(2008/07) July 2008

hi everyone...

thanks for welcoming...

just a quick check, am i the only FTB here on this thread?? as my wife is a Malaysian who dont really converse in English, i'm practically reading the threads and translating for her...

must get this off my chest man...i think my mil is mad. this morning i missed her call and she called my mum to complain abt it!! what's wrong with her...i really dun understand. she thinks i purposely dun pick up her call and called my mum up to complain. really can't stand her.

garfield
same here. i dun have market near my place. must drive so we do weekly marketing. actualy i tot some studies say fresh and frozen not much difference? think it's just the idea that it is daily so fresher so must be better.

fiona
yup, quite happy that he remembered what he said last night abt breakfast. was wondering whether to remind him but then din remind him cos i also dun wan him to do it and then rush for work but he remembered it.

delphine
i only started seeing my gynae everyweek after 37 weeks....

igoh
hihi, interesting to have a FTB here! it's good also then u can udnerstand what your wife is going thru..but must bear with us as we complained abt hb....

SY,
Think ice cubes, glaciers, ice creams (yum yum)... cool down... MILs always got stories one la. Chill. Ohmmm. [eh, Jeanyard said saying Ohmmm can make bb come hor... then better not]
Wah got bfast date w HB, he remembered!

Fiona,
hehe, last movie date w HB... can still watch DVDs at home wat before u pop.

igoh,
yea, think u r the only FTB i c so far on this thread.... hope u can tahan the rantings (all attributable to hormones of cz) :p

... back to work....

I guess the frequency of visit depends on the state of the baby. Mine is also weekly from Wk37 onwards.

ML, just ignore her ba. No need to spoil your mood ok.

cellow
yes must really ignore her. think she's crazy at times...dunno so sensitive for what...

lbt
hee, my mum just say i going to give birth liao so sometimes temper may not be so good. then my mil complained abt my neighbours not saying hi to her (which i also think very ridiculous cos sometimes pple may be busy and never notice right). my mum just said we can choose to be angry or happy but life still goes on so might as well choose to be happy.....haha

SY,

Yup... think i can prepare myself mentally on how expectants feels and went through especially the labour process... now treasure my wife more... =)

Cellow,
dont worry, i can tahan the rantings.. good to hear them...

Sy, just tell your MIL you're in the bathroom so you missed her call. Sometimes MIL makes big deals out of nothing. *rolls eyes*

lbt
yeah my mum quite good at entertaining her and sometimes we get extra info from her cos my mil will tell her a lot of things..haha...so when my mum goes to china, we lose one 'informant'.

igoh,
hee, that's good. i think all women at this stage wan to experience TLC esp from hb!

SD
no leh. cannot cos she actually called my hb after i missed her call and she even ask whether i m beside my hb...

anyway i m not going to be bothered with her. my mum also said dun bother with her cos she really just making a molehill out of it. last time even worse, she got even more complaints abt me and sometimes even complain abt her son. i guess by doing all this, we see her true colors even more lor so now my hb also dun listen to her as much.

woi! se PB...make me sound like a "colourwolf" not to see your NNP lah (usually covered right?? if not indecent exposure!!) but enjoy looking at such pics which usually turn out very nice coz I'm someone not photogenic myself..so seldom take pics... =p

3D: I'm wk35 too and still seeing gynae every fortnightly leh... she super cool while I kancheong spider!

igoh: think u r indeed the only daddy here..but good lah..u have more insight to how women feel n think...maybe can turn u into a SNAG (sensitive new age guy) haha

lbt & JMON
oic..

star xin
I just bought the desitin nappy rash cream at TMC today..
offer..selling at 2 for $20.. instead of $28..

Fiona
hope ur ger is better..

SY
dun care about ur MIL..
now the main thing is ur bb k..
smile!
my MIL also like that...
will "bomb" my hp if I dun ans or miss her call..
so irritating.. but slowly.. totally hack care her and if I ever pick up her phone just say ok and ok..and wana put down the phone fast..

do1nk,

insights are good so that we can understand wife's rantling, etc... remember, Men are from Venus and Women are from Mars... or is it the other way round... =)

afternoon ladies

Me at TMC now! :p
Reporting. BB weight is 2.67kg (smaller than scanned 2.8-2.9kg) but everything good
Labour was bout 4 hrs....natural w/o epi.

SY,

Haiz your MIL is really one kind! Anyway, you're right, don't bother thinking about it and it's good that your HB supported you.

Star_xin, the cream is sold in the pharmacy on the first floor, so anyone can buy.

I've just back from my gynae. Everything is good at 37w, baby is descending but not quite engaged yet. she's now at 3.1 kg. Doc gave a jab for me to mature the lungs of the baby, so painful!

celeste
congrats!! wow another brave mummy!!!

star_xin
i heard from my fren the tubes of desitin sold in sg smaller. only abt 2oz. the ones from BP are 4oz and much cheaper also.

SD
actually i dunno whether my HB support me or not. but i guess it is also he can't be bothered abt her remarks also. so in a way that is supporting me...hee. last time it was worse. she used to make remarks that are not very true and i will complain to hb abt it. so over time i guess he knows that he can't take everything she says at face value.

why do u need a jab to mature the lungs at 37 weeks?

SY,
Cuz I'm going to c-section at 38 weeks, which is next week! *gasps* can't believe either kekeke...

Celeste,
Congratulations! I admire mums who delivers baby without epi. *claps*

SD
which gynae are u seeing? i ever did ask my gynae abt this jab and he says not needed. he said some pple even at 34 weeks dun take the jab cos there's some risk associated with the jab. at 38 weeks, definitely won't need the jab.

Thanks ladies
. Logging off for now to take a break.

