(2008/07) July 2008

my nightmare has started... my boy didn't get to rest well in the afternoon so he's cranky now...

my niece is here when she saw my FIL wanted to carry him, quickly ran to him and cry for carry also... SIGHHHHHHH!!~~!!!!

eu yan sang
======

20% off promo is on till 11 may (mothers day). so take your time! i bought 1 concentrated one. from $75 to $60. try first....

JMON
======

alamak. ok relax relax, don't stress!

I am taking the concentrated one ... 1 time 1 spoon not very siok, leh.

So thought of buying the dry ones and cook it. The shop attendance mentioned that it is more worth it.

Any advise?

Little bear,
No pain, just ticklish, but ticklish from the inside. Then he will decide, no, dowan already, and say, let's lie down.

PB,
Don't be scared, it's very natural and easy once you get the hang of it

PB/jaslyn,
This one can't b learnt one leh..it's in the men's natural instinct/genes leh.. Too bad for the ladies, our genes is more maternal so tends to take care of them more. So we must stay manja hor haha..then they'll sayang us hehe..

fiona
======

when you said "can see the milk shoot out from the duct" i dunno why but i imagined austin powers and the robot bimbos with their pointy neh neh outfits haha

men
======
sigh ya lor. bo bian. ren ming. that's why there are terms like 'housewife' and 'SAHM'. because men cannot be trusted to take care of the house and its occupants!!

hehe all these talk abt birdnest .. and I am having boiled birdnest with pao sheng now .. yummy !!

SY

ya i heard ppl going to LC for massage so I v scared too. I did had blocked ducts and had fever after that but heng my gal was able to clear it when I latch her.

i had to work over the weekend and i'm super tired plus i'm insomniac so i'm like a pregnant zombie whale trolling the forums. but i told my boss it's very evil they let a pregnant woman work over the weekend alone and insisted i get the day off today. i suppose i will just make up for lost sleep.

my brother says the baby might pick up on mummy's sleeping habits while pregnant. gosh, i'm gonna get an insomniac baby -_- i really hope not!

bird's nest
i'm taking some 'zheng zhong ping' brand (shops in toa payoh and plaza sing basement) bottled bird's nest. only coz mil got them in some hamper. it's the normal type, not concentrated. i thought maybe more shiok to have one bottle to drink instead of one tablespoon leh. but hmmm maybe will check out the eu yan seng ones. is it really good for the baby or it is just decadence for the mummies? :D hehe

maternity underwear
any mummies wearing maternity panties? like those big big ones that cover stomach as well? as the stomach gets bigger, is it okay to still keep wearing bottoms under the stomach or better to wear those bottoms with the maternity band?

morning ladies

JMON
relax... cannot sigh..
not gd..

bluey
not sure if its more worth it cos normally is my mum buy and cook for me...but its more shiok cos can drink one bowl.. hehe..
and they also say hai yen is better for pregnant mummies.. so maybe u can go find out the price and compare...

Fiona
true also hor..
haiz..
ya.. must manja now..
cos now manja is not wrong.. haha..

lbt
ask u ah..
u eat birdnest with pao sheng..
u got eat the pao sheng or just put for the taste?
cos my mum as me to eat but dun like to eat it like that leh..

dustee
u wake up so early??
must try to rest more..

really ah..
bb will pick up mummy sleeping habits ah?
aiyo.. I always cant sleep leh...
next time my bb also like that?

dustee
======

a very limp high five to you. me too, always work on weekends. retail, no choice
most weekends in may and june i'll be working too boo hoo. but colleagues are nice, they've volunteered to take over me. the bump helps!!!

re: birds nest. heard it will give baby smooth complexion (and mummmy too!). not sure if true though. oh i tried the concentrated one last night and this morning. verdict - though not as shiok as compared to drinking one bottle, the amount of birds nest in the ONE SPOONFUL is far more than all 6 small bottles combined!! so i think it's very wu hua!

re: maternity underwear: i'm wearing normal small bits of cloth (and speaking of which, my husband has to help me put them on in the morning haha). don't like the big big ones. i think there's no point to desexify myself further haha. but as long as stomach is covered cos mine if get cold, i'll get stomach ache. so bottoms are under stomach, then i put on the maternity belt (not the band, i've stopped using those, i'm using the back support thing now), and my top goes above all that and covers my stomach. nice and warm

rachel
======

thought you might find this interesting, for bkk shopping: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1276962.html

dustee
no proven theory that it is good for bb but no harm taking. just dun take too much. only got a report that if take too much, bb may be prone to allergies.

i only took very little for #1. this time round even less!

no lah, bb sleeps even when u r awake....but maybe will be used to the rocking motion of u walking abt..

lbt
my boy din wan to latch so i pumped total. that's why get clog ducts if i dun pump properly....

jmon
do take care and dun be too stressed!

