(2008/07) July 2008

SY,
I love the sling. I used it even with the Ergo around as the sling beats the Ergo handsdown on comfort, portability, ease of use, variety of positions, and size. You can also breastfeed while slinging, so there is no need to find a place to sit down. It's very convenient!

Learning how to use it might take a while. I think I probably practised 50+ (or more!) times before getting the hang of it. Baby might cry when first put into it, but once you get out and start walking, he'll usually cosy right down and fall asleep.

As they get older and begin to walk, the sling is a convenient thing to have when you are out. We don't have a stroller so the sling was a lifesaver when ds got tired and wanted to be carried, or needed a nap.

The Ergo is good when baby is older and too heavy for you to sling, or if you are going to be out for a long time/need to carry baby for a long time. It balances the weight of baby on both shoulders. But it is bulkier and baby can only face inwards.

It is very good for long periods though. I have heard of mummies who carry their babies (and toddlers) in the Ergo for four hours or more when they go to the zoo, or while travelling. One mum used it to carry her kiddo while on a tour of Jerusalem!

Oh, my hubby will sling too

And I just bought a new one

I have a lightly used, well maintained Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump for sale,used less than 1 week, cos decide to stop bf,still under warranty. bought on 28th of dec 2007,but just given birth last weekend.It comes in the original box together with its user manual as well as a reciept on the proof of purchase. Selling at $280 Pls PM or email me at [email protected] for a good deal. Thanks so much!
mumsfairy selling the Ameda Lactaline Personal Dual Electric Breastpump at S$365

Hi Girls,

I selling my Ameda Dual Breastpumps at $250 coz I stop breastfeeding.

It has warranty till Dec 2008 and I am adding in the pumping pals, lasinoh milk bags, nipple cream,nursing shawl, lily pads

If you are interested, pls sms mi at 98449684.

hey mummies
you know the brand tom and stephanie? they also have maternity stuff! i bought 2 capris from them last weekend. $36 each. there's black, cream and brownish i think

youpi
so you got a sling that is quite neutral in colour? i so wanted to get a pink one but think hubby will not want to use it haha. got a greenish silk one in the end. yup, carriers we will use for longer periods of time. got a bad back so i love that it distributes the weight evenly

do1nk,
i've been feeling the tightness just under bra line these few days! hb said coz i ate ice cream but i don't think so.

Qing,
are you facing directly your door when you sleep?? not sure if you believe in fengshui, that's not an advisable way to position your bed. fyi only.

i also bought the Similac milk powder for pregnant mums. and i find it rather sweet too. i've tried 1 brand start with F one.. not bad. every time i have Enfamama chocolate, i throw up even until now ... weird!! still got 3/4 tin sitting on shelf :p

my gynae prescribed me Therapi Oyster Shell Calcium, Pramilets prenatal vitamins and Neurogains. think shd be good for pregnant woman bah... maybe you can try.

bluey,
wah! you so gar - rang ar!? hehe.. i slowed down a fair bit too coz got a few scares liao and found my heart beating so fast... afraid will affect baby. so now very guai :p

youpi
thanks for sharing the experience on slings and carriers. hmm, now i feel that i shd have just gone ahead to buy the sling.

btw mothercare having sale 50% off some of the clothes. good chnace to buy. i bombed nearly 100 over the weekend buying clothes for my gal..

posted the pics on my blog.

Qing
U poor thing la ren for this period lor bopian. But why must greet them everytime u come out?? So boliao lor like I dun even greet my parents every morn when I wakeup so abit bo song when I need to greet his lor somemore only greet dad not mum leh. For me maybe I more outspoken la anything I find got no reason like why hubby dun need to greet the ppl n I have to else his mum will come knock our door n tell hubby who who I never greet. I not happy lor I told hubby straight ma I not married into his family as a maid leh why I 2nd class citizen meh he dun have to greet I have to greet. In my family more modern my relatives jus smile smile can already why I gotta greet his relatives 1 by 1. So hubby granted me dun need to greet anyone if I dun like so I let him ans to his parents if they ask lor so from then on I bochap liao.....hahaha
His family is diff cos they have 2 hse knock into 1 so we got to stay in the other Master bedrm. N opp our room is their mahjiong room where every night will have alot of ppl mostly guys playing through the night lor. Very irritating 1 n they smoke somemore. So we seldom leave the room n hubby will ask me to hide when he goes outside cos he also dun like those ppl around.
But sometimes its these difficult times that makes u n hubby stick more firmly to each other.
My inlaws act nicly to me but nobody will ever guess wat they made us go through. But at least now I know no matter wat hubby will be with me 100% lor. So gotta brave through everything with open mind bah.

