(2008/07) July 2008

hi mummies...the weekend has ended so fast... hope everyone had a good break...

for me..I walked and shopped around so much (for furniture for new home) til my whole body and my legs are aching badly now..haha

went to the baby fair but forgot to buy the cadi thermometer though.. it was super duper crowded on Friday morning!

gonna take over the sling from my younger sis who got it but couldn't figure out how to use it.. did you ladies have a mini training session when you got it? seems easy?

for those who are lactose intolerant, can try HARVEYS FRESH milk (in tetra packs) which is quite affordable too..

popped by momswork (if I remembered the name correctly) at tanglin mall and fell in love with the stokke sleepi bed (http://www.stokke.com/product.asp?p=Sleepi&la=EN&na=SP&div=C) but geez it's so expensive! have you all bought your baby cots yet? where from? as this stokke one is out of reach..currently eyeing the one from ikea..

oh ya..wanna ask you mummies..what's located right above our belly button now? my tummy around that area seems to feel very hard and protrudes out a bit more than the other parts??

okie dokie gotto go clear my mails now..have a great week ahead everyone!

morning everyone. yawn... morning after wedding dinners always very hard to wake up... but bo bian, need to come to work to settle some stuff then afternoon can go off liao. actually on leave one. basket.

do1nk
bought from ikea liao
same reason i trust the toys bla bla. you know la

didn't get a 'training session' but saw the demo. did your sis buy from MIM? if so, it comes with a 'training video' of sorts. if it's convenient for you, can go down to their office in bishan to ask them to demo for you. or i can try to burn my CD for you?

milk
calcium tablets from gynae + occasional glass of HL choc milk should be ok right? the 300ml pack of anmum i got from the hospital has been spread over 3 days and 3 glasses of chocolate milk haha.

so how, nobody want my powder ah? sayang to throw leh.

dun think i am lactose intolerant, just the smell really makes me sick
sorry to milk lovers!

over the weekend babyD (now nicknamed <font color="ff0000">POPPY</font>) kicked so much that hubby called the movements tummyquakes. hehe

oh also, between tea ceremony and wedding dinner (hehe... cos my parents stay at tanah merah mah, so near expo), we went to baby fair again. i was quite scared to drag my hubby there cos scared he kaopeh but he was so ON!!!! actually just wanted to get cheap stuff from pureen that i missed on friday (liners for $4.80 per pack of 100!) but he really surprised me.

he went into the bumwear shop and asked for demo on how to use the stuff and we ended up buying one set of cuties for poppy's bumbum.

he even bought me a nursing top from MIM. i told him 'see, not that i always want to spend alot of money, but really very irrestible right?' he agreed. haha.

hi gals...

i went to bb fair on fri morn n it was really crowded... the main carpark was also full...

hehe I managed to buy many things though... I bought those liquid detergent n washing powder from pureen... it really v cheap tat is why so big crowd there.

the bbsafe booth too many ple... I bought an antistetch mark cream there Mustela... it cheap too.

didn't walk all shops cos my hb went n say nothing so dun wan to squeeze.

I also bought my handsfree kit from mumsfairy. yipee! it cheaper than wat they told me...
so in the end with my isetan purchase of breast pump plus this kit is still cheaper than if i buy all from expo.

but i was disappointed no mamil n diapers offers.... only pureen but my ds dun use it.

pinkbunny,

i also bought the nappy liners too.

btw, i bought two nursing bras too cos MIM offers is good. last yr I bought the tube too.

sonic
i brought my boy to dentist when he was only 1+. cos his teeth had very bad stains and i wanted to make sure he got no cavities. the dentist was really quick. just one look and he cd tell. no need to open mouth very long.

lbt
i used the first teeth toothpaste for my boy. now i m training him to spit out the toothpaste. so far so good. he seems pretty excited. he watched me brush my teeth a few times and got excited when he sees me rinsing my mouth. so i decided to try. i used boiled water for him to try. quite funny. the first few times he always drink the water. then subsequently he spit them out. after that i let him brush teeth then spit out. no problems leh.

