(2008/06) June 2008

Connie

My boy move a lot during pregnancy. So i dun tink its true.

Yr menses so long no report? U must have been regularly bf yr kid.

Ellysia,
I solely express milk from 3rd mth onwards cos my gal will cry if latch. I given up on latching but surprisely I can still last till now.(coming to 8 mths) I drop from 4 pump to 3 since last mth but menses still not report yet.... I do enjoy life without it.... Wonder can I drop to 2 pump?

I suspect my gal also allegies to cow milk. If I drink milk she will vomit. PD ask me to bf till 1 yrs. now counting down. 4 more mths to go. How is your case?

My boy also move a lot but when I have my gal, even more jia lat. My friend face same issue and get so worry when she can't feel her boy moving as compared to her gal so I think the article are rather true. But diff pple will feel it differently.

Cough
Sian, my boy having cough n phegm again. He vomited 3x yesterday. Once in CC and twice at hm. When I chat with the teacher while fetchin my boy, one of the teacher told me but they never report it into the communication bk. Wonder what is the book for lor.
Now the vomiting is unsure whether due to the fall on Monday or phegm. He slept thru last nite without asking for a feed which is unusual too. making me so worried.

Zuen,
What news you have?

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Connie,
If ur boy vomitted again today, is better u bring him to see PD immediately. How many hrs of gap from the fall till his 1st vomit?
Pls see below article which i got from babycenter.
#
When should I call the doctor?
It's common for babies to hit their heads when they fall, and in most cases there's nothing to worry about. If your baby loses consciousness, though, have him checked out by his doctor or by the doctor at the emergency room. Sometimes, even with a minor blow, the brain can be injured.

Also take your baby to a doctor right away if he hits his head and in the next day or two he:

• Is vomiting. It's okay to have a bout of vomiting after a fall, but it shouldn't persist.

• Seems unusually sleepy during the day or can't be awakened at night. Try waking your baby a couple of times the first night after his fall, just to make sure you can.

• Seems weak or confused, or seems to have problems with coordination, vision, or verbal communication.
#</font>

Connie

I been bf for close to 2 yrs ored lor..
At home will latch, at office pump x 3 times. Used to latch in the morn &amp; night, but drop the morn latch 1 yr ago. The drop midnight feed since 8 months plus. Ever deliberately reduce my supply by pumping 10mins in office, cos i tot i can wean off at 1 yr old. But found out he got severe milk allergy so need to cont bf to 2 yr old. Then have to throw away old stock in fridge bec all got contain milk as i drank milo everyday. I throw away 30 bottles of 150ml each.

Regretted tat time i cut supply bec supply become not enough to last now. Now i can only pump 200ml in office. I used to be able to pump 150ml x 5.5 bottles in office when i came back from maternity leave.

Ellysia,
milo cannot? I'm being drinking lots of milo cos bb is milk allegy. I only have 8x120ml per day.

Feifei,
seem the pd this afternoon. he say vomit not due to the fall but due to sensitive nose which resulted the cough n phegm. I totally blur.
Now I;m not sure he is sensitive nose or esthma. both have same symtom. So sad.

Not sure y doc like to pinpoint esthma to dog. my poor dogs. haiz

connie

milo powder has skim milk. so even if u dun put milk inside, u still consuming milk.

u need to look carefully at ingredients list.

Morning ladies..

Connie,
I see..hows ur boy now?

Tera,
Check with you hor, did your boy went through a phrase of coming home , bery cranky, laogei, and fuss after cc? Cos recently char has been doing that and its getting on our nerves leh...She is so different from the time before she went into the cc lor...Now she will scream, cry, fuss to get something she wants, even lie on the floor to fuss...hiaz...

do you know where to get those table and chair set for our toddler? besides toy r us and ikea? cheap ones?

hi, i thot sensitive nose will induce sneezing? but, phlegm? wat's the colour of the phlegm? should call doc for further clarification? drink warm water to loosen up the phlegm and no cooling drinks..

Belated Happy Birthday to Lil Zu-en.

Connie,
Your boy better now? Sensitive nose is very common. My gal also have it all the time, think she got it from me. But usually when there is phelgm, it could be a virus. U monitor n see how. If no sign of recovery, go n see the doc again.

