(2008/07) July 2008

dustee
Hopefully after you move it will be much better as in they dun bother you at your new place.

Yah back cos only 4 days ma.....n sigh.....wasn't really good....n I'm not even going to start.....

DD
We went HK cos I dun really want to see some relatives and actually not celebrating CNY this yr cos hubby's grandma passed away last yr ma.

But but but I want to rant please!!!
I know its just the start of the new yr but I am very very pissed!!!

I went holiday overseas right so of cos I won't be visiting plus my hubby's grandma's death I can't visit ma so that settles it right?
Okie so I made my hubby check n ask a few times that we confirm dun give angbaos. N my fil specifically told my hubby(few days before CNY) that if want to give my parents, dun give ANG BAO. Jus give the money like that.
And my mum told us to bai nian to her on even cos we flying on CNY 1st day morn.
So okie fine I decide to just hack care and give my parents n bro angbao since only giving them.
THEN.....my inlaws still gave us angbao and they seem to be celebrating CNY as usual. So okie I tot then it was best cos we are not in sg so we totally avoid since we dunno if we should or should not.

Then when we came back, my mum said I have not n should go n bai nian with my grandma cos grandma kept my angbao never pass to her. That was 1 place I wanted to avoid so I refuse and used the card of hubby's grandma's death. My mum can DUN remember and then mention something like so long already. But hey its not even 6 mths yet!!!

N best of all just now hubby called me to bring the kids down cos.....his parents expect us to go over and bai nian. ARGHHHHHH....know how pissed I am!!!!
U know how many times I have asked my hubby if we are celebrating CNY actually or not?? And ofcos he doesn't care cos he doesn't have to do anything or deal with anything.

ANd dun get me started on bday celebrations that I was told cannot be done cos of the grandma's death and which bdays they decided to celebrate n whose bdays get told NOT to be celebrated cos of the death.

yoohoo. i m back in SG. and i dunno wat i m doing awake at this hour when i have to work tmr.

pat pat dor.
men and family and celebrations (how long to mourn after a death).... all v complicated. i read your post, i headache. haha.

bbp,
i rem bcz i had the exact same argument w Mr C.
yes C1 is still a little rubbish bin. open mouth, insert food, swallow, onto the next mouthful. i dun even have to step on his foot to get him to open his mouth, more efficient than a rubbish bin :p
i must say i have never encountered your situation of todd refusing food b4, but my philo is dun eat, fine, you can starve until the next proper meal. and no one else better give any snacks to the todd in between.

dustee dustee,
how many more months to your own place?
away from pomfret's coughing cousins........

BG on 20th Feb
let me check the calendar first. tentatively ok for the C family.

cellow
U r so funny....hahaha
The way u describe C1 more efficient then rubbish bin LOL
How I wish E is like that though. Now she normally wants to be fed halfway through her meals and she tends to keep the food in her mouth unless I keep asking her to quickly chew n swallow.

sigh. see la. so many things on my mind until i had nightmares and have been up since 5am.

me to BB : i can't sleep
BB to me : but i need to sleep. zzzzz.

tell me a story or sing me a song la. works for poppy what.

thanks girls. it's just tough when it's such a crowded place and poppy seems to be the only kid trying to be a big girl and assert her independence. (to be fair, there were others having major meltdowns). and so not the place, with the big steamboat pot and yusheng tables at child's height and grown ups with soup bowls and spilt goodness knows what red drink on floors.

so i have decided. both of us do not function well in small enclosed noisy places. if she has to eat at a place like that, i will take her food and bring her to a quiet zen like place.

dor
tough - agree with cellow. traditions are getting so watered down that no one really knows what to believe in anymore so people just make up their own!

DD
yay on BBG's bum bum being a happier bum bum!

dustee
yes. had some raised eyebrows from relatives and snide "she is a towkay neo lor, kiao kar at home everyday" remarks over CNY. it's doubly hard because i can't explain what i do to the hokkien speaking folk. so i just say "poppy be careful!' and scoot. haha.

it was actually one of the school teachers that said "but if you're not working then why do you send her here? it's best for child to be with parent you know. but ya la, if you can afford to be housewife, you must be financially ok la".

