(2008/07) July 2008

Jmon,
are you still carrying your baby? I cannot cope anymore

will ache in the muscles down there (where you control the pee).
Now Cookie is closer to HB and will cry when he walks away. with me, he hardly takes a second glance cos I don't bathe him or play with him.
Catching up with him is really a headache cos I must remind myself not to surge forward and stretch suddenly.

other mummies with < 1 yr olds, do you have the same problem?

pinkbunny,
wah, you should be happy leh. no one every say nice cleavage to me. only my mummy friends say I big breasts cos originally v flat, can squeeze into 32A.

Re: karma
I believe that will get pregnant if carry a baby.
I carried an ang mo baby and took picture 2 yrs ago and I'm pregnant with Cookie.
Last yr, I carried a friend's bb during bb shower and took pic and now I'm pregnant.
My colleague carried Cookie during his full mth but no photo and she got pregnant.

jeanyard
cookie?

cleavage
not very low cut but i somehow just felt very disgusted with the comment. very inappropriate. pregnant woman holding door, you as a man dare to walk through the door. what an a**

panties
sigh. officially some of my panties have become too tight liao. and bending down to pull panties up is getting tiring too

pinkbunny
I dun think its really squating to help ur bb turn downwards. Cos last time I saw in a book the mummy actually on fours on the floor backside lower nia.
Same as u I cannot take yu sheng. Was craving for it cos didn't get to eat but after I eat I keep feeling pukish so I guess something in there triggers my MS too so I avoid liao.

Urrr why u meet such a disgusting fellow. If were me I would say something back loudly to make him feel ashamed. I do that with rude ppl cos I'm always with my son I will sort of tell my son "These ppl so rude push here push there next time grow up cannot be like them"....hehehe

Jeanyard
My son is 16mths. Bout 11kg now but I still carry him sometimes with the help of a sling no choice cos I'm a sahm. But I get backaches end of the day if I carry him for more then awhile.
I still have to stretch myself suddenly to break his fall or catch him sometimes. But cos I feel alright no other pains or aches so I continue doing it if I have to. But now bb will give me a big kick when I stretch myself.

Re this Karma thingy
----------------------------------------
I sort of believe in the adopting thingy.
My mum believes that if u adopt or have godkids they will take the place of ur own kids so u either dun have or have less kids.
But I realise those around me who not pantang n jus take in god kids even when they dun have kids themselves yet endup getting pregnant soon after.

For myself I finally got pregnant the month after I touched my friend's pregnant tummy after trying for 2 n a half yrs.(But it could be me quiting my job too) So now I would advise those who dun want bbs not to touch my big tummy incase.....hehehe

BB shower
---------------------
Some mummies from my previous thread sort of write in their invitation cards that they prefer cash. Maybe u can use that since u inviting ur friends jus phrase in a nice way lor.
I didn't do it cos only invited relatives the last round n was very large crowd. 50+ ppl each session so this round I abit scared liao might wanna skip it totally.

pinkbunny
that man is so disgusting. but nothing u can do. ignore him and dun anger yourself.

jeanyard
my boy is now 2 and i still carry him. recently it has become worse cos he fell sick and at night, he will wan to follow me when i go and make milk so i have to carry him with one hand and make milk with the other.

for the past 3 nights, i shifted out with him to his room to sleep cos my hb needs aircon due to his nose. my boy really kicks a lot in his sleep and he has been throwing a lot of tantrums during his sleep as well. got kicked a few times but thankfully not very hard.

think when we have a #1, it is hard to avoid certain things like carrying him etc.

how come u dun play with him anymore?

re bb shower
for my #1, i had 4 bb showers! a lot right? cos first grandson so everyone in the family wants to invite everyone. so one for my hb's side, one for my mum's side, one for my dad's side and their frens/neighbours and one for my own frens. with relatives, most of them will give angbao so not a problem. think it is with frens that u may get unwanted gifts. i will feel paiseh abt asking for what i wan but then think next time i won't feel that way already cos u really have no space to keep stuff. for my son's bday recently, for those who asked what i need, i told them vouchers wd be good. so if anyone ask what u need, u can just let them know what u need.