SY
Wah u still can drive till so late into pregnancy aah.
But true lah now if we want to bring our sons out its so much easier if we drive but cos I dun like to drive long distance so only go nearby places so very boring.
Plus when I drive need to lower the steering wheel so think tummy bigger abit I gotta stop driving liao cos not much space.

Garfield
KPO abit on the PIS. My friend jus told me last week she got hers overseas total she paid bout $400 or less. But she use international shipping which costs bout US$50.
Rate quite low now my purchases last week was at 1.415. But saw someone post saying rate might go up alot dunno true anot.

Youpi
Hey totally agree with u. I have an Ergo n still using my sling for my son too.
I used to Ergo my son the whole day shopping alone n its not that tiring so its my life saver cos I dun feel so handicap......hehe
We used it for our HK trip during my son's birthday too.
Now that my son walks hubby use the sling to carry him when he sleeps. So I jus made a slightly longer sling for hubby so he can't complain.....hahaha

Steph
My gynea used to give me the Oyster shell calcium during my 1st preg but think I had problems with digesting it so she gotta change to a vegetarian 1 for me.

My sis is going US in June, so i should ask her to get a PIS for me?

Actually i'm more keen to get the Avent DUO electric pump. I think both costs about the same. Anyone has considered this? Cos my friend who has tried both said the Avent duo is better. Any idea we can get this from US?

Erm, what else i can ask my sis to get from US? I don't really know what's cheaper over there

And also, the DUO can use as manual pump which is great. And i thought the motor is lighter as compared to PIS.

I've been using the ergo carrier and i must say it's great cos can carry the bb/toddler for long periods of time. Slings often give me backaches after a while.

Hannah

Baby GAP clothes !!! and maybe GUESS also ? I heard they real cheap over there !

and how abt COACH items for yourself ? ;)

I use the sling for while. Maybe I did not practise enough, I feel is it more troublesome for me and it causes me backache.

lbt
Maybe ur sling size?? but urs is adjustable or pouch sling??
Cos if the sling is too loose or too tight will cause more strain on ur back instead.
But if the bb u carrying is quite heavy already will be tiring if sling for quite awhile.

Hannahl
lbt is right buy bb clothes in US cos its cheaper there that's why we do so many sprees for them here......hehe
Coach ask ur sis to go to the outlets to get them at bargains but the outlets seems to be abit out of the way. But never been there though.

dor dor
think some old folks got the mentality that they are the IL so the DIL must really greet them etc as a form of respect. they think that being the MIL makes them more superior.

hee, i stay in the east and my mum stays in the west so i dun mind driving long distance. sometimes i dun mind taking train or bus with my boy cos he finds it very fun.

hannal
US got a lot of cheap stuff. u can stock up on yoru first teeth toothpaste also. much cheaper there. old navy, gap etc all cheaper.

ya.. can get brands like osh kosh too (who barely have sprees here?) at great prices... and if you are a kate spade fan....*grin*

about slings.. I heard the ergo's better than bjorn too..so may consider getting that later..someone did a BP here on it before right?

morning girls!

2 cents about slings and carriers. if you think of it as sling is equivalent to a tote bag and carrier = haversack: when weight is distributed on both shoulders then back is more supported. when weight is constantly borne only by one side, then the lower back suffers after a while.

