(2008/07) July 2008

<font color="ff0000">BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY</font>
lets have a list
your nick - date preferred - venue

1) Qing - 20/06 or 21/06 - school gym

aiya..

kolo mee
i took urgent leave yesterday...
could have join u all for lunch... haiz...
took Kayden to Vivo yesterday walk walk...

McClaren
i bought my techno XT for $480!!!
Isetan Sale really sellin it cheap lor....
but its really heavy lor...

Isetan Sale
Who is goin ah.. saw the exersaucer and tot of buyin it lei..
i rent Kayden the safety first buggy and he doesnt like it.. its boring for him...

Birthday..
wah.. so fast u all thinkin liao...
dammit Kayden birthday next month liao...
April 8 is reserved for all u mummies and babies k?

Update on Kayden
Went to see the physio and occupational therapist.. was told to take Kayden off the walker.. cos his leg muscles are too tight... might delay him walkin properly... also need to help him exercise...
did a questionnare on his development.. apparently he still got quite a bit to learn..
for 7mths babies, they should be able to retain their toy in one hand and pick up another toy with the other.. transfer toy from one hand to another... and many more...

Do1nk, I must say you have fantastic memory lo. Yah I got long hair and was wearing a red top (wow kaoz even I dun remember and had to think long long long before i remember what i wore then!) Hmmm so we have met before haha opps ... memory confirm failing liaoz

Hmm PB maybe there was some catch that was not properly attached or somewhere not tight enough? And I love Pop's super big eyes!! Haha opps and also got to confess, I was half time 'molesting' her yesterday coz her skin super smooth leh! Think bb xun one also not so smooth hehehe

Waiwai, so you know if your bb girl or boi liaoz? :p

Cellow, heard that combi stroller is not very good right? Seems like it cannot hold a heavy weight.

Serene, I will go and compare the prices. But honestly hor, I think if I go out myself, I wun bring stroller (havent tried before la) I will just use carrier coz very difficult to go around with the stroller. So my criteria is just that it has to be foldable into a good size (else the care boot no space) and can hold the bb till quite old. Will check out quest though .. Trying to think of a way to go isetan during lunch tomorrow then can meet up with u ladies ... but dunno what to tell my boss leh ... "boss, I wanna take longer lunch coz i gg to a private sale at isetan. Can?" --- will my boss box me for this?!

smiggle
8 apr reserved liao.
it's just one day before i fly to taiwan.

jacelyn,
i think i rem you also.
but just the face nia.
heehee.

and i am using combi stroller.
i quite like it lehz.
agree with you that if out alone with baby take stroller super troublesome.
i tried once. i almost died.
and thats was the first time i actually operate the stroller. got to carry it into and out of the cab. and worse, i didnt know how to operate. i struggle to open it. so ma lu loh.

mapleaf/prettygal/Jacelyn
thanks for the well wishes... still at work leh... coz need to finish up some stuffs urgently liao...

blood test
did i tell u gers that Ernest went for a blood test abt 2 mths back and review was scheduled yesterday but was not free to go so cancelled appt... budden yest noon PD called and said need to go down do further test cos found his blood cells to be very small leh... if i dun remember wrongly, when i preggy that time, i think i also like that lor... that y Hb level on the low side... so gotta go back see PD on Mon again...

Qing
maybe will go see doc later coz got this recurring headache that comes and goes since sun...

Jacelyn
I was comparing McClaren and Combi at that time and i was sold by the salesman when he actually sat on the McClaren in front of me!!!
The McClaren took his weight and wheels still holding up...
so i tot Kayden is a chor lor boy sure need heavy duty one as compare the the japanese light-weighted strollers... He guarantee me the wheels are very tough...

