(2008/06) June 2008

Zuen,
ya, same as u. Need to socialise him. Hope he can start talking an play wif other kids fter mixing wif children of his age. MIL kept nagging at him. Guess they need to breath ba. With him arnd, whole house v noisy. Occassionly, he will chase after SIL son n beat him.

Currently, he is learning to talk. noone understand ba, bb language. sometimes can catch him , most of the time cannot.

tera, thanks! my boy same as u, when we beat him, he will signal pain pain and pat his hand whenever we whip out the cane.. end up we dun beat him, cause find him so pitiful

connie... today initially was bad, he cried for 1hrs plus, even refuse to play at the playground, his fav activity n just cried and wanted to be carried by teacher.. i got so worried n left n was tinking of withdrawing .. when i went to fetch him at 1230, to my surprise i saw him happily sitting besides the teacher and playing ... was so happy to see that... n he actually ate some things today.. past 2 days refuse to eat or drink... when we left, he can still kiss the teachers and wave bye bye to them.. im starting to get hope he will adapt.. will see next mon how, cause he might have pattern after weekend....

zuen, i see.... st andrew not within a church.. cannot softheart de... if not they will learn that crying means no school!!

kelcqi, i work near there so hopefully can bring her there... anyway register first.. when time comes then decide want or not heee... ooh dragon baby sure v popular!

feifei... i see... maybe accidents happen? :p

zuen same ah.. i have a maid look after him full time plus he is at my mother place always.. so actually dun need childcare at all... but he's doing nothing at home, so i rather send him to childcare to learn how to be independent, socialise and also to learn some skills.. if not he is too pampered at home!!

wed after long break my boy was v sticky to teacher n wanted to be carried, even refuse to let other kids sit on teacher lap. teacher said he has been sticky for past 2 weeks leh. thu he cried lesser in the morn when i leave him. fri he stop crying when i m leaving.. manage to play on his own on fri. i hope he can cont tis way to play on his own n be more independent.

tera

same, when my boy is sick then rest 2 days, he go bk is like 1st day lor.. cry v loud n struggle hard.

feifei

the 2 days trial i have, first day accompany fully then 2nd day hide halfday to see if he got cry if i not around. if u starting officially on 3rd day then u shd hide on 2nd day to watch her response. at least u know how her response when u not around. tis is wat the teachers advise me.

moreover he is not able to concentrate on the lessons with me around. keep ask me carry. when i hide then he is able to concentrate more after he cry a bit lor. not only tat the other kids oso want to play w me n disruptive to the lessons.

my advice is tat there no need for more than 2 days trial lor. 2 days shd be enuff. the longer u stay the harder u can let go n she will find it harder to adapt.

roxy

teacher told me it took as long as 1 mth to adapt. if keep changing too soon oso no use.

connie,
the no discipline ones was around 4 to 5 years old and mainly boys. also, all only childs. wonder if its coincidence. some are quite aggressive and mainly do not know how to share.

for 1 of them, he's 4.5 YO and has not attended any cc or playgroup before. turned out he needs 1 hr to finish his meals and he's not able to self-feed. but the most irritating part about him was he was extremely rude to his grandma, threatening to throw his grandma out of the window and wanted to use his shoe to throw at her..i can see his father trying to discipline him but i think his mother spoils him.

roxy,
ur situation quite similar to mine as in i have a full-time maid but i have sent my boy to cc last dec (when he turned 18 mths) cos i feel he will benefit more from school than from being with the maid esp when my maid can't really speak proper english and gives in to him alot. and u are right, its the independence and social skills. i realised that my boy is now more willing to wave hello and bye bye to strangers ever since he attended cc.

reading your experience with isaiah reminded me of mine. lucas' first day was really bad, i rem my boy was crying hysterically and the principal told me to leave the room else he will never learn to accept the teachers. when i picked him up in abt 2 hrs time, i found that he's fallen asleep, prob due to exhaustion but he had finished his lunch. what was comforting was from the 2nd and 3rd day onwards, whenever we picked him up, he was always in a very good mood and seemed happy with the teachers.

