(2008/07) July 2008

doggiebb, change of plans (again - sorry). Having a meeting at thomson at 3pm, so i will drive over after the meeting, should be 4-plus/5. Can or not?

*Sayang sayang* poor ethan.. My boy had fever 38.9 and 2wks of diarrhea when his two little lower teeth came out.. Can't imagine the scenario when he's gonna have his 2 upper teeth..

SY, thanks for sharing... I'm not sure about toast cos he chokes on his little honey stars.. Yogurt sounds nice.. Is it ok for them to eat cold food yet?

*tink* Teething
Maybe that's why Cedric keeps waking up at night. Not funny. Told HB this morning not to speak harshly to him every time he wakes up in the night... Must build up our children mah, not tear them down.

YAY! thank you much much, Michelle!
Oh, din realise upper teeth are more difficult to come out. I ll check his mouth this evening.

ME time
totally agree w Jacelyn (and the speaker!)
tonight i m going out w my frens for me time, to celebrate a birthday. i know i ll miss Cedric when i m at dinner, but also need to 'force' myself to go out and socialise. wait all my frens disappear one by one, then how. tis a romantic but ultimately idealistic notion that HB is the only fren that matters.
WE time - pak tor w HB on Wed evening. 1-4-1 main course at Al Forno's east coast. value for money!

Difficult life-threatening pregnancy
Smigglep,
You are right. I can only hear your story, but I dun understd fully and thoroughly how difficult that period was. *Admires* your courage n determination - a lot!!

aside... Jacelyn,
you having fun w the font formatting and colours and watnot leh. *grin

Rena
Sorry to hear about your health. Please take care. Did the sinsehs give you any advice?

Sortfloor books
I don’t mind there being a second spree! And I don’t mind joining!!!

Qing
Barbie looks so nice in her chair! And sitting in the trolley! So cute! Poppy sit like that in high chair when we are outside.

SY
Thanks! That BP is great!!! Can I let you know about iherb tonight please?

Poppy woke up several times last night. But surprisingly I am not tired. Poor thing got wet nose and cough. A bit warm but no fever. Is that also part of teething? Have you girls heard of the hazelnut teething necklace? My BIL gave poppy one but it is too tight so MIL will send another. Apparently it works. http://www.avellana.ca/index2.php?page=faq

Joke of the day
100 years ago, they said that when a black man became president, pigs would fly,

and on the 100th day of Obama's presidency.........

Swine Flew......

Chumint,
Wow 75cm at 6 months old? Indeed very tall... Must be 99% percentile already. Ours just reached that height when we checked ytd. You can consider letting him take basketball or volleyball as his CCA in future. ^^

cellow,
Thanks for sharing on your lunctime talk.

missysz,
Can share with us the photos you have seen taken by Sean Lau (Can PM me)? I already seen those pics on his website but think seeing the 'actual photos' (as compared to his selected portfolio photos) would be more representive of his works. Also share with us your photos when you've taken them~ ^^

Michelle,
We still waiting for Darius' first tooth...

Jacelyn,
'Catching poo' ah? Ha din know there's this alternative name~

Pinkbunny,
Nice joke! ^^

Cellow, opps yes I was just taking the opportunity to play with the formatting. Hee hee trying to prove that I also know IT kekekekeke

Smiggle, yes I dun think I can fully appreciate and understand what you went through. Just a little tot of it makes me shiver. U ARE A BRAVE GIRL! And I am sure kayden will love u more for that when he grows up! =)

ME and WE time, thats my pet phrase now whenever I talk to hubby. Keep telling him how i just love these times :p

Cellow
the bp for allyzabba blanket is up. you got buy?
i would love to get their megga size for my king bed.. but now must save money..

Life threatenin pregnancy
Imagine when govt say need more babies and company sack u for it!
peronally i want into kids until i have my own. think mothers have the greatest heart of love.
Come to think of it, i just realise i qualify to celebrate mother's day wor..
i was lookin at kayden and askin how how? young man, u better give me a present ah..

Kayden has been sleepin restlessly. He would be slammin his legs for hundred times before he sleep and when he sleep.
any babies sama sama???

I was watchin the channel 8 drama abt the schoolbag too heavy and very discourage to send Kayden to school. very disppointed in our school system. wonderin how can i help kayden to be educated in a good environment. Im not capable of home schoolin lei. and i think international schools are out.

