(2008/07) July 2008

okok SY i just replied to your message. my IT dept very strict la, cannot do all these blog things in office. at home la ok? ;)

boohoo. got to work OT

qing
how did your photoshoot go? my bro also took his photos recently but he said it rained all day so he got no outdoor shots. hope you had nice sunny weather!

Hi Qing,

How are your rashes? Hope you are recovered by now!

Happy Chinese New Year to all!!!!

Wow Rat babies (2 of them) get $$$.." received S$4,888 in endowment fund from gift company RISIS and another S$2,008 from the hospital. Weighing 2.8kg, Zander also received gifts and hampers"

Today nearly ran out of angbao packets (i didnt pack in adv). go only 2 places already give out 15 angbaos. no collection. haha.

haha.. was surprised to get some angpows for my little mouse in the tummy...

how was your day so far?? mine was full of gas.. *burp*

jang and SY
got your PM. invited you to my blog liao

do1nk
my aunt was distributing ang pows and i geh geh stick out my hand. she said ok la i give your baby la. not sure if supposed to collect or not but better not la. pantang la!

my day was a bit uncomfortable physically cos my tube (worn under very low cut dress) was a bit tight so very uncomfortable haha

pinkbunny
yup. thanks. i also collect angbao from my aunties! hahaha they give me so i take since i just get marry 2yrs back (this yr 2nd CNY with husb) and i only went to their house for the 1st time. but one auntie still give me althuogh i went 2nd time.

actually its ok to take, as long as they want to give to juniors, itss okay. my auntie gave it to us and not for bb one. my auntie said this yr gives to u, next yr gives bb hehhehehe. my aunties give me $20 kind. my side market rate higher for landed property. hahahahhaa. HDB also high. $10, $12.

Only my mum's side is horrible and i end up giving a lot and one of the aunties even dont give my brother!!!!!

lucky i listen to my bro dont pack too much because the rate there is v low and even if they have a lot of kids, also wont increase their angbao to those with single kid etc. hehehhee. angbaosss headache. and my cousin's kids i gave them angbao they (cousins) also never give my bro!

do u guys give to strangers too? i also give to those who visit my aunties because they know my dad. then their grandsons/daughters i give lor. lucky only 3 nia. so ok. eh but come to think of it NOW, they also never give my bro so actually i also dont have to give what!!! alamak! STupid!!!!

somemore my cousin's kids if not ard, i also pass their angbaos to my aunties/uncles one. heheheh. next yr depends on r/s liaoz. tsktsk.

jang
so lucky you. i didn't get any at all this year. except from my parents. all my relatives chuckle when they pass me during ang pow giving time. like 'heh heh heh, i save one ang pow'. i told them now you laugh, next year i take revenge!!

i do give to strangers. if there are kids in the house that belong to other people, or helpers, or if i meet the tong sam pah man downstairs. my angpows always packed in 3 packs - immediate family (parents/siblings), cousins and unmarried aunts, and 'general public'. then differentiate with different packets.

it's my second year to give ang pows too!

Hi all mummies to be,

First of all, happy lunar new year to all. I am from the Jan 08 thread and I have just delivered my baby boy on 30 Jan 08. Doing confinement now. My confinement lady is good and she has everything under control which is so important to me as a first time mummy, everything also blur.

Anyone interested in looking for a confinement aunty? I can recommend you mine. Just wish to share this with you all coz I understand the concerns and anxiety we face during pregnancy and still gotta think about confinement.

pinkbunny
what is tong sam pah man ???

my parents also give me. this yr FIL give us a lot. Surprise me becoz their side give kids also $20+ but my parents give my bro n me in hundreds.

whats yr market rate? share share. i last min then pack. thats why i panic when i am at my aunts place. so many ppl. wapiang.

my packet all same for this yr as i have no time to pack. all do inside car/toilet hahahhaaa. coz i have $12, $8, $20, $6 (if a lot of kids) for those who gives higher amt. one side all $4 because they always give us $2 when rate is $4-10. hehhee. my bro said this side is yi shi yi shi one, dont need to give too much. even if they have many kids, they will also just give u $2.

but my biggest angbaos are for my parents. because didnt give them mthly allowance so CNY give them in Ks. My bro also higher. So these red packets are defintely diff compared to others. Parents n siblings also cannot same amt lor becoz parents senior mah.

