(2008/06) June 2008

Mag,
if #2 is girl,
then have #3 to split the cost lor... hehehe...

I think it's better to stay where you are now,
i thought you were renting out?

Leng leng,

Haha...U tell my hubby abt No.3 the next time u c him.

Actually thot of renting to my BIL first if he sells his place but now he still haven't decided to sell his place or not.

We still thinking whether to rent or not but probably after CNY c how lor.

Mag,
He loved kids,
I can see that when he saw our 3 monkeys playing... hehehe...

My hubby just discharged today,
slept from 2pm - 7pm... He says, home is more comfortable.

Look for me? Got lorbang? hehe...

Leng,
Yes, he loves kids but he's too concerned over affordability already & that puts him off in having more kids.

Great to know hubby is back, hope he recovers soon. Sure nothing beats home!

No lah, I haven't seen u for so long so thot of meeting u for catching up lor if u dun mind me bringing Athan along.

Leng Leng,
So glad to hear that your hb is ok...
Am happy to read that you helped to nurse a stranger's baby! The world needs more people like you!

ZuEn,
Why do you need a full time maid in the first place if you are still bringing your baby to your mum's house? Have u ever considered part time helper?

Feifei,
U asked which line of work I'm in right? hee hee, we got plenty of time to tok and get to know each other on the following few saturdays liao! =) excited! its randall's first official classes!
The flash cards we will get on sunday?

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technical University.

For my doctorate program I am conducting a research study in which I am requesting your assistance. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood. Since this website is designed for parents, I thought you and/or someone you knew may be interested in helping me with this project. I am hoping to compare my data from USA parents to Sinagpore parents.

This may or may not apply to you. If you doesn't, please forward this to people you know so it can reach other first-time parents who may want to participate. Thanks for your help!

Do you meet the following criteria? Do you know someone who does?

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to two years?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. This survey is being conducted through an online questionnaire and is estimated to only take 5-10 minutes to complete.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

If you have questions about this study, e-mail [email protected] or contact Dr. Kurt Gehlert at the University of St. Thomas Graduate School of Professional Psychology at (651) 962-4656 or the University of St. Thomas Institutional Review Board at (651) 962-5341.

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

Mag,
my hubby was also like that,
it's the calculation & uncertainty that makes our hubby confused.
Draw out a 5 or 10 years plan,
write down all the liabilities, fix cost, etc...
Then it'll be clearer if #3 is affordable.

Rent out the new place, THAT will pay for #3... hehehe...

Yah, home sweet home.

See you soon.

Mag,
Congrats! Take good care of yourself ya!

Lengleng,
Good to know ur hb is ok liao. Why was he in hospital in the first place?

Yeah, looking for u to start LuckyVitamin spree loh. Haha... But take ur time lah, cos now your hb needs u more. But let me know if u planning to start LV spree ok? Thanks

Mag,
My memory is playing trick on me. Were you one of the few mummies who had trouble conceiving no. 1?
What great news, I must work hard liao.

Buttercup,
What is part-time helper? Those cleaning aunties? I already have one of those wor.

My hb dun really noe how to take care of my girl. Until now, he has never spend time alone taking care of her. My mum is the main caregiver now. She's living with my bro's family and my bro has 2 other girls. All 3 are monsters. ;p My bro used to have a maid but left. My hb works on almost every weekends/ PH and goes on rotating night shift. When that happens, I am left on my own.

Recently happenings, my bro goes on long biz trip & me down with chicken pox makes me realised how shorthanded we are. On usual days, my mum looks after my girl during the day until I knocked off and helps with my bro's kids in teh night. Not easy on her. There is no room for any adults to fall sick let alone R&R. I just tot that an extra pair of hands will help.

Anyway, issue resolved liao. My SIL is against the idea of putting the maid at their place in the day time. So the maid will be taking care of my girl alone in the future.

Tera,
i also introduce blanket with animal on it to my gal to hug. most of the time we will use the animal to play with her, peek a boo, "jump". etc.. then she will take the blanket to hug n play with it also.. then soon, bcome her favourite companion liao... mayb u want to try using the toy to play games with ur boy to get him "hook"???

Zuen,
ya.. i think our babies can only start pre-nursery in 2011.. so it stil playgroup for them for this yr....

Tera,
actually, think it gd that ur boy not on pacifier... cos once they older, dun think pacifier gd for their teeth development.. then u b havin headache on how to wean him off it instead liao!! =p

we took quite some time to wean my gal off pacifier... v tirin... cos instead of pacifier, we have to keep carryin her in the arms to coax her to slp! tirin leh!!

