(2008/07) July 2008

sonic
i intro markers n color pencils to my son when he was after a year old. can't remmeber how old he was at that time but probably 16-17 months? not really do art and craft at that age but can do some simple coloring. actually if u go for those trial classes they also managed to do art and craft with them but need to prep all the materials in advance. can just do simple animal mask using paper plate, get the kids to scribble. another thing that i learnt is also to get them to decor biscuits with some cream.

sally
i feel that combi is a bit flimsy. my lightweight one doesn't feel very sturdy after 2 trips.

rain, bluey,

just heard from my fren tat shipping may not be cheap. she bought leapfrog complete phonics set n shipping cost almost $100 inclusive of base charge!

morning all...

went for scan yesterday and it's a GIRL.. hb was thrilled, well, as for me, boy or girl also ok lah.

re: isetan sales
i m going to grab the tiger food jar. i m going to bring #1 for short holiday at my mum's place in M'sia.

JMON, congrats on joinin the gal gang... july really have many gals! me wan to confirm again during my next gyane visit ;p

btw, when is isetan sales? I heard from my fren that her fren bought PIS at abt 500 from the sales last time. I wan to find out ley.

i think take receipt will also lost loh and waste paper.
as for me, i have a habit to sms my hubby the cab no. whenever i take a cab.
he worries that i will kanna kidnap by the cab driver. this way, you got the time you board the cab and vehicle no.
provide your hubby don't delete the msg upon receiving la.

at first find it troublesome,
but then now used to it le.

at least when u left somethings in the cab you can find it back easily.

sally
so cute you call your kiddo munchkin
yup good idea to take receipt all the time.

JMON
welcome to pink club!!!!

qing
my dad used to ask me to CALL him when i'm in a cab and report the number. so that the driver can hear what you are saying then in case he want to do anything funny, he will think twice cos you already report the number. now sometimes i just pretend to call and talk to empty line haha

remember when we were in our teens, it was quite liu sing to have those name pendants in fake gold? i'm thinking of making one with my daughter's name and wearing it and maybe giving it to her when she's 12/16/18. know how much it will cost at jewellery shops? prob custom made

Hi dor_dor/bluey/do1nk,

Chinchillas... I used to have 3 but all died...

We've read articles... as long as parents have no allery problem, then chances of baby having is low too...

I'm a first-time mum... I stayed in a 5-rm flat but my bedroom is a master-room + a common room... so it's kinda huge...

No worries... all my pets are adopted and they are sterilised... so will have NO unexpected babies..

Hmm... CKC too shed but not as much as huskies lah.

The vacuuming and mopping is the siong part lor... dunno whether got time to do it when baby arrives... Hubby always do it on a "half past 6" manner... then I got to do it again...

Thanks for all the input... Helps alot...

wah...envious of the girl gang... I got no BOY kaki to check out baby boy clothes together wiv...
or maybe to compare pee-pee's haha

has anyone's tummy line (linea nigrea) appeared yet? It's a dark line running from the top of your belly to below.. apparently folic acid could help lighten the colour so it's not sp dark.. I thought I scratched myself a couple of days ago but that line seems to be still there..perhaps it's this linea nigrea forming?

garfield,

isetan private sales starts tmr for members then open to public on 14 Mar.

just grabbed a Tiger Food Jar 0.9L original discounted price $49, i bought it at $47+ (members discount another 3%) if buy tmr, members can get 10% but then lazy to Q lah. i asked the sales, she said cant reserved so i just bought.

Hi JMon - .9L is small or medium or large size? aiyah, i got no member card..maybe i use shell points and exchange ;)

hi do1nk - i think i see hints of my linea nigre appearing but only below belly button area..not on top yet..

today at home on MC. got slight stomach flu. was scheduled to go shopping today with frens but then down with stomach flu instead. so sian....