congratulations! we're more or less at our halfway mark liao! woohoo! in case anyone wants, i think this is quite good. it's free to sign up
http://www.babycenter.com/

dor dor
ya lor. i will tell my daughter that also. next time grow up cannot like that ok?

oh speaking about getting on all 4s, i find that that helps my lower back aches. down on all 4s and put backside to ankles then stretch arms out in front of you, and head down. for as long as you can, if not then you might get dizzy

SY
ya next time don't want to open doors for men liao. so bueh zi dong some more.

baby shower - did you plan for it (them hehe) yourself? i would like to because all my friends are from different groups leh. and how to do it ah, just invite everyone over for makan? just mothers? and ask them to bring advice cards? that'd be nice... or overwhelming hehe.

On fours:

hey i tried during my prev pregnancy. I tell u... i cant even tahan for 1 min.. not to say ask me do 20 mins everyday !!

it is very very tiring .. no joke.

i had one baby shower where I invite all relatives and frens. wah SY u very energetic can have 4 !!

i dont specifically ask for cash but if ppl ask I say angbao

pinkbunny,lbt
no choice. house so small and relatives so many. plus first grandchild for both sides so all parents eager to show off...

for my hb's side, we did help to plan cos it was at my place.

for my mum's side and my dad's side, they plan cos one was done at restaurant and one was done at their place.

then for frens, we planned cos at our place again.

so much work right? haha..cos my stupid hb refuse to spend time to distribute cakes so we tot it wd be easier to just invite pple for bb shower.

pinkbunny
u can actually stagger the timing of different group of frens. then u can do it one afternoon or someting like that. as long as u make it a point to invite in groups, i think even though different groups it's fine.

lbt
yeah, if pple ask, i will be more direct lor. unless it's very close frens then i will be more direct without them asking...haha

Morning Mummies!

Gong Xi Fa Cai, Wan Shi Ru Yi!

Checkup
Went for my detailed scanning yesterday and found out that it will be a Minnie. Baby is doing well, size is just right. However, my placenta is a bit low, covering OPS (not sure actual word). My gynae told me nothing to worry much now and just hope that it moves up by 34th wk. One reason that could trigger low placenta is carrying heavy things. So, for mothers out there who still carry your older child, do think twice when carry your child for a long period.

SY
distribute cakes for baby shower? are you referring to muah gueh party? i thought baby shower is done before the baby is born?

sheila
welcome to the minnie club!! try not to carry so many heavy things ok? ask your husband to help out more! you must take care of yourself ok?

i was just thinking. we should all meet perhaps end august and line our babies up in a row and take picture. it would be so cute! hehe

back support
i got a back support belt from kiddy palace (cos i have previous back injury). oh it's sooooo good. it really takes the ache from my lower back. wear above pants/skirt, under top. i don't remember how much though.

Sheila

Congrats !!

wah u so fast detailed scan ?? when is ur EDD ?

oops I still carry my ger leh .. my gynae did tell me my placenta a bit low but is normal. Hope it will move up by next appt. My detailed scan is next THurs .. very excited abt it !!

I cant rem the gender of your other children .. so what's the combination ?

Pinkbunny, lbt
Thank you for your wishes. My EDD is on 4th July. Currently, i have 2 daughters and 1 son. So, with this new girl, i can form Charlie's Angels with Bosley as their bodyguard.. hehehe....
My hb has been very supportive so far n i do not hv to carry heavy things when he's ard. Only at night, sometimes, i carry my sleeping son (abt 20kg) from his sisters' room to mine since i get them to bed early, usually by 9.30pm. So, already informed my maid to do that instead from now onwards. Concern is my work... will be hvg office relocation end of Feb, few seminars (Singapore and overseas) until April...

anyone knows where to buy iron on alphabets? i want to iron on stuff on my baby's rompers hehe. like 'cool chick' haha. cheaper than buying the 'ready made' ones in the store. siao, so much money for a tiny piece of cloth. btw checked and spotlight doesn't have. anyone knows?

Sheila

ic ... anyway congrats again ! gals can help out in ur hsework next time

ehe charlie's angels ya !! so cute !

