(2008/07) July 2008

Happy Valentine's!

Evon
Don't worry so much abt the detailed scan... hope everything will go smoothly for you!

Sereneyap
I think all MTBs are supposed to go for the detaied scan as it is meant to find out the development of the bb, from its limbs, head to the internal organs... it is to make sure that the bb is developing on track and that there's no abnormality.

Gender of bbs
Seeing that there more princesses on the chart, I hope that mine will be one too! But somehow, got a feeling that this one will be a boy again...

Pinkbunny
I get that too but I'm not sure if it is the bb or gas... I am the bit "chi duan" kind even thou I am a 2nd-time mom :p hahahaha...

pinkbunny & SNL
everytime i visit my gynae he will say baby developing v well fm the scan. as my last visit he ask me to avoid rich n noodles eat more vegetables n fish.

gender of bbs
gynae cant see coz baby hide away the body have to wait till next mth

Sereneyap
The detailed scan is not carried out by your gynae but a sonographer... your gynae will go thru the results of the scan with you tho. Are you mixing it up with the scan for down syndrome? Thou through the detailed scan, they will be able to tell if there's anything wrong with the bb. The detailed scan is done at around week 20.

Serene

agree with the rest. Age is not a factor in delivering a healthy baby. Sorry i am not trying to scare u but what I want to say is, u shld go for a detailed scan.

I know of young couples who had babies with complications and older women who delivered healthy babies !

check with ur gynae again...

SNL

what is CHI DUAN ?

pinkbunny

u imagine a fish swimming inside ur tummy ... that's how baby kicks feels.

very very wonderful !

i even felt my 1st get do somersault in my tummy during my 1st pregnancy ! that was a big action !

wow! have most of you started feeling your baby move? everynite I lie in bed wiv both hands on belly but can't feel anything yet...

a fish swimming in my tummy? hmm. i'm not sure. i've never swallowed a live fish before. i feel like the baby is blowing bubbles inside me. like when you blow through a straw into a glass. is that it?

do1nk, i dunno if i'm feeling it but what i'm feeling, i got recently only, and sitting up position

as promised, pics of bellyband, and back support belt. the one above is the support belt. the big portion is worn around the stomach (thus the WWFness), and there are 2 straps on each side, secured by velcro behind your back.

the black and white ones below are big bands that you step through to cover the hole left by your unableness to buckle your jeans. those are 2 separate bands. each is reversible. black-purple, white-pink. so can match with whatever you are wearing.

1248584.jpg

cin bunny
thanks yet again for the wonderful rec of shambala. i went for my first real lesson today and wow i feel good!!

happy valentine's day all
..just came back from watching Juno the movie..cried like a baby..hormones!

pinkbunny - i also feel some brup brup in lower tummy..wondering if it's baby moving too..soo exciting! :D - now just wondering if baby is at lower tummy, what's all these mass on the upper tummy..lol :D

pinkbunny - your welcome
..was it samantha? talking about baking class, am taking a cake deco class..so maybe if we become SAHM, can consider cottage industry :D

where's everyone doing their prenatal classes? doing research now, seems TMC is popular but classes are big - 26 couples per class!

pinkbunny

hmm well blowing bubbles sounds close to bb kicks also. anyway u will feel more of it very soon and then you can recognise ur bb kicks clearly.

do1nk

it depends on individuals. some early and some very late. For my 1st pregnancy i started feeling it when I was week 18. This 2nd one I thought I felt it even when I was in 1st trimester cos I am able to distinguish bb kicks already. but not sure how true is it leh .. 1st tri seems really early !!

pinkbunny
I bought mine from spotlight is sold by letter quite ex aah 3 alphabets in 1 pack only forgot the price liao.
Wah ur mil so nice aah then must show show when u have cut it leh......hehe

glitter
I have a boy too n always liked having girls but if boy again also bopian lor so long as bb is healthy think most important to us liao dun be too disappointed lah at least can save a bit of money on clothes.
Having all girls is better then having all boys cos girls are closer to mummy. (But I shouldn't say so loud cos I have a son liao...hehe)

Qing
Maybe get tights so u can wear under ur dresses lor. Dun feel sad lah now is this time of period neither here nor there will pass soon.

bb movement
-----------------------------
Ummmmmm comparing wat u girls are experiancing my bb very chor lor leh...hahahha
Cos most that I feel now are those sudden kicks 1 lor cannot be mistaken 1. Somemore if I happen to twist my body or stretch to hold my son bb will give me a big kick 1 lor.
I think now bb not confined to lower tummy already lah cos I can feel some kicks on my ribs already since 1 week ago.
But its my 2nd pregnancy so maybe my tummy is looser so bb more space to swim up n down?? hehe

SAHM
-----------------
I'm 1 stopped working after I'm pregnant cos jus changed job n keep getting MC as 1 of my preggy symtoms is high fever so very paisey to keep taking MC so jus resigned.
But me n hubby have always prefered me to be sahm to care for our kids so jus nice financial was okie so jus quit lor.

