(2008/07) July 2008

hi all share with u on e online kiddreamcloset.blogspot.com

after the kid add a s you can access to the website. pinkbunny can shop online for ur bb gal clothes

Jang, i'm sure your family will understand and be more patient with you. but you must remember that they are very sad too, esp your hubby. be strong for yourself and them ya!? 菩萨保佑 (erm.. you're Buddhist hor?!)

Braun thermometer:

do1nk, hubby's friend recommended Braun too. Robinson got less 20%!!

Pinkbunny,
ok will try to call today. worse come to worse, i'll just sign up with mt. E. dunno got discount or not :p

as for baby movements, after your clarifications, i was more aware of them until can't sleep coz a lot of "churning" heheh...

morning all....

i m damn tired.. my #1 kept waking up for past few nights, dont know y....

pinkbunny,
wah, the way u shopped hor really amazing leh.... bought so many things over the weekends ah..

i didnt go out during the weekends cos hb no mood (he quarrelled with his mum) anyway, my mil siao one lah..

so how, settled the date to meet?

JMON

what happen ?

My ger also wake up once in a while and wants me to cuddle her. I think it's teething again. Arghhh how I wish all her teeth come out all at once ...

JMON
wei, dun like that la... 1st baby excitement+ i'm already a shopaholic so of course bought alot mah
actually not really alot also what. 1 pigeon package, 1 bean pillow, detergent and nappy liners only!

our date
DATE: 17 mar/18 mar/19 mar
TIME: 130pm (lunch+shopping)/ 7 pm (dinner)
VENUE: TBC but prob town

1) pinkbunny - 17/18/19 all can. lunch/dinner also can
2) Delphine - 17/18/19. Dinner/ Lunch have to depend whether i can apply leave or not.
3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
4) cin_bunny - 17/18/19 - dinner. if lunch, i will try come out from office on 17.
5) Jmon - prefer 19 as i m very busy this mth due to year end closing
6) doggiebb - 18/19 - dinner
7) blakmagic - 17/18 - dinner
8) labbit - 18 dinner
9) rain - 17 dinner to chase away Monday blues
10) do1nk - 17/18/19 dinner should be ok
11) sonic - 17/18/19 lunch

i think 18 dinner still looks the most probable. <font color="0000ff">JMON</font> and <font color="0000ff">rain</font>, are you able to change to 18th instead?

if any other mummies want to join us or change mind about available dates, please do so soon. let's try to confirm everything by friday so i can book the place ok?

and since we have all not met before, suggest everyone who's coming to PM me your email add and HP so i can compile and send to all. steady bo? (self proclaimed secretary at work!) don't worry, won't sell your details to ah long

pinkbunny,
dinner a bit hard for me. but have told hb abt it, he needs so training on bathing my boy and feed porridge b4 18th Mar. bcos he argued with his mum, so right now he will do thing on his own &amp; try not to depends on his mum, if not later she will think tat she's indispensable (correct word?).

good thing tat he argued with his mum :p cos after the incident, he will share my loads of taking care of ah boy now.

Jmom
my boy goes thru phases like that. he will keep waking up for a few nights and then peace and quiet the next few nights

18 dinner is out for me. hb got D&amp;D so cannot stay out late.

<font color="0000ff">sonic</font>
can you make dinner instead of lunch on the 18th?

JMON
hehe funny that you are giving your hubby crash course on how to bathe and feed your son!! wow blessing in disguise hor, that he now has to learn due to a quarrel?
ok ok, so 18th dinner for you is pending if your hubby is fast learner or not keke.

nursing bras
mummies, where to buy from ah? i've only seen in WOMEN'S SECRETS but it was on sale so didn't have size. anyway what size to buy? and how many do we need?

another goondu question brought to you by pinkbunny

pinkbunny
hee, i dun buy nursing bras. just lift up and feed only...haha...cos the nursing bras that i saw i dun like...

lbt,
i dont know wat happened leh. dun think he's teething..

SY,
i hope he can quickly go thru this phase cos i really cannot take it liao. but he was ok last nite.

pinkbunny,
my hb's ok when come to feeding but then the bathing part, he's still 'buay zai' lor. not say he has to learn after the quarrel lah, just tat now he's disappointed with his parents, so he rather to take care of things by himself now. he even told me tat when the #2 is born, he will share the loads of waking up at nite hahaha.....