annie
yeah i have been driving since 19.
the downside is on weekends hb usually make me drive cos he is tired from driving on weekdays....and i always try to ask him for car when i on leave so i can go out..haha

steph
for my last pregnancy, i was driving up to even 8th month of my pregnancy. hee, dun think will relaly stop unless it gets too uncomfy. still wan to go out leh.

pinkbunny
hm, u won't really know the size leh. for me i din expand much. no need to buy 2 size bigger but i know pple who expand until like 3-4 cups size bigger. so maybe u wan to wait a while before buying?

re bb fair
din feel that it's that good and so crowded. hb was so shocked at the crowd. we reached at 11am and it was ridiculous. only bought the bbsafe stuff, sign up for cordlife, bought some nestle stuff and that's it. i wanted to buy the sling but hb refused. he prefers carriers.

dor dor
hee, i also dun buy nursing bras. find them so uncomfy..hee...

dor dor
hmm, suggest u dun invest too much in cot yet. my cot only used for day time naps and my boy sleeps on mattress at night. mattress easier to shift ard

re mattress
i din buy my mattress in the end cos i remembered the measurements wrongly which is a good thing cos in the end my hb saw the safe and sound mattress at taka fair n prefers tat.

any idea which sales are still on today? taka? isetan? tangs? OG?

yup yup SY i'll wait till maybe 8 or 9th month before buying nursing bras. thanks!

driving when heavily pregnant... stomach not in the way? when you turn steering wheel, won't brush on your tummy? hehe

ibt
iam currently in week 24.
and i actually gain more weight than you.
2month ago, i was 52ks, now i am 56kg.
thats why doc say i increase too much le.

dor dor
at least you just stayed with them for 1 year. i doubt i can have that short period. he was looking into 2 years loh.
and our room now doen;t have a toilet attached to it.
so very troublesome.
sometime come out to pee also have to greet his parents.
if not, his mom always come knocking on the doors a couple of times in like 1 hour loh.
cannot say everything in one go.
very annoying loh.
as i like to lie down on the bed after i reach home, so sometime wear skirt or dress will cao geng. so everytime she knock i have to adjust myself.
my bed is situated such tat when she open the door she can see my underwear.

serene
my gynae also asked me to cut down on rice, noodle and bread loh. these are food which i take more after pregnant.
now, really cutting down loh.

bluey,
i am also drinking anmum.
i actually bought the brand that zoe tay is advertising loh. but it is way too sweet for me. i have to force myself to finish it in one go. the taste is so unbearable. fortunately, i finish with that tin le.
guess i will stick to anmum only.
don dare to anyhow try new one.

baby fair,
didn't go in the end.
too lazy and fear for the crowd.

but it seem like there isn't much happening at the fair lehz.

Baby fair,
I got the babysafe playcot mattress and the powder detergent from Pureen. By the time I reached there, a lot of items were already out of stock. So quite sad.

I also managed to get a confinment book (what to cook and eat) from the book fair.

Milk,
I also like Meji full cream milk. Seems Meji is a good choice for most of us who are lactose intolerant.

Lunch time approaching, dunno what to eat?

wah qing you very good, very disciplined at forcing yourself to drink milk! maybe i'll keep buying anmum liquid kind then mix with choc milk.

realise you don't like sweet things hor? milk, cereal bar...

garfield
the tube kind of nursing bra is good? i like tube top kind but didn't look very typical nursing bra so i didn't dare to buy hehe.

pinkbunny
no lah. the steering wheel won't brush on the tummy. only the seat belt uncomfy...

actually u can even wait until u give birth then buy nursing bras. cos once the milk comes in, the size can change one...

qing
i taking enfamama. not very sweet.

actualyl for pple who put on too much weight, try to cut down on the milk. not all gynaes feel that milk is that impt.

pinkbunny,
must be discipline ma...
as i am not taking any other supplement pills.
so i have to drink milk instead.

anyway, anmum got chocolate flavoured one lehz. not sure nice or not.
i prefer drinking the plain one.