give it some time. i believe isaiah will start to adapt, in fact sounds like he's getting used to the food and teachers already. just be prepared for the occasional regression, like weekends, long holidays etc.

feifei,
after reading ellysia's post, i rem that the principal did tell me on the first day, that if i wanted to hang around, i can hide myself by staying in the garden. but i din do that cos i rather wait at home since my place was nearby. so maybe u can check with the teacher and see what she advise. just rem to hide well, hehe.

tera u r right! its more to pick up skills at cc...isaiah is a super sociable boy, even waves bye bye and flying kiss to strangers in lift but he lacks discipline... my maid is not bad, she teaches him how to recognise things like head, shoulders, colours, bear, apple etc all of which im very grateful to her.. but somehow i dun want him to become too reliant on the maid, mummy jealous streak :p tmr he's gg back to school and im hoping it will be good after the weekend break...is lucas ok now at cc?

u r right ellysia.. i must give him some time to adapt...

Roxy,
How do u put label on Isaiah bottles?
Are u still sterilising his milk bottles?

I still sterilising my boy one. If put sticker, don think can sterilise liao.

Morning girls.

Roxy,
I also noe that cannot be soft-hearted. haiz.. I only hope that things start right with the new PG. She's starting with the new PG on 1 Mar.
We are gg to HKG this Wed and I also have to take leave when the maid comes, so I am still wondering if I should take leave on 1 Mar to go to school with her. Maybe I should hor.

Morning ladies..

ZuEn,Buttercup,Poky,
Hows class on sat?

ZuEn,
I tink u shd bring her to sch on e 1st day wor...

Tera,
i see..tks for sharing ya...Will hide myself on e 2nd day lor..hehe..So fast leh..Next mon char is going to cc le...

Ellysia,
Tks for sharing.. Hope char can adapt soon..

Roxy,
hehe...we make sure no accidients lor..Yest we were talking abt #2, then my hb ask me to defer my studies and hv #2 first cos dun wan e gap to be too big..And biggest reason is next yr end then i finish my exam, but the graduation is in the following year Oct...Hb told me we can try for bb asap after our results, but i told him then cannot expect me to bring my big tummy and wear the graduation robe and go stage collect my cert right, so ugly wor..Becos of this, he ask whether I wan to defer my studies and try for bb this july..I dun want lor.....Men hor, so selfish le..hiaz...got abit pissed off with his suggestion..

This yr is tiger yr, next yr is rabbit, then the yr aft is dragon huh?and next is snake?

Shall wait for this yr's rally and see if there is anymore bb perks before considering again..hehe..

Anyone aiming tiger or rabbit bb? ;p

Feifei,
Class was OK, the usual stuff. Hohoho.
By the way, I am not gg to class this Sat hor. Will be in HKG. Forgot to tell Has last Sat. Pls help me to inform her hor. Thank you.
Hmm.. then I better go tell boss that I want to take half day morning leave on 1 Mar liao.

Me, me, me.. I want a baby.. any baby.. Hohoho.

ZuEn,
i see..wow, envy wor..tink shauna going to enjoy her stay at disneyland..hehe...which airline u flying with?

No prob =)..

hehe...Jiayou ya...but dun get too stressed out..Mayb hv a made in HKG bb ?

Feifei,
What class are u attending on sat? So many mommies attend same class de.

If u successfully get pregnant this year, next year give birth. By the time u graduate end of the year, tummy slim liao lor. Futhermore, u have time to study at home, no need take extra leave. This is what some of my classmate did last time. She score well lor.

Zuen,
So good, can go hk.
U wan tiger or rabbit bb? Noone aim for dragon?

Connie,
hehe..but expectign bery xinku and tired lor..wait i scare i too stressed up, end up with a unhappy bb..haha..

We brign our tods to Positive tots at Tanglin there for class lor...quite fun for e kids..