Feifei,
we juz started last sun to b 1hr diaperless for xuan.. but the nxt day at my inlaws place, it bcome 30mins liao.... but at least, better than none.. hahah my hubby colleague using this method to teach his son.. now the son can tell them he want to pee.... but night time still diaper.

i heard of sucessful story on weanin off the paci by cuttin the tip... but no personal view,, since i didnt use that method.... =p

xuan same as char... can bite chunky "harder" food leh... or shld i say she lazi to chew? her jaws will move slightly awhile.. if cannot break easily, then she dun want liao.

Wat is BR ah??

eve,
i still usin the bottom balm on my gal. but my mil seldom use it on her... so it half day with, half day without.. when it red, then we ask mil to use the nxt day also.. think i will only stop after my gal bcome fully toilet train ba....

Shinely
can imagine how heartache u feel when u c ur gal cryin alone, but u cant comfort her... =(
sometimes feel like when we let our kids go to school, it also training us to learn how to "loosen our hand" on our young ones to let them start learnin the reality... sigh....
i dread the day when my turn comes... =9

Mag
Congrats!!!! i also need the bb dust.. but not now,,, another 4mths later... get from u during then... kekek

same as u, hubby love kids (at least ours... =p) but he dun want 3 cos of financial issues... till now, i stil "persuadin"... he will only say wait til then n c...

Leng,
shld let u talk to my hubby to c the logic of the goodness of havin the 3rd kid!!! =)

glad to hear that ur hb discharge le! now can stay at home to recuperate comfyly at home.

Buttercup
yep, i think the cards is sun then will get...

Kelcqi,
how, in the end, did u went to borders yesterday??
i went back to get some more bks.. =p

Feifei,
These the bks bought on behalf for u yesterday.
3474019.jpg

<table border=1><tr><td>Old Macdonald Had A Farm</TD><TD> $2.74 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Look &amp; Learn Board Book - ABC</TD><TD> $2.72 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Look &amp; Learn Board Book - First Word</TD><TD> $2.72 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dora Book Of Manners</TD><TD> $2.72 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Write, Learn, &amp; Wipe</TD><TD> $4.48 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total</TD><TD> $15.38 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Congrats once again, Mag! ;) Thanks for the baby dust, hehe.

Leng2,
Glad to hear your hubby's discharged already.

ZuEn,
Ah, so your problem is solved in a way. Maybe u want to install those cctv at home so that you can check back occasionally plus serve as deterrent for ur maid? Just a suggestion. I think M1 has some plan which allows u to check via your hp.

poky,
haha, we are slowly trying to get him to like his pillow again. when he's asleep we will put it close to him. i was actually thinking of bringing him to pick up a stuff toy and hopefully he will like it. guess i try to re-introduce the stuff toy blanket first. thanks for the suggestion.

i know wat u mean, no pacifier is better than with pacifier esp of the weaning off process, hehe. but good to hear u've managed to wean xuan off.

Tinkerbelle,
pain in tummy, then found out it's appendix. :p

Mag,
perhapes, but when our kids are around, my hub's hands are full.

poky,
sure, let's have a gathering soon.

Tera,
thank you.

Tera,
SingTel has some kind of service but it is via a 3G phone. But it is pretty restrictive and requires us to make video calls to see. Then phone bill will be very high every month? Hmm..
Havent found the M1 one. I think I will go call the service line later. There are quite a few internet camera software in the market. Will have to get one of those. Haiz... $$$$$$$...

Re: Playgroup
Lil ZuEn is adapting well. She doesnt/ hasnt cry yet. ;p
If we get a maid and mum not supervising for us, we have to change the PG for her to somewhere near our place wor. Haiz.. so many changes.

Poky,
No wor, I never go down in the end. My fever came back. Very sian. Since Sunday fever until Tue nite, Wed ok, but Wed nite Fever came back again. Sucks.

Haha, how much was your damage yesterday?

LengLeng,
Ouch, Appendix very painful. Did he go through e surgery?

Zuen,
Thanks &amp; u r rite I was one of those mummies, it took me 6 yrs to get #1. I hope u have good news to share soon too.

Poky,
Thanks so much. Sure, I'll pass u the babydust then &amp; hopefully some other mummies who r pregnant then can have all our powers combined to help u.

Tera,
Thanks again!! Hope to hear good news from u soon. I bet Lucas will be begging u for a didi or meimei soon. :p

Leng,
Dun worry, I'll try &amp; distract the kids n your hubby can talk to mine. Hehe....

Zuen,
Stay positive &amp; dun let yourself be too stressed out over your home issues. Come into the forum &amp; vent your frustrations as n when u need it.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,

wanna ask u someting. Last time u order the water rise buffet, how many pax u order for how many guests?
Coz i'm not sure if it'll be enuf for my guests or maybe ended up with too much waste. Thats why wanna do a check with you.

re: Maid
This morning was talking with hubby that maybe 1-2 yrs down the road, might ned to get a maid my MIL keep hinted she wanna go back msia. But with maid, tats means my expenses will go up oso de.
I know mummies here ever discuss about the cost of hiring a maid, but can some kind mummies refresh me again how much we need to prepare to hired a maid per mth? include food, neccessity, salary etc.</font>

Felicia,
Thanks so much! Hopefully can have a smooth pregnancy, pray for me ah. Thanks.

