(2008/07) July 2008

Pinkbunny
you better don't try now, wait you get addicted... Haha..
but seriously, stimulating the breasts now will cause contraction of womb, which we don't want it to happen now.

Doggiebb
Yeah, that's what I'm thinking too. If Ameda is as good as Medela, why not?
So after 7.5mth of usage, your pump still can be used for #2 right?

garfield

u can consider looking for a 2nd hand one. My friend bgt the PIS and she is the 3rd owner. Then she lent it to me and the pump serves me well !!

pinkbunny
my hb choose hygiene over cost. he is not too keen on bumwear stuff also. i got training pants for #1 and he already making noise. he just thinks not worth the trouble etc for nappies!

btw, u need to think abt the water and detergent u use also...

doggiebb
i started my boy on potty and he can poo in his potty but when he got older, he refuse the potty and only wants adult toilet bowl. now, he can only poo in adult toilet bowl.

for toilet training, PD did mention to me before that they can't hold urine so soon but i have frens who can train their bb successfully.

re pets and bb
i read before that it is actually good to have a pet in the house. bb will be less prone to allergies. check it on the web.

pinkbunny
i dun quite agree that bb will use 10 diapers a day for 12 months. u know hor, my boy only uses at most 2 diapers day now? though i can't remmeber when that started but it started before he was even 12 months. cos he can tell us when he wants to poo. so from then on, he only needs abt 2 diapers at most per day. then one more for night. whereas for nappies, u have to change after each pee.

re PIS
when i first bought it, i also din think abt how long i am going to BF. like what lbt says, if u want to have more than one kid, just buy PIS...

sonic

can can! can still use for #2! also really easy to dis-assemble to sterilise and assemble back! i can even put it into that pigeon sterilising bag and use my office microwave to sterilise. so really convenient!

sonic
funny you. really make me sound like pervert.

i think just read up and hear what other mummies have to say. don't just buy cos of brand

back to the topic of sex
i think one reason why the mood is not there is because we're so creamed up - stretch mark cream la, nippe cream la etc, and that creates a bit of physical barrier also. hor? for me at least la.

calcium
oh my gosh i have just been introduced to COWHEAD milk sandwich crackers. it's so shiok!!! for those of you who are not milk fans

garfield
welcome back!!

mummies - for those who went back to work and still continued breast feeding, which pump brand wld u reco?? manual or auto pump for work?

can PIS pump be used immediately after delivery?

Doggiebb

Oh ya, forgot to ask, can Ameda pump fits any bottle of any brand?

Potty training
This is a headache problem for me. I wanna start my boy on potty now. But he refuses to sit down and cry out really loud every time we put him down. My boy has this strange habit of poo while he's standing straight. I thought it's still too early for a 15 mos boy, so I gave up. Seems like I'm wrong ya.

sonic

ameda:
shld be able to fit any bottle

potty training:
my ger now can point to her tummy and go ekk ekk if she wants to poo and she is 15 mths now. i guess when i started, i have special potty toys that she can only play when she's on the potty. after a while she has sorta associated potty with poo poo liao.

Cin bunny

i think hoo.. if you don't want your colleagues to hear the 'erk erk erk' sounds while you are pumping with manual pump, better use electric pumps, especiallly Medela and Ameda as I heard from many that both pumps don't make much noise. other mummies, correct?

doggiebb
wow so cool! special potty toys! cool man. this one and naughty chair - i like!

potty training
OMG my colleague said 'once you bring your baby home can start potty training already'. like HUH??? a few DAYS old? siao ah! she said carry the baby and put on potty. seriously, siao.

funny noises
doggiebb talk about ekk ekk for wanting to poo and sonic talk about erk erk for breastpump. super funny la

yeah yeah! ameda is quite quiet. and your hands may go into spasms if you need to pump manually for half an hr. haha!

oh before ameda, i was using the medela single for a short while! OMG! that one is like mowing lawn lidat! avoid that with a 10-ft pole!

doggie
haha yes i was at my friend's house when she was pumping and she was behind closed door so we were all thinking 'why got lawnmower in her bedroom?!'

