(2008/07) July 2008

PINKBUNNY: so he really didn't see the gown til the actual day? dats so cute...ya lor i think we chinese have more customs..some which we can't even understand ourselves..like attending a wedding when u r preggie (going for one this weekend)..it's a happy day for all..dun see the logic why we shouldn't go..

NAME: haha we also got a name (for a boy) long ago, now trying to consider if we will stick to it still... but didn't have a name for a girl til recently, which didn't get good feedback from my family though

OUR HOT DATE: urr how do we get there? any alternative place near mrt? *blush* dun mean to be troublesome..

mamas
how about indulgez bistro at liang seah street? or purvis street.. one of those la, opposite bugis junction. quite a nice quaint rest where we can hear each other talking but i'm sure we will end up making the most noise haha. nearest mrt station: BOOGEES

do1nk
ya first time he saw my gown was when my father walked me down the aisle. attending other people's wedding, i didn't mind having preggies at my wedding but some more pantang - bride/groom's mother in particular. some will insist you put a red string around your stomach. for what, i dunno! hearsay only

nesting
read that some women will get the 'nesting' syndrome when it's closer to their due date. they will do things to clean up the house to prepare for the baby's arrival. my colleague washed toilet! i wonder what mine will be.

giving angpow
ok mummies, another question. any of you had a younger sibling get married after you? when do you give angpow? during tea ceremony or dinner, or both times?

haha u've got a very introverted neighbour..some people like to keep to themselves i guess...

urr other options for dinner @ cityhall:
* din dai fung
* kuriya jap food
* soup spoon (affordable)
* ochacha (green tea dessert n drinks..but we can't take green tea right?)

Back from my detailed scan. Confirmed i am joining the PINK gang.

Hi Pink bunny,
I should be able to make it for the dinner. keep me posted of the venue again.

congrats 3D! another potential girlfriend for my bbG to pick from hehehehe

where are all the boys....hiding.... doggieBB u confirm ur no 2 is a boy liao?

lbt
Mine too lor so sad until when I was stopping BF I realised I dunno how to wear wire bras anymore......hahahaa
Our hubbies won't dare to say anything la we sacrifice so much for our bbs leh they didn't even go through labour pains.....hahaha

pinkbunny
Ur so nice. I do intend to invite my neighbour(next to my unit) to my #2 1st mth celebration since we r gonna do a small 1 at home for our friends n we do smile smile so will jus invite even though they didn't give me anything for #1. #1 we did it at inlaws place diff floor only invited relatives.
So for ur open qns I think they should at least have smsed u guys or make an effort to say thank you.
But nemind la u are the nice 1 n seems they r not jus dun bother inviting them for ur bb's 1st mth lor....hehe

OMG my hubby also doesn't like to reply me so its part of multitask aah???....hahahhaha
But its so irritating I will always ask him if it will kill him to jus reply me.

doggiebb
Ur girl is SOOOOOO Sweet n chubby!!!
My son is so scared of the potty leh dunno why when ever I try to put him sitting on it he starts crying n wanna get off......sigh

SY
My hubby totally opp from urs. He wanted me to use nappies soley for my son I refuse flatly. Cos I'm not gonna waste my time at home soaking, washing, hanging, folding nappies the whole day. No offence to those who wanna use nappy jus my personal view nia. Even though he says he will do the washing I refuse lor cos I'm the 1 taking care of my son of cos I'm the 1 to choose wat I wanna use ma....hehe
Actually I'm more the lazy kind n nappies dun wash properly will kanna nappy rash too cos my bro did when the maid didn't wash it clean enough. So I rather have a clean disposable diaper everytime......hehehe

Sonic
Same for my son n I keep trying diff potties even trying those fit on toilet bowls but he jus cry when I put him on 1. N yah he poos when he's standing most of the time. Actually he doesn't preempt me he will jus suddenly stand there n GEK.....hehehe
But he doesn't poo daily or at the same time of the day so I give up for now will try again when I have the mood.

do1nk
re pumping u can get the cups which u fit between ur boob n bra so watever milk leak will be caught in it n u can pour it into the bottle too.