If ur worried about living on 1 income u should try calculating on all expenses on ur hubby's income alone n try it out for 1-2 mths see if its feasible. If can still manage to have savings then dun have to worry liao. (Save ur whole salary for that thing ur eyeing...hahaha)
Actually being sahm ur only free time is when ur bb sleeps so u will have more of that when ur bb is younger n less when she gets older jus need to find something to occupy ur mind else like mine now think my brain cells all dying already. hahaha

pinkbunny

i think those bubbles are bb kicks. I experienced mine for my first one about 17 weeks. now that i know what it is like, when I was about 15 weeks this round, started feeling all the bubbles already.

oh i went for my 16 weeks appt yesterday and we saw rather clearly IT! geez! guess I am having a boi! ~WAILS~ what am i going to do with my drawerfuls of PINK bb ger clothes!

qing
like what dor dor says, tights will help cover up a bit. i wear a few now (not at the same time la) cos alot of my dresses are getting shorter. sometimes i wear a big white shirt and tights only. 2 for $15 at cotton on! very cheap. don't worry about your appearance. chances are they are only visable to you and no one else will bother about them because the focus will be on your growing belly

dor dor
haha so funny to say that your baby is chor lor! i think if mine is kicking, it is just testing water. my husband says 'maybe the baby is farting la'. so unexciting one, he.

thanks for the tip about SAHM. we will try from this pay day on
i'm very worried because husband is not SG/PR so now CPF for house is only from me. when he becomes PR, his company will lower his salary (to compensate for them having to pay for his CPF). and if that is not enough to pay for our flat, then got to top up, and since i won't be earning, that'll come from him too. jialat. plus i have about 1k of compulsory savings so i can't help but worry la. sigh.

who's on for the cake bake club? hehe

cin bunny
i think baby is at lower tummy because scanning is always done there right? gynae says above belly button is all organs. that's why when i told him maybe i feel the baby, he say no it's just my digestive juices.

have a nice day, mummies. it's FRIDAY!!!! woohoo!

Thanks dor dor,
I am now so envy of families with 1 gal & 1 boy, how lucky they are!

is it true that to hv a boy need to do on or after Day 15 of our period? That means counting your 1st day menses as Day 1.

Aiyah, now kn also too late liao...haiz...

lbt
chi(2) duan(4) = slow... heehee...
aiyoh, think compared to you gals, I'm really very slow... still can't really decipher is it the bb's movement 'cos at this stage, it would be very light not like later, it'll be very obvious when it is the bb kicking.

SAHM
Salute to the SAHMs!!! Would very much like to be one but can't bear to give up the money, the "me" time I get when working as well as the sense of achievement/recognition at work.

But I do enjoy the time spent with my boy whenever I take leave... esp now when he's so responsive and fun to be with. But also very tiring as his energy seems boundless!!!!

dor dor
the diamond is sun kou say only. not sure if got or not. better not hope for it. wah the iron-ons are so ex ah?!!!

doggiebb
actually i thought i felt the bubbles a few weeks ago too but couldn't be sure. but very cute the feeling
about your girley clothes, sell to all the queens here lor! (mothers of princesses)

SNL
i agree. i'm afraid that i will lose my feeling of self worth if i don't work. even though being a mummy is a full time job! which is why i think i have to do some home based work if i don't have an office to go to.

glitter
there's certain talk that BD before ovulation is boy and after is gal or something like that. but dunno how true.

re bb movement
i think it is someting like bubbles blowing. i always use that to describe bb movement initially. i can also feel bb nowadays but very slight movements only.

dor dor
my hb is the one who is worried abt the income. not so much of me. prob cos our family background is very different. he grew up poor whereas i grew up relatively above average so i tend not to worry abt money too much but he needs to save a lot to feel secure. we still cannot reach any conclusion on it yet but i m hoping to be able to be SAHM after 2nd one!!

pinkbunny
i m on for bake club! i used to bake before i got married....

glitter

dun be too sad! i was hoping for a girl the second round also but well...too bad!

girls are so much more filial! they will be the ones who will hold our hands when we are wobbly and weak, the ones who will care about us even when they have their families. sons are different, when they have their own families, they become head of that family and i think the prorities will change. you see how men always follow their wives back to their wives' hse.

hi doggiebb,
thanks yah...well, i juz hv to tell myself to face the fact ...

anyway mummies,juz to share , i went to spring maternity sale @ suntec yesterday...saw dressess, tops, 3/4 pants, long pants (white, black , blue & brown), some are working pants, skirts & saw some flowery dreesses & tops too...
its only Day 1 of the sale but the shorts r left w only S sizes...in the end, i bot oni 1 3/4 jeans material pants..cost me $29 oni..cos understand the normal px is quite ex..The clothes display outside are priced like $29 & $19 if i'm not wrong...

Wah... just 1 day off yesterday n a lot of things to do..sigh....

Bb movements
Mummies, those bubbles r actually ur bb moving. since they r still small in amnio fluid, it feels more like bubble against the ur tummy. Mine at 20wks now very prominent n persistent.

i learnt this yesterday, thought i would share. get a bolster, put it length wise, and the end of it should be exactly at your tailbone area. then lie on it. so you are lying on the length of the bolster. put your blanket or towel at your head to support your neck. i've found it to be very relaxing and can stay in that position for about 20 minutes or more. my back felt much looser after. no harm trying!

