(2008/07) July 2008

congrats on twin babies Mummy Yan

HI Youpi - i tried to click on the link with discount for MIM..but it goes to page not found..sigh..did you find the link on the MIM site? under which heading ? thanks!!

Hi Do1nk - did not see you in class last 2 weeks cos we went for thursday's class..tonite, skipping doctor's talk..terrible lazy parents..hehehe..hv u found your cot? ;)

re ML leave - i am taking at week 38..hope baby stays in till week 40,,so tired of work, need a break!

welcome to July 08 thread JSP and SDchick!

wah...i'm super duper sleepy today..how to stay awake tonight for the doctor's talk man...

Hi Cin_bunny..so you are skipping classes huh..my hubby's been begging me to skip but I've been dragging the both of us there..then we doze off during classes haha..

ya..after lots of drooling at the stokke sleepi..we came to our senses and got an affordable one from robinsons... sigh... nvmlah..can splurge on other baby stuff hahaha!

have you been buying more strollers? hehe

my little baby's been hiccuping a lot lately...wonder why..

stupid PC....everythin i type gone..

dustee
i hate my work too. can't wait for ML yet dun wan it to start so soon. my office shifting and it's really far. so i may not wan to renew my contract and trying to save all my ML now

qing
what time is your appt tmr? mine is 3.50. i booked my bed liao

jsp
wow 90%....that's a lot...

re confinement herbs etc
i also buying my own. will prob ask my mum to get from wholesaler.

SY
so fast book ur bed liao? me haven even been asked which type lor... heehee... yup... 90% including pre and post natal so pretty good lor...

hi do1nk..my hubby also fallasleep..right in front of mrs wong tooo...soo embarassing..yeah,. skipping doc's talk tonite ;)

the stokke sleepi is very nice but yeah, too ex la! and what if baby no like to sleep on it!

1 got 3 strollers already,,..lol..and only 1 baby on the way :p

do1nk
poppy also has been hiccuping alot lately!

all hail cin bunny, stroller queen! hehe

delphine
yay, gemini buddies! doing anything special? i got gynae appt :S but guess that's a good thing cos get to see poppy
after that maybe go for nice dinner somewhere

re booking hospital
i told the nurse at clinic at last appt (last week) that i want Mt A 2-bedder so i guess when i go next week can collect the admission letter liao...

re bottle teats
oh ya, someone was mentioning must punch hole right? i better go check tonight if mine got lobang or not....

celeste, i also delivered at TMC the other time. i was upgraded from 4 bedded to 2 bedded n somemore i didn't use vacuum n epi... but i fork out cash of abt 1.5 k

think my total with medisave was abt 3.2 k.
i check w gynae n he say it correct.

think it my gynae charge alot... how much u pay for antelnatal service package?

SY
huh? i'm not TPS patient... dunno lah... see how it goes for next gynae appt lor... if still no sound then i'll ask lor...

PB & do1nk,
my boy boy also been hicupping alot recently... at least 1 or 2 times a day to be exact...

bluey
was busy yesterday noon, didn’t log in to check, so have you ordered the bottles? I think I missed the boat... but but lbt gave me lights! Hospital provides FOC bottles?! If so, I can save $$ on collection bottles lor.

lbt
the glass bottle is so good huh? can used as feeding bottle as well? no wonder I see so many mummies asking for bottles in other thread.

youpi
thanks for the info about recycling the milk bottle. have your recycled yours? can we just bring our bottles there any time any day? the website didn't say leh.

SY
First teeth - what is the min order? I might need one or two tubes to test out first *blush*
As I'm afraid my boy doesn't like it.

dor dor
yes, I did the exercise every night until recently, I stopped liao cos I'm afraid what if baby already turned after I did the exercise first few times, then she might get the chance to turn back again if I continue the exercise????? Still don't know whether has she turned as my next appointment is another 2 weeks from today...

celeste
my boy is 18mos liao, still don't know how to express himself, let alone spit out toothpaste.. :p

mummy_yan,
congrats! hope your twins go home with you soon.

err.. why so many July babies can't wait to come out early to see the beautiful world he.. I hope mine little one will be guai-guai stay inside till July.. So she can share same birthday month with me.. hehe... better still, same birth date!!

garfield
my ante natal package (dun rememebr start from what week) is $650. inclusive of appts, scans, pre natal vitamins and calcium pills. scheduled appointments only.

wow...so much postings, had hard time reading all...kekeke

welcome to all the new mummies!

PB,
i wish to take the ML earlier too...but i "bu she de" leh...but very tired lately with this growing bump...*envy*

JSP,
hehe me also in healthcare that's why delivering at SGH this time, dun need to come up with any cash

hmmm...recently i find my tummy looks lower, hope it a sign that i'll deliver soon.

celeste,sonic,
my gal at 21 mths old also doesn't know how to spit..hahaha think too early bah. i'm using first teeth too, and i always just put a thin layer on the toothbrush.

mummy_yan

congrats ! and take care of urself too ! hope ur milk supply comes in real soon.

sonic

the glass bottles are FOC and serves its purpose ! can store and feed milk using that.

