(2008/07) July 2008

youpi
No worries. I maybe passingby ur place around 4pm later so if ur home i'll pass it to u??

doggiebb
Ur toilet seat I also pass to youpi??

i so tired. G woke up 3a.m n cry for 1hr for my maid! so persistent... she could have continue the cryin if not for us ignoring her totally finally n switchin off the lights. We just go back to sleep n then after a while she stop n look at us... think no more audience hahaha so she came n ask me for her pacifier...

poor no1 had to sleep with his hands cupped to his ears....

Dor Dor
Finally did the transfer already, thank you very much for bringing the stuff over!

Doggie
Yes, your toilet seat is with me.

hey

i think i may just go malacca during this long weekend. hehe! told ya i have a very itchy posterior!

youpi

maybe i can troop over to collect from you? will sms you to arrange. tks.

Keke TGIT!!!

Just got this from my friend: SHOPPING ALERT:

COACH and Kate Spade Sale
31 May 2010
Venue : Singapore Expo, Conference Hall G **
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : 4pm to 8pm
all sales final, while stock last, payment by cash & nets only.
The timing is so weird!

Isetan scotts Children's wear sale up to 80% off at L4 Event Hall, 28 may to 3 June
Today is the private sale of Isetan card holder.

http://www.bookfair.com.sg/ - Singapore book fair

Philips Carnival Sale, 28-30 May 2010, 9am-6pm, 620A Lorong l Toa Payoh

agnes b sale@Isetan Scotts L3, 27 May to 3 Jun 2010

Coach & Jimmy Choo's End of Season Sale@Isetan Scotts Promo Studio, 27 May to 3 Jun 2010

Esprit Sale
Thu 27 May to Wed 2 June
Venue: Takashimaya, Talking Hall, B1

Kate Spate, Gucci, Coach, Marc Sale@M Hotel, 29 May 2010

Sports Bargain@Isetan Orchard L1, 25 to 31 May 2010

The Popular Fair@Sin Expo Hall 3, 28 May to 1 Jun 2010

The TANGS Sale. till 27 Jun 2010

Hehe yes TGIT! Wow I was away on Mon am for meeting,and leaving office soon for another one that will take a good part of my pm. On course tues and wed... Not a full day of work this week! Woohoo!

Plans for long weekend. Mums?

Hey quick ques- anyone tried putting our kiddies in bouncing castle yet? Are they too young to enjoy?

mummies, need some help. what do you usually give your kiddos for breakfast?

poppy usually has fruit and yoghurt, or sometimes cereal but i worry that it's not enough. she doesn't seem to like break or buns much. occasionally she has porridge from the market but what else can we give? wait, let me rephrase that. what else that's kid-friendly and nutritious that we can give for brekkie?

Had this brekkie prob too cos eboy seems to get sick of cereal. So now we add flavour, like scrambled egg, Chee cheong fun, raisin bread, chwee kuay less the cai poh if we having that for brekkie etc. And spoonfeed with milk. Yes I know some dun go with milk but we always still give milk no matter wat....

Breakfast
Emma normally just took 240 ml of milk. After that before lunch at 12 she will eat soft scrambled egg (no milk), sometimes a few cubes of cheese plus some biscuit. she is a meat eater, so she doesn't really like cereal or bread. She will then have a big lunch.

How about pancakes? I bought the japanese pancake mix, which is nicer and softer than the normal pancake mix. Another would be an omelet. I beat 1 egg, and in it I put onions and diced ham (no milk cuz I don't like it), then fry.

OMG I can't believe it!!! A student in Ashley's class got active TB. now the whole class has to go to the tuberculosis center to get screened for TB latent infection!!! OMGGGGG. I am so shocked. I hope Ashley tested negative. *crossing my fingers*

PB
E normally has either bread, chee cheong fan, chwee kueh, noodles, bao. Which ever is her fancy for the day or what I can convince her to agree to.....hahaha
This little girl has her own mind n must agree before she will eat it.

SD
OMG!! I can't believe this kind of thing can happen. Hope Ashley get cleared.

