(2008/07) July 2008

sayang bbG. get well soon...mommy must take care also okay?

cellow, didn't get a copy of the papers. upload here and show us ya?

PB, thanks for the link on lentils & butternut squash. I've not seen lentils before leh. What is lentils in Chinese called? So i can ask the uncle in the market

bbp
take a look at this
2344048.jpg

does ur supplier have this ? can this be a teether? wonder how much will this be?

Shichida
yap,i also heard that if there isnt any practicing at home ,its of no use.

I want ON spree ... my FZ is out-growing his clothes.

any1 doing here? Me too busy with fever bug and house hunting

tees,
The teether is so cute!!

aiyo sophie got a cutie sibling!

MUSIC MOMMAS: mas from kindermusik juz called to confirm our session this sunday yippee! will email you all in a while..

bbG, sayang bbG! hope he is well now.

Cough... haiz why nowadays the cough is so persistent??! bb xun still have phlegm!!!! shoo shoo away

Cellow, saw the post here and immediately went to flip the papers. Cedric is super cute haha. He actually looks very guai in the pics!
Your hubby very cute ah... look fierce when u bfing in the public. I am now imagining the grown up version of cedric looking fiercely left and right, walking in front of you! haha

Hannah, well me quite lucky so far. bb xun enjoys eating her cereals, porridge and also love drinking her milk. So I have no problems feeding her. Just scared she overeat la. No stop one. But well its a better problem than not eating i will say.

cellow
the bird nest i soak for two days stil hard hard. how?

bbG
u need another baby for the music class?

mummies, very busy with work this week.
dont feel like workin hard for this company who wants to terminate me. haiz..

Kayden has been standing and free-fallin.. dunno kok his head so many times liao..

morning mummies... back to work today lor...

bbp
ya... he veri xi xin yan jiu one lor... new toys also play for 10 mins kind then throw liao...

bbG
the swim date seems like alot of fun... with all the cute bbs in swimwear... hope bbG is feeling better... *sayang*

cellow
ya lor... i also kinda give up liao... guess i need to stock up more lock n lock boxes liao... lol...

morning all..

super busy and sianz at work..

bbp - this thurs still on? hee.. wat time shall we fix it at?? is declan a morning bb? caitlyn's usually up by 630.. then takes a morning nap abt 10+ or 9+.. my #1 may be quite a nuisance tho.. hope u dun mind.. he's gg thru a phase i think.. e terrible 2s

smigglep,
eh, no need to soak the bird nest. just double boil in slow cooker overnight w rock sugar and ginseng (optional). put the whole piece inside to double boil.
it would still be al dente la when cooked. like springy to the bite, but cooked already, can eat one.
then u just eat snake and coast along at work.. or send out job applications in the offc!

jsp,
^5! lock and lock containers babies, we have... LOL..

jacelyn,
"bb xun enjoys eating her cereals, porridge and also love drinking her milk. So I have no problems feeding her. Just scared she overeat la. No stop one. But well its a better problem than not eating i will say" eat also worry, dun eat also worry. maybe mummies r just worrywarts!
LOL on the image of grown up Cedric looking fiercely left and rite to protect his wife.

SY,
BMSG called me and asked me if i was willing to be 'model'. there were sm considerations la, like availability and age of bb. they have quite a number of members who are still feeding their bbs more than a year old... but they din wanna tk the spotlight away fm the main pt of the article that feeding in public is not a problem. so tadah, yours truly was selected or rather 'arrowed'

missysz,
eh, but this techno idiot doesnt know how to... how?

smiggleP: You have a friend who wanna bring baby to kindermusik too? coz michelle's friend was keen as well..maybe can form another class...what happened to the other interested mummies?

juz called home and bbG's apparently doing ok...

Old Navy spree

I can order if you girls okie. But collection in Bishan, Orchard or Mrt station(cityhall, raffles place 2-4pm).

The 30% new arrivals dunno over liao anot. Must check got free shipping anot too....hehe

check with you all, currently my place is doing lift upgrading. and they are starting to drill and knock directly outside my flat. do you think it's still ok for my gal to be inside the hse? Or will the noise be too loud for her? She didn't show any discomfort when she was back over last weekend. but i'm just afraid it will spoil her hearing in long run. anyone have any advice?

rayna,
my rule of thumb is if u r not disturbed by the noise, then bb isnt. *lightbulb going on abv my head* call PD? they are the go-to pple for qns abt bbs ah!

sterilising / washing bottles w bb bottle detergent
ask u all, how long more must we do this?
reason I m asking now is bcz I opened my last pack of bb bottle detergent ystday, so wondering if I shd go and buy sm more.