Leng,
I check wif hubby then let u know via sms.

Mag,
Sob. I wish my no. 2 will come easy too. Now not only work stress, also tired after a whole day of work + look after baby. Then still must BD secretly after baby sleeps. Haha. Definitely not as hardworking as we were trying for no. 1. ;p
I started clomid. Just got medicine from doc yday to induce menses. Sian.

Felicia,
Exact breakdown, I am not sure. But I understand that monthly salary + levy (for PHL) works up to be $560 per month. So plus food + living expenses, probably $800 to $900 per month bah. Then, there are other of hidden cost, e.g increase in utility bills, increase in grocery bills (shampoo, etc).
I am also looking into installing view cams when I get the maid.
Hohohohoho.. How come my pay dun increase as fast as my expenses?

<font color="aa00aa">Mag,

Sure! I'll pray for you de! Dont worry, just enjoy your pregnancy now! Be a Queen for the next 9mths!

ZuEn,
Thanks. Thats quite an expenses oso leh.
Me too, if have maid will install view cams. haha... i think we had been influence by the news of maid abuse kid issue.
Yalor, now everything increase except our salary. *sob* *sob*</font>

Hi ladies...

Was on MC today..

Mag,
Congrats to you!! =).. So happy for you leh...Can't wait to be neighblour with you leh...hehe...Oh ya, that day u saw my mil and charlotte huh?;p

Poky,
Tks for helping me buy the books, really worth it hor..hehe..I pay u on sat hor...BR = brown rice =).

Buttercup,
ya hor =)..

Lengleng,
hows ur hb now?

Felicia,
I ordered twice lor, once was for our xmas party, the food just nice onli wor..The 2nd time i ordered was during char's 1st birthday, i ordered for 20pax and the food portion just nice lor, tink becos my guests told 2 helpings or more, thats y not much left..hmm, i would suggest if u re ordering for 30pax, you can order for about 28pax lor..

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
Did consider about this too. But the expenses is oso as high as i'm getting a maid. Coz if i'm getting a maid, i'll be putting my gers on playgroup like those PCF, mthly is less than $100 each. But for CC with 2 kids , total mthly is at least $1200 as i dont hv subsidize. Plus another reason is my hubby is working shift, so sometimes he wont be at home during the nite, so thinking if got a maid, anything happen still got another pair of hands to help.
Anyhow, that'll be another 1 to 2 yrs thing. So now is considering all the pros and cons and hope to work out the best solution.</font>

Mornin gladies...

Lengleng,
great =)...hehe..

haiz, my FIL also went to the hospital yest..hiaz..cos all along he has backache and it got worst on sat, he ren then yest cannot liao cos its affecting his walking so went to a&amp;e. DId lots of test and doc was saying his bone is pressing on his nerves thats y he feel so pain, hv to refer him to specialist meanwhile hv to take painkiller. Yest went to visit after he came bk, he really look so vulerable lor..Feel so sad lor...hiaz...

My mil has to take care of him so every morning after char hv her bf and bath, then mil will bring char over to her hse.Evening after work, hb and I will bring char back and mil will come bk with us...hiaz...this set me thinking whether it will be better to send char to cc in Feb but like u mention lor, hb say feb is a short month so bo hua! =(..

buttercup,zuen,eve,poky,feiling,
Nice meeting all the mummies and kids last sat... =)...The class was pretty fun ...How was the workshop yesterday ?

Poky,
Tks for helping me get e books =)...

Felicia,
That is oso one of my concerns too. CC will be more xepensive. If that $$ is channeled to maid, at least got 1 more pair of hands when I need help. And it is a matter of time too. We will have to get a maid when no. 2 comes along (hopefully, haha). We are just fast forwarding the plan now.

Feifei,
We had a nice time at class too. Char is so cute when she goes "wow"!

Re: Positive Tots
How were the babies after the class? I had a hard time trying to keep Lil ZuEn from falling asleep. We went for dinner and left at about 7pm. Lil ZuEn whined all the way home from Orchard to JW wor. Faint. We were worried that it will affect her bedtime if we allowed her to nap. I am doing a 2nd trial next week bcos of the venue and the timing. Haizz..

zuen,
hehe, she always wow or yeah one lor..hehe..

hehe, so u mean u joining us again this sat? Char also fell asleep on the way back lor...Shauna enjoyed too?How much u pay for e trial huh? Shauna's hair so nice and smooth, envy..hee

Kelcqi,
how r u le?? fever gone yet?? hope u get well faster. =)

My damage on thurs even more than feifei one.... Got 6 books n a box of flashcard.... haha...

think they got periodically add new bks... found some others titles in the boxes. =)

Mag,
thx!!!