Jmom
hee, congrats on your gal!

re linea nigre
think mine hasn't appeared yet. as long as the stretch marks not too bad this time round, i already very happy....the last time round my stretchmarks were terrible!

almost forgot to post abt this

for diapers, please dun forget to check out the medical halls. i just checked the one at my place. for pampers new born 36 pieces it is 14.50. I think NTUC selling much more ex right?

cin bunny,
there are 2 sizes for the Tiger Food Jar, 0.9L and 0.7L.

now isetan discounted price for 0.9L = $49 & 0.7L = $65. of cos i bought the 0.9L one lor

Jmon
for milk powder sometimes they sell the ones from Malaysia so must check. i have 2 medical halls near my place. one sells milk powder from malaysia n the other doesn't. so usually i just compare what they have.

just foudn out that one also sells drapolene. very cheap. only 4.20

pinkbunny
hee, above research for u to take note and share as well..

JMON, u went isetan today?

I not member n I really wonder if got sale on Medela products. I actually never come across my mind that isetan will have offers on bb products as last time i always shop there for my clothes only... hehe

OG also now havin sale...

hi all! =) rainy day so good to zzz...

btw, wat's e tiger food jar look like?? it can cook porridge?? i wanna get if it can cook leh.. gg for short getaway with my boy..

i can't make it for e gathering.. =(

who's gg IPS tmr morn?? maybe we can have a mini gathering? haha

caitlyn,
hmm, i m not sure what is the model number of the tiger food jar but ask the sales gal which one can cook porridge. they will know. it is good when u go for hol but do try out first before u bring it with u.

garfield,
ya i went on lunch time lor.. grabbed, paid, ta bao lunch then chiong back office. lolzz

SY,
i bot my boy's milk powder frm JB. about S$7 cheaper leh. i have check tat the FM was manufactured in Spore then i buy

do1nk:

will confirm and let you know after this sat. whether our babies can compare ku-ku size!! hahaha! in my entire family clan, there are 5 babies this year - March till July - every month got 1 and I'm the last.. and there's only 1 girl born last week! hehehe... think 4 cousins go after 1 sure very interesting!

i don't have tummy line but got hair around belly button :S is this normal?!?!

OG sale update:
my mum went and queue to get in. she said nothing much. and it was pouring with very bad traffic. SY, luckily you didn't go. Wait for tomorrow Isetan sale better. Think i'll take half day leave and go :p

Jmon
hmm, milk powder made in Singapore? i tot most of them made in australia or NZ? which brand your boy drinking? mine drinking mamil.

$7 is a lot of difference.

caitlyn
it's not that bulky. still qutie ok to carry ard. in fact i carry it out when i bring my boy out and will bring his porridge out in it.

Steph
my frens said not bad leh. think got 20+10% so that's why quite good.

hmm, i feel like going isetan sale.....

liner nigre

mine have not fully disappear from 1st pregnancy and now I am preggie again. But very lucky for me, no stretch marks for me for 1st pregnancy, so pray hard this time round I am spared too !!

SY
how u know the milk powder from Chinese Medical hall is from Msia ?

I did buy before and I chk the manufacturing country and agent is the same as the ones I bgt from supermarkets.

Pinkbunny,
Mahjong kaki not easy to find ler. Need 3 people to be free at the same time.

Garfield, bluey:
Ya. Shipping cost is an estimation. Cos PIS is really heavy ler. Maybe will switch to Amenda since they are similar.... Bluey, when you know the shipping cost, could you share? Thanks.

Toy:
What toys to buy for NB baby har? I have looked around but those toys don't interest me ler. Maybe I'm too old. I just bot a toy that can make those rattle sound and can bounce. But it is not a rattle pc.

Rain

toys for newborn is limited and they dont really need toys at this stage. Moreover they can only see black,red and white colors. and their eyesight is not perfect.

I think the most impt thing to do with newborn is bonding. breastfeeding is the best option

alternatively talk and sing to your newborn.

talking about eyesight....

I brought my ger for a complete eye examination when she was 9 mths old. This test is FOC for bb < 1 yr old. I cant rem the place i go to .. if u gals want, I can search for the details.