Qing, yah I remember u haha coz I rememeber rachel was crying then ... u know she is like a small little girl that needs protection. and u will just feel like protecting her right? Its that kind of feeling i get when u describe her running to you when she see the giraffe. The little budding flower that needs to shower care and love for ... haha coz my girl is very cho lor one .. like boy like that so i never feel this way for her :p

Hmmm smiggle, sounds like maclaren is good ah... hee i also see my sis use and it seems good too ... ok so confirm 398 is a good price lo .. wonder whats the catch... must go down and see for myself :p

JSP, whats that? Me very lousy at such biology stuff. Serious condition? Can cure one? How come ernest suddenly need blood test? And wow the review is scheduled after 2 months ah .. so long wor

jsp,
drink more water to hydrate yourself.
and for your own peace of mind only, see the PD soon! o/wise i know one, sure worry like mad. rem that as long as ernest is happy and active, he is ok. repeat mantra to yourself - i shall be calm, i m a good mummy, i shall be calm, i m a good mummy.

qing,
same w me. HB once just stood by and watched me struggle w the combi stroller, told me i had to learn. that led to another tiff, budden we quickly made up la. no point fall out over a stroller

smiggle,
onz! 8 apr for kayden!
u still bringing kayden to see the physio and occupational therapists? until when?

sssssshhh.... after 2 weeks of sleep training, cedric is now sleeping from 10pm to 5-6am. been like this for a week already. only last night, mayb too much excitement during the day, he woke up at 12midnight to cry, but fell back to slp after feedg water. ssssssshhhhhhh!

Jacelyn

Its a good catch.. just saw mothercare selling $568 yesterday... siao!!
reason could be its not that a new model after so long??? they clearin stock...

Blur mummy,

Oh dear, I have not been sleeping for many nights and this morning I gave no.1 milk to no2.. Didn't know till helper told me...
No.2 finish the milk. But the vomitting is terrible... 4 times ..

Batgirl ,
If we purchase the ergo together got discount or not?

Ergo ,
What is the difference between sport and the normal?

Maclaren xt,
I have total of 4 stollers, when I had no.1.. Finally bought maclaren, tho it's heavy but it allows 1 hand operation and very stable for heavy bb. And do not take too much boot space

Michelle,
Poppy's eyes so big.. I think that's the reason Declan was so fascinated and wanted to check if it's real or something. Of all things, he go and touch Poppy's eyes...

maple,
Yup, got your email.

Star,
I will probably celebrate them together... cos I'm a cheapo mom :p

pettygal,
Maybe they are teething? Milk fussiness &amp; night waking sounds like teething troubles. I would say don't worry, cos babies won't starve themselves. But I'm sure you're very worried, so want to try giving them smaller feeds but more frequent?

Qing,
The shipping really very cheap already lor. Think it's very hard to match the price liao. I also very sim tia when I bought the teether, cos Declan's actuallly gone through 2 other ones, but those 2, he either couldn't hold it well enough (cos it's like 1 big piece kind) or like not interested one. I think he uses this giraffe more often than the first 2 combined lor. So expensive, but at least worth it la. So hope Barbie accepts it soon &amp; make your money worth!

smigglep,
Wah, so you must have brought one big bag out to Vivo yesterday?
Yup yup, reserved Apr 8 for Kayden liao.

Jacelyn,
Same same, if I'm alone, I will only bring sling. Cos this boy has the pokey backside syndrome, after a while, cannot sit in the stroller liao. NTUC stroller also like that. So I'm not going to risk bringing a stroller that I don't end up using.
Eh, if your boss say ok to your request, please let me know. I will go ask your boss if he/she needs a PA/secretary.

JSP,
Oh dear, hope it's nothing serious.

Cellow,
If my hubby is around, he will auto-operate the stroller. I figured when I have to use it, I will figure it out. So until then, don't wanna waste my energy or brain-cells to go operate the stroller. Sama sama for the car seat lor.

Rena,
Oh dear, you must be so extremely exhausted. Try and take a rest whenever possible ok? And see if there's any other small thing you can pass to your helper. You really need a rest...

Re teethers:
Will post here once the business is up.. thanks all for your enthusiasm!

BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY
lets have a list

2) bbp - any date - anywhere

jacelyn
i think its a blood disorder budden if its a minor then not serious... think its called thalassemia... just tat next time his spouse cannot be a minor if not their bb will be a major which could be quite serious lor... there's actually no cure for this condition...

cellow
gg on Mon... scheduled liao... need to take more blood... signz... and do more tests then can determine if he's a minor or major lor... thanks for the tip on the chant...

bbp
will update u gers after the visit on Mon lor... dunno whether its serious anot lor... budden the poor boy gotta give blood again...