Me too. Mine sometimes comes in 2 mths, sometimes 30 days, sometimes 40 days. Thats how I got my gal also. Haha. But sometimes I really dread the waiting time for my menses to come cos I so scare I strike jackpot. Also when I wanna go out, I am so scare tt it'll come reporting.

Ellysia,
Thanks for the contact, I go n email her.

Eve,
I got mine which is a Step 2 one from TOysRus last time during promo at 89.90 which comes with 2 chairs n a table.

Apart from ToysRus, u can try ELC. But if u dun mind those metal type, My PILs got it from those market.

My friend got those pinic style whereby the chair stays wif the table type so her boy cannot drag the chair to stand n take things from her table.

feifei

My boy been doing tat fussing before he attended CC. After attend CC actually become better, but still got fuss. throw tantrum etc. I tink is not bec of CC, just bec its the terrible two stage lor.

Hi mums,
Thanks for the concern. He didn't vomit today but running nose seem become worse. I didn't give the singular that the doc give as I read the bb will become violent, Mine already quite violent. Wonder when will the cc mummies come after me..... haha
This doc seem to give more medicince. 4 bottles + singular. Only 1 is cough, rest is phegm, sensitive nose, open airway. Means nose alone already got 4 medi. Isn;t that too much for a 2 yrs old bb?

Ongsg
Not sure wat col. alwaYS vomit wif milk.

Ellysia,
But my gal all the while ok if I take milo. Mean not allergy to milk? Yet to try again since so many mths had passed.

Feifei,
my boy also same as ur gal after 3rd wk of cc. roll on the flr n cry. The best is he will slowly lower his head n lie there to cry. v funny. Now ok liao. this is the 3rd mth. Maybe this is part of their growing.

feifei,
sorry for late reply. my boy was already doing the lie-on-floor-crying thing before cc. so i dun think its due to cc. i also think its the terrible 2s coming.

connie,
haha, my boy will also lower his head very slowly. very funny. then now he see any cartoons in book that are sleeping, he will also lie down with his head on his arms and pretend to sleep, hehe.

tinkerbelle,
my boy's birthday on 6th june. so actual day is sunday but we will be celebrating in cc on 4th june, the friday.
when's your girl's birthday?

Tera,
My boy like to put his arms behind his head to sleep. Not sure why. Middle of the nite, he will do this while waiting for his milk.

Tinklebelle,
My no 1 is a boy. No 2 is gal.
Think ours cannot plan boy or gal one since so irregular. cycle always happy come happy go. haha

Yest bring ah boy see allergy doc to do a test on soy formula. The test show tat he is still allergic to soy. As the result is mild, we let him tried drinking but rashes developed after he consumed 1.5ml. So looks like still cannot. anyway i tink sooner or later when no more BM then he has to rely on solid food totally.

Connie

Only 0.01% of wat we eat pass down to BM. So if yr kid allergy is minor, and yr amt drank is not a lot, it won't affect so much. But if like my boy case, his allergy to milk is severe so i cannot take milk if i am Bf him.

Why dun u do a Skin prick test? U can do at normal PD clinic, one item for $10. Just do those u suspect. Better than u do so many guesswork.

U know, i stop eating seafood for 1 year base on a PD advice when he suspect my boy has seafood allergy. End up the test shows that he doesn't have seafood allergy but he reacts to the milo i drank everyday cos it contain milk. So all the while i stop seafood for nothing.

Connie

My boy sometimes will take the pillow and put on top of him, when he want to sleep at night. I tink he copy from my hb and myself.

SIgh, I am so upset. I was sick over last weekend n I passed it to my gal since Tue. Now cooking those cough soup again.

Tera,
My gal bday is on 31st May. Same as Ellysia's boy. Haha. So planning her party on 29th May at Explorer. Initially wanted Polliwogs but their charges too ex liao. Hopefully it goes well.

Connie,
I also cannot predict my menses. Sigh, this mth late again. I hope it doesnt report over the weekend cos I wanna go cycling tml at ECP.

cannot tell gender wor. At last scan, 15+ weeks, e umbilical cord btw e legs. Faint. Next scan at 20 weeks.. Long, long wait. Lol. No new clothes for e lil zu-le (baby's name). Hehe.

Hi Tinkerbelle,

Wat type of cough soup is is huh?can buy frm where? Cos char's cc just called me, say char has alot of phelgm and coughing again..hiaz...Duno wan to bring her to see PD at SBCC again anot..hiaz..