Feifei,
My mum staying in teh same room as us in HKG lah. Hohoho.

Connie,
I dun care what animal, have baby can liao. My no. 1 didnt come easy lah and I need clomid to conceive, so I dun mind whether tiger or rabbit. I already start trying, so hopefully got giid news soon lah. Hehe.

Tera and feifei

Tat time i hide in the kitchen, garden etc. Then on and off i took a quick peek at the window of the classroom but make sure my boy dun see me. I even go out to buy some water/bao cos i too excited tat day forget to eat breakfast at home before going out.

Zuen,
AIya, u should tried earlier. Heard pple say v easy to conceive witin 3 mths after give birth.

I think mine also not easy since mine always not on the dot. hard to predict.

I got my no 2 when my milk supply drop during bf. So 2 bb age gap very close but still ok cos got helper. But I also look like panda now.

Roxy,
he's generally ok in cc, except for those long breaks then bringing him to school is quite a struggle, hehe. Also the teachers had feedbacked that he's settling in well.
in fact, hubby told me today he's always playing with this girl classmate (when we pick him up) so we have jokingly said he's got a gf, keke.

How's isaiah today?

Ellysia,
haha, u so gan cheong until forget to eat breakfast. U were lucky to spend 1 day with Yu zhe. In my case, I was told max 2 hrs cos any longer will be disruptive to the class. In the end, I think I stayed for only 10 min cos somehow my boy knows and he started crying once we were in the classroom even tho I was with him. So the principal said it is better that he does not see me.

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
Ahyo, forgot to eat bf?

Connie,
Tink its $200+ wor...For us hor, we will not be continuing after this term cos of the distance problem lor..And mostly is becos my ger will be attendign cc frm mon-fri le...dun wan to give her too much stress yet..wan let her settle down b4 enroling her for some enrichment classes later on when she is bigger...

All,
How u all celebratign ur kiddos's 2nd birthday?

connie, they use marker to write.....i only sterilise once a day now only...me same as u... age gap between 1 n 2 bery close, pple say good they grow big together but really struggling now...

feifei..ic tink wat connie said sounds good? can take ML to study...somemore takes a while to strike so maybe can start trying le... heee we cfm close shop le..so tiring!! dun mention accidents we dun even have time or mood to bd coz too tired :p

tera, this week was bad, ydae he refuse to come out of car seat, today the moment i turn into carpark, he signalled me scared.. haiz im starting to get soft hearted n duno whether to withdraw him or not....lucas so cute!! got gf already!! heee heee

roxy

My boy will cling to me once he see the car is near the school. Today he ask me to carry him once reach school and refuse to go down. But i still pass to teacher lor. Teacher have to ply him off me then he will cry v loud... then i will tell him we will pick him up later so no need to cry.

feifei

1st day my boy attend trial, me is like first day attend school like tat. My hb said how come me so worried haaaa.

roxy,
sounds familiar.
during the first week, my boy also started crying when our car turned into the school. Then the crying got later, eg when the car engine was switched off to when we hand him over to the teacher to now, no more crying (but also not smiling, hehe). But… on some days, he will still cling to me and the teacher will have to pry him away, hehe.

when did Isaiah start? Last mon? Give it some more time. And keep reassuring him that u will pick him up. Then try to smile and tell him “have fun and play with your frens here ok? Mummy will pick you up later”. Cos I think they can sense our negativity so I usu try to smile brightly when I am saying good bye. I think it took about 2-3 weeks for Lucas to stop crying in the morning (even then still got regression here and there). How is he when u pick him up? Is he having nightmares at night? Eating well?

Btw, I read the part on the jealousy streak and I also have to admit that part of the reason for sending lucas to cc is also cos I dun want him to spend too much time with the maid (haha, I think most mummies have jealousy streak). To be honest, there were a few occasions when he cried for the helper (usu at night) and that really got to me. But hubby told me to let it go cos he’s still young and he’s prob not going to remember our helper even when he grows up. But still…

Feifei,
So fast ya? 2nd birthday coming liao. I have no plans leh, prob some party, cater food etc. did think of renting those playgym (eg polliwogs) but have not checked out the cost yet.