*shake head*

then i felt so lame explaining how i couldn't work with poppy at home. it made me look bad. sigh. sigh. sigh.

oh and yeah, during one of the CNY visits, i had my share of sarcasm too la of course. but this time, i managed to think quickly on my feet and retort *evil smile*

-----
at my aunt talking about how her fantastic 4 year old granddaughter could ride the kick scooter with ease at age 3 when poppy was trying:

PB : wow great! so poppy has another half a year to master it since she is only 2.5 now! *exit stage left*

at my uncle talking about the same granddaughter who went on and on about how she is so quiet and easy to manage, sitting quietly on the sofa throughout the whole time, and how she's the same at restaurants too.

PB : oh poppy is very active and i like her like that. *exit stage left*

PB to self : is that quiet and easy to manage, or just boring? of course quiet and easy to manage la, never talk to anyone, eyes just glued on iphone throughout. BB actually found her very strange for not wanting to play with her other cousins. she really just looked bored to tears. like a 4 year old teenager

oh CNY brings out the bitch in me.

dustee
dun think too much abt whether to invite your sil or not etc....hee just conc on getting the house done and moving out! motivation.....

oh so u also had a difficult childhood? i know i will not be able to completely understand how my hb feels abt this but i always tell him he shouldn't shortchange other areas of life becos of this. like always worrying abt finances and not being able to enjoy life.

icyclaw
another thing abt cough which some TCM advocate. cut out all fruits and biscuits for 3 months. i tried once when my kids were coughing for some time and within a week they got much better

SD
emma is not small! jx is even smaller.
i think she's still hovering ard 12kg...

DD
okie will try to turn up for BG on the 20th!

btw all iherb loot is here. so depending on who's going on 20th i will bring all the stuff!!

jx can't really read too but also partly cos i spend much lesser time reading to her. trying to make sure jh dun fall behind leaves me very little time to read to her! but she likes doing 'homework'. she always grab a book and go color. comparatively at the same age, jh cd write better and read better but i guess they have different strengths. jx can sing better!

PB
sounds like a tough time during CNY!!! i can't imagine how inconsiderate the school teacher is to make such a remark. really none of her biz. and it's hard to work with kids at home. bet she hasn't tried it yet.

and kids shd be active! i really really hate it wheneve someone turns on the tv and jh ends up being a potato couch. i like him to jump run ard and play with his toys instead of being so inactive. hee u can tell your aunt and uncle that research shows that children shd be active......i m not sure a kid who sits down quietly all the time is what we want to see in ours!

reading?

thaddie is far from it! but he recognises some simple words like dog and cat though and some chinese characters like baba, mama. he is extremely interested in books though but i am guilty of not reading enough.

i think his interest is still numbers, he is learning to add now, and music - sing him a song and he can very quickly pick it up and we went to check yamaha, he is still too young for the parent-accompanied first level lessons though.

talking about reading. i am more concerned for talia who is 4 years 1 mth old now and still can't really read except for simple words and chinese characters strangely. think i am going to enrol her in a phonics recognition program so hopefully can accelerate the process. sigh.

junk food

did you guys see the chinese news yesterday night that a study in UK showed that kids who ate a lot of junk food ended up with a lower IQ. such a timely reminder as i eased up a bit during cny and they ate so much cny goodies!

CNY at BG - we are out of town so cant join..boohoo.. SY - maybe meet you for lunch to collect loot? tomorrow? who is free for lunch?? lai lai..we do lo yee sang? hehee

Dor
So complicated! So will you go over and bai nian? Aiya I also have no choice cuz every year I must bai nian in Borneo. I dreaded the car trip after the plane ride. The only time I didn't go was when Emma was 6 months. Now I've got no more excuses hehe. Over there is very weird, I basically have to give hong bao to kids who approached me even though I don't even know who they are. For example, I went to a relative, and over there whoever went to bai nian the relative will have kids mah and those kids will just approach any adult present to get hong bao. So every year I have to prepare some 30 hong baos for these kind of situation. But some of the kids are rude. They will immediately open and complain that the amount is small. Geezzzzz. I don't really care.. I don't know them wud.. It's already so good to get one from me. Next year I'm just going to try getting emma to nap so I can stay in the car *evil grin*

Cellow
Hahaha you're funny kekeke.