Bottles after sterilising
-------------------------------------------
For me right cos I only sterilise once a day at night wat I do is after it has cooled down I simply fit n screw all the bottles back so its still clean ma wanna use jus take n use.

Pets n bbs
------------------------------
Agree bbs who have pets in the hse have less allergies. Read it somewhere.
N they def will be animal lovers any animal until now I gotta rein my son in whenever there's a cat/dog somewhere cos he will jus walk as near as he can maybe try n touch.
I jus dun let my dog lick my son when he was young smelling his feet is okie but not near any other body parts. But my dog is non aggressive he's a small yorkshire even my son can squash him to death.....hahaha
Actually I still have another 4 chinchillas....hehehe

N now my son loves my dog alot every morn will look over the side of the bed for my dog n play with him. FYI he learnt how to call my dog before he called me Mama.

Delphine
Congrats a princess again.....hehe
Can save abit of money there liao.

pinkbunny
If ur sibling got the 'lap chai' bout 2 weeks before wedding think give that time bah. Tea ceremony is diff angbao leh. Of jus ask ur parents la....keke

pinkbunny - am ok with any venue..agree that it shld not be too noisy place otherwise, cannot hear each other
am going to block my calendar for 18 nite for now ..

good night night owl mummies...zzz

Rainbaby

i think my friend's PIS is the older version.
The motor is the heaviest item and it is required for every pump leh.

doggiebb

just saw ur gal pic on the potty. hehe I bgt the same potty for my gal too !

pinkie

err can we choose somewhere near to MRT ?

some choices:
Cafe Cartel at Plaza Sing
Those mentioned abv at Raffles City. Btw best to avoid Jap food now right ?
Crystal Jade at Plaza Sing ..

err .. where else ?

think i m getting a sinus infection..sigh...think need to see doc again.

re names
i tot of name for my gal already. i will name her Jing4 Xuan1. i chose this name when i was having #1...hee so now can finally use.

rain
i heard the battery pack not so power for the pump. i got the advanced but i never try the battery pack before.

re potty training
for those who dun wan to sit potties, how abt fixing the child seat on the adult toilet bowl and then let them seat on the toilet bowl? also sometimes they may require a 'demo' from the parents...of cos not a real one lah but u can just sit on the toilet bowl and tell them u sit there when u want to poo. they will get the idea...

just to share something abt my son. yesterday i was reading with him and sitting on the floor. after sitting for too long, i told him i want to lie down cos backache. so he said mama sit too long on floor, back pain. then after that before we slept we prayed and he reminded me to pray for my back ache. was quite touch that he actually remembered.

dordor
hee, think u think the same way as my hb. he rather be safe than sorry. scared the maid won't wash the nappies cleanly and end up the bb has nappy rash....

morning all...

pinkbunny,
the restaurant u talk abt near Beach Road is a bit out of the way for me leh.

I dont mind City Hall. There're no of resturant at the basement and coffeeclub at 3rd floor.

lbt,
jap food got cooked food mah, y avoid leh?

jeanyard,
ya hope can see u in this gathering as well.

cos hb still having cold war with his mum, i have to think of excuses to come out for dinner so tat my mil wont make noise.

oh ya,
i am going to gynae appt at 4.30pm. hope can see the gender today...if girl, then i can join the PINK gang *yoo hoo*

good morning mamas!

dor dor
re my neighbour. thanks. i really thought maybe i was being strange. i bought her some body shop scrubs (cos people often give the babies and forget the mamas) and for the baby, some mittens and booties. not that i wanted to be BFF with her or what, just thought would be nice to have more familiar faces than simply strangers. never mind la. maybe she's just shy.

ahaha so funny your son learnt your dog's name before calling you mama!

what is lap chai? like lap cheong is it? guo da li ah? ask my parents? sudah la. they also blur. think i will just give one big one during tea ceremony then dinner don't need to give.

