(2008/07) July 2008

SY,
think you type wrong name, i also dun dare cut other people's nails heheh ...

Qing,
Congratulations!! Welcome to the married life

i seldom talk to baby. like you, dunno what to say too. sometimes just hum some music i hear on radio / when i play music while going to sleep. i wonder also whether baby can hear us when we talk to other people?! my hubby will put his lips to the tummy and say "hello baby..." sometimes hahaha... i say to him.. chee sin! :p

i also hear alot abt how small my tummy is. but i'm quite petite so natural bah...

steph
haha sms him. good idea. i also ever take post it pad and stick on my stomach and write 'papa, mummy asks you if... bla bla bla'

ya alot of books say baby can hear mummy and daddy's voice. that's why they 'calm down' when they hear our voices. so encourage papas to talk also.

now i'm "putting my smell" to baby's bean pillow too. so that when we put on her next time, then she will bang sim, knowing that i am near even when i'm not in her cot with her.

SY
i think i won't go and queue early in the morning la. cos i got yoga at 1130, dun wanna bring dua pao sueh pao to class. after that then i go

qing
welcome back! i talk to baby - anything and everything la. mostly is rub rub tummy and say 'you ok? sleeping ah?'.

ok count you in for date liao. yup it's dinner, and the suggested locations are below:

yippee it is finally moving! ok 18 march CONFIRMED!!. here are the more or less confirmed attendees based on choice of preferred date and time:

1) pinkbunny
2) Delphine
3) cin_bunny
4) doggiebb
5) blakmagic
6) labbit
7) do1nk
8) Jeanyard
9) bluey
10) qing

Confirmed mummies, please PM me your HP numbers

- Cafe Cartel at Plaza Sing
- Crystal Jade at Plaza Sing
- Din dai fung at Plaza Sing
- Soup spoon (affordable) at Plaza Sing
- Magic Wok at Capitol Building/City Hall (affordable)
- Pasta de Waraku at Central/Clarke Quay MRT

Size of tummy
Don't worry too much about the size of tummy. Once, I saw a womand in her 8th month and tummy is only slightly bigger than mine. I tot we are in the same timing lor. As long as baby inside is growing well and average size. Should be able to know during the detail scan.

Istean sale:
The tiger jar seems interesting, esp when got baby, need to cook porridge often.

pinkbunny
though abit 'kit sim' when seeing my boy refuses to do something that we try to teach him, but looking at his funny expression, we really got no choice but just laugh... what to do, maybe send him to nursery early, let the teacher or the school mates guide him lor. Very irresponsible parent hoh.

Trick to handle ignoring hubby
the post it pad on stomach!! LOL... Good one.. Will try on my hubby,... gek gek gek..

SY
My boy is bored with his 3 big boxes of toys. Now the only way that can distract him is let him watch TV at close distance. the TV is so huge yet he likes to stand right in front of the TV.. which I don't allow.
Sigh.. Got to spend more $$ to get him new toys la.

The tiger food jar that you are talking about, can cook porridge even without power plugged on? That's fantastic. $39 or $49 is very very good buy.

Cin bunny
you were asking about price of Ameda dual pump? It's selling at Robinson & Takashimaya at $388.

Isetan sale
I'm not member, guess got to wait till it opens to public then.
Any kind soul who are going, can help to check price for Ameda dual pumps? Thanks in advance ya.

bluey,
Where to get the adaptor? No hurry to get it, research more. I'm quite confirmed to get the PIS, cos if compare to Amemda, not much savings.

Rain,

I confirmed on PIS, the question is buy from where.
I like the one in the metro bag.

http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/products/breast-pumps/354/pump-in-style-advanced---metro-bag

Here is the contact (From medela website).