PB
Wow the one who said that is the teacher!!!! *piaks*
I also got remarks from my hb's relatives.
"Ooh emma is so smart.. haiya if she's a boy it would have been better!!"
"Ah so Mr Sd's kids are both girls.. how come no boys?"
I will just ignore and go to another room. Dun even want to entertain.

SY
How much I owe you?

Oh, and I thought I was the only one who hates CNY.

SD,
Yes, Emma is NOT mini. Dec is only in the 11kg range and barely!

youpi,
*waves to fellow mother of mini*
Yeah, Dec did that too me too. I went "Mama is angry already!". He went "Declan is angry also!"
Reading now?? Ha! If you consider him pointing to the book and talking gibberish, then yes Declan is reading. But seriously... drawing still can make it; reading totally cannot.

dustee,
Haha, mini-giant just sounds so wrong.

batgirl,
Haha! "I bang bang policeman" is super funny!

dor,
I totally would get super pissed too. If I were in your shoes, I would be screaming "I ask you all so many times already, why can't you all just make up your mind?!?!"
*pats*

PB,
Maybe you should just tell people that you ARE working, because seriously girl, you are!
And every (ok, almost every) kid would be entertained by an iPhone. Even adults are! What's so great about that? CHEH!

SY,
How much do I owe you for this round? Cos I still owe you Sambucus money from the previous round.

doggiebb,
Relax, I think junk food in the UK are Macs, BK and all that. I THINK cny goodies are still considered non-junk comparatively.

doggiebb
same here. more concerned abt #1. he has been sliding back and getting lazy. he can read and write both english and chinese but very lazy. unlike jx who will always jump at the chance to do homework! maybe time for me to switch focus.

Dor
wow so messy. i wd be pissed with hb too! always changing the plans and messing everything up

Cin
when are u going out of town? where do u wan to do lunch?

BBp, SD
let me go back and open up boxes first.
havent even open up the 2 big boxes!

re junk food
actually i think junk food also refers to processed foods like hot dogs etc which UK/USA tend to eat more also? CNY goodies is once a year so shd be ok......

i m groggy! i want to sleep!
and i want someone to sing me a song and pat me to sleep!
instead of working!

*rolls on floor like popiah* to complete mini tantrum

acting like C1 (or rather visualing myself acting like C1) has the benefit of releasing stress and amusing myself. haha.

i dun hate CNY but i do hate coming back to work after a long break.
ok scrap that, i hate CNY for the nonsensical kaypoh relatives' comments that i have to put up with. luckily these few years are at Mr C's, so they dun know me that well, and there are zero nonsensical comments abt children so far. one benefit of celebrating CNY where no one knows you. HAHAHA

but i have had to smile and grit my teeth at one of Mr C's church frens' (J) place. another fren of J's (L) ws also there. and L was nasty nasty abt Singapore.
even though i dun really think i m *that* patriotic, i felt duty bound to defend my country. it was J's home though, so i held my tongue. literally biting it.

Cellow
Are you still with BMSG?

CNY party
4pm on 20 Feb at BG - okay!
No ang pow exchange right?
Are we bringing snacks for the kids?

Bbp
*wave back*

Dor
You are super patient with your hb.

Bai nian rants
Hehe this year was relatively stress-free for me 'cos reunion dinner was with my side, yay!

My CNY pekchek-ness with hubby revolves around things like

On CNY eve : I'm too lazy to iron a shirt tonight. I'll do it tomorrow morning (on CNY day 1)

Preparing to go to my parents house for reunion dinner : must wear new clothes?

On CNY day 1 : I got no new clothes

He's had TEN years of experience with Chinese customs!!