"i scared baby turn out black black one"
heehee.

i loved sweet things but gynae say must cut down lehz. so no choice loh.
but too bad watson only sell the cranberry bar only. they should sell all 3 flavours ma.

btw, my bday month coming so got discounts at the following shops. let me know if u wan to buy anything ok?

body shop - 20%
G2000 - 50%
crabtree n evelyn - 20%

for clothes, need model number and size.

Lunch ... tot of char kuay teow again. So "sinful"

Have 2 rounds of durians session last weekend to crub my sudden cough.
went to buy this "poise" brand pads, which is for women with bladder weakness. Everytime I cough now ...haiz

I love driving ... for my #1, I was driving all the way till near delivery. I even got a speeding ticket @ my 7th month preganancy. My parent nag @ me for so long after they knew this.

i'm taking calcium supplements cos my gynae is actually not very pro milk. strange hor? at our first appointment he said something like because the digestive system is very slow in pregnant women to allow baby to absorb as much nutrients from us as possible, and milk often curdles when it stays in our system for long. and it will 'go bad' or something. something like that. so he recommended calcium tablets but only last month then i started.

so like that la. that's the story.

Good morning all

Re : Mother n Baby Fair at Expo
Went there on Friday morning but nothing much lehz...I only bought the Mustela stretchmark cream cos its cheaper and the baby bath lotion and got the goodie bags.

bluey, kegal, kegal....

haha i'm the only hardcore one who went to the baby fair twice ah? hehe. second time the shou huo is better!!

SY
i may take up your lobang for body shop/crabtree ok?
thinking of getting small presents for all my girlfriends who have been very helpful to me during the pregnancy

pinkbunny,

actually i use the tube after i ended BF ;p

it cheap so i buy for wearing. got padding inside.

I buy the typical nursing bar for BF cos more comfortable. also I heard it better too to avoid clogged ducts. anyway, my b* didn't really increase alot... it was bigger but def not 2 cups bigger!!!! hahahha
but i heard of ple getting more bigger lor so for those first time mums better to get after givin birth.

bluey
u so funny...even get speeding ticket? i find that when i m pregnant, i tend to drive slower....

pinkbunny
not strange that you gynae is not pro milk. asians are more lactose intolerant. i know some gynaes also tell their patients no need to drink milk.

no prob. just let me know what u want to buy. i also plannign to buy more stuff during the discount time..hee

celeste blur
u q for the goodie bag? when i was there the q so super long that i gave up...

had sinful rich curry for lunch...think I better cut down on my carbo's too..

Hi Garfield, how much did you pay for your handsfree? it looked quite interesting.. does it work well? have you tried it before?

I didn't get a chance to sign up with Cordlife..still trying to convince hubby it's good.. we'd never know with such things right...dilemma...

PB: which bed did you get?? We like the white one with the curvy top on two sides..hehe it can convert into a toddler's bed too right?

MIM vcd...think my sis should still have it bah..will ask her to pass to me..

calcium...I guess if we don't drink milk, can make up for it by drinking soya bean or those calcium fortified juices?

bluey...do you do kegel exercises? would it help? did this happen so soon for you too, when you were preggie wiv no 1?

dolnk,

for my #1 ... it did not happen till the last 2 weeks.
This one, I dunno why it happen so early ... I think #2 is very low and pressing on my bladder.

pinkbunny,

I went to expo twice too. on friday and sunday.
Friday brought mattress, Sunday brought pillow n bloster.
I enquiry about the PIS price, I nearly faint, she quoted me $700+.

SY,

I "tamed" down a lot already. After the speed limit increase on our road, I seldom get 1 ticket.
I used to get 1 yearly or so ... really waste of $$, but maybe beocz I am a bit impatient type.

do1nk,

i pay abt $56 plus for it. it comes with the superior shields too so that u can lie while bf. then i got their air bag free.

i saw their demo there n more or less know how to do it. I haven't try it before.

I was v suaku for my first one. so after the exp, decided to get all these to free my time n strength since i intend to bf longer. hope i can endure longer with all this aid liao.

i did queue for goodie bag. when i was there, there was a queue but not too long. I got the bag within 5 min.

Qing,

I tried chocolate ANMUM b4, not nice one. I still prefer the "original".

