(2008/06) June 2008

tera,
good hor...hehe, tks ger...hv u start toilet training ur boy? me still trying to take off charlotte's diaper but afraid that she might poo anytime then i faintz..I am tinking of trying to let her go diaper-less for 1 hr each day..hee

Tera,
I tink i will try the dip the pacifier into something method..Mayb apply some ruyi oil to it so that its hot and she won't wan liao =)..hee..

Ask u hor, wat bag ur boy brings to cc now? Cos i am looking for a bag for char to bring to cc in march lor... Cannot be too small cos lots os stuffs to bring..

feifei,
i just glanced through the 10 ways and actually, my mum weaned me off using the 2nd method, accidentally though. she told me i was around 3 years old then and still keep wanting my tu tu. so there was once she accidentally dropped my tu tu in dangui soup which is bitter and even tho she washed and gave it to me, i immediately spat out cos of the smell and bitterness and din want my tut tu after that, keke. maybe u can give that method a try? ;)

Tera,
ya lor..hehe...tks ger...next i wan to let my ger learn to eat bigger chunks of food cos hor, now for fruits, even like e green pear or apple, still hv to steam and blend then she eats leh..whereas grapes n strawberries, she can bite like that...haiz, honeydews she can also bite like that lor...hmm...

feifei,
haha, u read my mind. but no ruyi oil la. try something that can be eaten. maybe bittergourd? evil! hehe.

as for bag, yah, need a relatively roomy bag. cos must pack quite a bit of stuff inside esp for full day. i try to take a pic tonight and send to u.

feifei,
actually, my boy sometimes will choke when eating apple also. maybe they eat too fast? cos by right, so many teeth shld be ok to chew already. actually my hubby always tell me that i am too cautious when feeding lucas food but i always very scared he will choke leh.

as for potty training, i know i shld start, just too lazy, haha. but i think it's a good time to start cos my fren's girl who's born in feb is already toilet trained, can imagine the amt saved on diapers, lol!

maybe can get those training pants? it seems like those have some lining and when the kid pees in it, the kid will feel uncomfortable and therefore will try not to pee in the pants. something like that. pls correct my understanding if i m wrong, hehe.

Tera,
Idea also lor, as long as can be bitter one, then they might give up e tutu..hehe..okie, tks alot ya =)... so u hv to bring ur own wet wipes? The cc which char is going doesn't supply these so hv to bring our own. Another thing is char drinks milk with BR all e time so morning I hv to prepared her BR mixture and put into a thermal flask so that the teachers there can give her in the afternoon lor..Just ordered a ziroshiji thermal flask frm BP lor...hope can keep warmth for many hrs..

Tera,

im staying ar eunos.
What about yourself? Can i ask which cc is your boy attending?

Feifei,
ruyi oil v hot leh. dun want lah. =(
maybe something bitter would be good. like what tera mentioned. into soup or maybe soak with bittergourd?

toilet train.
i started by boy with diaperless half a day 1st.
then when he pee i will "explain" to him.
but then it takes time. sometimes my boy will say.sometimes not. depend on his mood.
but im not in a rush to train him yet.
anyway they are still young.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
Beside the U shaped door stopper, must keep 2 sets of door key at 2 diff places. This is really from my experience which i learn from the lesson during my #1 times.
If go hotel stay especially if u r taking those join room with a door that can access between the 2 rooms, do make sure the door main door is not locked or chain up.
Got once my #1 was locked inside the hotel room for almost 30mins coz one of the main door was locked and chained up. Then she actually go and close the door between the 2 rooms. Thats really a very bad experience for me.</font>

Tera,
hmm,...i tink the training pants is something like that wor...i hv 3 pcs which i bot frm BP lor, haven start on char yet lor... As for apples, ya lor, sometimes they go orrr out the apple like bery xinku like that lor...haiz, but dun eat fruits cannot leh...if steam n blend, then all nutrients gone liao lor..headache lor,...