Girls
Personally i prefer girls - more helping hands when they grown up. For example, my #1 now follows me to market every week, so by the time of confinement, i can rely on her and maid to do that for me...
Also, with young baby girls, you can really go crazy dressing them up with all those cute dresses, shoes, clips, bands, etc. The best part of all, you can even dress them in jeans n t-shirts, if you want. Not like boys, only 1 type of dressing - T-shirt/shirt w/pants... a bit boring sometimes....

sheila, how old is your oldest? so responsible for a child! i'm an oldest child too and i can understand how she feels naturally 'in charge'.

and OH YES about the cute clothes!!!!!!!!! :D

but seriously i think girls are more fillial. just for example. look at our parents' generation. when our grandparents are old and not in the best of health, who's at their bedside? it's not the sons.

pinkbunny
my girl is 12yrs old now and will be seating for her PSLE this year (headache). Actually, its my hb's idea for her to tag along n she agree, so lucky me...

Having both girls n boy, i found that girls mature in their thoughts much faster than the boy. Though i dont compare 1 child with the other, generally from observation, girl pick up faster than boy....

congrats sheila...

i also like to have a gal... is detailed scan able to tell v clearly?

until noe, i still do not know the gender.

garfield

yes ! u can see practically the whole body and organs of the baby. that the purpose of the detailed scan.

can see the baby features also. i still rem the side view of my bb during detailed scan .. it's exactly how my ger looks now from the side.

someone was saying KL is very good for shopping. we're thinking of going next weekend. any ideas on where we can go? to buy maternity and baby clothes lor. and maybe a pack or two of diapers hehe

sheila
your kids are nicely spaced out! my siblings and i too. me and the youngest are 17 years apart. there are 2 more in between.

garfield
not sure if the one i just had was the detailed scan. i think not cos the next one is like sheila mentioned, going to check on all the organs. but my gynae managed to show us the bottom up view of my baby and from the bone structure he could tell it was a girl. but he already kind of hinted at the previous appointment liao. but that was an interesting appointment. we saw the baby from many angles - side, top down and bottom up

keeping my fingers crossed for you! for a healthy baby

pinkbunny
hi... similar to my case... i'm the eldest, my younger brother is 4yrs younger while my youngest sister is about 21yrs apart from me....

KL
Dont know abt good place in KL to shop for maternity n baby clothes but for good shopping centre in general will be KLCC, Lot 1 Utama, Berjaya Times Square, etc - big mall with lots of shops..... I remembered going into Isetan n found the price of baby cot 4-in-1 is about 1/2 of what u can get in Spore

shelia
congrats on your gal! sounds like u really happy to have one.

i can't wait for my detailed scan!!

re siblings age
wow, some of your siblings are really far apart. me and my bro only 4 years apart.

re KL
i also like KLCC and i like mid valley mega mall.

ibt,
thxs... but they say it also depends on the bb poisiton rgt? for my boy was pretty ez... cos by 3 mths i already know so no need detail scan...

sheila, hehe actually i also dun know what wks m i noe... 2nd child like not so clear n bz w first one... ahhaha but i know i over 4 mths liao.

my detailed scan is 3 of march.

SY
Thanks for the good wishes. I am happy as long as baby is fine but my hb is the one a bit disappointed as he wishes for boy, to add the male hormone to the family, i guess.....
btw, when is ur detailed scan, in a week or two? I believe detailed scan should be ard 20wks, right?

shelia
my detailed scan is 2 weeks away. think when i m abt 21 weeks. can't wait can't wait...

hee, yah as long as bb is healthy. that's most impt.

Garfield
Understand ur situation, been there, done that. The gap between my #2 &amp; #3 is only 20mths.. well now they r in P2 &amp; P1... how time flies....
Guess, u couldnt wait for ur turn to do detailed scan, right. To be frank, i was anxious too b4 yesterday...

lbt
hehe... thank you.. at this stage, usually ppl will start to relax... thats y when the news of hving another one was a bit shocking to me at first...
However i do miss hving a kicking baby in my stomach, n last year, i was surrounded by a lot of pregnant ladies n then cute babies, when they bring the babies to office... miss the old times with babies ard....

sheila
wow 21 years!!

garfield
my detailed scan is 27 feb :D cannot wait!!