Ehh ladies, I dun really know what I am doing these few weeks or even mths. I jus have like soooo many things to do that I can never seem to finis doing.
And I am buying n spending like there is no tomorrow. But it all seems very superficial cos I dun really feel the joy n happiness of buying.
U know like "Okie I bought this so nice so happy" then that's it. I am jus happy that few mins that I got it. Somehow still feel empty inside leh................
I wonder why.......or am I really tired of the kind of life I am living now??

Oh yeah n I get pissed off very easily.

N I dunno why these few days keep having ppl asking me if Ember is a boy or a girl. (Those who go out with me should know hw girly I like to dress E lor)
N I believe I really show them what I am thinking abt jus by the look on my face. Cos the sales lady disappeared after I replied her. And the other lady can say "Yah can see is a girl"
THEN?????? Why bother asking if you can SEE????

How's everyone? Thank you all for the blessings.. Lately my health is not too good.. No mood to eat, ms bad and high bp.. Tummy upset and down with flu..2 darlings are not well too.. Haiz .. When I can start to relax.. My fil down with mild stroke and wad admitted to hosptal. E1 was well already but when to hospital to visit fil, mil cough directly on his face and she was down with flu... !! E1 went back starting coughing so badly in the night.. Feel like killing someone...

Update,
bb is good.. 8 weeks.. 4 more weeks of terrible ms to bear..
Edd jan 3 but due to c section so mostly 2 weeks before.. Another dec end bb..

Dor dor,
I was like you too.. In one stage of my lfe I keep going shopping.. Buying bags after bags, but no happiness at all..
Just feel empty at heart...

Oh dear sd,
doesn't the girl parents find out before sending kids to school? These parents should sent for counsuling.. These days parents are getting very selfish coz the only think about their kids and worried if they can catch up in school but never care about if they are not will will the virus spread and pass on to other kids.. Fingers cross .. Will pray for your gal... All will be fine

Hi mummies! I'm back..but so exhausted.. Thank God for the long weekend to recuperate b4 I fight fire
at work again next week!

Cellow..how r u n family? Hope u all recover b4
ur trip to east..

SD: results on TB out already? Thought almost everyone goes for the bcg jab?

Esq..hope u get well too wiv your two e's

dor..think most of us do go thru this DOWN period in life..like a mid life crisis? Remind urself of the things n persons u love n live for..set those as goals to work towards..do something different if u must..just remember that life is too short to stay depressed.. Go ask for big bear hugs fm ur two angels n u'll feel better
If u need any fm us..just let us know too!

Saw ur drugstore email..will revert soon!

sd,
oh dear. you just found out fm ashley today? hope her test comes back negative

breakfast
C1 downs his milk. Then tis usually egg or bread at home, in school they give him cereal too.

Dordor, esq,
sometimes i feel that way too esp when Mr C rants abt my lack of household-running, maid-mgt abilities. then it is always on the tip of my tongue to tell him to find a job NOW and get out of my face, but that would be punching him really really below the belt. but i m v scared that one day in a really sleep deprived brainless state, i would blurt it out.

the latest skirmish was over my not looking for a bb chair for C1 at lunch at Marine Square. he was entertaining C1 behind, so me plus maid plus C2 (and stroller plus 2 diaper bags plus 2 plastic bags of shopping fm mothercare and kiddy palace) went to look for a seat first at the food court. then when he came up, first thing he asked me is 'where is the bb chair? there are some in the corner' gesturing to the far far end. wah, you think i really super mum, can direct maid to find seat out of aircon, settle C2 into sling and on top of that.... rem a bb chair for C1. was just thinking of chucking him into the stroller and hope/pray he stays there to eat throughout our lunch *rolls eyes*

and girls.... this thing on forum abt singapore women being spoilt princesses... true?

looking at my 2 boys (such angels especially when they are sleeping....
) helps banish such depressing thots though.

esq,
ya i know the killing sm1 feeling when C1 just recovered fm cough, and sm other kid coughs on him.
btw, why do you need to csect?

dd,
did i miss smthing? you finally took your holiday? good for you! thanks for asking, we are all sort of recovered. at least C1 is sleeping thro the night again, so PHEW that is a big relief

DD
Thanx for the assurance. I've actually been trying to do things to try to get out of the mood and buy stuff to make myself happy but seems like doesn't seem to help leh.
Sigh............dunno what else I can do now......except.......something really drastic......