How about you? Any plans for char? ;)

Any of your kiddos like to scream? My boy recently started screaming and it’s the super sharp and shrill kind. He screams when he’s upset (someone snatched his toy) and sometimes for no reason. Its ok at home but on Sunday, when we were in a restaurant, he started screaming and the table next to us actually commented “stop screaming” quite loudly. So I told my helper to bring him out. As if it’s so easy to control kids, if he responds to a simple no screaming, I would have used that long ago!

Ellysia,
hehe...Parents always more nervous than kids de cos they still too young to know now lor..hee

roxy,
can understand lor..hang on ya..Tink of it in a +ve way, when we hv our #2, ur #2 would hv grown up like ur boy now liao, suffer first and enjoy later lor =).

Tera,
hehe...reg. jealousy, i will get jealous when char gets too close to my mil lor..guess its nature =)...

Ya lor, in 3mths time, its her 2nd bd leh...duno leh..cos that period will b my exam period lor, we are tinking of celebrating early lor.. maybe just a simple one to celebrate with her classmates in the CC on a friday, then on the actual day sun, just bring her out for a meal lor =)...Do u intend to let ur boy celebrate in cc?

As for screaming...hmm..char has not yet "mastered" it but I tink she will when she goes cc...

seems most of the kiddos here attended or attending cc soon. =) i hope to settle my boy in cc in june too! =)

Tera,
my boy also recently screams when hes unhappy. there was once we were outside the tennis court and he collected few tennis balls. then came the instructor asking him to put the balls back in the basket in a rather loud and demanding manner. from then on, my boy screams at any upset manner.
and why did the table next to you asking your boy to stop screaming?! sigh.. somehow rather upset by sp'reans... they are still kids mah. assif they were not once a kid loh.

feifei,
im also not going to continue the class. i think my boy got phobia going to lesson leh.. we went to my friends house which looks like the class we r attending with lotsa toys and esp lights rather dim...then he cried super loud like what he did in class loh..think he thought is lesson time =P we may not be bringing him to class for the time being. dont wanna make him hate sch lah coz gg to send him to cc in few mths time ( though i dont know if my thinking is right actually =(

Roxy,
Eversince #2 is out, I notice I hardly have time for hb. Not sure abt u. Waiting for her to start walking now. Think will be easier by then. Spend too much time on expressing bm.

Tera,
My #2 only want my MIL. I guess I veri jealous lor. She stop crying immediately once she carry her. Futhermore, they sleep together. I told my hb let her sleep in our rm when he is in SG but he v lazy to take care of #1. End up the whole weekend,she sleep wif MIL.

Feifei,
I think I drop the idea of sending him there. Now attending LNT already quite difficuit.

Tuina
After gg to maguang, my boy seem to eat better now but Sun nite vomited. Not sure cos too full. Feed him instant noodle at 4pm, porridge n rice at 7 and 7oz milk at 9pm. He vomited all out and eat a lot yesterday morning.Scarry lor.

Now cutting down on cereal in milk, hope he can eat better.

Connie

U feed instant noodle to your boy?

Tera

Yr suggestion of 'promising to pick him up later' is good. I read in a magazine recently too, and is doing it since last week. I tink it helps.

Eve,
I see..hmm..but i wonder how come he scare of sch leh... hmm..before attending this positive tot class, has he attend any other lessons before? or did he watch any show which shows students being punished?

Connie,
u gave ur boy maggie mee?

Tera,
My girl shouts too when she's unhappy/ angry. Not those high pitch kind but those fierce "arrggghhhh" kind. Haha. I always want to laugh when she does that. ;p

Connie, Ellysia, feifei,
I also feed my girl instant noodles before when there's no food at home + lazy to go and buy. ;p Yes, I know I am an evil mummy. ;p

ZuEn

There is a time when i always eat maggie mee in office. Then i develop a lot of white hairs and always fall sick. I tink instant noodles is quite heaty, can cause sick if eat too much lor.