Cake Baking Club,
I'm in too.

BB Movements,
Last nite, i let my hubby feel. Even tot I can't feel anything, he managed to feel 2 sudden kick at my upper stomache.

Guess need to wait for a while longer before I can be sure.

Hi i am from the Apr mtbs thread
I am trying to organise a BP for the following. Will need 10 mtbs for this BP to take off and if we have more than 15 mtbs it will be a better deal

Re: Bloom maternity photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE: If there are more that 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

Please note that 3 changes of self brought outfits are allowed, photographers are women so no need to paiseh if you want to take semi nude shots, hubby and older children are also allowed to participate in the photoshoot just that no individual shots for them

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)??
6. Veniz (Jun mtb) ??

I am hoping to close this BP soon coz Apr mtbs need to book slots soon...

If you have other enquires, feel free to email me at [email protected]

hi mtbs

Re: Hospital for delivery?
At first I thought of considering 1-bedder for my no.2 this time round, but I did a quick check and assuming if delivery is normal as per usual prob still need to top up bout 1.3k in cash!!! *pengz* Think I prob stick to 4-bedder and hopefully my gynae can get the foc upgrade to 2-bedder for me as in my no.1 case *lol*

Celeste, remember me? We met up to collect the maternity clothings from u last yr! We were talking abt u trying for #2!!! Congrats!!!! So happy for u!!

just back to work after 2 days of MC down with fever,flu n cough. Guess wat my boss have given me 1 month notice till end of march but she will pay me 3 mth salary(apr,mayn june).

I'm so sad leaving there not for the company but for the colleagues.

baby movements:

i also can feel it since CNY till now. guess he/she is happy over the festive season lolzz

serene,
ur boss asking u to leave?

went for lunch juz now ended up splurging at perfect mum!

still breaking out in pimples and having dry flaky skin wiv a dark patch on my face

in fact she saying another way coz when i on mc nobody help her, since jan 1 day on mc, feb 1 day on leave n 2 days mc. she v unhappy

doggiebb

wah so happy lah now that u r carrying a boy !
congrats !

sereneyap
so sorry to hear abt your termination. Did ur boss give u any reason ? Is ur company a local one ?

err lbt

i am actually feeling a bit in shock. how to bring up a boi? i absolutely have no idea. then all the things have to buy all over again. bumper, bedsheets, pillow, bolster, clothes, shoes! EVERYTHING! arrrghhh!

serene

if you feel that you are unfairly terminated, and your termination has something to do with the fact that you are pregnant, you can call MOM to check with them what action can be taken. not fair for us to be treated this way really!

serene,
ya like wat doggiebb said, u can bring this up to MOM. if no one can help her, then she can work out the alternative way either to hire a temp or what...

Linda,
Hi of cos remember u! U were from my BP#1 and also #2. Thanks a lot for the support
Hehe, saw ur profile on facebook baby is really cute!!

Haha, yah, my No. 2 is due in July. Hehe.

serene
my sis's fren also got terminated unfairly. i checked MOM website before. u can bring it up to them and they will do investigation.

doggiebb
i think bringing up boy easier right? everything shd be the same except for the color of the clothes...

serene,
it depends on how ur boss re-delegate your work when you are not around. did u inform her about your pregnancy? From your side, it does look like you been terminated unfairly.

doggiebb,

I tend to agree with you. boys were not naughty and may not develop as fast as the girls. Normally, they caught up only in their teens.

doggiebb
not true that boys will be rowdier. i have seen gals who are more active and rowdier. it really depends on the kid's temperament. so dun worry too much on whether u can handle that.

my #1 is quite a good ger. inquisitive and curious but not excessive active and rowdy! so easy to take care. she responds to commands well too.

that's why i think about a rowdy, running around madly little boi, i like wanna faint lidat leh! wahaha!

Serene
Sorry to hear that. Insufficient manpower is not a good reason to terminate people n based on ur post, u only took less than 5days leave+mc throughout 2 mths. They can always get temp person to cover you up. Is ur lady boss married with kids?

in fact i have informed her abt my pregancy when i was 2mth preg than her attitude towards me change liao. she married with 2 kids but she dun have to bother abt her kids.This morning her way telling me is that she pay me 3 mth for me to rest till i give birth than if i wan to come back here to work can always talk to her again. (in my mind i was thinking who would wan to come back to this devil company)

it looks like she doesn't want to give you that 3 mths maternity leave. i think you have grounds to complain to MOM. dun let her get away with bullying you like that!

doggiebb
hee, dun worry too much lah. my boy besides being active is quite easy to handle. doesn't throw much tantrums. only harder when sick that's all. he is very good at understanding what we say as well. from young, he can understand instructions also. so not true that boys will be more rowdy and more active.

serene
sounds like your boss obviously terminate u cos of your pregnancy. bring this up to MOM and see what they can do. how long did u work for this company?