Doggiebb

Good idea huh.. maybe I should get a special toy for my boy to lure him sit and poo poo on the potty too. But then, when he's playing with toys, I think he might forget to do his business liao. Maybe this is the main different between boy and gal? Boy/guy normally can't do two different things at a time... Right?

oh pinkie

for your nappy cloth calculation, did you add the nappy cover? this water proof thingy to wrap over the nappy cloth? or else you are going to wash bedsheets every day wor!

sonic

wahaha! quite true also! gers are so much easier to teach when it comes to things like that! have i already proclaim how much i LURVE gers! think my #2 is a boi! *scared*

doggiebb
yup that's the bumwear thing lor. nappy cover. each one is quite ex - $25. but i'll buy some normal cheaper versions too. $4 or $5 only i think. they are washable too

oh ya and we also got waterproof thing to line the mattress. dunno where i read from or who told me (maybe it's one of you hehe) - babies pillows should be put UNDER the bedsheet. so it will support the head and no possibility of them twisting and turning and landing on their faces. same thing - only use thin blankets, not thick quilts for young babies (got such thing as old babies meh? aiyah you know what i mean la. newborns).

sonic
oh so funny, we talk of men not being able to multitask, now i see that it starts from young and poo! hehe

potty training:

my ger starts to poo on potty when she is abt 1 year old.No fuss abt that. She just finds it fun .. something new mah.

Now every morning she sit on the toilet bowl to do her business. Easier for me, no need to clear the potty after that.

But she is not toilet trained yet .. slowly ...

As for medela pump, it's super noisy !!

oh ya we have toys in the toilet for her bath and poo poo too ! eheh

and yes she can poo while playing with the toys eheh

pinkie

bumwear comes with its own special inserts.

what i meant is if you use the normal nappy cloth, you will need a water proof nappy cover.

as for pillows, actually i think my CL told us not to use for newborns. just let their head rest on a folded nappy cloth just in case they drool. i think my ger only started sleeping on pillows from maybe 5 or 6 mths old.

lol..i am cracking up here by all the post about manual breast pumps and the noise they make..hahaha..

oki, so conclude tt for office, use electric not manual..but PIS might be too big for office..so need to get more portable one..and the current recommendations are : medela and ameda.

next question : single or dual?

dual pls. cos it's time effective, esp if you are in the office and every min counts.

also when you pump both sides, you are actually tricking the body into thinking you are feeding twins and may stimulate more milk supply!

erm, silly question..so must hold with two hands? lol..image conjuring in my mind cracking me up again..really unglam!!!

or is there like a holder that holds it up? then we can read book, shake legs while pumping? ;))

Lbt

Medela PIS is super noisy? Thought I heard feedback that it's one of the quietest pump? Ohh.. Then I need to take this into consideration when choosing my pump.

Pinkbunny
Yeah, men definitely can't multitask. I ask my hubby to do something while he's watching TV, he said ok. The next hour I check with him again, he said he didn't hear what I said as he was focusing on TV only. Gave up.

errr...hold with 2 hands most of the time but...

you need to sometimes squeeze your nei neis as there may be lumps you need to clear.

so hor, use one hand to hold the opposite side and the arm kiap the other one and free hand SQUEEZE.

and yes!! totally unglam!!!

thanks doggiebb for the descriptive response..really helps
))

so some mummies bought both PIS for home and another electric pump for office use? wow!

doggiebb
yup bumwear got its own inserts but it's rather ex. it can fit with normal nappies also
super funny la your nei nei talk!!! got KIAP some more!

sonic
my ah lao also la. when he's on the comp:
me: "babe, don't forget to wash the dishes ok?"
him: -no reply-
i think is he ignoring me or what. ok better not repeat, wait he get angry. so go away, and half an hour later, dishes still in the sink
me: "dishes in the sink, don't forget"
him: - no reply-
go away again. half an hour later, still sitting pretty in the sink.
me: "eh wash the dishes leh"
him: YES BABE I HEARD YOU

walau. hear already don't know how to reply meh? after 2 years of marriage i realise, is not dunno how to reply, is cannot. cos cannot multi task

hahaha! today's topics are hillarious!

THERMOMETER: no diff between baby and normal thermometer right...it's juz the glass kind (to poke into mouth, armpit or a***), the forehead kind, or the ear kind right?

ANG MOR WEDDING PANTANG'S: so cute... why can't the groom see the gown in advance huh? wouldn't he have seen it during the fittings?

