toa Payoh

PM me or email me at [email protected] if anyone is keen. Thanks!

hi mummies..
hope its not too late for me to join here..
I was a July mummy last year n expecting another July baby tis year.Edd 31 July.
N im also a July baby..hehehe

Im seeing Dr Woodworth during my pregnancy n shall deliver in KKH staying B2 class..
Gave birth to my boy last year at 40wks3days..
n it was hard labour n lucky for me at tat time i took B2 class.otherwise my bill wud be sky high..
so tis time im afraid of having complications during delivery hence i decided to take subsidised class again.

Looking forward to know u mummies.. :p

mummy_yan
hehe.. so thats u..
okok.. u let me know when u go down ya..

I will be there everyday till my gers r discharge..

yep.. b4 I was discharge they were send to SCU liao...
maybe is becos of ur gers weight isit?
my gers r 2.065kg and 1.585kg respectively...
din expect jie jie to stay so long..
PD say she can discharge with me.. but then until now she still dun wana suck her milk properly.. so cant go home..

oh ya..
my gynea also gave me 2 jabs to strengthen their lungs b4 my c section..
did ur gynea gave u?

ya.. I m in confinement now..
my mum did say I cant always go down..
but then hor she also gan chiong.. wana see her granddaughters.. and I have to go down so that she can see them..
so she keep quiet and never say anything liao..hehe..
and I think she also know I wont listen to her..

for ur BM..
the 1st few days I also dun have much milk..
so the NICU nurses taught me how to massage and need to pump every 3hrs.. they also gave me a list of confinement food to increase BM..
u can get from them..
then slowly the flow will come..
for me my flow increase but then still cant meet their demand..
so must jia you.. hehe..

cinbunny, youpi,
you're welcome

jmon,
feel so happy that your gal is doing so well, she looks so cute in the pic.

lbt,
great news that your baby has turned...so guai listen to mummy.

JSP,
actually i'm directly with SGH, what abt u?

mummy yan,
forgot to congratulate you...CONGRATS!

jaslyn,
hope your younger gal will gain weight fast and be home with you soon

when my gal got jaundice and needed phototherapy, i also went down to the hosp everyday to give her EBM, actually is my chance to escape from my confinement lah hehehe...

PB,
not to worry, you can still do normal v delivery. being strep b positive doesn't mean you have to go thru c-sect, as long as it is treated should be fine.

Fiona
i'm frm singhealth corporate office... but not located on outram campus thou... wah... u mommies stay up so late one huh... me usually too tired when hm and last nite slp at abt 9+ lor...

SY
ya... think the frequency will increase when nearing edd lor...

re: ML
seems like maybe have to take at abt 38 weeks more safe lor... will wait and see then decide... anyway my boss quite okie with me gg ML earlier too... juz need to inform him in advance thou...

morning, mummies..

have you all been having a good night's sleep? I've been waking up a lot due to uncomfy positions..explains why I'm so sleepy and stoned at work everyday haha

Still unsure when to start my maternity leave coz.. what if baby is overdue..then I would have to sit around and wait, and lose precious time spent wiv the baby later..so I might just take only from week 39 onwards... most of you are spreading your 3rd month out?

welcome ju..wow so your babies will be one year apart too (think J_Mon's as well..) are you expecting a girl or boy this time round? what complications did you have for your first labour?

hope mine goes ok coz I opted for a one-bedder so dat hubby can bunk wiv me *afraid of floating nurses with no legs* hahahaha

morning do1nk,
u r early lor... slp was also not as gd for me too... waking up alot too becoz of certain uncomfy positions n keep gg to the toilet... me also tinking of taking ML only at 39 weeks at 1st but seems like bb would be out early leh... was tinking if take too early also veri sian at hm and wld be more kan cheong waiting at hm lor... so will wait n see then decide lor... me spreading my ML for the 3rd mth by taking 2 days off every week and ML shld last for another 3mths or so lor...

Welcome all new mommies!

Mummy Yan
Congrats on the arrival of your twins! Don't worry so much and concentrate on getting some good rest before they come home. Try to keep to the 3-hourly pumping to get your milk ss going.

When I had my no.1, he had to stay behind in the hospital as well 'cos he had some regurgitation problem... I din care and went to the hospital to visit him everyday... really bu she de to leave him alone at the hospital lor... and yes, it was a real heartache to see his little hand and foot being poked and hooked on tubes...