Spring and other shops selling maternity clothing got nursing bra. but i didnt buy anything cos i stop BF 1 wk after my boy's born. :p

hey didn't see the thermometer at robinsons..,maybe I juz went to the baby section and didn't check out the other depts...

nursing bra..hey I was also attracted to women's secret (they are having a sale) but found only 38D sizes for their nursing bras... but was a steal huh at 50% off...so those of you wiv big mamaries...can still go grab if u want...

heyi bought the thermometer (pigeon brand) at taka bb fair the one which use reading the ears wan.

pinkbunny
i also bought the piegeon multi function sterilizer is 3 in 1 i bought it ard dec'07 usual price $157 after discount $127.20 comes with 3 bottles n food container for warming up.
i think during taka fair they didnt have this product.

nakpin or pampers
my hubby n me intend to let bb wear nakpin instead of pampers is it advisable?

serene
yup i know of that product. that's part of new range. not sure if they had it at the fair. don't htink i saw it. the one i bought is from old range. i prefer having it separate so i'm really glad they had the old range!

thermometer
argh i forgot to check it out at the fair! maybe later hehe
but is it special kind for baby or any kind also can?

napkin vs diapers
i'm doing that too. nappies in the day, diapers at night/going out. 1. heard that nappy babies are toilet trained earlier 2. less nappy rash 3. save money! 4. hubby is very environmentally conscious

JMON
whatever the reason, glad for you that hubby is now more hands on!

nursing bras
sorry, so how many should we get ah? and what size? someone was saying what + 2 sizes and + 1 cup up? alamak. ya lor do1nk, women's secrets only got big big size.

just curious mummies - are your boobs bigger than your tummy still? my tummy is overall winner liao. cannot see my toes liao.

the new range they dun carry it at the fair. i bought it the other time coz of space constraint in my kitchen.

thermometer
it special kind for baby one under pigeon brand as well. it pigeon baby mini-chibion ear thermometer it selling at $59.00

fixing of furniture
pinkbunny were u the one who hubby fix the bb cot? were u around the other time when ur hubby fixing the bb cot?
coz last fri went ikea to buy some chest of drawers n 3 door wardrobe from ikea they will be sending this sat tot of helping my hubby to fix up is it advisable?
i ask my mum she was screaming at her top of her voice saying that i shouldnt be at home

Pinkbunny,
U wait till dinner, then can do comparison with the rest of the mummies. Dinner on the 18, I dunno can go or not. Will let you know on Friday k.

Baby special thermometer
I'm also curious about the thermometer thingy.

Serene,
I think fixing of furniture should be ok. We setup the baby bed too. But should avoid hacking and drilling ,etc. I will think it like boiling water, don't tell me I cannot even do that ma.

Nursing bra,
I bot 2 pcs but now the cup too small for me.... Any mummies kind enough to take it from me? I go back n check the price. Had not wear or wash, so in original condition. Bot from OIO. Very soft and comfty.

napkin vs diapers
I will use both. Napkin more than diapers. Since I'm letting my baby go to nanny, will check with her if can use napkin or not. But if going out, will use diapers. If not where to keep the "used" napkin???

haha pinkbunny...first you cannot see panties..not cannot see toes liao...made me stand up to gauge if I can still see my own toes LOL...btw I still can leh haha but I've never been well endowed..so the one big bulge oredi overtook the two small bumps long ago..

thermometer, they say best to get the ear kind that takes reading in a split second right? coz more accurate and easier to use than those where you gotto stick it into the baby's mouth or armpit or a*** and wait for a minute...

Hallo! I'm due August but haven't confirmed gender yet. Mummies with 2 diff gender kids - do you find that your symptoms are totally different for boy and girl? i'm really wondering what i'm having.

Braun Thermometer:
Can be found on 1st floor (Centrepoint) Toiletries Dept! 20% but not sure will still get the usual rebate on Robinson card.

IRT4520 $131.50 (with Memory)
IRT4020 $121.50

hi hi mummies

are we confirmed meeting on 18 then?
..today is rainy weather and i no mood to work..sigh..monday sucks esp when there's work to be done :p..treated myself to my cheap kopi peng..feeling highly satified now but my friends all tease me say baby is going to come out very dark skin :p

re:fixing up furniture

ya my mum and MIL advise me to be out of the hse when fixing up furniture.

So usually i will bring my ger for a walk downstairs if hubby need to fix any new furniture.

re: fixing of furniture.