POTTY TRAINING: DoggieBB, your girl is so sweet and demure looking on her potty! and wow! you started her at 7 months? My currently 10mth old niece looked like a samseng girl sitting on hers with legs spread open..and my sis kinda gave up on training coz it's just to hard to catch her ready to poo.. how did you do it

BM PUMPING: oh ya.. for those who got the single pump.. it's kinda a waste when you are pumping one side and the other is dripping hor.. I was asking my sis (who used a single) why can't she hold up another bottle to the unpumped side and let it drip in (so you don't waste precious BM) and she said, the other hand would probably be bz massaging the one being pumped to loosen the knots and to get more supply out... sounds tricky huh..

I recall some of you shared your different postures of pumping previously...hold with knees while reading mag..etc kekeke

NAMES: anyone thought of names already?

doggie,
How much is the pump (Amemda). Maybe can consider. But I read that Medela PIS is very quiet ler. the mini series then noisy.

ok gals

I use PIS at home and office. it's bulky cos it is packed in a haversack. What I do is i take out the motor part and put in my own smaller bag, together with my ice pack. but the motor is VERY heavy.

PIS is not very noisy as compared to Medela Dual Pump but still not quiet type lah.

When I pump, I raised my legs and rest on the pole under the table. Then my 2 funnels rest on my laps and my hands are free for me to read my mag or newspaper. I realise when I am reading and not too focus on pumping, I get letdown easily.

OK so next question .. WHAT IS A LETDOWN ? ahhaha

It's when your body reacts to the latching or pumping and you get this tinkling feeling in ur breasts and it's like the tap turn on, the milk will FLOWWWWWWWWWW !!! woo hoo ! and u see milk gushing out lah ! shiok !

oh ya pumping @ work..my colleague actually advised me to use a manual coz we have no room to pump in..and you gotto do it in the toilet..people may hear your lawnmower....

do1nk,
I remember we chinese also cannot let the groom see the bride the day before the fetching of the bride too ler, not just ang mo hor.

Liner,
I'm talking in the beginner stage, they do poo a lot then till they gained a bit of control. So must put aside $30 per mth for their "toilet paper" money for at least 3 mths.

lbt,

yes i m also considerin 2nd hand...

i heard some1 dun use pump but hand to pump out milk... really dun know how she did it... she say it faster for her and she has milk supply for 2 bbs!

doggiebb

u can dont buy the nappy cover. just place a changing mat under the backside of the bb. Can just clean the changing mat easily

Rianne (to rhyme with Diane?)

we are having a tough time with chinese names too..and was even considering not giving him one! hahaha! but cannot lah...we are chinese after all right...cannot be so banana...

garfield

yes one of my colleague does that. Very superb you know. Her supply was damn good.

While my milk comes dip dip dip, hers was gushing out !!

wah..fellow labbit, u sound like a champion
..your back no ache from this position tt u r describing?

if nursing room has power socket, we dont need the motor portion of PIS rite? or they hv to hv each other?

cin bunny

no lah .. use to it oredi.

the motor needs power to run. Or use battery if you are outside. I think it needs 9 AA batt if I am not wrong.

But PIS is really good lah.

wah! use hand to manually squeeze out milk?? respect that mummy man!

oh chinese also cannot see bride the day before?? my hubby and I must be the most bo-chup couple haha! we didn't even do the "pick the bride up" and all those rituals! ha!

doggiebb
managed to see your daughter's pics. oh so adorable! her dress is super cute!!!!!!!!

rain
very funny, you change my name to 'liner'? ahahahah. ok ok better put...

<font color="ff0000">....disclaimer</font>
nappy vs diaper comparison table is only for illustration purpose and used by pinkbunny to make price comparisons. posted for purpose of just sharing thoughts and not to be used as fact or absolute research materials. thoughts that may be the same as yours or another person are pure coincidental.

labbit
oh my! squeeze her milk out??!! wah biang. very li hai leh. the way you talk about her milk gushing, maciam like can turn on and off like tap like that.

do1nk
dunno why cannot see gown before wedding (like we understand all our own superstitions meh? hehe). how i hide - i had my gown tailor made somewhere else and he never followed me to that tailor. if got folder in the comp i just name it "WEDDING GOWN - DO NOT LOOK" lor

the name game
confirmed on name liao. actually even before pregnant, before finding out girl. but shy la, don't want to post here. chinese name, we're going to consult fortune teller when she's born

lbt,
ur PIS is the original version or the advanced version? I saw only the advanced version in the market now..... I tot can use the battery pack when outside, so not so bulky. Is that the motor??