I just tell myself Chill bunny chill chill chill. Once a year nia.

I have a reasoning as to why relatives are super "on" during CNY. It's the only time everyone is around and for most, they've had all year since the previous gathering to think of all the things they want to boast about (new car, wanting to buy condo, fabulous grandkids). Yawn.

Bbp
yeah. You're right. If I just tell people what I do without saying the words "from home", it just sounds so much more professional and "real" right?

Batgirl
I also lol-ed at "I bang bang policeman!"

Ok BG on 20 Feb on for bunnies!!!

i'm hiding in my room now coz my mil has an indo visitor. previous years i used to be 'dutiful' and sit outside though i didn't understand a single word they said. but.... i really don't feel like it anymore. hiaks. i'm a paikia dustee.

cny hits and misses
hits are always the ang baos for pomfret. misses.... ugh, i hate it when everyone tries to pick her up, and she gets frightened and refuses and then cries/screams/rants and then everyone else laughs, making it even scarier for her.

pb
yikes. i guess when you've got those big gatherings, really gotta expect a lot of these ridiculous remarks. it's really no biz of that teacher to comment such though. hey you are paying her salary!

i do think i get quite a lot of those weird critics though. but you know what i do?

they "you stay with ils, they can take care of your kid, why you don't go back to work?"
me "because i can afford not to " and must give the most humble and innocent look when saying this. it really throws ppl off. : D
they "but must be so boring staying at home "
me "they grow up so fast! plus i can afford to " cue humble look
they "since so free why not free lance?"
me "got enough to eat. just finding tai tai things to do"
they "wah, tai tai life!"
me "yep. indeed. enjoy until cry" cue laughter.

i realize a lot of ppl like to put you down financially. that whole 'wah they got money is it' thing so the easiest is just to say 'yes got money' and it really shuts them up. no point justifying that you live to a budget, that you don't go overseas, you don't buy stuff, etc. they just want to compare and comment. but once you assert yes, you're doing well, then they'll back down.

so weird right.

since i'm still stuck in the room, let me continue analysing this. basically ppl just want to build up to the fact that you have such a good life but your kids aren't as well behaved as theirs. so i like to skip the whole build-up to the climax and dive straight into the conclusion. "yes my life very senang and yes, pomfret is very naughty"

then they'll get a bit embarassed and start saying 'no lah, she's very guai/adorable/well-behaved" on and on and on.

yes actually i do love getting these weird remarks and then fending them off : D like a chess game!

Dustee you are my favourite funny gecko la!

I particularly love the "enjoy until cry" comment. I could totally imagine your face and voice doing "wah towkay neo lor somebody". Lol!

Wonder what makes people think I'm rolling in dough. Must be my jewellerylessness, soles-coming-off shoes and holes in blouses (all of which are true haha).

Magic ocean
Dustee donch worry you'll be fine. Hey if I coulld understand, anyone can. I actually enjoyed it more than treetop adventure!

Oh oh! I think that if my brother had said "got my own biz lor. Work from home lor", relatives would have ooohed and ahhhhed and said "wah so clever, work from home, cut down on overheads!". Compared to housewife who wants to outsource her parenting function, how to fight? Hehe

Ok girls, time to ask for helppppp! Whoever eats cereal at home, can keep the box for me please? The big ones, not the kids sized (6 in a pack) ones. The agak 400g normal sized ones. Banana nut crunch, cornflakes, honeystars... All also can, no discrimimation!
can bring on BG day please?? Need many many!