SY
======

don't pump properly? got right and wrong way of pumping? pigmentation - is it 'pregnancy mask'? if yes, it will go away after pregnancy, don't worry

labbit
======

haven't try the pump on my hubby yet haha.

massage
======

my back really ached yesterday so i just plonked myself on a pouffe in front of my hubby when he was watching heroes and made him massage my back haha. seems like he really did pay attention during the ante natal class 'how to massage your wife' section!

afraid of embarrassing 'accidents'?

In a recent BabyCenter poll, 70 percent of women said they were afraid they'd poop while giving birth, 39 percent said they actually did, and of those, only 22 percent were embarrassed by it. Though it's hard to believe now, if you do have a bowel movement while you're pushing, no one will blink an eye. Your caregivers will clean it up possibly even before you know what's happened.

due to early POP, i hv 2 BRAND NEW Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventive and Reducing Cream. Purchased at a promotion, 2 tubes at about $50(can't remember the actual price). now selling 2 at $40 (incld. postage).

if you or your other frens are interested, please let me know.

PB
hmm, cos pumping takes effort and must really make sure u empty your breasts. for me my supply not so good so need qutie long time to pump. then must massage etc before pumping to let the milk come out easily

i think it's pregnancy mask but my fren said her pigmentation din go away...

PB,
that's really funny thot...now austin keeps flashing in my mind with the repeated " mojo" he always says...

SY,
me same like you, also need to massage my boobs while pumping sometimes, feel that can empty them better. but i heard if the pump is good then dun need to squeeze here and there leh, is it true? i used the medela dual pump(not PIS) and it's very noisy lor, thot of getting the Ameda dual pump this round but feel the pinch for getting anothet pump...any suggestion?

PB,
i also didn't know whether i poop the last time, but they'll usually give you a fleet enema to clear some bowel before you go into labor.

pinkbunny

dont worry, u wont poop. You will be cleared of your bowels before ur labour starts. The midwife will insert a pill into your a**s and within minutes, u will be cheonging to the toilet !

jaslyn

i did not eat the pao sheng leh. If ur mum find it wasteful, maybe u can add hot water to it and drink until it taste blend ?

SY

same here, my gal dont like to latch too so I have to set alarm clock to pump every 3 hrs during confinement. How long do u intend to BF#2 ? my target now is 6 mths .. cos I think I sure be v tired to handle two now !!

Fioina
i use PIS. it's always the last bit that i always need to massage to get it out. the intial part i will massage so that it comes out easier. why dun u get second hand pump? if u wan to have #3 then shd invest in a good pump.

poop
======

haha then now i scared that i will pop by baby into the toilet bowl keke. not sure if i have told you girls before - when my MIL gave birth to my hubby, the doctor say 'madame, here's your son...' then when they put him on her stomach, he panged sai on her hahahah

lbt
oic..
my mum say is pu to eat the pao sheng..
but I dun like so she end up throwing it away...
maybe I ask her if drink can anot..

regarding poop..
sounds eeeee...
but I saw news on mums where they go toilet then gave birth then bb stuck in toilet bowl..
so I now try not to use too much force when I go toilet for big business..haha..

pinkbunny
ur hubby gave a very gd gift for his mum leh..
"gold" on her hands.. hehe

Hi all MTB

Anyone interested in this CD? It's a 2in1 Album for both mummy and baby. Selling at $12.
1371754.jpg

Also selling baby poster at $1.50 each.
1371755.png
1371756.png
1371757.png
1371758.jpg
1371759.jpg

Afternoon Mummies!