****seeing stars****

so hor, our date how? 18th (next tues) dinner can?

because of 1. budget constraints and 2. location, i'm suggesting 'creation cafe' at shaw towers (next to beach road police station). it's between city hall/bugis mrt station. set meal is about $15 for soup, main course, drink and dessert. how how? eh sai bo? since it's big group i'd rather we confirm early then can book. please confirm who can make it!

our date
DATE: 17 mar/18 mar/19 mar
TIME: 130pm (lunch+shopping)/ 7 pm (dinner)
VENUE: TBC but prob town

1) pinkbunny - 17/18/19 all can. lunch/dinner also can
2) Delphine - 17/18/19. Dinner/ Lunch have to depend whether i can apply leave or not.
3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
4) cin_bunny - 17/18/19 - dinner. if lunch, i will try come out from office on 17.
5) Jmon - prefer 19 as i m very busy this mth due to year end closing
6) doggiebb - 18/19 - dinner
7) blakmagic - 17/18 - dinner
8) labbit - 18 dinner
9) rain - 17 dinner to chase away Monday blues
10) do1nk - 17/18/19 dinner should be ok
11) sonic - 17/18/19 lunch

medela PIS is quiet .. i have used it 4 years ago.

Never tot i will have another child, so sold it.

Now need to buy 1 back again ... haiz.

Now tot of importing 1 set from US .. heard that it is cheaper.

pinkbunny,
how you collect all the diaper price huh? just stand there and copy ah? pei fu!
think I will not join you for yoga cos only Mon class right? I need to alternate between tue and fri.

re: antenatal class
Please go with Hubby, otherwise, no point attending class cos don't really learn much. subscribe to bb centre better. think the class cater for HB only.

Jmon,
get your HB to meet mine. my HB bathes Cookie (and I don't know how!! ok, i did once or twice)
don't want to boast so much, maybe he's understanding in other ways.
hope to meet you this gathering cos we're in the same boat!!

SY,
re: Carlson wipes
find it not bad but not as wet as Angel wipes. still cheaper and worth it than the looney tunes and Pigeon. I started a wet wipes discussion in the Free item forum.

Miracle,
i'm slightly bang tang, for the sake of BB. so you just stay out of sight during the reno or shifting works. also safety issues.

pinkbunny,
you can post bb's nickname instead of actual name.
re: Shy neighbour
ask her if she wants to share bulk purchase diaper / wipes / toothpaste with you.
me made friends with neigbour who just gave birth 6 months after me. we share the same masseuse.

DATE: 17 mar/18 mar/19 mar
TIME: 130pm (lunch+shopping)/ 7 pm (dinner)
VENUE: TBC but prob town

1) pinkbunny - 17/18/19 all can. lunch/dinner also can
2) Delphine - 17/18/19. Dinner/ Lunch have to depend whether i can apply leave or not.
3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
4) cin_bunny - 17/18/19 - dinner. if lunch, i will try come out from office on 17.
5) Jmon - prefer 19 as i m very busy this mth due to year end closing
6) doggiebb - 18/19 - dinner
7) blakmagic - 17/18 - dinner
8) labbit - 18 dinner
9) rain - 17 dinner to chase away Monday blues
10) do1nk - 17/18/19 dinner should be ok
11) sonic - 17/18/19 lunch
12) Jeanyard - any date voting for City Hall's Out of the Pan restaurant (also on low sugar diet now)

jeanyard
yoga is mon, thurs, sat la. no tues and fri la. diaper prices ya lor i just stand there and key into my phone lor! then when go back home/office then input into excel. it's stress relief for me ahaha

antenatal class yup of course will go with hubby. just very funny that the nurse say 'husbands come free'.

baby nick
haha ok. i am pinkieB (like aliG) and she is babyD ok? hehe.

neighbour
very strange. when i see her at the window with the baby i try to smile and wave but she just keblakang pusing and go back into the house. i think she thinks i'm a pervert la. suan le. sigh. try to be nice then kena mistaken as siao lang

you can make it for the date?

hehe jeanyard we were writing at the same time. i don't want out of the pan can? i had a very bad experience there :S

but ok if all other mummies ok.