Jaslyn
Hope that your gers will be discharged soon too!

Lbt
Congrats that your bb has turned! Must be a load off your mind!

Maternity Leave
I'll be working till I pop like what happened the last time... I don't wanna waste my leave in case bb decide to come late
... I popped when I was 39 weeks the last round...

Avent manual pump
Hey, anyone knows if they sell the funnel separately? I know they sell the spare parts like the valves and massage cushion. I took out my old pump to take a look and it looked really well used... so was thinking maybe can just replace the funnel and not spend money on a new pump.

morning ladies

garfield,
I tink cos antenatal package also can claim back from medisave one, mabbe thats y i dont have to top up any cash cos the cash prob goes to pay part of the delivery bills?
Ya, my antenatal package very chea...$550 only can start the package anytime, think i started around 8-9 weeks that time. Then gynae's delivery charge by vacumn i think is $850.

lbt,
the glass bottle caps I use the NUK teats to fit one
But this time round for #2 i planning to use my avent bottles. Oledi bought the newborn teats liowz.

ju,
hihi...welcome here
Me also seeing Dr. Adrian.

JSP,
u so gd ah...sleep at 9+pm. Me now still sleep at 10+ to 11pm and wake up around 6.15am every morning...everyday machiam like walking zombie...haha

ya..I hitch a ride from hubby so get into work before 8am! By the time my colleagues get in, I'm already sleepy again haha

okie...so what are some of the things we need to take note of, now that our babies are coming out:

1) 3rd month ML declaration form to fill up and submit one week before we go on leave(http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/NR/rdonlyres/ACF600E3-C5E5-4789-9A64-08A2B4A323E0/0/GML1final140607.pdf)

2) Baby bonus...is there anything we need to do other than registering for it at the hospital when our baby is born?

urr...not sure what else we need to handle..

SNL

u can buy the rubber thing that fits the funnel right ? Oh what do u call that ah??

PB

no no, u can still go natural. Once treated it shld not come back again. If u r worried, do another Strep B test at week 36-37.

My gynae dont want to do for me yest cos say still early so he say do on week 36.

do1nk

u can fill up the bb bonus form after u discharge then submit when u register ur bb name within 14 days of delivery. no hurry lah ..

but yes u need to submit ur ML form .... i have already submitted mine !!

so fUn... mOre n mOre pplE joIning uS... hee..

sleepless nites: been hving lots of sleepless nights.. n when books recommend sleeping on de side, i oso cun get 2 sleep so smtimes reali pek chek... end up 2 plus den doze off n wake up 6 plus 7... reali a torture...

BB Bonus Form: Form is filled and submitted back to hosp ah? Nid 2 open bank account or smthing like tat?

dun noe y.. i m quite afraid tat i might suffer fr depression after birth.. cos for the past few mths mani things happen at work n i cry cry cry.. den of late.. when dun noe wat 2 do, i oso started crying...tink moi hubbi oso getting frustrated w me le.. how orh? any advise?

JSP,
ic...me in bowyers blk. eh..as for sleeping, it has never been a privilege eversince the birth of my 1st child hahaha...actually we slept at 9+, but bcos daddy gave her a few sips of orange juice before that so end up got alot of phlegm and can't sleep well...suddenly woke up at 10+ crying then went back to sleep, but poor mummy got alarmed and became fully awake after that lor...haiz

do1nk,lbt,
hehe me also filled up the ML form liao, but my HR said to hold on to it 1st, wait till i have my baby's BC then send it in together to them. so i kan cheong for nothing :p

re: ML
will see how long i can "dong", will try to take as nearer to edd as possible, same like most of you want to spend more time with baby after delivery. but i'll be taking straight off the 84 days follow by some AL.

ju
of course you are welcome to join us!

fiona
thanks for the reassurance. i do hope can go for normal delivery. today collecting the meds liao.

labbit
do another one? wow. hmmm ok i will check with gynae again when i see him next week. the nurse did say something about being on the drip just in case during delivery. yuck.

do1nk
stop it with the hantu talk! you're scaring me!
i'm taking a 2 bedder i think. don't remember. or maybe 4. doesn't matter la, 2 nights at most only right? and better that hubby goes back to rest also. as long as in delivery suite he is there with me all the time can liao

re ML form
wah thanks to do1nk and labbit for sharing. i don't even know must do such a thing! and er... submit to who? HR? or MCYS? hehe help!

re sleep
i get up at least 3 times a night (not including the initial 3-4 BEFORE i actually fall asleep). to pee, not cos of uncomfortable position. but the positions also not so comfortable la.

i am SUPER tired these days too. at all times of day. last night after dinner we were supposed to go out for dessert (coffee club just opened near my house.... mudpie....) but i went to lie down for a bit and then fell asleep for an hour! hehe.