Do u give yr in laws angbao too? ie give separately? ie husb n u? my parents side, separately because i pack big amt so he cannot mix with mine. so for his side, last yr mixed (husb give $) but this yr i give FIL angbao too (frm my $). Of coz bigger than my bro's amt but defintely cannot 'fight' with my parents. my husb packed all same for them. I cannot. My mum also must be slightly bigger than my dad coz she said she not working and she give birth to us. so must be bigger share hahahaha. I must impart this teachings to my Baby next time.

thanks itok

tong sam pah = rubbish. tong sam pah man = the cleaners who clear our rubbish chutes.

baby shower
anyone thinking of having one? i'd like to but i don't know how it works. and i don't have one pool of friends, like a few here and there. to bring them all together could be challenging. but it does make sense to ask for things and get what you want/need rather than many sets of the same thing right?

essence of chicken
cousin's wife had a baby a few months ago. said she and her sister both drank chicken essence when contractions started. they both went through fine, had plenty of energy, no need for epi at all. that sounds nice but i hate essence of chicken!!

community message!
jang, you talked about squatting a long time ago. i read somewhere recently that we should start squatting in our last 4 weeks to help baby turn downwards i.e. easier for birth. but i don't think it's squat consecutively for 4 weeks hor!

pinkbunny
hehehe u not sharing yr market rate ah! :p

i read this from sept thread. wa sound v serious ... i never know

"your MIL shldnt cook hard liquor at all! my fren's MIL went to boil martell chkn for her, n the hard liquor was too strong for the bb inside her, and the brain was spoilt. turned out to be vegetable. MUST NEVER EVER BOIL OR COOK HARD LIQUOR. all housewife will know this rule, coz liquor will evaporate, n the substance will change with high temp. " (copied from Sept thread)

Alamak I went to auntie place and eat one pc of hong shao chicken becoz she said ok but got rice wine fermented? inside....... tomorrow ask gynae.

oh i think its to squat consistently in that last 4wks? but hehehhee how to know when is last 4wks unless after birth? hehhe

wow a lot of ang bao talk.

for me, very straightfoward one. my mum's side is standard rate and my hb's side also standard rate. so just need to pack separately. then i will pack for all parents and in laws. but i give my parents more cos i dun give allowance. then will give to pple i dunno also if they are in the house. cos everyone will give mah.

Jang
your parents still give u angbao? mine never give liao. they only give the big angbao to my son...

jang
i think rice wine should be ok ba. don't scare me, alot of my dishes i add hua tiao jiu...

you go and squat consecutively for 4 weeks la you! hehe. sure cramp one. then got to carry you to the hospital in squatting position

ang pow
$4/$6/$8/$20/$50
general public (kids in the house if i happen to be visiting but i don't know them or their parents. yes, and tong sam pah man)
cousins and nieces and nephews and unmarried aunts (i have ALOT).
friends kids and unmarried colleagues
siblings.
parents. i used to give monthly allowance but just converted it to investment plan. cos my 3 younger siblings all still quite young so i think my parents are really draining their retirement fund to support them. sigh.

this year super siong. give give give, never receive. only 1 from my parents (plus some more they join forces one).

back to work.... sian.... after 4 days of waking up at 9, 10 or 11am.... yawn...

baptism
any catholic mums here? wondering what processes i should go through for baby baptism except to get both godpa and godma to show up decently dressed and not drunk?