Cellow
At least u are jus trying to not say something. But even if u blurt it out I guess ur hubby would be able to understand bah in the heat of the moment.........sigh
We never do quarrel..........I'm jus talking either to the wall, someone who jus keeps agreeing to whatever shit I say, or someone who you realise has slept when you are waiting for their response. N doesn't help that when I try to repeat n repeat he does the same thing again.
Sometimes really giveup u know. N partly is hw messy my hse is.
Been trying to make the hse look like a hse for ages but..........its still like that. N I seem to be the only one who cares how it looks.

Oh yes I forgot to add I give omelette too. I mean, *i* give omelette. When I'm home, it's automatically my job. Funny. When I was SAHM, it was always my job. When I'm working, it's still my job. I agree with cellow's sentiments "does he think I am superwoman or what?!"

Bluebunny is down with funny tummy. He thinks it's the ABC soup I made for dinner last night. Correction - the dinner that I slaved over, I bought ingredients for, I carried back by myself and spent half an hour standing in line in high heels for taxi with (while he said "long taxi queue! Take mrt la".). Oh and I washed up after.

So he spent almost all day being horizontal while I brought poppy out and cooked all our meals. I just have to say it again - when mums are sick, life still goes on and the kids still get cared for. When dads get sick, oh woe is me, the world stops revolving.

Apart from the nap he allowed me to have today (while he "watched poppy" who was watching tv), it was action action action all day.

I know it sounds incredibly mean but I really have no time to sayang him. I also wonder if it were me in the same situation, would I act so weak? Prob not I guess. And anyway he prob wouldn't let me.

Dor
I think it's a combi of things. Your "oldest son", you taking care of the kids... It's all raining down on you now. I know exactly what you mean by feeling empty after shopping! I mean, shopping is one of my greatest loves right? But sometimes I just feel like I am "forcing" myself to buy things

Cellow
Oh yes sleep deprivation can make the brain malfunction and the tongue act faster than it should. Perhaps you and mr c could take some time off together? When c1 is in school and helper could watch c2 for an hour or two while you both go for walk along the beach like you used to? But I know, sometimes man of the house without job can really affect self esteem

rant rant rant

looks like many of our hubbies (mine included) need some whipping!

PB: I dun even get any nap allowance...

dunno if i've gone bonkers or what.. but as tired as I am.. I have lost all urge for 'me' time.. coz I love bbG to bits.. n feel so lost when I have a moment without him..

cellow: didn't go for the proper holiday yet.. was in KL for my younger sis' no 2's full month! she's so tiny! only 2.3kg at birth, and doesn't look like she's even 3kg yet.. but she's adorable and loves it when we sing to her!

think i'm still planning for HK disneyland (is it getting too warm?) or maybe even beijing... but wats there to do in beijing ah?

Dear mummmies,
thanks for all the concerns about Ashley. I will be bringing her for the TB latent screening early tomorrow and after 48 to 72 hours we will know the result. I hope it will be negative.

Dor,
Maybe you are stressed? Sometimes I feel that way too. Stressed at work so went online to buy this and that.. very excited when I shopped but after I got the stuff home, it will just sit at the corner.

People sometimes can be so insensitive. My Hb family is PRO boy. my BIL stayed at our place for a while and while he adored Emma, sometimes seeing her doing something cute and smart, he blurted out.. Awwww Emma so smart..it's a pity she's not a boy. Hmmms... I don't even have the energy to argue.

Esquare
Good to hear that bb is good. We're not even sure which kid, whether it's a boy or a girl. I'm going to ask the TB center tomorrow.

DD
Will bring Ashley for test tomorrow. hopefully by Tuesday we'll know.

Cellow
Yar. just got the letter. I can tell other parents are also very nervous.

SDchick
i want to tok your BIL`s head!

hope ashley`s test will be negative!

i think i read somewhere recently about how women tend to still take on the domestic role, regardless of whether or not they work. how true.

PB, I know there is a shop in the dhoby ghaut's exchange gallery (what you call those shops in the mrt stations)selling universal studio tickets at a slighty lower price. It's called Travelmania. Near the Pie Kia shop there. Go there sure can see one. A little cheaper and don't need to queue for tickets at the entrance. Can just go in with the tickets.