Distributors in Singapore

Medela Breastfeeding
J & E Baby and Mothercare Products Pte Ltd
No. 81 Toh Guan Road East
# 03-01 Secom Centre
Singapore 608606
Tel. (0065) 6562 3008
Fax (0065) 6562 3108
Mail: [email protected]

pinkbunny
dun go and q. really long q. i q before. just go one day before if u can to check out what u wan and reserve it. a lot of pple do that. then on the actual day, go and pick up the items from the counter. fast and easy!

steph,
can't remember who mentioned abt cutting nails..oops...

qing
tummy size not impt as long as doc say your bb is ok. my tummy also very small last time. now second one slightly bigger.

u can sing songs if u dunno what to talk to bb abt. for me, i talk to bb abt anything. sometimes will tell bb how i m feeling, tell her to be a good gal when she comes out etc....haha trying to psycho her a bit.

re tiger jar
yes, the tiger jar that i have can cook porridge. think it's a particular model. can't remmeber the model. when i bought it, i dun even know can cook porridge. only after that then i found out. ask the salesgirl abt it. it is very convenient esp when u wan to go out. what i do is will boil the porridge with water for a while before pouring it in. find that it cooks quite well and the meat etc is quite soft.

sonic
how old is your boy again? my boy doesn't spend a lot of time playing toys actually. we spend a lot of time reading books or painting/coloring. i find it easier to distract him doing these things. now that he's bigger, he's also more into art and craft stuff.

actually no point spending $$ to get new toys for him if he gets bored very fast. i realise only certain toys can capture attention for a long time. some toys that i find quite good are shape sorters (for older kids) and i got puppets as well. ikea having sale on the puppets $2.90 each. i find the quality good and my boy likes it.

i also got this huge roll of paper from ikea and get some markers. just let them scribble on it.

sonic

talia is of Hebrew origin and it means "dew of heaven" also meaning God's favour.

ann is also hebrew and it means "grace" also meaning God's favour.

so hor to be KS, her name is double favour! wahaha!

OH OH! isetan sale on thursday!!! CHEONG AH!!!

bluey,
Ya. The metro bag looks much nicer but will be going for the backpack. Then both hands are free, esp now with baby to carry around.

pinkbunny,
all i talk about it,
baby, you kicking mummy again.
what are u doing inside.

Kinda boring things.
but i loved to touch touch my tummy all the time.
don know why.

anyway PM u my no le...

Taka baby fair,
did anyone of you went to the fair?

Tiger food jar
$39 or $49 – good deal! I will check it out in isetan on thurs! was thinking of getting a small slow cooker for when baby can eat semi solids but I think it’s just me getting too excited too early AGAIN so maybe I’ll let my husband pull handbrake and flash me <font color="ff0000">RED LIGHT</font> for this la

post it pad on tummy
Haha ya. Some more tummy so big now, he cannot not see! When he’s on the sofa watching tv, I purposely stand in front of him. I block the whole TV!

sonic
I’m going to the sale on thurs. what’s the model of the ameda pump, I helpch you check

SY
Thanks for the tip but aiyah no chance to go before Thurs. Today I got to go home and wait for NEPIA diapers to arrive. Tomorrow I got aqua aerobics class… cutting nails is me la. I scared cos the fingers so small and fragile.

poo time distractions
I am imagining kids doing all kinds of things while sitting on the tam pui – art and craft la, playing with puppets… quite funny!!!

doggiebb
Me too! Chose a name with very important meaning to us

labbit, qing and doggiebb
Ya I got your numbers liao
I wait for everyone then I compile and send out

pinkbunny,

for the time being i can join in the gathering on the 18 provided that i dun have client which wan to meet me last min.

Qing,
taka fair probably u might wan to buy the sterlizer which pink bunny has bought i think it a gd buy. n of course the breast pad most likely we might need it ard 8 to 9 mth which i read fm a book.

pinkbunny
i think it's ok to buy the small slow cooker. sometimes when u wan to buy someting, u may not find it!

no lah, no need to do so many things during poo time one. the trick is to catch their timing and then quickly put them on the potty so that they form the association.

18 march date:

1) pinkbunny
2) Delphine
3) cin_bunny
4) doggiebb
5) blakmagic
6) labbit
7) do1nk
8) Jeanyard
9) bluey
10) qing
11) serene

Confirmed mummies, don't forget to PM me your HP numbers (those who have not). Suggested makan locations.