Baby where got so easy get "black" ....
I drank so much milk, my gal not "white" at all.
It all depends on the genes one, lar

bluey,

ya v ex rgt the PIS. but they selling with the survival kit which include the handsfree. so more or less actually the pis alone cost around 600 plus... so same same as other dept stores... just to see which bundle package u prefer...

so u haven't decide whetehr to get from us web? i think now exchange rate drops so if u buy now, more worth it?

garfield,

decided already ... just kapo ask around.

Getting the medela freestyle ... but mayb in May 08. Dun need it now, so wait see if price will drop when the model get "older".

garfield,
US can be a bit cheaper but have to consider the adaptor. I think the local supplier also got their stock from oversea. Cos I remember seeing their display set has the adaptor which isn't suited for local use. When enquire further, they say the adaptor they give will be the local one.

Re : Medela Breast Pumps
Yesterday went AMK hub there. Saw Mumns n Babes selling Medela pumps at quite attractive price. Saw the dual pump (not the PIS one) at $280. Comes with i think free breastpads and 3 free milk storage bottles i think

Rain,
Heez...shld be mini version bah...cos Medela only got 2 kinds of dual pump right...one is PIS one is the other normal dual pump. So far the noise is okies lah...cos I using that normal dual pump model. Last time I got it on offer at Metro I tink bout $260 also came with breastpads and the free 3 milk storage bottles

Cos actually i donno lah....if for first-time mother frankly speaking we wont noe how much milk we have. If throw out $700 on a PIS and then never BF for long i think not worth it even though of cos you can sell it away but the price may prob drop by almost 40-50%? Juz my 2 cents worth lah

bluey,

u getting from US? i seldom see this model here?

rain,

yup but i heard many stores like first few years at paragon sell their adapter. it def cheaper to get pis from us directly. somemore now exchange rate is lower.

but then cheaper will still cost abt 500 so in the end i settle for Ameda

garfield,

I hv check, this model is not in Singapore yet. But I like the lightweight compared to the PIS.
I am also a "technology" freak ... I like to try new teckie stuffs.
You can check the specs here.

http://www.medelafreestyle.com/

If I read the manual right, the adaptor can work internationally except that you have to "change" the "head" to the 3 pin one for our socket. Quite similar to our notebook adaptor. (those travel adaptor should work)

Btw, the price is about USD$285~$300 per set currently.

qing
u so funny. sound like the old folks. bb dun really turn dark cos of what u eat...my boy very fair cos me and hb both very fair.

re adaptor for medela pump
i need to get a replacement. does first few years sell it?

SY

I bought my medela parts from FIrst Few Years. I rem they carry medela accessories. why not u call them before u go down ?

do1nk
that's the one i got! yup can bring down to lower level when baby is a bit older. can be converted into bed yup

bluey
wah biang you must be TP's favourite kaki!

about medela pumps
hey mums, just a thought - maybe those versions are for angmoh neh nehs? got diff?

SY

is it ? but isnt shipping cost ex also ?

pinkbunny

medela pumps comes with different sizes of funnels. I was using the std one for a few mths and then I switch to a bigger one cos the orig ones are rubbing against my areola. So it may not fit everyone ...

qing
electric one is good cos u r not so tired. i had to expressed total cos my boy's latch wasn't good so it was better for me to use electric.

pinkbunny
i think mothercare may have the ergo carrier.

lbt
the shipping was reasonable. i bought 2 funnels, 2 valves, 2 membranes, 2 tubings, 4 storage bottles. including shipping only abt SGD 72. cheap cos i saw the tubing at First few years. one was like SGD 16 already. i combined my orders with a few frens so we split the shipping. overall, it was worth it.

i m looking at buying benefit cosmetics online. need USD 100 to get free shipping. btwn me and my sis, we have abt USD 70 liao.... anyone interested to get?

youpi thanks! somehow it doesn't look as sturdy as bjorn. but i'll go check it out!

SY i'm getting a carrier for heavy duty use and the sling will be for casual use like when go up on plane or bringing to and fro babysitter's house