(2008/07) July 2008

yesterday we went to pick up C1 from school on the dot at 7pm. i had some work to finish off, and Mr C was waiting for me, so we were late.

when i arrived at LSH, he was crying.... turns out he ran out from the school main door onto the lift landing when his last classmate left. the teachers in charge panicked when they couldnt find him in the school. while hugging him, they were sternly telling him not to run out again....

haiyoor

next time I will make Mr C go and fetch earlier even if I have work to finish up.
this job ah... when Europe wakes up, suddenly I have meetings and chats w pple... 630pm can creep up onto me when I m deep in work!!! i have now set an Outlook alarm to log off everyday by 6pm.

example of mummies being more efficient than daddies
I woke up at 645am today tog w C2. walked a few blocks to pass NDP ticket to my sister. placed an order on iherb for kids' sambucol. read dunno how many story books for 10mins with the boys. sat in C1's pretend boat while he captained the boat with me and C2 in tow.
.... and then Mr C woke up at 9am.

I wish I wish I was able to sleep liddat. but nooooooo.... once either boy wakes up, I am up and about.

Am at work now. Accounts submission deadline is today. Mr C took the boys downstairs to the beach to play with their kick scooters.

Aiyo! Lucky c1 is safe and sound.. Call me paranoid but this is exactly what I worry about all day but everyone thinks I'm crazy

Cellow.. I've long concluded and resigned to fate about super mummies vs Kayu daddies. Mine washes a cup in the sink n is dead tired after that, and needs a massage

dd,
ROTFL.... you crack me up la.... spot on babe!
Haiyoor, I dun think G will do that la. and normally C1 doesnt as well. just a one-off occurrence (i hope!!!).

NDP was great this year. many many fireworks for C1 to oooh and ahhhhh at. plus the aerial display. wow.

Hope you all enjoyed ndp this yr cos I'm super proud that the chairman of this yr parade is none other than my brother!!!! *holding my head high*

mich... your bro did a good job!

self explantory URL
http://iantan.org/2012/08/why-would-people-want-to-have-kids-in-singapore/

Cell: phew! Good to hear that C1 is safe and sound. I remember once I forgot to pick Gwyn up because I went to one of the sales! :p forgot all about time till the school called me! :p by the time I reach her was 115! She was definitely the last one, she didn't run out, but the minute she saw me she cried! I felt so bad! Learnt my lesson, never did that anymore!

Mich: oh wow! I enjoyed the parade too! Nice work!

Jo
SC membership not transferable but they dun check. i lent to my fren before.

Mich
wow your bro is the chmn! impressive!

Cellow
oh my, lucky C1 is alright. my kids also woke up super early on national day. like 7.15am... duh....

there was once when i had to ask my hb to pick jh from his tkd class cos i was at Dr with jx and was running late. instead of being there when jh's class was over, he went to buy some food for his dinner cos he decided it was so late and dun wan to eat the dinner maid cook. wah, lucky jh had the sense to borrow a phone to call me! i told him to wait for his daddy and told his classmate's mum that his dad coming. felt my hb shd have picked jh first then go buy food. he still had the cheek to tell me he going over now when it was 9.45pm and class ends at 9.45pm!!! arrgghh...

Mummies... i am very torn... 2 options:
1) to go with my sis family to Orlando. But i am very stressed out by the 30 hours flight there.. Transit + internal flight ... i really dunno how to cope with the long flight with the small one (ok not that small but nottie) and then adjusting to the reverse clock there
2) dont go with my sis.. instead just me + hub + the 2 kids, to aussie (nearby) .. but its not so fun..

How how how booohoooooo

jace

i say of cos ORLANDO!

big one let her watch teewee until googled-eyed then zzz! small one, no choice rotate between u and hubs! can one lah!

jace - in terms of fun, of cos orlando..i think you can def manage the long flight..the kids will watch tv and sleep. BUT it's the jet lag that was tough to get over. we just arrived here in California a week ago. Big bean no problem..adjusted within a day. mini bean took 4-5 days..everynight at 3am, she will be up till 6am..super jialat..and to top it off, she caught stomach flu..so non stop purging and vomiting..sigh. i think the one enjoying the most is Big Bean

but if you can tahan watching over just the small one, then go for it..Big one no need to watch much

Sorry borrow this thread.

I have 2 adult one day pass to let go, date 11/Nov Sunday. One day pass for Nov is peak season, ESP Sunday adult normal fare is $74/pass, Pls pm me for negotiating.

DD
super mummy and kayu dad: suuuuuper funny! laughing so much re your cup comment!!

mich
one word: WOW!

hey mums, can any of you recommend a kids' dentist? not too ex please! (i know of some that charge $150!!! siao!). kid friendly hor.

pb,
try GPA Dental... any of their branches.... i brought C2 to the Parkview branch when he had what looked like a blood clot on his gum. The dentist was v reassuring, and most imptly for me, managed to convince C2 to open his golden mouth
... I cannot rem his name though.... but the receptionist was v welcoming and the dentist came out himself to invite C2 to the consultation room... there was a screen playing either hi-5 or the wriggles at the dentist chair.

the consultation was ~$40. no cleaning involved. that is slightly less than the rate my PD charges for consultation so i m happy to go for it.

Cellow,
I think it's even harder for you because she excels in things you do not. Similarly, (but this she doesn't see), you excel in things she does not. I don't think it's impossible but it's definitely challenging to live under the same roof. Mine's only made possible because it's a big house with different floors. And luckily for me, my MIL doesn't cook nor clean, so no comparisons there! Phew!

