(2008/07) July 2008

doggiebb: yeah! from book people and school link.. okok i must go browse sortfloorbooks soon.. wait for me ah, ladies! ;)

wah michelle.. hope you get ethan's passport in time and have a good time chillin at the beach in langkawi!

cheapest parking at RP: golden shoe carpark?

LOL on our little babies needing more 'toys' to play wiv.. mine is more keen on wrappers and boxes and non-toys.. his latest toy was this wadaya-call-dat.. like the plug you stick into the wall for power..but this one is the safety cover so babies dun stick their fingers into the holes and turn the switch on!

jacelyn: wow! got classified as pneumonia? so she's cured now? still coughing or still running a temperature? what did they do to her? r u feeling better yourself?

Jayden so far the teeth juz started to emerge from his gums on friday finally he got his first tooth at 9mths..today when grabs my hands to chew i could feel someting 'sharp'..Ouch.. he's feeling so grouchy.. He prefer 'grainy' porridge..he hate those super nuah food..

Jaclyn ,
Oh dear.. Glad tat bb xun is home .. It must be a tiring process for you.. Do take care as well..

Sp,

Marmite is not too good for bb before one as the salt content is high.

Qing, yah at first when bb xun was feeling terrible, she only wanted me. Carry walk around cannot even sit down! Dun wanna the dad too. Lucky after she better she is ok with almost everyone! haha she was good friends with the nurses there. When I went downstairs to see doc coz I was coughing so badly, the nurses push her cot to their counter and she was happily playing in her cot until dun wanna go back to room.

Smiggle, she did not take pnuemococcol. We asked the doc if she has taken, will it prevent her from being so ill but he said not true coz it is prevention of only 1 strain. Errm but we dunno if it is that 1 strain that is causing this.

Do1nk, yah it got classified as pneumonia coz when we took the x-ray there were patches of white in her lungs and hence means there was phlegm.
Things that the hospital did:
1) Put her on drip for 24 hrs coz she didnt take any milk for 2 days
2) Inject antibiotics into her blood every morning
3) Physio therapy twice a day ( I learnt how to do it liaoz)
4) Nebulise every 4 hrs even when she was sleeping - the hospital got a silent machine which can be used when bb sleeping so wun wake bb up .. but that is only for saline. They will give Ventolin and Pulmicort during day time.
5) Gave her phlegm medicine twice daily

Now at home, just need to give her antibiotics (oral one), phlegm medicine, blocked nose and oral ventolin.

Hmmm actually I never hear her cough the whole day today but I know there are still phlegm but doc say her lungs are clear. Then got block nose now also.

Me? Yah feeling better after seeing the expensive GP at Thomson (cost me a hefty 91 bucks!) and I am now on the same antibiotics (Zinnat) as bb xun and it works for me. So guess it will work for bb xun too.

Me blur mummy, forgot to ask doc and nurse whether need to nubeliser her at home. Tomorrow got to call.

Tiring? Actually I remember it was more tiring last Friday when we were trying to cope with her illness at home. Coz she vomitted 5 times = we got to clean her + the place up at least 5 times! And she refused to take in anything other than water. So we were trying all methods to let her just drink a bit. Even resort to feeding milk by spoon ... in the end all puked out also. Then we also had to feed her medicine and nebuliser her and everything has to be in intervals. So that was more tiring!! In hospital, I only have to ensure that I change her diaper, sponge her and feed her. Guess I had an easy time coz
1) we were in a single room so not much distraction and no noise from other patients
2) I realise that bb xun is actually quite adaptable. She was happily playing in the cot the whole day coz I no strength to keep carrying her. She also ok for most of the time
3) I got a patient's bed just beside the cot so mostly I will just sit beside her or lie down to rest and talk to her (sometimes I feel like I am more like the patient!)
4) The nurses were all very caring

5) I get served food every 3 hrs! The meals were like the food I had when I delivered there. Haha so think I gained weight leh

All in all, I am glad that we survived this. Hubby said I am very strong coz I took everything very well + he not in Singapore and I was alone most of the time. But guess, I am blessed with a very nice bb that listens to me most of the time. After this, I really treasure bb xun more.

3 lobsters are back from bintan! very tired so i will not read through posts (or else will sleep at 3am i think) and just get updates on thurs at RP can?
btw i have no idea where the coffee club is!

POOR BABY XUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sayang jacelyn and xun girl. please take care

Welcome home the 3 lobsters! Photos, updates.... what did you all do???

Anyway, no need to pass the bathtub to cellow since I am not travelling liao (due to swine flu better stay in spore). so can arrange to pass to the next one.. think its bbG(do1nk), right?