Dustee
Gives your mind a workout huh talking to ppl like that.
I totally agree with you. So now I also dun bother to ans when ppl say I am a Tai tai. I jus smile n walk away.
N those who ask "Wah you take care of 2 kids by yourself?" I also smile n walk away hahaha

PB
That teacher must not have any kids or she hates her job....haha
Same as that young female doc who told me I cannot bf when on the med she prescribe for me when D was 2 mths old.
"Its jus 7 days" (totally felt like smacking her face)

Hubbies always do this kind of funny things.
Dun say your non chinese hubby. Mine keeps asking me n doing funny things till I totally giveup talking to him. I'll just say loudly "Yah its your 1st time, you have never been here or done that" then move on to do other things n ignore him.

youpi
sighs.....my hubby is not the kind who talks back. He's like the wall....literally. Its mostly of me getting my fustrations out of my system.
U know he acts the same way n doing the same wrongs as D does, I always say the same things to him as I say to D. I'm hoping n praying D doesn't stay like that else I will have to deal with 2 of them this same way forever!!!

bbp
I did....screamed everytime my fil changed his mind. Hubby the wall is as always...the wall. He jus shrugged...arghhhhhh

SD
Nope since I have a valid excuse this yr I will totally skip the relatives part. Its actually my dad's side that I dun want to meet so no matter what I'm sticking to my mourning card...hehe
I dun need to deal with the not working n snide remarks cos they dun do that. They r the ones who will smile n talk nicely to you then few days later they will stab u in the back n gossiping all over kind. Gosh how I hate those ppl!!!!
Omg the kids r so rude. But yah dun know them I will also dun bother. I actually hate visiting too plus D has bad motion sickness. So I normally use that to get away from going to places I can dun go to...haha

Oh yes did I mention.
Yesterday we went to inlaw hse to bai nian, my fil asked the kids to take a gummy sweet to go n feed my bil who was studying in his room.
THEN.....I came back home and saw on FB that my bil said he was SICK....having FEVER!!!!

Gosh this is not the 1st time they make my kids go to sick ppl or they r sick still carry my kids without informing that anyone was sick. Can't they jus love their only grandkids alittle!!!

Dustee
You are very funny! :D
I wish I could say "because I can afford to". But my "because I can't afford to" is quite good at stopping comments too, hehe. I usually get the "Wah he's so big still breastfeeding ah? Got milk or not?" or stuff like "Still got milk meh?" One mummy was quite mean. She asked the questions above, then remarked, "Ah by now the milk must be salty already lah. Not nice to drink anymore, right?" Best thing is, she breastfed her son till he was almost 3. Hmm.

Cellow
Why don't you want to continue? I am helping out this year.

PB
i have lots of boxes but the problem is keeping them. my hb always finds them and throw them away. let me find a way to help u keep them...haha

dustee
u r funny!! i had to control my laughter in the office.....

yes i can also totally imagine dusty saying all those in a deadpan voice and a dead serious face! ROFL!

really hard to get back into the swing of things! this morning i slept until 8.20am, dragged myself outta bed, took a quick 10 mins shower then dashed out of the house. and i am so drowsy now after lunch! zzzz...

Can totally imagine dustee saying it with the upturned palm and shrugged shoulder lol

SY
Hehe last time I ask for toilet roll also you offered. You are a hoarder, like me! I keep thinking "sure got use for this, better keep". Then keep keep keep until throw. Once throw, I find a use hehe. But these days toilet paper goes quite fast. Poppy would announce "I did a big peepee!" then proceed to use half a roll on her little body :S

Dor
Aiyer, why can't people understand!?!! Keep sickies away from kiddies!!!

Oh been meaning to share this with you girls but keep forgetting. Inspired by you-know-who:

When a woman says: "keep an eye on the baby"
She means: "Watch the baby like a hawk so that you are ready to cushion every fall and prevent every bump.
She does not mean : keep your eyelids on her

You know 1 fine day D asked me.

"Mama why must u do so many things??"
sigh.....u know I really really felt like all the things I did was worth it. Becos somebody really sees that I did so much work at home.

hello,

sneakin in here to say hi..
been mia cos work is so busy..
can u imagine my ang moh boss sends me emails everyday during CNY!
feel like smacking him...