delphine
congrats on joining pink gang! hehe can imagine all our daughters in 20+ years time gossipping away like us! keke

pumping
wow the way it is describe, it really seems like each session is like a mission!!

our date
yippee it is finally moving! ok 18 march <font color="ff0000">CONFIRMED!!</font>. here are the more or less confirmed attendees based on choice of preferred date and time:

1) pinkbunny
2) Delphine
3) cin_bunny
4) doggiebb
5) blakmagic
6) labbit
7) do1nk
8) Jeanyard
9) bluey

Joining us next time
1) Sonic

To be confirmed cos 18th dinner not really in their first choice:
1) rain
2) SY
3) JMON (if hubby can take care of baby)

Confirmed mummies, please PM me your HP numbers and I will compile and send to everyone who is attending, steady bo? Bluey, I got yours liao, thanks!

and here are the places that have been suggested (minus all the jap places that some of us feel we should avoid) and some more:

- Cafe Cartel at Plaza Sing
- Crystal Jade at Plaza Sing
- Din dai fung at Plaza Sing
- Soup spoon (affordable) at Plaza Sing
- Magic Wok at Capitol Building/City Hall (affordable)
- Pasta de Waraku at Central/Clarke Quay MRT

Do1nk

thanks! we started potty training by trying to catch her at her most likely pooing times. Like right after her milk, after her lunch, after her dinner etc. Then to entice her to sit on it, she only gets to play special toys and she gets read to on the potty from her favourite potty books! WAHAHA! The trick is not to force her, if she doesn't want to sit, we will let her get up. But normally the toys and books are too interesting and we will make all the "gek sai" noise to induce her!

at the 16 weeks scan, we saw something sticking out! the gynae was pretty sure! but hor I will wait until the detailed scan this week to CONFIRM lor! *shiver shiver*

Rain

I can't quite remember the price of the ameda as i got it 2 years ago. i think it's about $350+ something like that. yeah yeah! the PIS shld be ok, it's the medela single that sounds like a lawn mower!

lbt

yup! but when anyone carries the bb, they may get all wet and yucky hands so a nappy cover is still good lah.

same potty huh! i thought that was a pretty good choice. one consideration was that the potty must be stable so the slightly longish shape of the potty was pretty good! ahh! we have such good taste don't we don't we? *blink blink eyes*

pinkie

thanks! lurve to buy dresses for the ger!

and i would vote for a dinner venue nearer to a mrt station as well.

dor dor

thanks thanks! i think it is normal that bois are toilet trained later! maybe you could try getting a special potty toy to distract him? AHH! yorkies are sooooo cute! my ger will chase my cookie girl (the maltese) all over the house to play ball with her!

doggiebb
i also used to have a maltese but he passed away in Dec. my son still remembers him till now. my maltest was really old. 15 years old and quite sad cos i din get to see him one last time.

my dog was always pretty jealous of my boy. he's the only person that my dog rejects.

pinkbunny
pasta de waraku is nice...hee, i went there a few times already cos just opp my workplace. the pizza there is great!

SY
your son is so sweet!!! jing4 xuan1 sounds really nice and sweet!

potty training
just curious - did any of you get TAM PUI from your mothers when you got married? my mum gave me that, and baby bathtub and sewing kit and a few more things.

doggiebb
where you buy that white dress from? it's super cute la! but maybe i should ask you think in 6 months la. last night my hubby gently said 'i think our daughter already has about 100 outfits. enough ok?'. haha.

Abbott is organizing this seminar for 1st time mums this Saturday… see if you’re interested to attend.

FYI:
http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/for_famties/ft_marapr08_first_mum_congress.asp

lbt, yes that wat she say to me, hers will be gushing out like waterfall. I thot v amusing... but guess her milk supply is alot... she say v fast n convenient some more... hahaha

bluey, i also thinkin of buyin from overseas but have to buy adapter lor.

garfield

it is true lor .. so envy of their supply !!

doggiebb

that was my criteria in choosing the potty also. must be very steady. cos the old type can be quite dangerous. I saw my niece topple over before.

pinkie

the restaurants are all fine with me since near MRT
tks for accomodating.