Rayna,
My place too but bb is ok so far no problem just tat it affect his nap a little..

Dor dor,

I tot I saw you just now ..with my hairstyle I think you can't regconise me

thanks cellow.

u know lah, they always throw the metal rods on the floor. so alot of noises. i sometimes got startled by it. but my gal like no reaction lei. hehehe

Cellow,
No la, I thought Cedric looked very cute in the shot with his big eyes!
Yah, I think nodding is more advanced than shaking head. When we nod our heads, Declan tries to follow but since he can't do, he will shake his whole body instead. Haha!

ronn,
When I'm BF in public, I'm more concerned with Declan, cos he will tend to unlatch or complain he's hot under that wrap. So ah... I totally don't notice whether anyone is looking at me or not. Haha... so even got chee ko peks I also don't notice. Cos they can't see anything also mah.

tess mummy,
Let me check that out ok? Will get back to you.

crystal,
Luckily, Declan isn't as morning as Caitlyn. He wakes up at about 7plus though, and I am already complaining. Then will make him nap at about 11 for an hour before his cereal at 12. No problem with #1 la, part and parcel of growing up. I'm sure Declan will be like that eventually too.

missysy : i oder from a mummy hinhin from the oversea spree tink ahe still taking order
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2282264.html?1239544584

bbG: yup got MS also.. gloria n augustine super good with MS... love all their shampoo n perfume... smell so nice... wow mohawk cut so stylo... mine also got a nice hairstyle last mth.. like terry bear so cute haa

Oh ya me also keen for the kindermusik... let me know if having another class k.. i can try check with some of my friends see if they interested a not..bb bout 1 or 2 mth diff in age can join same class?

Get well soon ya bbG

Cellow: ur bb very cute in the paper. Look so guai... listening so attentively to 2 mummies gossiping heehee

I heard from friend usu 1 yr old can stop sterilising liao cos they prob can start taking some outside food. Anyway tink depends on individual

bbp and crystal: if u all have any gathering during wkend in the west... let me know ya... wanna bring ryane to make friends also

oh btw tink some mummies here got the "how much i love u' bk... where did u guys buy huh... wanna get 1 too..

Cellow
That's a very nice candid shot of you and Cedric in the papers.

Ronnie
You can get it from any major bookstore like Kino or Borders.

BbG
Get Well Soon!

Bishan Playgroup
I want! I want! But must see timing... who is organising?

Bfg in public
Sometimes, I see the women staring more than the men!

Nodding/shaking heads
It's just like 'yes' and 'no'. A lot of babies say 'no' before 'yes' because that's a word they hear more often.

crystal,
Alamak, just realised I forgot to answer your playgroup question. Yup yup, still on. Let me know what time you can make it.

bbp - wanna do the PG in e morning say ard 9? or too early? if not we do it ard 2, after their nap? u let me noe..hee.. i try to keep mei mei awake for e PG.. haha..

rena - i dun mind joining in for bishan PG.. but i can only make it in e aftn.. can i bring mil and #1 along?

thanks ronnie. which one did u get for your boy and how much?

please let me know if you gals are organizing kindermusik trial class again.

cellow, by right we don't need to sterilise the bottles after they r 6 mths old, since they r already picking things & putting them into their mouth. And we don't sterilse their bowls & spoons also right? But i still sterilse lah, 1-2 times daily only. On the bottle detergent, i've not used this for my 2 boys. Wonder why i only started using this when i hv this girl!!

morning all... I am feeling tired.. and flu-ish..

how is everybody?!?!

I am still sterilising everything for ethan lah... bottles, teethers (combi type can sterilise one), bowls and spoon.... hee...

Ethan is still waking up at 3am for feed... at least now his feeding is better... *cross fingers*....

i stay in BISHAN too!

but *sobz* all the good stuff happens on a weekday!

*pat pat* michelle

take a day off and rest at home?

Hannahl

I am still sterilising the bottles. I think I will try to stop sterilise when Josh is 10 months.

Jumperoo

Does your kid still like to sit in jumperoo? Josh dislike it now.