Re : Desitin Cream
Ya...now selling at 2 for $20 at tMC 1st flr pharmacy....anyone can buy.

Celeste
Congrats! Wow, another no-epi mummy!

SD
Why do you need to C-sec at 38 weeks?

SY
Your MIL sounds like one of those with something to say about everything. Just ignore lor. Your mum sounds very good-natured and good-humoured

CONGRATS celeste! keke so fast online liao? I must check if NUH has wireless internet connection or not too man...hubby would be most happy!

Delphine
Emailed you!

Igoh
Aiyer, with you here, how to complain about our hubbies ler

Celeste
Congrats! Wah you very brave! Clap clap. 4 hours only! So good!!

girls
you've got mail

Mine is an elective c-section. I also dunno why need that jab, but since doc recommend, I did it. My doc is Dr. Adrian Tan from TMC.

cord blood banking

so i think i have decided to donate to the bank instead of signing up with cordlife or stemcord. i just need to call them and pop down to KKH to collect the kit right?

haha labbit. chio chio armani ah? gam xia but please lor, you never see, never zip one! i really huffed and puffed and sweated just to pull the jeans on and off leh! muahahahha.

dustee
you give them a call then they will first screen you over the phone then arrange to meet with you to go through some details and pass you some info.

re tomorrow
girls, whoever has indicated interest has been emailed about tomorrow's tentative plan

juz spoke to the SCBB personnel on wed...u juz need to call them and get them to come speak to you...sign some forms and dats it...dun worry about the kit or anything...they have all dat on standby when you go into labour I believe..

dustee

I met the coordinator on Tues too at KKH.

yes all the kits are in the delivery suite. You just need to sign the consent form before u deliver and inform your gynae abt this donation. They will draw some blood on the delivery day too.

SD
I thought only bb that is going to popped out early needed the jab to mature the lung. My ger who was delivered at 34wks miss the jab cause not enough time. the jab needed 24 hrs to work. A 2nd jab is needed 12hrs after the first jab is taken. So when are you going back for the second jab?

My second ger who was also born at 34wks was lucky enough to take the jab. My first jab was taken at 2pm and purposely have to go back to KKH at 2am for a the second jab. At that time my gynae, Dr Han feel so pai sei to make me go back at such hours. I must say the jab is really really painfully. My friend who delivered her bb at 35wks at private hospital say the jab is much more expensive than KKH after comparing the price with me.

PB

yeah me too .. i left the envelope in my hospital bag already.

aiyah u still look good in the jeans, dont worry !

youpi
ha, my mum already can handle her liao. but my mum did comment to me that she felt a bit inappropriate of my mil to keep complaining abt me to her. after all i m her daughter mah...

lucky i dun stay with my mil..haha

SD
hmm, most hospitals and gynaes dun recommend taking the jab at 37 weeks cos bb is considered full term liao. also my gynae mentioned got some risks but he din elaborate. u still need to take one more jab?

dustee,
you just need to call them, and either u pop down to KKH or they will come to you at the next gynae visit at the gynae (this is to minimise ur travelling). No need the gynae to be present during the half hour talk if u choose the latter.

During the half hour, a certified nurse will tell u all abt the procedure and gotta sign forms and answer a health screening questionnaire.

Then they will give u the kit.... bring to hospital when check in to deliver can already. Up to delivery date, u can still change ur mind - the last page of the form still needs ur signature as at delivery date.

Know all this bcz did it on Monday when visit gynae. I feel so thirsty for the lady nurse who was explaining all to me, she really did a lot a lot of talking.

Chloe,
My gynae only mention having this 1 jab only. Since I'm delivering 2 weeks earlier. Hmmm should've asked more questions. anyway, the jab has already taken place. Mebbe he speculated that baby can be earlier, cuz when I suggested my c-section date, he commented that it's quite close to my EDD and baby might pop earlier.

gals

i also asked my gynae abt natural tear vs episotomy.

he said epi is better else u may end up tearing to the anus and it can be very very painful.

hence they will cut such that you tear in a straight line, not leading to the anus.

something like that lah ...

FRI NITE DINNER:
1. doggiebb
2. Cellow
3. pinkbunny
4. do1nk
5. dustee
6. Caitlyn (maybe)
7. Star xin
8. youpi (depending on location and oh, I must bring #1 along, if that is okay with the other mtbs)
9. bluey

mummies ah! i was thinking maybe somewhere really central.

how about cafe cartel at city hall mrt? we meet 6.30pm?

<font color="0000ff">Star_xin: Milk bands no more blue color. Left Green, Yellow. Think we like clearing her stocks....haha

How?? Which color u wanna change to?? Try to let me know by tonite K.</font>

I think i do not have an episotomy for my recent delivery cause my bb is small. I think i heard my gynae say try not to have an episotomy as my bb is small but i also heard him say that my V area is not elastic enough during labour. So not sure if he got cut or not. Not very sure cause of the pain i am suffering and the effect of laughing gas. But when i touch my wound, i could feel that it is different from my previous labour. It is not a straight line. Guess i have to have with him for my postnatal check-up.

For me i would prefer episotomy as the labour will be shorter and the wound is neater.
During my last labour when an episotomy is done, one push an my bb is out but this time round, i have use alot more effort to push my bb out.

sigh
my husband's ex (yes, ex-gf from a few years ago) is visiting my mil tmr (i stay with my in-laws) and i can tell my mil is really thrilled and happy, coz she really liked this ex. and when we got married, she actually asked my husband why not her. *sigh*

emo dustee been tearing non-stop for past hour. i'm on ML already. i go out, coz i don't want to see the ex, my mil is gonna think i'm petty. but i really don't need to be friends with her.

is it just the preggie hormones that's making me so upset? sigh