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT
hear ye hear ye! someone gave up her seat for me on the MRT! and it was a lady, not a guy who stood up just so he could look down my cleavage hehe. (raising arms in victory)

pinkbunny

ehe congrats on getting a seat ah !!

i seldom take MRT cos i have chauffeur cum hubby but so far when I take, no one give seat to me even though my tummy is v obvious oredi.

u know in some forums, some ppl challenge why pregnant woman is so special.. why need to give up seat to us ..

hai .. I tell u these are the guys who dont have a gf or wife yet. Next time they will understand what we went through.

pink bunny
hee, congrats on the seat. hope it means more to come.

lbt
yeah i totally agree with u. i wonder how these pple feel next time when their wives tell them they can't get a seat when pregnant.

SY

this is what I call karma. never mind, we still can bear with the journey as of now. But these ppl better not regret next time lor ..

i've been thinking about it recently. did i tell you all that we tried for baby until so frustrated and so tired? then out of the blue we decided to 'adopt' a girl under the world vision scheme. no funny ideas, no ulterior motive, just to help. soon after, we got pregnant. karma, i think.

where's everyone?

pinkbunny
choy choy!!! hehehe. i mean squat diligently for 4wks with rest and zzzzzz lahhhh. who can squat for 24hrs? think u dont take too much hua diao wine lor. still wine.

How much do u give to friends/colleagues? i give $12 to friends but not sure if its too low. Hmn i dont give to my senior (biao jie etc) even when they are not married.

Re Karma
err believe in karma one cannot say others abt bad karma etc. ie 'will get back to those who ...' that kind

SY
ya my parents give me angbaos. 1 each. so i have2. then hmnnnn i will complain if amt shrink too small. hahahaha. must tell them to increase because each yr getting better, angbao must increase to reflect so. Last yr my mum pack bigger than my dad and i make noise liaoz.

I think i must tell them to still continue to give even when i have baby. yr parents stop after u get married or after yr baby pop out?

later i going to see gynae liaoz. dont know have to draw blood anot. scare leh i dont want to draw blood on CNY.

pinkbunny
seems like only got a few of us starting work today? or everyone busy clearing work since coming back?

hmm, i think what goes ard will come ard lor. i used to adopt a kid from world vision too but the one i adopted passed away from illness or something like that when she was very young.

Jang
my parents stopped after i got married. think maybe cos pple dun give to married pple? anyway, they already help me out a lot usually so i dun expect them to give also.

i think $12 to frens is ok lah. unless they have very high standards...

Jang

update us after ur visit ok !!

eh dont look at the tube when drawing blood lah !

my parents still give ang bao to me even after I have baby. And i give them ang bao also.

My ang bao is usually much bigger than theirs cos I am working mah. I still give them monthly allowance. Same for my In law side.

jang
just kidding la hehe. friends/colleagues/their kids i give $8. but only if they bring oranges. with my parents, very simple. i only gave after i got married, but i'm still their child and they will still continue to give. i think even after i give birth, they will give me.

good luck with gynae appointment. never mind, blood is red. red is huat. think of it that way haha. take blood for blood test is it? if so, don't worry, it's not much.

my husband said 'wah the needle so big ah?'. sometimes men REALLY don't know the right things to say hor?

btw so how, you managed to find someone to accompany you to the appointment? or you will really film it yourself? ask the receptionist to help or something la, i'm sure they won't mind

SY
oh no, that's terrible! so young. but at least you managed to help a bit. i always believe lao tian you yan and hao xin you hao bao. but obviously that doesn't always apply when it comes to getting seats on the train hehe

pinkbunny
yeah so sad right. i haven been sponsoring the kids for some time after that. maybe i shd start again.

me and hb always say if we dun have a gal, we will go and adopt one. can also help those abandoned bb as well.