- Cafe Cartel at Plaza Sing
- Crystal Jade at Plaza Sing
- Din dai fung at Plaza Sing
- Soup spoon (affordable) at Plaza Sing
- Magic Wok at Capitol Building/City Hall (affordable)
- Pasta de Waraku at Central/Clarke Quay MRT

serene
tell any client who wants to meet you that big tummy club chope you first! hehe. kendra is a nice name! kendre i've not heard of though.

SY
you are terrible! sia-ing me to buy the small cooker! i don't need much persuasion you know! hehe

potty times
OMG this is getting funnier and funnier. i can imagine parents like circus clown act rushing to put potty under babies' butts

qing
ya ya buy the pigeon set, it's good!

oh pinkie

great idea to grab that slow cooker! and hor pls dun be such a kuku like me the last time when i grabbed the smallest sized one where you can only like cook one little small bowl! *faint* luckily my fellow kaki mums told me to quickly change to one size bigger!

and yes! major circus clown act hor! its literally RIP the diapers off the baby when you see the GEK SAI face! wahahaha!

doggiebb
i think i got the smallest sized one leh...ok so far leh.

pinkbunny
hee, such things can buy first cos u dun wan to have to hunt high and low mah when u wan it.

sy

the smallest one is oh so cute! the size is like one bowl nia. but i cook both lunch and dinner at one go! already like at the brim wor! then next time with #2! how to fit all in!

SY
ya lor that's my logic - i always say 'aiyah if don't buy now, when i want then sure no more liao, or will be more ex' hehe. that's why i end up buying so many baby outfits! hehe

doggiebb
super funny with the circus act man! i can imagine the music in the background. mama reacting with the potty and papa juggling in the background. ahahahah.

slow cooker
ok liao jie. but 2nd smallest size. roger that!

kiddy makan place
if anyone is keen, saw that anchorpoint has a cute mickey mouse place that is super kids friendly. got movie screening and pizzas shaped like mickey mouse and all. hehe

tingkat dinners
oh just to share that we are starting with our first tingkat meal next monday! trial for 5 days (dinner), 2 people, $40. not bad. will update and let you know if anyone is considering!

doggiebb
what a great name! My gal gal's name also means gracious..

SY
my boy is 15mos now. he's still too young for art &amp; craft, so still playing toys. Dare not give him marker/crayon yet, wait my walls become artist's corner. I tried to sit down with him and read books too, the hyper boy just flip a few pages then ran away again... he prefers to climb up and down..

oh ya, I saw the puppet at ikea, but my boy doesn't seem to like it le, probably it's not cute enough.

pinkbunny
thanks a bunch for your kind help. Model arh... hmnn I never take note of the model leh, but thus far I think it's the only dual electric pumps being supplied by Ameda in Singapore. When I search the Ameda's website, seems like model code is SKU: 17070 but but but, if you couldn't find it, or too crowded, that's fine, don't cheong with the crowd, must sayang sayang little bunny. I think the price won't go too far away.

Attached is the picture of the Ameda pump, it's in blue box.
1292628.jpg

bluey,

ah... me blur on vpost. i have a vpost address but then how to ship to sg?? argh... I still figuring...

if i call HME and quote vpost address? then how to proceed? will it be left in my US address? v ex item ley so must consider properly...

btw, vpost having offer now it seems.

pinkbunny
Yah lap chai is guo da li.....hehe
Suddenly forgot the chinese name for it.....hahaha
Since its ur own sibling think they chin chay also la.

Yah lor my 'good' son call dog-dog never mind still manage to call my dog's name somemore 'da ti'(teddy) only recently then learnt to call me so sad hor mama bu ru the dog.....haha
N when I scold my dog he crys....sighhhhh

ALamak we r so alike leh....hahhaha
I must get response form hubby too n die die must get kind....hehe
N I must make sure I get the best bargain before I buy...hehe

SY
My inlaw's bigsize CHH is also still jealous of my son too till now she still keeps barking at him whenever we go or leave their place. Doesn't help that she's a very loud n noisy dog too. Think the same treatment will go for #2....sigh

doggiebb
My dog's still young going 3 this yr got preg with #1 6mths after we bought him. I still angry with hubby over the way my dog got intro to bb. Cos stupid hubby put my dog at inlaw place so when I reach home he wasn't around.....sigh
Only now my dog sort of more on with my son else last time he sort of ignore him when my son wanna sayang him 1.