I think greeting in-laws when you first come home from work is still ok..out of respect... but doesn't make sense to have to greet them everytime you bump into them or come out of the room right? haha that would be weird...well that's what I do...greet when I come home...used to greet when we first woke up but replaced that with a very sleepy-can-barely-open-eyes face now...hahaha

greeting ILs
umm greeting ILs, i guess it also depends on how you grew up and what you are used to.

my family is a bit more 'physical' - up to the time i moved out, i kissed my parents goodnight everynight and we always shouted before leaving the house "OK gia liao ah! have a nice day. see you tonight!". and because of culture, my husband and i also kiss his mother every morning and night when we were staying with her last time. but because of my own family background, that was quite natural for me. if i hadn't grown up that way then it would have been very tough i'm sure

like do1nk say, when you come home and when you leave for work, it's just nice to say hello or 'ok bye, i'm leaving now'. if for nothing, at least to keep the peace in the house

hannah
if i'm not mistaken, nine west also

breastfeeding
quite interesting: http://www.babycenter.com/404_should-i-try-to-toughen-up-my-nipples-for-breastfeeding_2601.bc

dora the explora
besides delphine, anyone else's daughters like? cos i think i have better rate for the upcoming 'concert', can pass to you guys.

morning all....

wah shopping at US ah..? i heard very shiok to shop there leh. one of my April 07 mummy fren flew there cos her hb study PhD there, she said she wanna go crazy when she shops. everything's so CHEAP!!!!! lolzzz

greeting ILs

last time, yes, i did greet them when i wake up, i go out, i reach home or b4 meals.

but becos of some recent tension between hb and mil, i condemn my mil liao. so right now, i only greet her when i m going to hv my dinner. quite fed up when i call her and she pretend cannot hear, so might as well dont call.

i m quite blunt & straight-forwards towards my ILs or anyone. guess they have use to it liao. whether my mil complain me to her other daughters/sons or not, hack care! lolzzz

pinkbunny
usually they will excuse preggy ladies. u just need to let them know. last time in my office, i was excused..hee

pinkbunny,
u heng liowz...me orpic 13th flr, i tink i kenna once before also *lol* walk till i blur...but no need to climb back up lah...haha...cos after that they let us take the lift up

:S the lifts all shut off cos 'in a real situation, the power will be shut off'. yeah, think i will check with the relevant people if it's ok that i sit out the next one.

oh just had a talk with my boss about maternity leave. he's cool with me stretching the 3rd month so now i got higher bargaining power with HR :D (remember they told me 'take all together la, it's easier for <font color="ff0000">US</font> when we want to do our recording/filing'?)

sorry, dont' mean to be rude to anyone in HR but seriously, i don't think that's a good enough reason for me to change my mind!

sorry to interupt, saw that you all taking about US. it really depend on which part of US u going. some states are cheaper than the other.

but like what the rest said, can buy bb clothes there. esp at the factory outlets, u might find osh kosh rompers or jumper for US$5 when they are on sale. also can try GAP. For adults, can go Levis, timberland, nine west, dockers, coach, old navy, victoria secret, puma, addidas, nike, reebok,forever 21, bath and body works (for hand soap and bath stuff). can buy shoes there also. also can get benefits cosmetics at a cheaper rate there. can go to their shopping mall like bloomingdale sometimes when sale can get good buys there. can look out for big names there. they are quite cheap. but sometime must really cal carefully. cos u might end up paying more then getting in SG if you buy at shopping mall. Factory outlets usually carry things that are not so current. also can look out for local brands like reese or something. can't remember the actually spelling. but the shop sells quite nice clothing for ladies. actually alot of cheaper things to buy there. just have to have the time to shop around lor.