Adults for weekdays is $61, weekends $70. I think poppy is foc? These tickets includes $10 f&b or $5 retail vouchers also.

PB
haha I think most hubbies(or rather our hubbies) always seem to expect us to automatically do all the stuff. Why dun they automatic like us huh?? I really wonder why. But then having a son n a daughter I really understand the male n female grow differently. I can point and ask them to help me get something 'there'. D will turn all over left right even stand right infront of that thing n keep asking me WHERE???? N I have to direct direct direct until sometimes I jus go n get it myself. E leh u say there, she jus turn pick it up and give back to u. Or sometimes she will even tell D "THERE......" and pick it up for him........sigh

Sometimes I'm really fustrated cos D is exactly like his dad. So I feel like I'm getting double the dose and I wonder if I should save myself the trouble of trying to teach and correct D cos if my hubby at 30 yrs old is still like that.....I mean does it mean its like that 1?? So nothing I do can change anything? So why do I even bother at all???

Totally agree with u on the "whole world stops when daddy gets sick" thingy. Nothing changes to my hubby's world when me or the kids get sick. UNless I request he takes us to the doc. Or else its still my job.

DD
I also dun feel like having me time cos I will be worrying abt the kids....haha
I rather have them with me.

SD
Yah lor the stuff I got my friend to buy from Japan for me and my US stuff r still sitting there...........N I wonder why I bought all the cheery colors and if I will ever wear them........sigh

Pardon my ranting.....which is why I seldom post now cos I dun feel great and dun want to keep spreading bad vibes here.
I know its cos there is alot of things happening around me and I mean there always is but this time its hanging around too long and I feel very fustrated cos I've been trying n trying to get rid of that feeling and get back to life. But somehw.......sigh........I think I need and outlet, somewhere to let out since I really dun like talking to walls.

Oh and I still had to keep reminding my hubby abt paying for our van and cos every yr I remember he had to bring the van for inspection before paying so I asked him why this yr dun need. N then the chicken and duck talk came in again so I kept asking n asking n asking before he finally admitted like dunno hw long and how many times I asked. Oh yah hor...............ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Then again until I ask few days later and he went, "tmr you not going anywhere you bring it for inspection lor cos gonna do it before 28th".
Arghh okie chill since its jus nearby but I've never been there before and hw the hell to do it. He jus went VERY easy very easy jus drive there they will do it.
Yah yah I dun see him doing it with the 2 kids alone.
N dun ever suggest allowing him and the 2 kids alone for anything cos even when I am around he has allowed or rather caused D to get hurt twice in the space of 2 weeks. See how fustrated I am..............have to handle the kids and his problems.....sigh

Turf city giant selling pampers active jumbo box (2 packets) for 25.25! ( usual price 37.50). I lugged back 4 boxes! Muahahah!

SD
OMG, hope Ashley is okay.

Dor
I sometimes feel trapped and stuck, like my life has no direction. Eh, anytime you want to bring your two over to play with mine, just sms.

DD
I have an urge for me time, but have no time for that!

E Sq
Hope you and your Es get well soon!

PB
Well you know, we are all superwomen what ;p
So, fellow mad mum and b'day kaki, what are you planning to do for yours this year?

dor dor, cool down. i think most hb r like tat. like my hb, he sick ytd n he can rest early n make it so pitiful. yes i understand how is sick. but when i really sick, i dun get this good treatment!!! life goes on n i still have to be attending to kids. for him, he just say he sick n off he goes to bed n tell me he cant get close to kids! so easy! so ytd i nag at him n tell him i was havin this bad cough for over 2 wks! then he buy me lozenges n herbal tea...

Mornming mums! Are all your monday faces as sian as mine this morning? Hehe. I have an 830am meeting. That I've specifically been told to attend even though it doesn't concern me at all

Man, there is a guy in office attire clipping his nails at the bus stop! What is with the nail clipping and what will they think of next!

Youpi
You know, just a few days ago I suddenly stopped in my tracks and gasped. I'd been so busy thinking about poppy's birthday that I'd totally forgotten about my own! I turn 3X (I mean 21) in 2 weeks! Gosh

So, to answer your question, no concrete plans yet. Taking the monday off so if can get USS tickets, will go!
Thanks hannah for the rec!