SLEEPLESS NIGHTS:
Me having problems sleeping at night too!!!! body's preparing us for the coming night feeds.

BB Bonus:
Star, if #1 child, no need to open bank account. Just fill up the form and send back to the address indicated (think is to MCYS or something, not the hospital)

If #2, then must open bank account.

Don't worry..... they make it quite hassle free..... will receive the bb bonus package from the hospital after delivery.

Re : Sleep
me also another one having occasional sleepless nights. Last nite woke up a few times but heng at least so far dont wake up everynite to visit toilet yet...i try to make sure i empty my bladder before i sleep *lol*

hi SNL/jaslyn,
If I pump every 3hours, the supply seems to be lower each time compared to I pump after more than 3hours...will the supply be more consistant after the regular 3hours pump?

hi jaslyn,
know you bought the medela plus pump. Is it good in expressing milk? The 2 pumps will keep pumping out milk for you for how long?

I using the avent manual pump now. Pump until my hand numb ah. Somemore now supply so low, each time I have to simulate awhile before the milk starts flowing out.Hand tired. Intend to invest in a electric pump now.

I also got inject the needle to mature their lungs when I started my contractions at wk31. That needle really hurts man! and I was injected 2 times, 1 morning, 1 night!

mummy_yan

it will be low now but u will reap good results if you consistently pump at 3 hrs. Dont give up ok ! jia you ...

star,
try to think of more positive things ok? i also became more teary during pregnancy and be more aware of how you feel after delivery. i did have an episode of postnatal blues during the 1st time, i can't sleep for 3 days bcos whenever i closed my eyes i get very negative thots, but i was so tired that i can doze off when i was feeding baby. and i lost all appetite and was feeling really suicidal...

but thank goodness, a good friend came by my house and talked to me (i broke down when i saw her), it made me felt so much better after that. so try to get friends who are encouraging and will give you positive thinking during that crucial period.

mummy_yan,

ss will increase if you consistently pump every 3 hours....

For my #1, I started with medela manual.... terrible pump, pump till both hands numb. Then switch to avent manual, straight away ss increase by 50%.

you tried to put hot towel or hot heating pad over breasts before pump? Helps in the milk flow.

First few weeks while waiting for milk ss to establish is toughest..... stay positive...... JIA YOU, JIA YOU!!!!!

PB,
no prob...i'm sure you can have a normal delivery

do1nk,
me also scared of hantu leh, been having wild imagination lately but i'll still get a single bedder, think i'll leave the tv on whole nite but on low volume...haha

Celeste Blur
me slp early but still feel super tired coz wake up at least 2 times every nite lor... so got qty but not quality slp lor...

do1nk
me also hitch a ride frm hubby every morning so usually reach office at 8 also... thanks for the reminder on the forms to submit... me got no idea there's such a thing to submit lor...

re: BB bonus
i tot 1st one also muz open bank acc for gov to deposit the $3000 into??

yup yup let's stay HAPPY!! Looking forward to see my baby Lucien...is the name nice? hehehe

mummy yan,
keep up with the pumping, it will take a while for supply to establish but it will definitely increase. i used the avent manual and i think it's really good for building up milk supply but onlything is hand very tired (even my hubby can't stand seeing me pump and helped me...haha), so after that i got a medela electric dual (kinda noisy but worked well).

fiona, do1nk,

me also scared hantu leh.....

but after delivery so tired no time to think about that. Nurse carry bb in every 3 hours for feeding. sometimes bb takes 45 min (or longer!!!) for each feeding. So after bb feed, will quickly want to catch some sleep before next feeding.

anyway, I also opting for 1-bedder =) asking hb to stay over with me.