I am undecided on the programme tomorrow since I will be alone with Ethan, I will definitely take a bus, but either to suntec or to RP to join you gals, will only decide tomorrow. Simple reason - hubby factor! haha

PB, Doggiebb, bbp, smiggle, qing - Can i have your permission to link your blog to Ethan's?

cellow, dun worry, Cellow shd be fine
Xim tia hor

smiggle, can put marmite in the porridge liao?

Tks, doggiebb, for the updates. I haven been reading to celeste!!

bbp, re mangoes, i've asked the older folks. It seems that they agree on this too. But only for dun know cold or hot cough only (can't remember).

Jacelyn, hope bb xun will recover fast fastz!

Woa michelle, ethan so cute, know how to pull off the velcro on the diapers LOL Same, whatever i let celeste hold on her hands, she'll give that cheeky smile then throw on the floor!! Yes, sometimes examine liao then throw. Sometimes drop into diaper bin even!! Humph!!

Not sure abt the water at lanfkawi though. But good to use bottled water to make milk i guess. Or, as what many ppl will do, bring a bottle of own water there, then mix with the boiled water there. Then will not be shui tu bu fu.

welcome back bunny family! had a good time soaking up the sun at bintan? we had a bit of rain here though..

michelle..oh did you managed to cancel your tix for the langkawi trip? hey do bring ethan and come by RP lah! juz put on clothes u never wore before and a big sunhat wiv big sunshades can liao! the most.. juz pop by hubby's office for a surprise 5 min hello to show off the baby then say you r off to shop haha!

for the RP lunchie mummies, here's where the place is: http://www.blurbme.com/find/place.php?leId=3344

ya it's at the grass patch at the middle of RP where you get out from the MRT station

very near doggieBB & my office kekeke juz called, no reservations allowed during lunchtime, so I will go chope seats again wiv my many tissue paper packs *blush*

show us ethan's blog too!

bbG
i will most prob be early also... coz wanna save on erp which starts at 12pm... heehee... where's ur off huh?? so golden shoe carpark cheapest in RP?? will go lta website see2 look2 later lor...

bbg,
the place you link seem very far lehz.
near marina square liao.
i think the website link the wrong map...

michelle
you have a blog?
Pm me lehz. so that i can share with those interested.

bbG, do i see republic plaza behind the coffee club? if it is.. then HUM liao.. hubby office is just there.... will strategise strategise.. SMS you if I can go.. hee hee... then you also chop seats for me and Ethan (baby chair!)...

michelle,
ok...
so long as my mil dont get to have your blog can liao... heehee...

smiggle
shall we meet and go together?

jacelyn,
bb xun is such a brave gal! glad that she is recovering very well now. it must have been tough for u. u rest well too.

michelle,
can i read ethan's blog? hee..

my office is too far from RP. cannot lunch w u all.

mommies with maids

can help me w my questions below?

1) when can the maid starts to request to go back to their home country? after 1 year, 2 years?

2) employers have to pay for their air tickets?

3) if the trip is granted, how long can they be away?

4) any other issues to look into?

haha qing.. dats RP lah, not marina square...when u get out of mrt.. juz take the escalators up n u will be at the open area grass patch liao..

michelle.. yes coffee club is juz opp Republic Plaza keke and wah ... raffles place got quite a lot of good places to shop leh..cheap toiletries.. cheap clothings and shoes.. got a baby store here too.. OUB got a few baby outlets too.. cheap okunisho (something like dat) jap bb clothes..those cool jap/korean looking bb clothes too.. come come! haha

the onli thing missing at RP is a petshop selling doggie stuff..someone should open one here..sure to make money wan! can consider sideline biz for you, doggiebb? ;)

Qing, what are the odds your MIL will have Ethan's blog?!?! hmmm... maybe I will put there "this is NOT Barbie's blog" as the title? hahaha

missy, can can.. think Qing has a compilation of all the blogs, so i sent her the link liao..

rgds to your questions:
1. 2 yrs (if yours is the typical 2 yrs contract)
2. Yes
3. 2 wks (normally spelt in the contract, cos If they dun go back, we need to pay them 14 days of pay)
4. uhm.. it depends if after 2 yrs they will re-contract with you? and if yes, you may wish to set certain rules (cannot get preg eg. ). Where will she be going? her contact, make sure she comes back.. etc etc loh.. dunno what else, I guess when the time comes, I will think lah. but hear what Doggiebb say.. her helper just went home and back recently...

bbG, hmmm.. so shopping can be a cover story... hmm... thinking thinking thinking .. I can disguise myself with hats and shades and scarf.. but cannot disguise Ethan especially his ElectroMagneto! hahaha...