ZuEn,
u also on clomid? I was on clomid when ttc for xuan... was hopin no need clomid again leh... =p

feifei,
glad u like it... cos wasnt sure my definition or worth of bks the same as u... hahaha

the cc that char attendin is full day or half day?? ur mil stil need to send or fetch char from the cc?

told Has that u cant make it at last min le. she say it ok. the nxt parents workshop will b the last sun of Feb. u can book the apt with Has to confirm the slot. =)

Workshop interestin... learnt quite a no of things.... but abit too much of physical activities for me n hubby, cos we both are not v "spontaneous" type of people... =p

ZuEn,
my gal also kept whinin, want to slp also... can c her yawn... so let her eat some biscuit to stay away til we find someplace to makan. then she keep eatin in the car.. so in the end, duno she is tired or hungry... mayb both??

our first try in re-arrangin her nap times failed... she even more tired.. so this wk hv to try anther way... hopefully, it works....

u b comin this sat also??

Re: POsitive tots class.
can i ask how many mommies prefer to b sq2?? cos i feel that the one at sq2 is even more bigger n less stuffy than the one at tanglin... wonder if can ask Has to change location if majority of us prefer to b at sq2?? Afterall, they still hv the lease of the place til end feb. =p

Poky,
Guess our definition is the same..hehe..

Actually I prefer SQ2 cos hor, i also find that place bery stuffy and crowded leh..then hor, cos my hb driving a mini van, then the carpark too low also lor, the light on the van hits the barrigate lor..hiaz..then hb say if hit every sat, then sure hv to change the lamp often lor..i prefer SQ 2 and its much nearer not so heavy traffic towards orchard also...hehe...

Ask u hor, the flashcards u got yest hor, it is small ones or big ones?

Feifei,
Yeah, joining again this Sat before I make up my mind. We are able to join a max of 2 trials at $38 each. Package will cost $35 per lesson.
Yup, I think she enjoyed herself. Just that she was tired after that and almost fell asleep. We tried to stop her from napping and ended up with a cranky baby.

zuen,
Yeah...good good =)..its always nice to see the same faces every lessons lor, at least let our kids get used to it..hehe....

Poky,
Yup, on clomid now. Was on clomid when TTc for Lil ZuEn too. Tot things will be better for no. 2 but no leh. Menses still as haywired. Still not ovulating. -.o"

Hohoho. Thanks for the complement for Lil ZuEn's hair. She was really botak when she was young.

Re: Positive Tots
Yes, yes, yes. Prefer Sq2. Hb also more places to roam. And also need to change train, at least dun have to alight and sqeeze in Orchard + Sq 2 is so near to MRT.

feifei,
discuss with your PIL,
ask if your MIL can cope,
if really can't cope, then it's better to let her go CC earlier,
don't end up getting stress &amp; having arguement at home.

feiling, eve,
how? u gals prefer sq2 also??

so now it buttercup, feifei, zuen, myself prefer to b Sq2.

anyone remember the no of kids during the 1st lesson?? i think only 2 were preschoolers rite??

This week is Cornelius's 2nd week of school,
last night we visited my parents,
they notice that he's more disipline, just after few days of school.
Sit at table for me to feed dinner,
sit &amp; play toys.
Unlike last time when he'll run around their house...

My dad is very impressed by the school's displine...

feifei,
the flashcard r abt the same size of the hand.. big or small??

Zuen,
my menses also seem to go haywired recently again.. that time when come back after the delivery, was every mth.. then for the past. bcome 1.5, then 2mths liao... sianz..... think i try for 2cycles, if stil not bingo,, then c doc for the clomid.. =(

is it?? but her hair grown so nice now le! =) too bad, she dosent let u doll up her hair, else, think u b hvin fun with it... hahahah

Lengleng,
ya lor...tks for e advise =)..

Wow, seems like going to sch is nto a bad thing after all...hee

poky,
ya lor, onli 2 preschoolers, the rest all "zhi ji ren" frm forum..hee

leng
wow.. so much improvement!!! a wonder how the teachers teach at school, they willin to learn from them. yet when we teach them at home, so jiatlat!!!

how old cornelius le??

poky,
he's born on 19th June 2008

Maybe it's peer pressure,
when everyone does it, they'll follow lor...

But I bring him to school, he'll cry,
this morning I stay in car, daddy bring... he didn't cry...

feifei, poky
Got so many "zhi ji ren" during the class? I rem the teacher says that there are 11 of us in the class including the preschooler wor.

Poky,
My menses haywired right after gg birth. -.o"
There is no way that I can guess when I am ovulating. It is too torublesome to track BBT everyday when the temp is constant and too exp to test for ovulation everyday/ So I straight away to gynae for clomid when we decided to TTC.