20 Feb BG
ok, count me in.. might be my last gathering since in gettin too tired to walk..
kayden has not seen u guys for a long while too..

sorry all, back to work again...

dordor,
your wall doesnt see the amt of work. so you must tell yourself 'yes i stay at home to look after my 2 children myself, and i have raised 2 loving children who stand up for each other'
educate, kiss hurt feelings and bruised knees plus the ah sum work of cooking and cleaning.... no wonder D asked the qn.

now i m curious - wat did you answer him?

oh dustee,
you crack me up!
"yes my life is very senang and my children are very noti." "yes enjoy until cry" HAHAHAHAH!

i will file that away for reference....

youpi,
i m a dead tired mum of 2 who is trying to hold her life tog.
to salty breastmilk, evil me is thinking 'only if she sweats buckets, then HER milk will be salty' *wink

smiggle,
ang moh mah... you send him emails over the christmas/NY period la, see if he responds then. or thanksgiving period, if he is american. hehe.

pb,
good one on the bored iphone/ipad generation! 4yo teenager indeed. i told Mr C over lunch and we were both impressed at your succinct turn of phrase.

hmmm
michelle!!!
where are you??????????????? miss you lots lots bor.

paiseh long time no post. was busy leaving my work place, the clearing up of my rubbish and exit interview was very stressful!!

then eboy did his child development assessment and hearing test and confirm he needs to go through speech therapy.
we are starting this fri and it is very expensive. So that means i cant stay jobless for too long, causing a lot of stress, both financially and emotionally..

then I got another job offer.
now i have one which is lower in the value chain (a contractor role) but the post is quite high and will have like 30 over staff to manage and need to produce numbers at end of every FY. Private sector dealing in a domain i was familiar in.

then there is another which is highest in the value chain, but reporting to very high and senior ppl (minister level) and I will be one of the staff officer. it is more stable and highly visible but the time is fixed, and the boss is someone I know very well and very family focused. He was my ex DIR and he pulled me along when he changed job. so. i'm in a fix. meeting the CEO next tues for the chat and I dunno how to prepare. i never been to an interview before you know... a bit panic.. this is civil service job.

Dunno how to choose... i am losing sleep everyday because of so many changes around me..

doesn;t help that during CNY, distant relative whom i meet once ayear will suddenly all show empathy, keep consoling me that "dun worry, eboy will be alright" making me feel like eboy cant talk is going to be a problem. I dun worry also become worry, right?

sian to the max.

Boo Hoo.

so that;s why i've not been posting.

Toddler bicycle helmet
Does anyone know where to buy one that is small enough for our toddlers? Want to get one for L. TIA!

Youpi,
try Carrefour (Suntec & PS).. i saw those some weeks back. hope they still have in stock. i wanted to buy 1 for son but his big head couldn't take the toddler's size and the S for older children.
Hope you can find one that can fit your boys

Michelle,
my 2 cents worth, if you want to have a more stable income and understanding boss, maybe civil service is a better move. i'm not sure which industry you're in but not all private sectors are doing well. even GLC are lagging in their payments to SMEs (at least in my case

but, if you're good in people skills and don't mind the targets & quotas, then private sector with may offer a tad more flexibility in working hours.

Good luck.

talking about stress... i'm playing more and more games on FB and my iphone.... and they not really helping to keep my mind off my stressors

Dustee u made me laughter I fell off chair! But very good retort..add oomph with that innocent sacarstic expression too!

Mlk turns saltish after a few years of bf-ing??? My "totally absurd" face showed immediately!

So many 'funny' people around huh?

Youpi, toys r us have it..otherwise other bike shops should too? Or u could try some spreeist to see any spares left? I got bbg's together with bike from here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4975736.html

Query for those with likeabikes..how long did ur kiddo take to master it? Mine still very unstable n gives up easily but like road bully at home on his sit-on toy car!

Yeah..the bike without pedals

Mich..jobwise, go for the interview and pick with your gutfeel..