PB, do1nk

bb has been hiccups lately ? ask them to drink more water ! ahahha that's the silly ans my hubby gave to my gal too !

oh today went to see gynae .. bb is abt 2.6kg at 34+ weeks. annnnnnnddddd

<font size="+2">SHE HAS TURNED !!!!</font>

hehe i was sooooooooooooo happy ! gynae say this bb very kuai lor cos I told him I keep talking to her.

felt so relief !

btw booked MAH 4 bedder liao .... though a bit noisy but can save $

gynae told me once our BH contractions becomes more regular, it also means labour coming very soon. mine still abt 3-6 times a day ... so I guess still got a bit of time.

Will also do the strep b test when I see gynae 2 weeks later ...

Hi MTBs,
1st time here on this thread after going thro all the geographical / b-feeding which-pump-is-best / maid vs infant care vs ILs threads.... Skimmed through briefly through today's postings only and wow, this thread is certainly active compared to the rest of the above I visited.

Short intro - 1st bb boy due 31 Jul, booked MAH already, pte obgyn, intend to b/f and now psycho-ing myself to give birth naturally w/o epidural. HB is nesting too... he nagging me to pack my hospital bag!

Mummy_yan, congrats! hope your twins can be discharged soon.

pb, mine the same as u... so wat hospital package u goin to book? so this time i can check on par... last yr my antel natal was $550.

sonic, my bd is also in July n i hope my bb also!

garfield
i think i asked for 2 bedder in Mt A. or maybe it was 4. i don't remember liao hehe

labbit
congrats!!!! yay your bb very kuai!! *pat pat*

do1nk
thanks for the hic link!

PB

thanks !

btw MT A will send u a form and I think u need to indicate the no of bedder again .. cant rem .. then rem to fax in the admission letter so as to expedite ur admission when you are admitted.

JSP
think u ask next time. that's what i understand from the nurse.

sonic
no min order. just consolidating orders amg frens. the more the better cos can spread out the shipping.

oh sonic ... me will order tonight. Must not drag, else cannot reach in time.

after lbt hightlighted can get free ones ... just thinking abt how many to buy now.

Will still get some as if I order online, each bottle(BPA free) is about $USD$0.65 ... of course w/o shipping, lar.
I get the free glass bottles ... I still need to buy lid which cost ~$0.60. And glass a bit heavy ... I am very lazy one.
And my work need me to travel to different sites often so I have to travel as light as possible.

So I will still buy some online and also get some glass ones for standby. Very KS, hor

Teats:
Pigeons teat good or not? Or nuk better

Fiona,
U in singhealth isit? tats y deliver at SGH huh??

SY
will ask the nurse when i go for next appt on the 16apr lor... btw how often do u go for ur gynae appt huh? coz seems like some mommies go quite often whereas i not so often leh...

bluey

actually i think still depends on which teats bb like ? that time I experiment Avent and NUK teats with my #1 and she prefer NUK. when she was older, I then switch to Avent.

mummy yan,
congrats on the arrival of your twins..

i have not received my bill from kkh. you gave birth at TMC right? not sure abt the charging leh.

i stayed at B1 (4bedded) when delivered my #1, so when i gave birth to my #2, hb wanted to let me stay B1 but the nurse stopped him as my girl is premmie &amp; needs to stay in NICU and dont know how long she has to be in NICU, nurse said the bill could come up to be $54k for B1 (can be fully paid by medisave if both daddy's &amp; mummy's have so much bear in mind tat CPF only allows us to claim $450 per day for treatment related fees, not inclusive of diapers, wet tissues &amp; other misc costs) but our medisave a/c dont hv so much, so had to pay $14k by cash.

the nurse said since i delivered my #2 naturally, the most i stayed on 2days so advised me to stay C Class, so bb's bill will be charged at C class rate which is estimated at abt $13k for 98 days which it wld be fully deducted from hb's medisave

my girl stayed in NICU for 3 weeks then SCN (special care nursery) for abt a mth.

also, for premmie, they need to go back to hosp for checkup quite regularly, like yesterday i brought Adeline to kkh for eye checkup, i tot we would be paying 1st timer walk in rate, but who knows, her bill still tag on C Class rate.

btw, both my hb and i didnt not go kkh everyday to deliver BM. i normally stored them in glass bottles which i get frm kkh &amp; froze them in my fridge and deliver 3times a week. so wont b so siong for u and ur hb. normally premmie does not drink so much at 1st. i remember my girl drank 2ml at start &amp; doc will see how well bb can digest the BM then slowly increase. if they cld not digest well, the doc wld stop a few days then let them try again. &amp; now she's drinking 60ml

lbt
congrats that your bb has turned. i dun think mine turned laready. still feel the same to me when she moves.

re teats
yeah depends on bb preference. my #1 uses Avent but i dunno whether #2 will like Avent or not so dun dare to buy more during sale.

