(2008/07) July 2008

DAIRY GOODS: cut down? but there's where we get get most calcium from right? coz I'm not taking any supplements... only folic acid and iron pills...so my calcium comes from my daily big glass of milk...

LAUGHING TOO HARD: hahaha! can really induce labour ah? Have not laughed hard for a long time..but yesterday I laughed so hard I was in tears..then realised tummy very tight.. n was asking hubby if my baby is feeling happy inside or feeling cramped..hehe

GREEN TEA: can anyone remember why green tea is not so good for us? couldn't resist a can of pokka after lunch...

do1nk,

Dairy good, don't have to cut down, just take in moderation cos our body cannot absorb too much at one time. It is the same with folic acid, which is similar to vit. C, too much will be flushed out by our body.

do1nk
actually yesterday just read an article that says any type of tea is good! i guess take a little bit is good lah.

lbt
dun worry too much lah. maybe your gal will be ok....but i do hear that pediasure is sweet. but really ex lor.

evon
=====

aiyah just now i was at the fruit shop and i didn't see it leh! the fruit shop is at the corner one right?

do1nk
=====

dunno leh that's what my gynae recommend. that's why my package got calcim tablets. but nutritionist say we need 900-1200mg a day leh and my calcium tab only 300mg. personally i'd rather have constipation now than risk having oestoperosis next time ah!

green tea... is it cos too liang? not sure

SY

can hint wat toys ?

lbt
i doing the BP for wooden toys from voila. i looked ard for some time before deciding that that is more quality and value for money.

re waddling
i think it is quite a common thing for pregnant ladies to waddle. just feel more comfy...

i think when i walk, my feet want to go in 45 degree angles. thus the waddle. hehe. last night slept at 10pm! really getting so tired these days.

3rd trimester liao!! even closer to seeing poppy!

do1nk
then maybe take your folic acid in the morning and drink green tea at other times..

pinkbunny
very fast hor....u will really miss poppy in your tummy....i wish tie will pass a bit slower cos the thought of all the sleepless nights etc kinda scare me but i also wish to see bb earlier. so conflicting.

morning mummies...

when I walk hor..
my hubby say can see from behind I pregnant..
cos leg open.. haha..

yesterday went for growth scan for my twins..
I thought it was another detail scan but no..
and it lasted about 30 mins..
the sanographer say my girls are on the smaller side.. one 1.1kg the other 1kg only..
so kind of worried.. haiz..
I eat so much but they not eating...
then the prof say must rest also...

jaslyn
you having twins but your bb are pretty big i feel. at my last check up, my bb only abt 500g. how many weeks are u now?

when me and my sis born, we only abt 1.5kg each.

morning all..

SY - think i fd ur thread! i lurve those wooden toys lor! hee.. so tempted to buy so many.. haha.. but will e qlty of e toys be similar to those wooden toys fd at e shop in tanglin mall ah?? i tihnk my hb will faint again..haha

Jaslyn,
Your twins are bigger than my bb. They seem to be a good weight what. How many weeks are you now? But yes, rest is very important esp since you have two in your tummy, so do try to keep your feet up as much as you can

caitlyn
hee, i also love wooden toys.

u know the better toy store at ngee ann city? they carry the haba brand. that brand is also from thailand but much more ex. for this brand, the quality is also good. i have seen it for myself. i ever bought those cheapo ones before but keep chipping until i dun wan to let my boy use. and got once i bought this quite established brand one (dun wan to say the brand here) and guess what the paint keeps chipping. my hb almost fainted cos that toy cost us almost a 100 bucks...he said i lousy recommendation..haha

if u interested to get any, let me know ok? hee, i also quite crazy abt wooden toys one...

jaslyn
======

ya i think your babies are bigger than mine too! at my last check (26 weeks) poppy was about 700g+! wow you must really be feeling the weight now. do take care ok? like what youpi says, try to rest as much as you can!

community message - water retention?
======

apart from raising your feet at night when you sleep, when you are at your desk, try to exercise your ankles too - point your toes down, and up, down and up, many times a day. and try to do 'twinkle twinkle little star' with your fingers (open and close, open and close) to prevent blood and water from pooling there, causing swollenness.

SY - okies.. i already fwded e site to my hb.. but my boy only 10 mth old.. haha.. all those i wanna buy says for 3yrs n above.. so e qlty will be similar to e haba brand? my hse becoming a storage area liao lor! n just over e weekend i cldn't resist n bot e GD cards.. no $$ liao!!

cailtyn
hee, when i buy toys i also buy sometimes for more than their age. dependso n what i wan to do with him.

for those not in stock let me check with them again. let u know okie? hee maybe u wan to post your qn there easier...