I'm gonna shift house next week. Well mil and hb did ask me not to be around when they start to shift the stuff out. so think i gonna be at my sil place for a few hrs first.

but i remember when im preganant the last round, i was around when my hb and mil fix up her queen bed frame leh...hee...lucky everything is ok with bb but just that he got a tiny little hole at the back of his right ear just like the one i had on my left ear.

but im not sure whether that is attributed to that particular incident.

Miracle

hehe dont think anyone can ans your qns.

but the elders would prefer to play safe than sorry lah. No harm too. We can R&amp;R while hubby do the work ! eheh

serene
ya it was me whose hubby fixed up the cot. i was around. no drilling. all screwing only (as in the furniture, don't xiang wai!). i was hardly in the same room as him. i think it's painting and drilling that we cannot be around for la. but if you are pantang, it's always better to be safe than sorry.

the last time we had mini reno works going on i went downstairs for a walk myself. but it took so long that i was very bored haha.

rain
what size is the nursing bra?

used nappy.... got such thing as nappy bag! http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/bw-accessories.html but oh ya, got to check with nanny if she's ok with using cloth diapers. i guess if i bring the soiled ones back everyday should be ok la

do1nk
haha actually i also just tried. can see the tippy tips of my shoes. keke. just now walking back from lunch i could feel like i was walking with stomach pushed forward, shoulders pushed back. like in cartoons, kena blown by big wind, the umbrella kena turned inside out kind haha.

cin bunny
seems like 18th is the most probable!

diapers
what's the diff between huggies and huggies ultra? how is EQ and sealer ah? any comments?

thermometer
acually what's the diff between baby one and normal one?

miracle
ya you better not be around at all la. better to be safe than sorry

aqua aerobics
was anyone asking? i just wanted to share that i've taken classes before, and now i'm going to take up again. the next batch of classes starts in may and the instructor says it's OK even though i'll be 30 weeks by then, but i'm a bit scared la. anyway there is a series already going on halfway. if anyone is like me, and has a bit of history with aqua aerobics liao, can join me on wednesday at delta swimming complex at 730pm. it's $65 for 12 lessons but if we start this wed, we would have already missed 5 lessons, so wed will be lesson #7. but still pay full price of $65. but that works out to $9 per lesson only so still alright la. anyone keen? anyone work around/live around tiong bahru/queenstown/redhill area?

fixing of furniture:
I guess it's the same as confinment. Why cannot do this and that and yet when we look at our western women, their house always fixing this and that, building this and that. Remember, this is what they do during their free time, to fix the roof, or to mow the grass. Not the women but the men of the house, very handy man.

But hor, since we aren't them and we are chinese, better safe than sorry
somemore singaporean kiasee &amp; kiasu

pinkbunny,
should be 80C.

Bellybutton,
I'm still watching out for my bellybutton. seems so tiny now. Hopefully, it doesn't pop!

re thermometer
i tried the head scan one and the ear one. ear one much easier to use. but some bb dun like to have the thermometer in the ear. my boy is fine with it. but the ear one is much faster definitely

Jmom
maybe slept too much in the day lor. when my boy sleeps very little in the day, he is like angel at night...

serene
i want to buy a bed for my boy but my mum refuse to let me buy....she says can only buy after bb is out. but when i had my first one, we also fixed the cot and i was ard..so i dunno why got difference this time round..

re napkins and diapers
i wanted to use napkins but my hb refused! he feels it is very dirty but hard to convince him to use...

angmoh ladies also got their own pantang! very cute one. at our wedding my husband was so strict about not being able to meet me the day before the wedding and absolutely cannot see my wedding gown before the day. quite sweet actually
about pregnancy and babies, not sure, will ask my MIL then come and update!

SY
is he cost conscious? maybe that will help?
dirty... ok la. got nappy liner mah. just throw it away then wash the nappy. not that bad. maybe he thinks it's poo and pee directly on the nappy that's why he's not too thrilled about the idea

Oh I did! Something old (my shoes), something new (my gown), something borrowed (my late grandma's kerongsang), something blue (don't remember. part of my bouquet got blueish tinted flowers maybe). Or maybe my face from being so squashed in the corset haha

pinkbunny,
although got nappy liner but these to me are so expensive. 100pcs for $10. Baby change nappy 10-12 times per day. So in 1 month, will need 300pcs, apprx cost is $30 :|

long run, comparing to disposables, i think it's still cheaper. 1 disposable diaper averages from 20-40 cents. initial outlay for cloth is higher but it balances out cos will keep washing instead of throwing.

ok now since i free, i do price comparison then post up! keke

but i will mix la. not superwoman, and dont want to spend all my time washing and washing! so prob day time use nappy, night time and maybe going out use diaper

pinkbunny
I wish I could join the 'big tummies' dinner on 18 mar. But I got ah boy to take care after work everyday, so it's kind of hard for me not to be home on time.
Hmn.. Never mind la, this time you ladies go ahead with the dinner, next meeting probably consider change to lunch then I join you gals, eh sai boh?