Long time MIA - a lot to catch up. Just finished my marathon business trips and Shanghai (last week) will be my last business trip since my gynae is not issuing anymore letter for me!

To all new mummies... welcome...

JMON!! Congratulations!!! Wow... delivery after driving test... Double Congratulations to you for passing the test and of course your baby.... I thought 32weeks is early but you at 28weeks??!! I salute you....

For those mother of more than 28weeks, do you have any pain or uneasiness when standing up after long period of sitting?

poop
Usually midwife / nurse will give you pill to clear your bowels and then within minutes, you will need to go toilet and clear them. However, its different if you come in and already about to give birth...

Sheila
ya will feel uncomfortable..
cant stand long...
me coming to 30 weeks liao...

I salute u also ah..
can travel so many times..
I just go Japan when I was ard 13 weeks already like taking half of my life liao...

Jaslyn
i dont know whether it is because of my business trips or walking too much, i'm experiencing bloated legs (water retention) every day.... In my last 3 pregnancies, i only experienced water retention after 36weeks.... sigh... i guess it is good that my gynae is firm on not allowing me to fly anymore....

Pain to stand / walk after sitting
Previously, it was worst with some joint aching. But ever since i diligently take my calcium pills, it is slightly better...

Bag for hospital
Mummies, have you start packing your hospital bag? I have initially planned to start around end of this month or early next month but based on JMON's case, i believe i should start packing... just in case.... For your reference, a checklist can be found at this link http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_classifieds&act=resource&task=details&resourceid=207

Breastfeeding & Babycare
While at mumcentre website, i stumble into this event, Breastfeeding & Babycare Seminar by Mrs Wong Boh Boi, this coming 3 May 2008 organised by Pigeon http://www.mumcentre.com/retail-amp-service-providers/details-1317 . I recalled someone mentioned Mrs Wong is the LC in TMC that's conducting ante-natal classes, right? Anyone interested?

SY,
i'll consider buying another pump 1st...as for having #3, that's out of my league liao...been telling hubby i'm gonna stop at this no.2 and no more...dun wanna traumatise myself mentally and physically all over again, but never knows lah, maybe kena accident??? hahaha

PB,
wa sei you hubby good leh...presented his mum with gold immediately after birth :p

Sheila,
The flight alone can make you get water retention and especially since you are preggy.

Sheila
think is the flight and walking..
I also have water retention from 20+ weeks..
and my gynea say I never rest enough...
so I guess ur gynea dun let u fly liao is gd..

I think once into 3rd trimester..
all the pain start coming..
cant avoid hor..
I cant even sleep properly...

I also havent pack ah..
esp when I may go into labour earlier..
hmm.. maybe will start packing liao..
thanks for ur list!

sheila
=========

welcome back!

thanks for list. packing for hospital, not sure leh. feel it's a bit too early i guess it would be hoping for too much if i just paste the list somewhere in case i need to rush to hosp (touch wood) and ask my hubby to bring the stuff right? i can just imagine him saying: "pack nursing bras.... where she keep her bras ah.... ok better call her" haha.

re: water retention: watch your salt intake! also raise your legs whenever you can. i put a step stool under my table so i can raise in 2 heights, depending on how full my stomach is haha

evon
======

by the time i get back it's usually about 7 plus. still got or not, around that time? never mind, today i will try

caveman
======

V funny i wrote to my MIL and told her about caveman syndrome. she said aiyah very normal la. my hubby's father also like that.

i am suuuuuuuuuuuuuper sleepy now

haha fiona posted this yesterday:

the thing abt hubbies...
i went for a parenting talk before, and the psychologist mentioned usually men will be in "caveman" syndrome once they are off work, which means they will block out anything else and just rest.

btw mummies i'm having a bit of trouble breathing now... chest feels very tight. and i don't think it's my bra... maybe my top? cos it's not maternity top and it's stretchy kind... maybe too small? dunno....

have not been logging on for a while. on leave to as new maid came. initially she's quite ok except taking very long time to do houseworks, can u imagine that she took 3 hrs just to wash a toilet? and she claimed she has experienced taking care of toddlers in jakarta, but i don't see that convincing lor. but then i can still tolerate her, as she follows my instructions pretty well when doing housework, so i thought i can slowly train her up. who knows after 3 days, she slowly shows her true colors. she became very forgetful, every things she does, she tends to forget one small little step in between. and she use my personal thing in the toilet without telling me. when i discovered and questioned her, she denied instantly. after i asked few more times, then she admitted. so i warned her that she is doing something very wrong which i don't like - steal & lie. i gave her a chance, and warned her after spoken to agent that if she's going to do that again, i'll send her back to agent.