Dun worry abt e-boy.. He's as normal as all our kiddos..hope he's been good lately..mine's been crying again when I leave for work in the mornings..clingy clingy

been up since 5 am, third time this week.. last night was 2am... sian.

eboy is settling well in school and also started to pick up new words like Lao Shi and auntie, and he made all the teachers and aunties very happy.. they were all very supportive and encouraging to eboy after I told them about the need to go through therapy. the school even supported this by letting me omit payment on the day he cannot attend school because of therapy! I am soooo happy i switched to this school. Surprisingly, after the long CNY break, he was ok going to school.

and eboy's whiny behaviour only lasted that week when we first started that "claustrophobic" school. The week after, he was back to his normal self. so i'm glad that so far, there's no need to use the cane! haha... sometimes he throws tantrums or run away, i'll attempt to walk away and he will run back to me to hug.. haha

oh, and i recalled one very sweet incident... eboy wanted to reach for his tennis racket on the shelf and asked me to help. While helping, i accidently knocked my ankle on his bed, but no painful one lah.. immediately, he came to pat on the part where it hurts and sayang so long. I din even know what he was doing, until i took the racket down, he din bother about the racket, but kept looking at my face if it still hurts... aiyo, me heart melt untillllll.... and there were many many such moments.. i tell you. enjoyinh every minute of my SAHM now!!!!!

jobwise, will go for that chat with the CEO then see the package then decide. both are bosses I know and they both are keeping the posts for me, so I guess there is some "emotion" involved should I say no to either party. That is why the decision making is not so straight forward.. sigh..

PB, hope you are feeling better.. poppy is a sweet little girl and i simply love love love her smile and her giggles...

hugs to dustee and all the nasty words on her.. but solid lah, your counter attack. I also file for reference ah!

bike without pedals
eboy refused to ride that cause he was not confident to ride it? then one fine day, he just decided he is ready, and zoom, now he is like expert. no problem in balancing.. can steer like a pro too.. i think the scooter kinda helped him with the balancing skills too lah...

cellow, when kolo mee gathering?? when when?

BG, we are coming! and we will bring cheese cubes, cherry tomatoes and soccer ball like the previous time!!!

reading
wow, thaddie can do addition already? solid. Eboy cant speak now, but I was quite sure he recognises some words, actually only cow and pig cos i've been teaching those two words for weeks! I'm really really really looking forward to eboy speaking soon.. i can;t understand him nowadays and it caused frustration (to me). boo hoo,.

Sayang Michelle. So great that the school is understanding! So cute that eboy says thank you with a bow hehe. What a gentleman. Can imagine him opening doors for ladies in future. (yeah and poppy barging through like the samseng she is)

Any kids go through major meltdowns and selfish modes when friends come to play? I'm so sorry to all kiddos who have been to my place recently. If poppy throws a fuss I usually leave her a lot to cry it out and sort her thoughts out. But time (and space) is more constrained when there are more folks around so I have to use different techniques. I suppose that's one reason why she reacts more to that too. And BB and I feel maybe she feels she gets less attention from me when there are other kids so she must find ways to get my attention. Anyway, sorry huh.

You know what, I honestly don't know why people keep asking me "are you Singaporean" and other related questions. At the market, old men made cheeky suggesting noises at me, thinking I am Filipino. Today I deliberately spoke to one in very biao Jun Chinese (cos some domestic helpers can speak mandarin too right?) and he kinda didn't want to sell to me ... Guess what... He thought I was from china!

Something like "don't press the pears cos if you leave a mark, I can't sell". Me :" but I will buy if they are soft and they will only leave a mark if they are soft. If they are hard there won't be a mark RIGHT?". In the end I found some nice ones but I was so bu gan Yuan that I said" thanks but I think I better not buy".

So 2011 is the year that my purse will not be a pushover. If it doesn't feel gan Yuan giving out money, it shalt not. We work so hard for our money that if we must part with it, we'd better be happy doing so!

Pb, nah, poppy is great. Eboy behaves the same. Worse when L and S were over, he was so shy he din even dare walk into his room, his own room!! I have a bigger problem! Anyway, eboy doesn't understand yhe concept of sharing. So they snatch, which is common in school too. When kids dun do that, it probably means that the toy is not that attractive anyway. Yes sinetimes it could be vying for attention. I totally understand. On that note, I think you were extremely patient with poppy. All kids behave the same way (more or less). It's how the parents react that makes yhe difference.