Back to breast pump again
I know that some of you swear by Medela PIS. Heard many good comments.
And very few are using Ameda? Saw some reviews that Ameda is as good as Medela PIS, but Ameda is light-weighted, easy for FTWM who needs to bring it to office daily. Also, the price is half of Medela PIS!!!
Anyone using Avent ISIS Dual pumps? Any feedback?

At Taka fair, something funny I've noticed. No one was around the Ameda booth, but many mummies hang around Medela counter. Avent counter, got few mummies lah. Haha.. Judging from the crowd, seems that Medela is more popular ya?

I'm comparing the three above before getting one..

sonic

i was using ameda! yup! really easy to bring to office. price also not bad!

i started my ger on potty training when she was 7 mths old but i read that that is early. in most angmo bb books, they recommend starting only when they are 2 years old or something.

my ger's first time on the potty!

talia on the potty

sonic,
I will invest in a good pump. after hearing abt horrible story of bf, we shouldn't make bf harder by getting pump that is weak or tiring. aiming for medela PIS lor. bye bye $$$.

doggiebb,

your girl soooo cute!! you have a maltese too?!? NICE!!!!

we have a westie.. my mum &amp; mil had been telling me to give him away

doggiebb
your daughter's name is so pretty! pity i cannot see the pics leh, dunno why. at home then i see

disposable vs napkin
note1: Based on 10 nappies used a day, 300 a month
note2: All prices based on averages
note3: Grand total is 12 months worth of money spent on baby's butt

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Cloth nappies</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Disposable diapers</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Quantity 12 months</TD><TD>Unit Price</TD><TD>Total Price 12 months</TD><TD>Quantity 12 months</TD><TD>Unit Price</TD><TD>Total Price 12 months </TD></TR><TR><TD>Initial outlay</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> - Cloth nappies </TD><TD>20 (2 packs)</TD><TD>$18 per pack</TD><TD>$36</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD> - Big "safety pins"</TD><TD>2 packs</TD><TD>$3 </TD><TD>$6</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD> - Nappy covers (if hiao!)</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$25 </TD><TD>$75</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total initial outlay</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$117</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Requirement for 12 months</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nappy liners (1 per nappy)</TD><TD>3650 (37 packs)</TD><TD>$9 per pack</TD><TD>$333</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diapers (average 10 per day)</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>3650</TD><TD>0.3</TD><TD>$1,095 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grand total</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$450</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$1,095 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

OK even if want to be ngiao and factor in laundry cost (of washing the nappies), it still won't be $600+ for a year (simply for nappies)

Doggiebb

Oh, so you are the one in 'very few' group.. :p

Is the sucking power of the pump really good? I tried them during the fair on the dummy breast, seems that Ameda is equally good as Medela.

Rain,
True.. I been thru the horrible path too. Must really check around seriously before buying.

If you are set to get Medela PIS, go Taka fair. They have pretty good offer, $679 with a free forehead thermometer.

sonic
eh sai, eh sai. join us next time la! i bought avent ISIS but obviously i havent used it yet. and i don't think i will do a 'dry run' either haha.

thanks stephanie and pinkie! *blush blush*

no no! doggies and bbs can co-exist happily! just try to tell your mum and mil that you will be extra careful the first few mths. tell them you won't let doggie into bb room etc..that shld pacify them!

i lurve both my gers to bits! the one who walks and the one who barks!

sonic

yeah! the suction power is not bad! that time i was torn too! because i am not sure how long i can bf, what if i buy that 700 plus PIS then can only bf a few mths? so i settled for the ameda which is cheaper! i managed to bf for 7.5 mths. so i dun feel so sim tia also!

hi gals, u all lookin for pumps as well? I wan to buy the Medela PIS too but v ex rgt? sigh... i regretted not buyin for my first one now like kind of wasted. but i hope to BF longer this time so think of investin on a good one.

gals

who first time mummies who wants to have at least 2 children and want to BF them, should invest on PIS. really good, for me lah !