i think this kind of thing as long as you wu sim can already. any amount is fine
yup actually my husband and i said if choy touch wood really cannot have kids then we don't mind adopting for real

hhehehe appt 2pm thinking of goig temple before that but err now cooking maggie porridge to eat. sianz. cannot go after i go gynae place.
if i dont eat will vomit so eat a bit msg better than no food. i am sick of the foods at my place.

i always see them poke my hand with the needles and also look at the tube! even when my husb drawing blood i also look at it hahahhaa.

going alone leh. i always go alone except 2 times accompanied. boohooo. later i will tell gynae let me try can film anot. not sure if i'm the first one to do so anot. later ask the assistant.

the sponsoring kids, i didnt sponsor because its a big commitment. i just donate one time bigger amt at that time. so see what they want to do with the $. but it will be interesting to adopt one, write letters etc or even if they grow up big and become successful can come n visit the sponsors? but i think thats v minority.

Qing
hehhehee but next yr at least Baby will have angbao mah.

Mummies with kids
u guys deposit $ into kids' bank accs or into own pocket ah? own pocket also ok because have to save up for baby's stuffs/education etc too leh hmnnnnn

afternoon all mummies!!
wah.. looks like not many work today hor..
so sian...

this yr is my 1st yr giving ang bao.. hehe..
only parents and bros gave more..
cos got alot of relatives with kids..

this yr still receive angbaos cos they all say 1st yr still can take..
so I take lor..haha..
next yr I take back 2 from them...

Jang
i opened a separate acct for my son.

your hb busy with work so cannot go with u? for my first one, i always go on weekends so hb always go with me except for a few times. this time round, he has only gone twice also.... making him go for detailed scan with me...

jang

i opened a eSavers account from Standard Chart for my ger. She has her own savings which includes all her angbaos from full mth, bday and CNY.

we still do savings for her on top of that.

my hubby accompany me too all gynae visits for both pregnancies. if he can he will take leave else we opt for weekends. he also anxious to see bb and want to film down the scanning process.

lbt,

thanks for the link.. really useful to me cos me clueless at all on hiring maid.. am still looking for 1. seems like all the agency i callup like got attitude prob, one even didnt turn up for appt as promised. Am so tired for this maid things.

3Ds family
it is really abt luck lor. evecn getting a good agent is hard i feel. my mum's agent is not bad but on the more expensive side. if u wan, i can get the contact from my mum. but really depends on luck.

delphine, SY

ya lor .. i got some recommendation from friends on agency. But i think the blog list down the things we need to look out for else we will gong gong kana eaten !!

savings account
i think i will do like labbit. ultimately it's the baby's money la.

jang
how was your appointment!! tell!! got film or not?

walau, now i got a pimple on my back. btw cotton on got sale. and wisma has a different shop that's only for sleepwear. bought a few cotton "nightgowns". very comfy! 2 for $20!

had my first lo hei today and guess what? threw up all the ho liao. the thing that triggered it? the crunchy gold things!

nope i've not had MS for a few weeks liao. in fact my appetite has gone up by a bit. but it's just that i felt so sick after the big lunch and the last thing i tasted in my throat was the gold crunchy thing lor. but hmm maybe cos that's the first thing i ate? hehe.

jang
i just saw what you wrote... you LOOK AT THE NEEDLES? wah you very brave. you are my ou xiang. i see needles only i scared. i think about needles only i scared. gynae said 'you don't pengsan on me hor'. hehe.

pinkbunny
i still having MS also. esp when i m very tired. this year i din eat any lo hei at all cos of the raw fish. anyway lo hei not a particular fav of mine.

Ladies I must tell you all something. Just now I was holding the door for someone (a lady with a small child) and a man barged in. and I THINK I heard him say in a low voice ‘nice cleavage’. I immediately said ‘what did you say?’. He walked away and I chased after him and said ‘Excuse me, did you say something to me?’. He said no, so what could I do?

Now I’m thinking, should I have gone to security? And what could they have done? I’m not exactly wearing a turtleneck top la but still, it’s a very rude and inappropriate thing to say right?