KL
i've never been to mid valley mega mall. got alot of baby stuff ah?

afraid i've been eating too much nonsense so bought organic chrewy fruit and cereal bar to snack on. apple and berry flavour. YUCKS

hi everyone... how was your new year break?

I'm back at work and drowning
took a breather and popped in... was a good destresser.. laughing at the squatting exercise comments..was trying to picture us squatting in the room, and people wondering what we are up to.. haha

wat's this adoption at the world vision? never heard of it before..

my detailed scan is ages away...not til end march i think.. but during my last scan, my gynae did what pinkbunny's did... scan from different angles.. and we thought we saw a little something in between the thighs.. but could it be something else other than the reproductive organs??

worldvision: can sponsor a child in another country. http://www.worldvision.org/

i laughed when i wrote about the squatting too. i can imagine like those cartoons when people squat too long then turn into stone then people must carry them away in squatting position hehe

new year break... not long enough!!

pink bunny, me too... hope u get a gal... yr wish rgt?

sheila, really peifu u can still wan to give birth when yr last child is already p1... i can't imagine goin through the process over again for such a long time. tat is y i quickly give birth closely hahaha... anyway, it was a nice accident.

welcome furnana !!

nice EDD date hor ?

pinkbunny

usually healthy stuff dont taste good hor ? hehehe

do1nk .. hehe u may be carrying a boy.

btw those mummies who oredi know bb gender, is it the same as your instinct ?

many mummies tell me they have the instinct and roughly know the bb gender even b4 detailed scan.

my instinct this time is a boy but dunno how true.

talking about backaches...I'm starting to get them too (like now) .. used to twist my upper body sideways to "crack" my back, but can no longer do it with the tummy.. so can't find relief but to gently thump my own back (waist area) occassionally..

so anyone starting to buy baby items or big items yet? juz got my baby's first furry soft toy yesterday, and it was my dog eyeing it instead..haha

i also start to get backaches if shop too long

thanks labbit &amp; bunny

i have got a baby boy...

can i check with u all something...
when is the detail scan usually carry out?? today i am in my 20weeks of pregnancy le. heard my gynae talk abt it...

welcome furnana!

Bb gender
For me, i somewhat know that it'll be girl this time - my body, face, even nose, expand much earlier than i did when i carry my boy.

Backache
me too... me too... now i cannot twist n hear the relieving crack sound any more... Now when my back aches, i stand on 4, bring my upper body lower, head touching ground. Could feel the stretch on my back.

furnana

i have the same qn as garfield heehe

u have not done ur detailed scan ?? shld do liao ..

Sheila

tot only boys will have bigger nose ?

Bigger Nose
Not really... My nose usually will expand, to facilate breathing for 2 maybe... But with my boy, it will be at later stage. N usually frm observation, when ppl r carrying boy, they dont really look pregnant from the back...

labbit
i'm not sure. i wanted a girl so bad so maybe that's why i kept thinking girl girl girl. hehe. i asked my husband if want to try for 06/07/08 or not. he said don't siao, if it comes it comes. he so unfunny

do1nk and sheila
i also love cracking by back!! but now also cannot liao. cos stomach in the way haha. i used to lie on my back and hug my knees and that would work too. but haven't tried in a while. maybe, again, stomach in the way. sigh.

buying? i got alot of pink clothes lor! hehe. a few la. and bought a stroller at the JL sale. cannot wait for the taka sale!!! woohoo!!!

growing nose
people have been saying my face is rounder. but i don't see the diff. i've always had round face haha. but overall ok. legs still the same, arms still the same. just stomach and face.

miracle
I GOT ANOTHER SEAT ON THE MRT!!!!!! woo hoo!! my faith in singaporeans is restored :D

pinkbunny

wah u lucky ger .. arms and legs still the same.

my legs are rubbing each other .. yucks !! so i prefer to wear pants hehe

wah really MIRACLE to have seat on MRT ... is it a local who gave up the seat ?