Stephanie
My yorkie's quite well behave very mild so we r okie with him n bb. Actually he's more scared of my son.....hahaha
My parents have been nagging me to give up my chinchillas ever since I was preg with #1 now nagging start again ofcos but hack care la I'm the 1 taking care not them ma. My dad loves my dog too so won't ask me to give him up.

Sonic
My son is 17mths now. Initially I caught him a few times jus when he started pooing. Quickly put him on the potty he continue to gek la cos in the mood but he's crying n crying also lor n keep wanting to stand....sigh
I tried the same for the seat to put on toilet bowl same reaction keep crying so forget it la. I try to pee train him he also dun wanna seat in the potty always end up peeing few sec right after he walk away, so I tired of fighting with him now wait till I have the mood again.....haha

Since we r on this topic here's my son leashing my dog for the 1st time.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mznd0RUA_Zc

I have not tried HME before.

But for other spree I hv done for US items, I will give them the vpost address. Get them to ship to vpost. After vpost "weigh" the items, they will quote the shipping to singapore.
I will then pay up and the item is on the way to singapore.

Pinkbunny
I used to use the wall on hubby too when hubby dun ans me I will go n hit the wall n ask if it heard me then hubby will reply.....hahahha
I love ur post it on tummy so cute. But my hubby blind 1 la post it so small think I need at least an A4 paper for him to notice.
I painted my nails bright pink n he didn't notice how blind is that.

Garfield
when u login vpost 1st page got step by step ma. Anyway when U are ordering u quote the vpost addy as the shipping address. N once they ship ur items u email the invoice to vpost so they know to receive ur items. Once they receive they will ask u for payment n once its done they will send it to ur sg address u have with them.

Now vpost having $15 off till end of Mar so if want better hurry.

dor dor
OMG your son is so cute commanding the dog! and it's your dog that is walking your son! keke

oh speaking about painting nails pink.... there was once i ke siao, woke up earlier than hubby (usually he's the morning bird) and he was sleeping very soundly so i painted his toenails PINK!!! he didn't get up but i was really struggling to keep my laughter down. when he woke up i buak bodoh, never say anything. i think he only found out when he had to put on socks to go to work haha. then no time to clean off so he had to spend the whole day with pink nail polish.

oh no,

i am pretty lost.
everyone seem to know what to buy.

what if i buy the pump then i cant breast feed.
how?

pinkbunny,
you even purchase diapers le...

pinkbunny
I painted my hubby's toenails with glow in the dark once while he was napping so it wasn't very obvious......hahahha
Cannot control my laughter when we switch off the lights for bedtime.....hehehe

garfield,
Just one more thing on the $15 off. It is only for shipping charges more than $40. After I got the dimension from HME, the shipping cost might be less than that.
If you do order, can pm me? I m still deciding if I wan to import over.

wow! so many posts today..

pinkbunny, PM-ed you ler..

DOM: doesn't taste nice right? My sis still have 2 untouched bottles waiting to pass to me eeks!

DOGS: wah so happy to see many of you are dog people too haha.. we refer to ours as the zhang soon of the family... and he's kor-kor to my little baby now..hehe

TOILETRIES SET: I got the whole complete kit by Safety First ($16 during sale) that has nail clipper, hair brush all those things we need to get for baby and comes in a bag so more convenient to keep them altogether..check it out

BABY HANKIES: oh ya.. I went to buy some from the taka sale (paid $4.90 for 6) only to come back and find out that my MIL can get very nice soft and equally good ones from the market for only 20cents each! so go check out your markets too...