PB's hazelnut necklace just reminded me.
From a German colleague. Apparently in Germany all teething bbs wear an amber necklace around their necks. No, not to chew on, but to calm them so they fret less.

*this skeptic is raising her eyebrows

dustee,
just say wat is on your mind re pomfret la. and skim thro the posts to see if those trigger any thots too.

Dustee
can share with me abt your chiro?
i having serious aching problem. massage also no use.
think got no cure but to sleep with tiger balm everynite.

smiggle, Ethan same lah.. will stomp the feet sometimes before sleep, almost always when he wakes and we are still sleeping... that is his way of waking us up, also the pulling of a toy beside him that makes a chuckle.. he knows that wakes us up too.. when all else fails, he will stand up by the railing and ahhhhh.. and I will jump up immediately cos scared he falls.. amazed at how fast babies learn to grab our attention? thus now when he does things wrong, instead of screaming or jumping at it... I always keep quiet and give minimal response so as NOT to encourage him to keep doing it. haha

oh ya, dustee/batgal, wanted to get your chiro contact too, I sleep with salonpas every night.. two spots on my spine (bone) part is painful when i press it.. and the area around it aches much... should i be seeing a chiro too?

michelle

can! just that that time ger is sleeping so when you are coming, call me instead of ringing the doordell cos that will cause cookie to bark. see ya!

Aqua ducks
oh i wanna go too! been bringing pomfret to the public pool, but maybe a nice heated pool would be nice :D any more mummies interested then maybe try another weekend slot? let me know!

Additional Aqua duck weekend
1. dustee and pomfret

michelle
oh last sat after you smsed pb about the haenim playyard at parkway (thanks so much!), i dragged my husband there and bought it! (but he stayed in car with sleeping baby and i lugged it from the kiddy palace to carpark myself *flex biceps) last time i told him 'this mummy organise bp for the playyard at discount, want?' he said 'what for?' then now that i bought at 149, he asked me 'why never buy 2?' -_- men men men men men! pffft!

pb and hazelnut teether
looks interesting! but website all in french, don't understand lah! that day after met you at dim sum, my husband asked 'the baby boy or girl?' ................ and i said 'poppy wearing pink romper and white stockings, you say leh?' .............

qing
the big birthday bash, 6th june is saturday right? is it a lunch thing or a dinner thing?

rena
oh cannot make it for ezekiel's bday party, coz sat evenings i have to go to church (die die this mass timing coz husband plays church organ)

smiggle
ahh see you stress yourself out ah, now already worry about kayden's schoolbag. nowadays the system change so fast, who knows in 6 years' time, maybe suddenly govt rule out all textbooks and all use worksheets, very hard to say! or all use laptop! no need schoolbag! don't stress!

chiro contact for michelle and smiggle

me and batgirl go to
Asia Chiropractic
15 philip street #08-00
tan ean kiam building (it's behind golden shoe)

65-65344393
www.asia-chiropractic.com

it's a female doctor, so i like (coz ...shy lah, don't like men pushing my bones all over hehe)

but first consultation costs like $90, subsequent sessions can get varying package prices.

PB goes to a physio/chiro place in orchard area if that is more convenient for you, better ask her too!

i highly recommend mummies to get all back aches and whatever aches checked out! coz we now just live for our little precious, we like never take good care of ourselves!

Wave, alot of my friends said the same thing too.. Hubby & me prefer to pave him towards music..

my boy gets very irritated and cried whenever he wants to sleep.. So have to carry, sing & comfort him till he falls asleep. This is the routine every night lo... And he doesn't like sleeping in his own bed (playpen)... Everytime he wakes & finds himself in there, he will scream & cried lo...

anyone know anything abt viral infection? tess was infected,the PD say will recover onces rashes appear.3 days pass,her fever still going up n down n no sign of rashes.

phyphy
my pd, if fever 3 days still not gone, will ask me to bring back for follow up. do you want to bring tess back to see pd again? pomfret had high fever for 5 days, so by 3rd day pd decided to prescribe antibiotics (erm, antibiotics is for viral infections?)

Chumint,
We prefer to pave Darius towards music too, though ultimately where he goes will depend on his interests and talents. ^^

Wish to share with us what has been done so far to make him expose more to music?

