(2008/07) July 2008

pinkbunny,
just read the SCBB website...pierce ears cannot bank cord blood is if you pierce your ears within the 12 mths before your delivery lah

pinkbunny
store it ourselves meaning banking in a cord blood bank.. hehe..
if can keep myself I dun mind.. haha..

yes.. pierce ears cannot donate cord blood..
I see liao go huh...but thats their requirement..

caitlyn
ya lor.. I also hope so..
maybe now must training liao..
wake him up in the middle of the night..haha..

SY
oic..

good thursday morning ladies!

robinsons sale
i popped by yest evening (my office is just next door to centrepoint) ehhhhh 20% off pigeon and only some other baby brands (pregnant brain already cannot remember by now). then the rest of the store, 20% off toiletries, then again, some brands , not storewide.

SY
thanx for the list :D i kept thinking that my baby has to go home half naked (only wearing diapers) coz i keep procrastinating on buying anything else.

cord blood
i feel very pek chek about this. at first i thought i would donate to the public cord blood bank, then i worry what if something happens to bb and she needs it next time but someone had already used it ..... (also partly coz feel like i've been a bad preggie mum, worry somehow i have harmed the bb throughout the pregnancy)

now i think i might choose stemcord only coz the gynae clinic i go to has a special discount with stemcord.

ya ya yest I login to IRAS and realised we have so many reliefs !! hehe hubby is jealous lor ..

i did not bank in my cord blood. Still wont do it for #2 i think.

btw why pierced ears cannot bank in cord blood ? I dont think so. My frens did bank in leh.

caitlyn
yeah it is like 5 min a day but u need to take out the cards, keep etc. i think u need to repeat like 3 times a day or osmetihng like that

yeah i also read that u can't use back your own cord blood. so we store both of their cord blood.

celesteblur
my hb is very on abt getting such 'insurance' one. so dun wan to argue with him. anyway for #2, u can use the child's acct so govt partly pays for it.

lbt,
I thought with now one kid we only get the relief of $2k for the first child? Still got other reliefs ah? I got claim for maid relief also, cos that time i got maid for 6mths.

SY,
You mean the yrly annual fee can use the child's acct? But the first time upfront i tink almost 1k rite? That one we must pay using our own cash correct?
Aiyo..me oledi eyeing the child's account where got enuff if i really put him in infantcare...i counted if i put 6k, govt top 6k only can last 15mths of infantcare fees *lol* that is provided the fees dont rise again lah *sigh*

celeste

Working MOther Child Relief (up to 4 children) - claim up to $2k

Grandparents Relief - $3000

both for working mothers with kid

lbt,
There is one more child relief rite? that one my hb claim liowz...2k also....this one and working mother child relief not same hor?

SY,
hmmzz...actually ask one question hor. If both No. 1 and No. 2 same blood grp...the No. 2's cord blood can use for No. 1 anot in *touch wood* case lah?

sh*t sh*t sh*t i already file my income tax but did not go and see all the grants!!! wonder if IRAS will entertain my call.... jialat

pinkbunny - dun think u're eligible yet coz bb only out in 2008 mah.. =) dun be too agitated first.. =)

SY - 3 times a day? hmm.. how's tt possible for FTWM? hee.. are the cards v big n all? sorry ah so many qn..

celeste - now i blur.. we can only claim for 2007 rite? so even tho now no 2 on e way, i cannot claim for no 2 yet rite?

caitlyn
i can't remmeber the formula to flash. let me go check it out. i remember must repeat one.

celesteblur
i thikn besides blood group they look at other factors to see whether tissue match or not...

pinkie

there is nothing for u to claim under child related reliefs. You can only claim them next year, so dont be angry.

celeste which one u referring to ?

hi ladies...