Haiz,

my boss just gave me the bad news...
they have decided not to give me any increment, and may terminate me.. so i have to resign soon... hiaz...
now where to find job.. really got no strength to go for interview...

smiggle,
oh no. due to the many days of medical leave/ maternity leave that you took in 2008?
what was the official reason given? u think that was the real reason?
*thinking who are my women's activist frens now*

rena,
hope #2 is ok. sayang him and you too! catch some shut eye whenever possible. even lying down is better than busying yourself... hsework can wait... the hse wont care... but your children need you to be in top form.

jsp,
ernest looks like a perfectly healthy and normal bb to me, not easily fatigued also, so prolly not the major version, if there is any. stay calm ok.

Declan &amp; Poppy in a catfight. Ok, only Declan was fighting. (Mommy is absolutely horrified and says sorry sorry sorry... she will make sure that next time, Declan's hands are tied first before any phototaking is done)
2237414.jpg

Declan acting innocent: "What ref? I didn't do anything...!"
2237415.jpg

Poppy: "Mom, why did you put me next to this ruffian?"
2237416.jpg

Declan: "Oh no, I'm in deep trouble..."
2237417.jpg

Cellow,

Ya.. they say cos i mia half a yr and not performing...
actually my direct boss very nice, plead for me.. but the management sucks...
im actually thinkin if let them terminate me do i get paid extra??

JSP,
Ok, if HB is not, then Ernest definitely not major... cos the only way to get major if both parents are minor. Cellow is right, stay calm, it's ok one. My hubby is minor, and he's still full of nonsense

cellow
i'll definitely stay calm... let's hope he's just a minor lor... nothing much to do also... and he's such a normal bb... so i'm not too worried...

bbp
i like Declan's innocent look n poppy's bo pian look lor... heehee... the 2 of them is so cute lor...

smiggle
sounds like the mgt not so gd leh... retrenchment usually got pay some one budden termination usually got reason one so dun think they'll pay extra lor...

JSP, just read on the link that u gave. Hopefully its not serious since your HB dun have. And U definitely is normal looking so so confirm even if have is the super mild case. So that means ernest should be fine too! Dun worry too much. But do go for the review soon though.

Smiggle, u know u should wait for termination! coz usually they will give you a package ... even if it sucks i think still got a bit lo (heard that the standard package should be 1 year of service u get 1 month's pay ... not sure if we are protected by the law though .. should check out the MOM website!). But u mia not your fault mah. Hmmm your co not very pro family leh ... nvm la since the mgt sucks even if u stay dun think got qian tu too lo. Take this time to spend more time with kayden ba. Heard that recently job market very quiet.

BBP hahahahahaha declan is definitely fasinated by pop! Where were u guys? How come got such a nice sofa ah? So cute.

Shucks yah! I think there is a slight difference between termination and retrenchment now that JSP mention. CHeck it out before u make a decision!

re ergo
thanks dor dor. i try to do that later. but very hard to kiap the thing between the shoulders. i feel like a clown in a circus. or a dog with something on his back and he is trying to reach it.

bbp
no need for apologies la! did they fight? haha no la. i think they were just being friendly. and poppy also tried to claw declan right? they are even! lol. but i forget - did you flip the cushion back at fullerton? where declan left his mark? hehe. and lol about 'declain want to check if poppy's eyes are real or not'!!! wow you caught very good pics! mine are still in my phone. i'll send to you once i download them. maybe in a couple of weeks *sheepish look*

omg the 3rd photo, poppy's expression is like 'what is this boy doing la dey?'. got the hand gesture and shrugged shoulders some more!

michelle
ya! whenever hubby and i play the staring game with poppy, she always win wan. we stare until bak chew pain, she still happily staring. never blink one!!

qing
best ah. durians in the office!!! i don't eat durians so don't know how to get rid of smell. but charcoal sounds like a good idea!