I think I am the kiasi mum.. My no.1 bottle I am still sterilsing..coz I am worried tat maid wash not clean..
As for the bowls and others , I actually but them in my dish dryer and on the uv light to kill germs ..

Ronn
Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney, illustrated by Anita Jeram, and published by Walker Books. It's not too girly lah. The little nutbrown hare is male!

Rena
I sterilised my #1's water bottle till he was almost three. Another kiasi mummy, hehe.

Bishan gathering: what time?

Michelle
*pat pat* Rest at home and play with Ethan

the books are here!

do1nk - $17
youpi - $22
PB - $12
Batgirl - $16
Dor Dor - $44
misszy - $10

004-41148-0 POSB Sav

re sterlising
i also sterlise cos i scared my maid next wash clean. but i already stop using bb detergent liao

Morning mummies…. Just back from Genting

I am still sterilizing the bottles too, I will stop sterilize when both my twins are stop drinking FM.

ON Spree

I want! I want!

Michelle

Take care…. Get well soon….

Rena

I dun mind joining in the PG at Bishan also. Must see the timing lol. Can I bring my mother; cos I need someone to help to carry my twins…. Haha…

no lah.. stay at home wait spread to Ethan... I can just close my door and chill here.. hee..

oh, stop using bb detergent liao, then use what to wash?

Youpi, ytday was at MPH and saw the caterpillar book at $28+.. so tempted to buy.. then hubby phonecall came and intercepted me... ex or not?

SY,

Yay! what is the best way to get the books from you? Your house?

Re: BB detergent

I think i will stop after this batch of detergent runs out. But will still use a different sponge for baby's stuff lar.

Re: Playgroups

Anything happening next week? Wuffy and I can come by and play!

I always tot the caterpillar book quite expensive. Why, huh?
So few pages and words, yet such "high" price. Famous author?
I know they have this bear book too. Also famous "reference" book in "branded" kinder.

NLB do have these book ... my gal read for 1 weeks, tat's it ... chuck it aside.

But my gal nursery use the books to teach few of her drama lessons.

Playgroups
Ya. Why all happening on a weekday one?

bb detergent
michelle,
then use normal adult detergent (diluted) to wash bb stuff! hor? i also think i will stop after this batch of detergent runs out like batgirl. ah boy is licking all sorts of things now like floor, cushions if we dun catch him.
Yep yep stay in office better than going home to spread germs to Ethan

SY,
What books? U ran a BP on books meh? Weeeeeeh, I missed it!

bb choking
I was feeding Cedric mango ystday and in just one moment of inattention, he gulped the whole piece down! about one quarter of my palm size. Panicked me just stunned there and then tried to dig it out, but too late, swallowed liao. HB turned him around and gave him a few firm slaps on the back. All the while, he was making the gack gack gack sounds. He could breathe but think the mango piece was definitely way too big for his little throat to swallow.
*shudder * so scary.
I Will Always Keep An Eye on Cedric while Feeding Him.

cellow,
wow, luckily cedric is ok. it happened to my boy too. we let him suck the apple for the juice but who knows, he actually bite a big chunk of it...we quickly opened his mouth to remove the apple. we were amazed coz he is stil bogay leh. hee

gulp! cedric choked???!!?? so did the mango come out??.. lucky thing mango is actually quite soft, but still... *shudder*

haha apparently i also missed the BP on books loh.. hmmph!

misszy
no prob. will put it at my mum's place.

re BP on books
not really BP lah. but my son's sch has this scholastic book club order form every term so tat time i posted some of the books that seem quite good. no worries. will post every time they have the order form

talking about books. i must share this. I got ripped off at borders. what happened was i bought this brown bear brown bear set from Eric Carle from borders for S$69. Its a great read for babies. My Talia adores these 3 books.

but look at how much Amazon is selling it? only US$16.29. With conversion and shipping, it was only about S$40. The difference is really quite large.

http://www.amazon.com/Brown-Bear-Friends-Board-Book/dp/0805082735/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1239678368&sr=8-3

Apart from Amazon, i also like to order books from sortfloorbooks.com

this is like new books who perhaps got some reminder marks on them and thus sold at greatly reduced prices.

like this karen katz is going for US$2. With conversion to S$ and shipping, it would perhaps come up to about S$5. For a board book, that's quite worth it.