gd morning!

jacelyn,
wat a roller coaster ride of emotions for you! glad bb xun can be discharged today liao.

qing,
Cedric drinks 'only' 160ml ~ 5 oz and a bit ~ but he still FZ. Now i m starting not to see his neck again. So 6 oz seems like a lot for barbie to put away already. you are rite abt the solids though... maybe can add one more meal of solids to barbie's only solid meal?

missysz,
1) according to the employment contract. mine is 2 years.
2) yes, again accordg to contract
3) 2 weeks, accordg to contract
4) what i have heard sm pple do to make sure they come back - is to pay for their air tix, but withhold the equivalent of half the value of the air tix fm them till they are back.
personally i dun know if that is v just or fair, as they are in need of the money, then come here to work one mah. so i will maybe hold her hp or withhold $100 (or whatever amt i deem big enuf an incentive for her to come back)

If the agency din put all this into contract.... (did they for you??), then tis entirely up to your discretion.

qing
the brand is otrivin. buy those for infants and children. do not use for more than 5 consecutive days. rest abt 2-3 days in btwn each 5 day block.

re RP lunch
see whether i can try to join tmr or not

jacelyn
glad that the ordeal is over. do take care of youreself. yes, mummies are very strong when it comes to our kids!

thanks michelle and cellow.
my maid is a direct hire but her air ticket and insurance were arranged by an employment agency before she came...so i think she is also considered as under contract? have to dig out the contract now!

Michelle,

actually you can just tell your hb, u having lunch with your friends. if he make noise, you just nicely tell him. "but i have dinner with you almost everyday. and we spend our time together every weekend. so i'm just going to bring Ethan to meet some of my friends and their bbs. "

I'm sure your hb will understand. =)

we need some time with our friends as well. =)

Qing,

6 oz of milk is alot lei. my gal only drink 4.5oz and drink only 3 times a day lor.but she on 2 solid meals.

all interested mummies,
i have emailed the updates blog list liao...

michelle
i also not sure lehz.
i hope no one that access your blog knows are in my mil.
she very advanced one loh.
got msn and recently she signed up facebook and add me.
i havent accept thou.
haiz...
seriously i feel that she is trying too hard to connect with the younger generation.
give me a break man.
i don want her to know everything i do or feel.
give me some privacy please.
argh....

and congrats to ethan for being a passport holder liao...

and michelle, join us for lunch la...

cellow
that is comforting.
but i believe cedric don consume only one solid intake ba...

SY
will go peek at it while i drop by pharmacy later.

rayna
6oz but always got leftover one abt 1 oz.
so make not much different.
no matter how much milk we prepare for her, she sure will leave behind some.
don know why thou/
and when you try to make her finish everything, she shut her mouth tight.

oh do1nk, it's on the grass on? so i know where
hehe on you and your tissue paper. if poppy wake up early i will go and help you chope ok? but hor today she sleep at 1030am and now still sleeping so i think tomorrow would be about the same.

michelle (and whoever wants to link to poppy's blog)
link away! no need to ask

anyone got any recco for swimsuit place for girls? poppy's one getting a bit tight tight liao

photos soon....

Qing,

Mine also left 1 oz from that 4.5oz. Sometimes 2 oz. so worst right? hahaha

but like they always say as long as they happy, can liao lor.

Bbp,
I am also giving tat to my 2 kids . It is good can just by off shelf. From pharmacy.. There are 2 brands .. 1 is porspan and one is abrilar..

PB: new outfits for swimsuit model poppy - buy online still most ooh hua and nice looking?

rollcall for RP lunchie mummies:
Date: 30 April
Time: 12 noon
Venue: coffee club(RP)
1) Jacelyn
2) PB & poppy
3) Do1nk
4) Smiggle
5) doggie
6) cellow
7) batgirl
8) qing
9) rain - maybe..but scared of rain (haha) wiv baby?
10) SY wiv JH & JX? and maid? (maybe)

Rp lunch,
Count me in.. Lately kids are always sick so need a break..
I love rp and always spend a lot of money there.. Used to work there before office shifted ..

bbG,
Working, how to bring baby. Just that someone mentioned spending time with friend, so tot of joining lor.

Can someone pm me contact just in case I lost or something crop up? First time meeting.

Taking myself out from RP lunch ... still coughing so dun wanna spread the germs to all mummies. I will just pop by to pass the stuff to PB. PB, what time will you be there?

2) PB & poppy
3) Do1nk
4) Smiggle
5) doggie
6) cellow
7) batgirl
8) qing
9) rain - maybe..but scared of rain (haha) wiv baby?

michelle,
Sure, go ahead and link!