star
hmm. tough. i think when the kiddos are still small, it's ok. but when they are old enough to know 'mine', then i think should separate. but likely that relatives will only go one, right?

pettygal
don't worry. i think they all go through that some time or other. it will pass.

jsp
aiyoh you. why like that. drink water ok? like army water parade. when qing ask you to eat charcoal i thought like huh? bbq charcoal? but then i realised she meant charcoal pills :D oh hope everything ok with ernest's blood cells!

jacelyn
you molested my baby!!! when i was busy eating my kolo mee is it? that's why i never noticed haha. maybe it was your molesting that made poppy forget about the warm diaper keke. 'wah my bum bum warm warm, got someone stroking my arm... this is the life!' lol

cellow
congrats to cedic's all nighter!

rena
oh i hope your kiddos get well soon

smiggle
what's your boss' reason?! don't worry, now market is picking up, sure can find job one. chin up!

sally
maybe poppy looks leggy cos so much leg exposed? lol

oh everyone i received my taggie liao. tried it today. pop fed up. 'i'm just trying to drink my milk, why you keep forcing me to hold this thing!' but now she's sleeping and still holding on. hehe.

Toy Clearance Sale
From Wednesday, 11th Mar 2009 - Tuesday, 17th Mar 2009

Check out the Pre-Stocktake Toy Clearance Sale at Blk 171, Kallang Way #05-03 Kolam Ayer Industrial Estate from 10am-6.30pm on Mon-Fri and 10am-5pm on Sat &amp; Sun.

Prices from $1 and enjoy 20% to 90% off usual price.

Participating brands:
- Super Dough
- Jakks Pacific
- Speed-Tech
- SilverLit
- Wow Wee
- Frank
- Techno Source
- Batman
- Spiderman
- Transformer
- Sesame Street
- Spongebob
- Pokemon
- Barbie
and more...

bbp,
wat a great series of photos! i m sure declan din mean any malice, just curious abt poppy's eyes. poppy looks so resigned....

smiggle,
if retrenched then yes u get retrenchment benefits. find out wat they are. if terminated due to non performance, then think got no extra leh.
however, it depends how your boss plays it... he might be telling u one thing while telling mgt another. you need him onside to fight for u. ask for interviews w HR w your boss present, if it comes to tt stage. dun trust him 100% ok. do your homework.

i was in a situation before, 2 mths preggie w Cedric and looking out for antoher role within my coy, bcz the IT proj i was working on was implemented liao, so dun need me. kept getting rejected in intervws (of cz i was seeking a promotion also la, lateral moves would have been easy for me) till i finally confirmed my curr role in Feb 08. HR was talking retrenchment benefits and maternity benefits (whether to give me or not) thro'out Jan and early Feb 08... make me so angry n worried.
at that time, i was prepared to play hardball, write to Forum page / AWARE etc, and ruin their hard earned corporate reputation if they din give me my maternity benefits.
luckily din come to that stage.

be prepared.

bullyg women at work just bcz of pregnancy related issues just gets my back up!

poppy is sooooo going to break a lot of hearts when she grows up.... Look at her staring back at Declan after he pokes her eyes... sooooo cute... Declan must be wondering why you let him share his seat with poppy that;s why the poking??

pettygal, dun worry about baby fussing milk, ethan went through that stage, and if you ask me, Still in this stage. He drinks like 90ml each time, and can tahan 4-5 hours one loh... recent photos shows he lost so much weight.. but no matter how i force, he will not drink loh.. just suck suck action but nothing goes in... so I give him more solids, which he prefers so let it be lah... nowadays nite time when he super drowsy, then i force 150ml, but he still wakes at 2 or 3am for another feed.. no longer sleeping through... sigh sigh sigh... i have learnt to "kan kai" le...

Smiggle, your company soooo bad. insurance company? tell me which one, i dun buy insurance from them! hee hee...

cellow... sssshhhhh.... *quietly cheering for cedric sleeping through for a week AND MORE!*... sssshhhhhhh

JSP, during pregnancy did you and hubby did the blood test? cos i remember doing this test and then it was ok. hope it is minor..

BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY
lets have a list

3) michelle - anydate in Jun - any where.