Tera,
haiz, headache when our kids at at T2 stage lor..

zuen,
hi ya...hehe..how u doing?

onsangsg

Goat Milk tried ored and effect same as cow's milk. Doc say Goat milk protein is similar to cow milk so is even a slim chance than soy milk.

Tinkerbelle

Tis yr will be simple cos my hb dun like to prepare celebration. Ored do big celebration on his 1st bday so 2nd bday just do simple.

Re: cough

Cough soup from ZTP or EYS.

Btw, i tried giving Manuka honey to my boy, to relieve his cough. Website a lot of articles say honey is good for cough. Maybe u all can give a try.

I bot a small bottle at $48, it is manuka +20UMF.

Ellysia

Where do u get Manuka honey? what is 20umf?
i love honey and is good to build immunity and help with digestive problems, but dont know which brand to give to kids..

HI Feifei,

Boy like what u mentioned. entering terrible 2 loh. recently shout and cry at the slightest discomfort. aiyo.. i going crazy looking after him last weekend. hehe
WHat u usually do if char throws a tantrum? do u scold? beat? or put her in a naughty corner? or just ignore till she fin lao gei? hehe

hi feifei, if you dcided to seek western treatment and if you wan to go sbcc, maybe you can approach dr ratna or dr anita (specialised in respiratory) or dr nancy tan (came fm kkh)..since dr ngiam is not at sbcc liao..anyone knows where dr ngiam goes to?

hv you heard of baoyingdan? my fren said it's good n if you think of going for chinese cure - better ask eu yan sang on this powder for your bb.

Feifei,
I m good. I tink this preggy much easier than last one.

re: enrichment classes
are u kids joining anything? Lil zuen not joining anything since positive tots. Tot of signing her up for some classes but duno wat.

Eve,
haiz, same lor...really hor..wonder how long this T2 thing will last...hiaz..

Hmm, me huh? most of the time i will ignore her, then she come pulling my pants, wan me to carry, ask me to baobao, i say you naughty, mummy dun wan to bao you. Then she will put her fingers on her lips and say "shhh" meaning ask herself to keep quiet..hehe...I tink she learnt that frm cc lor, sometimes see liao duno wan to laugh or angry..haha..

At times she really too much, kept pointing and ask us to take things, my hb will take out the cane and ask her to stop, if she dun, then down goes e cane..Most of e time, char will ask herself to shhh when she sees e cane..But of cos, there are extreme times when she over-tired and too much, then gana 1 stroke lor..

My this silly ger bery funny one, at home, a little terror, go outside, like an angel leh...haiz...

U leh?

onsang,
hi there..tks for the advice...My ger has been seeing Dr Goh frm amk sbcc lor but tonite he is not on duty so hv to see another PD leh.. I quite like e white powder med which reduces phelgm lor cos thats e onli med which my char eats willingly cos its sweet..hiaz..

the EYS chen pi po powder bery good, my ger take 3 tubes and phelgm starts to disperse liao but its quite ex lor.

zuen,
hehe..so its totally diff expereince?
hehe..any hitch on e gender? hehe...

No leh, char is attending cc now so no enrichment classes for her lor..hows little zuen doing for her PG?

feifei

Yes. I bot from ZTP. $3 per packet. brew 2 hrs in slow cooker or slow fire.

My boy at home or go outside also naughty.. no difference.

Sometimes i tink is bec of frustration tat we dun understand wat they want, tats why they throw tantrum. other times is bec attention-seeking, or testing boundaries, or over stimulated/over tired.

When he is 'hot' and throwing tantrum i may leave him alone until he finish 'brewing' then i ask him wat he want. If at outside we will have less patience to train, so will use force lor.
Most of the time i try to explain to him.

Feifei,
char so cute ah still can say sshh...i wonder how to smack her when u see her kelian look. hehe. so ur hb cane her ah? lightly? till now i havent tried using cane leh. but my boy super stubborn pax. so usually i ignore him till he finish crying.

my boy naughty at home and outside. dont wanna hold hands somemore. but hes v cheeky type always grin and put his hand on his head(indicating sorry) when he did something wrong loh. so sometimes i also bu ren xin to scold. but i will try to discipline him and put him in naughty corner till he stop crying. just tried this method, dunno if it works for long lah. my psycho friend advised me loh. if not over my head liao next time i duuno what to do with him.

