(2008/07) July 2008

JMON,
I also personally seen maids before at my void deck they bring the babies down then they chit-chat. This one is okies nmind...but the bb drop the toy then she use her toes to pick up the toy and stuff it back in the bb's mouth! *pengz*
Tats y it makes me think twice abt having maid again unless i really cannot take it.

some 'creepy' thing happened to my maid..

she usually washes her clothes (incld. the inner one) at nite then hang at the corridor.

then one morning she told me her panties (not bra) are gone.. OMG!~! and happened a few times liao, she also very scared..

then we come to a conclusion that the Bangla works for town council took it. reason: last time the Bangla used to sweep floor very fast along the corridor. when my maid came, he will take his time to sweep floor and sometimes looking into our house frm the window along the corridor... we suspect it's him who took my maid's panties..

then one day when he sweeping floor outside, my mil kaypoh and asked him if he's the one who took the panties, he claimed that it's not him.. pls lor, when will a person admit he's the thief?! duh!!!

celeste,
basically, i dont like maid to be fren with other maids..

u will nv know what they have talked abt and teach each other some funny ideas....

i ever see a few Indo maids at the basketball court next to my blk chit-chatting and let the kids run around and dont care abt them. and the way they seated, wa piang, open legs wide wide, so Chor Lor... some more there're many Bangla around leh

for eg, one will tell another that she does this at her employer's hse and everything's ok.. so the other maid will learn and do the same thing, u see.... i dont want this to be happened...

i dont even allow my maid to talk to my 2 SILs' maids. i mean not those chit-chat and small talks lah. if like asking where to keep the plates, etc still can talk lah....

i told my maid she's here to work, not here to make frens and get paid. if she wants to make fren then go back to indo, wat for come to SG to work...

JMON,
But sometimes i feel that they can get lonely also one. I dont mind them knowing other maids but then they must be disciplined. But sometimes to be frank how many maids are really disciplined?
Thats y last time my maid I always try to find time to tok to them and chat with them on and off. Then I pay for the phone cards and let them call home arnd twice a mth or so....also told them if there is a need they can tell me and I will let them call back also.

Hospital Cloths
I dun think i would bring clothes to hospital to wear most likely will wear what the hospital provide. But of course i will bring 1 sets clothes to wear when I discharge.

Pads
My gal friend was telling me to wear at least 2 pads at one time coz it will leak, for her case she wear 3 pads at one times i was like huh so thick can walk meh isnt it uncomfortable.....

Beef
My mum has stop me fm eating beef coz she say(old wives tales) eat beef bb come out skin will be a bit rough not nice ....so far during my pregency i have only eat 3 to 4 times ....

so far i think i m not that unlucky. my maids dun give me serious problems. small ones yes but not serious lah.

my new one tends to spoil my boy so trying to make her understand that she cannot give in to him everything.

after all these discussion abt maid, i'm determine to do without one after my confinement. my maid always chat with the next door maid, and i believe she taught my maid alot of nonsense such as asking for a transfer bcos she was afraid of taking care of my coming newborn(oh plsss...i won't let her touch lor), and she lied it's bcos she can't stand my mil.

the maid next door will shout at the employer's youngest baby and leave her to cry when she's not happy. i ever overheard her talking on the phone while in the employer's room & balcony.

yeee maids !

mine is coming in v soon leh. She is fresh from Indo and no off is given to her. now I v scared .. dunno how to handle her. heng my mum will be with her whole day so she better be good.

my agency promised to refund 70% of insurance within 1 mth and 30% after 1 mth.

SY,
that time my 2nd maid from myanmar...my ger wanted to play with her shoes, she let my ger take the shoes n play on the table...imagine all these things we try to teach n instil proper stuffs to our kids then they come and spoil everything...which is why i very sianz after these 2 maids *sigh*
then imagine that time on CNY eve, I brought my ger to cc, left my maid at home asked her to help me "da sao chu", can you believe what she did? She only wipe the furniture and the kitchen toilet for a good almost 6hrs+ that we are not around. When I looked thru the video she spent 2-3 hrs idling away. then I asked her how come she never wipe the kitchen all these she say she donno must clean! *pengz*
Tats y i still believe most maids will be quite okies with someone around or at least popping in on and off to check on them. Those maids that are independent and gd are mabbe like 1 in 10! *sigh*

Fiona,
actually since ur MIL is staying with u, its quite safe to have a maid...if i have a older folk staying with me I most prob will get a maid also.