Tera,
I realised that my girl dun really chew her food, especially soft food like tofu and noodles. A few time that she puked, I see chunks of tofu and long noodles. -.o" But my mum said that the same thing happened to my niece who is already 2.
My girl always choked on water. Then she will cough until her face red.

feifei,
Lil ZuEn oso not on pacifier, which i regret sometimes. I see babies who go all quiet when they are given pacifier. She doesnt want when we give her when she was young leh. She will suck then pui out. Haha.

Re: Toilet train
My girl only tell us that she poo-ed some times, but it is always after and not before. Then she sometimes anyhow say.
As for peeing, she still duno how to say leh. Soemetimes she pees when we shower her and she gets so amazed at her own pee. Lol!

felicia,
ya lor, tink hv to go make another set of the rooms keys liao...ahyo, then ur ger must be so scared leh..

Eve,
hehe...will try to use bittergourd lor..hee

zuen,
Good leh, like that can worry 1 thing less..hehe =)...

feifei,
actually steaming may not lose nutrients right? i read somewhere that its better than boiling cos boiling will lose nutrients. maybe just steam lightly or just cut and chop into fine pieces and give? problem with apple is that they turn brown easily.

i have a qn, for grapes do u give with skin or without huh? i give without but i think its the skin that has the fibre right? but if give tog with skin, i scared he choke.

Eve,
oh we are quite close to each other, hehe. i am staying at haig road.
i am sending my boy to cherie hearts at wareham road (along old airport road).

Tera,

old airport is it near to guillemard?
cherie hearts?! i actually kiv one branch @ ubi.
but we went once and the teachers kept entertaining the kids with TV which i thought might not be good.
so still looking around for few before i decide.

Tera,
I also not sure leh, all along I tot once fruits are cooked, nutrients gone e..hmm...I did chop the prunes into small pieces for my ger, sometimes she can take, sometimes she puke out..hiaz...

For grapes, I peel off the skin cos difficult for them to digest lor..

Tera,
then ur hse near to Julia Gabriels?

ZuEn,
i know! when i feed him sometimes, he doesn't seem to chew at all and just swallow immediately. i will show him the chewing action and tell him to bite his food then swallow. but i wonder how much of that he comprehends, lol.

felicia,
so ur #1 was alone in the room for 30min? poor thing, she must have been frightened!

feifei,
my hse not near JG leh, i wished it was, hehe cos JG only in town (evans road and forum).

eve,
yup, quite near to guillemard, the cc's near to the new Dakota station. i had checked out another cherie hearts at bournemouth road but i found the place very untidy. the principal seemed to keep a lot of old stuff, making the place very cramped. i also checked out Global Kids and Nurture Cottage. quite like these 2 but not as convenient as the current cc. cos there are days when i have to bring my boy to the cc myself so with the current cc, i will push my boy in his stroller.

feifei,
yah, heard good reviews from colleagues. if i did not send my boy to cc, i was considering signing up for their playgroups.

feifei

Put the plastic wedge on top of the door to prevent her from closing the door. U can find at those kiddy shops.

I stop peeling grapes skin liao. But so far my boy always didn't bite corn properly, will have pieces of corn appear at his poo. Fruits so far he can manage, even skin of apple. He can also take the whole apple and bite himself.

Tera

I give grapes with skin. stop peeling since few mths back, as he can manage the skin.

To avoid choking, i cut the grapes in half before giving.

Tera,
Whenever I feed my girl, I will tell her "bite, bite" and she will repeat "bite, bite" after me. But then, she will swallow everything in a big gulp. Lol!
For grapes, we give skinless. There are times when we give fruits with skin (e.g apple, blueberry, prune, etc). she will suck away the flesh, then stick out her tongue with the meantless skin on her tongue and ask us to remove.