BB MOVEMENTS: ok ..coming from the thick skin mummy again..how do you tell gas from BB movements.. my tummy seems to be moving today but how do you know it's not flatulence *blush*

bluey,

shipping charges lesser than $40? then it might be worthwhile to get it. i still hesistating as i also waiting for the bb fair on 22 mar at expo... seems got sale too...

qing
use the force, luke, use the force. use the list, qing, use the list. i also blur but follow the list posted by one of the kind mummies: http://www.mumcentre.com/essentials/baby_checklist.htm

aiyah i kiasu mah. i go and see if diapers got promo then i buy la. i'm like that. see what i need, then buy when it's on promo to spread out the spending. then can have everything swee swee prepared slow by slow. rather than at 8th month kalang kabut to search for things then no sale some more

dor dor
where to buy glow in the dark nailpaint! i want! the next time he ignore me, i will wake up in the middle of the night to paint him! haha

do1nk
got your PM! i'm not sure if i will like the taste of dom because i usually don't like liqour taste and overly herbal taste. i HATE essence of chicken! but if it's cooked with food then i guess ok la.

wah wah wah your safety set sounds good! which sale ah? okie thanks for tip on towels!!

movements
if you feel like it's gas but yet you don't fart then i guess it's baby? hehe. actually i don't quite remember what that feels like liao but like one of the mummies was saying (dor dor is it?) that it feels like you've swallowed a fish haha

Tiger Food jar
I got mine from Isetan sales 2 yrs ago too.
It was a steal ! It comes with the food jar and thermal flask for only .............. $40 !!

Original price was > $100. So gals if u see it, buy it now ! It comes in handy when you need to bring hot water and porridge out.

Slow Cooker

I dunno how small u all meant but I do have a slow one. It can cook for a family of 3 like mine leh. I am using the IONA one, call the ZI SHA GUO (purple clay pot). It is v good cos it heat up v fast. U know, some slow cook are REEEEAAAL SLOW. v pek chek .. wait so long haven boil one. But this one I use heat up v fast and v good when u want to cook super nua porridge for your little ones.

I think it cost only about $29. Cheap and Good.

someone recently brought up topic of holiday. suddenly i very gian again. hubby said he don't want to go bkk. he dun mind going HK. i thought maybe macau. anyone been before? and where else for good getaway, maybe 4D3N, for the budget conscious? i think i don't want to temp the toilet gods again and take a coach so pueh kee please!

bluey, garfield,
Dun rush to get the PIS yet or be tempt by the $15 discount offer by Vpost. PIS cost so much that $15 is really nothing.
I'm waiting till giving birth, then u noe if got supply or not ma. I'm also looking around for rental so that I can be very sure of my choice **

Tiger Jar,
I've hear about that since last year but didn't even get to see what it looks like..... So even if there is a sale for this item and it may be right in front of me, I also willn't know.

Pinkbunny,
Can I give you my number although I may not be coming?

Potty:
Since most of us are FTWM, how to do the potty training? Weekend and at night? So far I only learn how to hold the baby, still have a long way to learn.

I also got 2 dogs (1 CKC &amp; 1 ST) and I'm a Jun'08 mummy... Both of them are still staying together with me &amp; my hubby in the bedroom. They'll (as usual) still jump up to our bed to sleep and rock n roll. Our intention is to have them in the hall or kitchen. My current situation is that all our other bedrooms (5-rm flat) are rented out and the hall and kitchen are for the tenants, so it's kinda of inconvenient to have them outside, esp when they need to wee or poo... I still got 2 rabbits and 2 g-pigs in the balcony. BTW, both me and my hubby are animal-lovers and dun intend to adopt out our furkids, even with baby around.

Any 2nd-time mum with similar conditions/situations I'm facing now? I'm quite concerned over newborns' health, like asthma and fur...

Pple suggestion using mosquito net so that fur flying in the room can be minimize but when I were to hug/carry my baby, fur will still get onto my baby. I've a hepa filter air purifier at home now but wonder if it's good enough...