SY,
btw ur video cam can write to computer harddisk one? If wanna know how gd our maid is just view a few days of screenings then u noe if they are doing anything farnie behind our back

Serene
The pads hor when I was in TMC after birth they will let u wear 2 pads leh 1 look like those night pads slim n long then they will put the kotex maternity pad on top. I think very secure cos if the 1st 1 leak the 2nd 1 below absorb.....hehe

Delphine
Ur hubby back liao aah. No wonder u Mia for awhile busy caring for ur girl aah.

celeste
i dun need to track that closely. i use my mobile phone to view so i can view anytime i want. i just roughly need to know what she does during feeding etc. then just to check what time my boy takes nap.

i know most maids idle when no one ard. my previous one was like that. din get anything done when my boy went to sch. but very easy to know one. and as long as she can clean and do most of the stuff required, i dun really bother with what she does with her time. bare min is place must be clean. and she will prep the dinner stuff before i reach home.

SY,
checking on and off is not accurate...pardon me for being frank...cos me same as ur case maid w/o anyone jaga previously...cos there might be times she is not treating ur boy properly when u didnt happen to see it or she might actually have brought ur boy out w/o informing u. *sigh* I also dont mind that they idle as long as they finish their tasks but hor I dont want her to go out w/o informing me all these things and then teaching my ger bad stuffs. Which is why I usually try to go thru the video for at least 30mins to max 1 hr everyday, sometimes fwd mode...*lol* to make sure at least my ger is being treated properly. This is quite impt especially in the earlier mths i feel cos we still dont really know their character all these yet cannot trust them so much.

SY
your current maid has settled down well already? Good to hear that. Mine is still not stable yet, but showing some improvement lah. Check with you hor, do you tell your maid that you have cctv at home? Do u engage the contracter to install for you or just DIY? Hmn.. I'm thinking to DIY, but must source for a cheap one first, then install after given birth.

Varicose Veins
-----------------
mummies, to my horror, I have discovered that both my legs have ugly spiderweb-like varicose veins!!!!! Don't know when it starts develop leh... they are so ugly.. can be seen so obviously when I wear dressess…. my sis was telling me that I can't wear dresses anymore… so sad… and the saddest thing is my mum told me that they won't go away even after I've given birth…. It will be with me FOREVER… *sob sob*

sonic

oh no ..ya I heard these veins stay with u for life. I guess ur bb weight is pressing on your knees. Try not to stand for too long ?

celeste
i think the difference is that my maid took care of my boy since new born. those that take care from newborn usually more attached and know how to handle better. as for current one, my boy is older already so can talk already. in fact he bully my new maid a lot and i dun like the fact that she allows herself to be bullied.

my first maid was with me before i gave birth and i had 3 months of ML to observe her. so we can roughly tell. i think for yours, cos your maid only started when your gal is 10 months so a bit different.

but anyway, i m thankful that i got one who can be trusted in the initial years. this new one needs to be observed when i m on ML. so far still ok.

sonic
mine more or less settled. can tell she really tries hard to win my boy over.

i m using mobile livecam from singtel. convenient service. nothing to install. just place the camera where u wan and then use your 3G phone to dial in.

I'm new on this thread. My EDD is actually 15 Aug, but I'm going for c-sec on 28th July at Gleneagles. It's my 1st baby and I'm a SAHMTB living in the east. Hope to meet more friends here

Sonic
I have varicose veins behind my knees since I was in primary sch n they r still there now but during preg looks more obvious.....sigh

Delphine
So......got ur LV bag anot??
Hahahaha

very xin ku now with the bad throat (sound like frog ler) and persistent coughing. no time to go doc today. taking woods peppermint and losenges from pharmacist. tomorrow if still like that i better go see doc. but paisay to take mc cos i was on leave yesterday. sigh.

welcome, catherine

dor dor,
when did you give birth to #1 and what was the weight? I controlled my diet and bb was 3.3kg at birth on 39th week. think 2nd one will pop earlier?

re: varicose veins
I'm getting them too!! massage lady says it's because tummy is too cold. maybe it's true cos I haven't been drinking a lot of tonic soup this time round since busy with #1.

Catherine,
why are you having c-sec so early?

pinkbunny,
go take MC lah. it's our privilege.
For consistent cough, I recommend orange skin and apricot seeds from Chinese medicine hall. much better than all syrup from western med.

Jeanyard,

My gynae gave me 1st Aug for c-sec. She said 2 weeks before due date. But cos 1st Aug is the 1st day of the chinese 7th month. So hubby and mummy all say no good. So checked with the gynae if bring forward another 4 days ok or not .. she said ok. Cos for c-sec usually stay in hospital for 4 days .. so just nice can leave before the 7th month :p heehee .. I think they feel cos 1st baby so better not to be in the 7th month.