SY

i guess your doggie is an old doggie, prolly that's why! mine is 5 years old. we got her like 3 mths after we got married so she has been through all the major changes in our hsehld. the day we brought the bb home, the husband actually brought back a pc of bb clothing for her to smell so that she will not think the bb is a stranger when she comes home! ~wails~ i don't know how i will cope when she passes on!

pinkie

i think that is from bangkok if i am not wrong! not exy but oh so cute hor!

On baby name

pinkbunny
me too.. Haha.. Got a name for my baby even before I'm pregnant. In fact, I got a pair of names ready when I have my #1. since my #1 is boy, the gal name was reserved for #2 (as if I knew before hand my #2 will be gal)

lbt
Guess what, the name I've got for my gal is quite similar to yours le... inspired by LEE-Anne

pinkbunny,

I think somewhere near MRT would be better. Esp. if can shop nearby

Rain,

I have check the price online and it is about SGD$400 to ship 1 set over (including vpost shipping).
Combination of shipping is not advisable in this case as we might incur GST charges for purchase >$400.
In worst case, if the power adaptor cannot be use here, the original power adaptor is sold @ $88 locally. So it will be about ~SGD$500 at most. But there are always other alternatives.

So now thinking if it is worth the effort.

Maybe once I purchase, I will update again.

Talking about doggies, I have 2 dogs before I have my gal. When my gal is born 4 years ago, they were just 3 years old. They looks abit unhappy when all attention turn to the baby but maybe becoz of the breed, they either ignore her or just kapo around when she cry.
Now my gal is the BIG sister in the household, she "command" the dogs.
My mom used to ask me to give the dogs away becoz children might be allgery to dog fur/hair.
I think children and dogs are fine as long as the bred of the dog is not agressive.
The fun part is that we all sleep in the same room except my maid who have 1 big room to herself.

Well ... as far as I could say for my 2 CKCS and 1 gal ... and soon plus 1 boy, they will get along well but a bit tiring to manage all of them.

pets
i think children that grow up with pets are not as dan xiao. and they're more compassionate too. thinking of getting one when babyD is a bit older. a bunny la, what else! keke.

bluey
so cute that your girl commands the doggie!

JMON
high five, sister, i'm going! i even took leave! haha. actually got a few errands to run so might as well take leave la. less stress. so going to hit the sale, go for morning yoga (so tai tai!), and go with ah bu to buy gold for SIL (wedding) and hopefully can nudge nudge my mum to get anklet at the same time too keke

hokkien question
anyone is hokkien? how to say 'pregnant' besides 'dua ba tor' ('big stomach')? it sounds quite crude hor.

another funny random question brought to you by pinkbunny

date reminder
don't forget to PM me your contact numbers. gam xia. or else all waiting like goondus at the restaurant. or worse, got some lurker pervert been following our thread and just show up pretending to be one of us!

isetan sale is today!!!! Argggh!!!

i so need to get myself a digital scale!!!

pinkie

i am not hokkien but how about "wu liao"?

will pm you my contact numbers later. pervert huh? all of us sit on the person, that person sure gone liao! no scared!

doggiebb
hahahhaa. i read it in chinese so wu2 liao2 sounded really funny! but in hokkien i think you3 le4 (chinese) doesn't really translate directly like that la! i think if i say 'wa wu liao', people will ask 'wu si mi?'.

eh isetan sale starts on thursday la, not today.

DOM
2nd time mummies - how many bottles of DOM (yang3 ming4 jiu3) will we need ah? and only confinement then drink/cook with food right? now don't drink right? i already have 3 bottles leh. anyone wants? lelong lelong. i bought one myself and got 2 extra liao

pinkie

i think i got like 3 bottles of dom the last time and hor my CL also needed VSOP so i am stocking up on that too!

yeah yeah! pls dun drink now!!! wahahaha!

Thermometer:
According to hubby, the Braun one has "auto heat up mechanism" hence, reading will be more accurate. Normal thermometer, usualy feels cold on the metal part, won't take as accurate readings.