I work in gov, but cannot book aloha, only costa sands.... unless i blur, bluey, lbt, correct hor?

Any mummies meeting for lunch on thurs, cos I took leave to go isetan and taka baby fair leh! I can join lunch gathering leh! (and checked that hubby not free to join me so i got excuse!). hee hee....

took another look at the photos, seems like Declan cant seem to take his hands off poppy!! take a closer look!!! touched her face (eyes), touched her hands, touched her thighs!!!!! muahahaha...

ALAMAK, just received email from Huggies that can use proof of purchase to exchange gifts!!! I threw away soooooo many!! slap my own forehead!

smiggle - sorry to hear about yr job..if financially can afford, then take some time off first lor..cos looking for job in this market is quite tough now..and will be stressful for you.

jsp - get well soon!!

bbp and pink b - declan and poppy so cute together

big bash bday - me me, count me in..every parent brings a cake and we have a mass candle blowing session..hehe

cellow - congrats on bb C's sleeping thru the nite..*sshhhh*

bb reject formula - this sophie ah, make me stress,.,rejects the formula milk..only want BM..so now no choice..have to mix..1/3 formula, 2/3 BM. she still take out and look at bottle with super suspicious glare but in the end, still drink..heng ah....

michelle!
you really bionic eyes ah.
qing ws the one who always noticed nonsense in photos, but now u can b the champion for that liao.

bwahaha
cinbunny, i can just see sophie's super suspicious glare, like 'what's this nonsense u r giving me, mummy? i want my BM!!!!'

cinbunny, i recalled FZT also prefers BM to FM... not sure if doggiebb managed to "solve" it oredi anot.... but mixing is a great idea! LOL on her super suspicious glare, cos as i recall, sophie bunny has big eyes like poppy!

michelle
both me n HB did the test when I was preggy also... HB tested normal whereas KKH ask me to go for further tests... in the end nvr go coz its oni for information n no cure...

cin_bunny
thanks... feeling much better liao...

cellow and michelle - super suspicious glare better than cry and cry which was what she did when i gave her whole bottle of formula.

BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY
lets have a list

4) cin_bunny - 6/6, 7/6,13/6, 14/6 or anydates in july - anywhere.

pb
your ergo, the kiap behind, can move higher so it's more within your reach. also shoulder straps can tighten so poppy is closer to your body. coz after my hubby uses it, the straps are looser for me, my shoulders will hurt if i don't tighten them.

cellow
when you started cedric on the sleep training, without latching, i remembered one post that mentioned he only cried for 10 mins? i tried with pomfret, 15mins screaming like being tortured so i gave up. sigh. how.

yeah and the worst thing is, sometimes the HR is also staffed by women who've gotten pregnant and done the whole mother thing, yet they are the ones who said things to me when i was pregnant like 'you all pregnant, going for holiday, of coz we make you work harder now'

smiggle
if you want to keep working, then just hang in there first and like cellow said, make sure your boss is really telling you the truth. we don't know your boss, but they could always tell two different stories so they don't seem the bad guy y'know? if you've always had great performance previously, use that to back yourself up.

okay, scrolling back to catch up on rests of posts

Jacelyn,
We were at Starbucks.

PB,
Yup, I flipped both pillows before we left, it would have been too obvious otherwise. The photos? Multiple shot mode - 6 continuous shots. And still, half of them were blur due to the moving boy.
Yah, Poppy so cute right? The action is so cutely adult-like!
Isn't it amazing how babies don't seem to blink very much?

Michelle,
Haha, maybe. And coincidentally you're right. Declan &amp; I were in that sofa before the photo-taking..
Aiyoh, this boy ar... so young want to bio char bor liao. I must talk to his dad liao.
Are you bringing Ethan to the sales???

cin_bunny,
Ooh, can imagine Sophie looking at you &amp; thinking "hmm, this tastes funny...". So cute!

dustee,
i was lucky i guess.
cedric is turning out to be an adaptable baby.. watever new parenting ideas i got in my head, i just try out on him and then he adapts after a week or so. sleeping w/o latching was one, getting him to sleep thro the all-impt-1st-class-ticket sleeping hours (mine! not his) from midnight to 4am was another.