PB
a lot of viruses ard. better go see doc and get MC. i also down with flu and cough.

Catherine
welcome! which part of east u stay? i stay in the east too

celeste,
got someone ard my maid can still idle, that's why i complained to my mil why she grumbles but never check on the maid when she's out of sight for some time...maid must always check on them one.

PB,
alot of ppl are down with sorethroat now, you better see a doc and rest at home.

sonic,
you may wanna try wearing support stockings. my friends who walk alot wear them during pregnancy to prevent varicose veins.

catherine,
welcome

Jeanyard
My #1 pop at exactly 36wk 2.68kg.
#2 might be earlier according to gynea cos my #1 was early n I already on anti contraction pills nw means she worried my bb come out early lor.

But somethings very hard to say scarly this naughty girl make me wait till after edd still dun wanna come out......hahahaa

Pinkbunny
Must take care aah weather not good prone to sickness easily.

Dor Dor,
Yippi yeah... he manage to get one for me. so happy, my birthday gift ba.

Pink Bunny,
betetr take care, weather not so good. take MC if necessary to rest at home.

morning ladies

SY,
Yuppies...agree fully...in the initial stage must really spend time to observe the maid...otherwise not easy. Mine is not becos of no attachment, she likes my ger but hor after she hinted to me wanna borrow $ and i refused then she started all her attitude thingy liowz. Thats y i dont think i can tahanz a maid unless i have someone around...imagine if the maid give u problem 6 mths down the road u need to change, then donno need to use how much AL liowz...cos ur case u still have ur mom dropping by to jaga the maid initially so u prob dont need to burn so much AL. I still feel safer with my ger at cc cos at least i know that there is so exposed and so many teachers, children etc I know that they at least wont be ill-treated *lol*
. But also another set of problems lah...they get sick more easily...*sigh*

Fiona,
Most of the maids need ppl to check on them tell them to do this or that then they will go n do. But there are also maids that are really gd and has the initiative. But I don't think i have the time and energy to try until I get one like that
*sigh*

PB,
if really dont feel well go and see GP and rest for 1 day. Cos imagine we in 3rd trim oledi tired and sick somemore very xinku one
take gd care *hugz*

celeste
one thing i realise abt maids is also cannot spoil them! when my first maid was taking care of my boy alone full time everyday, she was quite good. then as my boy got older and more active, we thought it will be tougher on her. so my mum and mil started to go once a week each to help out. but we realise that by making things easier for her, she gets lazier. it got worse when my boy went to sch! so some really dun appreciate our efforts at making things simpler...funny hor.

thanks for all your concern. i was up coughing almost all night and taking med/lozenges every 2 hours. this morning got up with ah lao and went to clinic. can you believe it. only 3-4 people in front of me and i waited an hour for my turn! i just sat there getting sicker and sicker. walau.

finally at home and eating breakfast and will sleep soon. zzzzzzz

SY, was it you who was talking about mask of pregnancy some time ago? i saw a poster at clinic saying there is med to take for it and it should go away in 8 weeks from start of med cycle. i THINK it's galderma or similar. sorry, brain not really functioning well hehe

SY,
Yes....this one my fren was telling me I am too relaxed on my previous maid thats y they give me attitude *sigh*. This time round for ur maid you really have to make sure you let them do more things cos if they too free now later when ur #2 arrive and they got more things to do prob they will just tell u they wanna change employer liowz. I heard a lot of this kind of cases already

To me I feel that since they come overseas to work quite xin-ku liowz so i dont wanna stress them also as long as they do the basics for me will do and most imptly take gd care of the child. So I try to treat them well, I go those nice places to eat I also order those main courses for them. Its like treat them too well they climb on top of ur head liowz

PB
it's ok. thanks a lot for mentioning it. i think if wan to bf, maybe cannot take certain medication also.

celeste
yeah too relaxed also no good. they start taking advantage. so now me and my hb rather be more strict now so that she understands that when bb comes, there's more work to be done.

but also depends, some maids really wan to earn money and will work hard. msut get those with older kids one.

SY,
Ya...thats y i also know there are gd maids around. Actually for those with older kids you are not necessary also. My first maid have 3 kids. Her oldest is i tink high school. She sort of wanted to borrow $ from me becos she say her kids not enuff $ to study. I donno how true is it but I told her before I cannot lend her $ like this. Cos I sort of heard a lot of stories...once u start lending them $ there will be no end. So it just boils down to their character with no regards to age or anything one *sigh*

SY

is it true that maids with older kids perform better ? my coming maid has 4 kids .. oldest is 12 and youngest is 2. I chose her partially becos of this reason. and also it was my gal who picked her hahaha

PB

rest well .. drink warm water and dont turn on the aircon at nite.

lbt
i seen a lot of cases where those who have kids tend to perform better cos they really need the money and need to work hard.

celeste
i think maids seldom will borrow money from employers. your maid really trying to be funny. shd get the agent to tell her off.