Sd, hope yr daughter is fine!!!

abt mummy vs daddy
ytd morn took them to vivo and they wanted to water play since Jacos Ballas one is under reno. Daddy keep insisting he dun wan. but i can see the disappointment in the kids. then I offered to get their towels n extra clothes in the car in the car park lo. then he bo pian. then while I was on my way to the car, hb call n say "zz wanna pee" n call me to try to make it as fast as possible. he just wan to make his life easier... till now, 90% is i bring my son to the toilet. n I had to clean them up n change them after the water play. make me like i havin my punishment for bringing them there! He really no childhood 1

yoo hoo!! good morning!!

Hope all the super mummies feel better already! If shopping does not take the bad feelings away, its time for something drastic! find someone to take care of the babies and go for a hairwash! hair cut! manicure! pedicure! go go go!!

I had a great weekend.. mad GSS dash and spent $$$. Bought myself 3x coach bags! haha.. and tonnes of toys to stock up for Ethan;s birthday... but couldnt resist opening one set for him immediately! he loved the car racing set so much so that he holds the car in his hands to sleep!! aiyo!

SD, hope ashley will be tested negative! so scary! how and why did such thing happen? doesnt the school ask for a list of vaccine that the child has taken to be submitted? no?

my hubby was 100% good hubby last weekend so cannot complain about him. I was playing with eboy ytday afternoon and suddenly get giddy spell and went to vomit (gasp, hope its not... you know).. and told hubby about it. he sent me off to the bedroom to rest while he took care of eboy, halfway through his work!! *heart Mr Mich!*

oh, and last friday, left eboy to stay over at my mom's place. was worried at first, but he was totally a-ok with it! and enjoyed himself playing with my niece!! my and hubby had a good pak tor time, watch movie, massage, good dinner, taka shopping before picking him up next day... and I think it does wonder to couple time, so do find time and support for that once in a while, hopefully those feeling depressed can feel recharged, rejuvenated? just a suggestion..

so as you can see, I started Monday as happy as Eboy!

helper update
My helper had informed me that she is willing to stay for at least another 2 years (Yippee!!). However, to extend her passport, i need to pay $600 (this I already know and was prepared for it). Then over and above it, she told me she has to pay a government tax of 10% of her monthly salary for the past 2 years that she worked for me, that is another $720! then she wants another sunday off over and above the current 1x sunday off per month.

Sounds demanding and unreasonable and scheming at first right? thats why I was thinking thinking thinking.. of course I did not agree immediately..

then last weekend, we spoke again and she told me she knows that it is too high price for me to pay just to extend her and getting a new maid is cheaper. and she felt that she should contribute half of the passport and government tax.

then I told her my main concern is her additional sunday off. in which upon more talks, she wanted to take the sunday off to learn chinese. HOW CAN I SAY NO?!? but still i did not agree immediately and insist that she only goes off for lessons and be back immediately. she say see how. We left it as that.

Then the next day, she told me that she heard from her friend that the governemtn decided to charge only $150 (instead of $600) for passport renewal.

So that's it. I have decided to pay for her everything provided she stays for at least 2 years, any early release she will pay 50% in future. the extra sunday off to learn chinese is still not confirmed, but if she really has the heart to learn a new skill. I will definitely support her.

So i think i have settled my helper situation. THank god!

doggiebb, when is the JG holiday programme? just realised eboy next term will only start 4 wks later, after the holiday programme. so maybe I will sign him up at forum for the holiday programme....

I need to buy a dress to attend a presidential reception dinner event.... where to buy cheap and classy looking dresses??? HHEEELLLPPP!!!!

michelle, yr maid is indone? passport renewal def no need $600! can do at embassy for v cheap nia

u can do yr own extension n it quite easy. just buy maid insurance n then extend her 2 yrs (make sure her passport is valid during these 2 yrs.)

michelle,
we are abt the same size. you want to borrow dress fm me? i got a long red empire line dress, some velvet looking material that i seldom wear bcz used for wedding, cousin's wedding, church fren's wedding, colleague's wedding, old classmate's wedding... so in effect EVERYone has seen the red dress liao.
Borrow borrow borrow ... then i feel that i get more mileage out of the dresssssssss!

seem like weekends the thread is more active now..
had a busy weekend..
Kayden is limping!!! no idea why... real or pretend also can tell.. how??
Im panicking cos he startin school tmr...