Any good suggestions are welcomed! Thanks in advance...

rain
just PM to me and i will compile
i don't think any of the mummies here will call you in the middle of the night! hehe.

sally
sorry to hear about your stroller! any chance you took a receipt?

talking to baby
btw some of you were asking what to say to baby. sometimes i say 'wow you've grown so much since the last time we say you! good job, girl!'. little words of encouragement like that
i think that's how i'll talk to her when she's a child too

Pinkbunny,
Ok. Maybe I can find my mahjong kaki here

Any good food to eat in Orchard area? Thinking of going to the sale and then may as well tuck in some good &amp; famous food

pinkbunny
The glow in the dark nail polish I had was yrs ago by maybelline limited edition n mine dried out liao. Sad hor but its so nice cos I'm a sucker for glow in the dark things......hahaha
My hubby should count himself lucky its dried out already but I bought those glow in the dark pens before can use those la but dun recall seeing them nowadays....hmmm
We machiam bian tai use these to disturb hubby.....hahahha

Will PM u my contact too. Won't be there for the dinner but will prob bring my son shopping nearby n see if I can bump into u ladies.

do1nk
Swallow a fish ummm not me......haha
My bb's movements r very obvious now can eve see the bumps when she moves or kicks me already.
Try lying nearly flat on ur back cos ur tummy will be tighter n bb dun seem to like it so will kick......hehe

Sally
Aiyoh so ke xi. My sis got the Triumph waiting to pass to me but I still went n bought my Quest cos I feel quest still can recline so if I need to put bb somewhere I will still feel confortable enough to put her in it. N the weight is at most 1kg more then Triumph so can consider bah.
N if u dun mind getting the older models go to BB hypermart cos I got mine there for 30% off jus becos it was last yr's design. Paid only $200+ for it very worth!!!
Combi is quite flimsy I esp hate the part where I have to worry if stroller will topple if I carry bb up. Thats why I sold mine to get the Maclaren.

Rain
I think pump rental u can go to TMC they have a place there where u can rent alot of brands to try. But I not very sure where cos I never rented.

Tiger food jar
-------------------------
Okie those own a car at home n use shell petrol can use the points to redeem the tiger food jar. So no need to spend money......hehe

Jessica
I have a Yorkshire n 4 chinchillas in 1 room. My yorkie doesn't know how to jump high so can't jump onto our beds. We have stopped letting him on our bed too for hygeine purpose when bb arrives but he still sleeps with us in the same bedroom. But as mine is a yorkie n he doesn't shed I dun have much prob with his fur.
My chinchillas are the 1 with the fur problem but we dun usually allow my son into the room they r in cos of the fur flying around. So far my son has not had any probs with the fur.
Jus try to make sure u clean urself up before u handle ur bb esp the 1st few mths or let ur hubby handle ur pets while u handle bb totally.
Dun think mosquito net will help for anything n I dun have any filters at home at all.

Jessica,
If none of u or ur hubby hv allgery problem, possibility of your kids having allgery is also low.
As mentioned earlier, me, hubby, my gal, and 2 ckcs sleep in 1 bedroom. My doggies sleep on my bed frequently and they are free to roam the house. So practically, fur are everywhere my house.
My mom used to nag at me, now she also gave up on asking me to let the doggies go.
When my gal is less than 1yr, I used to on a hepa filter in bedroom when aircon is on. After that, no more.

When your child is young, monitor him or her closely. But I dun think fur is a big problem to children as long as your house is hygiene.

hi jessica... r u a 1st time or 2nd time mum? Your home sounds packed wiv the other two rooms rented out, rabbits &amp; g-pigs in the balcony, your hubby &amp; you with 2 dogs and a baby in the room.. hope your pets are all sterilised so you don't have any unexpected babies..

cavaliers and shih tzus do not shed as badly as huskies and jack russells.. so I think as long as you diligently sweep your place everydday, should be ok.. our dog sleeps with us in our bed since he was a baby..so I don't think I'm gonna banish him from there when the baby is out..coz the baby will be sleeping in the cot anyway

do note that pet fur does not CAUSE allergies, they may juz aggravate them only if your baby already has it..

rain
what do you mean by finding your mahjong kaki here? please dont' get me excited for nothing. mahjong and shopping share top spot in my list of favourites!!

orchard road makan - i love the yong tao foo at cuppage centre (the building that is next to centrepoint, behind OG i think)

jeanyard!
tok your head then you know. dinner la 730pm! so donch need to take leave

ok see you all much later, if at all. going to be in meetings all day :S