Plus heard the wax on the maggie mee can cause cancer.

Ellysia,
Yup, I noe. So I secretly feed her but dun dare to tell the grandparents. Lol!

Oh I got good news to share. I am gg to have a tiger baby. Just confimed with gynae yday. Hehe.

Eve,
Yaaahh, I thot the comment was so uncalled for. *mother protective instinct rising*
and who was the idiot who shouted at spenser? That was uncalled for too!

Re CC
I can understand the part about stopping his “lessons” for now. I think I will do that too, if I was you. So I guess u can start looking around soon for a cc.

Feifei, connie,
Hehe, seems like jealousy is all over the place. Guess which mother doesn’t want their kids to prefer them right? ;)

Connie, Zuen,
Hmm, instant noodles. I suppose u dun give that often right? Maybe pour away the water after cooking and replace it? Ever read that that will get rid of the wax. How about giving jap soba instead? I bought 2 packs from this Jap fair a few months back. Just put in boiling water for 5 to 8 min and they are cooked. Then run through quickly with cold water. Lastly mix with the sauce (just take 1 tablespoon sauce mix with 6 tablespoon hot water) then can eat liao. I find the prep time almost similar to instant noodles but prob more nutritious. Just a suggestion.

Zuen,
Haha, lil shauna shouting aaarrgghh is quite funny. Enjoy ur HK trip!

Ellysia,
Oh u read that in a mag? It was told to me by one of the cc’s principal. I also find it works.

Connie,
maggie mee as in the mee itself or with the powder?

FEifei,
he attended kindermusik before but didnt like it either..also keep wanting to leave the class. i also not sure if hes scared or dont like to stay in enclosed area.
ive actually spoken to one of the cc principal, she was telling me that some kids need time to warm up.. then by the time they warm up the lesson started and going to end soon. she even suggest to stop weekly classes for such kids. going to cc would be more ideal. ( but my hubby says its a marketing strategy as she wanted us to sign up. hahha ) dont know how true lah. i half listen loh.

Re: maggie noodles

If u want instant food, u can buy those instant cereal or instant pasta (Bellamy brand etc) and use hot water cook also 10-15mins like maggie mee speed.. v fast one.

Zuen,
CONGRATS!!!!! I am so happy for you...still rem we were talking abt it yesterday...hehe...how many wks leh?Must take care hor...So ur ger more sticky to you these days?

Eve,
hmm..actually hor, the cc teacher might be right leh..hmm... so far, hv u source for a cc for ur boy?so this sat lesson u still coming?

Thanks Eve.

Feifei,
About 5 weeks? Hehe. 3rd clomid attempt. I took 5 rounds of clomid to conceive Lil ZuEn. This baby is made in Desaru. Hehe.
Lil ZuEn is sick, so super cranky, but not exactly more sticky leh.
After the 8 Positive Tots lessons, wun extend liao. Dun think I can afford to swing her and zoom to the moons with a growing belly. Hehe.

Eve

feifei may be right. cc and enrichments is different. I find tat my boy react differently when i am present in the class and when he is on his own. Also, daily engagement in the same setting will help to adapt faster than per week basis.

Zuen,
Congrates. Miss the kicking in the tummy. hee hee

Instant noodles
ACtually we are eating maggie mee and he wanted too. So his dad feed him lor. He seem to enjoy it. Hand also come and grap, bo bian, feed him lor. I add more water in his portion. but give him only a little bit la. maybe 2-3 table spoon type. This is not first attempt . The last round was Christmas eve. His dad still happily say he is another maggie mee ka.

Tera,
ya lor i always get irritated by the existence of such people. grr! though one hand dun wanna spoil my boy by not scolding or insisting he should listen, but i damn pissed off by these passersby.hahaha. well i guess only parents do understand.