JSP
i m going every 2 weeks now. i think different gynaes see their patients at different intervals...how often do u go?

garfield
^5!! hehe... my hubby said to my bb, have same birth date as mummy so that you can celebrate together... and..save $$ on buying the cake... aiyooo...

lbt
that’s good news!! your gal is so guai, listening to mummy. So you didn't do the exercise that I did???
Hey, I think I will give up the exercise, and use my mouth to sweet-talk my gal to turn too..

SY
ic... you let me know when you are ordering okie.. thanks.

bluey
hehe.. you are not KS lah. you just want to be well prepared. Yeah, since you need to travel often, it's good to have some plastic ones for standby. as for myself, I didn't manage to bf last round, so I'm afraid I might not be able to bf again this time round... So initially I thought I would want to order one dozen of medela bottles, but since glass bottles serves same purpose and it's FOC, think I will get some glass bottles instead...

sorry, won't join you this time.

lbt
Avent teats also can fit the glass bottles?

cin bunny

i think NUK and Pigeon teats can be use on each other's bottle but beware they have wide neck bottle too. Avent one is the biggest among all so cant fit into NUK or Pigeon.

bluey

no those caps cannot be use on Avent teats, only normal NUK or Pigeon ones.

cin bunny

actually i think all these popular bb brands products are good, just depends on bb preference. I see some newborns take well to Avent teats while some tends to leak milk when using the same brand during feeding.

sonic, no cant use Avent on the glass bottles.

yeah i did try ur exercise but for a few times only cos I dunno when she has turned and what if she turn back????? so I sweet talk to her and my niece helped me too ! whenever she sees me, she will talk to my tummy and say " mei mei, can you turn?" ahhaha

so that time I bought both NUK and Avents to try on my #1.

sonic
i tried to do exercise but then my back and groin very pain..

sonic,
i get 2 tubes for u first. once it is available in stock, i will place order.

SY
after my last appt at 32 weeks... next appt is 3 weeks later... which is on the 16 apr lor... guess gynae will increase the frequency soon coz now still abt 7 weeks from edd lor...

so sad ... want to use Avent teat.

#1 using Avent. Also brought some Avent bottles for #2 already.

So now must buy NUK or Pigeon ones to fit the bottles.

gals

managed to found a pic of the cap I took 2 yrs ago .. u see the opening is v small .. Avent one cannot fit in.

the 1st one is the assembled one, the 2nd item is after I detached the 3rd item and u can fit in a normal size teat.

1464016.jpg

JSP
i m 35 weeks this week so that's why seeing gynae more often. think after your next visit shd be every 2 weeks then followed by every 1 week

haiz..my gynae relak jack too..only seeing her every 3weekly still...till I'm wk37! and she's gone on holiday too..

since we can't tell which bottle our BB would take to.. I've gotten only 2 bfree bottles of 160ml for now... will buy more when bb takes to it...

lbt..ur 1st was delivered naturally ah?

anyone did perineal exercises yet? dun quite know where to start leh...

yup normally from 30 wks plus onwards freq of meetin gynae is often.

now my visit is every 2 wks.

my bb i still abt 1.5 kg... v small.. i hope she delay until wk 40 then come out... hoping she out at 3 kg...

sonic, her edd v close to my bd too... hmm but i doubt on the same say since my bd is 2 days after her edd... unless she like her bro also late lor.

hi mummies... when will u start taking maternity leave? my colleague said baby may pop 2 weeks before EDD, but i scare if i take leave too early then waste the leave leh...

pinkbunny... thanks for the lists!! can start packing liao keke...

mummy_yan...congrats! take care!

garfield
hee.. my bb edd is also very close to my bd le, 5 days after her edd.... so I hope she will stay inside till that day lor.. but I think it's not very likely cos many said #2 usually come out early.

cin bunny

yap for the glass bottles I got from MT A.

do1nk

yup, i delivered first one naturally. It was a wonderful feeling when the bb pass thru you canal into this world !!

mummy yan: it's so cool 2 c ur pair of twins, isn't it? congrats to u!!!

labbit: u r reali so cute n your bb oso veri obedient.. u noe.. moi bb oso kip hicupping.. den hubbi asks me drink more water 2.. so funi, ya? but then bb listens 2 daddi more den me.. sometimes i tap tap him, he refuses 2 budge.. den hubbi tap tap him den he moves.. makes me so sad...tinking maybe bb dun like me... *sOB_sOB*

ML: after sm thot n seeing all ur opinions, i tink i m taking moi Ml fr 37 weeks 2... else i scared i kanjiong if i due when at work place..

Glass bottles: how do we ask for the glass bottles fr the nurses huh?

to all: recentli been feeling stiffening of moi tummi.. den makes me difficult 2 breathe or hv apetite... ani idea y is dis so??

labbit
orh, thanks!

do1nk
i started liao. but ask hubby to do for me hehe. it says 'if mummy do by self, use thumbs'. i'm like huh? how to reach???

re bottle caps
how much ah? and buy from where? got a shop at Mt A that sells? i never notice

re natural birth
so i failed the strep B test right? and gynae sent me the prescription. i see that it's only for 10 days. does it mean after that i will be 'cured' liao? the nurse did mention that i will be put on the drip during birth. but hubby and i were wondering if this means we should be considering c sect