About sleeping, I've read and learnt that we'll need to train him to fall asleep himself in his own bed. Carrying him till he sleeps may be the easier solution but when he wakes up, he will be shocked that he's no longer in your arms and will start crying etc. The path to making him sleep on his own is not easy of course, but would still be a necessary one...

About having meals outside, we are having problem keeping him quiet too, especially if we are in a restaurant (though now try to avoid). One of our solutions is to wait till he has fallen asleep in his stroller before we have our peaceful meals.

Difficult life-threatening pregnancy:
I could still remember how bad my wife's delivery went, that I still shiver at the thought of it. Was worried about my wife's well-being at that time, and all I wanted was to have the doc 'get the baby out asap!'. :p

The thought of making her going through all that again for #2 makes me worried...

smiggle,
Wanted to catch that Schoolbag show too but kept missing it. Like to share a bit on what did they highlight about the woes of our govt's school system?

chumint.

tess also have the same sleeping habit.i used to carry her till she sleep and try to put her down on:
1. bb cot- result cry n scream immediately
2. my mattress - result continue to sleep soundly.

wonder how she can tell the different btw my mattress n hers.

currently she co-sleep with me.will try to put her in her bb cot when she turn 1yrs old

normally for fever more than 3 days, a blood test will determine if its viral or bacterial. if viral, just fever management. like roseola (fake measles) high high fever for 3-4 days then subside then rashes will appear.

if bacteria, will need to be on antibiotics. but i have friends who did the blood test, determine it is viral but after one week, still fever and antibiotics are given and fever finally subsides. so i am a bit gua gua gua sometimes too! muahaha!

PB and cellow

i just checked. thanks for transferring the $$$!

Wave,
When I was pregnant with hao ran, I will let him listen to classical music 2hrs everyday.. After he's born, I will try to play classical music every nite or after he's asleep. Also most of his toys plays music. Every now and then, he will twist, shake and dance to the music. His favourite toy is this Leapfrog Baby Counting Pal. The classical music it plays can soothen him when he's crying...

Tess, my boy is the same lo... He will stop crying when he's put on my bed instead.. And went back to his peaceful sleep... But I try to let him sleep on his own bed as often as possible.. I feel it will be more difficult to train them as they get older...

SY,
i wan e first teeth....

Michelle,
i think kacey n ethan same same teething lol ....
for e past few days she awake fm like 3am to 5am ...i check both her upper gum is swollen wwhen feel hor sharp sharp....more worst her bottom side (3rd n 4th) teeth think is coming out as well can see e white line liao ....
today morning i went to those chinese medical hall, they ask me buy 1 bottle of powder to rub on her gum ......think nw she feel more comfortable bah ....i also apply first teeth in the morning n at nite.

serene
think they dun have first teeth leh. dunno why. maybe out of stock.

re iherb
childlife
batgirl - 4 bottles
doggiebb- 3 bottles
tess - 1 bottle
sy - 2 bottles

anyone wants to get nordic naturals? i take their DHA

PB
i know u will like the BP. already placed my order!

Tess
hope tessy gets well soon....if it's viral not much u can do. just try to control the fever

Additional Aqua duck weekend
1. dustee and pomfret
2. missysz and bbJ

thanks for the info

PD confirm its viral infection n no blood test taken.given methisoprinol syrup to boost up her immunity.

dustee
my PD told me to give the methisoprinol syrup for 5 days ,she somehow hint to me that it will subside after 24hrs.i will call the PD later to check.

SY
the fever goes up to 39.2,have bought her a cooling mat for her to sleep on.hope it helps to control the temp.from going up.

Chumint,
We have those velcro toys... so we velcro the toy to the high chair. Or we will give those wet tissue pack from the restaurant. It's one of his favourite "toys".
Declan also got to fight when sleeping. Except for the night cos he normally falls asleep while I'm latching him. But he's ok when he wakes up and finds himself in the cot. When he screams/cries on waking, I know it's cos he doesn't have enough sleep. Cos there are times where he will just sit up from his nap and smile at me.

Re teething:
Oh, no wonder declan had fever during this bout of teething and didn't have fever during the previous bout. Cos upper teeth more difficult... aah icic.

PB,
Thought you were going to stop buying books for a while?

smiggle,
Slamming legs during sleep, yes sometimes Declan does it too. I will gently pat him to help me get past that stage. Or put my heavy hand on his back (cos he always sleep on his front one).
I think there are home schooling programs you can check out? Or those enrichment programs? But must check and do research cos not everyone is good.