I wanted to bank with cordlife too but hubby's not too keen about it..but I guess it's like buying insurance right? You never know when you may need it...and I have this kiasu mentality.. haiz..

celeste_blur..so weird...moderator told you no promoting of BP's in other threads, but we keep seeing these people pop by ours to advertise theirs?? haha.. but dun blame the moderator..not an easy job I think...anyway welcome back with your old nick

lbt,
theres one Qualifying Child Relief (QCR) and another one is Working Mother's child relief rite? The QCR by default is 2k for first child? Then the QCR claim by my hb then I still can claim for the working mother's child relief? Hehe, i very confused also *lol*

caitlyn,
yuppies...for this time round we only can claim for first child

SY,
hmmzz...but if same blood grp got higher chances can use? If like that i might consider banking no. 2's one cos me and hb same blood grp so chances of both same blood grp quite high *lol*

do1nk
ya lor.. its like buying insurance lor..
my hubby even suggest keep one of the twin's cord blood only.. cos he say cheaper.. peng ah..
even they r identical twins also got something different mah..

why i'm not totally sold on cord blood banking is coz i read all these articles on how you have to manage your expectations on what it can do for your children.

say if baby 1 has a genetic problem, then his/her cord blood cannot help. but if siblings have , eg, leukemia, then maybe baby 1's cord blood can help, if it's a match. even then, the amount stored is probably only enough for one use. and only up to a certain age (coz not enough cord blood for maybe adult size treatment)

it's like the insurance also full of 'if's.

and so expensive -_- sigh.

dustee

i agree with u. that's what I read, so I dont find cord banking that useful.

celeste

the two claims u mentioned is actually the same ! and on the website it says can be shared by spouse but when my hubby tries to claim, it says only for WORKING MOTHERS ! stupid right ? so in the end I claimed all ! ahahha

lbt,
same ah...aiyoh how? I submitted liowz...and its my 2nd submission cannot change liowz...ahaha..heck care lah...who told them to write so messy! *lol* Anyway if cannot qualify or wrong they will just take out rite?

celeste

so did u claim ? if it is not claimable, they will send u letter. So it is always to include everything then let IRAS do the exclusion eheh

pinkie

what housing relief ????

lbt,
Ya...my hb claim the QCR while I claim the working mother's child relief...ahahah...claim for more then up to them to remove lor...*hiak hiak* :p

found it :

If you are claiming QCR or HCR only

Please enter claim type 'Q' for qualifying child relief or 'H' for handicapped child relief, amount for QCR or HCR and 'No' under claim WMCR.
If you are claiming QCR or HCR + WMCR

Please enter claim type 'Q' for qualifying child relief or 'H' for handicapped child relief and 'YES' under claim WMCR.

You only need to enter amount for QCR or HCR. Please do not include amount for WMCR as we will automatically compute the allowable amount for WMCR based on your eligibility, when we process your tax form.

i HEARD somewhere that home owners got some relief. but i just checked iras website, no have la. basket.

ok ok just need to claim for ginnah next time!

lbt,
ahaha...anyway i submitted 2nd time liowz so cannot go change anything also *lol*

pinkbunny,
got...if u donate land or building to IPC (Institue of Public Character) then u get the tax relief for that *lol*

ahahaha ya lor. somehow it's money back to us mah, right? so of course kanchiong la ;) some insurances (life policies) are also claimable. and some donations also.

haha wah! headache man...wat can we claim and what can we not?

ok life insurance premiums can only be claimed if our cpf deductions are very very low right? thought I read that somewhere before.. so has never claimed for mine..

Oh ... just to highlight. Maid levy can claim too.
So dun forget.

do1nk,

u r right. unless no or little cpf, no chance to claim insurance one.

mummies i feel so guilty. i had bak chor mee but kway teow, dry, at lunch. but i still felt a bit hungry after. so i ate one more lo mai gai. and after that (and all my colleagues looking at me wide eyed), still not enough. so i bought strawberries. just ate a few. ok la, quite a long time since lunch ended (130pm). but still...

so scary. my first time really eating so much at one meal since pregnancy. normal meal, not counting buffet.

:S

btw anyone tried the new marigold mangosteen drink yet? quite nice! 100% juice and no sugar added worth a try

ohhhhhh my neck hurts!!!!!!!!!!

pinkbunny,
no need to feel guilty lah...now i eat a lot also. Juz now lunch i ate yong tau foo with rice hor....and a slice of papaya. Then i bought the meechiam kueh and another slice of honeydew for teabreak later on :p

haha. we're not really encouraging each other hor? keke. congrats on getting your nick back btw!

so sleepy now. hoping some fast music will wake me up. you all remember brother louie louie louie? haha.