Anyway this test includes checking for lazy eyes, eyesight with high degree, and crossed eye.

that time a lot of ppl says my ger has crossed eye cos her dark pupil was v big. so my fren suggested that I bring her for eye checkup.

lazy eyes - when bb are born, their eyesight is not perfect. as they grow older, their eyesight will improve.

at 9th mths old, my ger is diagnosed to have abt 150 degree short sightedness which is NORMAL for her age. so it will reduced when they are older. So if the eyesight is permanently high, that eye may develop LAZY EYE. If you can detect this prob early, they can still train the lazy eye.

Crossed Eye -
My ger is diagnosed to have FALSE crossed eye. They told me as she grow older, her nose bridge will be higher hence she wont have the false crossed eye symptoms.

This test is recommended to do it yearly.

anyone experience pain below the adominal coz since the 4 mth i been having pain gynae say it normal coz my "fats" r being stretched but i'm still quite worried.

BHG
is having sales i just came back from there bought 2 little cute clothes for my bb gal (enclosed the bb clothes)

pinkbunny
can go there shop for bb clothes quite cheap $8.50 each

Serene

cheap and cute !!

i think it is the ligament stretching you are experiencing. Is it a short and sharp pain ? if it is, then nothing to worry. U r a first time mum right ?

for my 2nd pregnancy I dont have this pain cos muscles already stretched eheh

yo! got miss me or not?

jessica
you PMed me about the pigeon set? it's all posted here liao! scroll up to the older threads and see ok? i very tired and lazy to retype everything

SY
pampers NB at NTUC is 16.20. so says the diaper niang niang. near my place no medical hall

tiger
btw i still don't know the diff between the tiger thing and slow cooker. same thing?

caitlyn
IPS = isetan preview sale is it? wah new abbreviation! me me, i'm going! but dunno what time. what time they open ah? i forgot.

JMON
so you go from SG to JB to buy FM that was manufactured from SG then buy from JB to bring back to SG. wah your FM really travel alot! hehe.

rain
ya lor that's why. the last time i played mahjong was more than a year ago boo hoo. now my kakis all mummies so very hard to steal time away

re toys. i'm buying all from ikea. i'm biased toward their children toys. when i meet you all then i explain why la.

serene
very cute! hehe thanks but i already went to BHG on monday and i also bought some stuff liao! hehe.

Serene,
I got that kind of pain before, just yesterday. Lasted the whole day. But today no pain. It also below the stomach, but more pain along the right side.

Toys:
I was looking around and there are "toys" which encourage motion recognition, etc, so I'm really wondering if these are really doing that or not? I don't mean really NB 0mth. What abt 3 mths onwards or 5mths onwards?

Jessica,
Just go down to taka and get the pigeon set. It is really worth it. And if you top up another $51, you will get a free gift.

I'm having mixed feelings about Amenda &amp; PIS...........

pinkbunny,
I "dong" your tok with my helmet. aiyah, no time to scroll through the mail cos v busy at work.
let me know where to meet.

Qing,
I'm also afraid Cabby will kidnap me but my HB think I siao. So I sms my mum instead cos HB usually asleep by the time I reach home (if work late)

Jmon,
so after this gal, you still going for #3?
If I still have a boy, will try again. so this time, I ask not to know the gender.

Rain,
me vote for Ameda cos tried medela and the suction is strong and noisy. Ameda suction can be adjusted to one's tolerance. BB like the "white" noise too.

re: FM
buy from JB!!

Sally
Quest they state its for 6mths above too if I not wrong but the lowest I would still be comfortable putting my bb in it if need be. Can check the strollers out at the stores n get ur girl to lie inside so u see how low the recline is... hehehe

Jmon
Congrats on ur girl girl......hehe

SY
Yah man. Last round my stretch marks appeared when I was only 3mth preg. Now no new stretch marks I very happy liao.....hahaha

Jeanyard
U so brave dun wanna know gender......hehehe
I'm not so patient n I know I will prob drive myself mad guessing the gender so I rather know. My friend also didn't wanna know the gender after the gynea said she might be having another 'boy' at 12wks. But she got a GIRL n she was so happy!!
Hope u get ur wish this time!!