Eve

I bot honey from honeyworld at OUB (near Raffles Place MRT). the number rep the quality. The higher the number, the better the quality. Those without number is below 10 (some u see at supermarket).

At first wanted to buy buckwheat honey or linden honey which i read is best for cough. But can't find so i get manuka honey which is good for medical benefits. Its not the same as cooking honey.

I oso no use cane.. my hb dun like to use corporate punishment. Only beat him when he is out of control. I tink beat him is no use..end up he more angry and refuse to listen to reason.

Ellysia,
same here outside my hb use force to carry him when he insist on something tt we dont think is correct. haiz... i dont dare to bring him out myself. think my back will break further into pieces.haha

i just went for 2 physio and acupuncture. really feel like a old auntie loh. sianz.

Ellysia,

i just went to check on manuka honey. looks good. high level of anti bact and gd benefits. but quite costly though. maybe will go get a bottle for my boy. coz recently hes having diarr and consti. think digestive system not so good.

Eve

Yest my lower back ache like old auntie too.. i feel i age 10 yrs.

I dun dare to bring him out alone too.. but sometimes do when my hb is not free. Then will end up dragging him.

Naughty corner dun tink will work, cos he walks off v fast.. won't listen to 'stay at corner'.
I took away his privilege lor. For e.g. if he make noise outside, we say we go home and no more fun for him. If he throw food, we stop feeding him (no more food). If he throw his toys, say no more toys for him to play.

I am trying to train him to keep his toys away after playing.

Eve

LS and constipation - i recommend give probiotics. Best for regulate stomach..

Manuka is expensive, but he dun eat a lot too.. so is ok.

Ellysia,
yes my friend told me try naughty corner or taking away their privilege. coz i told her i going crazy taking care of him and sometimes dunno how to discipline coz to me i try not to use caning as discipline unless last resort. so since no physical dis then i must enforce some rules and disc at home bah.
so does it work if u dont allow him to play toys if hes naughty?

hi connie, you boy should be 2 yr old by now? mine vomits with milk and solids the most in the 1st year and now less frequent on solids vomit. so, we will just let her drink gripe water assuming she has stomach wind (ie colic).

Ellysia,
how often does you boy takes honey?
i just realise we do not need to store honey in the fridge wor. all along thinking that after opening have to put in the fridge. and dont feed with metal spoon. only plastic and porcelain. u aware?
oh no all along im doing the wrong thing. hahaha.

strongly agree on probiotic usefullness.

i tot honey is allergenic too?? tat's why, i refrain starting bb on it yet, though my mum say warm honey good to relieve constipation.

Eve

seems to work though of course got exceptions.

Sometimes need to repeat a few times before he can get it.

Yah heard before cannot feed with metal spoon, but forget.. now tat u mention lucky i didnt use metal spoon. I use kids spoon.

Feed half teaspoon a few times a day - the sales person told me. But i no time, so only feed once a day at night before bedtime.

She also say no need to put fridge, but the ants at my house are v fierce and hungry, they try to gobble the honey so i still end up putting in fridge.

onsansg

Honey can be taken after 1 yrs old. Before 1 yr old is afraid of botulism.

Leng Leng

The ants in my house always appear in our drinking water too! so i tink put in water no use cos they will swim there.. faintx.

hi, i was told that there wouldn't be ants, if it's a pure honey. and, i think so cos i bought one bottle last time from multi-level and no ants crawling despite me putting on table for almost half a year..better verify with the shop that claims to sell natural pure honey, ya?

Ellysia,
Gd decision. Bday plannings are such headache. Next yr I'll do in her cc n close shop.

Feifei,
How's Char already? Yah, the cough soup can be brought from ZTP or HOckHua.

Lengleng,
I saw that u hav some Iherb spree issit? Still in time to take in my order?

Re:Honey
Ladies, can we give honey to our kids? Cos my mum told me nt to give cos will induce phelgm. Sigh. Thats why till now nv give.

Tinklebelle,
What I know is bb under 1 yr old cannot take honey. Don take access, small amt is good.

Onsang,
Ya, my boy turning 2 next mth. He is having phegm n cough currently. According to TCM, he is pixu thus will vomit occassionally even though he is not sick. I realise if he take vege or carrt, his poo also have. mean not digested.
Just bought the Vit C, will start him on it after his b'da.