BM Pumping:
i read somewhere that says, pump from one breast and BF baby on the other. but it didn't elaborate whether do both things together. it's so confusing.. only got 2 hands leh.. anyone came across such advise?

No response from hubbies:
my hubby used to give me the silent treatment too until i started doing the same to him!!! now he dare not liao.. hehehe ;)

dor_dor!!!! You have a yorky!?!?! i had one too, my favourite breed!! but i had to give him to my bro coz he can't get along with my hubby's westie. both males!! he had a fit and bit his tongue 2 weeks ago... gave us a fright. vet says quite normal :S he's almost 7 yrs old liao so considered quite old for the breed. westie is coming to 5yrs old. he's rather well behaved so i don't think there'll be much problem keeping him even after baby arrives. so turning deaf ears to mum &amp; mil's suggestions :p

what's good at isetan sale? i thinking of getting all the baby bath and baby stuff like nail clipper, nose cleaner :p so do you think robinsons, taka or isetan best place to buy? i was thinking anywhere with 20% shld be ok rite?

wow... you ladies already start buying and stocking up supplies!? i still quite bo chap.. only bought pump, stroller and thermometer. thot the "smaller" items can buy all one shot.

was wondering how come i like not as excited as most of you mummies here
like not feeling any maternal instinct leh... sometimes i even forgot i'm pregnant .. told my hubby he went :S :S :S

Rain,
if they specify "private sale", the staff/guard will want to see the isetan card before they let you in. you can go with friend who has the isetan card.

wei cin bunny, tao yan. i posted some good deals about isetan sale before! because we fellow bunnies, i go find it again and re-post for you.

13-27 march with private sale 830am-10pm for cardholders (so i guess that means 14 onwards is open to public?). some interesting items:

- ENDO 1.2l thermal lunchbox with 3 microwavable containers. usual $39, now $19.90 + additional 10% off at isetan scotts for members on 13 mar
- ENDO 500ml thermal food jar usual $25, now $12. + additional 10% off at isetan scotts for members on 13 mar

also, little tots fair 13 mar - 5 apr only at isetan scotts and katong
some interesting items:
- avent express steam sterilizer, feeding bottle 260ml x2 and pillow. usual $203.10, now $131
- pupsik baby pouch carrier usual price $42.90, now $29.90
- combi truller stroller usual $559 now $359

20% off avent and NUK and pigeon. and fisher price. got a few more but not so interesting.

nail clippers
i scared leh. think i will let hubby do it la. or maybe babyD can start new fashion like the old times empress dowager, got very long nails kind?

ignoring hubby
haha if i ignore him, it won't affect him! but if he ignore me, i buay tahan cos i must have an answer/reply/some kind of indication that he heard me.

jialat this morning i snacked so much! and now still hungry! can't wait for lunch!

steph
certain times i also 'forget' i'm preggie. then i look in a mirror and i get a shock. haha. for me, cos i'm a shopaholic so i always look out for good deals. hubby doesn't like shopping with me cos i will walk around and look around to compare prices then walk back all the way to the first shop to buy cos it's cheaper haha. that's why so happy to have all you mama kawans here! we can all help each other cut down on research!

Pinkbunny,
i also buay ta han .. machiam talking to the wall.. and i tell him that!! i said even the dog acknowledges when i talk to him and he doesn't even understand me!!! hehehe... you tahan tahan and wait for the right opportunity to strike at the right moment! good luck!

Ladies, OG tomorrow got sale too!

Isetan sale:
feel that Scotts branch has more things than Katong branch

Dor dor
My boy finally finds someone with same weird habit - poo while standing!
My boy also does not poo at the same time everyday. Hard to catch his timing and put him on the potty. There was once we manage to 'sense' he's about to poo, quickly took away his diaper and put in on potty, he's kind of looking at us with many ?????.... Then he goes 'waaaaa.....'' cried out loud and ran away. We also gave up liao.

Btw, how old is your boy now?