Feifei, ellysia, Tera
CC :
Im still searching for one .. most likely will go for the montessori at bedok reservoir if cant find a better one..though rather far loh..
my area no gd cc leh..sigh..
Tera, u know of any good ones near eunos?
or maybe i should go over to the Cherie hearts that Lucas is attending?!
since the distance is the same as the bedok reservoir one...

Ellysia,
u mean if u are around your boy will cry and sticky to u? if not around hes more independant? i didnt know about this...

Eve,
Not sure does most children react the same way as Ellysia's one. Mine also behave better when parents not around. MIL say he will play by his own. Only v sticky when we are at home. Kept wanting to carry.

Few days nv come in cos involved with some project. Hehe... Kinda excited cos it's one of the children's show n my work will be sent to the US for them to go through, pray hard hard for me ok? cos if successful, i might be able to help some mummies here to get discounted package for the show.

Roxy,
Yaloh, if the sch is really popular n near our working place, no harm putting near. For my case my house area no gd CC. Sian loh...

Zu-en,
COngrates! Must take care n take more tonic ok? Enjoy your pregnancy journey...

Re Instant noodles: Ask u all ah, when u gals give instant noodles to your kids, did u all add in their seasonings or u all use home cooked stock for the noodles?

Morning ladies..

Eve,
ya lor, really lor, onli become parents then will know lor..hiaz..Their time will come de..hee *evil me*..haha

I find Tera's boy 's CH not bad wor fromt he way Tera descruibe..Actually I favour Cherie Hearts alot but cos its further from the cc which char will be attending, I have to drop e idea unfortunately...hiaz..Now i getting abit bu she de for char to go cc liao..hehe..But on e other hand EXCITED..hehe..I know she can do it de cos she is okie when she attends Kindermusik and Positive tots..hee..

Tera,
Ask u hor, so 1st day hor, i should stay with char for the whole day? Or i should bring her back half aday?These few days my mil is training char to wakeup at 7am+ lor..hee..

Rem yest u were askign whose kids sccream right? Then when I went back at nite, charlotte was screaming away..Ahyo, I ask her wat happen, she kept screaming..i tink she wants to tell me something but she duno so she scream lor...Besides, I tink char call my mama afew times yest...It sounded like mum mum *eating* but i take it as mama lor cos have been waiting for her to call me til neck so long le...hee

Tinkerbellw,
Wow, sounds good to me..What type of show leh? Dun forget to share the lobangs with us ya...Good luck!

Err, i dun give instant noodles to my ger lor, i try to cook for her as much as possible...but hor, recently she became bery bery picky..

Tinklebell,
I gave normal instant noodle but actually not good. I only gave him when I'm eating and he kept persisting to take mine. Eat halfway cannot cook another bowl for him.

Saw my SIL cook the instant noodle, pour away the water and add some hot water. Put some light soya source for taste for kids. Think this method is better.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

So quite sometimes din login here liao as was busy the whole week during CNY, this Monday just back to work and mountain of work to be done. Then i lost my voice during the CNY period, spoilt all the chatting session with my old frenzs. Sigh.....

ZuEn,
Saw your good news! So happy for you! Congratulations!!!! Do take care, ya!

Connie,
Same same as you. My #2 oso sleep with my MIL and will only sleep with her and not me or hubby. This started about 2mths back, where in the midnite she suddenly woke up and saw is not Ah Ma, she start crying and pointed to the door and keep crying for 'ah ma'.
Me oso telling hubby must let #2 sleep with us, but due to her midnite crying disturbing the whole families, i hv to let her sleep with my MIL. No Choice lor. But i think when they get bigger they'll change lor. </font>

All,
My fren just told me her ger got HFMD 2wks ago.. Then today her ger go bk to the cc, she asked the admin is her ger e onli kid who got it..The answer was no..and worst thing is, the center nv close for washing leh...hmm....Duno if I shd let char go in later...how huh?