don't know what's goes wrong with her, suddenly last night she throw away something that i don't like. then this morning suddenly told me that she actually didn't throw, she just lied to me. so she had lied twice, therefore asking me to send her back to agent.... *faint* it's obviously that she purposely did it to make me angry so that i will send her back. so drama..
when i asked her why she wants to go back, was it becos we are not nice to her, and scold her becos she lie. she said not, she claimed that she's not suitable to work in Singapore, and she wants to go back to Indo. i don't know what to say, i asked her to think abt it and tell me what's her intention again...

really don't know how to handle her.

SY
how's your new maid now?

paiseh mummies, me grumble alot after coming back.

JMON,

wow... congrats on the arrival of your little princess. though early, but glad she's doing fine.

with an active toddler at home, it's hard but tty to relax and enjoy..

i went for check up this am, my gynae was just sharing with me about a baby delivered by him at 23weeks.

on breastfeedng, were u the one who took the pill to stop bf last time? i asked a LC before, if that will affect our milk flow this time, she said it should be alright. so i think as long as u pump or latch diligently, milk flow will be established well sooner..

do1nk,

i read that u are moving house soon? can we move house while preggie?

i'm thinking to move things out from one room to another, but my friends said better not moving a thing now leh.

Sonic,
I think if she is not interested to working here, just send her back. no point leaving her here where she has no heart to do work. Maybe she just missed home.
Quickly send her back and ask your agent for a replacement before you are due..
So far, my maid still ok.. just that my gal dun like her maybe she see her as a stranger. so till now am still handling my gal. household chorus, she is still ok.

thanks sonic and sheila....

sonic,
tells ur maid, it's not easy for them to go back, they can go back provided they paid their loans fully...

delphine

i'm thinking likewise too. but my husband and agent said better give her some time to think abt it again, cos she might change her mind again.

sigh.. i just find it troublesome to get a replacement maid, cos my boy quite ok with her now. what if my boy doesn't like next maid, then i got to change again..

Sonic
think better send ur maid back..
cos if u dun.. they will come out with alot of pattern to let u send them back..
then it will be closer to ur delivery date liao..

sonic
i changed my new maid once already. this new one is better but also tend to be forgetful. i find a common thing amg them is that they dun like to ask when they dunno.

yeah most impt is dun tell lies. i hate that! if u dunno how to do something and u ask, i can still take it.

oh most of the time they say they know how to take care of bb not true one. my previous one came and i was so shocked cos she cannot even wear pampers when she said she take care of kid from 2 years old to 5 years old... and when i asked whether the kid wear pampers she said yes.

shelia
wow u travel so much? think that's too tiring...

i have very bad backache on the left. when i lie down i cannot move easily cos of it. dunno is it cos of bb position or what...

JMON

ya, i told her abt the loan too. she said she will get her family to pay off her loan for her... i wonder if her family can afford to/ wants to...

jaslyn
ya lor, they can come out with different patterns, that shows they are not stupid, just merely acts stupid.

u are getting a maid too right? better act fast, taking into consideration that you are due in 5 weeks leh.

SY
my this maid also, dun even know when to change diapers when my boy's diapers is too wet till leaks out.. when i asked her, she said her previous employer's baby don't wear diapers, not even nappy... wear nothing?

sonic
ya lor.. they always act stupid..
and when u ask them they will say.. no..
everything also no..

ya lor.. getting a maid.. will be going down this sat to choose one..
cos hubby always not free and he still say he wana to choose the maid..
cos he say must choose one cannot "scare" his gers..
I say is cannot "scare" u or cannot "scare" ur gers..
u see liao u happy rite..

regarding family pay off her loan...
if her family can afford to pay off her loan..
she dun have to take loan and come to work lor..
and then normally family back there only waiting for $$.. where got so gd pay $$ for her..
thats what my mum's previous maid told me..