SY
me at 28 weeks+
u and ur sis are born in which week?

youpi
thats y lor..
I thought 1kg suppose to be of gd weight leh..
haiz..
me at 28 weeks+
yep.. I will rest more thanks!

pinkbunny
yep.. quite heavy and they are always pressing down on my left side.. pain..
yep.. I will.. thanks!

jaslyn - both ur bb sounds of good weight leh.. but i think maybe coz twins tend to be delivered earlier so e prof wld prefer them to be on e bigger side for their gestation week? my ger only 600g at wk 24... seems to be one of e smaller bb here

haha no la caitlyn. just like any regular kanchiong mummy, doing a bit of research here and there. then thought might as well share lor since i have the info anyone. someone is bound to benefit from it

have been busy these couple of days.
missed out so much...

anyway i am going for my first antenatal class today @ KKH. pretty excited thou.

my bro-in-law, said that they used johnsons & johnsons products on their now 7mth-old baby boy, and noticed that his skin got drier and drier. then only improved when they switched to an organic brand.

mummies are you using j & j? coz that's what i thought i would be using, but i'm thinking now maybe i should think about alternatives.

caitlyn
maybe bah..
ya.. twins wont be full term lor..
will check with my gynea on fri...

ur ger 600g+ at 24 weeks did ur gynea say anything?

dustee
=====

hmmm interesting. i bought johnsons top to toe wash and pink lotion liao :S mummies, any comments?

groin cramps
=======

anyone getting a crampy feel in their groin area? not really cramp but just a bit suan suan, almost like period kind? i just started getting a bit today :S

calcium and nutrition
======

got this from one of those pregnancy websites:
in your 3rd trimester, Every day, about 200 milligrams of calcium is deposited in your baby's skeleton, which is now hardening. With this rapid growth, it's no surprise that your baby's nutritional needs reach their peak during this trimester.

dustee - it really depends on bb skin.. my boi also cannot use j&j proiducts..he cldn't even use those milder type like lactycyd which is suposed to be for sensitive skin which he has.. tried n tested many many brands n finally fd his skin reacted well to GAIA n CB.. so using these 2 brands..

jaslyn - my gynae din say anything..

Dustee,
Yup, heard a lot of reviews from other mummies about J&J being very drying, so never used that on my bb. I use Aromababy or California Baby

Pinkbunny,
Your groin cramps are probably round ligament pains. Are they on one side mostly?

The 'heaviness' of baby's weight pushing down should only come in the later part of the third trimester.

my 11mth old niece is fine with J&J too, but I heard the clear kinds are easier to wash off than the milky kinds... I bought a giant bottle of sebamed during the robinson's sale...

kicking vs bubbles: sometimes I feel kicking movements in my tummy band sometimes I feel bubbles very very low...wonder what the little one is doing...

chest pain
does any mummies experience chest pain coz since last nite i have that pain till nw buti call up the gynae clinic the nurse mention gynae not in town ask me see family doc.

bb has been kicking whole of last nite non stop till this morning i also have diffcult breathing

serene
======

i don't get chest pains but i have difficulty breathing sometimes. find that lying on my side and on higher pillow helps. you try?

oh maybe when i take too heavy meals also i will get it. try not to eat too much just before sleeping.

soaps and shampoos
======

i hope poppy likes J&J! bought the top to toe wash. easier la, no need to get shampoo first la i think. anyway they don't have much hair yet... hehe

would like to join you gals in this thread.
i'm currently expecting my 2nd baby, edd is 10th July, a boy weighing 800gm at 24 weeks, next appt will be on next monday when i'm 28 weeks. Will be delivering in SGH, seeing Dr Devendran. My 1st child is a 19 mth old gal

re: shampoo and bath soap
i'm also using california baby for my gal, she's sensitive to J&J too...skin becomes dry and itchy.

hi evon,

i usually join one of the BP or spree here to purchase california baby product, if i need it urgently then i'll order from this website known as babyfleur.

pinkbunny

went to c family doctor just nw , he mention is the rib cage which is nw expanding proably not enough of calcium. i drink milk twice a day calcium pill once a day still not sufficient.

serene
========

dunno leh. personally i think GP is not the best person to ask pregnancy related questions. cos you seem to be taking sufficient calcium liao leh (cheh, like i'm madam calcium expert like that hiak hiak).

jaslyn
think me and my sis born a month earlier. your bb are good weight actually. not small considering u r having twins. my fren at 29 weeks bb is 1.2kg. so yours is really good weight.

must be really heavy for u.

caitlyn
wow your hb so nice to give his 'nod of approval' for buying toys. i planning to buy behind my hb's back..haha

my boy smaller than you gal. at abt 25 weeks, only abt 500g. but think cos i very small size also.

pinkbunny
if u feel crampy, maybe it's the braxton hicks contractions. these are false contractions. if too often, better let your gynae know.

re soap
i wd highly recomend latacyd for the initial months. no need to rinse off.

i started off using that for my boy then later switch to another organic brand. all ok. then later got one time my boy got bad outbreak of rashes triggered by mosquito bites. the PD said that latacyd is very good. she also recommended me to use soap for my boy and since then i have been using pear soap. cheap and good.

for #2, i will start with latacyd then switch to pear soap when she is older.

sebamed and cetaphil are also good for sensitive skin esp cetaphil.

shd get those that no need to rinse in the initial months.
fiona
welcome! your EDD same as mine. but mine is a gal for my #2.