Michelle
your budget? Avana was a fav amongst some..

Calling for Qing..
Bdae Party Bash still on??

sigh.

HB and i had one of those senseless fights last night that started off with C2's stomach upset (colic??). admittedly he is more xi xin than i m, his mummy instincts to the kids seem better than mine... i noticed C2 has been spitting out white milk curds and his forehead is cold only after he pointed it out....

then last night, while i was carrying C2, C1 clamoured for my attn, so i passed C2 to him while i attended to C1. he then asked me if 1. i had given gripe water to c2, and 2. if i had rubbed ruyi oil onto his tummy. not yet i said. he then hmmmmmmmmphed at me. as if i m bad mummy, hey i m not super mum ok, if you see smthing needs to be done for either c1 or c2, then just quietly do it.... no need to be rude to me abt it.

after doing both himself, and after c1 had settled into sleep, to pick up an earlier argument we had where i told him all you do is scold me for not being as xi xin as you... we had words where he then compared my mum's parenting style unfavourably to his mum's and said he hoped i dun end up like my mum.

that was both unfair.... (my mum's story not as drama as his mum's but her contribution is no less... anyway, how to compare rite.... )

AND hurtful.

i havent decided whether to explode at him or again avoid conflict (usual style). sense this argument is too impt to avoid.

i only get really really mad/sad when HB is not onside with me and we argue abt senseless things. we are on the same team, no? but he tells me things like we are already parents for 2 years, why cant you be more like me and follow the SOP for handling stomach wind. DUH.

so tell me, does all the abv sound hormonal or do i have a case agst him?????

still angry/sad

PB
yeah sometimes I want to TOK my BIL's head too!

Aiyoo about the TB test
Thanks mummies for the concerns!!!!
Guess what, I haven't get it done. Saturday morning at 5 am my MIL, who is recuperating from her surgery had a high fever. She looked disoriented, confused and weak. Me and my BIL took her to the A&E at SGH and while waiting for the results of some tests, she fainted. What follows were even scarier cuz she was in and out of consciousness, very restless and could not speak a word. Just blinked, closed her eyes and pass out. Turned out she had some urine infection. So I've been spending my days since Sat morning till lunch today at the hospital. No chance to bring ashley for test. If I bring her today, she has to be back in 3 days time, at which she'll be out for school camp. hmmph

Dor
Although it's very very easy (they really did everything for you), but you are with 2 kids! hmmmmph.So in the end did you go and do the vehicle inspection?

Michelle
I hope so too. I have no idea how it happened. Yes the school actually required you to submit the health booklet yearly for vaccination inspection, general health and eye check up. I'm not sure how this pupil got the TB.

About the maid extension, you do not need to go back to the agent. You can just call NTUC (if you are insuring with them) and they will do everything for you. They will collect the documents from you (letter from MOM, passport, work permit etc, and asked for your signature - they will come to your house to prepare and also send back the new work permit for ya). Costs around 250 bucks if I'm not mistaken and that includes the insurance for 2 years. Call them for info.

I guess you do need to do up your own contract and ask the maid to follow it. Basically you put your terms and condition and what you expect of her lah.

Dress: I like Coast dresses from Robinsons. It looks pretty nice without being too elaborate. Costs up to 200+?

Cellow
Cool down cool down. Ah my hb also same lah... he is too critical. Sometimes I told him rather than waste his time lecturing me, might as well get it done yourself. But guess what, he simply refused lor. Told him to just close one eye on certain things if you don't even wanna do them yourself. We are not superhuman with 8 arms. Luckily he can't compare to his mom cuz his mom really didn't do anything and can't even take care of herself. But he will occasionally complain about my mom sometimes if she did something her way and not his way. Bleh.

Normally I would just ignore him, only answer in short sentences and if not necessary will not talk to him for days.

Helper
I am going to sack my helper. How to say ah. I've never done this before. Should I tell her the day before or on the day itself and send her packing immediately for her flight in the afternoon on the same day. She's a bit cuckoo and I'm just scared she will get mad and hurt someone if I did it the day before.