Michelle,
Why you scared Ethan falls when he stands up at the railing? The cot should be high enough right? Or you mean you scared he will fall and hit the side of the cot? Or fall out? *Confused*

dustee,
Alamak, why wear pink your hubby still ask boy or girl?

bbp, I will upload a video on his blog of him kneeling at his railing (not standing yet, kneeling) and how the naughty boy will intentionally let go of his hand and thrust his whole body backwards, lucky i put pillows/cushion everywhere else his head confirm bua luku. that is why everytime he stands up, I will be scared and stand by his side to catch him if he does that.. he seldom does that nowadays (i hope) but I still scared leh...

Chumint,
From bbp's post, I remembered one other solution for us is to give him things from the restaurant (cheap dispensable stuffs only). Some of our examples:
- Straw from MacDonalds
- Servettes
- Paper such as the brochure in Pepper Lunch

This seems to be keeping him interested in the item(s) while we enjoy our meals. ^^|

I told you before that he also does that a lot when he first learnt to sit? then he hit his head once on the playmat and never did it again.. altho now my MIL is with him all the time putting cushions behind him everywhere he sits lah... really dunno what goes on in their mind loh...

Wave,
Oh yes, we do that too! Sometimes run out of things, and the floor will be littered with all these things lor. But I think straw quite dangerous though.. be careful.

Michelle,
YEs yes, I remember you said Ethan does that when sitting. Didn't know he does it in the cot too.

doggie
i want to buy some stuff from amazon.
but i am afraid of the weight issue lehz.
scared later shipping super expensive

sortfloor
this time round i wont miss it liao
heehee

pb
barbie did that when she sit in high chair outside too.
don know why loh.

and barbie is also sick.
down with flu and cough and many many phlegm.

ok, talk abt this.
i need to complain.
vex all my anger.

on sunday night, the lil boy was back with a cough.
and he sickeningly cough right into barbie's face.
i was freaking mad. but i hold it to myself and carry barbie away.
then came the drama.
monday morning, dry cough (god mil: "boz u all sleep in air con, too dry la")
- the problem is barbie has been sleeping in a/c rm since birth.
tuesday morning, cough with slight phlegm
wednesday night, cough and a lot of phelgm
(god mil: "she teething la")
thrusday night, cough and super a lot of phelgm + flu
(god mil: "it must be u give a lot of HT biscuit to giver her when u overnight at ur parent's house la")
- problem is i only bring 5 arrowroot biscuit, give away 2. left 3 for barbie to consume over TWO freaking days.

and since wednesday night, barbie has been coughing thru out the night and crying.
boz she can't get back to sleep and her poor nose is block.
she even rejected her pacifier, simply boz she can't breath.
and poor mommy, hardly get any sleep.
have been trying to pacify her all night.
and now, she is super exhausted and super angry with that ill bred.
(cellow, now u know who i was mentioning abt)

at one pt, i just feel like slepping him. seriously.
so i choose to ignore him, if not i will seriously do nasty thing to him.

with boss angry at her, boz she left the office with no one this afternoon to bring her baby to a PD.
when her "beloved" colleague is also on MC. (so coincidence)

i am only human.

<font color="ff0000">QUACK QUACK @ Aqua Duck </font>

where: new outlet at Portsdown road, which is in the Buena Vista pool (they have heated pool)

when: somewhere in june or july ba. (can wait hor?)
the sooner we confirm the no of people the faster they can reserve a slot for us.

Fee: FREE for Trial la.

Only MAX 6 bb in a session.

weekday session:
1) sy n jx
2) cinbunny and sophie bunny
3) pinkbunny and poppy bunny
4) elliuzion and Bosco
5) chumint and hao ran
6) JSP &amp; Ernest

weekend session:
1) qing and barbie
2) Ronnie and bb
3) michelle and G.I. Ethan
4) doggie and thaddeus
5) smiggleprincess &amp; kayden
6) star &amp; Josh

add. weekend session:
1. dustee and pomfret
2. missysz and bbJ

ok all filled out.
shall update soon.

<font color="ff0000">BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY in JUNE'09 </font>

Date: 6th JUNE 2009
Time: Lunch
venue: KLAPSONS – The Boutique Hotel @ tanjong pagar.