JSP,
do we submit to the ML form to the same HR dept? you can call siti at ext 4215 and the form can also be found on the intranet under ML policy.

re: BB bonus
the 1st one can deposit into either yours or hubby's bank account (i chose mine of course...hee)

piyoz,
that's true hor...in btw the feeding the nurses will come in to check our blood pressure and temp lah...so not much time to rest also hor.

me thinking my gal sure make noise when she see mummy not going home with her, so i'm going to prepare another bag with her stuff just in case, then she and hubby can bunk in with me liao

Sonic,
I called Pharmaplus earlier. The bb bottles recycling drive is going on indefinitely, so you can go in any time. For each milk bottle that you recycle, you are entitled to $5 off a twinpack of BFree milk bottles. The original price of the BFree twinpack is $41.50. Opening hours are 9am-7pm (Mon - Fri) and 9am-2.30pm (Sat). The shop is at the ground floor level of Camden Medical Centre. You can see it from the taxi stand. It's a small shop that stocks a lot of things!

I am probably going down later today. Then hop over to Delfi to check out Mothers En Vogue's GSS sale.

BB BONUS

For #1, only need to give bank account with parents' name. Then $3000 will be deposit..... but not straight at one go. $750 each time over period of 18 months.

PB,
ya, think need to fill in BC no. So must settle baby name and register birth first, then can fill in bb bonus form.

fiona
your hospital bag is fast becoming a suitcase? hehe

hantu
enough of hantu talk leh! i also scared. some more i remember the stories my mum told me when i was younger, when my bro was born *shudder*

labbit
in your application form, you got state 'i want pinkbunny to be my roomie' or not?

motherhood fair
www.motherhood.com.sg <- saw from today's paper's that some diaper brand (forgot what liao) is going cheap.

hmm..seems like I must be more diligent to pump every 3hrs.

Do you all keep sterlising the pump everytime you finish 1 expressing? So if 3hrly, total of 8 times/day, you sterlise your pumping equipment and bottle 8 times? Wonder sterlise so many times will the pump wear and tear fast

Fiona
heehee... me got no clues at all leh... will check with my colleagues lor... but i think diff leh... me gotta submit to SHS HR whereas urs is SGH HR lor... but will check b4 submitting lor... thanks hor...

re: BB Bonus
oic... 1st bb so super blur... anyway, i tink will be quite clear once got all the info...

Hi Star,
Pre- and post-natal blues are quite common, 'cos of our hormonal changes. Good thing we women are programmed to be emotionally strong! But do let it out if you have to. I was teary for a week or two after #1 was born, and like Fiona, would fall asleep while nursing 'cos I was just soooooooooo exhausted! But it will pass and things will get easier as time goes by. You can always come back in here for support from all the other mummies

Fiona,
Lucien is a nice name!
My #1 has decided on a name for #2 but it changes every few days or so. His favourite nickname for didi is 'hiccup'!

PB,
Hehe, same date, but different year. I am very lao liao!

Fiona,
MEV GSS sale is on until 20 July. See http://www.mothersenvogue.com/

I prefer their nursing clothes to the other brands. Have tried so many and I prefer the MEV ones in terms of design, ease of use, and comfort. On top of that, they now have the eco line, whose fabric is very soft and light. Even better, especially since I know I will be hot and sweaty then!

fiona
hehe cool. poppy give mummy present! btw for SMH forumers, we get 10% off mothers en vogue. just print the promo that is on the home page. cin bunny tell me wan :D us bunnies look out for each other keke

Only for July moms ...

snl,

I got a manual pump totally unused. Got the spares parts too. Going for $30/-.
Maybe if the spare I have is the one you need, I will let u have for $5.
I got the pics taken, will post tonight. See if you are intersted.

Letting go some of the unused Avent storage bags and others accs. Last night took the pics but no time to post.
Too lazy to put on auction or open this to other mom @ other threads.
So if the thing are unsold, I will just sent it to salvation army together with all my #1 gal pre-owned clothes.

Getting very tired nowadays ... "lazy even to lift a finger".

fiona
hehe..ya lor..
go down dun need to always stay at home mah..

SNL
thanks!!

mummy_yan
pump every 3hrs..
slowly the supply will increase...
and breast will not be so pain..

yep.. I bought the electric one..
its gd..
I dun have to use my strength...
I will let it pump until no milk lor..
about 15mins per side..
think better buy electric one..