Pink B - poor thing..why u forgot got fire drill today ah? my admin warns me b4 fire drill so i either work from home or take lift down b4 the alarm rings! :D

dor dor, yes US PIS is cheaper... I also calculate the price of adapter too in the pricing.

if some1 buy for u, u even save on shipping.

anyway, i already bought my pump... unless i invest in one more n loan out ;p

aiyah they want it to be as real as possible. so they don't warn us beforehand one. that'd defeat the purpose. :S half of me thinks they will insist that i go ahead with the drills cos what if got real fire bla bla. sigh.

pinkbunny
last time my admin also will tell us in advance and we all wait downstairs..hee but for preggy, they let us stay in the office. i think they wd have excused u.

pinkbunny,

i still go for fire drill... just treat as exercise lor...

but those stayin at higher floor, i think most likely they will pardon the preg lady lor.

actually i also don't mind the exercise now that i'm still rather energetic. if at 8 or 9 months i will ask to be excused la. if can take lift, no prob but up the stairs can be challenging!

just now climbing up, there were a few people who were panting like siao and i just raised my eyebrows at them haha.

saw in another thread

Body Shop Sale, 27 - 30 Mar

BODY SHOP WAREHOUSE SALE
Date: 27 - 30 March (Thu to Sun)
Time: 11am - 8pm
Venue: Suntec Convention Centre Gallery East, Level 3 (above food republic)

SY yup! you could prob even save more there than when you buy during your birthday month with 20%!

hey labbit,
what does Mt A give when you get discharged ah?

Celeste,

have see "wo Bao" yet but "today" have 1 page on cuppa for preggies is bad for the bb.
Cuppa lovers, please limits yourself to 1 cup a day.

oh ya...must buy hersheys from US too..much cheaper!

3D what about coffee did they say...few months back there was someone who had trouble wiv baby for drinking 2 cups a day right? didn't catch that piece of news either...anyone knows the details?

so what's the story in wo Bao about?

I'm planning to take all 3 months at one go coz will have lots of leave to clear after that..so will use that for PD visits and jabs...

delphine,
hehe...me is coffee lover...must definitely have my 1 cuppie every morning before 12pm. Otherwise I will get a headache for the rest of the day *lol*. So far I read most articles they say can drink up to 2 cups max a day so i guess it shld be fine...

do1nk,
the story is on "Where are you mommy?" Toking about nowadays in our society its always the maid or caregiver taking care of our young. The mommy is always at work blah blah. Then will pamper the kids with those luxury items like toys holidays etc BUT what the young kid wants is the mother's time and love....the way the writer wrote is very touching....read till i very sad.....

the story sounds very sad. but what to do, really no choice. unless govt/employer want to give us better maternity leave. sigh.

wish i could take 3 months + when i go back to work, it will be for 4 days a week to ease myself back into work, and don't throw baby immediately to babysitter - think that would give her a shock

got leave but no choice, got to save so can visit husband's family at year end. best is if can work from home. but nature of my job doesn't quite allow it

celeste_blur,

they say also have to check other items that contain caffeine... like tea, cola, chocolates!

so not just on coffee... dun let my hb read or else he paranoid again...

anyway, i drink one glass of coffee once a while not daily so guess shld be ok bah. n i dun take tea and cola... only take chocolates... hahahaha

pinkbunny,
me planning to take 8wks, then rest of the 4 weeks convert into 20 days of leave then rest of this yr work like 3-4 days a week. But I also considering being sahm after my No. 2 is out. Somestimes i really feel like spending more time with my kids. I see them so young...like my ger...7am-6.30pm at childcare like bery poor thing

garfield,
hehe....i dont drink so much tea, cola and chocolates but everyday must have at least 1 cup of kopi every morning :p....juz realise today drank 1 cup of kopi and 1 cup of tea liowz...haha...but that time my No. 1 i also like tat i tink as long as in moderation shld be fine bah

celeste check again with your HR - i think mine told me the remaining 4 weeks = 30 days, not 20 leh. also considering maybe i will do it long term, this 3-4 day week thing. sigh.

pinkbunny,
4 weeks is 20 working days. Cos I work 5 day work-week mah. It is 30 days if you count in weekends everything
u confirm with ur HR again?

dor dor .. guess I am really bad at SLING ! ehhe

pinkbunny

sorry only glance thru the post, no time to read. u asked me what other the gifts from Mt A right ?

In 2006, I had a free bath tub and a gold coin for DOGGIE YEAR....