1) Qing, HB &amp; barbie ($25-$30/pax)
2) michelle, hubby and Ethan ($25-30/pax)
3) Jacelyn , HB &amp; bb xun ($25 per pax)
4) rena076 ( can only advise in april as we may be going to church camp)
5) Youpi, hb, #1 &amp; L ($20/pax)
6) SY
7) mapleaf, HB &amp; Dora
8) smiggleprincess &amp; kayden
9) pinkbunny, bluebunny &amp; poppy bunny
10) Bluey (plus hubby,#1 &amp; #2)
11) Dordor
12) delphine
13) Hannah
14) doggiebb &amp; mr D &amp; talia &amp; FZT
15) elliuzion &amp; hubby &amp; Bosco

wavesurfer
me too.
barbie is interested in every other thing to her own toys.

michelle
ur mil very good lak lehz.

SY
the link you give made me spent...
heehee...

qing

what you wanna buy? i am only doing books cos will be easier to distribute the shipping. next time when its time for their little feet to wear shoes! wah! we can do shoes then!

Bbp, I never thought of the velcro toys.. Maybe can give it a try.

Wave, baby hao ran's not a food lover but he likes to put every other things into his mouth.. He ever chew on a swenson balloon lo ><; This is one other thing that I'm troubled about too other than his sleep patterns..

Michelle, my boy falls backward deliberately too.. Especially when he knows we are sitting behind him or when he's sitting on mattress... But every now and then, he will be so happy with himself after he manage to stand up with support that he jumps and let go of his hand.. So gotta be very careful, seldom leave him alone... 24hrs 7 days vigilant :p

Can I know more about this BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY in JUNE'09 thingy?

qing,
dun mad dun mad. breathe.... sayang poor barbie.
i kinda figured out who u were talkg abt on fb... but well. fb is not the place to post tt kind of info ah.

what would i have done when i see said toddler cough on Cedric?
Swoop in and scoop him up, which you did w Barbie.
Wave my hands dramatically abt, as if shooing away germs.
Make a point to sanitise Cedric's and own hands w hand sanitiser.
"Haiyoooooooor, ah boy, must cover your mouth when you cough ah, cannot share your germs all around!"

u get the drift.

dun worry abt e boss. he is only mad bcz no one in offc to do the work. monday will be ok liao.

))))big hugs(((( to mummy qing!

Sortfloor books
this time i will buy.

Wavesurfer
the show quite neg on local education system.
shows kids having tuition and gettin stressed, high expextation from parents no how CCA can affect studies...

Dustee/PB
is the chiro an ongoin thing or my back will recover eventually?

and YAY! weekend is coming soon.

think i just passed my one yr anniversary on SMH. can post on WTS thread already.
but... looking around my hse... nothing much to sell leh.
i m amazed at the stuff pple put on the WTS thread. got cars, apmts besides the usual bb stuff. totally blown away.

michelle and chumint

that is the dreadful "freefalling" that i was arrghing about just a while back but I am happy *dun abish me* that it has finally left me. the boy can now sit down on his own after standing up so its a big sigh of relief for me. before that aiyooo! in the meantime, gotta keep a hawk's eye on them!

cellow,
i thought quite sometime back already can post!

Thank you for your participation in SingaporeMotherhood.com. You are now able to participate in Want To Sell and Overseas Spree sections.

Please note the followings while you join these sections :
1) Overseas spree
This section is for members to organise/participate in sprees from public sites with full company domain names where prices are published online.
Sprees from auction sites or personal sites are not allowed.

2) Want To Sell
This section is for members to sell their pre-loved items only.

Simply login as usual and you will be able to create a new thread or post messages in these sections.

Happy chatting.

--
Best regards,
Bee Lee.
www.SingaporeMotherhood.com

doggie
i think i order myself better
mine is super bulky one
but amazon and order directly from them?
plan to use vpost to lessen the shipping fee

SY
ya loh.
i also bought quite a few from the bp.

cellow
i have been keeping my cool since sunday when he cough front into her face in front of me.

i was so exhuasted that i only can vex out here now.

i have already diverted all the phone lines to my HP liao.
he is still angry...

and i was really excited when i pass the 1yr mark.
can finally post in spree and WTS.
and have also been buying a lot since.

chumint
it is a mega birthday celebration for all JULY 2008 babies.
there will be so many birthdays to be celebrated in July, we will sure to miss out someone party.
so decide to have one mega one.