ya. their cry during the sleep trg w/o latching period... can really pierce the heart. at times, i was wondering wat i was doing, berating myself for being a bad bad mummy.
budden the rational side took over, also talked out my feelings to HB. gotta endure, o/wise us parents suffer in the long run.
gotta talk sensibly at work during the day, and get ourselves safely to work and back leh. every night, sleep deprived, how can. later not only look like panda, behave and talk like panda too!!

bbp,
starbucks at fullerton hotel? got meh

ultimate bad mummy moment. he fell to the side while learning to sit uprite and instead of helping him, i took this pix instead!
2238146.jpg

Checking in after lunch. Kaoz super sleepy lo ... I wonder why ..

Cin_bunny, hmm so that means Sophie is quite smart ah! She knows when u are short-changing her ok. Dun play play wor!!!

bbp, oh so next time i should also try setting such modes. Hmm normal digi cam can do such settings? Coz all the pics that i take are super blur. These small creatures are moving at the speed of light (or faster than that) .. And now u know declan's favourite past time - bio char bor (errrm takes after the dad?? :p)

Smiggle, when u asked what cake can bb eat. i was thinking of milk pudding .. wahahahaha

BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY
lets have a list

5) Jacelyn - 6/6, 7/6,13/6, 14/6, 20/6 - anywhere

Cedric going on his 1st road trip to KL tmr!
hope HB and I dun wring each other's necks along the way... i m only half joking ok...
anyhow my ILs will be there to act as referee.

LOL! declan's so cute in that last picture looking worried.. he marked territory wiv drool ah?..sally u r right: poppy's gonna be a long legged tall bombshell model i think..

michelle..ethan's going for kindermusik soon? thought I'd wait a while more before jio-ing the rest to go together leh... let us know if he likes it ok?

woke up wiv a headache and shoulderache on one side and it's still here.. sigh a nice massage would be good..

star: combining birthdays.. if your kids are ok with it, no harm I guess.. but maybe at a certain age, they may wanna have their own party and be the only STAR of the event?

smiggleP: what happened to your internet access? hey you MIA coz you were giving birth to a baby wat.. dats unfair..if they have grounds for termination, will not need to compensate you right?

bbp: oh that's sophie the giraffe.. would our babies look like monsters attempting to eat giraffes? hehe

jacelyn: you are right leh.. I use the carrier when I go out wiv bb alone.. use stroller only when hubby goes out wiv us.. so michelle... dats one good reason why you should get the ergo too *sia sia* bbp: hey me too man! won't bother wiv stroller til i really have to handle it myself...probably kelam kabut then

rena: poor you...try to catch up on some sleep even if it's for a few mins if you can...

JSP: dun worry too much for ernest... I'm sure things will work out..

qing: shall we nominate you to be our big birthday bash organiser? kekeke

cin.. everyone bring a cake...dats gonna be a lot of cake to eat! how's little sophie? wah smart girl can tell if it's BM or FM or both! hehe reminds me of how I tried to sneak in some plum puree into the cereal for bbG and he still cried the roof down! duh!

BIG BIRTHDAY PARTY
lets have a list

5) Jacelyn - 6/6, 7/6,13/6, 14/6, 20/6 - anywhere
6) do1nk - 2nd week of june onwards - anywhere

cellow: wow.. u guys r driving up? procrastinator me have yet to go make bbG a passport!!

dustee
i oni feel faint when i dun have enuff slp or nvr take my meals on time lor... thanks for the encouragement... u got PM...

do1nk
thanks for the encouragement... HB also told me the same thing...

kindermusik, aiya, every weekend dunno what to do with Ethan.. so was browsing the kindermusik link after you all posted.. so saw got trial class.. so jsut called loh.. then was told to be on waitlist.. so thot no chance.. but suddenly got called ytday to say somebody withdraw.. so Ethan gets to go! its exercise for me cos I suppose to carry him around and dance dance dance.. hee hee...

aiyo, cellow! look at his forehead all frowned up so hard... poor cedric.... hey, where is that lemon tasting shot??? still waiting..