SY
So sweet of your son. I'm wondering when my son will begin to understand what I'm trying to tell him. When I hold his hand to pray, he ran away from me as he can't sit still for a second.. hyper-active lah.

He's having flu recently, due to bad weather I guess. Have been fussing whole day, refuse to eat and drink his milk. Always wanting to go out, else cry till whole floor can hear his voice. Don't know how to pacify him really, sigh.

doggie
Talia ann is so unique. Any special meaning behind it?

pinkbunny - so sorry, must hv missed yr thread on isetan sale..heehee..or can i use the blame the pregnancy card on you too? brain cells depleting so only hv very short term memory ;)

stephanie,
i have not started buying bb items AT ALL.. u r still better than me lolzzz....

pinkbunny,
i m also taking leave to the isetan sales on Thurs :p and run some errands.

sonic
your boy is so funny! i can imagine, like cartoon when alot of ??? appear next to the head hehe.

cin bunny
oi. cannot use the same excuse back on same gang! blame the pregnancy card can only be used on hubbies! keke

steph
i ever talk to him then he never answer (i monologue not only at this thread hor?) then i go and stand at the wall in front of him and said 'wall, you think bluebunny heard what i said?'. then he tsk me.

Jmon,
actually those things more like hubby say buy lor then i buy. the stroller like his new toy.. kept taking it out and push around the house! hahaha...

pinkbunny,
you funny lah... you not monologue la.. sometimes really bz with work so can't log in to chat... you can try sms him even when he's just right in front of you!? i tried that too!

Isetan sale:
anyone gonna join the Q early in the morning? hehehe... did that once with my mum. quite frustrating for me coz i don't really like crowded places. esp now with the tummy like that... more impatient :p

i envy all of u mummies can go shopping , me got lots of drawings to do cant go out this week. than if were to go shopping have to wait till hubby is free coz than he will pay for all the items.

Durian
I had some durian last nite coz crave for it since last week, hubby purposly went to buy some for me to eat(so sweet of him) but i heard fm his friend that in fact preg woman cant eat a lot of durain coz it will cause high blood pressure, it happen to his friend sister is it true?

doggiebb
yup my doggie with me since he was 3 months old. after i moved out when i got married, i had my boy very soon so i guess my dog wasn't too pleased with my boy's arrival. my boy used to try to ask my dog to lick him but he will always ignore my boy and go lick someone else. so my boy always says my dog lick everyone else except him.

pinkbunny
thanks for the compliments on the name. hee, i like this name a lot so very happy got chance to use.

re isetan sale
a tip for the mummies who are going. go and check out what u want before hand and reserve it and then just pick it up on the actual day of the private sale. that's what i used to do cos queues etc are very long. i went before when i was preggy with #1 and bought some stuff. i remember buying the hankies for washing him. it's very cheap. but do take note, some of the so called sale items are not really on sale. i ever come across items that they mark as sale prices when the prices are the same as elsewhere.

one good buy that i picked up is the tiger food jar. the one that can cook porridge when u pour the rice and boiling water into it. think i picked it up for abt 39 or 49.

the other items are quite normal. 20% is quite standard.

sonic
my boy also very fussy when sick. must keep trying to distract him lor. anything u can use to distract him?

steph
hee, i also dun dare to cut my boy's nails. even now, my hb is the one cutting...

wow ladies,

i think i am lagging real behind.
have been busy with my actual day wedding.
i am finally done with the traditional chinese wedding. it is really a very tiring day and time pass real fast. but i enjoyed very bit of it.

stephanie,
sometimes i do forget that i am preggy too. tummy still not very obvious and heavy.
sometimes i even run to catch the bus.

and it seems like everyone is stocking up baby stuff. i have yet to start my buying. hubby say it is still very early to buy all these. haiz.

does anyone of you talk to the baby?
what do you always talk about?
i wanted to talk to the baby but can't seem to find anything to talk about.

everyone is commenting that my tummy is not big enough for a 5 months. i am kinda worried now.

anyway can i join in the gathering on the 18th?
but is it a dinner?
i can' take 'leave' le. took too much for my wedding this month.