I stop giving steam/cook fruits long time ago liao, i tink since 10mths old. My boy can manage most fruits. For apples, sometimes i give him whole apple for him but remove the skin; or cut into big slices and let him take to bite. grapes i cut into half or let him eat halfside while i use my hand to ply off the other half while he is biting. oranges he used to eat the flesh and vomit the skin out. now is better. honeydew, watermelon, papaya he can bite directly from the big adult slice. Avocado i feed him with spoon. Blueberry, banana, even longan my hb let him try before. Mandarin orange those small ones. sometimes with the seed too.

Zu En

Initially my boy also vomit out the skin too, but later he can eat the skin. need to let them try, though its messy. then they can learn.

Last 2 weekend i try to train my boy to feed himself but fail lor. He use the back of the fork and 'chop' the carrots into pieces n messy then only use his hands to pick up vegs he like and eat. Then i know he doesn't like carrots. I postponing it after cleaning up mess for 3 meals. guess he is not ready yet.

For potty training, we just bot a potty after my boy say 'bu bu' then remove his diapers and pee on the floor. Now training him to pee in his potty.

I try to train him to drink a cup too, but he swing the cup too hard n water splash all over his shirt. so guess not ready too hee. anyway he can drink straw cup since 10mths old, so easy to manage.

His fav is fries recently. And he can recognize Macdonalds from far, mos burger too, whenever he went to eat once or twice then he will stare hard at the signboard and next time he pass by he will point and show us he recognize. Last weekend we bring him to united sq and eat next to Mac (another eatery but next to mac) and he can see people eating at mac, he keep asking for fries. aiyo.

can i ask if you still apply diaper cream on your toddler?
When do we need to stop using diaper cream?

Hi Eve,

My girl is in the " little world childcare centre" at SK. It just walking distance from my block. So onoff few hour i go down to check on her..keke
Just now saw her keep cring alone siting on a chair, I was the teacher why, they say my bb keep wanting the teacher to carry, so no choice got to force her to sit there cry while the teacher bath the other bbs. I outside hear her cry i also feel like crying. Faster hold my tear and went home.

Tera,Shinely

Distance is one of the main factor when considering a cc. Lucky for both of you.
My place nearby doesnt have any CC.
The nearest one which is cherie hearts is 7 bus stops away.
Quite far right? if i need to bring him there myself.

Shinely,
i understand how u feel. =( if were me i also heartache but maybe i will wait till he finish crying. then maybe in the end i will cry. hee.
DOnt worry! soon this will not happen when she gets used to it. somemore today is her 3rd day in cc right?

Eve,

Ya, today her 3rd day, exactly i also wanted her to go cherie heart, but 4 station away, i find it mah fan to take train, so no choice got to take that lol, as read from feedback, my girl childcare is not so ideas, but hubby was right, near is better for me to fecth her anytime.

Tera, Shinely

Does the cc comes with aircon?
Personally i dont like aircon. but when i compare both, cc with aircon seems more condusive. umm...

Tera,

Mine is also swallowing food. Hardly see her chew. I tried to give her pieces of fruit but she has a very bad habit...she love to stuff her whole mouth with it!...she won't hold on to fruit. Walau...i buay than her.

Ellysia,
ok thanks, I'll let him try with skin.

Feifei,
just saw ur earlier qn re wipes. I dun include it cos the cc didn't mention in their to-bring list.
as for BR, just let the teacher know on how to prepare it. Shld be fine. Is that her breakfast?

Eve,
oh the Cherie hearts at ubi has tv ya? That's not very good. In fact, I'm glad my boy is in cc partly cos when he's home, he's always asking to watch his fav wheels on the bus DVD.

Yup, the current cc is air-con.
I also feel it's more conducive.

Jan,
Haha, I know what u mean by stuffing their mouth with food/fruits cos Lucas does that too! Its like their mouth is still full but they will continue to take and put into their mouth as if ppl are going to snatch the food away. ;)

Shinely,
Hang in there! The first few days are the worst I think. How was your girl when you pick her up? She looked happy? I think most cc try to arrange a particular teacher to take care of the new joiner for the first few weeks so that they can get attached to that teacher.