PB,
You need a specialist? The School Dental Clinic one cannot?

Jace,
I vote Orlando too. I agree with Cin, the jetlag will be the hardest. So if you do go for Orlando, just feed them snacks every 2h or so, or else you could end up in my situation where the kid is too sleepy to eat, but too hungry to sleep. Sibei jialat man.

bbp,
if she really irritates me, i will not-so-subtly remind her who is earning the money. hehe.
in fact, i think i did tell her that before when she was on my back for cooking the same old dishes.... "sorry ma, i was not raised that way, i only know how to earn money" :p
to me, food needs to come from the major food groups - vitamins, minerals, carbs, protein - and that's that. plus point if they taste good tog

being super woman is v tiring. i would rather sleep zzzzz

Jace.. Of coz Orlando. Been there (although without the small one) - We had jetlag, a little tired, but manageable. Ashley (5 years old then), would wake up at 3 am feeling hungry and afterwards couldn't sleep, so I had no choice and not sleep too. Not sure for little kids as I have yet to bring Emma that far.

If you're going to disney world, there are like 5 places to go: Magic kingdom, MGM studios, Epcot Centre, Animal kingdom and downtown disney (this is just shopping). You can also go to kennedy space centre, univ studios, seaworld and legoland.

I stayed in NY for a few days before flying to orlando, so by the time we're at the resort, the jetlag was gone.

Another good thing to go to US: factory outlet! :p

PB
Emma went to the dentist at National Dental Centre, after a recommendation from KK hospital, so she has subsidized rate. Cost us $30 for check up plus cleaning. They have kids room decorated with stickers, glasses and of coz stickers for the kids. When Ashley was younger I brought her to GPA dental (either at Parkview/United square) - Dr. Ong Teng sin or Dr. Chong Chian Ee. Dr Chong is especially good with girls, she is super gentle. However, it is expensive.

Jace: Orlando is my vote too. You can break your first sector up, its easier to adjust the kids' timing and patterns won't get disrupted as much. Night flight up to states is easier, I feel.

SY: thanks for info, I thought so.

Just go Orlando! :D

Me flying solo with G on a day flight soon to Germany! Cross fingers, toes & eyes all goes well

PB: picked your dentist yet??whats wrong with pop's teeth?

He's flying over earlier. R u guys all set too? Hope you get to see more than just car museums haha. I'm restricting mine to just one so most likely the BMW one. Dec not going?

Wow DD brave you!! Nothing wrong with her teeth. Just routine check. And yes found her dentist

Mums, anyone with a preloved bumbo to let go? I gave mine away!!

Also, mums with girls, any old hats to spare?

PB: I can give you mine. Yellow though. Not pink or purple.

DD: I haven't been able to lunch at RP! :p when are you going to Germany?

hello everyone!

I had a lovely time in HK with just Mr C.

DD,
I would love to hear how the flight went... then maybe Jace (and I too!!) wont be so scaredy cat abt long flights

BMW museum
it has enough history to interest me, a non car enthusiast. i certainly found it interesting waaaay back in 2001! so go bbp, go and take a look. you might surprise yourself.

PB,

Dun forget to buzz me when you need the play yard ok? It is waiting..... :D

Cellow,

So nice! so many of my frens going to HK for couple trips.. My hubby says he will plan one... but the question is when...hmmm.. I waited 10 years for him to bring me to Brisbane, and I am still waiting..... (the last trip to Aussie land did not count... I planned the trip :p)

DD
Same. Were initially thinking of trip without calla but my heart cannot take it haha

Batgal
I was JUST thinking the same! Have you moved into new house yet? I can go by some day? And let me know how much ok?

Anyone up for play date this week? Seeing how it's da holidays! Tues is best for us

DD
*high five* The last time we went together was wayyy back before ashley was born. I am keen to go but Mr SD always feel guilty if we are having fun without the kids.

sd,
haiyooor. must brainwash mr SD... that your marriage is the foundation of the family.

batgirl,
ya, very nice indeed. well then, plan one yourself! btw i saw little gal's pix on FB, her hair has grown so much!!!!
can put lovely hair accessories!

speaking of hair accessories....
in a fit of online retail madness, I bought 4 hair accessories fm JSP.... siao anot.

Cellow,
Yes, I agree to your statement, but I'll still miss him!

But then I realised, the going-to-miss-him part is more heartbreaking than the actual overseas-missing-him part.

bbp,
agree. i din miss the boys - at all! - when i was actually in HK. before the trip, i was fretting abt whether they would be ok etc etc.

I'm also one of those, chained to my kids, never go anywhere without them. Don't think I can do it, I'll probably cry at the airport! Our me time is after they sleep, thankfully they sleep early, whether here or overseas. Somehow, we enjoy lugging them with us whenever we go. Can't imagine being overseas without kids, will we quarrel everyday because we are too free!

rainy Monday morning

*looks left, looks right* boh langz?

the haze is bad bad bad for the children's lungs. phlegm has been stuck since last Wed. time to haul both of them to TCM.

Wow, where's everyone? Had good Sept hols?

Cellow
Medium boy is so cute
Budding engineer?

Smiggle
That looks fun!

Doggie
Thank for Kidzania tips and info. We stayed at the same hotel. Lovely breakfasts and the free shuttle to and from Kidzania was very useful!