http://www.sortfloorbooks.com/?page=shop/flypage&product_id=693537&keyword=karen+katz&searchby=author&offset=0&fs=1&CLSN_2564=123967802925643f9285bd9eb04f0c9d

in fact,i might be ordering something from sortfloor soon. if you can tahan searching thru the not-so-friendly catalogue to get the stuff you want, i could order all together. let me know!

doggiebb,
i wan i wan frm sortfloor. wait for meeeeeeeeeee

missysz,
yep, they are getting too quick for us!

michelle,
nope, the mango is still in him.
and (ok this is a digusting thot) i m wondering if it will come out intact in his poo. haha

doggiebb
yeah i know! borders is waaaaaaaay expensive for the eric carle series! i bought them from amazon during xmas and there was even this free-local-shipping-for-usd$25 promo so it turned out to be very worth it.

baby board books
but karen katz books, not very exciting leh. i bought this 'daddy hugs' and my husband don't understand it at all hahaha.

and i loooooove sandra boynton books. erm, of coz now i'm the one who loves reading them, coz pomfret just really likes to chew on them only. hahaha.

actually the public libraries got quite a few of these books (which may not even be found in kino or borders, due to stock availability) so mummies can check them out there first before buying online. and i really don't like buying from borders coz most of the books aren't shrink-wrapped, and a lot of parents just let their kids go there and abuse the books. whereas when bought online, excellent condition and cheaper! (and gives me great excuse to bundle shipping and buy other stuff hehe)

batgirl
yeah yeah, dr shara said you went. i once tried to bring pomfret with me and pomfret screamed the clinic down. apparently girls are more likely to inherit sclerosis so i wonder if i should get pomfret adjusted from young? hmmm.

dustee

you are another sandra boynton fan! ME TOO! i have like 3 4-books sets of hers! simply love her irreverant humour! always cracks me up!

ahh karen katz may not be very exciting for us but for the babies, it's so cutesy!

i am wary about public libraries at this stage when our babies are still chewing books! I guess when they are older, library books are going to be sooo helpful but as of now, i am still buying...hehe *excuses for buying more?*

I must confess I am an absolute *blur* when it comes to books for babies.. Ethan has inherited a bookshelf worth of books from his niece and nephews... but all those seems so boring, just me reading the stories, him not paying attention and wanting to grap the books and chew...

so can you give some recommendations on what you are buying then I go read up on the review??
like now I know of the caterpillar book (comes with a caterpillar soft toy), and the Guess how much i love you book.... what else???

i guess at this stage they need big big bright bright pictures to capture their attention, if there are flaps, its even better.

The few authors you can try googling for would be karen katz, sandra boynton, eric carle, dr suess. i also have the big board books from sesame street, clifford, little einsteins. these are just some that are at the top of the head now. i am sure others would have more suggestions for you later.

this moo baa la la la is way funny. from this link, you can see other books that pple are buying for their baby-3 yos.

http://www.amazon.com/Moo-Baa-Sandr...F8&s=books&qid=1239681767&sr=1-14

sesame street
http://www.sortfloorbooks.com/?page...mp;CLSN_2564=1239682235256425be5fd4aac2290ac9

clifford
http://www.sortfloorbooks.com/?page...mp;CLSN_2564=1239682235256425be5fd4aac2290ac9

star, my girl still likes the jumperoo. In fact, i also rented an evenflo exersaucer for her. Also likes
Other than these, she'll be busy cruising around!!

youpi, i didn't know water bottle can be sterilised??

prettygal, fun at genting? U intend to still sterislise when they r 4-5 YO? Coz by then they will still be drinking milk right? Hopefully not from bottles anymore

batgirl, alamak, why never occur to me to use a different sponge for washing baby's stuff... Jia lut..

cellow, ur boy only licking things, mine, sucking !!! Suck hp, suck remote controls... Small tiny bits of things on the floor she can also see & pick up, then put into her mouth!! Eats paper.. LOL

Hey if the mango is so big, how come he can swallow the whole chunk?? Oh now can give mangoes huh?? My gal still toothless leh. Do i "grind" it then give it to her??

Hey, keep us posted if it came out from him intact!! haha..

missysz, ya, although bogay, my girl can still bite one big chunk of guava!! LOL. If we have guava, normally i'll give her 1 slice to suck & chew on. And i have to always keep an eye on her. If any part of the guava looks bitten, i'll dig her mouth if it appears to be too big