SY,
Then u know hor for my 2nd maid I chose a younger one saw that she got 4-5 younger siblings. I think she was the oldest or 2nd oldest. Her age was like 25 i think. I thought its gd cos her youngest sibling is less than 10 yrs old so I asked agent they told me she got experience taking care of her siblings so I took her. Aiyo...another horrible one. Come here hor still got bring those Nivea cleaners, moisturiser one. Then wear those tight little tshirts and then donno how to take care of my ger and donno how to cook. *pengz* Nitemare siah...I still need to buy dinner for her after work all these. Sleeps earlier than me also...thats y after bitten twice i very sianz liowz. I think me same as Fiona no luck with maids *lol*

Varicose Veins

I got them too. I am wearing compression stockings now. Bought from Guardian at $40++ for a pair after discount. It helps to circulate our blood.

morning ladies..

re maids
aiyo.. hear all the stories hor very scared..
my agency say she will short list some maids for me cos that time I went there they dun have much..
so hope will have some luck..

Speaking on maids, Just wanted to share with you my recent (monday only) drama with the maid. We also got an indo maid 2 months ago so that we can train her early in prep for the baby. Thou her main task is only hsework cos I wont entrust a newborn with her and I intend to be a SAHM next time. After working 2 months and already getting used to things here, suddenly she mention that she want to leave after paying up her loan, which is in July. And I'm due Aug. So my hubby was so angry scream at her and bring her back to the agency. At the agency the maid also nothing to say. We never mistreat her and she herself admit that we treat her very well. And then we came home to pack her clothes and send to the agency and found that she had planned all these. She wrote thank you notes to us and also that even if we dont send her off after reading this she will still want to go back after the loan. And we found that she keep alot of newspaper cuttings of maid agencies to work in HK. Ultimately alot of these maid's main purpose is to go HK to work cos got off day, PH and double the salary.

I spoke with the agency and they say she no matter how the maid still have to find another employer cos she still owe them 3 months salary. We already paid her 2 months. Which means the maid will prob at her new employer try this stunt again to ask to go back then cos she already got her passport ready, she more easily can go to HK.

We were so angry cos now we have to start all over again with selecting and training the maid. So sometimes these maids all are very cunning.. They only pretend to be stupid. And all along we keep telling her that Aug baby coming , now she not much things to do so can relax more. We suspect she already link up with someone for HK that's why she want to act now.

jaslyn
i think must make very clear our expectations to the agency. initially my agent got for us one that she think is good. but cos i need the maid to be more alert and more initiative and better communication skills as she needs to be alone in taking care of my kid, the maid wasn't suitable. so once all these expectations are clearer, she got one that's more suitable.

catherine
that's really terrible of her! nothing the agent can do?

SY,

replacement for me only lo .. but it's such a waste to have to retrain the maid again
But lucky we found out now rather than in July then I really faint

hi all, i'm back in action liao! wow amazing what some med and some sleep can do to you!

caitlyn, you changed my name to PONKbunny? haha.

labbit, ya drinking only warm water. but no aircon.... cannot la too hot! hehe.

just thought about a very strange thing - read in the papers some time ago about mothers eating their placentas. you guys heard of that? what, they give it to you in a plastic bag then you bring home?

SY
ya lor..
my agency ask me to list down what I expect from the maid..
but think my eyes also must open big when selecting...

pinkbunny
u must rest more k..

PB
think that practice is quite common somewhere else. it actually started a long time back. dunno how they do itb ut i find it so disgusting...

Jaslyn
maids must try out then u know how they are. can't tell from just looking. make sure u understand what additional charges u may incur for changing maids if the maid doesn't work out. i was actually asked to pay for the insurance again but my mum told the agent not to charge me.

catherine
yeah it's the time wasted..but since u r going to be SAHM, it's not that bad. i needed to train my maid fast cos i needed to get back to work. maybe u just observe the major things like how well she cleans and cook. other things can train when u r at home.

gals

usually how many days of leave u took to train ur maid ? I tot of take 2 days only .. then my mum has to take over liao ..

PB

i heard some ppl dry their placenta and then grind into powder form for consumption.

I still rem my placenta ... very well defined and looks like pig liver ! even got a pic of it ! ahha