We're fellow mummues of 2.5yo, we understand. no need to say sorry.

PB,
i was gonna ask a similar qn here! after seeing the photos posted on FB abt your group play sessions, seeing the kids so happy together, i was wondering why my son & nephew can't get along and are always fighting. nowadays, they get more physical and loud.

yday evening, my nephew came over to play and both were playing happily for a while. before i could praise both of them, my son snatched back his toys and put everything back in place. talk abt selfishiness, he sure is one selfish brat

then when they started playing with the toy golf set, my son hit his cousin on the forehead with his plastic golf club coz the boy picked up the ball when he's suppose to hit it with his club!!!!

arrgghhh!!! they see each other almost every day and play and fight every day! sometimes when my nephew is watching tv, my son will just walk over to him and hit him on his head just to get his attention then run away laughing! of coz i will grab him, scold him, hit his palm and told him to say sorry. he will cry but less than 5 min, he will be back to normal... ie running around like a monkey.

guess what, i've decided to put son back in childcare. sick or no sick, bronchitic or not. it's for the sanity and harmony at parents' place. and not having to put up with hb's insensitive remarks "where did he pick up such naughty behaviour from?"

guess i'm not blessed enough to enjoy even a part time work schedule. it's back to working every day for me.

dustee ah dustee, i envy you... minus your mil hehehe...

PB ah PB, at least you're your own boss, running your business the way you deem fit. wished i can really 95% work from home. i'm stuck in the office with nothing to do sometimes yet i can't leave. have to "keep watch" says the boss.... i feel very unproductive and wasting my time away here... some friends envy my job situation. but once you're in my shoes, you'll probably start crying for freedom.

so many times, i want to join your get together sessions on weekdays, and so many times, i have to be stuck in this office...

pinkb ah - no need to say solly la..our little ones are developing and finding out who they are - we just need to give them the space and time.,.i read somewhere that kids dont understand the concept of sharing till they are like 5 yrs old or something
heck, even until today i refuse to share my bolster with my hubby.

cellow - second mich's request..kolo mee when when when..heehee

cin
maybe tmr lunch can. was in a meeting yesteday so din check on posting. will let u know.
if we meet, we meet vivo? any other mummies want to join?

michelle
where did u do the assessment? my sil may wan to bring her son for assessment. he's 2 years but dun really wan to talk. and can say very little things. what kind of therapy are they doing with him?

think go for your chat first before deciding. at the end of the day, we want something with stable income and allow us to go back on time to spend time with the kids right? so go for the one that suits your goals.

steph
i can understand how u feel. my pervious job i had nothing much to do in office and so hard to pass time. sounds good right..getting paid and doing nothing but actually very sian.

re BG
i hope i can join BG.....if not, will find a chance to pass the stuff to all the mummies.

pb,
i have a theory abt why pple keep asking if you are singaporean. most singaporean women around our age do not put on makeup and look v ah soh when go to mkt, which you obviously dun lor.
you try wearing your worse clothes out and no makeup to the mkt next time to test my theory ok?

same thots abt many kids and confined space leading to meltdowns and tantrums.

steph,
yes but these are a good distraction... at least for me, they are.

michelle,
wow so many thoughts in your head. no wonder wake up at weird times.
job wise, bo chap the say no will hurt someone's feelings. tis work. no one's feelings will be hurt dear. go w the one that offers you the balance of pay vs work-life balance that you need to tend to eboy.
hooray on eboy's likeabike accomplishment!

doggiebb,
similar guilt of not reading to C1 enuf.
he just runs off after like one second in my lap. extremely short attn span.

LOL on cin refusing to share even at this age!!!

sharing
so C2 snatches C1's toys, and this is wat C1 tells C2
"MINE, not yours!"

guess C1 learnt it in school

it works when i use the same phrase on him. hahah.

Er... Cellow... I also don't put on make up when I go market la. So wasted, my make up! But if you have spied on me before and it looks like I have make up on, yay! I take that as a compliment! (though my usual make up brands shouldn't)

Lovely weather! Sentosa boardwalk and beach, here we come!