My boy till now will still cry when we reach the cc. Just got to harden my heart and tell him positively “Ok, so and so teacher is here to take you to play with your frens. Don’t worry, Daddy will come and pick you up after your afternoon tea, ok?” then give him a hug and kiss and pass to the teacher. Rem to keep assuring her that you will come back for her. And when u pick her up, tell her “See mummy promised to come pick you right?”. This is what I read from the forums plus heard from a cc principal to help ease the child into cc. Hope it helps.

Zu-en,
Your gal so cute! My gal never run to us unless she sees us holding a tub of ice-cream. Else she sees the spoon, she run far far away. And look back at us shaking her head and telling us no no. Faint.

Lengleng,
Ok, let me try with a gummy tml and I let u know again.

Btw, do u hav any LuckyVitamin Spree going on? Would like to get Green to grow bottles n teats. I googled and they're having sale at the moment.

Jan, Tera,
High 5! She can stuff the entire biscuit/ fries into her mouth and got us so worried. But sometimes, she will spit out if the mouthful is too big to chew/ swallow. She does that with water too. Feed her ribena, she greedy and took too big a mouthful, then cannot swallow and spit everything and dirty the floor. -.o"

Lengleng,
Does LuckyVitamins have the supplements that you were talking about the other time? If have and you have a spree, I want to join hor.

Morning ladies...

Its a wet morning today...

Janiviy,tera,zuen,
My ger also stuff everythign into her mouth, worst part is when everything inside her mouth, she spit out onto the floor then start playing with it...faintz..

shinely,
Hang on ya...I believe its a passing phase lor..I tink my ger will cry the first few days too...Not easy..

Re:cherie hearts
I also wanted to let me ger enrol into cherie hearts but its too far away, I hv to take LRT 4 stops, hence we settled with a new cc at Lengleng's place =).

Feifei,
Morning.
Spit out and play ah. My girl does that with water only. Then she will attempt to drink some more to spit out, so that she has more water to play with. Hoho.

My boy use to like to stuff everything and spit it out.. My MIL train him to eat slowly, seems better.

but now he like to take and throw on the floor then pick it up to eat.

Need some advice..
We are likely to get a maid soon.
Right now my mum is my girl's caregiver and we give her some $$ (on top of my monthly contributions) as token of appreciation.
With the maid, we will have be financially stretched. One of the options is to have the maid look after my girl at my home. In that way, I can stop the token to my mum to help with the maid's salary &amp; expenses. But of course, we are worried with all the mistreating maids and stuff lah.

The other option is to put her at my mum's place during the day. But that will mean that I have to "pay" my mum $$ to supervise the maid. My mum will have to provide her lunch too. My mum has openly ask for $$ for the supervision, which will further stretch us.

What should I do? If my mum helps to supervise the maid, how much is enough? I headache liao.
When my bro had a maid, my mum will use some of the $$ that I gave her to help my bro, but apparently it doesnt work the other way round now. Sob.

Hi June mummies,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!
Long time no posted, hope everyone's well.
Just to share a piece of good news. I'm currently 5wks pregnant liao, EDD 09 Sep. Hopefully this pregnancy can be a smooth one then will close shop liao unless accident

Mummies who r trying for babies, Jia You Jia You!! Baby dust to u!! ***sprinkle sprinkle***

Leng Leng,

I was telling hubby we can only have 3 if I go back to work otherwise I think very shiong for us financially. Hehe... But of cos if "accident" then I will still keep lah.

Leng leng,

I know &amp; I'm keeping fingers crossed that my No.2 can b a boy then can save more $$$ cos no need to buy much things, if ger then must buy quite alot of things.

Leng,
BTW, I'm renovating my new place @ 208A Compassvale now. Was hoping to move there when it's ready but now hubby said cannot move since I got No.2 cos he scared I cannot cope wif 2 so probably can only go back on weekends.