Isetan sale
-----------------------
Me me!! I'm going!!...hehe
Actually decided not to go cos with the big tummy n my boy along then my friend keep siaing me 1st with the OG sale then the Isetan sale so I'm GOING!!......hahaha
Shopaholic can't stand not going to sales leh esp when its private sale......hehe

pinkbunny
I pmed u my hp no. I trying to be there before 12pm to beat the lunch crowd but u know wat time my son uaually wakes so I 'try' n must see the stupid weather heavy rain then impossible liao cos I'm taking bus.
Let me know if u there okie sms me.

TIGER FOOD JAR: this looks like a thermos flask... how does it cook the porridge...slowly over a few hours using the heat from the hot water we pour in? should be different from slow cooker which we plug in and really cook or boil soup right?

STROLLER: I got my dream stroller &amp; baby seat..2nd hand for a steal! so happy to have saved a couple of hundreds hehehe! now can go beo nicer diaper bags haha anyone looked for diaper bags yets?

LINEA NIGREA: pinkbunny haha..look into the mirror lah..think we all can't see beneath our belly button liao too..

BABY MOVEMENTS: sorry for bringing this up so often, but is the baby located below or above our belly button? *blush*

SY: hope you are feeling better today..n can cheong to the sale..I may not be going...swamped at work!

LBT: thanks for the tips on baby eyes..never knew we could go for checks at such an early stage..do let us know whereabouts the place is ok?

STERILISER: darn..thought I could skip reading about the diffrent brands and prices coz I was gonna inherit my sister's.. but someone said we should still sterilise the milk bottles beyond one year old if they are still drinking from it..so looks like I gotto go get my own...

STEPH: going for your detailed scan this weekend?? good luck!! bbG is hoping for a boy-buddy to hang out wiv and play rough with hehehe

DINNER: have we decided on the venue?

FM
is there a restrication on how many bottles of FM that we can bring in fm malaysia?

BB clothes
yesterday my hubby was telling me dun buy so many clothes for bb afraid the gender might turn out to be different fm wat gynae had seen scan was a gal (coz our last visit to gynae when he was scanning e bb was body side was facing towards him) probably the next visit might give us a much clear scan on the gender.

Full month celebration
just to check is it a must that we give out cakes to relatives?

pinkbunny
wat did you buy fm BHG ? coz i walk a few round nothing caught my attention expect the 2 pcs of clothes.

curious - what does BHG stand for? :D

Do1Nk - yay..which stroller and car seat brand you brough in the end? i was telling PinkB, my hubby gone stroller crazy...1st was the quinny, then he also want maclaren..then the other night, he went to buy 2nd hand bugaboo :p..

All mummies going shopping today..me soo envious cos stuck at work..sob sob..you ladies be careful with the crowd and happy shopping ;)

off to work..blah!

lbt
some of the milk powder packaging is different and the wordings are different so think it is from malaysia.

rain
u can buy those toys with red, black and white colors for the first 6 months cos bb can only see those. i got some flash cards from kids tool (brand) and some soft cube toys that are in red, black and white. when they are young, they dun play with toys much.

share this website that i find quite good.

www.sosmart.com

it has activities list for different age groups. can use as a guide.

serene
i keep getting that kind of pain recently. can be quite sharp adn few times a day. it is the muscle and ligament stretch. mabe next time mention to your gynae again.

do1nk
think the tiger food jar is quite special cos it can cook the porridge by using the heat from the boiling water that u pour in. usually to make sure that it is really cook, i will boil the porridge with the water first and make sure it is boiling when i pour it in. once i din use boiling water and i pour in just hot water, the porridge din cook. so it is really heat.

serene
i din give out cakes to relatives for first month. i held first month celebration instead.