Hannah,
What's cold and hot cough? Hot cough = got phlegm; Cold cough = no phglem isit?

Jacelyn,
Welcome bb Xun home! You are one resilient mommy!

PB,
Welcome home! Even hubby noticed you were missing in the forum.. haha!

Rena,
Thanks for the med names! Will go check out later tonight. Guardian Pharmacy got?

sleepy after lunch..

where are you working now, rena?
I personally like working at RP best too..so convenient..got almost everything within reach!

1) rena
2) PB & poppy
3) Do1nk
4) Smiggle
5) doggie
6) cellow
7) batgirl
8) qing
9) rain - maybe..but scared of rain (haha)

Past few days E was having high fever (plus she was teething) so jus kept latching on for comfort. Esp at night if unlatch within few mins she will be crying n searching for my nipple again so I jus let her latch lor cos she so poor thing.
Then yest morn I saw abit of dried blood on her chin. So quickly checked her mouth but see nothing so left it at that.
Who knows when I tried to squeese some BM out for her cereals I realised my hand n the cup has blood all over!!
Horrors, so the blood is from me la. Still cannot really see the wound cos very small n didn't hurt too.....jialat

cellow
*sayang* Cedric. Ur hubby cool huh.....but good lah better then saying non constructive things n make u angry or sad....hehe

Qing
Can send me all the blogs too?? Thanx

Agree with u lor need privacy. I know my bils have FB I also keep quiet n dun add them or ask them to add me. If wanna show them videos I even post on youtube then ask them to go n view from there.....hehehe

bbp
Jus realise I didn't post out my post yest night hehe.
Mine is the Prospan, got the words big big Ivy leaf outside 1 but not sure if phamacy got sell. Anyway pd gave my #1 the normal med n the prospan before depending on the type of cough leh but I also dunno hw she judge lah.
FYI if jus dry coughing sound only I will jus give the prospan a try. Got phlegm I rather see pd to see if the phlegm is outside or in the lungs.

Thanx mummies,
Heng the wound very small n dun hurt n it doesn't bleed when she latches on. Guess might be a cut from her fingers cos she likes to pinch me when she latches on.
So I jus refrain from squeezing from that boob for awhile lor. N heng the blood is outside not mixed with the milk cos not from nipple. Else I think I might faint.....keke

bbp: safe to self medicate or not?

all these cough medicine so familiar.. bbG has used ventolin and pulmicort for nebuliser before.. then had oral ventolin, prospan, and salbutamol also...

dor dor,
thanks for the advice. will prob bring him to the doc tomorrow.

jacelyn,
yup, started with phlegm, think the mangoes i gave too powerful. then the phlegm induced the cough

bbp, yah self medication a bit risky leh. Cough better dun drag too long ... bb xun's cough dragged for too long thats why infected lungs (touch wood .. it wun happen to declan)..

So go see doc!!!!!! I realise that most of the time, if there is no phlegm, then the bb wun cough so much. Coz its the phlegm that irritate their throat.

Do1nk, yah now we are parents, think we have also become medicine experts to some extent ah!

missysz, just chance upon yr post on maid travel.

i guess michelle n cellow answer... but is yr maid indone? if it is, u need to get address endorsement from embassy b4 she travel. if not she will incur a fee when she come back n will have prob getting in

if yrs is other nationality, prob u need to call embassy just to make sure the procedure required cos the last thing u wan is yr maid have prob coming back lor...

been so busy ! first pomfret sick, then recovered. then hubby sick. then pomfret caught the bug again. gosh.

oh dear jacelyn, glad to hear bb li xun is out of hospital and well. you must rest well too!

1) rena
2) PB & poppy
3) Do1nk
4) Smiggle
5) doggie
6) cellow
7) batgirl
8) qing
9) rain - maybe..but scared of rain (haha)
11) dustee and pomfret

might be a bit late, coz got chiro in the morning!

smiggle
your back still pain from the kindermusik? try to stretch a bit, or use ice pack. maybe that might help! go chiro is good, but usually first visits cost $90 or so.

JG trials
michelle trying to go for one? maybe i want to try. i missed the one for kindermusik coz pomfret was very sick (so sorry for the extra trouble to bbG) so i think i'll try to slot myself in for a trial myself for kinder too.

think its good to make my husband bring pomfret for these things so they can bond. hmm.

hey hey...
JG group trials probably can only be arranged on a weekday.

Is there any weekday in May that you all may be keen? I shall attempt to organise one.. else, I will get myself slot in on the 18 May timeslot.

let me know!

dustee - *wave*!!! long time no hear... hope you all feeling well and ok...

my long weekend is coming! I am so happy! Yeah yeah yeah!